Timothy Merritt's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Coming Up Comics, Rhymes With Geek Reviews: 112
9.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Afterlife With Archie #5

May 15, 2014

The most exciting thing about this book, though, is what's being set up for the coming arc. Francavilla teased the cover for issue six a couple months back on his twitter, and the image suggests we'll be moving out of the realm of strictly dealing with zombies into a wider net of the supernatural. If anything, this only widens the sandbox for these talented creators, and I for one am excited to see what's next for Archie and the gang in the apocalypse.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Afterlife With Archie #6

Jul 23, 2014

Ok, you know where I'm going with this. This book is perfect. I would give it an 11/10 if I could. Each issue is as strong or stronger than the last, the passion of the creative team never wavers, and you can feel how much fun they're having on this book. With the horror-themed Sabrina scheduled to debut this October off the successful rotting heels of Afterlife, the future looks bright for Archie's mature endeavors.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Afterlife With Archie #7

Dec 10, 2014

I never read Archie Comics growing up, and was only marginally familiar with the characters before diving into Afterlife, but Aguirre-Sacasa and Francavilla have done such a phenomenal job of creating a mature story within the framework of the Archie Universe that they've actually peaked my interest to go read the classic stories, regardless of the shift in tone. But the horror comic that everyone thought would be a gimmick when it first premiered is still the true achievement here. Francavilla's art and colors nearly pop off the page in their vibrancy, and he's able to capture so much emotional depth and cinematic tone without ever using an extraneous line. Aguirre-Sacasa knows this world inside and out, both that of Archie and of horror, and blends the two as though they had always been connected. Let's hope they always will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aliens: Fire and Stone #1

Sep 23, 2014

The art team of Reynolds and Stewart do a great job together here, and it's the aliens themselves who are the visual stars of the book. Each detail of their Giger-derived bodies is rendered beautifully, in a style that at times felt almost reminiscent of Jock–hard lines and scrupulous details. It's a book that will live up to the demand of die-hard fans who care so much about how these creatures and locales are portrayed. If you're an Alien fan, pick this and the other tie-ins up as they come out, and stay tuned for more coverage of the event as the ensuing titles are released.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
All-New X-Men #28

Jun 12, 2014

I'm still loving this series. It's still one of the better "X" books I've read in the modern age, and the art has been solidly astounding throughout the whole run. I have reservations, yes, but I'm still trusting Bendis on this ride he's taking me, and I'm curious to see where we're going. Say what you want about what he's done with the continuity of the X-Men, but he's definitely shaken things up, and he's managed to turn Jean Grey from a character who's often the dead horse of comics fans hopes that so many writers love to beat into a strong and complicated character who I love to read about in this setting. All in all, it's a great book that worth the money, and I'm still looking forward to what's coming next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #29

Jul 10, 2014

All-New X-Men is a fun mix of new stories with old characters, and proves X-books are still good. Jump on board before the next issue drops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-New X-Men #30

Aug 13, 2014

Great writing, brilliant art, and the break from seriousness we needed, All-New X-Men #30 fits perfectly into the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #1.1

May 8, 2014

I was on the fence about this "new" series living up to its many clamoring press releases and sales number records, but put all of those things out of your mind and just do what I did: read a great book by a solid creative team and remember why you love the web-slinger in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #29

Mar 12, 2014

This is a no-brainer. Batman is one of the best comics out, and has been since issue #1. The storytelling is perfect, the art is phenomenal, and the story arcs are brave, sophisticated, and well-balanced in their execution. Zero Year is a perfect 10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #31

May 28, 2014

If you've been following "Zero Year", this issue both delivers the same kind of high-caliber you've come to expect from this team as well as the frustration that the story ends after only twenty six pages until next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Batman (2011) #32

Jun 26, 2014

I've thoroughly enjoyed "Zero Year", and I am excited for what's coming next when we move back into "modern day" Gotham, but next month's finale should be the icing on the cake.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Batman (2011) #33

Jul 23, 2014

As always, the artwork is phenomenal, and Capullo dug deep for this finale issue. His paneling is crisp and masterful, and every detail pops from the page with the help of inker Danny Miki and sensational colorist FCO Plascencia, who's been a major asset on this entire run. So far, this has been an unstoppable creative team, and with the new "Endgame" arc premiering in issue #35, I can't wait to see what they'll do next. The bottom line is that Batman has consistently been one of the best superhero books in publication since it began in 2011, and if this pace keeps up"long may the Bat reign.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2011) #34

Aug 13, 2014

In all, this issue is a decent attempt to fill the void between arcs, but feels as though it should have been placed among the other Batman-related titles. The art is phenomenal, but the story feels somewhat heavy-handed, and being a huge Batman fan I am looking forward to the return of Snyder and Capullo.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #35

Oct 8, 2014

The bottom line is this is one of, if not the best superhero book out, and this arc looks to be yet another step up for this creative team. It's a brilliant move. So stop reading and get to a comic shop, or download the issue digitally, but get this book in your hands now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #36

Nov 12, 2014

Critical acclaim was heaped upon "Death of the Family", but if these first two issues are any indication, "Endgame" will be the Joker's magnum opus. For any future creative teams that will dare to follow Snyder, Capullo, Miki, and Plascencia, take notice"this is your benchmark.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #37

Dec 17, 2014

Snyder and Capullo's Batman, somehow, continues to be the most original and thought-provoking take on the character in decades, and what they're building here stands to influence future creative teams at the level of what Miller did with him in the 80's. You don't have to take my word for it, though. Just go read Batman #37 and find out how disappointed you are when you run out of pages to turn.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #38

Jan 28, 2015

There's a reason this title has managed to dominante the sales rankings for so long, and with what's been happening in "Endgame", there's no sign of things letting up any time soon. Batman just can't be stopped.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #39

Feb 25, 2015

Pick up Batman #39 and make sure to prepare for the narrative crescendo coming next month, when Gotham, Batman, and Joker will most certainly never be the same again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #1

Dec 9, 2014

Kelly Sue is becoming the Gloria Steinem of comics, delivering a message of endowment and challenge alike. While themes of gender, discrimination, and perseverance figure heavily in all her work, Bitch Planet might be poised to synthesize those efforts into a magnum opus. It's an incredibly nuanced work if you go rereading between the lines, and with a feminist as dedicated and committed as Kelly Sue at the helm, this series promises to teach us all a thing or two, while asking the singular question: Are you non-compliant?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #2

Jan 28, 2015

If you're not reading Bitch Planet yet, now's your chance. Grab the second issue and find a second printing of the first, because this is a story you want to jump on board with now. This book is onto something big here, and I for one can't wait to see where the ride takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Science #7

Jul 29, 2014

Black Science continues to be a fascinating read, and one I'm consistently impressed with both in terms of its narrative and visual delivery. This is a great book, and we're lucky to have it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Captain Marvel (2014) #3

May 15, 2014

The story is solid, and the end-of-issue setup seems ripe for an interesting new arc in the coming months, but more than anything this issue works because Kelly Sue is a skilled craftsman when it comes to her characters and her narrative. Readers know they can trust her to use Captain Marvel to tackle problems that require both photon blasts and philosophical debate. Jump on board if you like your heroes smart as well as strong, and witness how an intelligent storyteller strikes that balance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Captain Marvel (2014) #5

Jul 9, 2014

Captain Marvel continues to be a solid series with every issue, devoid of both fluff and thematic elements in the narrative intended just for shock value"this is just good storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain Marvel (2014) #6

Aug 13, 2014

A satisfying conclusion to this arc, Captain Marvel #6 struts off the stands to deliver a kick-ass story, art, and the cohesion of a hero we can all aspire to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Captain Marvel (2014) #7

Sep 10, 2014

Pick this one up, no question, and prepare for what I can almost guarantee will be a killer issue next month in the follow-up to this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Captain Marvel (2014) #8

Oct 8, 2014

I'm loving the range of stories this title has been able to juggle, while still maintaining the pure throughline of heart and honesty that both Captain Marvel and Kelly Sue are known for. I can't wait to see what they do next together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain Marvel (2014) #11

Jan 14, 2015

This is an adventurous issue with the whole creative team showing off their skills, and a great belated holiday gift, even if it is a little late getting into your hands. Pick it up today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Copperhead #1

Sep 9, 2014

With a solid creative team and an engrossing first issue, Copperhead is both accessible and inviting, and feels like a strong start to a great new effort from Image. This will be one to keep an eye on, folks. Pick one up while you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deadly Class #4

Apr 30, 2014

It's a solid issue from what's turning out to be a great series, but would we really expect anything less from Remender and Craig? Deadly Class has become one of my most looked forward-to titles every month, due in no small part to the story's rawness and the honesty of the narratives. It's a book not to be missed, and this issue is yet another blistering showcase for Craig and Remender's talents as co-creators.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Elektra (2014) #1

Apr 24, 2014

All in all, this is a fantastic debut from a powerhouse creative team, and promises to be one of the most talked about #1"s of the season. Jump on this title immediately, and see what all the hype is about. It's all true.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Elektra (2014) #4

Jul 16, 2014

This book just keeps getting better, and Blackman and Del Mundo are at the top of their game. Get this on your pull list immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Elektra (2014) #5

Aug 20, 2014

I'm interested to see where the series goes next, both for Blackman's approach to expanding Elektra's character and to see more of Del Mundo's brilliant art. So far, it's been an engrossing, visceral treat, and I look forward to more from this team.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Evil Empire #1

Mar 6, 2014

What could have been an intriguing story instead comes off as a disorganized narrative with flat characters. The plot itself is far-fetched (which isn't usually a problem in comics, but it's the presentation of the plot that makes it hard to swallow), and overall the issue felt like it needed at least another draft or two, or at least another go round through editorial. More than anything, this feels like heavy handed propaganda thinly veiled as fiction, which makes it a chore to read and takes its anger out on the reader–none of which makes for a very inviting book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy #4

Jan 28, 2015

Gotham Academy might seem like an all-ages teen-drama comic at first glance, and it is, but it's so good at what it does and embraces so much beyond simple genre tropes that this truly is a comic for everyone. Which is why everyone should be buying it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #15

May 28, 2014

Bendis has proven himself to be one of Marvel's master storytellers for years (or even decades), and his work on Guardians is no exception. This is comic that has the heart of Whedon's Firefly, but with its own flair, and I just recently became a big fan of the series, devouring the entire run over the course of a few days. All hype from the upcoming movie aside, the current comic has been solid through every issue, and while this one might be mainly set-up for the next arc to come, it still has that familiar punch. Don't miss out on what's proving to be a great book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #15

Mar 1, 2014

A welcome return to Clints story in New York from Kate Bishops adventures in California. I love Annie Wus take on Lady Hawkguy, and look forward to her exploring more of that character (heck, I personally think its about time Kate got her own book, dontcha think?), but I would be remiss to say that seeing Aja, Fraction, and Clint back together again to get closer to resolving the tracksuit plot (along with including Barney) wasnt a damn fine return to form. But most pressingly, the last few pages of the issue are where the story really excels, and that last splash page will either have you holding your breath or gasping for air.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #19

Jul 30, 2014

After months of waiting, Hawekeye #19 has delivered and then some, and mark my words, this one will be a big contender for an Eisner next year, though that was obviously not the objective. And while there are already ASL translations of the issue popping up online, I won't link to any here, out of respect for what the creators are trying to convey, and hope that experiencing a little frustration and puzzlement over what's happening in some of these pages will open your eyes (and hands) like it did mine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #20

Sep 10, 2014

So for now, so long, Annie, but we've still got a few more issues to go before we have to say our final tearful goodbye to Hawkeye altogether. Until then, you can find me painfully in denial rocking gently in the corner of my local comics shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #21

Feb 4, 2015

You don't need me to tell you that this is a book you cannot miss, so go grab yourself a copy of part one of the finale of one of the best superhero books in decades.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Imperium #1

Feb 3, 2015

If you're a fan of super powered beings, villainous brotherhoods, and stories of world domination, then Imperium is for you. Jump on this starting point now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ivar, Timewalker #1

Jan 21, 2015

Ivar, Timewalker is an exciting ride through time and paradoxical possibilities, off to a great start in this strong first issue. It's a book you'll want to pick up. I know I will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer #1

Jan 6, 2015

Lady Killer is a massively strong first issue from a creative team that is simply at the top of their game. It's a book that, right from the get go, we're demanding run longer than it's five-issue mini. Pick up your copy immediately, and if you're local to Portland, make sure to join the creators at the Portland Things From Another World at 7PM for a 60's-themed cocktail signing party. Also, don't miss our in-depth interview with Jolle and Jamie about the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer #2

Feb 3, 2015

Lady Killer is a comic with smarts, gorgeous visuals, and a stiletto of a story. Don't wait until issue two sells out, pick this book up now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Letter 44 #6

Apr 24, 2014

If you haven't jumped on Letter 44 yet, it's not too late to pick up issues 1-5 at your LCBS, or online in digital format. Both a political and a science fiction thriller, Letter 44 explores big questions about mankind. The trade won't release until July, but I wouldn't recommend waiting that long to check out this great series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Letter 44 #8

Jul 22, 2014

With a show on the SyFy Channel looming, and what looks like a great arc still to come, this is book that's gone from being a sleeper hit to a strong monthly deliverer. Pick it up now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Little Nemo: Return to Slumberland #1

Aug 19, 2014

It's a gorgeous book full of whimsy and fun, and one that brought me back to my childhood as I read it. I look forward to see what else this team cooks up next with Nemo, and recommend you pick up a copy at your local comic shop. You'll be glad you did.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Low #2

Aug 27, 2014

If you didn't know, Low #1 sold out within an hour of release, and there's a good reason for that. It's a deeply emotional unfolding of well-crafted characters in a world that begs your exploration, and deserves a high rank on your pull list. Don't miss this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Magneto (2014) #1

Mar 6, 2014

Magneto #1 is a book not to be missed. No, this isn't the larger-than-life Magneto from years past with cloak and helmet and asteroid. He doesn't have legions of mutants at his disposal or an industrialized agenda. And that's a good thing. Despite decries to the contrary, taking characters in new directions can be a positive thing when it's done right, and with this creative team, this book has a great chance at breathing new catharsis into Magneto.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Magneto (2014) #4

May 21, 2014

In Issue #4, we see a good balance of this rage and grief. Magneto continues his journey eliminating targets, but he is also collecting reminders along the way that fuel his purpose, and despite the savagery he often employs in killing his enemies (which whether or not is too extreme for some of these offenders is another argument to be had") we can still root for this antihero to succeed in his mission. Magneto is a dark, mature, and brooding series to be sure, but it's one that explores one of the X-books most interesting characters in ways not yet seen, thanks to Bunn's stellar writing and the amazing art of first Gabriel Hernandez Walta, and now Javier Fernandez, with the always-supreme talents of color artist Jordie Bellaire. Far more than just some comic about killing or getting even, this is a book that demands to be read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Magneto (2014) #6

Jul 2, 2014

This is a comic that's going to keep going to dark places and will continue to push buttons as well as boundaries, but its execution is tactful and powerful enough to be enthralling whether you're attracted or repelled. There are dozens of books each month that follow the exploits of good-guys, and many do it extremely well. But to do justice to an ongoing title following a villain is an extraordinary feat, and one this team has achieved.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Magneto (2014) #7

Jul 16, 2014

I'm both enthralled and a little scared of Magneto, and that mixture of emotions keeps me coming back each month for more. This is a book that takes risks, without every feeling like it's cheating you. I'm onboard for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Magneto (2014) #8

Aug 20, 2014

Things move forward here from Magneto simply going out for revenge, and what's coming next looks to be an exciting development in both the book and the character. I can't wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Mars Attacks: First Born #1

May 15, 2014

All in all, this was a surprisingly touching read I stumbled on when picking up my weekly books, and one I can happily recommend to our readers. Kieth's art is beautiful to behold, as anyone currently reading the gorgeous reprints of his much beloved Maxx series also from IDW will vouch for, and this book is no exception. And the story he and Ryall have concocted is an intriguing enough one to prompt me to add this book to my monthly pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mars Attacks: First Born #3

Aug 5, 2014

With the concluding issue coming out in September, Mars Attacks First Born has been one hell of a good ride. For more on the series, be sure to check out our interview with writer Chris Ryall, where we talk about working with Kieth, the influence of Wally Wood on the series, and much more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mars Attacks: First Born #4

Sep 3, 2014

The trade will be out in November if you missed these great singles, and I suggest you pick it up when it drops. This is a great story on it's own, as well as a fitting tribute to one of comics' legends, the singular Wally Wood. For more on Wood, the making of the book, and process between Kieth and Ryall, check out our interview with Chris Ryall.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Miracleman #8

Jul 3, 2014

If you aren't reading Miracleman, and you have even the slightest interest in the philosophical concept of superheroes, you should be. It's simply one of the best-written and most compelling series on the subjects ever produced. Everyone knows Watchmen, but while Miracleman is gem of a different glint, it's one that deserves every bit as much praise and acclaim. Having been worked on by Alan Moore and Neil Gaiman, two of the greatest comics writers of all time, this is a series you shouldn't be missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Miracleman #9

Aug 6, 2014

A great character with superb storytelling, Miracleman continues to deliver decades after its original publication. For more information on the series and how it came to be (as well as an overview of the amazing copyright-jumping involved in the series' printings), check out my post later this week for our first Flashback Friday feature, where I'll get you up to speed on Miracleman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Miracleman #10

Sep 3, 2014

It's great to see this book on the shelves after the sordid history of its publication, and I look forward to reading both the reprints and the eventual run Neil Gaiman will have when he takes up the Miracleman helm where he left off decades earlier.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Miracleman #14

Jan 7, 2015

As we inch towards the conclusion of "Book III", where Neil Gaiman's issues will soon be seeing reprint, I can't wait to see what will come of the long-awaited new issues that will follow, finally rounding out the saga of a series that can still so boldly captivate readers. This is a book for the ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Miracleman #15

Feb 4, 2015

Once again, Miracleman show why it's still one of the most relevant superhero books ever written.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
MPH #1

May 21, 2014

The bookended story that surrounds Roscoe's is just as intriguing, and looks to reveal a bigger picture as the series unfolds. In all, Millar's story here is top notch, and Fegredo's art looks great, especially in his big action panels where his skill with details is on full display. This looks to be fun read that I'm already a little disappointed will only be a miniseries, but it's one I will recommend you pick up immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Ms. Marvel (2014) #4

May 28, 2014

I hope more people will discover this book and realize it's not a "book for girls" or a "book for Muslim teens" or any other neat little box I've seen other reviewers try and put its audience in. It's a book for people who want to read a touching, funny, human story about growing up and finding yourself, that just happens to involve some superpowers and a little Pakistani culture. And we're lucky to have it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ms. Marvel (2014) #7

Aug 20, 2014

This is a book that everyone should be reading by now. It's a lively, welcoming foray into new superhero territory, and each issue is just plain fun to read, something notably missing from many other books. We needed this, and I for one am a proud member of the Kamala Korps.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Nameless #1

Feb 4, 2015

I still don't know exactly what this book is, but I know you need to buy it. Immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
ODY-C #1

Nov 25, 2014

Overall it's an intriguing first issue for what looks to be a monster series. Grab your copy when it releases and jump on one hell of an adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
ODY-C #2

Jan 6, 2015

This book is engrossing, beautiful, brutal, and hypnotic in its brilliance, something I'll be returning to to both find the pieces I've missed the first time around as well as experience the whole package again. This is a masterwork. Period.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
ODY-C #3

Feb 24, 2015

ODY-C continues to live up to not only its own hype, but the legacy of The Odyssey itself, resurrecting it for a new age that preserves the themes at its core while widening its accessibility. ODY-C is challenging, beautiful, and heroic, but most of all, it's great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Original Sin #1

May 7, 2014

Aaron and Deodato do a fantastic job at balancing more than a dozen characters and the murder plot, all while building suspense and weaving threads to be explored over the next seven issues of the core series as well as the crossovers into the titles involved in the Original Sin event. The art is beautiful, with splash pages and two-pages layouts done right where they need to be in the pacing of the story. And Aaron's prose is polished, dramatic, and fitting whether he's writing quick liners for Ant-Man or somber captions for the overarching narration. This is not a "gimmick" book, as some, ahem, other recent "event" books seem to be. Original Sin looks to be a revealing mystery, and deserves to be read. Check out this book"it shows how a crossover can be done with gravitas.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Original Sin: Hulk vs. Iron Man #2

Jul 16, 2014

If only for the moment on the last page, I'd say pick up this book, though if you haven't been reading Original Sin it might seem a little out of place. The front-end synopsis does a good job of catching you up to speed, but this is definitely a story for the OS completest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Outcast By Kirkman & Azaceta #2

Jul 30, 2014

Note: We would've loved to include a preview of Outcast, but we didn't receive any preview pages from Image, and couldn't find any preview pages elsewhere. Our apologies, and the review will be updated if pages make their way to us for posting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outcast By Kirkman & Azaceta #3

Aug 27, 2014

Elements are moving in place. Forces are aligning one way or the other, and it's clear that what's coming in this series will have a big impact. I'm excited to see what comes next, but I'm in love with the journey the creators are taking me on, slow enough to see the details while still keeping so much in the dark. Each issue has been selling out like crazy, so make sure you've got this in your pull list. It's one of the best new series of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #1

Sep 10, 2014

I'm excited to see how these writers and artists expand the Alien mythos. Despite the fact that Prometheus: Fire and Stone #1's job is to set up this event, and has to play the game of prologue-preacher, it still does a great job of putting pieces into play for the coming stories, where lots of possibilities exist for the expansion of this fictional universe. I, for one, am excited to see where this goes. Just leave the damn black goo alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ragnarok #1

Jul 22, 2014

Full of magic, swordplay, myth, and epic storytelling, Ragnarok looks sure to be a big hit. Make sure to jump on board with this series to catch a new flavor of Thor from one of the foremost authorities on the Odinson, and stay tuned for more reviews and features covering Ragnarok from Coming Up Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Rat Queens #6

May 6, 2014

If you're not yet caught up on this great book, grab the trade of the first arc, called "Sass & Sorcery" for less than ten bucks at retailers, and jump on board in time for this new arc. You'll be happy you did. It's the most fun book with swords and drugs there is. 'Nuff said.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Rat Queens #7

Jul 15, 2014

If you haven't checked out Rat Queens yet, don't worry, there's still time to hide your glaring lack of initiative by picking up the trade of the first five issues for just ten bucks. Then hop on with the monthly comics and dive into one of the best books out right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Return of the Living Deadpool #1

Feb 4, 2015

If you're a fan of Deadpool, zombies, or just can't wait to find out what happened after we last left Wade in the apocalypse, pick up this book now. It delivers the goods.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Saga #19

May 21, 2014

As always, Vaughan's writing is some of the best in the industry, full of heart, humor, and truth, and based on his previous creator owned runs, this book is in no danger of slowing down in quality. Fiona Staples produces gorgeous, mesmerizing images in every panel, and you'll often find yourself staring at each panel when you should be moving on with the story. Saga is undoubtably one of the best comics on shelves, and with all three of its current trades in the top ten NYT bestseller list for graphic novels, fans obviously agree. And nominated for yet another slew of Eisners this year, Saga is also critically and professionally lauded as one of"if not the"top book there is. It just doesn't get better than Saga, and here's hoping for a long and fruitful run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #20

Jun 26, 2014

Twenty issues in and Saga continues to be a no-brainer. Saga is a comic you just don't ever want to end while you're reading it. This is a comic I know I can rely on for deep, imaginative storytelling and rich, mind blowing art, consistently. Here's to twenty more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #21

Jul 23, 2014

I will say, though, that this issue deals with a lot of issues surrounding commitment and family, as well as threats to a family's dynamic. And as always, read the letter column. BKV is nothing if not a snide and hilarious responder to his fans, and the fact that he devotes so much space to fan mail at the end of each issue is just fantastic these days. Bottom line"It's Saga, it's perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #22

Aug 27, 2014

I say it every month, but I'll say it again: If you aren't reading Saga by now I just can't help you. You're missing out on one of the best series in comics, and you may have head trauma. But good news, there's a remedy at your local comic shop, where the first three volumes and newest issue of Saga are waiting. Take two and call me in the morning.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #25

Feb 4, 2015

The bottom line, as always, is this: buy Saga, read Saga, love Saga. Ok? Ok.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Satellite Sam #10

Sep 17, 2014

This book is dense, dark, and gritty, and it's one that makes you earn a payoff"you don't just pick up a copy of Sam for casual afternoon reading. But it's also a book that consistently delivers. One that will take you for a noirish ride through the underbelly of the glitz of the magic of television in the yesteryears, and every page is filled with narrative protein. This is storytelling at its very best, and I simply can't wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #6

Jun 18, 2014

This one's a no brainer, and has consistently been one of the best comics in the industry since its debut. This long awaited second arc lives up to expectations and then some, and is a great first step towards a more expansive story. And no matter what, make sure you don't miss this month's letter column (LETTER DADDIES) for some amazing write-ins from fans, and a piece of submitted artwork from a very well-known artist that will make your jaw drop.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #7

Aug 13, 2014

A touching, hilarious, ribbed-for-your-pleasure ride, Sex Criminals should be at the top of your pull list each month. So snap on some rubber gloves and a mining helmet and dive deep into this series if you haven't already. It was written for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sex Criminals #9

Dec 9, 2014

Sex Criminals is good. Really good. It won, like, all the awards this year for comics (shut up, Saga), and you know that when you buy this issue you're going to get another art-piece that continues that critically-acclaimed narrative of high-brow smut and self-referential dick jokes. Eisner award-winning dick jokes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #10

Jan 28, 2015

If you were looking for affirmation, then you've found it. Sex Criminals continues to be one of the best comics on the market, exploring and dissecting intimacy, and letting all the blemishes of an imperfect relationship create an impeccable story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Silver Surfer (2014) #2

Apr 30, 2014

If you enjoyed issue #1, you'll like this one as well. I, for one, am curious to see where the greater arc is headed, but I'm in this for the long haul. Slott and Allred's storytelling, along with the flashy, far-out art always makes for an entertaining read, and distinguish this book each month as one that is fun and doesn't take itself nearly as seriously as the slew of overly somber and serious books that make up most of modern comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Southern Bastards #1

Apr 30, 2014

This was a fine beginning to what promises to be a great new series, one that already has the industry abuzz with praise. With a second printing already scheduled, this is sure to be a book to jump on immediately, and one that will no doubt be a talk of the comics community throughout the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Southern Bastards #2

May 27, 2014

There's a reason this book's first issue sold out before it even made it to stores, and if you aren't yet reading it I would highly recommend you get to your LCBS and pick it up. It's a great series from a great team, and a standout story in terms of its caliber.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Starlight #5

Aug 13, 2014

Starlight is a fun breath of fresh air in the midst of so many "doom-y" comics out now, and anyone looking to escape on an adventure (albeit a sometimes adult adventure) should check this series out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Suiciders #1

Feb 25, 2015

Burmejo is taking on both art and writing duties himself, and the results are that of a world with a strong sense of definition. With the groundwork laid out in this first issue, this looks like a book not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #1

Oct 7, 2014

A great spooky series for October, Sabrina looks to be another hit for Sacasa and Archie, one that has lived up to the hype and then some. Be sure to pick up this book and get it on your pull list, because Sabrina's dark adventures are only just beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fade Out #2

Sep 30, 2014

The Fade Out is intelligent, nuanced, and best of all a labor of love from its creators, who are going the extra mile with each issue not only in the story itself, but in the back matter and supplementary content that only adds to the experience of reading the series"each issue contains essays/stories about old Hollywood alongside typical letter columns. There's no mystery here, pick this book up now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Maxx: Maxximized #10

Aug 13, 2014

And while I love the story here and all its psychological psychedelia, its Kieth's artwork that leaves me floored on every panel. This man can draw anything, but it's the choices he makes that make him such a great artist. He might use a thick marker and draw rudimentary children's drawings, or render an image so detailed and full of depth you will forget to keep reading further. For those of you who missed this during its original run, discover a gem in The Maxx: Maxximized. And anyone who is already familiar with The Maxx will be enamored by the remastered art, overseen by Kieth himself. Pick up the book today, and join me in a descent through this beautiful madness.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Maxx: Maxximized #11

Sep 17, 2014

Maxx: Maxximized is currently being reprinted by IDW, "remastering" the visuals of the acclaimed book from the 90's for a new audience. If you haven't picked up this weird, wonderful adventure of the mind yet, hurry to your local comic shop and do so now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Multiversity #1

Aug 20, 2014

The artwork for this issue manages to push away from DC's house style, and flexes some muscles of the fantastic in some of the more explosive panels. Each following story will feature a difference artist, but what Reis and Prado have done in this debut is both familiar and wackily out-of-the-box. I'm in.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Returning #1

Mar 12, 2014

This first issue is exposition-heavy, and bogged down by numerous problems with its art. The story, while intriguing in its concept, is plagued by plotholes and clunky dialogue. These issues could lighten up in the next few issues, but for a four parter, with twenty five percent of the story already told, this doesnt bode well for whats coming in The Returning. The idea of a menacing afterlife could be an interesting one to explore, but there just wasn't enough groundwork laid in this issue to make a compelling enough case for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sandman Overture #3

Jul 30, 2014

This series is every bit as rich and fascinating as the first Sandman, and my only complaint is that it won't go on for another seventy-five issues itself. I just can't get enough. This universe that Gaimain has created"one where, in Overture, we're privy to a wider, deeper view of some of the elements that occur in the first series"is simply breathtaking in its depth and complexity, yet it all works. Between the mastery of its scribe and artists, Sandman: Overture is simply a masterpiece of the highest caliber.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Wake #6

Feb 28, 2014

While I enjoyed the first arc of The Wake, it was really because of what was teased at the end of issue five that kept me reading, and so far Snyder, Murphy, and Hollingsworth have delivered. True to form, the cliffhanger at the end of the issue elevated the story to another level, and raised enough questions to keep my interest solidified to the end of the ten part series. And at only $2.99 an issue, this is a solid buy made by seasoned creators who are planning something big. Mark my words, this will be a series you'll want to jump into before it ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
The Wake #8

May 7, 2014

With three of the most talented creators in the business working at their near-best on this book, it's a no brainer that this is consistently one of the best books out. The Wake is both traceable to its influential elements, as well as enough of an original piece to simultaneously feel familiar and surprise with each issue. Whether you're reading along monthly, or waiting for the final trade, this is a story not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Trees #1

May 27, 2014

This is a pretty unique take on alien invasion, and it's likewise presented with standout oversight by creators Ellis and Howard. It's refreshing to see a book about a topic so familiar feel so original and new, and it seems Image will have yet another gem in their line of high caliber creator-owned books this year. Fascinating and foreboding, Trees is book you must buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trees #2

Jun 25, 2014

I really can't wait for what's coming next in this series, but I have a feeling there will be a lot of build up to any big answers. Ellis and Howard are laying the groundwork for a large story here, but one nonetheless that feels captivating on every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Veil #3

May 22, 2014

And it's in this issue that Rucka's story really begins to open up, leaving readers with a taste of something in the story's climax that will at least have this writer rushing to pick up issue four on June fourth. With three issues into a five issue mini, it's been a slow burn towards this explosion, but it's certainly paid off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Veil #4

Jul 29, 2014

I, for one, can't wait to see how this all ends, and while I'm already a Rucka fan, I'll be keeping my eye out for Fejzula's name from now on too. And if you've missed out on these great issues, keep your eyes peeled in December when the TPB comes out and be sure to pick one up. You'll be glad you did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Veil #5

Oct 15, 2014

A story about both literally and figuratively rising above, Veil has been an enigmatic and fascinating ride, and this is a great final issue to one of the year's standout comics. If you've missed out on the singles, pick up the trade this December, and relive the art and story that set this book apart from the rest of the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wraith: Welcome To Christmasland #4

Mar 1, 2014

If youre a horror fan, you should be reading this series. If youre a Joe Hill fan, you should be reading this series. If you like smart comics that are written well and arent afraid of Hard-R material, you should be reading this series. Bottom line, this is a stand-out title that is perhaps a little under the radar at the moment, but nonetheless deserves every bit of praise its getting.Final Score 9.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wraith: Welcome To Christmasland #6

May 15, 2014

If you've followed along with the series, this is the book that pays off from all the rising action of the last few months. Joe Hill knows how to deliver an ending, and whether you've read the novel it's tied to or not (Wraith is written as a standalone series, with no prior knowledge of NOS4A2 needed) this is a satisfying conclusion to this story. If you missed out on the single issues, pick up the trade in July"you'll be glad you did.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wytches #1

Oct 7, 2014

With acclaim already universally positive from both critics and creators alike, Wytches is sure to be the book of the season. Be sure to get to your Local Comic Shop early to pick up a copy, this will sell out, and jump on what looks to be one of the most exciting and original horror stories of the decade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wytches #2

Nov 11, 2014

With the Rooks family beginning to unravel, and some new horrors on the horizon, issue two raises more questions than it answers"in a good way. Wytches already has me stumped as to where it will lead, and in a refreshing turn I'm happy to be in the dark about where this book's heading next. As long as there's a nightlight on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wytches #4

Feb 3, 2015

Wytches is a no-brainer buy, one that you should be picking up every month if you want horror with deeply nuanced emotional narratives. Because when the monsters retreat, it's the feelings you're left with in the aftermath that breed the real terror.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Zombies vs. Robots #1

Jan 21, 2015

These stories are entertaining and full of genre fun, though Niles and Mayerik's final short in the book is really something to behold. With Ryall promising zombie-squids, mermen, and much more insanity on the way for the series, Zombies vs. Robots looks to be a book to keep up with if you're looking for a splice of horror/sci-fi excitement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Zombies vs. Robots #2

Feb 24, 2015

As a package, these ZvR stories are a great little anthology, and the mythos they create together is opening up a world that's becoming more fascinating with each issue. From pulpy action to heartfelt drama, Zombies vs. Robots is a book that covers a wide spectrum and is worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More