Wayland Smith's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Collectors Reviews: 127
6.3Avg. Review Rating

6.0
All-Star Western #28

Mar 7, 2014

Hex is back in his own time and place! I really can't say how much that pleases me. Now if they can just leave him there and not instantly undo his facial surgery, I'll be really impressed. I also liked how Gina, despite being so sure of herself, found out almost at once she wasn't ready for the rigors of life back then.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
All-Star Western #29

Apr 3, 2014

The violence and savagery of the fight was vintage Hex. The contrast I mentioned from the modern era to the Old West was great. I really enjoyed the way they handled it. This really seemed like a Western for the first time in quite a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-Star Western #30

Apr 30, 2014

I enjoyed the issue and am glad they're back to the old west and the original format.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
All-Star Western #31

Jun 7, 2014

I've enjoyed this title, and am sad to hear it's going. This wasn't the best issue of it, but it certainly wasn't bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-Star Western #32

Jul 3, 2014

I've enjoyed and will miss this book, this issue not withstanding. I'm hoping it gets better again for the final few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2011) #28

Mar 6, 2014

It was a great story. There were so many bad cliches they could have hit, and they avoided all of them. The blend of humor, tension, and just plain human interaction was really enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Aquaman (2011) #29

Apr 3, 2014

This was a badly written issue. It's a simple statement that just overwhelms everything else that happened here. I'm hoping this was just an off issue and that they're going to get back to last issue's quality soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2011) #30

May 1, 2014

Aquaman is a strong character, and I enjoy it when a writer manages to use him well. Parker's run has been a bit uneven, but this was one of the good ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2011) #31

Jun 10, 2014

It's a decent story. Not a great one, but a decent one, and I am enjoying this run of Aquaman overall. It may the best treatment he's gotten since way back when Peter David wrote him in the 90's.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aquaman (2011) #32

Jul 5, 2014

I'm enjoying Aquaman and Mera both, and I like that they are letting her be a significant part of the book. They're even starting to play up Tula a bit, who, before the reboot, was Aquagirl. Maybe she will be again, but with a better name.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aquaman (2011) #33

Jul 30, 2014

Aquaman continues to be a powerful character with a good supporting cast. I'm enjoying this book and looking forward to seeing how he manages to defeat Chimera.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Aquaman (2011) #35

Oct 23, 2014

I'm enjoying Aquaman, and glad to see him getting some of the respect he deserves. I'm sticking with this series and looking forward to seeing what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aquaman (2011) #36

Dec 6, 2014

It was nice seeing Arthur and J'Onn together again, and also nice that they didn't go the "It's a mystery, call Batman," route.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aquaman (2011) #38

Feb 1, 2015

I am enjoying the book, and it's one of the few original "New 52" titles that are both still around and I'm actually interested in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aquaman (2011) #39

Mar 5, 2015

The quest of Aquaman's mother has been interesting, both for the guest stars and because it's exploring territory I don't believe has ever been covered. Aquaman has found her now, and nothing is going like he hoped. Aside from a bit of background information, there's not a lot of plot here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aquaman (2011) #40

Mar 28, 2015

For most of the story, they've had Mera be a useful, equal partner to Aquaman. She's not a damsel in distress, she's arguably more powerful that Arthur himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2011) #42

Jul 23, 2015

Overall, this book has impressed me enough the last two issues to keep getting it after I'd decided to drop it. That speaks really well of it right there. I'm curious to see where it goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2011) #44

Oct 3, 2015

The writing was strong, the surprises ugly but well-executed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2011) Annual #2

Aug 8, 2014

This was a great story with some nice touches that I really enjoyed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aquaman And The Others #1

Apr 4, 2014

I gave this a shot. Between the history I mentioned and the story not grabbing me, I won't be back for issue two. This just didn't impress me enough to make the cut for either time or budgetary considerations.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2011) #28

Feb 28, 2014

Silver is new and different, with an understandable delusion. The many threads tie together nicely in this story, and I'm looking forward to seeing where they go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batgirl (2011) #31

May 15, 2014

I thought this was a great issue. The done-in-one is a rare thing these days, and it's done well here. And yay for Ragdoll's return! And he still likes monkeys!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #32

Jun 20, 2014

Batgirl is both one of the steadily shrinking number of the original 52 to still be around, and one of the even fewer I'm reading. This is a great issue, setting up for what's going to be an ugly but no-doubt fascinating battle. I'm looking forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2011) #33

Jul 15, 2014

I just don't think Gail's heart, or maybe her mind, was really on this one. I just learned hours ago Gail is about to be off this book. I wonder if she's just rushing to wrap things up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #34

Aug 20, 2014

This was a nicely done wrap up, with call backs to almost all of Gail's run on Batgirl. It was a good ending o an occasionally erratic run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2011) Annual #2

May 8, 2014

Overall, a great story. I liked what happened here, and I really hope future writers use it, although I strongly suspect they won't. DC certainly doesn't seem to have any editors who police such things these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2011) #28

Feb 27, 2014

A lot of surprises and twists. A new name for an old character. And the return of someone I've been missing a lot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) #30

Apr 19, 2014

I like Batman as a character. This arc has been uneven, and this issue wasn't a great one for me. I've come this far, I'll ride the rest of it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) #31

Jun 9, 2014

I like Snyder's work, and his Batman can be amazing, but I'll be glad when the Zero Year is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2011) #32

Jul 6, 2014

A good, solid issue in a somewhat longer than it needs to be arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) #34

Aug 21, 2014

Snyder tackles some societal issues here, and does it well. He's not preachy, he doesn't get all holier-than-thou. He makes some good observations, and shows that even Batman isn't perfect about some things.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2011) #41

Jun 19, 2015

Sorry, Batman. It's been fun. I've been getting this book since the reboot. But this is where I get off.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Batman/Superman (2013) #8

Mar 8, 2014

I could have lived without yet another crossover, but I'm curious to see how this plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Batman: Eternal #1

Apr 14, 2014

This didn't impress me at all. Barring them using some characters I really like, or a new plot that doesn't feel like dj vu, I won't be getting future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Batman: Eternal #3

May 7, 2014

I'm thrilled about Steph's return (clearly), but I won't be getting the issues that don't have her without a lot of changes. And please, keep the art team from 3, not 4.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Eternal #6

May 17, 2014

This version of Corrigan was fun. If the next issue features him as well, I may get it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Batman: Eternal #8

Jun 9, 2014

I'm just not wild about this main story. I think it will be worth it if we get Steph back in any of her costumed identities, but they haven't confirmed that will happen, and I'm worried. This is the DCNU, and they are not know for happy endings.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Eternal #15

Jul 24, 2014

I still don't like this title in general, and will continue to only get it for some guest stars, like Jim Corrigan and Steph Brown.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Eternal #16

Aug 1, 2014

I'm still not sold on this as an ongoing, and will keep getting it only when they have someone I'm interested in, like Corrigan and Steph.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Canary and Zatanna: Bloodspell #1

May 29, 2014

I really enjoyed this a lot, and fully believe it was worth the hard cover price. I miss the "old" DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Convergence #0

Apr 5, 2015

Superman is determined and refuses to quit. He's desperate to get home and save Metropolis. The Brainiacs have an interesting secret behind them.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Doctor Fate #1

Jun 21, 2015

I am a fan of Fate in general. I'm not sold on this incarnation, but I'll give it a bit to convince me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Doctor Fate #2

Aug 8, 2015

I've always liked the character of Dr. Fate. I'm not sold yet on this version, but I'm sticking around a while longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Fate #4

Oct 3, 2015

I've been a fan of Dr. Fate for decades. This is an interesting spin on him. So far, I'm enjoying and sticking with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2 #20

Feb 19, 2014

Well, we know who Red Arrow is, and the heroes are almost all in the same place now. Hopefully they will get themselves together and DO something soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2 #21

Mar 8, 2014

I liked the way this title started. It'd be nice to get back to that someday.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Earth 2 #23

May 9, 2014

I liked this book when it started, and I keep hoping it will got back to something approximating it. This very long interlude of darkness, destruction, and death needs to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2 #24

Jun 12, 2014

After a far-too long period of watching Evil Superman kill people and destroy things, it was nice to see the heroes come out ahead on, well, anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2 #25

Jul 10, 2014

I've stuck with this through months of story that I didn't like that seemed to be going nowhere. We might finally be getting to the payoff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2 #26

Aug 12, 2014

I was considering dropping this title, but this was a nice upswing. I'll stick with it longer, and hope the rumors about it being cancelled are wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Earth 2 #30

Jan 25, 2015

We're seeing less of the "re-imagined JSA" in this book, and more of what feel like detours and filler.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Earth 2: Society #1

Jun 20, 2015

It's an interesting idea, building a new world mostly from scratch.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Earth 2: World's End #2

Oct 20, 2014

The long held captives are finally free, which is nice. The heroes are pulling together and working like a team against a common foe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Earth 2: World's End #3

Oct 25, 2014

I'm worried about the future of Earth 2, but I'm glad to get to see some more of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Earth 2: World's End #4

Nov 8, 2014

I don't know why Earth 2 has to be the one place in the DCNU darker than the main DC Earth, but I'm kinda getting tired of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Earth 2: World's End #7

Dec 2, 2014

I think things look bad for Earth 2 in general. I'm hoping we're not about to see either a wholesale slaughter or a massive evacuation with the characters being shoe-horned in to the main Earth. I guess we'll see before too much longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2: World's End #8

Dec 6, 2014

As I've said, this story jumps around too much to gain any traction anywhere. I don't see how Earth 2 can survive what it's already been put through. And there are still so many characters connected to the Golden Age they haven't gotten to; I hope they get the chance before this world meets its rumored end.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2: World's End #16

Jan 25, 2015

I still fear for the future of Earth 2 in general, and none of this is reassuring.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Earth 2: World's End #26

Apr 5, 2015

I liked how Earth 2 started, years ago. I hate what happened along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Flash (2011) Annual #3

May 8, 2014

I was looking forward to the return of Wally. I didn't like what they did.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Forever Evil #5

Feb 21, 2014

Clever dialogue, good characterization, and some pretty good fight scenes. I like how they handled the Luthor group/villain clash, and the Batman/Luthor dynamic is interesting, especially if the rumors are true and Luthor is joining the League after this event.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Forever Evil #6

Mar 9, 2014

This was just kind of a mess, and I'm not so much looking forward to next issue as glad it's about over.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Forever Evil #7

May 23, 2014

This was a very uneven series with a huge delay that effected other books. It could have been fantastic, I'd say it was good, at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #5

Feb 25, 2014

Good planning on the Rogues' part. Mirror Master is believably distraught about Glider, and you can see his desperation. Weather Wizard comes on strong as well, and he really isn't someone you want to mess with by the end of the issue. Also, the reinforcements brought in by the Rogues were nicely played.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #6

Apr 3, 2014

I like the Rogues. This is my first real exposure to them since the reboot, and I don't know if it's I just don't like how they were tweaked, or this series simply wasn't to my tastes. I won't say it wasted my time or was completely without merit, but I found it disappointing and certainly had a lot of room for improvement.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gotham By Midnight #1

Dec 4, 2014

I liked the idea behind this title when I first heard about it. I just really didn't care for the execution here.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Grayson #1

Jul 15, 2014

When I picked up this issue, I was talking with the staff at my Local Comic Shop. I mentioned I wasn't sold on the concept, and thought I might be dropping it soon. One of the LCS guys immediately said, "I wouldn't blame you if you did." I do believe I will.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Grayson #2

Aug 14, 2014

I decided I'd give this two issues to be fair. But there are too many holes in this book. I'm done. Hopefully Dick will be back to being a hero, as he was meant to be, before too long. I look forward to that day.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2013) #3

Mar 1, 2014

It was a fun adventure. Harley does chaos well, and Ivy's gift made a lot of sense. Even Harley impulsively eating the berries was well within character, if not wise. Then again, this is the woman who fell in love with the Joker...

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #4

Mar 28, 2014

The entertaining randomness and lovely art will keep me coming back for a while, at least.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2013) #7

Jun 26, 2014

The book continues to be fun in a zany kinda way. I'm sticking with it for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #8

Aug 7, 2014

Harley Quinn continues to be a fun, lighthearted, if very violent, book. I'm enjoying the change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #11

Oct 25, 2014

This is a goofy, lighthearted comic in an age where that's way too rare.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2013) #12

Nov 22, 2014

I've liked Harley since she first appeared on Batman: The Animated Series, and this is a perfect continuation of the character. This is a very enjoyable book that's working its way to the top of my list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2013) #13

Dec 28, 2014

I just plain have fun with this one, and I don't say that about a lot of comics these days. I hope they keep the tone and feel of the book just as they are.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #14

Jan 31, 2015

This was fun, and, even if Harley isn't thrilled with how everything turns out, it's a good issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #15

Mar 11, 2015

Harley is a lot of fun to wind up and watch go. Her scenes with Ivy were entertaining and sexy. The new characters all have some potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #16

Apr 4, 2015

This continues to be a lot of goofy fun that I'm really enjoying. I'll be looking forward to Harley and company coming back.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #17

Jun 18, 2015

Connor and Palmiotti have a great sense of humor, and they do some great twists here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Harley Quinn (2013) #20

Oct 3, 2015

I like the series overall, this just wasn't one of their best issues. Still fun, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2013) Annual #1

Nov 8, 2014

This book is a warped but enjoyable escape from the real world and the overall darker world of comics. If you can accept that, you should have fun with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn And Power Girl #1

Jun 26, 2015

It's a fun, twisted little story which seems to touch on other timelines, as Power Girl herself speculates.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Harley Quinn And Power Girl #2

Jul 29, 2015

This is a madcap, screwball story, and the mini should be a lot of laughs. I'm definitely on board till the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn And Power Girl #3

Aug 26, 2015

This is a lot of fun, and they work in a lot of good references.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn And Power Girl #3

Aug 26, 2015

It's silly fun in outer space. Harley is a force of chaos, and it's amusing hearing Power Girl be the voice of reason. Much as I like PG, she's usually the one pushing things, not trying to rein them in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn And Power Girl #4

Oct 3, 2015

This is thoroughly enjoyable issue with none of the grittiness or darkness that seem to have infiltrated almost every other title running.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn Holiday Special #1

Dec 28, 2014

This was fun, and made me smile. What more do you want from a holiday book about a crazy clown lady?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn Valentine's Day Special #1

Feb 14, 2015

In general, it's really not my type of read, but Conner and Palmiotti have completely won me over in spite of my usual preference for the more serious hero books.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Harley Quinn: Road Trip Special #1

Sep 18, 2015

This was another in the long line of fun stories about Harley and company. Strongly recommended if you enjoy silly fun with a few hints of adult themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League #30

May 25, 2014

I think of the League as a gathering of heroes, and this isn't it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League of America (2013) #12

Feb 25, 2014

It's almost over, and we're getting more on Stargirl's history. Of course, as they feel the need to do with about everyone in the DCNU, her history is dark and painful. Does anyone become a hero because it's the right thing to do anymore, without some murder and mayhem lurking in the background?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2013) #13

Mar 30, 2014

Most of the time, books suffer from being dragged into huge crossovers. That has certainly been the case here.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League of America (2013) #14

May 24, 2014

I hope the Justice League United book fixes the problems this one had, but with so much of the same lineup, I'm not sure it will. Yet another incarnation of the JLA is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Justice League United #1

May 18, 2014

I like some of these characters, and was curious how they were going to replace Justice League of America, which disintegrated into the J'Onn and Stargirl show. So far, this seems to be teetering on the edge of doing the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Justice League United #2

Jun 21, 2014

I'll likely stay with this to see how the team origin finishes out, but after that, unless there's a major improvement, I'm dropping this one. Sad, as I like many of these characters, but not this way.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League United #3

Jul 19, 2014

Justice League of America, the title before this, never really got off the ground between crossovers and a questionable line up. I'm wondering if this one is going to suffer a similar fate.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League United #4

Aug 26, 2014

This will be a powerful team if it manages to get going. A Martian and a Kryptonian right there are powerhouses, and several of the others seem to fluctuate a bit depending on who is writing them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League United #6

Nov 15, 2014

They have three more issues of this story to go, and I'm not sure I see where it's likely to get to at this point. It's ok, but it's not really gripping me. This title is one I keep thinking about dropping. For now, they have me because it's the only place I can see the Legion. After that? We'll have to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League United #8

Jan 17, 2015

This isn't a bad story, but they're dragging it out a lot longer than it needs to go. I'm ready for it to be done, as much as I do like seeing the Legion again.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League United #9

Feb 13, 2015

I'm really sick of this arc, and, if the next one is as drawn out as this one, I may well decide the book isn't worth it anymore.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League United #10

Mar 12, 2015

The membership of this team could be interesting, but they don't seem to be doing as much with them as they could. I hope that changes soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.2
Justice League United #13

Sep 18, 2015

I like the idea behind the team, and I've been enjoying what they've done so far. This is one of the few remaining DC books I'm getting, but I think I'll be sticking with it a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League United Annual #1

Nov 8, 2014

This was an odd outing for the Legion, and not the best one for the JLU. It sort of left me with a "Was that it?" feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Martian Manhunter (2015) #1

Jun 27, 2015

The Martian Manhunter has long been a favorite of mine. This just didn't do well by him. I'll get the next issue, but unless the impress me a lot, I think I'm done at that point.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nightwing (2011) #28

Feb 28, 2014

Too much coincidence, too many little bits that didn't connect well. I don't want Nightwing to go away, but if it has to, I want it to be on a high note, not this bit of oddness.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nightwing (2011) #30

Jun 6, 2014

I'm a huge fan of Dick Grayson, have been as long as I've been reading comics. I just can't see following this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Secret Origins #1

May 2, 2014

Series like this are always a hard sell. I'm not sure why they are trying this when DC seems to be canceling titles left and right. I suppose because with the mess they've made of their history, they are trying to clear some things up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Six (2014) #2

Feb 14, 2015

I still miss the old team, but this one has a lot of potential. I'm along for the ride for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Six (2014) #3

Jun 21, 2015

The art is beautiful, the plot is a twisty mess that keeps you guessing, the big reveals were stunning but made sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Six (2014) #4

Jul 30, 2015

This is a fun, twisted ride. I still prefer the earlier version of the book, but that's not coming back anytime soon, if ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Six (2014) #5

Aug 26, 2015

Gail Simone continues to write complex, twisted plots filled with characters that have lots of levels to them.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Six (2014) #6

Sep 19, 2015

As with the last run, the Secret Six is delightful twisted. I'm looking forward to seeing where Gail takes the team of misfits.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Talon #16

Mar 5, 2014

I've been hoping about since the book started that we'd see Talon do something that wasn't connected to the Court of Owls. We finally get that. And, while I hope they get everything straightened out with Casey and her daughter, I'm just as glad for them to be mostly off screen for an issue or two.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Talon #17

Apr 1, 2014

They made a big point of making Talon part of Batman, Inc a little bit ago, so I suspect we'll be seeing him again. It was a book that started strong and faded out as it went. I had some high hopes for it. I guess we'll see what the future holds for Calvin Rose and his band of adventurers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #1

Jul 22, 2014

I'm not sure I'm going to be continuing with this book. I get trying to appeal to a new audience, but this seems like a pale shadow of a book I used to love.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Movement #9

Feb 20, 2014

This is the Movement's first run in with an actual superhero, and, for all the almost required posturing, it spins out in a realistic and well done fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Movement #10

Mar 10, 2014

Gail places all her characters in an interesting moral dilemma, and there are no easy answers. Happily, she doesn't try to force one. There's a lot of grey here, but it's well done grey.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Movement #11

Apr 5, 2014

It's been an interesting ride, this book. I'm sorry, but not stunned, to see it go. Things that make people think, which this does, aren't incredibly popular these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Movement #12

May 8, 2014

The Movement tried to change the world. They didn't manage it, but they tried, and we got to see them try. I'm going to miss these guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Multiversity Guidebook #1

Feb 1, 2015

This was an interesting one shot. I suspect it may only appeal to the major geeks, like me, who like to have things identified and sorted out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Multiversity: Mastermen #1

Feb 22, 2015

Multiversity is showing a lot of strange stories, and this is up there as one of the stranger ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Multiversity: Pax Americana #1

Dec 2, 2014

It wasn't Watchmen, and it wasn't the Charlton heroes, it seemed like it tried to be both and didn't manage to be either. Morrison could have done anything with these stories, and we got a weird hybrid of earlier ideas.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
We Are Robin #2

Jul 25, 2015

It's an interesting idea, the many Robins at once. The mysterious leader, if done well and not left dragging too long, could be a good mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Worlds' Finest #20

Mar 7, 2014

Letting PG and Huntress learn that home was still around was good. Batman was used well, skulking in the shadows.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Worlds' Finest #21

Mar 31, 2014

This book continues to teeter on the edge of me dropping it. I keep hoping Levitz will return to his former skill at writing and DO something with these characters, one of whom he created. But I'm starting to doubt it will happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Worlds' Finest #24

Jun 27, 2014

By all accounts, my time on this book is drawing to a close. It hasn't been the best run for Karen and Helena, but I'll miss them.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Worlds' Finest #25

Jul 17, 2014

Well the status quo of the book is about to undergo a major shift. Of course, Power Girl and Huntress are about to go one of the few places even darker than the DCNU's main Earth right now. I wonder if they'll be happy to get home when they see what's happened?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More