Seth Singleton's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 39
7.5Avg. Review Rating

10
Archie Meets Batman '66 #1

Jul 22, 2018

The campy fun of Batman 66 meshes magically with the characters from Riverdale. Book Worm and Foot Note are a nice piece of DC nostalgia to add to the classic rogues, and the wink and nod to electronic books in the future is a clever trope for anyone reading the digital or analog version of this book. Solid marks all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Archie Meets Batman '66 #2

Aug 16, 2018

It was nice to see the development of characters in Riverdale, and the injection of Dick and Barbara. If it is a compensation for the amount of time spent on Batman in the last issue, I can be understanding as long as the next issue gives Archie and Batman equal time. Other readers, might not be so forgiving.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie Meets Batman '66 #3

Sep 27, 2018

Aside from a few missed opportunities to use the Bat-familys abilities to their fullest, this was a fun ride. Its clear that a collision of opposing forces is soon approaching. The only question left to answer is where? And maybe when. Oh, and how. So, its not that clear. But something is going to happen. I recommend staying tuned for the next issue. Its going to be batty.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Damage #4

Apr 26, 2018

This fourth issue in the seriesfeels like it should be part of issue #1. The development of the backstory and the characters hunting Damage feel like they were developed in fits. Some parts feel very detailed, and others just rushed. This series will grow stronger when the balance is applied to both. Gorgeous art provides beautiful scenery.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Damage #5

May 18, 2018

Great development of Ethans character. He needed this moment to begin forging ahead with the conditions he is facing instead of avoiding them. It is a strong turning point that will prepare him for the next challenge. Unfortunately, the other aspects of the story suffered without the same level of attention and detail. This series can still find balance, and creating a consistent voice or tone will help. If they continue to bring in new writers, then that responsibility will fall on the editors.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Damage #6

Jun 20, 2018

Ethan and Damage end this issue by beginning a new chapter. The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier would be a great time to bring back the original Unknown Soldier and continue the trend of returning timeless heroes like Challengers of the Unknown, Vandal Savage, and Carter Hall. I like the potential that Damage has to become a hero throughout time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Damage #7

Jul 20, 2018

By getting Damage away from the Hunters, he can continue searching for the answers he believes lie at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Learning the secret that drives Jonas makes her a more complete character and not just a military stereotype trying to get back government property. Venditti is mapping not only a larger storyline for Damage, he's also adding layers to characters who continue to play a major role in helping our hero grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Damage #8

Aug 16, 2018

This was a great introduction for the next arc in Damage's development. The Unknown Soldier is a legendary character and I love his role in this story. I think he has the compassion to show Ethan the two sides to the choices he will need to make. He also has the experience to provide some guidance and maybe a few tricks about how to operate out of the public eye. I think Ethan would benefit from a disguise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Damage Annual #1

Aug 22, 2018

Robert Venditti does a great job introducing the many elements of Damages origin. The development of Ethans conscience, his manipulation by Colonel Jonas, and the resulting split in his psyche are all introduced nicely. And thankfully, not so neatly that we cant have more intrigue down the road. This story will provide ample material on Damage's journey to change his fate and one day find peace with what he has become.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Looney Tunes: Lex Luthor/Porky Pig #1

Aug 29, 2018

There was only one way a Porky Pig and Lex Luthor could be told in a modern setting. I mean, the former is a stuttering pig with low self-esteem and the latter is the smartest man in the world. Mark Russell avoids the safe story by including modern references that point to the ways the public sets itself up to be manipulated. It starts with a closeup on Porky and expands to include the global impact of social media platforms.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Challengers (2018) #1

May 18, 2018

By tapping into a rich vein of DC history, it might be a herald of the non-powered characters in storytelling that has always made titles like Justice League stronger. This issue opens with enough history and mystery to give itself a fair chance. Make it all sing by the fifth issue and all will be right again in the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Challengers (2018) #2

Jun 22, 2018

The first issue was an ugly twist on the clean-cut history of the original Challengers. It leads to a great setup for this reveal at the end of issue 2. It creates an emotional tug that will make fans of the original characters long for the world to be made or set right. I dont think that is what will happen, but I like the creation of multiple expectations for the next issue and the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Challengers (2018) #3

Jul 20, 2018

Its not the best chapter in this New Heroes title. I like the revelation about the new Prof and his connection to the Dark Multiverse, but everyone seems to accept it really quickly. The same goes for the explanation about the original challengers staying behind. No one seems to care, and it doesnt seem like a big deal when they die at the end of the issue. I understand the need to lead the story into the next issue, but without the tension to compel the reader to keep reading it doesnt make them want to buy it, and they should feel that want.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Challengers (2018) #4

Aug 16, 2018

Scott Snyder and Aaron Gillespie are doing a great job of twisting the expectations of the original Challengers of the Unknown and the impact that the Dark Multiverse has had and continues to have on the rest of the multiverse. Some of those changes involve the Mountain and I think that the story is about to go deeper into the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Challengers (2018) #5

Sep 20, 2018

This issue provided more questions than answers. I love a good mystery that I can follow, and I hope the reader is not getting lost. I have faith that the next two issues will help draw clearer lines for the sake of the storytelling.And until then, it's some gorgeous art. Let your eyes drink it in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Plastic Man (2018) #2

Jul 13, 2018

A solid second issue. In the classic tradition of dime store gumshoe novels, Plastic Man knows what it is like to be on the wrong side of the law. He has a strong moral compass and he knows why it matters to help people. Hes not perfect, but he is willing to do the right thing. Slowly, his desire to do better than the life he used to live is leading him to become a detective. Its a slow road, but a great journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Apocalypse #27

Jul 12, 2018

Scrappy will turn soon enough, and then we will see how ready those two are. for the outcome. Daphne's process is leading somewhere, but grieving is a long and angry road, and Secret Squirrel is so much fun in just a few short pages. Loved every panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Apocalypse #28

Aug 8, 2018

Keith Giffen and J.M. DeMatteishave been writing for so long that they really know how to move the pieces into places where they can create the most tension. What I admire and loveis that he does it with humor. Since the days of Justice League International, Giffen has used comedy to keep the tension alive, before he decides to draw the string tight. I cant wait for that moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Apocalypse #29

Sep 13, 2018

Giffen is doing a masterful job arranging the chess pieces and loading them with weight and value. Creating a backstory for Fred that fills in some gaps, but also leaves many details unexplained is a tantalizing tease. The next step is who will Fred see first. Will everything weve heard from Shaggy, Velma, Scrappy, and Daphne hold true? Or will there be more surprises when Fred finally shows his face?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Apocalypse #30

Oct 14, 2018

Atom Ants first challenge will include trying not to drive Wonder Woman crazy. Dianas only job is to not step on Atom in a fit of anger.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby-Doo Team-up #39

Jun 27, 2018

Little laughs and chuckles, followed by bigger laughs and more chuckles. This Scooby Team-Up was a pleasant blend of nostalgia and slapstick. Watching the flaws of the legendary JSA portrayed in simple concepts were a pleasant poke at the foundation of the DC superhero team. They included modern solutions that made the social constraints of the past seem quaint; easily solved with careful observations.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby-Doo Team-up #40

Jul 25, 2018

When you get the chance to team up with the Swamp Thing and then add in a guest appearance from Solomon Grundy, its easy to get sloppy. But the team does a nice job of keeping the core elements of the characters in focus, and explain the mysterious origins and powers of two of DCs most mythological figures. I thought this was polished and an example of storytelling for younger audiences that is entertaining without dumbing down the content.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Scooby-Doo Team-up #41

Aug 22, 2018

I wanted to see some of the fun that I enjoyed over the last two issues. I could sense the effort, and there were some moments that were light and fun, but its a chore when a story is working so hard to be as funny as it could bebut has to settle for the results. Thats not fun for anyone. Not every hit makes it out of the park, but this one at least made solid contact. But, it would have been awesome with just a little more Chuggaboom.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Scooby-Doo Team-up #42

Sep 27, 2018

I love a great ensemble cast of guest-villains. The only problem is that when there are so many characters on the stage, it can be easy for some of the regulars to play a limited role. I would have liked to see a little more involvement from Scooby and the team, but they were limited to functional dialogue in this story. There were plenty of hairy shoulders to carry the weight of the story, but that left most of the humans standing around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Curse of Brimstone #3

Jun 7, 2018

A three-issue arc makes a promise to the reader. It introduces a problem, a goal, and the forces that are in opposition. The end of the arc either brings the story to a resolution or sets up the characters for a long journey to achieve their goals. The Curse of Brimstone accomplishes both of these at the end of issue 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Curse of Brimstone #4

Jul 4, 2018

A great chapter that sets up the next arc. Justin Jordan is doing a great job of introducing the framework of the Salesman. By revealing the scope of the curse, the limits of Joes new powers, and a ticking countdown that will lead to more developments, Venditti has lit a metaphorical fuse. It might burn fast or slow, but the fuse will run out. When it does, we might see what Joe and Brimstone are really capable of becoming.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Curse of Brimstone #5

Aug 1, 2018

It was nice to enjoy a longer story. The second and third issues of Brimstone have been great one-shot stories that are concluded on the final page. The last issue provided the first taste ina longer arc. Expanding the players, layering the conflicts, pushes Joe, Annie, and Brimstone to reach, fail, and grow. I'm looking forward to the next chapter and bigger challenges.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Curse of Brimstone #6

Sep 6, 2018

This was a tough one. There are no easy answers when you stack heroic morals against the willful violence of a child who can kill you and must be stopped. Its Kobayashi Maru all over again. But, instead of making the wrong choice, or even cheating, Joe and Annie have accepted things the way they are, and this is a moral dilemma that will continue to create more problems for Joe, Annie, and Brimstone in their quest to stop The Salesman.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Curse of Brimstone #7

Oct 5, 2018

Despite the opening fight scenes, this was a story about introducing new characters and arranging chess pieces for the next chapter of the story. I think it can be a difficult process, but Eduardo Pansica and Justin Jordan do a nice job of using suspense to pull it off in this issue. But, now that we have established that the new players are making big moves I would love to learn more about their motivations and how this will come to impact the story of Joe and Annie.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Immortal Men #2

May 10, 2018

Learning about the House of Action through Infinite Woman was a nice storytelling device, though it was not enough to overcomethe limits that were intentionally placed on the development of characters like the Immortal Man.I need more reasons to care about Caden, other than to feel he is the vehicle that gets me to the Immortal Man. The series can get there and I hope it will.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Immortal Men #3

Jun 16, 2018

The characters have been revealed, the stage is almost set. The stakes will soon be revealed, and then we will see just how ready Caden Park is to join The Immortal Men. I am ready for the long road and the wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Immortal Men #4

Jul 12, 2018

This one ends with the strongest cliffhanger yet. The Immortal Man was the whole reason for The Immortal Men to keep fighting. They were are part of his house. No one is strong enough to take his place. Maybe when we learn whether Caden really did receive a final message we can see if what his real role is in this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Immortal Men #5

Aug 8, 2018

We are starting to see Cadens purpose on the team. Its a change from the original plan, but most stories prefer to play that card because it makes everything unpredictable for the heroes and the villains. I like the move and the development, but it will work best when the details play a key role and avoid gratuity. We all know things can slip through the cracks, but for this book to survive its infancy, it would be better to catch them now rather than later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Immortal Men #6

Sep 13, 2018

I love that the conflict between the five immortal families is no longer a secret battle. The fact that this puts them directly in the sights of the Justice League will create such great conflict in the following issues. Add the eventual reveal of The House of Harmony, and the world of The Immortal Men and our knowledge of itwill continue to grow much like my affection for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #6

Jun 27, 2018

If you have been following the story from the beginning, this is another strong chapter. And a great place to climb aboard the wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #7

Jul 25, 2018

I was surprised and pleased that Silencer was extended beyond its original six-issue miniseries. There are a lot of great threads that weave the Silencers story and it is a pleasure to see that the writers will now receive the time and issues they need to follow these threads. Silencer has a lot of potentialas a character and a player on the big stage. I want to see how long she can keep up a ruse that she thinks will be over soon, and we know better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #8

Aug 23, 2018

I think Dan Abnett is raising the stakes with precision and balanced execution. Is it perfect? No. But, the beauty is in the imperfection. I feel like this breakneck pace is only going to quicken. The reader is in for a wild, bumpy, and twisty ride. I plan on chuckling at every turn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #9

Sep 27, 2018

Mr. Abnett is a master storyteller with years of experience crafting original and traditional comic book stories. He clearly demonstrated that there are more ways to walk in another characters shoes than just the top five we are trained to recognize.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer Annual #1

Aug 31, 2018

A good comic book annual offers a look at the past and a promise for the future. The Silencer's first annual illuminates key moments that led to a change in Honors belief system and a challenge to her League of Assassin indoctrination. By opening and then ending this book in her home with Blake and their son, Honor acknowledges that her greatest lesson from Talia was the value of family. A family shechosen and built with the people she loves.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More