Hansel Moreno's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Weekly Crisis Reviews: 97
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8
Bad Dog #5

Nov 27, 2013

Joe Kelly opens with an apology and gets over it and moves on to the crazy hijinks I have sorely missed. Diego Greco get's right to the dirty deeds. The pimp suits look great, the nudity is prevalent and Lou is a true bastard with a heart of gold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bedlam #4

Feb 12, 2013

Riley Rossmo is now on PETA's hit list thanks to last issue and you don't want to miss what atrocities he and Nick Spencer commit this week. While this issue does not have the ferocity of issue three or the grotesque behavior of issue one I still had a good time reading this book. I said some choice four letter words and was very much shocked.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bedlam #5

Mar 5, 2013

This issue ramps up the current story and the flashbacks. The story still feels fresh and I can not wait for the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bedlam #10

Nov 27, 2013

"What happen to Madder Red?" has taken a backseat to "Who is Fillmore Press?" and I am happy with what Nick Spencer and team are doing in/to this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Science #1

Nov 27, 2013

This comic has a strong debut. I don't necessarily connect with the main action scientist but I am extremely curious as to how he handles himself. Will he pull himself up by his bootstraps? Will he accidentally kill himself? Perhaps some fantastic creature will devour him? Or maybe, just maybe his skills and wit will save him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Science #2

Dec 22, 2013

Its far from the comic that is sure to remembered as the title most folks want as "Book of the Year" but it certainly brings memories of what comics used to be, where anything goes and there were no limits to storytelling. While the comic debuted last month, it will make things easy for new readers to go back and check out. Black Science is fun and shouldn't be discarded from anyone's pull-list in the next year.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Blackacre #3

Feb 5, 2013

Bourdreau and Cavalcanti keep the action at a high pace while letting us see more hardships the peasant class must endure. A truly terrifying look in to an all to possible future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bounce #3

Jul 24, 2013

Let's talk about that cover. Now that is a sexy man. David and Giovanna make that cover POP. The pinks, flesh and red color draw your attention to that deep v on Terry's chest. This cover is sexy and not afraid to show it. The caliber of art inside the comic is just as high quality as the cover. Don't miss out on this title any longer, jump in to The Bounce now!

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Change #4

Mar 13, 2013

This is the kind of book I want to write a much longer review about, about how it got everything so wrong. So, although it wildly missed its target, I still respect Change for trying to not be the same as everything else out there. Even though it wound up being almost embarrassingly lousy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Chew #32

Mar 19, 2013

This amazing duo have shown great dedication to their book and are telling a deeply fulfilling story that merits your attention. Buy it in singles, paperback or the amazing Omnivore editions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Chew #33

Apr 16, 2013

If you are not familiar with Poyo, this is the issue for you! If you already love Poyo, this is the issue for you! If you wish to pay your respects to Poyo or owe him a blood debt, this my friends, is the comic for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Chew #34

May 28, 2013

Chew #34 has scenes with such gravitas that I was on the edge of my seat. For a first time reader please do not go for this issue. Chew #1 is available for a $1 or catch up in trades. This series is not to be missed!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Chew #35

Jul 10, 2013

CHEW has a solid, no nonsense 34 issue run. We've had laughs, scares, gore and even some heart felt tears. John and Rob have something special going on and over half way through it's run it is never to late to get in to CHEW.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Chew #36

Sep 4, 2013

Guillory's art is as gorgeous as ever and Layman's script is hilarious, heart warming and there is plenty of ass-kicking as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Clone #4

Feb 12, 2013

This issue is full of suspense! Shadowy government deals are hatched and treachery is everywhere! With Luke's family caught in the middle of not one but two genetic experiments he is going to great lengths to save his loved ones. This issue has some nice story beats expanding the plot on three different fronts while not losing the urgency of the particular situation Luke finds himself in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Comeback #5

Mar 19, 2013

In this issue there were some twist I expected and thrilling twist I didn't see coming. I loved it. If you haven't kept up with the series go ahead and order the trade. I can't say much about issue 5 with out spoiling the fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Danger Club #5

Apr 16, 2013

The Teens are currently in the middle of solving a mystery! Imagine Scooby Doo and the gang but with buckets and buckets of blood. And when you pull the mask off the monster? All you see is the sum of your greatest fears.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dia De Los Muertos #3

May 21, 2013

This story is nothing short of Ultra violent Mexploitation. This takes Riley's idea and spins it so far out of orbit. You really surprised me Mr. Keatinge.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Drumhellar #1

Nov 5, 2013

Alex and Riley have penned a funny and engaging mystery that rapidly opens up and pulls you in. In style, it is born and bred Riley's, however the story telling involved reminds me of more of Mind The Gap and Morning Glories. High octane mystery with more questions than answers that eventually (hopefully) lead to a huge pay off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Drumhellar #2

Dec 11, 2013

Yes. The art Ladies and Gentlemen. Riley is switching his line work between the simple, messy and even brush work. He's throwing it all in together depending on the mood of the story. Excellent and wonderful to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
East of West #7

Nov 5, 2013

Hickman, Dragotta, Martin and in no small measure Rus Wooton suss out this tale slowly and majestically. A vein is explored for and issue and forgotten for a few, we backtrack and flash forward. Who we thought was meaningless is raised to near messiah proportions. Hickman has quite the body of work but the East Of West Team is clawing deep into my heart. I hope they don't rip it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Epic Kill #8

Feb 5, 2013

I enjoyed this issue and to be honest it is my first Epic Kill. Ienco has amazing art skills playing the line between sexy and deadly while drawing Song with class. The writing was not as strong as the art but it does help move the story forward. Overall I found Epic Kill a fun run through the spy/ass kicking genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fatale #12

Feb 12, 2013

Great effort from both Brubaker and Philips shows in every page of this issue. We are introduced to new characters and we see them interact and really come alive in only one issue! Dollar for dollar this is some of the best story telling this week. I am intrigued and want to know what happens next! I am on the edge of my seat!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fatale #14

May 14, 2013

Fatale is a great, goose bump inducing book. I like to read it far past my bedtime and then try not to look into any dark recess of my room. Please check out this issue, it's good for long time readers and anyone who hasn't tried the book out yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fatale #16

Aug 7, 2013

Long time readers or any one interested in checking this title out will have no problem enjoying this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Five Ghosts #1

Mar 19, 2013

Where Frank J. Barbiere is weaving this story full of intrigue, suspense and fantasy, Chris Mooneyham is pacing the narrative perfectly well, with deep shadows, dark colours and intensely filled panels. The book has a very European feel to it as well. Barbiere & Mooneyham have created an amazing first issue in what is set to be a great series, a real love affair of work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Five Ghosts #2

Apr 16, 2013

This book has some culty and occulty goodness for you this week! If you are afraid of spiders read it with some one by your side!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Five Weapons #3

Apr 23, 2013

5 Weapons is an enjoyable series that I wish was an ongoing. Its that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Five Weapons #5

Jul 3, 2013

Jimmie Robinson has laid out a beautifully illustrated story that has more charm and wit than bite. Yes these are teen assassins but Robinson plays the wise guy angle, it's all very tongue in cheek. This is a comic, we know it, he knows it and the characters are fluid and given a fun life force. I still felt for the characters, especially the young decoy "Tyler". With this book coming to a close this issue is not for new readers. You can look forward to the collected edition soon and I hope enough of us buy this story to get another chapter to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Glory #32

Jan 29, 2013

Campbell is joined on art by Owne Gieni, Emi Lenox, Sloane Leong, Jed Dougherty and Greg Hinkle who each take a character and show us what they would do with what could possibly be their last moments of life. This a beautiful issue that oozes gorgeousness. Issue 34 is well written and the changing from artist to artist between characters adds depth of perspective into how these characters relate to their world. Amazing issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Glory #34

Apr 3, 2013

Joe, Ross. Thank you so very much for the story you have crafted. You made me laugh, cry and truly feel for these characters. Thank you for the journey you have taken us through and I equally dread and look forward to tomorrow's final issue. Cheers guys!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Great Pacific #4

Feb 5, 2013

All that aside, Martin Morazzo really hits his stride and the art is looking better than ever. The piles of trash on New Texas sometimes look like a alien landscape, other times you can pick out soda cans, wires, trash bags, aluminum siding and other refuse that the ocean can pick up. The art team brings the continent of New Texas to life, slimey, filthy life. Huge thanks to all involved!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Great Pacific #5

Mar 5, 2013

Martin Morazzo and Tiza Studio maintain the high quality I've come to expect from their collaboration. This issue is peppered with action and both Martin and the studio's work really rocks! One of my favorite panels is a wind blown, grime covered Chas with an "Oh Sh--" expression defined on his face.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hell Yeah #6

Jan 22, 2012

The art work has improved greatly. Tighter lines, better narrative and the panel to panel transitions are a smooth as silk. Better still this book is wall to wall comic! Aside from the main story line, Mail Yeah! and the Tiger Lawyer back-up this issue includes the first installment (out of three) of the story Burn Down the Cornfield. At a $3.50 cover price this is a bargain.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Hoax Hunters #7

Feb 12, 2013

The cast is stuck in a horror movie situation and they are well aware of it. This issue is jam packed with kidnapping, lies and betrayal!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Hoax Hunters #10

Sep 3, 2013

Michael and Steve have put the team on a new supernatural case that is off to a brutal start. With the new arc and art I'm really pulling for this arc to generate a strong solid story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Invincible #101

Mar 19, 2013

It doesn't matter if you've been reading Invincible for the last hundred issues or this is your first, Invincible #101 is a great for everyone to jump in and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
It Girl and The Atomics #7

Feb 19, 2013

After an issue #6 one shot, issue #7 starts off the The World is Flat story arc. It Girl has to resolve a kidnapping and things do not go well. Slip ups, mishaps and puns pepper this issue that already is full of delicious eye candy. Allen Passalaqua adds an amazing layer of fun, jazzy colors. Mike Norton's art is gorgeous as always and the story got a some solid laughs out of me. I can't wait to jump back in to this universe next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
It Girl and The Atomics #10

May 14, 2013

The book is a groovy fluid blend of fun and action. This issue is part one of two. A quick, easy way to see if this series is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lazarus #3

Aug 27, 2013

After three issues the team has not let up on the quality of this book. Themes of family and trust perpetuate this book along with the mystery of Forever, the Carlyle's Lazarus (Family protector/guardian). I'm hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lost Vegas #1

Mar 5, 2013

Overall this was a fun issue that all ready has me rooting against the house!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
MacGyver: Fugitive Gauntlet #4

Jan 29, 2013

I genuinely got a few laughs out of this issue and the plot was pretty straight forward, so not reading the first 3 issues did not leave me at a loss. Having David Zlotoff (one of the original creators of the show) on board as a writer is a big plus. The art team does a solid job of depicting all the crazy improvised (I'm trying to cut back on my use of "MacGyver'd") inventions. I have to say, I will be back next month to see how MacGyver gets out of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mara #3

Mar 5, 2013

Brian Wood continues to weaves a great tale using the star athlete archetype in it's futuristic setting. The breadcrumbs keep being dropped, sucking you in and leaving you wanting more even when the final page hits.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mind the Gap #9

Apr 3, 2013

Speaking of those who can't speak for themselves, this issue we have a special "Silent issue" that uses very little text. Additionally we have Dan McDaid, and series regular Rodin Esquejo on art. As usual this installment adds another layer to the mystery and the drama!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Morning Glories #24

Feb 12, 2013

Joe Eisma and Alex Sollazzo rock it! The expressions, the colors, the mood. I love it. The art team has really hit their stride 24 issues in. If Nick Spencer has his way and this series has 100+ issues I look forward to seeing the evolution in Joe's art. Apologies to Rodin Esquejo as the cover shown here to the side is not the final cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Morning Glories #26

May 14, 2013

Joe Eima's work is top notch. He's done hundreds of pages in the Morning Glories series and it is paying off. While I liked his work from the get go, put this issue side by side with issue #1 - #15 and you can see he just keeps getting better. The rest of the team is just as wonderful. Look at that glorious cover by Rodin Esquejo. Jump on board as this series ramps up for Season Two starting on issue #27!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Morning Glories #27

May 28, 2013

Buckle up because this issue is going to school you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Morning Glories #30

Aug 27, 2013

Joe Eisma and Nick Spencer are aces. Here's to 70 more issues!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Multiple Warheads: Alphabet to Infinity #4

Feb 5, 2013

This book is very polarizing. I haven't seen or heard of anyone mildly interested in it. It's either love or hate. I had my friends at the local shop read it and surprisingly they all loved it. These are mostly Marvel guys but some thing about Brandon Graham's style won them over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Peter Panzerfaust #10

Mar 13, 2013

This book has a buzz building around it and the one thing I hope for (besides all the boys making it out alive, damn you Wiebe!) is for the art team to finish the story how they see fit. Nothing ticks me off worse than having a story just stop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Peter Panzerfaust #11

Jun 12, 2013

This story is in steady hands with Kurtis. Each chapter brings forth a new character with a distinct voice. Not only do we get a new perspective we also see a different side of Peter, as each character sees him differently. Tyler's art has really progressed to a new level. The scenery (Morvan Mountains in the winter) looks gorgeous. The action scenes are quick and seamless. This arc is of to a tantalizing start!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prophet #35

May 7, 2013

Brandon Graham, Simon Roy, Giannis Milogiannis, Farel Dalrymple and many, many more creators involved in this book have created a generation-, star- and life-spanning epic. The rise and fall of species, empires and war mongers are all here for your reading pleasure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Prophet #39

Sep 12, 2013

An excellent issue by an excellent team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Prophet #40

Oct 30, 2013

Giannis Milonogiannis, Simon Roy, Matt Sheean and Malachi Ward share art duties flipping between different Johns' points of view. The vastness of space, the cram corridors of an alien space ship and dozens of alien beings. Gorgeous work from the entire team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Repossessed #3

Mar 5, 2013

Ringuet's art still astounds me by all the details he puts in his pages. Lots of bold inked lines, with amazingly rich colours that seems to bring everything to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Revival #6

Jan 22, 2013

Despite my complaints I want to make it clear: I stand behind Revival as one of the best drawn and written books Image or any other company is publishing. So grab a chair, dig in, and, if you love Revival, tell a friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Revival #10

May 21, 2012

The story has (now) completely vested and you can't forget the art. Mike is laying down some amazing lines. Whether drawing tight close ups in numerous types of locales (bars, barns or hospitals) or the vast expanses of rural Wisconsin Mike is a pro. He also has a knack of alternating between amazingly cute button noses to disgustingly eviscerated corpses. This is greatly (horribly) amplified by Mark Englert's wonderful (terrifying!) colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Revival #11

Jun 18, 2013

If you have been on the fence with this series this issue is a prime example of how great this team collaborates together. If you're all caught up get ready for some more light to be shed on our friend in the woods. Yeeeessssssssssss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Revival #12

Jul 17, 2013

It's fun to see Mike and Tim's characters through new styles. Skottie Young on the cover and Art on the interiors bring a fresh feel to the book and I hope to see every and all books with a bit of Art's style here and there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Saga #11

Mar 19, 2013

Saga is amazing as always and you should definitely be reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Saga #17

Dec 22, 2013

One thing I have to give caution to is that this issue isn't reader friendly at all, if someone tends to jump in on the first time they will be lost on what is going on. Granted, Image has done a hell of a job by making the tradepaper back edition very affordable thus making back issue diving less of a headache. Other than those gripes and personal takes on the series, I believe this series can pick up given the creative team behind it. However, patience can only go so far and hopefully the chess board will have less pieces and more moves made in the game. No offense to faithful readers but I can't get behind this issue fully.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Savage Dragon #185

Mar 5, 2013

"Savage Dragon" is always near the top of my reading pile each month and it deserves your attention. Check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Secret #3

Aug 27, 2013

This issue builds on the previous two but doesn't work well as a single, stand alone story. If you are just getting in to the series try to find the previous two, i'm sure comixology has them, or be lost in a myriad of questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sex #1

Mar 5, 2013

The problem I find with this book is the name. Yeah, "sex" sells, but calling a book "Sex" may get people's attention, but I really don't think it will help with the sales beyond the first issue. This book has strong writing and great art. Calling the book "Sex" gets the initial attention, but if there are people who refuse to buy it because of the name or the fear of what could be inside, like those still recovering from "Black Kiss II", the true enjoyment of this book will be ignored.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sheltered #5

Nov 19, 2013

Sheltered has catapulted to one of my favorite Image titles, I cannot wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Skullkickers #24

Aug 27, 2013

In the spirit of the previous Tavern Tales, Before Skullkickers is hilarious with precious plot nuggets sprinkled here and there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Snapshot #1

Feb 5, 2013

I put my trust in Jock and Diggle and they did not disappoint! Fair warning, this issue is a little slow but as a 4 issue mini you can already see the trajectory of the mayhem about to ensue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Son of Merlin #1

Feb 5, 2013

I felt this issue paced itself well and didn't bog me down with introductions of too many characters. Nice job Mr. Napton! The art provided by ZID (sounds like a wizard name to me!) is good with interesting designs for the magic effects. Overall the plot was easy to follow and I liked the theme and pacing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Son of Merlin #2

Mar 5, 2013

I felt this issue was paced quite well, mixing fast paced action with quieter moments involving Morgana. The mix of Modern elements with Magic is great: MAGIC BULLETS!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Super Dinosaur #20

Aug 27, 2013

Twenty issues in and I'm still excited and surprised when an established character shows a new side. With Kirkman I always question if the turns are well meant or a well laid layer of deception to be peeled away later. This may be a discussion better saved for Invincible or The Walking Dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Ten Grand #6

Dec 22, 2013

Add these problems with not being reader friendly even with the beginning recap that was attached. Overall, this series could have continued to be must read but somewhere along the creative process it lost its focus after the creative changes to the book and it may have affected my perspective after reading this issue. I cannot understand how a comic that was in my past reviews, stumbled this much and in my opinion, makes this particular issue not worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Dream Merchant #1

May 14, 2013

As a first issue this comic sets up the series nicely. We have our reluctant protagonist (hero? too soon to tell), we see his adversaries/pursuers and the issue DOES NOT end in a cliffhanger. Instead it leaves off with a set up into the next steps of Winslow's journey. Nathan and Konstantin both do a swell job in this issue but I can't get over the art. Lovely and haunting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The End Times of Bram and Ben #2

Feb 12, 2013

I love the flowy cartoony art that Rem is putting out and the puns, innuendos and quips are bountiful. I read this comic grinning ear to ear. This comic is not for the easily offended but enjoyable, not for mocking religion, but mocking the human condition of these mildly sinful slackers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The End Times of Bram and Ben #4

Apr 23, 2013

Rem Broo animates the HECK out of this comic and really brings it all to life with amazing action scenes, well captured facial expressions and really, really varied body types. There's this one constantly misspoken

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Legend of Luther Strode #5

May 14, 2013

Must Read OR DIE!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Legend of Luther Strode #6

Aug 7, 2013

This issue is not as definitive as the conclusion to the first series and very clearly leaves room for a third series. The other unadulterated joy contained in this issue is any and all expressions drawn by Tradd. He can draw the heck out of a panic stricken face.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Li'l Depressed Boy #16

Apr 16, 2013

I'm not sure if my connection is with LDB or with SSS, who is the real life counter part to LDB, nonetheless this comic hits home with every issue. Sina Grace demolishes the art in this issue. All wrapped up in a Chris Giarrusso cover, how can you resist?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Manhattan Projects #9

Feb 12, 2013

This issue deals with recovery and revenge! The American scientist are digging their fingers in deep and without mercy. Do not miss this or any issue of The Manhattan Projects!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Manhattan Projects #10

Mar 13, 2013

Solid team, solid book, amazing issue. I for one can't wait to get my own copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Manhattan Projects #11

Apr 23, 2013

It brings a tear to my eye to see these bonds of friendship grow. HOWEVER, this is Jonathan "Big Papa" Hickman we are dealing with. Is Fermi just setting up Dags (I'm calling him Dags from now on.) to use him? God, you are a sick man Jonathan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Manhattan Projects #12

Jun 12, 2013

Last month when issue 11 came out I was so happy about a reprieve Hickman gave us from the madness. This issue there is no mercy. Hickman digs the knife in deep, twists and smiles. The dynamics of the team are re explored and revisited through a new perspective. Sit tight loyal readers. It gets messy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Manhattan Projects #14

Sep 12, 2013

Hickman and Rus Wooton lay out some of my favorite dialog so far and Nick and Jordie Bellaire color up a fun and least gruesome issue so far!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Manhattan Projects #16

Nov 12, 2013

This issues has some solid laughs, gorgeous art and escalating violence. Pitarra and Bellaire really have seem to have increased their skill levels and I can't wait to sink my teeth into the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mice Templar IV: Legend #1

Apr 3, 2013

Buy this book if you love adventure, action, excitement and truly epic tales of wonder.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Saviors #1

Dec 24, 2013

Is it the next Walking Dead in terms of high quality storytelling or the next big thing in comics? Who knows? But it's certainly another fun title that while it's not going to change a reader's perspective on what makes creator owned books awesome, it will make what to check out more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Walking Dead #109

Apr 9, 2013

On it's own most if this issue is an interlude from the violence and gives us some insight on characters that haven't been in the limelight for a few issues. I hope the pacing doesn't throw off the singles readers and I'm sure in trade form this issue will whip right by because, guess what? Kirkman gives you another cliffhanger. KIIIIIRRRKMMMAAAAAAAAAAAAAN!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Walking Dead #110

May 7, 2013

If you are not reading Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard's survival story you are missing out on some of the best humanizing scenes in comics to date. The fears, the joys, the loss and the victories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Walking Dead #113

Aug 14, 2013

The very first page of this issue put me on the edge of my seat. Hats off to Charlie Adlard and Cliff Rathburn for the stellar work.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Thief of Thieves #12

Feb 19, 2013

When artist Shawn Martinbrough shines, he shines! The cover is amazing, but some panels are missing the polish that make the difference from good and great. The color work by Felix Serrano is good! When the art flags a little the colors hold it together. As a spectator I can only say I hope they find their rhythm and push forward to make a better comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Think Tank #5

Feb 5, 2013

These outlandish and fantastic ideas that amuse us are not simply plucked from his imagination. After every issue Matt includes a "Science Class" where he grounds his comic in a horrifying aspect of reality. I applaud his effort to educate us through the medium while simultaneous depleting my trust in Military Science Research. Thanks Matt!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Think Tank #7

May 14, 2013

Matt Hawkins and Rahsan Ekedal have cleverly crafted a story with cutting edge science. Sometimes the tech they cover (both in the story and the backmatter) is truly terrifying. I enjoy the information Matt adds in the back of the comic. I'm sure he is on a few government watch lists by now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Think Tank #9

Aug 27, 2013

This title has been a steady chess game between Loren and his military compound babysitters. This third arc has drastically changed the situation for Loren in a single issue. I cannot wait to see where the story goes!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Three #2

Nov 12, 2013

Personally I associate Rome, Greece, Sparta and Athens with a most romanticized version I conjure in my mind. Epics, Battles for freedom of the masses, Hercules, Minotaurs. Sights not real or embellished by time. Gillen's and Kelly's story is not one of honor or adventure. It is tale of survival. Fighting tooth and nail to see another day.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
TriggerGirl 6 #1

Mar 13, 2013

Jimmy Palmiotti and Justin Gray know their stuff. This comic is super fun, and I can totally see where it's going. It's an assassin. In Media Res. And... WAIT? WHAT? I did not just see that, did I?Best. Ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Where is Jake Ellis? #3

Mar 13, 2013

As with the previous mini series each issue is full of non-stop action and story. Every page full of intense detail, character/story development, and intrigue as you don't know what to expect next. This series is well on it's way to being one of the best mini-series of 2013.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Witchblade (1995) #164

Mar 5, 2013

"Witchblade" will always be on my list of books to read because the creative teams that have been on this series come in with their own strengths and build on what has come before and elevate the series to the next plateau. This issue is a good example of that push with the revelation from Jackie and I'm looking forward to seeing how this comes into play for this series in the coming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Zero #1

Sep 17, 2013

There a mysteries and questions strewn about every timeline of this story and I can only hope for answers.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More