Adrian Care's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: PopCultHQ Reviews: 10
7.9Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Age of X-Man: Alpha #1

Jan 30, 2019

While there are parallels to the classic Age of Apocalypse storyline, Age of X-Man: Alpha stands on its own. The creators have a reverence for much loved eras of X-Men lore but aren't scared to step out in different directions either. This is a world building issue, a primer for the things to come. While some may find the pace too drifty, or the urgency a little absent, it's all in service to the story being set up. I was apprehensive that the last thing the X-books needed was another reset, another new direction, or a further departure, but the creative team have changed my mind and left me eagerly anticipating what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Age Of X-Man: NextGen #1

Feb 13, 2019

While consistent in message and theme with other 'Age of X-Man' releases, NextGen #01 isn't exactly of the same quality. The definition is somewhat lacking, there's not enough distinction. Besides familiar feeling events, separate this book from one that could be occurring in the Marvel Universe proper. What Brisson does well is make the interactions feel real. The story's underlying strength is the bond the principle X-men hopefuls share. After two very potent issues, NextGen felt like a bit of a breather and remains a worthwhile read with or without the other Age of X-Man titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Age Of X-Man: The Marvelous X-Men #1

Feb 6, 2019

A consistent second entry into this multi-part event that doesn't sacrifice story for spectacle and still delivers both. With each read of Age of X-Man, I'm eager for the new entry and to explore other corners of this universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2019) #1

Feb 6, 2019

Everything about this issue has the makings of another classic run to add to the annals of Daredevil's proud history. Even the parts of the book that re-tread more familiar parts of the Daredevil mythos feel fresh, either because of the pitch-perfect writing or the stunning art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dick Tracy: Dead or Alive #4

Feb 9, 2019

Don't expect anything other than signature Allred pop-art and a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Die #3

Feb 5, 2019

I couldn't believe this was only issue three; midway through the story, I felt so familiar with the characters and their journey, I thought I'd been reading this title for a long time. It's a very easy, entertaining read that will tug at the heartstrings and extract a range of emotions from the reader. Although the art was distracting for me, I'm sure I was in the minority and it never does a disservice to the story being told. I can't wait to check in next issue and see where the adventure has taken us next and I'm intrigued to know more about the salacious new crumbs this issue feeds along the way. Forget what I said in this review's opener. If you're not reading DIE yet, get up and add it to your pull list now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gunning For Hits #2

Feb 9, 2019

If you're a music fan, you'll drink up all the inside baseball things working in and around the main plot. Definitely a new title worth checking out - just like Stunted Growth, it might even be the next big thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Immortal Hulk #13

Feb 6, 2019

More than just a solid finale to the psychological thriller of the last few issues, Immortal Hulk #13 packs punches in bunches and a powerful sting in its tale. A fitting entry into a run that feeds on fear, but isn't afraid to explore different directions. Make this book one of the first things you read when you get started on this week's pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Winter Soldier (2018) #3

Feb 13, 2019

There's a school of thought that Marvel is getting their cinematic universe right at the expense of their comics. Winter Soldier is irrefutable proof of that the opposite is true. If Higgins and Reis maintain this level of quality (and were granted more than the 5-issues) this would give the Immortal Hulk a run as Marvels best book. The team brings great action and deep psychology without losing classic super heroics. This is just damn good story telling without cheap gimmicks. Fans should support books like this, put it in the hands of people who haven't yet read it, so we get to enjoy it for more than its limited run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
WWE #25

Feb 3, 2019

The WWE series has been a gift to comic book and wrestling fans from the very start. Issue 25 is a prime example of what a creative team that runs like a well-oiled machine can do adapting a licensed property and elevating it on every level. Ensuring that it even exceeds the source material. This issue will make you want to fire up the WWE Network and relive the entire feud between A.J. Styles and Samoa Joe. There is a great crossover of fans between wrestling and comics; I think the creative team on WWE #25 caters to that. They understand both fanbases, respect and appreciate them, and invite new fans to take a seat and mark out along with them.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More