Sharna Jahangir's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 32
8.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batman/The Shadow #1

Apr 28, 2017

I'm always excited to see a partnership with the Dark Knight. Bruce Wayne is such a unique and brilliant character that a character will always evolve around him, and he will always evolve with the partnership as well. The Shadow's form of vigilante is dangerous, while Batman is aware of his surroundings. He tries his best to keep everyone out of harm's way, The Shadow does not and this will cause dilemma and tension. I am interested in their chemistry. In the past, they have established respect, I know this will happen but I'm also looking forward to an awkward friendship as well. Overall, absolutely mandatory for your comic collection and a must-read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/The Shadow #2

May 29, 2017

This is another brilliant comic series. I've been addicted to crime dramas since I was a child, so this is a treat for me. I really want to know the person/people behind the murders, and why. I'm also intrigued to see this relationship develop because chemistry with Batman is always an interesting time. With amazing writers and artist behind this series, I'm sure it'll continue to be an astounding story. I won't give out a big spoiler, but the last panel art is a piece! A strong representation of evil.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/The Shadow #3

Jul 1, 2017

I believe this is one of the best series to follow. It beautifully encompasses a thriller murder/mystery within Batman and his world. I feel that so much art is coming out these days that are primarily for children and family fun. Soft bright colors, kids with jeans, so on and so on. But this series? I've been pulled into a dark world with meaning and I've been fullyentertained per issue. I loved the Joker's design and diction, he spoke with sensible insanity. Each issue thus far has had the perfect endings: answering one question and having 3 more introduced.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/The Shadow #4

Jul 27, 2017

This is an amazing crossover series; I cannot express it enough. I've been craving depth and a witty team up with Batman, and the writers deliver. They've made a fascinating detecting series, with only a few supernatural moments. It's filled with humans, which is one of the most appealing aspects of Batman and crew. This evil exists in our world, whether in war or capitalism. Even if we can't fight alongside them, it's cathartic to see villains go down at the same time providing us with symbolic realism as the heroes still suffer because no victory is without suffering. There are only a few more issues to go, I cannot wait, and at the same time, I need savor each issue as I'll miss it once it's over. It's a must have for the collection!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/The Shadow #5

Aug 26, 2017

Overall, a good read! If you're following the tale, I'd say to keep at it! The writing is memorable, and the art is great fun to study. I'm excited for more renditions of The Batman Who Laughs, and so horror-Esque stories are my jam. I only wish this issue was as brutal as its last. I could always do with more interactions and team-upswith the Bat, so each issue is always a treat!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/The Shadow #6

Sep 30, 2017

My only disappointment is that I wish the series was less supernatural. They're both detectives, and Batman has a habit of not staying in his realm. Magic, dreams, and otherworldly experiences are not things new to Batman, his world is a trip, but supernatural evil teaming up with the Joker gave it an insane aura that felt like overkill at the end. Still, the art and writing conveyed a good unreliable narrative which I believe is part of the message. No one can rely on their mind. All members of the party, Joker, Batman, Shadow, the Stag, were pulled into a dark place in their minds and some just never got out if their heads. DC did an amazing job setting up the art duo, it's dynamic, amazing, top notch! Creepy and eerie, and if you've kept up with the series, the finale is worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight #1

Oct 4, 2017

The writing is so strong, I had to put the book down for a few moments to handle it. It's Batman, but someone going: he's driving through the city in an unlicensed tank, destroying millions of dollars of property, and sometimes injuring civilians. They're such valid reason to arrest him, even Babs and Dick have nothing to say. A crime is a crime, the law is the law, and Batman breaks it. Napier is out to get justice, not war. It's such a political piece. How many activists, fighting for human rights, were forced behind bars versus the number unjust politicians who create decisions destroying people's lives? How many shooters walk away with sympathies? This is that story. You see Gordon's weakness, Batman's falling, and how evil men rise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #16

Mar 18, 2017

This series is extremely entertaining. Harley had caught my attention since the 1990s. I can't imagine a moment where she wasn't entertaining. A comic of her being the title character can be summed in one word: fun. Even next to Batman, in DC's Christmas Special, she helps him break into (one line) a Christmas carol. That's talent! The story is slightly staggered, but they are building up to a deeper meaning and desire. This being only issue 16, I know there is much more coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #22

Jun 10, 2017

As I said, definitely would recommend this issue if you're just starting off with Justice League. It's witty and lovable, perfectly befitting the joyful side of the characters. It's a low-key issue and isn't one to cause too much stress. With the revolutionary new Wonder Womanmaking great success, it's wonderful to see more women work in the DC-comic industry, and give the female superheroes narratives that stand-out. Both Jess and Wonder Woman's personalities were vibrant. In addition, to remind us that Ms. Lane is a journalist. A fun addition to your collection!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #23

Jun 24, 2017

A few moments of brief smiles. The relationship between the Leaguers is strong, but I do not support the portrayal of Cruz and this unknown city. American narratives try and make a place look “exotic” and it turns out looking pretty disrespectful. Come on, I think Rebirth can do much better than this. Art is gorgeous, but it wasn't a strong attempt at being political, at least people are trying. I'd recommended someone grabbing an insight or two before they write about oppression and social structures and then try to deliver it with the exceptional art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #24

Jul 10, 2017

Art is spectacular! Mera is still badass and powerful. I appreciate Wonder Woman's connection to Mera, she tries to sympathize and I'm always excited to see women superheroes supporting each other, we can always see more. As well as super buff women? A-double-plus! However, it would be wonderful if the writers could become more familiar with each character. I'll still look forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #25

Jul 21, 2017

I've recently picked up this series, and I haven't fallen for it yet. Hitch is helping. If they continue on depicting great characterization and inclusion, I'm all for it. If you've read my last reviews (#23, #24) they were disappointing due to bad generalizations and stereotypes, Hitch's issue is clean and cut. There is a perfect amount of violence and action, it's hard to rip your eyes away. If you're looking into starting Justice League, you can certainly start here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #26

Aug 5, 2017

Issue #25 wasn't a bad piece of work! I was finding Hitch a wonderful writer, and he still must be. Writing new characters in a world with very stable, decades-old characters can be tricky. It disturbs a balance, so this issue felt a bit disconnecting. In addition, the art differs from modern versions of the Justice League. Greatly talented, however, an eerie combination as those older versions of heroes looked unrealistic. I hope this arc improves, the story has a great entertaining idea and a good team behind it, with the Justice League film around the corner, a spectacular story would wicked to have!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League (2016) #27

Aug 19, 2017

This issue feels empty, like realizing how much empty carbs you just ate finishing off a pizza alone. I'm sure it's entertaining to flip through, however, there's no meat pulling us in. I have to admit, I am losing hope for this series, I need something good to come out of it soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #3

Mar 9, 2017

We've already seen them fight: the Justice League against Brainiac, and the Might Morphs battling Lord Zedd. The combination of them is a thrilling joy to read. I had been waiting for this series the minute I heard of it. I suppose for nostalgic reasons, as well as the art looking so attractive. We can expect that the next issue will begin the climax, and although predictable, during these struggling times, we can never get enough of team ups and taking down villains. We need it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #4

May 20, 2017

I highly recommend this crossover series. Watching two childhood superhero teams work together will cause a smile on your face, no doubt. A simple plot and conflict, but it doesn't mean I won't enjoy the ride. There are the classic lessons in this: love your family, respect your elders, and believe in yourself. All around, a good-hearted issue. Issue#5 comes out August 9th, 2017, a bit of a wait, but worth it for your collection!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #5

Aug 11, 2017

Fantastic series to follow! I hope you have been collecting them because I foresee that this will be arare issue tofind in the future. Even my comic book shop sold out of this issue Wednesday morning. This series doesn't carry a complicated, mature plot, these big baddies have been portrayed much more vicious in other reiterations and arcs. This is a family friendlyseries for sure. It's a great crossover, filled with fun and teamwork, something the world needs right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #6

Sep 27, 2017

Bruce standing up to the bullies of the Rangers at the end? Yes, please. I need more fatherly, grumpy Batdad moments! I adore the Mighty Morphs, and watching the League guide these teenagers left me with such warm feelings. I don't believe there's much to dislike unless you're more into torturous Joker-Batman moments (then check out Batman/The Shadow), this is certainly something light-hearted. I'm happy to have followed through their journey. I had been waiting for this series since its announcement back in 2016, and not regretting my wait at all. It's one for the collection for sure!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #9

Apr 15, 2017

I am entranced by this series, I was originally heart-broken when the New 52 Red Hood and the Outlaws ended, because the chemistry was just so solid. However, reading this, I still appreciate the old, but the story tellers and the artists are doing a wonderful job of healing my heart. I will reiterate what I said in my last review, I love Scott Lobdell.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #10

May 13, 2017

A series easily to immerse into, Red Hood and the Outlaws #10 is one to humble your collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #11

Jun 17, 2017

All their faces, bodies, fighting scenes are spot on and aesthetic. If you don't enjoy the resolution, get this for the art! The conclusion in writing is anti-climactic, especially after having 3 months of an enticing build-up, but Soy and Gandini definitelymake up for what's lacking. Lobdell is talented, and the writing has been stand-up for this series. I suppose the ending felt forced and rushed. Maybe Artemis needed more time? But that's alright, we have more than enough time to learn and love this team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #12

Jul 14, 2017

The trio of creators, Lobdell, Soy, and Gandini make a wicked Trinity themselves, it's making this one of the best DC comic series thus far. I'm eager to follow Bizzaro's story. The ending was as emotional and tragic as it wanted to be (spoilers) we know he will be alright, but I hope I do get to see more of Bizzaro's interactions. I feel he has the least exposure in this series, I watch Artemis and Jason with Bizzaro in adoration. They better take care of Pup Pup while he's gone!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #13

Aug 11, 2017

The backgrounds are detailed, and on that balance where it looks like animated reality. Veronica Gandini's gifted coloringmakes this issue gorgeous to look at. A big appeal of my collection is due to the artwork, accompanied with a fantastic story is a bonus. During the introduction, she plays with childhood palettes, as if out of an animated cartoon show for children. However, Soy's detailed pencilling makes me feel more adult reading it. The introduction pulls nostalgia.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #14

Sep 19, 2017

100% worth it. The cover art matches the tone of this issue, and if you can tell it's a delightful ride. Lobdell creates one of my favorite versions of Jason Todd; he maintains this outlaw persona while keeping him a goofy Bat-kid at heart. It's been a few issues with the story of Artemis, and that was a dark ride. Jason and Artemis both faced their demons, but I could go for some more darkness in the following issues. Knowing Rebirth, they won't let me down in that area.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #1

Sep 1, 2017

Great annual! I'd recommend to pickup this issue if you're a collector and a fan of Lobdell. It's a wholesome issue, a good break with all the disasters going on in the edgy DC Multiverse. Artemis and Bizarro are solid! She's witty and charming, and so is Bizarro. It's filled with good chuckles. The bat-boys could always use some peace and happiness. Nice work, Rebirth!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #8

Apr 24, 2017

I'm greatly biased, as Trinity is my most beloved Rebirth series, thus far. I appreciate the development of their chemistry and combined strengths. However, unless you're a fan of Superman, this issue might not interest you, but I'll be looking forward to the continuation of this series. Props to Bunn for instilling an affinity for Superman in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #9

May 22, 2017

This is an interesting thriller issue, a mixture of superheroes and creature features. I could hear an eerie,monotonous soundtrack in the back of my head while Flash was giving us the run-down of what's going on. Dismembered Cyborg didn't help tone it down either. I'm genuinely curious as to what went down on this ship, however, I believe I am as confused as Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman. It's certainly something I've added to my collection. The art alone is completely worth it, but I'd suggest to read it differently. Instead of a superhero comic, read it like a murder-mystery and see if you feel anything different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #10

Jun 23, 2017

Say what you must, but I enjoyed this issue! As a fan of creature features and superheroes, I'm loving this. It's friendly and fun, and hopefully, we'll get back to the deeper themes between the Trinity. My only complaint is that I would love to see more chemistry between the three.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #11

Jul 21, 2017

This finished the "Dead Space" story arc of Trinity. It ends how it started, Bruce, Clark, and Diana wonders if they're still in reality. It ends peacefully, which isn't common ground of DC. It makes it that much more special. Their bonds are growing. I hope Manapul continues to write for them because each member spoke of the other, I'm excited to see them as close as they once were.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #12

Aug 19, 2017

A fun issue if you enjoy the interactions. Banter amongst the Leaguer is one of my favorite DC tropes. The storyline is simple, but the (spoiler) appearance of Red Hood and the Outlawsplaces me at a loss. I'm still craving for more moments that will develop the bonds since the world's most powerful superhero Trinity has to be stronger than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #14

Oct 23, 2017

The “vroooooom!” can take you back to your childhood. Possessivedemons are also perfect for the month of Halloween. I'm looking forward to its conclusion, but I do hope for an ending that instills some strongemotions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

The plot is a little convoluted, I noticed this for many Trinity story-arcs. I followed the Pre-New 52 Trinity series from the early 2000s,and a major flaw was that several narratives didn't make sense. So much time-hopping. I really hope this doesn't occur for Rebirth Trinity. It's a relatively new universe, so it's alright that they made four Superman clash into each other (although, why Rebirth? Why?) It needs to flow better. I believe that the lack of history between Clark Kent and Bruce Wayne/Diana Prince is a significant reason why Trinity appears nonlinear. Until issue #6, the writers were doing a bang-up job with story plotting. It looks like they're on their way to tie things together. At the end of the issue, the dark Trinity appears; Red Hood, Artemis, and Bizzaro from Red Hood and the Outlaws! I'm stoked for the next adventure. Yet, if they give me more out-of-suit parties, dinners, and interactions, I won't complain. Bruce! Stop freaking out Clark with the bill!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More