Ian B's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 69
7.7Avg. Review Rating

5.0
Action Comics (2016) #957

Jun 8, 2016

Overall, this was an issue that I truly wanted to enjoy, however the focus on action and surprise reveals, mixed with odd artistic choices and a lack of time to acclimatize to a new status quo, that of Lex as Superman, detracted from the issue as a whole, and made it seem more like a preview for the Superman book itself. An unfortunate disappointment that, hopefully, is not telling of how the series will proceed forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Action Comics (2016) #958

Jun 22, 2016

Unlike the last issue, which I didn't actually like, this issue I kind of did. The action is good, it's nice to see an older villain return, watching Lex and Superman interact is entertaining, and the fight was relatively well done. Most of the problems lie in the odd actions of some of the side characters, some of which could be intentional, like what they're doing with Clark, but others just seemed odd. As a fan of the Man of Steel, I couldn't really recommend this unless it gets better, and hopefully it will do that quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2016) #959

Jul 13, 2016

Ultimately, however, the addition of a new artist is offset by the lack of forward progress to the story. While the fights themselves have been well done and entertaining, the complete stop in the story practically as soon as it begins has been getting tedious. Whats more, Lex, who supposedly is the major protagonist in this series, is almost superfluous so far, taking a back stage to the Superman who already has a book of his own. While this series has been in no way terrible up to this point, it is in desperate need of forward momentum, and the only way for that to happen is for this seemingly never-ending battle to end so that we may move on to more important, character related stories to better build up to future arcs.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #960

Jul 27, 2016

Ultimately, I enjoyed this issue a lot. It had good pacing, giving us a bit of a break between the constant fighting with Doomsday, as well as giving us some good character interaction between Wonder Woman, the New 52 Superman's love interest, and Lois, the original and current Superman's wife. It really hammers home the whole idea of Rebirth. Two characters who could have gone two ways, Wonder Woman angry about the loss of her Superman and having Lois shoved in her face, or Wonder Woman accepting Lois as someone that this new Superman cares for, sparking up a friendship reminiscent to the one before the New 52 Reboot. It would have been easy to go the first way for drama, but instead they go the second, once again returning some happiness and joy to the DC Universe. As long as they can keep this up, I have high hopes not only for this series, but for Rebirth in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2016) #961

Aug 10, 2016

While I ultimately enjoyed this issue by itself, the main issue with the arc so far has been Doomsday. While I actually do enjoy the character, the problem with him is that he lacks any real character. His motivations are simple and he has very little personality, leading to arcs where the rest of the cast needs to be even better than usual in their characterization to make up for the gap. Unfortunately, I don't believe that this has been happening as much as it needs to this arc, which leads us into a situation where, unfortunately, while the book may be quality, I am simply waiting for the arc to end so that we can get into something with a bit more meat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #962

Aug 24, 2016

As a conclusion to the Doomsday arc, this issue was satisfying. While the first few issues may have faltered, the arc really hit its stride with a good mixture of action and character moments. Despite my personal belief that the Doomsday fight overstayed it's welcome a few issues ago, I still enjoyed what these issues had to offer as a look into just who Superman is and how even the classic Superman has changed since his first encounter with the monster. Beyond the addition of a family dynamic, this Superman has shown an ability to learn from past mistakes, to take a more thoughtful approach to protecting the innocent, and as such I believe is the perfect person to represent hope for a new era.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Action Comics (2016) #963

Sep 14, 2016

Unfortunately, I thought that this issue was a bit of a disappointment. Clark acts a bit odd, which is probably justified as we still don't know what is going on with him, but therein lies the problem. It's been several issues so far, and yet we still know nothing about him, they haven't even really hinted at what is going on, doubling down on the narrative that this Clark Kent is the real Clark Kent, leaving me to wonder why they are trying to make me care so much about something that most readers will probably view as a weird, temporary arrangement. If we had gotten really any hint at an overall arc where this is going, it would be one thing (I have theories on what is going on, but as far as actual hints go, they're pretty much non-existent) but giving us basically nothing to work with was a mistake, and if this arc ends up being as long as the last one, could be a mistake that carries on for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Action Comics (2016) #965

Oct 12, 2016

Ultimately, while the issue wasn't a bad one, it was mostly just filler that could easily have been accomplished in just a couple pages rather than a full issue. While I do appreciate getting more of Lois, focusing on her and what she's doing as the boys are doing their own thing, it just seems silly to me that she takes this massive risk of pretending to be this universe's Lois, and everything turns out to be pointless because she realizes that her dream had Lois at home and not at work, making the entire issue just padding. While I'm interested in seeing Lois interacting more in this world, this is not the greatest start to her adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #966

Oct 26, 2016

Ultimately, I quite liked this issue, and in my opinion this has been a pretty big step up from the relatively disappointing previous few issues. While this issue has very little action, the small tension that it does have between Lois and Superwoman does a good job of breaking up the character moments of Clark and Jon, and eventually Clark and Lois, allowing both the time they need to breathe and flow naturally. The scenes of Clark teaching Jon how to use his powers and what it means to be a hero continue to be heartwarming, and Lois is finally truly coming into her own, albeit with the occasional and completely understandable need for help from time to time. Hopefully the series can keep the quality up and, although so far it's been a bit of a mixed bag, with great issues mixed in among disappointing ones. Luckily, this was definitely a highlight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #967

Nov 9, 2016

Ultimately, I quite enjoyed this issue and look forward to seeing this arc through. It was fairly obvious where they were going with the revelation about who the mysterious red caped despot of the future was, but it seems more like a means to an end than an actual mystery. With hints of Lex possibly returning to his roots as a supervillain, I am excited for what will come next and I have high hopes that they will pull off a satisfying story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Action Comics (2016) #968

Nov 23, 2016

Overall, this wasn't the best issue, being devoted mostly to a few fight scenes with antagonists that we are given very little to care about. While the issue wasn't bad, it really didn't stand out at all either, being generally pretty bland. I enjoyed the ending, even if it was a little cliche, but unfortunately that one moment of good was not enough to outweigh the rest of the book being just okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #1

Jun 22, 2016

Ultimately this issue is a lot of set-up for future stories, but done fairly well. I was interested in the new characters that they had introduced, I enjoyed learning a bit more about the Atlantean way of life, and we had some good moments between Aquaman and Mera. If the artwork had been better, I would have been very happy with this issue, but as it stands, this issue is simply a good story with a lot to build on surrounded by odd proportions and incomprehensible facial expressions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

Ultimately I quite liked this issue, it was full of good action, as well as good writing. It highlighted an aspect of Aquaman beyond just his role as a superhero, and focused more on his abilities to inspire and influence people, which are the attributes of a king. While it did much less to establish the people of Atlantis than the last issue, it did present a great representation of Aquaman to new fans and old fans alike. If future issues can continue to give us this confident, thinking hero, I believe that this will be a series to keep an eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #3

Jul 22, 2016

Ultimately this issue was fairly underwhelming. Several things are set up for future issues, but on its own, this issue does very little to prove itself as more than a stop gap between plot points. The bit of story that we get is good, and the art is serviceable, but it's hard to really recommend this issue other than to people who would have bought it for the ongoing story anyway. While not a bad issue, it certainly does not set itself out as anything other than moving some plot points along, and definitely won't win over any new readers. I had previously thought that the plot may have been moving slowly because of the focus on set up and fight scenes in the first two issues, but it seems like this may be an ongoing issue with the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #4

Aug 3, 2016

Ultimately this issue was okay, but not great. Seeing the tension playing out between Atlantis and the United States due to the actions of a rogue terrorist cell would be a more compelling story if people didn't make claims that were blatantly untrue. Maybe it will turn out that certain key people in the story are members of N.E.M.O. and were orchestrating things from behind the scenes, but for now it just seems like a poorly thought out plot point in an otherwise interesting plot. While I did enjoy it, I would hold off on suggesting it to new readers until we know more about how this arc plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aquaman (2016) #5

Aug 17, 2016

Ultimately, this issue was good, but also slightly disappointing. As much as I enjoy Aquaman showcasing just how powerful he really is, especially with Mera right there beside him, the issue itself just doesn't do enough to further the plot. Aquaman and Mera head for water, fighting the military along the way and... that's about it. The issue was fun and entertaining, I just wish it had had a bit more plot to justify its length. If you're looking for something to show you that Aquaman can hang with the heavy hitters, however, this is the issue for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2016) #6

Sep 7, 2016

Overall, I wasn't thrilled with this issue. While the issues being tackled during the fight could be compelling, they really just come across as Aquaman whining about things that we've heard before. I enjoyed seeing Arthur and Mera working together to take on a stronger opponent, both giving the other a chance to breathe as they fought, but the dynamic simply wasn't enough to offset the tone of Aquaman's complaints. Hopefully in the future, when this is inevitably brought up again, the argument has a bit more nuance, because otherwise it is getting old really fast.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #7

Sep 21, 2016

Ultimately, I enjoyed this issue even if it wasn't necessarily anything amazing. It was nice to get away from a lot of the constant action that was plaguing the title in the past few issues and getting back to what I personally am more interested in, a king trying to figure out the best course of action for not only his own kingdom, but the surface world that he also loves. It looks like some of this may be stripped away a bit in the next issue due to Black Manta, but I've enjoyed what I've read here and hope the future of the series contains much more politics to balance the super heroics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #8

Oct 5, 2016

Ultimately I thought that this issue was good, but not great. We get a mixture of action with Aquaman and some more information about Atlantis, it's culture and it's politics with Mera, giving enough material regardless of what your draw to the series is. I'm interested in where the series is going with the monster, being one that I am unfamiliar with, but I'm not sure about the idea that we may be missing Mera for a little while in the future while she learns of Atlantis. Hopefully her sections will be more interesting than they are presenting in this issue, but I do look forward to seeing where this whole situation goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #9

Oct 19, 2016

Ultimately, I enjoyed this quick diversion from the overall plot, and it did a good job of showcasing both Arthur's affection for his home on land, as well as his character flaws that make him an interesting hero. Arthur's arrogance was what almost lost them the fight, and it was him swallowing his pride, while still maintaining his dignity that eventually won. Aquaman is an interesting character because he does walk that thin line between land and sea, king and hero, and the best stories explore that dynamic. This story, while relatively simple, explores that and is, in my opinion, the better for it. I look forward to getting back to Black Manta, and hope some of that nuance that seemed to be lost in the first couple issues continues to reassert itself in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2016) #10

Nov 3, 2016

Ultimately, this issue was fairly mediocre, not great but not terrible either, just bland. An improvement in the artwork would help, but ultimately the problem was simply that, for the most part, nothing happened except for an obvious red herring revelation at the beginning and a character learning something that the reader has known for several issues, seemingly just to push the story along. While I appreciate a greater focus on Mera this issue, and I sincerely hope that there are many more Mera-centric issues in the future, this one was not a great start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #12

Dec 7, 2016

Ultimately, I enjoyed this issue, despite the fact that Aquaman is more or less relegated to the background. This was an issue of mostly set up and consequences, where we got to see Aquaman at his most reactionary, attempting to get the situation under control as it obviously spiralled into chaos around him. This issue focused significantly more on him as a king, making decisions in a war room, rather than as a hero, and it was a welcome change of pace. I eagely await the resolution to this arc, and I expect great things from it and the stories after.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aquaman: Rebirth #1

Jun 8, 2016

Ultimately, Aquaman Rebirth has left me unfortunately underwhelmed in an issue that I was very much looking forward to. There is nothing aggressively bad about the issue, it's just one major exposition dump for new readers that feels like it lacks a lot of the heart that the series usually has. It does, however, set up the story for future issues well, and gives us a better view into the mind of a classic Aquaman character, the one ultimately narrating the book. I look forward to where the series itself will go from here, and believe that the problems of this issue are likely a one-time thing, making me confident that the series itself will definitely be worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cryptocracy #1

Jun 29, 2016

Ultimately I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would. It does a great job of setting up the premise, shows you what the future conflicts are likely to be, and introduces you to several interesting characters. One of the most important things that this book does, in my opinion, is that it portrays the “evil families running the world” as something more than just moustache twirling villains. It is still unclear exactly what their motives are, but clearly these people aren't pure evil as these types of organizations are normally portrayed. They prevent the possible destruction of the world, and they regret unnecessary loss of life. The implication is that they are evil for the greater good, and it will be interesting to see how future issues play with this idea and further humanize them while also humanizing those fighting against them. A fairly solid start, and I'm interested to see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cryptocracy #3

Aug 31, 2016

Ultimately, I'm still enjoying this series. While it may not be a must-read, it consistently keeps my attention and trickles out enough tidbits of information, along with new questions, to keep me guessing. The relationship between the characters is becoming more obvious, with the friendship between Grahame and Jason being a high point. I find myself being unsure who I want to root for, the internet conspiracy theorist who is simultaneously a bit annoying but trying to expose the truth, or the shadowy organization that is keeping information in the shadows, but has likable characters and is possibly acting in humanity’s best interest. Only time will tell how this will all shake out in the end, but I'm very interested to see how it does.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2015) #8

Jun 8, 2016

All-in-all, Daredevil #8 is a terrific issue, and sets up a very interesting premise for this arc. With interesting uses of his powers, as well as showcasing Matt's intelligence, Daredevil continues to be one of my most anticipated books every week that it comes out, and it doesn't seem like that will change any time soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #9

Jul 13, 2016

Ultimately, I enjoyed this issue. It was a slightly silly romp with Daredevil showing his lighter side, something Daredevil rarely does, while paling around with a fellow superhero. The ending felt slightly off, and we still haven't gotten a real explanation for why everyone has suddenly forgotten that Matt Murdock is Daredevil, but the explanation seems less important than the stories that they are telling surrounding it, such as Matt's return to law and his ability to go under cover as a gambler, rather than having a highly recognizable face. With a return to New York and a focus on gang leaders and street level villains hinted at by the end of this issue, I expect that Daredevil will continue to be one of the most solid quality books going at Marvel for at least the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

Ultimately, I enjoyed this issue, although not quite as much as the Rebirth special. It is a great return to form for the character, and it easily sets up for an ongoing story that could potentially last for quite a while. The only real negative that I felt with this issue was the ending cliffhanger that seems to want to eliminate some of what happened during the New 52 series, things that I actually quite liked, but as with any cliffhanger in a comic, we will have to wait and see what comes out of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #4

Aug 3, 2016

Overall I enjoyed this issue. The story is progressing towards its logical conclusion, and while there are still many questions left to answer, I am sure that at least most of them will get a satisfactory ending. The only worry that I have is Emiko, a character that I quite liked back in the new 52 who is currently on the side of the Ninth Circle. Hopefully this will change by the end of the arc, however, as it would be a waste to simply dispose of a character so tied in with the current history of Oliver Queen. I would highly recommend this series to anyone even casually interested in Green Arrow, as well as fans of fantastic artwork in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #6

Sep 7, 2016

I really enjoyed this issue, even if id did feel a little weaker than some of the previous issues. The artwork remained solid during the artists change, and the story filled in gaps from the previous issues that needed filling in. While I eagerly await the continuation of Ollie's story, I'm more than happy to have a little time dedicated to Emiko to flesh out her character even more and get a good view of her away from Ollie, having to rely on her own intelligence and skills to get by with no safety net.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
James Bond: Hammerhead #1

Oct 12, 2016

I took a chance on this comic, going in relatively blind, with only my experiences with the movies to guide me, and I was very pleasantly surprised. Bond acts as you would expect Bond to act, the action flows naturally and the story naturally allows itself to breathe while setting up further action for the future. With a solid set-up, interesting and classic characters, as well as just the right amount of intrigue, I eagerly await future issues of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Klaus #6

Jun 15, 2016

Overall this issue was yet another amazing issue for this series, the artwork in particular being a huge selling point. Every image in this book is stunning, and with a plot that supports the amazing artwork and allows for readers of any age, I could easily see this series being a staple for years to come of how to do a seasonal comic book right. I can not recommend this series more highly, and even though it may be summer, this is a book that everyone should be reading to get into the Christmas spirit all year round.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Klaus #7

Aug 17, 2016

Klaus is quite simply a joy to read. Every issue delivers on a simple yet epic story combined with gorgeous artwork, and while I'm a bit sad to see it go, I could easily see it being incorporated into a holiday tradition to read it every year. I would honestly recommend this book to anyone even the least bit interested in the premise, or simply want to pick up something festive to get themselves in the holiday spirit. Any praise that I give this series I don't believe could be enough, and it's something that I think people will be really missing out on if they pass it by.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #4

Jun 22, 2016

Ultimately, this issue was good, but not to the same level as the previous issues. This one felt more like a bridge between two real issues, seeing the plot with the fake Dragon Dagger be resolved without really moving forward the overarching conflict between Tommy and the Rangers, which is already getting a bit stale. It would be in the series best interest to put that plot behind them relatively soon so that they can move on to bigger and better things.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #5

Jul 22, 2016

This is the story that fans deserve, and as long as Boom and the creative staff continues to respect the fans and deliver amazing issue after amazing issue, every fan should continue to support the series. I could not recommend this series any higher to anyone even casually interested.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #7

Sep 21, 2016

Ultimately, I really enjoyed this issue. It presented a perspective that we rarely see, that of Billy being taken away from the team and the effect that that has at a time when he is needed most. It also showed the Rangers acting outside of their element, having to formulate plans and try their best to figure things out without the crutch of their powers and Zords. Rather than simply relying on the old system of presenting the Rangers with a monster that is too powerful for them to beat until the end of the episode, as was common for the show, they are instead presented with a monster that, while powerful, is much more dangerous because of his knowledge of the Morphin grid and his ability to strip that from them, presenting them with new challenges that I look forward to seeing them struggle to overcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #9

Nov 30, 2016

As a bit of an ending to what was essentially the first major arc of the book, ignoring the previous arc of mostly set up, I thought that this issue delivered in several ways. It’s good to see Billy playing to his strengths of intelligence and critical thinking, all the buildup to the main confrontation with what ends up being the Black Dragon’s shell pays off as the Rangers are forced to use their brains instead of their powers, and it was nice to see the two Rangers who currently are without powers be the ones to really make a difference. I’ve been really enjoying the series so far, and this issue is no exception. From what we saw at the end of this issue, it looks like what is yet to come is just as exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers Annual #1

Aug 24, 2016

Overall, this issue was a bit of a mixed bag. While I thoroughly enjoyed some of the stories, I really didn't care for others, which is unfortunately common in anthologies like this. Ultimately, however, I think this was a good issue, and the good outweighs the bad. While not necessary to the overall plot of the current series, this issue is still worth checking out if, like me, you're just eager for more Power Rangers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers: Pink #1

Jun 3, 2016

Despite my reservations going into the mini series, Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: Pink #1 far exceeded my expectations. Despite a week of very important issues coming out with the first few Rebirth issues, may have been the most enjoyable book I read. I would easily recommend this book to any fans of the original television series, anyone reading Boom Studio's Mighty Morphin Power Rangers series, or even anyone looking for a great new series with a strong female protagonist.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers: Pink #2

Jul 27, 2016

Ultimately I really liked this issue. Most of the issue was dedicated to re-introducing Trini and Zack, who, as a fan of the original series, were a welcome addition. Bringing together three less developed characters as well as showing what the teens get up to when they have grown up is an interesting way to go, and focusing on a villain that is acting on his own for the first time rather than following orders just builds further intrigue. While perhaps not as great a jumping on point for non-fans as the main series do to the references and call backs to the show, Power Rangers Pink none-the-less continues to create a very entertaining follow-up to the show that any fan would enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers: Pink #3

Sep 14, 2016

Ultimately, despite this being an issue that was mostly dedicated to getting certain people to certain places for the continuation of the actual story in the next issue, it was still enjoyable. The character moments were great, the Rangers solutions to problems without their powers, while maybe a bit too convenient, were interesting to see as they had to use their intelligence more than usual, and seeing dissent in the monsters ranks is usually results in some at least slightly interesting interactions. Maybe not the best issue of the series so far, but still worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers: Pink #4

Oct 19, 2016

Ultimately this issue was probably my least favourite of both Power Rangers series. The story seems a bit sporadic while also not really going anywhere, things just seem to happen with no real reason, and overall I just don't think that it was written with the same quality as the rest of the series has been. I look forward to seeing how the series ends, and I'm pretty sure the quality will shoot back up for the ending, but this issue really wasn't what I was looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Motro #1

Nov 2, 2016

In creating an odd and unique world, where childhood fancy mixes with the harsh reality of the real world and the even harsher fantasy of an apparent dystopian world, Motro sets itself apart from most other books. While it may not be for everyone, the quality of the storytelling is such that I can easily see this book becoming a favourite of many, and I very much look forward to how it will will turn out and how the story will be structured across multiple issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Superman #1

Jul 13, 2016

Ultimately, I really enjoyed New Super-Man, I think the series has a lot of potential going forward. Kenan is, if not likable quite yet, then easy to empathize with when you begin to learn more about his past, and wishes to be a better person than he is. If the story follows his path of becoming the superhero he can be and leaving the past behind him, I think this could be a very enjoyable journey. Ultimately it's still too early to say definitively one way or the other as to how this series will turn out, but my expectations and anticipation have both been raised by the quality of this first issue and I would recommend it to anyone looking for something a little different.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Superman #2

Aug 11, 2016

Overall, I enjoyed this issue quite a bit. We saw another example of why Kenan does the good things that he does without losing the basis of the character as a bit of an arrogant narcissist with a good heart. As we go deeper into the Ministry of Self Reliance, I find myself becoming more and more curious about where the series will lead, with things like the compliance device giving the organization a bit of a more sinister feel, but the creation of a Justice League to do good muddying the waters. Time will tell if this series makes good on all the promise that it shows, but I'm very excited to see how it does.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Superman #3

Sep 14, 2016

Ultimately, this may have been one of my favourite issues so far and the main reason for that is the extra time that was devoted to the League members while outside of their League persona. This scene was sorely needed and gave us a better look at the other League members personalities, also giving Kenan a chance to grow as well. While I'm fairly sure I already know who The Freedom Fighters of China will turn out to be, I continue to be interested in the series and would recommend it to anyone looking for something both a little different and a little familiar at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Superman #4

Oct 12, 2016

I remain a fan of this series, although at this point I would very much like to see some real character growth start to happen with Kenan, who seems to take two steps forward and one step back at all times. Hopefully with the General revelation we can begin to really reveal what the main ongoing plot of this series will be and start to strip away the outer layers of Kenan's personality, finally being left with the hero that he clearly has inside of him deep down.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Superman #5

Nov 9, 2016

Ultimately, this issue was a bit of a disappointment because of the amount of potential that it had and did basically nothing with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Romulus #1

Oct 5, 2016

Ultimately, while this series doesn't seem like it would be for me, it's clear that the quality is there for it to be for someone else. Most of my issues with the book were minor concerns that can easily be fixed with a little better fleshing out of characters in future issues and a little more concern for making scenes look cool without making them look absurd. If you're in the mood for something new, and are a fan of martial arts style action with a hint at some greater conspiracy looming in the background, go ahead and try it, it's easily something that I could see a lot of people enjoying.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

Overall, I loved this issue and a large part of that love comes from the family dynamic. At one point, Lois describes their relationship with Jon as being “the best of both worlds”, Clark there to show Jon his powers and teach him to use them responsibly, and Lois there to instill in him the love and respect for the human race that Clark's parents instilled in him. This is a series with a lot of heart, and if they can keep that heart going forward, we may have something very special on our hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #3

Jul 22, 2016

Ultimately, I enjoyed this issue. While it wasn't the most interesting or action packed issue, it was an entertaining stop-gap, and if Eradicators plan succeeds could have lasting implications for Jon. It will be nice to finally get some answers about what is going on and why Jon's powers seem so inconsistent, and I believe we will have some of these answers in the coming issues. It was a fun read, and I'm looking forward to future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #4

Aug 3, 2016

Overall, I enjoyed this issue. It was nice to once again see Jon step up and fight alongside his father, as well as see other characters step up and create little touching moments that serve to add to the overall feel of the book, if not the plot itself. While this issue didn't do a lot in terms of resolving the current conflict, it had enough of these moments of character growth, as well as some plot revelations, to make itself an enjoyable read. While perhaps not the best issue of Superman since Rebirth, this issue is more than capable of standing alongside the rest of the issues of this series, and I continue to recommend this to anyone who has even a passing interest in Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #5

Aug 17, 2016

Ultimately I enjoyed this issue mostly for the brief absence of Superman. Lois and Jon needing to fend for themselves for a brief time from a Superman level threat is exciting and harrowing, even if bringing them to the moon in the first place doesn't really seem to make the most sense. With this arc likely ending in the next issue, I can say that I've really been enjoying the family dynamic of the book and I hope that they have a couple of slower, monster of the day type issues between this and the next arc to dig into the family aspect a little deeper.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #6

Sep 7, 2016

Ultimately, I felt that this issue was an amazing cap to the Eradicator storyline, mixing family drama, Jon coming into his own, and the triumphant return of a classic Superman. While the issue may not be perfect, the moments that shine in it shine so brightly with hope for the future of the series that all of the critiques seem to just fade away. I remain excited for what the future holds, and hope that it can maintain this level of quality as it moves forward into its second arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #7

Sep 21, 2016

Up until now I have thoroughly enjoyed the Superman title, and a lot of that has to do with the compelling characters. This issue is by far my favourite that has come out since Rebirth, and the rason for that is that it strips away all of the superfluous stuff just for a moment and allows these characters to breathe, enjoying a relatively normal day as a family. While I do love the bombastic action involved with the Superman character, it's issues like this, that really highlight his humanity and qualities outside of his power set, that make me read his series and turned him into one of my favourite heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2016) #8

Oct 5, 2016

Ultimately, I enjoyed this issue, but it was a pretty stock beginning of an arc issue, and certainly pales in comparison to the previous one. I'm interested in seeing why the soldiers were on this island, and seeing how Superman and son get off themselves, assuming this island isn't on our world or our time period. It just seems like an odd choice to me to drop one third of the family dynamic for the second arc, considering that this is what the book is pushing, but I am looking forward to seeing some father son bonding.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #9

Oct 19, 2016

Ultimately, I enjoyed this issue even if this story arc ultimately didn't feel particularly necessary. While it did have small hints at further revelations in the future, it is nice to sometimes just take a couple of issues off of the overall narrative and just have comic book style goofy adventures, which is what this arc essentially delivered, albeit along with some more serious drama included as Jon wonders if they will be able to get home and Storm mourns his dead companions. I look forward to seeing the overall story of Superman slowly come into focus, but for now it is nice to have these hints spread out among stories that are both fun and a little silly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

Ultimately, I did enjoy this issue, even if some of the plot seemed a bit contrived and some of the characters seemed to act a little odd. It's interesting to see Damien and Jon interact for the first time, both of them not only being from different circumstances of life but also having such opposing personalities. Until now all we had was their father's relationship to go on, but both sons are distinct enough from their fathers to create a unique and interesting new dynamic for future issues as well as their own series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #11

Nov 16, 2016

Overall, I thought that this was an enjoyable issue. Even though it may be a story arc used all the time, Jon and Damien learning to put their differences behind them and work as a team against the trials set by their fathers was an interesting spin on the concept, and although not extremely original, was executed very well. While I never had much interest in Super Sons until now, I look forward to seeing what they offer us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Bounty #1

Jul 5, 2016

Overall, I wasn't a huge fan of this book. Simply put, it was not for me, which is a sentiment that I believe many people may share with this one in particular. If you are the target audience, however, I think you would find an enjoyable, lively book that has a decent set up. The characters still require development, and the art can be odd at times, but if you see the cover and think that this one looks interesting, you will likely enjoy what is inside, because in art and tone it is simply more of the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #1

Jul 27, 2016

All and all, I thought that this was a good issue, but was a little disappointed because the issue that it followed was even better. Not a lot happened, the front was loaded with some good scenes from the Rebirth special as well as Flash Rebirth to get new readers up to speed, and it didn't really have the same touching, heartfelt moments like the Rebirth issue did. While I'm interested in seeing where the story goes from here, I hope that future issues can bring back some of the magic that the Rebirth issue had, dealing with the Titans relationships and showing them to be more than a simple super hero team, and more of a family.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #2

Aug 25, 2016

All in all, I enjoyed the issue. It did a good job of reintroducing an older Titans villain, it had good action and we got to see how some of the team has grown and matured since their “sidekick” days, doing a good ob of proving their worth to new readers. As a threat, Kadabra is presented in a way that makes it obvious that the Titan would need to work together to take him down, and as such makes for a good first villain for the team, showing their strengths and their ability to work in a team format. While I enjoyed the previous issue for its focus on establishing characters and relationships, it was time for a bit more action and this issue delivered.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans (2016) #4

Oct 26, 2016

Overall, I thought the issue was good, but it certainly had several flaws, namely in the artwork and focus on Kadabra constantly spouting nothing but exposition at Linda. Additionally, Linda herself barely even matters to the story, contributing absolutely nothing to the overall plot other than giving someone for Kadabra to monologue at. The plot for Wally's defeat was set up with the other Titans as the pawns, so having Linda there as well, especially when she barely says a word the entire issue, just seems like overdoing it. Ultimately, while I did enjoy the issue for what it was, I really hope that future issues tighten up the storytelling and artwork a bit, because there's a lot of good here, but it's unfortunately covered by several missteps.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans: Rebirth #1

Jun 15, 2016

Overall, Titans Rebirth has probably been my favourite of the Rebirth titles so far, with a lot of emotion, decent character introductions, and a good set-up for where the book is going. The implication from this issue is that it will be very important going forward for the ongoing story of Rebirth, and if the quality remains this high for the series, it will be easy to keep up with.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Torchwood #1

Aug 9, 2016

I wanted to like this book, I really did, but the quality simply isn't here to enjoy basically any part of this. At it's best, Torchwood was a character driven series with darker tones and more freedom in how they could use their characters than Doctor Who. While I understand that they could not use the same characters from the show, they don't do a good enough job at introducing us to this new cast to make me care about any of them. Compounding the problem is the fact that there is also no discernible plot to hook us, as well as poor art, meaning it's not even great to look at. If you're a fan of Torchwood, I highly suggest you avoid this book, there's nothing in it for you. If you're not a fan, you probably would avoid this anyway, which, unfortunately, is the smart move.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Vision #8

Jun 9, 2016

The Vision has consistently been a joy to read, and that is in no small part due to Tom King's writing, which flows very naturally and always presents a sense of impending dread. Frequently in the series he will tell you the final fate of a character well before hand, but the enjoyment of the series comes from how these characters will reach this inevitable end, not simply what this end is. This series asks its readers to look deeper into the ongoing story, and leaves them consistently excited for the next instalment. I would easily recommend this series to not just fans of comics, but fans of literature in general, I promise you will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vision #10

Aug 11, 2016

Tom King continues to deliver one of the best comics currently on the stand, mixing questions of morality with questions of mortality and even questions of faith. Were this just a regular family dealing with loss it would still be a great comic, but adding the fact that they are synthetic lifeforms looking for their place in the world on top of it adds an entirely new layer to the storytelling that makes every page both a joy and a heart breaking moment. I continue to recommend this book to anyone who is not only a fan of comics, but a fan of quality literature in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Weird Detective #1

Jun 14, 2016

Ultimately I remain unsure of exactly how I felt about this issue. All of the pieces are there for a very interesting and psychologically thrilling story, and I'm definitely on board to see where this goes, but I doubt that this issue would do a lot to win over a reader that wasn't as interested in its Lovecraftian roots. For those of us that are more familiar with the lore, however, I anticipate if nothing else an interesting ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
World of Tanks #1

Aug 31, 2016

Ultimately, I went into this issue not expecting a whole lot, and I came out feeling like I had gotten roughly what I expected. While it may pick up in future issues, this issue just doesn't do enough to suck you in and justify you buying those future issues. If you're a fan of Ennis, maybe you could get some enjoyment out of the series, as it's not awful, just dull. I don't recommend it, however.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More