Ryan Blair's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 108
7.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Bat-Mite #1

Jun 4, 2015

Overall this was a great book and a nice departure from the doom and gloom of the other bat-books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bat-Mite #2

Jul 2, 2015

Overall this was a decent story, the art is really fantastic…kind of has a cartoon style and it really fits with the feeling of the story. But overall, this was a bit weaker than the first issue…still an overall good series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bat-Mite #3

Aug 6, 2015

Lastly, I am intrigued if threat of the Federal Security Bureau will be the big bad that ends up accosting Bat-Mite latter on in the series…or maybe they have something to do with Gridlock, who manages to escape at the end of the issue?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman '66: The Lost Episode #1

Nov 19, 2014

However, I felt that this issue was not as funny as other issues have been in the past, but this could be due to having a different writer onboard. Im also curious to see if Two-Face will ever reappear within the pages of Batman 66.Overall this issue was quite interesting and a definite must read for any Batman 66 fans. However, be prepared to spend $10 for this issue. On the plus side you get a good story as well as some great extra features like the original non-inked/non-colored art, and the original treatment for the episode, but it costs $10! Due to the price my rating will dip slightly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #38

Jan 28, 2015

Overall this was a very thought provoking issue and is probably up there with several of Synders best issues. I am thrilled to see how Batman will confront the Court of Owls and see if they can shed some light on this immortal pale clown that Dekker was referring to. I am anxiously anticipating next month to see how Endgame unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #39

Feb 25, 2015

Overall this has been an excellent story and I am eagerly awaiting its conclusion next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #40

Apr 29, 2015

I would definitely say that every fan of the Caped Crusader needs to read this story. It is emotional, action packed, mysterious and delivers on all levels.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) Annual #3

Dec 24, 2014

Overall this issue was pretty decent, and I liked that it shed some light onto Jokers colorful history…will this relationship of Joker and Tommy in any way reflect the relationship of Joker and Batman. If Death of the Family was Jokers way of showing Batman how much he cared, what will happen in Endgame now that Batman has spurned the Clown Prince? Only time will tell what will occur and how this story will influence the Dark Knight and his allies.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman and Robin (2011) #38

Jan 21, 2015

Overall this was an okay issue, but I am looking forward to see how a Superman-like Damian will continue to fight against the forces of evil. Last note, I really liked the cover to this issue…a classic Superman pose with Damian pulling back his Clark Kent shirt and tie to reveal the Robin costume underneath, complete with a hail of bullets bouncing off his chest. All it needed was a classic “<tt>” to complete the image.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman and Robin (2011) #39

Feb 18, 2015

Overall this was a decent issue and I am looking forward to seeing what happens with Robin joining up with the Justice League next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman and Robin (2011) #40

Mar 25, 2015

Overall this is an excellent series and a great final issue, we have Gleason pulling out some amazing artwork and Tomasi writing some truly great moments between Bruce and Damian.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman and Robin (2011) Annual #3

Apr 1, 2015

My only drawback (and its minor) is that my continuity brain is now exploding that we didnt get an answer as to where these Batman and Robin stories fit into the overall Batman timeline. I would have liked to get that answer…but this story definitely made up for the lack of answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1

Dec 9, 2015

Overall this issue was pretty good, but I think my rating is going to be a little higher purely for my love of the characters in the story. Truthfully this issue was pure setup for things to come and a lot didn't happen"however we are sure to open with a bang as Batman and the Turtles engage in a fight that is should to be awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #2

Jan 13, 2016

Overall another great issue and Im looking forward to this series continuing next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #4

Mar 9, 2016

Overall this was a great issue and I loved that Tynion managed to work Casey Jones into the series….definitely looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #6

May 11, 2016

Overall I would probably give this series a very strong 4 out of 5 batarangs, with a few marks taken off for the above issues I mentioned for the final issue of the series. I highly commend both Tynion and Williams for the excellent job done and hope to see a sequel that brings Batman back together with the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Arkham Knight #5

Jun 5, 2015

The only drawback is that most of this story is one massive fight between Bane and Batman…although its quite visually impressive I would have enjoyed a bit more story development and maybe some explanation of what Bane may be after…did he go to Arkham City by choice? And if so what is he after? I am also curious as to what could happen with Bane…although he hasnt been featured in any footage of the new game, he is absent. Bane has appeared in all of the Arkham series of games, so it would be interesting if maybe Bane gets taken out by the Arkham Knight, as we have seen AK take out several villains including the new Electrocutioner and Tweedle Dee/Dum. Maybe he saves Batman in the next issue and kills Bane? Definitely looking forward to this ongoing series as we lead into the actual game that comes out later this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Arkham Knight #6

Jul 3, 2015

If youre a fan of the Arkham series in general, this comics helps to expand that universe and is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Arkham Knight #7

Aug 19, 2015

Although not as strong as previous issues, I did like this story because it introduced some new characters into the Arkham story, however I do have to question how Batman is going to explain his sudden appearance in the back of Bruce Waynes car.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Arkham Knight #8

Sep 2, 2015

Overall this was a good battle issue, and is clearly leading to something big between Batman and Metamorpho.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Arkham Knight #9

Oct 7, 2015

Overall this was a good conclusion to the Suicide Squad story, I liked seeing Deadshot and Batman working together…however I think Metamorpho should have been taken down in a different way, and possibly captured rather than blow up. In addition, it was great to see the focus shift on Tim Drake as we have not gotten very much information on his character within the Arkham universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Arkham Knight #10

Nov 4, 2015

Overall this series continues to deliver some excellent stories that bring the Arkham-verse closer and closer to its conclusion within the Arkham Knight game itself…as Scarecrow states, All Hallows Eve is getting close. I wonder how long this series will run and how many more stories that we will be getting out of this fantastic creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Arkham Knight #11

Dec 2, 2015

All in all this was a pretty decent issue that sees the events of the game slowly creeping into the events of the comic. We have once more issue remaining and Im looking forward to see what happens between Bane and the Batman…cant be good if Bane is strung out on Scarecrows fear toxin.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Arkham Knight #12

Dec 23, 2015

Overall I have to say this series was quite enjoyable. Ive always been a sucker for videogame tie-ins and I have often praised the Arkham Universe. Well done Peter Tomasi, well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Arkham Knight Annual #1

Sep 30, 2015

Overall this was quite an interesting story that showcased Jasons true fears and sees him fighting back and getting ready to take on Bruce. Again, not a completely necessary story but it did allow for the final stages of setup that we would see in the Arkham Knight game.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Arkham Knight - Batgirl/Harley Quinn #1

Feb 11, 2016

Overall that was a great single issue that helps expand the Arkham-verse and I hope that DC continues to expand the universe and focuses on the other characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Arkham Knight: Genesis #1

Aug 26, 2015

Overall this was a rather simple story that filled in some minor plot points specifically how Hushs scars were virtually non-existent in the game and how Jason got his start on being Robin. I am looking forward to seeing how Jasons career continued and how his capture and torture by Joker lead him into becoming the Arkham Knight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Arkham Knight: Genesis #2

Sep 16, 2015

Definitely looking forward to the conclusion of this series as the legend of the Arkham Knight unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Arkham Knight: Genesis #3

Oct 21, 2015

I am still wondering how Robin manages to survive a seemingly fatal gunshot wound…guess we will need to wait till next month to figure it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Arkham Knight: Genesis #4

Nov 18, 2015

Overall this series continues to be a highlight of my comic month and I look forward to seeing how the Arkham Knight will continue to manipulate the other villains, and to see his stunning origin come to a conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Arkham Knight: Genesis #5

Dec 16, 2015

Definitely pick this up if youre an Arkham fan as this lays more groundwork for how the Arkham Knight initiated his plan to take over Gotham City.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Eternal #38

Dec 24, 2014

A couple thing to point out however…I dont really like that Batman was taking down villains in the famous off panel land, I felt that the villains were only there for decoration and it didnt really matter what happened to them. Lastly Im not sure how I feel about Jason Bard doing a sudden turn going from guy completely set on killing Batman to I made a mistake, please help me fix it. Seems a little too quick for my liking.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Eternal #39

Dec 31, 2014

So overall I am confused, it was still a decent issue but everything seems to be getting convoluted as we get closer and closer to the end. Who is this mysterious mastermind? And what does he have planned for Gotham City? Clearly it isnt good if he has let a bunch of bad guys have access to all of Batmans toys. Guess we will have to wait until next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #40

Jan 7, 2015

Overall this was definitely a step up from last week and I am looking forward to our big bad finally being revealed in the coming weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #41

Jan 14, 2015

Overall this was a nice issue, and I am looking forward to seeing what happens now that the Hatter has control over Batgirl, Red Robin and Red Hood…does Bluebird get to rescue them right away? Or does that not happen until the end of Eternal?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Eternal #42

Jan 21, 2015

Overall, Eternal is shaping up to be quite an excellent Batman story and I am looking forward to its conclusion in the coming weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #43

Jan 28, 2015

Overall I enjoyed this issue; it really flowed well with the previous teaser issue and connects all of the plot lines brought up within the Batman issue. It will be interesting to see what happens next as we delve deeper into the mysteries surrounding who is bringing together all of these villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman: Eternal #44

Feb 4, 2015

Overall this was another issue where we saw another villain be revealed as having been pulled into the giant scheme of Batman Eternal and this could easily have been explained in a few lines of dialogue. Not sure it was worth an entire issue, but I am looking forward to next issue as it teases that The Truth will be revealed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Eternal #45

Feb 11, 2015

Lastly we have the big reveal! Or do we? In the very end we get dropped a bomb that Ras Al Ghul has been behind the events in Gotham City…however is this real? Or are we simply being thrown a red herring? Neither Ras nor the League of Assassins appeared in the Batman Thanksgiving promo art released last year, so can the Demons Head really be behind this massive story? I mean, it is completely possible. Ras is one of Batmans more powerful allies and is manipulative enough to mastermind all of these events. But, I have always seen Ras Al Ghul as being a villain that enjoys leaving his name on his deeds. Batman always identifies the Demon almost immediately when one of his crimes comes to Gotham City. So, can the Demon really be behind all of this? Or is someone simply putting Ras in Batmans crosshairs so they can continue their reign of terror? Guess we will need to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #46

Feb 18, 2015

Overall this was a truly intriguing story, and we even got to see the return of Lord Death Man as well as Doctor Darrk who first appeared in Detective Comics #405 as a member of the League of Assassins. Darrk was responsible for kidnapping Talia who then had to be rescued by Batman. Only downfall of this issue was the changing art every other page or so…definitely a bit of a distraction. And when will we get to know the identity of our big bad!!! How many villains are left?! I guess we will need to wait and see…but this is a question I hope they answer soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Eternal #47

Feb 25, 2015

Overall this was a good issue that continues to hurtle us along the path that will eventually lead to a big reveal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #48

Mar 4, 2015

Overall this was definite upturn from the previous issues and I am anxiously awaiting the conclusion to this story…side note, I still am holding out that Earth 3 Owlman is our big bad!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman: Eternal #49

Mar 11, 2015

Overall this was an okay issue, I found Julias solution a little too convenient…but then again, we only have three issues remaining so I guess it needed to have a quick resolution.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman: Eternal #50

Mar 18, 2015

Overall I am being generous in regards to my rating, as I dont know how this fits in to the story as a whole. However…if this turns out to be another wild goose chase I dont know if can safely say that I think Batman Eternal was a good story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Eternal #51

Mar 25, 2015

And this brings us around to Lincoln March…although I was still holding out that Earth 3 Owlman may be the big bad, I was glad to see Lincoln step out of the shadows. With a quick slit of his throat, March reveals that he was only going along with Cluemaster and that ultimately this was all about the final showdown between March and Bruce. And that is something that I am looking forward to next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #52

Apr 1, 2015

Overall, this last issue tied together the loose ends of the entire series. We got to see conclusions for all of the characters used throughout and got a decent conclusion with our villain getting incarcerated. As whole I would probably give the entire run of Batman Eternal a three out of five batarangs, but that could change once I re-read the entire story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batwoman #36

Nov 20, 2014

Im hoping that some of the loose ends will start to get pulled together in the next issue, otherwise Im a little disappointed in where this series is headed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batwoman #37

Dec 18, 2014

Overall, as I stated earlier this is better…but definitely not awesome. And its no surprise (at least from me) that this series is getting cancelled after this story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #36

Nov 27, 2014

Overall I am really enjoying this new Catwoman direction and am looking forward to the stories that revolve around the families. Pick this up if you havent, as you will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Catwoman (2011) #37

Dec 18, 2014

Overall if youre not reading this book, definitely get it. It is an excellent read and its story is constantly evolving each month and growing in depth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #38

Jan 29, 2015

Overall this story is working its way to being a truly unique and well done Selina storyrather than Catwoman. And I actually like that this book is focusing more on the woman outside of the costume, rather than all of the books which focus on the characters with their masks on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2011) #39

Feb 26, 2015

Overall this was a pretty decent issue, although it lacks some action due to a lot of verbal dialogue setting up the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #40

Mar 26, 2015

This is an excellent series and I am looking forward to what is coming down the pipe with Catwoman and the other crime families. Although the war was temporarily waylaid thanks to the interference of Penguin, what will the pudgy villain hang over Selinas head? And what will happen in the final confrontation between Catwoman and Black Mask…will history repeat itself and make Catwoman a killer again??? Cant wait to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2011) Annual #2

Dec 25, 2014

Overall this was a pretty decent issue, and gave some unique insight into the Hasigawa Family, how Eiko takes on the mantle of Catwoman and how Selina started to gather her forces and unite the criminal underworld. A very good companion piece to the ongoing Catwoman storyline in the monthly title. However it would have been nice to shed some more light on Selina Kyle, as she is the title character of the book…however this could something planned down the road in Eternal…guess we will have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Convergence: Batman and Robin #1

Apr 8, 2015

Overall I liked this story…we touched on a bit of how Gotham has been surviving underneath the dome (thanks to Poison Ivy) and we got some Bat-Family drama between Bruce and two of his sons. I am interested to see what will happen with these Extremists that show up on the last panel…from my research, this team of villains hails from Earth 8 and were encountered by Jason Todd during his search for Ray Palmer in the pages of Countdown to Final Crisis.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Convergence: Batman and Robin #2

May 6, 2015

Overall this issue was a slight let down from the setup of the previous one. I had really hoped to get some more character development from the Extremists and even the fight sequence was good at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Convergence: Batman and the Outsiders #1

Apr 23, 2015

Also, a quick note about the recaps at the back of the issues I love these! Although the first few weeks dealt with some timelines that I am familiar with, it is nice to see some clarification on characters that I have only heard about or read about in a single story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Convergence: Batman and the Outsiders #2

May 20, 2015

Overall this was a pretty decent issue, it showed off some characters that I am now a little more interested in…and I would be curious to know if their portrayals were accurate. Although I am not too familiar with the original Batman and the Outsiders run, this story has piqued an interest and I may be going back to see what this team accomplished during its run. This was definitely one of the better tie-ins that I have read and would definitely recommend to any Batman fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Convergence: Crime Syndicate #1

Apr 30, 2015

Overall this story was okay; I actually really loved the art…very reminiscent of both time periods where this book takes place. But, the story seemed to fall a little flat…although the Crime Syndicate story seemed to have a bit of momentum with the crew trying to rescue Superwoman, the One Million heroes just seemed disorganized and boring. Hopefully the creators will be able to pull off a good ending to this story next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #19

May 26, 2017

Overall this has been an interesting story and I like how Priest and the other writers expanded a bit on Slades history with his sons. I was always under the impression that Grant was the favored son, while Joseph was the outcast"but this issue seems to suggest the opposite. The art as always was excellent and the connecting covers continue to be a favourite of mine.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Grayson #4

Nov 6, 2014

Overall this issue was okay but unfortunately didnt advance any of the main plots…except for figuring out the Minos has tiny little nanites eating his DNA. The artwork was probably one of the really good things in this issue, and had a couple good/interesting panels in regards to Dick and Helena jumping out of the hovercraft as well as the full map of the chase between Dick and the girls.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grayson #5

Dec 4, 2014

Also, Dick yet again finds a way to take his shirt off…hopefully this doesnt develop into a trend every issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grayson #6

Jan 15, 2015

Overall a great issue that brought some light to the overall story and shed some answers onto characters like Minos and Midnighter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grayson #7

Feb 5, 2015

Overall this issue was filled with lots of action, as well as interesting story points that I hope get explored as this book develops.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grayson #8

Mar 5, 2015

Overall this was an excellent issue and an extremely intriguing read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grayson Annual #1

Dec 25, 2014

Overall I was pleasantly surprised with this annual, and enjoyed that it didnt further the story being told in the main series but helped to flesh out the world that Spyral inhabits.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #37

Dec 19, 2014

Overall this story is turning out very well and it will be interesting to see how things play out now that Batman has been exposed to the Amazo Virus…nothing can keep the Dark Knight down right?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League #38

Jan 23, 2015

Overall I really loved this issue right up until the last few pages…then it tumbled downhill from there. I felt this issue turned into a soap opera right at the end with Luthor and Supes, I half expect an evil twin clone of one of them to show up in the next issue. Rant over.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League #39

Feb 20, 2015

Overall I liked the Amazo Virus story, however I found the ending a little weak…but the awesome art and fight sequences made up for it a little bit. However I am intrigued by next months tease of The Darkseid War…guess we will be seeing Darkseid return to Earth and continue his fight that he started back in the first storyline of Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #40

May 1, 2015

Overall I liked this issue…although nothing action oriented happen it was a great refresher on past Crisis events and a good lead in to the upcoming Darkseid War.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League #42

Jul 17, 2015

Ultimately it will be quite interesting to see how Darkseid War plays out and how our various characters will come together to not only battle against the God of Evil, but the Destroyer of Worlds.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2015) #1

Jun 19, 2015

I am intrigued to see what this story will be holding and look forward to picking it up next month…however, the best part of this issue was definitely the art. Bryan Hitch did an amazing job on the pencils and I went back a second time just to look at his images in more detail.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2015) #2

Jul 10, 2015

Overall this was a pure setup issue to lure the reader into liking the God of Krypton, but this only seemed to raise several red flags for me. I did like how Batman and Cyborg are continuing to investigate what may be going on, and I love that Batman is fully prepared to take on a Kryptonian if need be. I am wondering if maybe Rao will somehow convince Superman to fight on his side against the Justice League…maybe well get to see the Man of Steel vs. the rest of the League? Also, where are Flash and Green Lantern? Really missed them in this issue, and I hope that we get to see what happened to them next month. Lastly, it looks like someone took out the Gods of Olympus as Wonder Woman awakens amid the destruction that was their former home…wonder who managed to pull that off?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League of America (2015) #3

Aug 28, 2015

Overall this was kind of a stale issue with only a few moments of excitement…and almost no action whatsoever. Although I feel this issue may prove integral in the overall story, this is definitely a low point in the series thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2015) #4

Oct 16, 2015

Overall this series finally seems to be going somewhere after the last few issues of ambiguity, so I look forward to see what the Kryptonian God has in store for the heroes and people of Earth.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League United #13

Sep 11, 2015

Overall I liked the change in direction for this series, and I will definitely go back to read exactly how Adam Strange became trapped within the zeta beam. I think its an interesting twist for the character to become an almost prophetic or precognitive oracle…somehow breaking through the space/time barrier to see which characters are needed to accomplish the task at hand.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League United #14

Oct 16, 2015

Overall I am really enjoying this series change of direction…having gone back and read some of the beginning of JLU, I rather enjoy the alternating team ups that see different groups of characters appear throughout the series. I will be rather sad to see this book leave come December due to its cancellation.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League United #15

Nov 13, 2015

All in all, this story was kind of a letdown, and I can see why this series is getting cancelled next month. I had hoped that a team up book of this nature would have some nice 2 or 3-part stories with rotating cast of 4 or 5 characters…however, I think Parker may have tried to cram too much into too short of an arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League United #16

Dec 18, 2015

In the end, we get a revelation about Sardath being Alanna Stranges dad (who cares), and we somehow rescue Adam from the Zeta Beams by pushing a few buttons (too convenient). Overall this ending was a real let down and can be skipped all together…not to mention there isnt a Batman related character in sight. Sad to say but I will not be missing this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #40

Mar 20, 2015

Overall this issue was action packed with a somewhat lukewarm ending, however I am looking forward to see what Arsenal and Red Hood have in store this coming June.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin Rises: Alpha #1

Dec 24, 2014

Overall this was a terrific ending to the Robin Rises and I am glad to have Damian back among the land of the living, Tomasi did a good job with showing the emotions displayed by each member of the family and it was all brought to life with some exquisite artwork by Andy Kubert.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robin: Son of Batman #1

Jun 18, 2015

Overall Im really liking this series, and love seeing Damian in his own book…cant wait to see what happens next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robin: Son of Batman #2

Jul 16, 2015

Overall this was a good story that propels Damian further down a path of redemption…and I definitely have come to believe that these events must be running parallel to the events of Batman Eternal and prior to Endgame due to the absence of Damian from those stories, as well as Robin not even acknowledging the death of his father.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robin: Son of Batman #3

Aug 20, 2015

Overall I really liked this issue, Patrick Gleasons art and writing continues to stay strong despite the double duties…I look forward to this series every month and am eagerly awaiting the confrontation between the Terminator and the Boy Wonder.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robin: Son of Batman #4

Sep 17, 2015

Overall I am loving this story arc and looking forward to what comes down the line…I am even intrigued whether Deathstrokes comment about finding Nobodys killer will propel Maya to betraying Robin.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robin: Son of Batman #5

Oct 29, 2015

Overall this series is going pretty well…I like that we finally introduced a big bad, and we saw Talia and Damian meet since they were both killed/resurrected. My only question now pertains to whether this storyline will be wrapping up next month, or if it will continue into a second arc…after all, we have only accounted for 142 days of the Year of Blood.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robin: Son of Batman #6

Nov 26, 2015

All in all I am looking forward to what Gleason is bringing to the title and believe he has an extremely firm grasp on Damian as a character. Im really excited to see what Robin War has in store for the Boy Wonder and I also ponder whether we have seen the last of the Year of Blood…maybe we will continue to get more flashbacks as to what transpired during those final months?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robin: Son of Batman #7

Dec 24, 2015

Over all this was a decent issue, however I feel that the endgame goal is still a little vague…why does the Court of Owls need the Gray Son of Gotham? And what are they ultimately looking to achieve? Hopefully this is answered in the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robin: Son of Batman #9

Feb 18, 2016

Its also quite obvious that the end goal of the antagonist is to bring Maya back as Nobody…so it will be intriguing as to how/when this will happen. I do like that Maya has found some solace and happiness and isnt so concerned about avenging her father. However, I definitely think that we will see Nobody return at some point to aide Robin in his battles.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robin: Son of Batman #10

Mar 17, 2016

All in all, I really enjoyed this issue, but did find that the story did jump drastically from location to location…it felt a little rushed, as if a finite number of issues were remaining before the book was cancelled. Hopefully this rushing feeling ends and Fawkes is able to bring the redemptive Damians story to a successful conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Robin: Son of Batman #13

Jun 23, 2016

Overall I'm glad this series was over"started strong but ended rather weak. I am looking forward to Damian being in two series' in the coming Rebirth months. Taking over the Teen Titans and teaming with the son of Superman seems like a good match for the young Boy Wonder.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Origins #7

Nov 28, 2014

Overall, this Secret Origins is good"nothing to really write home about, but its a neat little story if youre interested in finding out some point back story about Helena Wayne of Earth 2. The issue also includes origins for The Flash and Superboy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Origins #8

Dec 26, 2014

Overall, this issue was interesting and I can see the reasoning as to why we got another Grayson origin within this series"but I think we could have focused more on another character to get some time in the spotlight. The issue also includes origins for Animal Man and Katana.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Origins #10

Feb 26, 2015

It is definitely an interesting idea that I am eagerly awaiting in next months issue of Batgirl. In regards to my rating, it is based solely on the Batgirl story as I didnt find anything special about Poison Ivy and can easily be skipped. This issue also includes an origin for Ronnie Raymond and Jason Ruschs Firestorm.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Origins #11

Mar 27, 2015

On a last night, this last issue seemed to be whimper to me…the three stories (Guy Gardner, John Constantine, Black Canary) were not very strong and this was definitely one of the weaker issues of this series. I wonder if DC believed that it would continue, otherwise I think that they may have done some bigger characters in their final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2016) #1

Oct 28, 2016

Overall I like the Percy/Meyers team so far, great and well written dialogue with some nice character moments tied with some beautiful visuals and great redesigns on the characters. All in all, Teen Titans is looking like one of my top reads for the DCs Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2016) #2

Nov 25, 2016

What a great issue! I'm REALLY liking this series created by Benjamin Percy and I think that he definitely has a lot of these characters voices down pat. True to point, Damian is indeed the little sh*t that we all know and love and is caught (already) keeping secrets from his new team"seems very reminiscent of a familiar dark and broody crimefighter we all know and love.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #3

Dec 30, 2016

Overall a decent issuestill looking forward to this series as it comes, but I hope that we can get away from Damian grappling with his heritageagain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #4

Jan 27, 2017

Overall I really liked this issue, and Im really digging Benjamin Percys work. Im interested to see if Beast Boy plays a bit more of a leadership role in the teamalthough I love Damian, it would be nice to see him step up to the plate a little bit. The art is also very well done, and I liked the battle over the lava pit between Mara and Damian. Variant covers by Chris Burnham are truly awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #5

Feb 24, 2017

Overall Pham and Benjamin Percy seem to be a great team and I truly look forward to reading their story each month. I am VERY looking forward to next month as they tease the appearance of the "sixth titan!" Spoilers to those who don't read solicitations or look at future cover art, but Aqualad will be joining the ranks of Titans and I can't wait to see this new dynamic in action.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #6

Mar 24, 2017

Who knows if these questions will be answered? But I can definitely say that I am looking forward to finding out. Percy has been doing an excellent job on Teen Titans and his partner Khoi Pham has done a great job in showcasing the teen super heroes…even if they were just eating pizza and playing with their oversized were-manbats. I think we will be in for a treat with the introduction of Aqualad as his water powers will definitely be something to behold and Pham is definitely up for that challenge.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #8

May 19, 2017

Overall this issue was a great step in the Lazarus Contract story, and Im definitely excited to see who gets resurrected…at least, I think will get resurrected as the Lazarus name conveys. Looking forward to the next part which continues in Deathstroke.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #9

Jun 30, 2017

Percy and the resident artist Khoi Pham are continuing to do excellent work…although there was a slight misstep in terms of The Lazarus Contract I think that these two are back on point with some excellent storytelling and art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #10

Jul 28, 2017

Final Thoughts: Overall this was a great issue with a nice origin of how Manta and Lucia met, and delves the mystery deeper of the significance of Aqualads abilities and powers. As always, Percy and Pham make an excellent pair as they continue to put out one of my favorite series of the Rebirth line.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Teen Titans (2016) Annual #1

Jun 2, 2017

Although Im looking forward to seeing the fallout from the story and repercussions on the two teams, this story could essentially be skipped. Overall this story will probably rate a 2.5/5 as I did enjoy the first three issues, but was disappointed in the ending. The only consistency was the art throughout the story. There were some beautiful panels and great splash pages showcasing the heroes and Deathstroke. I liked the design of Deathstrokes speed costume, a nice mix of the traditional Flash with some villainous flare thrown in. As always, connecting covers are a weakness for me so these four would make a great piece to hang on my wall.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans: Rebirth #1

Sep 30, 2016

I am 100% on board with this new incarnation of the Teen Titans, and can say that I love the makeup of this team. Nothing against its previous incarnations or books, but there always seemed to be something lacking amongst the cohesiveness of the team"hopefully this new Robin will bring something new/annoying to the table, because you just know everyone is going to hate him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
We Are Robin #1

Jun 25, 2015

Overall this was a good first issue, however I was a tad confused as to the status of Duke Thomas parents…didnt they die at the end of Endgame? Also, not sure Im a fan of the rebellious, young teenager persona that theyve given him…wasnt a fan when that happened to Jason Todd, so I hope that this wears off soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Are Robin #2

Jul 23, 2015

As for the ending, I like that we see Duke unite with the other Robins…although I would really like to get a bit more of an intro for these characters…havent even got half of their names down yet. So hopefully we get a bit of a meet and greet next month. As for the big bad, Im interested to see whether this is going to turn out to be someone we know, or a brand new villain to add to the Rogues Gallery.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More