Frankie Rodriguez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Herotaku Reviews: 68
8.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
All New Fathom #1

Jul 23, 2013

Besides Luzhin, the story is great. The art is pretty damn good too. I still need to get fully solid on this creative side of things but very damn good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All New Fathom #2

Aug 28, 2013

Spectacular art. Good story. GREAT SURPRISES. Great book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All New Fathom #5

Jan 26, 2014

Best issue of the series yet. Writing and Art was absolutely incredible.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-New Soulfire #1

Nov 12, 2013

The story's pacing was excellent. Nothing lasted too long or was overly wordy; just a nice pace. The dialogue fit the group well as PJ seemed to be a little more enthusiastic here, but that works for him. There is a lot to this world but Krul gives us a familiar spot, Paris, to be our backdrop. And as the multiple plots just start, Krul makes sure to go back to the first scene with the end of this issue; leaving readers wanting more. A magnificent job by Krul.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Soulfire #4

Apr 22, 2014

The art is amazing. The story is solid. There are some big mysterious to be revealed and the traitor amongst the group really sets things off. I believe we are about to get into the third act of this story and looking forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Soulfire #5

Jun 15, 2014

The art is stunning. The story is solid. The plots are running towards the end of the series and are developing well. This issue starts connecting dots and definitely helps set up the book run towards its end. It's a great ride over all and the issue definitely makes me look forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Armor Hunters #1

Jun 8, 2014

Honestly, this was an amazing opening. While the rest of the Valiant Universe isn't involve yet, Venditti plants the seeds to make sure they are involved. I do love that we are seeing different facets of the Armor Hunters themselves. And that not everything is as black and white as it may be. It's a solid read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #41

Jun 10, 2015

Synder & Capullo work wonderful magic. It is a new beginning and this issue makes it easy, compelling and impactful. We start off running while we get a very natural, intelligent motivation behind this new Jim Gordon Batman. As one door closes, another door opens. And this is a new beginning that any reader can enjoy in their own way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot #0

Aug 20, 2013

Easily, my favorite #0 of all the Valiant Titles. This gave us origins, surprises, great dialogue, talked about learning to be human with dynamic art that really did something different and held your attention. Kindt writes a smart script and lets his art team tell its own story as well " tying it all together in a strong package. Chrisscross and Baumann form a FORMIDABLE art team that I truly wish was staying together after this issue. LOVED this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot #13

Jul 23, 2013

This is one of those issues that you have to read " digest a little than look back at it cause there is a lot that gets covered in this issue. Yet, it was paced well and Swierczynski goes out with a bang " giving a sense of finality as this is the exit of multiple characters while also leaving enough mysteries for the new writing team to pick up. Also, Kitson's experimentation with his art to be grittier worked extremely well and kudos to the art team for giving us a great issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot & H.A.R.D. Corps #15

Oct 16, 2013

This was even better than last issue and I am really growing to love Palmer and this new status quo. Great art. Superb writing. A win for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot: Reborn #1

Apr 15, 2015

This is simply one of the best first issues that has come out this year. It establishes our main character well while looking at his past and facing his own future. Lemire and Suayan present a comic for the ages in this first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Book Of Death #1

Jul 14, 2015

Book of Death kicks off with a lot of chaos, mystery and wonder that grip you. Venditti does an excellent job using the personal relationships of Unity to help build this boiling point for Gilad and the team in the background of all these events. The Book of the Necromancer foretells Valiant's greatest battle yet, but it looks like it will come to pass. The art is awesome as we got to see a lot of gruesome, powerfull detail. The only missteps in my mind is that the rest of Unity sides with G.A.T.E. right off the back instead of building more interpersonal conflict. Still, this was a solid kick off to Valiant's summer event!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Book Of Death: The Fall Of Bloodshot #1

Jul 22, 2015

This one shot gave so much with so little and it was done flawlessly. The art was amazing. The story was superb. Lemire was great integrating other facets of Valiant's history and universe seamlessly and made the read that much more enjoyable. Braithwaite drew some of the best art of his career, between Pirate Bloodshot and that final, powerful page. Comics is an art form and these men elevated it with this one issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Charismagic (2013) #4

Aug 8, 2013

This issue was near perfection. Great characters. Wonderous backgrounds. Great set ups to dynamic and impactful pay offs. Exceptional art. It was the best issue of Charismagic yet. My slight gripe is the whole Hector and Alle no longer having glowing eyes this issue. That did dumbfound me. Otherwise, one of the best comics on shelves now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Charismagic (2013) #5

Sep 3, 2013

PAYOFFS! That is what this issue is full of. So much so, that I can honestly say that it makes me love this series more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Charismagic The Death Princess #3

Aug 14, 2013

While issue # 2 was okay, I did enjoy this issue better. There was a better flow and the stakes certainly were high enough. Hernandez gave us really great character work and a very emotionally gripping end while Lopez and Andolfo gave us strong, vivid art that definitely worked this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Convergence #1

Apr 10, 2015

Convergence #1 does not disappoint. It tells you what it plans on doing in the first issue, gives you background on the heroes we are seeing while advancing character development. The art is stunning and the writing was strong!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead Drop #2

Jun 1, 2015

This issue continued to build upon last issue while giving great character development. There is definitely a strong sense of urgency and danger, especially now that it is revealed that more than one group is after the virus. There is great rising action. Kot blends the action well with the comedy. This was definitely a stronger issue than the first one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Divinity #4

May 27, 2015

The art was absolutely fantastic as it shows what happens when a mortal man has a power of a god and the consequences of those actions. This was a great issue, full of stunning visuals and thought provoking commentary on life. A triumph by Valiant once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Eternal Soulfire #1

Jul 14, 2015

Eternal Soulfire #1 gives us a lot of new within the confines of a familiar universe. Krul definitely changes things up with our new leads and these new situations, such as the military force tracking down magical beings. The issue does a great job presenting us a new status quo and new lead in Cassidy. The art is simply phenomenal and it is a solid issue all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fathom: Blue #1

Jun 21, 2015

Fathom Blue # 1 gives a great jump on point for readers. We get to see different Blue adjusting to the world above in their own way and how each of them are different. Avella, Roslan & Arciniega present a vivid, detailed canvas to watch this unfold while Hernandez grips you with smart writing and wonderful characterization. One of the best first issues in Aspen's history.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fathom: Blue #2

Jul 27, 2015

We got ourselves an interesting team here. Every character has a unique and distinct voice. The lettering is awesome from Reed as always. The story was solid with great amounts of characterizations and strong development from our cast. Our new Big Bad made one hell of a first impression while we learn more about our crew. The art was superb and Hernandez does his usual keep readers gripped and asking more questions that build upon each other. There definitely seems like there is a lot to come with this book and it is a fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fathom: Kiani Vol. 4 #3

Apr 24, 2015

This issue moved the main plot along while developing Kiani and Anika. The art was good, showing off Cafaro's best work to date. With vibrant color and wonderful detail, the issue is a site to behold. And while the issue just stops, it is still a decent issue over all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fathom: Kiani Vol. 4 #4

May 31, 2015

While the miniseries stops more than ends, it does a great job of tying almost everything together from the previous issues while still standing powerful on its own. Cafaro and Hartman's art are at their best this issue while Hernandez still is a great scribe. The ending is the only thing that hurts it, but only slightly. Still a solid read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fathom: The Elite Saga #4

Jul 11, 2013

Stellar Writing. Outstanding Art. Comics at it's best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fathom: The Elite Saga #5

Jul 15, 2013

This was a wild ride with a strong ending. Minor gripe aside, this was an amazing final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
FCBD 2014: Skyward/Midnight Tiger #1

May 3, 2014

We got a strong start with a legend told to us by a dying tribe leader. And then we got an origin story of a young hero that already knows there is more to life than fighting super villains. I REALLY enjoyed this issue. Skyward's story was good and Midnight Tiger's was great. I am glad they put these two together for this. - See more at: http://herotaku.com/blog/1/entry-12027-fcbd-skywardmidnight-tiger-review/#sthash.9s8KhvLl.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harbinger #14

Jul 22, 2013

This issue had a little bit of everything in a nice bow. And it did not insult the readers by showing us everything that occurring in Harbinger Wars # 4 the same way. The 1969 story came to a dramatic, thought-proving and very agreeable conclusion while the present day narrative gave us the final fate of Faith and just the overall love of the character by Dysart and her importance to the Renegades as a group.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harbinger #15

Aug 13, 2013

"Perfect Day" part one definitely was a great start for a new arc and good jump on point. The art was good and I applaud Kiston changing things up with his art. It works and fits this crew. As for the writing, Dysart continues to deliver some of the best written comics today and this issue is one of his best to date. My only problem being the costume thing is a minor gripe in the larger scheme of things. Excellent pacing. Great character development. Interesting plot. Gripping characters. Vibrant art. And one hell of an ending makes Harbinger # 15 a GREAT comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harbinger #22

Apr 22, 2014

The issue was a great start to a very pivotal character and story related arc. Henry, Reber and Dysart are delivering the best work of their careers and it will only get better. "Death of a Renegade" is off to a smart and strong start and can only get much better from here. And that will make it that much more heartbreaking for when we lose one of our characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harbinger #24

Jun 15, 2014

The passionate dialogue between Faith, Kris and Torque alone is worth every last cent this book was made. And the major battle between Harada and Peter was cinematic in scope and detail. If you had been following this book, you definitely will get the feels with this issue. If this is your first issue, you will plow back to the beginning and just start working on collecting more and more. Evans and Reber assist with art to make this book one of the greatest issues of comics ever to be printed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harbinger Wars #4

Jul 16, 2013

The ending was a little breezy there and Suayan's art definitely broke the flow but overall, a good ending to a great summer comic event.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Imperium #6

Jun 29, 2015

There is just so much going for this book. There is strong characterization, advancing plotlines, stunning art and a unique theme. Harada's need to change the world by force is becoming such a strong draw for characters who have no problem getting their hands dirty. Yet, Dysart shows that these beings are together to fulfill Harada's goal ... yet, what they all want out of it is one of the biggest draws of the book.This books continues to be amazing how it can bring people that a majority of them are pretty much the scum of the Earth, but still be an entertaining, compelling read " month after month. This is how comics showed be. Making you question yourself and these characters as human beings, their beliefs and the actions you and they take. And this book does this often.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Imperium #7

Aug 4, 2015

The pacing is wonderful and the dialogue is smart. The art is impressive, really allowing readers to see the stretches of imagination here. And we get a great build up to a strong confrontation. A really satisfying and thought-provoking issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Inferno #1

May 31, 2015

Hopeless, Garron and company give us a compelling, easy to follow opening salvo to this Secret Wars series. There is already a good amount of mystery, intrigue and mysticism within this first issue. It has a massive amount of respect for the original material while world building it into something else that just cannot be denied, through panel work or script. The characters are flawed, but likable and it is a dire situation that makes reading it that much more fun! And that is why you need to pick up this book now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ivar, Timewalker #6

Jun 18, 2015

Breaking History continues this insane, hilarious and compelling saga of three brothers together again to help a friend of the family. Yet, this family is interesting and dysfunctional. Van Lente layers mysteries within the funny while progressing characters and the main plot. Portela's art really shines to make this book look stunning. A solid book once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jack Hammer #2

Mar 2, 2014

Jack Hammer is a good, solid book with interesting mysteries, a strong lead and good story telling. The art is good as well. Yet, the heavy ink outline felt a bit much on some panels.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jack Hammer #3

Apr 26, 2014

This issue was good. It moved towards the climax. There was a lot happening but didn't feel cluttered. The art was good and the writing was strong. The dialogue heaviness of it might interrupt the flow a little. Otherwise, a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jirni #4

Jul 28, 2013

Great art, Great story only hurt by that pacing shift. Solid book by this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jirni Vol. 2 #1

Jun 3, 2014

Jirni is back and ready to travel all over in order to find her mother. The fact how far Ara is willing to go is displayed in this issue. And while a bit on the breezy side, it is still a solid story with a strong main heroine.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lola XOXO #2

May 21, 2014

Honestly, last issue started us off, but this issue pushed things into overdrive. This book really engrosses you into its world and characters well. Aspen's got another hit with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lola XOXO: Wasteland Madam #2

Jun 1, 2015

The book gives compelling drama as people try to survive this apocalypse together, and there seems to be an issue with unity.We get a deep look at our main heroine, antagonist and supporting cast as the main plot drives forward. The art is still gorgeous and the writing is solid. Definitely a buy!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Miles Morales: Ultimate Spider-Man #12

Apr 19, 2015

The art was great. Bendis had a strong story here, but the execution was poor towards the end. There was resolution. Yet, the final battle was anti-climatic. Still, a decent read with good moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Warriors (2014) #1

Mar 5, 2014

This was a solid first issue that makes me want more and feel very excited. The characters are interesting and varied. The stakes are high. Yost ties the plot together and To and Curiel's art is stunning.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Night of the 80s Undead #1

Jul 11, 2013

Really great art. Full of surprises. Great characters. Interesting storyline and plot. And everything about this book screams fun and horrible all at the same time. The book has a choice for a soundtrack with even what to listen to watch track during what scene. Brilliant in concept & execution. One of the most original & fun books I have ever read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ninjak #2

Apr 19, 2015

Ninjak # 2 continues with explosively impressive art and wonderful story that will hold on to you. Kindt molds two great stories that allow you to really get a better idea of our character and the world he lives in, making Ninjak have its own identity in the world of Valiant. With such striking panel work, it is no wonder this book is becoming a runaway hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #4

Jun 24, 2015

What seems to be filler is a wonderful character study on both Roku and Kannon. We get a little deeper into their characters, their motivations and more. The art was absolutely gorgeous and Kindt continues to write great, complex characters that are relateable, no matter how fantastic things seem. He really let's readers get a good sense of the characters voice. If you like strong women and innovative origin issues, then this issue is for you. For those annoyed by this affecting the main plot ... I am sorry.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Overtaken #1

Aug 27, 2013

I love this book. I am glad this title was picked to be one of the 10 for 10. Mastromauro has a great mystery here and we have some of the best art I have seen in comics today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Pirate Eye: Exiled From Exile #2

Apr 19, 2015

The art is pretty good, capturing mood and tone well. The writing was simply exquisite.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Wars #0

May 3, 2015

This special is was pretty awesome. Yes, I didn't mention the 8 page Attack on Titans/Avengers preview because that is alternate universe and not the key draw of this book. This was about getting ready for Wednesday's Secret Wars #1. And Hickman and Renaud do a magnificent job getting people ready for this long standing storyline. Overall, if you didn't read Hickman's massive series that lead up to Secret Wars, this catches you up nicely

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Wars #1

May 8, 2015

Secret Wars # 1 kicks off to spectacular start. There is something for everyone in this book. And the sheer amount of things you see in this issue will make sure to be burned in your brain for the rest of your life. The art is simply amazing and the writing is some of Hickman's best. This is a comic that everyone should experience at least once.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Shadowman #9

Aug 5, 2013

It's a good book. It could be better but still good conclusion that will grab you and don't let go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadowman #10

Sep 3, 2013

Jordon gives a solid issue but I felt weird at the end. Not for what happened but just " the impact of it. It was felt but I felt it needed more time. Otherwise, a damn good issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shahrazad #3

Jun 5, 2015

While the lead is not as predominant in this issue, it was still pretty solid. The art was superb. The pacing was good. There was great dialogue. The challenges were interesting. The book just felt a little out of balance for me because we saw almost more of Janus and the crew than her. Still, Shahrazad still made an impact and the book was enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Skyward #6

Mar 31, 2014

Dale and Rochelle give us a solid issue with action and great character development. It begins to set the stage and we get to learn more about the Rabites. I give Skyward # 6 a solid 4 " out of 5. Pick it up April 2nd, 2014.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skyward #7

May 21, 2014

The first part of Battle of Three Rivers starts out with a bang " okay " more like a stab but still. It was engaging. It was full of excitement. The art was solid and full of quality: which we have come to know from Jeremy's work. Overall, a great issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Stray #3

Apr 24, 2015

Solid art with great story leads to a superb issue. We get a lot of world building and development this issue along with dealing with the main plot of finding the Doberman's killer. The art really looks great this issue. And this book is really starting to feel great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Four Points #1

Apr 9, 2015

Great art. Decent story. Good characterizations for some, little for others that will be co starring in the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Infinity Gauntlet #1

Jun 5, 2015

The Infinity Gauntlet surprises you with a fantastic first issue dealing with a girl and her family trying to survive being over run by bugs and having little hope. They are fighting to live and, in some cases, keep that hope alive. This domain is pretty messed up for humanity from the looks of it, but Duggan and Weaver give us plenty of surprises to keep us on our toes while telling us a compelling story that feels very authentic, relateable and gripping. This is one of the better books to come out of Secret Wars so far, cause it has an independent feel while still being Marvel. There feels like there isn't anything else like this in the Marvel line. And that makes the book all the better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trish Out Of Water #1

Oct 16, 2013

We have believable characters in a real world having real world problems as it slowly goes a bit more sci fi as the issue goes along. The lead is likable, strong and interesting to watch for reaction. There is a good amount of mystery as well as clever dialogue. Nothing feels like it is useless in this book. The art is solid and while the coloring is a bit different, it does work well for the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trish Out Of Water #2

Nov 5, 2013

GREAT story. Good art. Wonderful and diverse characters. Strong Characterizations. We got a winner folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unity #19

Jun 9, 2015

Unity # 19 gives us a grand introduction to our latest villainess and she is just fun from start to finish. Her intentions are quite clear and her history is really interesting. Kindt's writing continues to be the top of his game. And while the art for both the present and the past are really good, it might be a bit too much of a change for other readers. Still, they creative team did a great job here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Valiant 25th Anniversary Special (FCBD 2015) #1

May 3, 2015

We get an enjoyable look into the Valiant Universe. We get nothing short of above average work, great information and some wonderful teasers of what is to come. The only real disappointment was just getting the Ninjak preview. Sure, it is a fantastic preview. Yet, I would have rather had an original story and not something that was posted on line months ago. Otherwise, this was wonderful issue to use to get people into Valiant.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Vamplets #5

Jul 31, 2015

Vamplets: The Nightmare Nursery # 5 does so much with so little. There is a lot of character development and a lot happening in this issue. The story advances well, feeling not too much in one issue. We get spectacular art and solid story. Things are reaching a strong climax with good payoff. This issue was excellent set up while developing our side characters. I look forward to see what Destiny and the others will do after that strong ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar #15

Jul 9, 2013

This was even better than last issue. Honestly, a near perfect opening to a new arc and I am excited.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-O Manowar #16

Aug 20, 2013

The art was good and in some places, great. But that is my only real gripe. Still, solid job by the art team and stellar writing from Venditti. Dear God when that arm got broken " Sheesh.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Tinction Agenda #2

Jul 31, 2015

X-Tinction Agenda # 2 lives up to its title. The extinction of mutantkind is on the line. Guggenheim and Di Giandomenico create an issue full of tension, anger and spectacular battles. The Press Gang crosses a line in order to save the mutants in Genosha. Yet, there are other forces at work here. The stage is set for a major conflict that could mean the end of mutantkind ... in more than one way. Definitely a gripping issue that makes you want more.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More