TommyZimmer's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Fanboy Buzz Reviews: 93
9.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Batgirl (2011) #0

Sep 16, 2012

As the series goes forward beyond #0, it continues to be one of the best series at DC Comics, and thats all due to Ms. Simone and the fabulous artists she works with.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batgirl (2011) #9

May 14, 2012

This is the first ever comic Gail Simone has wrote in which I found hard to follow. My first complaint is if Mary is that young girl, how the heck did the young girl get to America and why were their eyes different? I was greatly confused by that, and then the talon turns out to be that young girl from Japan when the young girl named Mary chosen to be a talon seemed to be African-American. Whatever. The writing was confusing, and it seemed Mrs. Simone was trying to do too much. Ardian Syaf however goes to town with this issue. As always, his art is great but Mrs. Simone really lets Mr. Syaf go to town illustrating this issue. This is the best work he has done on the series thus far. However, its unfortunate it is Ms. Simones worst work on the series

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2011) #16

Jan 22, 2013

Gail Simone paints the young Gordon into a corner as her fate is really uncertain at this point. Her characterization of Barbara remains true, and Simone continues to weave the character's past in with the present. Ed Benes and Daniel Sampere do a great job of working to produce the art. It is always dynamic, and it looks great with their dynamic depictions of Barbara's battle for her life.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #8

Apr 21, 2012

Scott Snyder hit every beat in this issue. From suspense to action to great character moments, Mr. Snyder is indeed now rivaling Grant Morrison for the best modern day Batman writer. Not to mention artist Greg Capullo who kills this issue with great panels and great art in general being reminiscent of David Mazzuchelli from Batman: Year One. He almost rivals him here too quite literally. In the backup, Rafael Albuquerque does some fantastic work with detailing the ramifications of this issue on the Bat-universe, and makes me excited even more for his future prospects. Seeing all of this, there is no reason anyone should not be picking up this comic if they are a fan of Batman..

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #9

May 14, 2012

Scott Snyder in both the main story and backup just does a fantastic job. He is in total control of his craft, and is re-writing the Batman mythos in the process. James Tynion IV is also able to demonstrate his writing talents alongside his teacher and mentor Mr. Snyder. Greg Capullo does probably his best issue yet, and he continues to hammer out better art (if it wasnt already good enough) each issue. Rafael Albuqerque does some fantastic work, and I want to see more work from him at DC. His art in the backup is simply marvelous. This book is definitely one of my favorite books on the stand still..

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #11

Jul 16, 2012

In the backup, Snyder and James Tynion IV does a nice job of finishing up the story. They conclude Jarvis story but also give us a bookmark final real ending to the whole Court saga. Rafael Albuquerque deserves more work on the series, and hopefully gets more because his rendering of Batman stories is quite excellent. He has a tone to his art that defines everything he draws. Hopefully, another storyline akin to this comes soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #17

Feb 18, 2013

Tommy Zimmer is an upcoming writer of short stories, comic books, journalism/media reviews, screenplays, and anything related to writing. On zimmert101.wordpress.com, you can view his latest work, and see what exciting things he is currently doing!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin (2011) #0

Sep 16, 2012

Together, these men are telling a timeless story of a boy learning to understand a father he never knew, and trying to change as he learns to love him more and more wanting to be like that man as he grows into adulthood.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin (2011) #17

Feb 18, 2013

Tommy Zimmer is an upcoming writer of short stories, comic books, journalism/media reviews, screenplays, and anything related to writing. On zimmert101.wordpress.com, you can view his latest work, and see what exciting things he is currently doing!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond Unlimited #2

Apr 16, 2012

With JT Krul and Howard Porter coming on next month, this book keeps getting better and better. However, I have to be honest. He has a lot of shoes to fill with the two other stories going on..

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond Unlimited #3

Apr 19, 2012

The final team of Nguyen and Fridolfs deliver another solid episode. The two writer/artists do a solid job with the characters and the arc they are trying to tell. Again, as with the previous issue, their narrative plot structure bothers me. I love what they are trying to tell but their execution does not compare well with the writing skills of Beechen and Krul. As professional writer with more experience, they do not have that handicap. However, it is quite apparent here. However, needless to say that beyond that, the writing is pretty solid and the art is top notch. I can never complain about it. The only thing I will point out again is plot structure. They need to structure the story better to compete with the professional writers they are attached to. Otherwise, solid all in all, and I look forward to seeing what happens next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond Unlimited #5

Jul 7, 2012

Another positive for the story is Howard Porter's very detailed art. He creates a very detailed future Metropolis and future Superman which works quite well for Krul's emphasis on psychology and relationships in the story. Together, I hope to have more answers to this story, and will not totally fault the story for not providing answers right from the get-go. They need to play out some more threads for the next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond Unlimited #7

Sep 2, 2012

As many stories conclude (Nguyen/Fridolfs/Krul), Beechens continues to move ahead with full speed leaving this reviewer guessing what these teams are planning next

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond Unlimited #8

Sep 24, 2012

Derek Fridolfs and Dustin Nguyen take a break from the action, and bring us some quiet moments. The story with Terry getting to spend some time with Bruce is written extremely well, and may be one (if) of their best issues yet. The art from this duo is also quite impressive. They are able to capture the JLU but also nail Wayne Manor too which is just astounding.With these three teams in place, I wait with great anticipation until October.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond Unlimited #10

Dec 2, 2012

As a Beyond fan, this book has never disappointed me, and always gives me pleasure reading it. The hard work of the teams shows, and continues to leave questions as to the future. This issue is definitely no different.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond Unlimited #12

Feb 4, 2013

Adam Beechen writes perhaps his best issue for Terry. After the last issue (which blew my mind), I didn't think he could top it but I am a sucker for human psychological monologues, and when he told me in an interview I did with him in November that Terry was going to feel some ramifications, this definitely seemed to be what he was talking about but it seems there is still more to come as I was just left awe struck until next time. There is nothing to say about Norm Breyfogle but that he is a master storyteller with his partner in crime Beechen. He masters every design of every Beyond character, and with Andrew Elder's colors recreates a not so distant future that every day seems more real.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond Unlimited #14

Mar 26, 2013

Regardless, I cannot complain about anything. I have been a lifelong 'Beyond' fan, and am always glad to spend $3.99 on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Incorporated #1

May 26, 2012

This issue is nothing but awesomeness. Grant Morrison seems to be putting the focus of the narrative back on the main Bat family where his grand Bat epic began. Chris Burnham is just killing this issue. He is nothing but awesome. This is an intelligent and action-packed start to the series, and I cannot wait to see what resolves the cliffhanger

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Incorporated #2

Jul 7, 2012

Grant Morrison writes one giant flashback throughout the story. He gives the reader a definitive version of whom and what Talia was, and how it all defined her up to the current day. Along with her relationship with Ras, Morrison remains one of the best writers of the Batman mythos ever. With his partner in crime Chris Burnham, things couldnt be better. Burnham is giving us the best work of his career, and defines every character with nicely-detailed art. Hopefully, Morrison keeps the surprises in store

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Incorporated #3

Aug 25, 2012

Unfortunately, now I have to wait for another two months before I see the next issue

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Incorporated #7

Feb 4, 2013

In Chris Burnham land, he does his best work here. His ending to this issue gave me goose bumps, and I am really looking forward to seeing him and Morrison next issue especially since it seems to be a Robins-centric issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Incorporated #8

Mar 5, 2013

Chris Burnham with friend Jason Masters illustrates it nicely. What you usually expect from Burnham is there with a little help from Masters. It is beautiful and sad when the inevitable comes. Everything is paced well, and the story moves quite nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Incorporated #9

Apr 2, 2013

Chris Burnham and Jason Masters do some find work here. When Bruce stands in the rain and his eyes are closed in the clouds is some of the best work I have seen from the art team on the book. They play every scene out to its full potential, and leave you wanting more when the issue ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #3

Dec 16, 2011

David Finch and Paul Jenkins have crafted a different book. It is more of a blockbuster, action-packed story-telling style which is fine if that is what you are looking for. David Finch also does a great job on the art. He continues to deliver dynamic art which continues to keep me excited for this book every week it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #6

Feb 25, 2012

This issue for its audience is good. Paul Jenkins (his first solo issue with a dialogue assist from Joe Harris) does a great job with the issue. David Finch continues to pump out some great art. My only problem with this is that I would not have put Bane on the front cover. Reading the issue, I feel it would have been a better reveal that way. Thats just me though. Overall, it is a great issue, and the series continues to be good for what it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #8

Apr 27, 2012

David Finch did not draw this issue, and his dynamic art which has defined this series is noticeably absent. Ed Benes does an ok of trying to stay within Finch's style but also bring some of his own style to the series. That is where the conflict arises; he should have completed it using his own style.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #9

Jun 4, 2012

Judd Winick, the guest writer for this issue, does remarkable work with providing more scope to Snyders latest issue of Batman. Not only that but David Finch hammers home this issue with his dynamic art. With a poor issue last month, I am glad to see this series is back on track for excellence.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwing #7

Apr 2, 2012

The issue was pretty good. Writer Judd Winick certainly hits all the beats. I love his bringing Dick and Damian back together, and showing Batgirls computer expertise in her old Oracle form. While I love all that, I am somewhat estranged at Batwing being in Gotham City. It doesnt feel like his territory but also does not feel what the narrative needs at this point. I feel the Batwing/Massacre struggle should end in Africa. However, what do I know? I am just a humble commentator. Beyond that, the art by Dustin Nguyen is as usual top notch. I find myself missing Ben Oliver a bit but with Nguyen I can never complain. I really think this is a great comic, and I hope the fundamentals of why Gotham City is the final battleground for these two foes comes to the forefront in the next issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batwing #9

May 6, 2012

This issue is great. Judd Winick does a great job writing it, and uses this opportunity of him being in Gotham to display the morality of David. He also does a great job showing off Mr. Fox, and his contributions to the Batman world. New mainstay artist Marcus To kills this book. He can absolutely draw anything, and he seems to have changed his art style a little for this book. It seems to depart a bit from his previous books such as Red Robin and Huntress but it is all well and good. This team should stay together, and I look forward to seeing To in the next main stories yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Before Watchmen: Comedian #1

Jun 22, 2012

Brian Azzarello does a fine job here. He makes Blake more of a character you sympathize. He has had a troubling life, and Mr. Azzarello tries to bring that out rather than leave his anger as the thing motivating him. The only troubling thing is that in the graphic novel Watchmen, the Comedian is hinted at being the one who killed JFK. However here, we have Blake taking down Moloch as it happens. It doesnt add up but yet again, Azzarello may just be writing this page in history down as Eddie being innocent. Backing Azzarello up is JG Jones who does a magnificent job capturing that past era of American history. He really manages to capture every detail of that time but also capture the Watchmen-esque take on that era made famous by Dave Gibbons. While it had an issue with continuity, I cannot fault the issue for that. Mr. A may have wanted to clear Blake of that crime to make him a more sympathetic person Who knows All I know is that it is a good re-entry point for Comedian.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Birds Of Prey (2011) #4

Dec 31, 2011

Duane Swierczynski does a fantastic job with moving the narrative along while maintaining a hold on the many personalities in the book. Jesus Saizs artwork continues to be fantastic, and fit the book quite well. My only distaste towards this issue was that it did not provide a very good intro to the team for Batgirl. It made sense but the cover lead me to believe the issue would focus more on Batgirls entrance while it actually did not. All in all, it was a great issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Birds Of Prey (2011) #7

Apr 16, 2012

This title is amazing. Seven issues in, Duane Swierczynski is still keeping my attention. It amazes me with such big shoes to fill from Gail Simone how he is able to walk in, and have complete control over the characters and narrative. I cannot forget to mention Jesus Saiz who is literally killing this book. His art and structure of the panels is too great for me even to put in this review. With these two, I want to know what happens next immediately. Lucky, that is this upcoming Wednesday

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blackhawks #2

Nov 25, 2011

Mike Costa continues to deliver a large scale plot with the Blackhawks combat troop. Graham Nolan and Trevor Scott do nice work on the art providing a sense of suspense and anxiety in the panels while also maintaining the style of the previous issues that has defined the series thus far. Hopefully, this team does not disband anytime soon..

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #0

Sep 24, 2012

All in all, an interesting if not controversial start to a new and mysterious Catwoman run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2011) #3

Dec 2, 2011

I have read books with Catwoman in them, and I have skimmed through past Catwoman series graphic novels but I can fairly say Judd Winick (Batman and Robin) is developing a definitive run for Selina. He understands her completely, and is crafting a masterpiece here. He finally showed what everyone knows Batman does with Catwoman: they have fun in bed!! Beautifully illustrated by Guillem March (Gotham City Sirens) is the art. Having worked with her on Gotham City Sirens, March brings all he did from that series, and improves upon that by 110 percent. He brings every panel to life, and brings the emotion and excitement of Selinas life to motion through his art. With this creative team, I am excited every Wednesday when this book comes out. Catwoman is one of my favorite characters, and this book remains one of my favorite books because of the creative team on it now who gets Selina 100 percent!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #13

Oct 21, 2012

I am more hopeful about Nocenti and Sandoval than I was with the zero issue.. However, I still am wondering how much this Russian stuff with her name will affect her background as people are already pretty comfortable with the Italian-Falconi connection. stay tuned!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2011) #5

Feb 2, 2012

Tony Daniel keeps the greatness going. He continues the mystery of what happened to the Joker but, at the same time, is moving the plot forward by digging into a new plot with the Penguin and Charlottes past. His artwork is also amazing. He is one of my favorite artists, and continues to churn out great art. All in all, it is not what the first arc was but it also is not a bad start either. People need to give this man a break.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2011) #9

May 2, 2012

As this book continues, I cannot see any reason to depart it. It is indeed still one of the best books sent out by DC today

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2011) #11

Jul 14, 2012

Both teams on these stories do an excellent job, and hopefully the main narrative has more in store next issue!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2011) #13

Oct 8, 2012

With these two at the helm, I am pretty certain Detective Comics is in good strides

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2011) #16

Jan 12, 2013

One sure thing to say about this dynamic duo is that there is more greatness to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2011) #7

Mar 17, 2012

Anne Nocenti understands Oliver Queen in and out, and is the best writer to take control of the series (if she keeps up the quality of her writing) since JT Krul took control. Harvey Tolibaos art is fantastic. His grittiness adds to the mean streets of Seattle, and he has a specific way he portrays Ollie that is interesting. He shows the frustration of Ollie in his normal life and his lack of care towards having some chin hairs. Together, this team is off to a good start, and I definitely cannot wait to see whats next. I havent said that really for this series since Krul departed the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2011) #14

Nov 11, 2012

Tommy Zimmer is an upcoming writer of short stories, comic books, journalism/media reviews, screenplays, and anything related to writing. On zimmert101.wordpress.com, you can view his latest work, and see what exciting things he is currently doing!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #0

Sep 9, 2012

While this issue was written quite well, it did not exactly portray the society of my hometown accurately. You can read more of that in my upcoming column this week on Dearborn and what was wrong with the way Johns portrayed it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #13

Oct 8, 2012

With these two working together, Green Lantern continues to be worth its green

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #14

Nov 11, 2012

Tommy Zimmer is an upcoming writer of short stories, comic books, journalism/media reviews, screenplays, and anything related to writing. On zimmert101.wordpress.com, you can view his latest work, and see what exciting things he is currently doing!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #19

Apr 8, 2013

Ardian Syaf and Szymon Kudranski continue their fill in duties with the former on the real world art and the latter on the Dead Zone art. Both are quite effective working on the book, and were welcome surprises since the last issue brought them on. Syaf easily handles the space stuff, and Kudranski does the Dead Zone quite beautifully as it works well with his style.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawk and Dove #3

Nov 15, 2011

Sterling Gates has a good handle on the story he wants to tell but also the characters he is using to tell it with. He has a very good characterization on Hawk and Dove, and I am continually glad to see the Dove relationship with Deadman continues. That was one of the great parts of Brightest Day. Rob Liefeld does a great job drawing the character he once drew many years ago. He captures the dynamism of each scene, and makes all the panels impactful. All in all, this is a solid book, and I really want to know what the heck is going on with this potential subplot. I hope Hawk gets some answers out of Condor next issue!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawk and Dove #4

Dec 23, 2011

Sterling Gates unfortunately will be departing because, again, DC wants to take this comic in a different direction. It seems fine to me, and continually works quite well under his writing. Rob Liefeld (who will also take over the writing after Gates departure) does a fantastic job with the art adding realism along with dynamism to the story. Unfortunately, these two will be separated soon but I will continue to like the duo until then..

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Hawk and Dove #7

Mar 25, 2012

The writing has obviously caused him to have to rely on other artists (Marat Mychaels, Adelso Corona, Jacob Bear, etc) in the comic, and it is quite obvious. Unfortunately, we do not get fully his great art style that his defined this comic for the previous issues. While his look and characterization of Damian Wayne in the previous issue made me think it was Dick Grayson, this comic continues what was terrible about his premiere issue, and brings plenty more of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Huntress #3

Dec 23, 2011

Paul Levitz does an excellent job re-introducing the character he created along with providing an interesting and modern narrative for its backdrop. One of my favorite artists Marcus To does an awesome job with the art. His art is realistic, very detailed, and adds dynamism to it as well. With these men at the helm of the miniseries, this is currently my favorite one I am reading

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Invincible #88

Feb 2, 2012

All in all, I am disappointed by this comic. Named Invincible, you would think it would be something great. However, this is an example of a comic that is over-plotted way too much, and needs to scale back its scope quite a lot which is ironic since most comics need to extend their scope. Not this one however

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #3

Dec 9, 2011

Geoff Johns does a great job balancing the different characters in the stories. In this book, he nails all the characterizations, and moves the plot forward extremely well. Jim Lee does a fantastic job with the art. He captures each characters look in great detail, and brings his usual dynamism to his art style. These two are working quite well, and I hope they stay on for the long run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #4

Jan 7, 2012

Geoff Johns is crafting an epic story to re-tell the origin of the Justice League. He continues to hit every beat of the story. Jim Lees artwork is again dynamic and fantastic illustrating Johns epic script. Together, these two are producing one of the best comics on the market today.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark #4

Jan 21, 2012

Writer Peter Milligan continues to define this series as one of the best New 52 series out there. Mikel Janins art continues to wow me with how great it is. Together, they could be great if they were in the Justice League Dark.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League International Annual #1

Sep 2, 2012

Jason Fabok does an excellent job doing the art as usual for his work. He has an ability to draw any character, and make them iconic like David Finch, his mentor, does. However, his Godiva (in the make out scene) looks almost like a guy with a blonde wig on. That is weird but otherwise, his art is solid.Hopefully, the JLI returns eventually as I enjoyed the series a lot, and wish it wasnt disappearing like Booster Gold literally did in this annual issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Men of War #3

Nov 15, 2011

This is another solid issue. Ivan Brandon continues his excellent use of stream of consciousness, and continues to keep the reader guessing with the aforementioned series of bizarre incidents which began in the first issue. He continues to give a solid characterization of the modern day Sgt. Rock and his version of Easy Company. Tom Derenick's art matches this quite well as he shows a dark yet peaceful world versus a bright and treacherous world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Men of War #7

Mar 17, 2012

James Robinson and Phil Winslade did an amazing job with the first story. Robinsons writing does a fantastic job of allowing Men of War alum Phil Winslade to tell the story. The second story with JT Krul and Scott Kolins do a great job. Krul does equally great with the writing, and Scott Kolins does a fantastic job detailing the different characters. These two teams really know how to tell a story, and I wish they would stay on for the long run. Looks like I will be picking up the replacement title GI Combat instad hope it is as good as Men of War..

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2011) #3

Dec 2, 2011

Kyle Higgins (Batman: Gates of Gotham) does a fantastic job with this issue as he has done since the first issue. He is really giving us a look at Dick like never before. He not only nails his characterization but takes him back to his roots. This is one of my favorite books of the New 52. Eddy Barrows art is also another reason. He brings to life the entire story. His panels provide the superb feeling Nightwings character gives off but brings life to the smaller situations Dick is involved in. When I met Kyle Higgins at NYCC, he said Dick Grayson was his favorite character of all time. As a result of his issues, I can see why.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2011) #4

Jan 7, 2012

Kyle Higgins delivers a lighter issue. It is a reflection on the relationship between Gordon and Grayson, and he hits every beat of the comic. Trevor McCarthy does a great job filling in for Eddy Barrows. If Barrows decided to leave at some point which I hope he does not, I would not mind McCarthy taking over art duties; a solid issue overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2011) #8

Apr 20, 2012

This issue is perhaps one of my favorite issues of the series. Kyle Higgins is doing an excellent job of moving the narrative along. He knows Dick, and is certainly making use of this event wisely to develop Dick further as a character. Eddy Barrows is just amazing. He can do almost anything with his art, and he continues to nail every inch of this book completely. Not only do I look forward to seeing what comes next, I also do not want to see this team go anywhere but here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2011) #10

Jun 22, 2012

Kyle Higgins hands in another good issue. He manages to capture Dicks voice, and move the story he wants to tell forward. My only nitpick with the issue is Dicks dialogue seems a bit too preachy and redundant at times as he talks to Ms. Zucco. Yes, I understand he wants to save the city but he seems to say it a bit too much. On the art side, Eddy Barrows hands in some more great art. While this isnt his best issue hes had, it remains up to par with what he wants to do. I continue to love this book, and hope it keeps all the issues threads going.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2011) #11

Jul 20, 2012

As this next arc comes together, Nightwing continues to keep me on my toes as I tend to never know what will come next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2011) #17

Feb 26, 2013

Tommy Zimmer is an upcoming writer of short stories, comic books, journalism/media reviews, screenplays, and anything related to writing. On zimmert101.wordpress.com, you can view his latest work, and see what exciting things he is currently doing!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Peanuts #3

Oct 21, 2012

Vicki Scotts main story is quite good. She manages to write in the style of Schultz nailing the characterizations but she also manages to nail the design of the characters as well alongside Paige Braddock, the letterer, and Nina Kester, the colorist. They both do a great job, and make the comic one of my favorite to pick up each month!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phantom Stranger (2012) #0

Sep 9, 2012

The end product is a great start to a promising series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phantom Stranger (2012) #4

Jan 12, 2013

Tommy Zimmer is an upcoming writer of short stories, comic books, journalism/media reviews, screenplays, and anything related to writing. On zimmert101.wordpress.com, you can view his latest work, and see what exciting things he is currently doing!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phantom Stranger (2012) #5

Feb 12, 2013

Tommy Zimmer is an upcoming writer of short stories, comic books, journalism/media reviews, screenplays, and anything related to writing. On zimmert101.wordpress.com, you can view his latest work, and see what exciting things he is currently doing!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phantom Stranger (2012) #7

Apr 8, 2013

Hopefully, Ha stays on for a little, and I know unfortunately DiDio will leave soon but we will have DeMatteis which guarantees a good story. All in all, one of the better reads each first week of the month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood And The Outlaws #4

Dec 31, 2011

Scott Lobdell continues to handle the characterizations quite nicely while moving the story forward. Kenneth Rocaforts art is quite awesome, and brings a nice tone to the book. It is a mixture of realism and surrealism that makes his art necessary to the book. I look forward to seeing where the story picks up next month..

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood And The Outlaws #11

Jul 20, 2012

All in all the book stays true to its core even as it shifts focus away from Jason Todd. As the series continues to evolve past its own beginnings this title in the New 52 continues to impress.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood And The Outlaws #17

Feb 26, 2013

Tommy Zimmer is an upcoming writer of short stories, comic books, journalism/media reviews, screenplays, and anything related to writing. On zimmert101.wordpress.com, you can view his latest work, and see what exciting things he is currently doing!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood And The Outlaws #18

Mar 26, 2013

Tyler Kirkham fills in for this issue, and does a spectacular job. He easily transitions from the mental scenes Jason finds himself in to the scenes where he is in bed with Bruce and Alfred waiting in the wings for his recovery. This is definitely some of his best work, and it makes me wonder why he did not take over the book earlier.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Resurrection Man (2011) #3

Nov 15, 2011

Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning continue to pull surprises, and certainly expand the story they want to tell in this issue. What this series is and will be is all in this issue. Fernando Dagninos art continues to bring the panels to life. His characterizations and scenery work nicely with what the aforementioned writers are trying to accomplish. Every issue continues to make this series better than it already was.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Super Dinosaur #10

Apr 22, 2012

The writing for this comic is just cheesy. Robert Kirkman of The Walking Dead makes me wish he sticks on that. He seems to be writing cheese just for the sake of cheese. I do not know how else to describe this action-packed over-the-top story that is not only unrealistic in the way it portrays humans but also makes me question them letting a young boy interrogate a giant dinosaur-alien. Despite that, Jason Howard seems to be having the time of his life drawing this, and who wouldnt its dinosaurs.. However, one wonders if they could not have come up with a nobler concept like Jurassic Strikeforce 5…..

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2011) #4

Jan 14, 2012

Michael Green and Mike Johnson continue to make me want more out of this series. Mahmud Asrar continues to deliver some amazing artwork, and definitely has a unique vision for Supergirl. I hope this team stays on the book for the long run..

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #3

Dec 16, 2011

George Perez is doing an above average job on the writing. This certainly was not his best issue but still an above average one. Nicola Scott fills in the art duties, and does a usual fantastic job. She can pretty much capture any character, and tell a story through her great sequential art. This series continues to be doing good but I hope more issues are not overly long like this was.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2011) #14

Dec 2, 2012

Tommy Zimmer is an upcoming writer of short stories, comic books, journalism/media reviews, screenplays, and anything related to writing. On zimmert101.wordpress.com, you can view his latest work, and see what exciting things he is currently doing!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Talon #0

Oct 1, 2012

The final product is a wide open road for the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Talon #1

Oct 29, 2012

There is nothing wrong with this issue. It simply is some of the best work these three men have put out in their careers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2011) #0

Oct 1, 2012

Lobdell reminds us in this zero issue why this is one of the best books DC puts out every month!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2011) #3

Dec 9, 2011

Scott Lobdell continues to nail the characterizations of the characters, and move the plot forward in a unique way. You never know what is really going to happen next. Brett Booth does a fantastic job with the art. After his Justice League of America run with James Robinson, he is still nailing his ability to detail a whole bunch of different characters, and make them unique at the same time. With these two on the book, I hope DC Comics does not replace them for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2011) #8

Apr 27, 2012

The art is another story. Absent are the crisp pencils of Brett Booth and in come the cartoony and jaded pencils of IG Guara. As I got into the issue, I did not mind it as much. However, looking back, it is quite a contrast from Booth's when I first laid eyes on the differences between Booth's cover and the sequential art inside. I am guessing Booth was probably preparing for the aforementioned event, and the plans Lobdell/Booth had were pushed back because DC wanted to "world build." While that is all nice and fine, the plans of the writer/artist team should come first. They are what build the comic for the most part; not the company that publishes it...

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2011) #12

Aug 25, 2012

While this series had some strange shakeups in the past months, it seems this book wont be doing anymore of the crossover stupidity. Hopefully, DC keeps the book by itself for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2011) #13

Oct 29, 2012

While this is a great issue, my hope for the rest of the series is that Lobdell returns to doing all writing duties, and Tyler Kirkham joins finally as the permanent artist with no more fill-in artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2011) #17

Mar 5, 2013

Eddy Barrows does a fantastic job with the art. I have been missing his work on Nightwing but it is great to have him on the book after the on and off again Brett Booth. I am hoping he stays on Nightwing while Barrows sticks on Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2011) #18

Apr 2, 2013

Eddy Barrows is the king of this book. His art elevates every page of this book with each panel, the splashes and spreads. He is one of the best working in the business, and makes this book necessary on every reader's pull list for the art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Strange Talent of Luther Strode #1

Mar 25, 2012

Writer Justin Jordan does a good job with the characterization of the characters and story overall. He obviously has a long-term plan for his story, and heres hoping Image lets him do that. Beyond that, the artist Tradd Moore does a great job. He has a nice swiftness to the action but gives each character unique traits which adds a nice feeling to the comic. Overall, these two men receive a gold star for this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #95

Apr 2, 2012

This issue is quite good. Robert Kirkman obviously has a plan, and is able to easily define who these characters are by their actions. His writing is quite reminiscent of The Road by Cormac McCarthy. Otherwise, the art by Charlie Adlard is quite great. He is able to do just about anything in his style, and it shows through. Together, I cannot see any reason for any fan (or new fan) of the comic not to pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Threshold #1

Jan 22, 2013

Tom Raney does a good job drawing the Caula/Caul/Stealth story. His knack for sci-fi is evident, and he keeps the pace of the story going nicely. Scott Kolins does a great job as well. His Larfleeze is as crazy as any previous incarnation, and does not let up. This book has potential to stay, and I hope it does.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Voodoo #3

Nov 25, 2011

Ron Marz continues to hand in some solid script writing. He nails every beat in this issue as usual. Sami Basri continues to turn in some great artwork. I am going to be said about the departure of Ron Marz, and I will have to give Josh Williamson, who seems to have an affinity for the character, a chance. I read about his plans for the character in a Newsarama interview. I will have to wait and see on that. Luckily, we still have Sami Basri

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Voodoo #9

Jun 4, 2012

Joshua Williamson continues to make me confident in the narrative he is trying to tell with each issue. While I missed Ron Marz, Williamson is quickly making me love his crazy new direction for the book. Sami Basri continues to excel in his artwork for the book. To all who read this, you should join the Daemonite fight, and read this book asap.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Romance: A New 52 Valentine's Day Special #1

Feb 11, 2013

Finally, Andy Diggle does a great job with his story. He manages to capture both characters' voices amongst the sirens luring Superman under their spell to fight Diana. What I love about the story is the seamless combination of both their universes into one story. Alongside Robson Rocha who deserves more work, it is definitely one that you should check out as it seems to lay the groundwork for more in Scott Lobdell's awesome Superman. Definitely looking forward to Diggle's new Action run coming soon.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More