Planet Hulk #1

Planet Hulk #1

Writer: Sam Humphries, Greg Pak Artist: Marc Laming, Takeshi Miyagawa Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: May 20, 2015 Cover Price: $4.99 Critic Reviews: 16 User Reviews: 24
8.5Critic Rating
8.1User Rating

• A forbidden zone of wild HULKS
•  A battle-worn gladiator named STEVE ROGERS
•  A journey that could break the spirit of a world's greatest freedom fighter.
•  PLUS: A back up story by a surprise creative team!

  • 10
    Herotaku - Brian Benjamin May 25, 2015

    Overall, Planet Hulk is off to an interesting start. I'm looking forward to seeing where this story will go. Sam Humphries, Marc Laming, and Jordan Boyd is a creative team that you're going to have to keep an eye on. I highly recommend checking out Planet Hulk, it's bound to pull you in. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Comicosity - John Ernenputsch May 19, 2015

    Planet Hulk #1is a great comic book that doesn't stop moving from beginning to end. The only major complaint with the issue is that it had to end right before business picked up some more, but that's what issue two is for right? This issue featured a great setup to a great concept, and this title has skyrocketed to the top of the List of tie-ins I'll be waiting for with baited breath each month. Ifthe rest of the Secret Warstie-ins are half as good as what Humphries and Laming accomplish here then this event is going to be one of the best ever. It's Captain America meets Gladiator and Escape From New York in a perfect action adventure comic for the summer. If you are on the fence about picking this up you shouldn't be, as tie-in or notPlanet Hulk is just a great comic book. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    We The Nerdy - Chris White May 19, 2015

    Planet Hulk #1 is a must have for Marvel fans, hulk fans and for comic book fans in general because it is a perfect example of some fantastic artwork and epic storytelling that blends seamlessly throughout. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comic Spectrum - Shawn Hoklas May 28, 2015

    Since the second issue of Secret Wars, I've been mostly impressed with everything that's come out. Of all the first issues to release taking place within Battleworld, I'd have to say that this is my early favorite. It's a comic book that's fun, exciting and free of continuity. They give a new reader everything they'll need to know, while hinting at the larger world it's a part of. Marc Laming's sells the creative concept perfectly and it's great to see some wonderful Jack Kirby creations and concepts we don't see too often live on within these pages. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Geeked Out Nation - Ian Yoxon May 22, 2015

    Planet Hulks #1 is at a great start. Other than following Secret Wars you don't need to read anything else to get an idea what this story is about. If you're a fan of the Hulk along with other characters like Captain America and Devil Dinosaur then I'd highly give Planet Hulks a chance. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    PopMatters - Gregory L. Reece Jun 2, 2015

    Then imagine that thrown into the mix is the biggest, baddest dinosaur from Jurassic World , a dinosaur whose hide has been burned to a blood red scar. Read Full Review

  • 8.6
    IGN - Jesse Schedeen May 21, 2015

    Humphries delivers a straightforward but engaging opening issue that clearly establishes the conflict and the stakes for Steve's quest. Artist Marc laming expertly brings this segment of Battleworld to life with bold character designs and confident line-work befitting a superhero gladiator tale. Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    Comic Book Herald - Matt Lehn May 23, 2015

    The movie elevator pitch would be: Apocalypse Now with Dirty Dozen overtones in the vein of Spartacus, Conan The Barbarian and The Beastmaster. But with super-hero iconography. And a frikkin' dinosaur! Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Newsarama - Justin Partridge, III May 19, 2015

    It's a simple story. A man going to the ends of the Earth to save his friend. Of course, set against the backdrop of Secret Wars, nothing is really that simple. However, Planet Hulk #1 presents its men on a mission tale with speed, pathos, and even a giant bug fight. Writers Sam Humphries and Greg Pak throw themselves headlong into the uncharted territory of Greenland and deliver a classic pulp yarn stocked with the new versions of Marvel mainstays as well as a few choice connections to a fan favorite story arc. People may complain that not much happens in the pages of Planet Hulk #1 or that the action beats are few and far between, but not all stories need constant battle to feel important or engaging. Planet Hulk #1 is printed proof of just that. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Vine - Tony 'G-Man' Guerrero May 19, 2015

    PLANET HULK is a strong addition to the line of SECRET WARS tie in series. Sam Humphries is taking the idea of Planet Hulk to a different level. By mixing some elements from a different region, we'll get to see a gladiator Captain America and Devil Dinosaur enter the story for some guaranteed big action. Marc Laming's art with Jordan Boyd's colors fit the story perfectly. The addition of a back up Planet Hulk world origin by Greg Pak and Takeshi Miyazawa is a great added bonus. Things are really going to heat up next issue. PLANET HULK looks to be a smashing success. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comics: The Gathering - F.D. White May 21, 2015

    Despite the simple plot and barebones characterzation so far, Planet Hulk is bolstered by pure spectacle and breathtaking art. It's a thrill ride worth paying the price of admission. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Resources - Doug Zawisza May 19, 2015

    "Planet Hulk" #1 might be a sliver of the event machine surrounding "Secret Wars," but it's a damn fun sliver. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Forces Of Geek - Atlee Greene May 26, 2015

    Most of the time, tie in books fail to add any real depth to the overarching story they are trying to enhance. While it would have been nice to see more of Planet Hulk in its current form, Humphries did a great job of establishing everyone's role where Green Goliath's appear to play background noise to a much larger issue at hand. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicList - Brandon Borzelli May 23, 2015

    "Planet Hulk" is a very interesting comic book. It helps to have read the original Planet Hulk story, it wouldn't hurt to be following the Secret Wars series, but none of that is required. This is a standalone story that puts Captain America in the path of many Hulks. This first issue sets up the world, the plot and moves the characters into each other's paths. This is a very good read, especially for those that are fans of Captain America, The Hulk or those that just like fun stories. I recommend checking this out. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    All-Comic - Tyler Goulet May 20, 2015

    Yes, Planet Hulk is another win for Marvel. Yes, Humphries, Laming and Boyd are amazing creators and should be given all due praise and adoration. Yes, Captain America is absolutely f***king badass as a Gladiator that rides Devil Dinosaur and seems to have some sort of crazy, almost telepathic connection with the beast. All this, and more, is true. If you're tentative onSecret Wars and/orPlanet Hulk for any reason, seriously, you have nothing to fear. You're in great hands here and undoubtedly anybody can enjoy this book.And, hey, who wouldn't want to visit the Killiseum? Sounds like a lovely place.Snoorxxx. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comics Bulletin - Ryan Ford May 26, 2015

    Sam (Legendary Star-Lord) Humphries' narrative had definite layers, many of which were dependent upon the core values of some tried and true names. Read Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

November

More