Jeff Ayers's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Fanboys Inc, Comic Book Herald, Comics Bulletin Reviews: 140
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
A-Force #1

May 20, 2015

A good start, but it really needs to pick up and have heart to be a worthwhile book that can last after this mega event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A-Force #1

May 20, 2015

A good start, but it really needs to pick up and have heart to be a worthwhile book that can last after this mega event.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aether & Empire #1

Mar 17, 2016

A riveting inaugural issue, Aether and Empire #1 introduces readers to a time much like our own nineteenth century, but with the addition of fantastical flying ships. The action, suspense and mystery are all served up in equal parts making this an instant treasure for your comic collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Aether & Empire #2

May 23, 2016

Blue Juice Comics knows how to put a great creative team together, and publish some truly fascinating stories. Aether and Empire is quickly becoming another powerhouse in their growing arsenal, and in just two short issues Mike Horan, Bong Ty Dazo and Tim Yates have crafted a compelling story that can barely be contained on the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Captain America #1

Nov 13, 2014

Better than I thought it would be, but still kinda knew what was coming. Interested enough to pick up the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New Wolverine #1

Nov 27, 2015

I honestly didn't go into this book expecting much, and hoping that at least I would like the character once I read it. Not only does X-23 come off as likable, and a hero you can root for, there is just enough classic Wolverine on the page to make in the most dedicated fans want to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
All-New Wolverine #2

Nov 27, 2015

I still like the action when it happens in this series, but All-New Wolverine has some big shoes to fill in terms of pacing and story. Granted, the last volume of regular Wolverine had a lot of problems, and hopefully this series will find its footing sooner than later.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New Wolverine #3

Jan 2, 2016

I really want to like this book more than I have, and I believe it is still getting its footing as a new story. While X-23 is the obvious choice to take over the mantle of Wolverine, it begs the question: does anyone need to?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New Wolverine #4

Jan 19, 2016

A good conversation between Wolverine and Doctor Strange addressing the fact that X-23 is the new Wolverine was not enough to really pull an otherwise lackluster story out of its recent doldrums. Also, a Wolverine book without a single "Snikt" should be a cardinal sin.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
All-New Wolverine #5

Feb 11, 2016

A weak, over-reaching storyline really misses the emotional beats it is trying to convey. The clones aren't likable yet, and this new Wolverine isn't that believable in this new Marvel Universe. At least The Wasp was a welcomed addition to this otherwise lack luster issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #4

Jul 24, 2014

This is not an issue to jump into the Amazing Spider-Man line with. If you haven't read any of the three previous books in this volume, or read any of the Original Sin line, or read or aware of the events the Peter/Doc Ock brain swap, this issue can be really confusing (Ed: Not to mention early 2000's AMS from J. Michael Straczynski & John Romita Jr ~ Deep Dive Dave). This isn't necessarily a knock against the events in this comic, but it is a viable concern to readers that might want to jump into this book. Amazing Spider-Man, in my opinion, has been really good ever since Peter came back, (and most of Superior was good too), so I would recommend finding issues 1-3 before delving into this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #5

Aug 15, 2014

I am still not sold on this new spider-girl-person, Cindy Moon. I know it's a shake up, and it is meant to tie into the larger picture of Original Sin, but I feel it might be a forced plot point. Peter has some fun with her, in more ways than one this issue, but I am afraid this might be a character that will fall flat as the story pans out. But only time will tell, and I have to try and quell my worry and trust in the work of Dan Slott.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #6

Sep 11, 2014

Jonah Jameson is up to his old tricks. I know I just said a lot of the story feels familiar, but there is a fine line between that and lazy. I feel J. Jonah Sure Peter has his own company now and has just found another spider-powered person in Silk, and Black Cat is after his blood, but it all feels familiar. Peter's life is never easy, and with great power always comes great responsibility. This all makes for a fun comic to read, with not too much 'weight' being dealt from the rest of the universe. Also, great action sequences abound in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2012) #34

Aug 29, 2014

Not much of a jab at the book itself, but this is NOT an issue to just pick up off the shelf. A ton of backstory has happened, and even though there is the obligatory recap page at the beginning, this issue is the culmination of a lot of storytelling. I have been enjoying AVENGERS as of late, as well as NEW AVENGERS and UNCANNY AVENGERS. All of these titles have been building this bigger storyline, which is leading towards the new event, AXIS. So if you haven't been up to date on Avengers stories thus far, I definitely recommend buying some issues prior to this one as well, or at the very least getting the story synopsis from the internet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers (2012) #35

Sep 20, 2014

As much as I am invested in this story ( I collect Avengers, New Avengers, Uncanny Avengers and Avengers World) I am having a tough time keeping up with what is going on. That is coming from someone who is collecting four major Avengers titles as well as specific character books, some of which touch on these events as well. I am very curious to see where this will all go, but it feels more and more that this story will only make sense when it is in the rearview, and we can buy a trade and read it over a few times.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Axis: Hobgoblin #1

Oct 24, 2014

The art is not stunning at all, and the story is really lackluster. Also, the Hobgoblin's new catchphrase, "Got a Problem? Call Hobgoblin?" is really trite and annoying, which I guess is the point? He also has a book that is part of his program, called "Hobnobbin'", with a foreword by Gene Simmons, which all of those words together make me squirm a little.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Captain America (2012) #25

Oct 2, 2014

I am going to say it again, the cover was lazy. Also, some of the jokes made by the Avengers during their big meeting, I know were to show levity in the situation, were really trite. Many characters only got face time, and seemed to not be needed there at all. Like, Black Panther was there, and has a long history with both Steve and Sam, yet was featured in the side of a panel, and no lines were uttered. Waste of a good character, in my mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Civil War (2015) #1

Jul 9, 2015

I really enjoyed reading this, and the art by Yu was just so good as usual. Revisiting these characters, and seeing them dealing with an "unending" civil war, rather than the w=one we read in 2006-207, is very neat. But the omission of the larger picture, and no references to Doom or anything else tied to Secret Wars left more questions than I wanted from this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Convergence #0

Apr 9, 2015

Not much happening, other than the Supes/Brainiac reveal, and the back pages laying out the different worlds is really helpful.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Convergence #1

Apr 9, 2015

I am giving the benefit of the doubt to this book because it needs to explain so much, but it seems to have already tripped up on exposition before it even gets out of the gate.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Convergence #2

Apr 15, 2015

Father Bats and Son Bats meeting was cool, but leaving the actual conversation out was a dumb play. The confusion just outweighs the scope of the story, yet again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Convergence #3

Apr 22, 2015

Hopefully, with the midway point happening next issue, the story will pick up a little bit more. Action is exciting, but it can't save the day. At this point it begs the question: can anything save this series?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Convergence #4

Apr 29, 2015

Finally, it feels like the story is on it's way. Thanks to some character development and story twists and turns, the story begins to feel likea fight for survival among the players involved. With only four issues left, I hope this upward momentum continues and Convergenceends on a high mark.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Convergence #5

May 7, 2015

High marks for the art and the action sequences, but the character development, or lack there of, feels forced and unearned on the page. Three more issues to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Convergence #5

May 7, 2015

High marks for the art and the action sequences, but the character development, or lack there of, feels forced and unearned on the page. Three more issues to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Convergence #6

May 14, 2015

A better paced story with some interesting character additions help elevate "Convergence #6"above some of the previous issues. But the multitude of artists, some credited and some not, creating work that isn't consistent tear the reader away from the action on the page. With the penultimate issue up next, is there any hope left for Convergence to turn it around?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Convergence #7

May 22, 2015

It's a lot of fun seeing all these characters on the same pages together. But still, the same boring premise bogs down the whole Convergence event. The last issue comes out next week and we can all put this behind us.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Convergence #8

May 28, 2015

Too many times in this series were actions talked about, and not shown on the page, which added to the weak premise and storyline on the whole. Hopefully, with a happy ending for the characters involved, DC will strike out new ground from here and craft some compelling stories again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death Of Wolverine #1

Sep 3, 2014

Not going to lie, this first issue hooked me, and I can't wait for issue two, next week!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death Of Wolverine #2

Sep 10, 2014

Speaking for myself, I am sure the writing is solid in the next book as well, and the fourth and final issue will be the real culprit as to how well this mini series holds up

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death Of Wolverine #3

Oct 2, 2014

For anyone that is familiar with the history that Kitty, Wolverine and Ogun have, I felt that this was rushed. I would have like to have seen Ogun appear earlier in this mini series, to give him more panel time, and more interaction with Wolverine. I like the way it was handles, I just wanted more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death Of Wolverine #4

Oct 15, 2014

All the new questions!!!! We have The Logan Legacy, Death of Wolverine Weapon X, and a new line called Wolverines to keep us guessing and reading books. But who were the three people being experimented on? Will they survive? Will we see more of them? Who will fill the void of Wolverine in the comics? Will there be some miniscule clue that we all miss, but will be the lynchpin when he finally makes his triumphant return in the years to come? Whatever the case, this is why I read comics, to love and hate them and to grow with the stories and characters that are held within the pages. Onward to the next adventure, Excelsior!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Death of Wolverine: Deadpool & Captain America #1

Oct 30, 2014

On the whole, this is a throw away story. It's fun, but you almost get the feeling a few times it might not even be happening, because Captain America especially seems really out of character. Is this all just a psychotic episode that Deadpool is happening? Again, we may never know the true answer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death of Wolverine: Life After Logan #1

Nov 7, 2014

As nice as it was to see these three stories unfold, I worry that Marvel plans to drag on and on about this death. I have read all the tie ins, and all the stories in other series concerning characters dealing with the loss of Logan. As much as I do enjoy them, it is time to let it go. Move on. Let the healing process happen, and let's all forget about Wolverine just for a little bit, long enough for the seeds of his inevitable return to be sewn.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Death of Wolverine: Logans Legacy #2

Oct 24, 2014

The story seems force-fed and a little all over the place. The one question that wasn't addressed is how Laura was kidnapped and brought to the holding cell in issue #1. Maybe we will be seeing that later on, but I am starting to wonder if Marvel is still trying to just sell books affiliated with the Death of Wolverine, and not really sell books with great stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Death of Wolverine: Logans Legacy #3

Oct 30, 2014

I still don't like the whole Logan Legacy run, but even if this is the only good book in the seven part series (and I feel that is a good bet), I will still be very happy that this issue came to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Death of Wolverine: Logans Legacy #4

Nov 13, 2014

First of all, the story is flat and bland in all the wrong places. The "honor" she receives and the action she dishes out are both dull. Also, she is retrieving the Honor Sword of Yashida Clan, which I am pretty sure that Nightcrawler and Colossus returned to Mariko's grave in Life After Logan. Maybe I'm wrong, but it seems a little convoluted from that point.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Death of Wolverine: The Weapon X Program #1

Nov 7, 2014

Are any of the survivors one or all of the three that Wolverine shot with the artificial healing factor vials as he was dying? What will happen to Wolverine's body now? Will we get answers to these questions soon, or will the mind of Charles Soule lead us on for years to come? So. Many. Questions!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Dejah Thoris #1

Feb 1, 2016

Dynamite Entertainment is able to constantly produce diamonds in the rough of the relentless barrage of superhero comics, and Dejah Thoris is no exception to that rule. A brilliant reimagining of a tried and true character from Edgar Rice Burrow's rich world of John Carter, Dejah Thoris is definitely a book you want to get on board with at the first issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dejah Thoris #2

Mar 2, 2016

This story has finally caught up with itself, and laid all the groundwork it needs to really get going. With a lot of the exposition out of the way, and Dejah Thoris finally on the path towards the answers she seeks, the next few issues are sure to be even more exciting than this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Deluge #1

Jan 12, 2016

Deluge #1 is an excellent first issue that crafts a compelling tale of mystery and danger, all in the face of a terrible national disaster.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deluge #2

Feb 1, 2016

A great second issue, Deluge takes the already high tension of an intense situation and dials it up even more. A few missteps in dialogue make for a less than easy read, but the addition of some surprising violence turns this issue into a verifiable page-turner.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Godzilla in Hell #1

Jul 16, 2015

Whatever may happen after this issue is irrelevant. The amazing artwork that created such a feeling within these pages without the use of prose is mesmerizing and wonderful. This issue can stand alone as truly something magical within the realm of Godzilla, as well as comic books in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Godzilla in Hell #2

Aug 26, 2015

Fans of Godzilla, or Bob Eggleton's work, will absolutely fall in love with this issue. It also is a wonderful chapter two that fits very nicely with the first issue. I hope the series can retain this momentum and keep up the good work going into issue 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gutter Magic #2

Feb 10, 2016

The second issue of Gutter Magic brings new characters, and some new light onto the quest that Cinder and Blacktooth are desperately trying to complete. A little less magic, and a lack of backstory for the war still leaves many questions, that will hopefully be resolved in full by the end of the mini-series

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
House Of M (2015) #1

Aug 24, 2015

The writing and art brings you seamlessly back in to the fun, skewered world of House of M, but I don't see much of this line having any impact on the greater story arc in the events of Secret Wars. Truly a book for fans of the original series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invader Zim #1

Jul 9, 2015

I have been waiting a long time to see new things from these characters and this story, and this first issue didn't disappoint the die hard fan in me. I also applaud the way it acclimated brand new readers into the mix, giving them all a taste of the raunchy, twisted humor that comes from the mind of Jhonen Vasquez.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2015) #1

Jun 19, 2015

The price of the book is a little more than normal, but you are getting 48 pages of pure adventure with your favorite heavy weights from the DC Universe. All the action, the banter between team members, and epic battles you have come to expect from a JLA title are there, but Hitch adds some mystery and intrigue to the story that will have you eagerly awaiting issue 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magneto (2014) #7

Jul 18, 2014

I love being surprised by comics. I have not collected much in the X-Men realm of comics in the last few years, save Wolverine and some various crossover events. As I said, I might never had picked this book up if it wasn't for a random cover on the first issue. But it has grown on me to the point that I list it in the first few books when asked the question: "What do you currently collect?" I have been telling my personal circles about this book for a few months, and now I am telling you " go down to your local comic store and pick up this issue. It's a great jumping on point and if you like it there are only six previous issues to get prior to this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Magneto (2014) #8

Aug 21, 2014

This issue is a well oiled machine. It gives not one but three separate perspectives on the action, and also continues a clear, even pace throughout. It begins like a CSI episode, then moves into a hero driven act two, then culminates with a big fight, and a cool reveal. The only thing wrong with this issue is that we have to wait until next month for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magneto (2014) #10

Sep 26, 2014

The art in this book is a little all over the place. While the memory sequences all have their own flair to them, which is nice, the book on a whole feels a little confused as to what artistic voice it really wants to portray. A minor qualm against an otherwise stellar comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Midnighter (2015) #1

Jun 4, 2015

A solid first issue from Steve Orlando cements him firmly as the voice for this character. The Midnighter has the chance to not only be the icon for the LGBT community in mainstream books, but also be a very cool, intensely violent character within the DC Universe. I am excited to see where his story goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Midnighter (2015) #2

Aug 5, 2015

This issue once and for all proves that Steve Orlando and Midnighter go hand in hand, and should for a very long time. The writing lets you into the psyche of the character, while still delivering some cool action sequences, and also a much needed flashback to give some answers to die hard fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Midnighter (2015) #3

Aug 5, 2015

Three issues, and each I felt warranted a nine. This is because right from issue one I was intrigued and entertained, and have been having the same level of fun and excitement without falter. Also, this issue is a great one to pick up if you missed the first two, as it exists as a soft introduction to the character once again, crafted wonderfully by the creative team on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Midnighter (2015) #4

Sep 3, 2015

A superb outing for Midnighter, as well as fans of Steve Orlando and Stephen Moorey. Yet the true treat was seeing Dick Grayson appear in this book, untethered from the drama in his own title, and to get those old school Robin feelings once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Midnighter (2015) #5

Nov 6, 2015

I really loved this paring of Dick Grayson and Midnighter, and it is a sad thing that it is over. Steve Orlando is still crafting a compelling story of theft and intrigue within Midnighter's world, all with the larger issue of who he is and how he fits into the world at large.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Midnighter (2015) #6

Nov 6, 2015

It is very hard to write a compelling story in such few pages, especially one with action and emotion. Add to that equation a few twists that are buried so deep you never see them coming, and you are left with a comic that you have to read to believe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Midnighter (2015) #7

Dec 3, 2015

Midnighter #7 has a little bit of everything, and then some, with one of the best fight sequences in comics today. Steve Orlando is writing at the top of his game, and the artistic team brings everything they have to create an incredibly fun comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Midnighter (2015) #8

Jan 6, 2016

Still a thoroughly enjoyable read, Midnighter #8 makes sure to enrich a lot of the seeds of a larger story that Steve Orlando has been planting within the pages of this series. The action however, seems to take a lapse in intensity this issue, and hopefully the reveal of new players at the end will ramp it up in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Midnighter (2015) #9

Feb 4, 2016

Even though there are a few hiccups in the story when it slows down a bit, the action sequences, coupled with the relentless quest for the stolen tech, makes for another exciting issue of Midnighter.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Midnighter (2015) #10

Mar 3, 2016

Midnighter #10 has everything you would hope for in a comic book. It starts with a bang, and never slows down until the final panel. There is so much action, great dialogue, funny quips and intense fight sequences that you immediately want to re-read it when you get to the back cover. Pick up this issue today, even if you haven't read the first nine, and enjoy what comic books can be, once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Moon Knight (2014) #6

Aug 8, 2014

Honestly, this issue holds up and at a lot of levels. A case could be made that there is a lot of emphasis on the past of Moon Knight, without too much backstory, but that adds to the mystery and intrigue of this character in my opinion. The worst part is having to say goodbye to such a great team in Ellis and Shalvey, and hopefully they can team up on projects in the future, because they really clicked creatively.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Knight (2016) #1

Apr 18, 2016

For a character that usually isn't that thrilling, this first issue was pretty exciting to read. Like an amalgamation of the themes of The Matrix and One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest, Moon Knight 1 has definitely set up a compelling story that will entice you to pick up issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Old Man Logan #1

May 28, 2015

Marvel could have tried to just lump this world and the characters together into this expanding Secret Wars/Battleworld story they are telling, but instead they chose to forge ahead with the story at hand, and picked up almost right after the events of the original Old Man Logan. Kudos to Bendis for making it seem so familiar and awesome, and to Sorrentino for taking some risks and revitalizing the characters and the scenery. - See more at: http://fanboysinc.com/comic-book-review-secret-wars-old-man-logan-1-over-the-wall/#sthash.y36EU2dU.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Old Man Logan #2

Jun 18, 2015

A really tired, non explanatory issue that just seems to give you some flash and glitter, with no real meat on the bones of the story. After such a good first issue, my only hope can be that this storyline picks up with the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Logan #3

Jul 22, 2015

The artistic team is still delivering a wonderful book full of fantastic imagery, but the writing is starting to fall a little flat. The realization that Old Man Logan is on a quest, not only to find out what is the meaning of the Ultron head that fell from the sky, but also to find out how he fits into this larger BattleWorld, is very compelling. Where he ends up by the end of this issue makes me excited to find out how this series will reach it's completion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Logan #4

Aug 26, 2015

This issue has some serious faults for not addressing the central plot of why Old Man Logan is out there in the first place - the Ultron head. But, it gains some points because it is a blood-soaked berserker ragefest for a few pages, which is a needed visual for fans of the character, especially those that miss him since his death.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Old Man Logan #5

Oct 27, 2015

It is truly awesome to see Old Man Logan come face to face with the friends he once murdered - the same friends that recently lost Wolverine in a different reality. Yet the story problems continue to compound more and more, which leaves us with a final issue that creates more questions than it answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #1

Jan 29, 2016

A great start to re-introducing this character after the events of Secret Wars. The choice to give him severe memory loss is a little jarring, but the strong writing and art make up for any short comings in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #2

Feb 11, 2016

Old Man Logan #2 features a good fight between the new Hulk and Old Man Logan, with some flashback sequences to the original series peppered throughout. It is interesting to see this version of Wolverine navigate this new Marvel Universe landscape, but hopefully his character discrepancies will be worked out in the next few books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Plants vs. Zombies #1

May 24, 2015

A wonderfully fun read for kids and fans of the popular video game, this first issue brings you all the action, plant grabbing, and evil scheming you could want! Go back to college with Zomboss and see how he used to terrorize Neighborville as a young undead student! Make sure you protect your brains, and you can tagalong with Nick and Patrice as they prepare to stop Zomboss once again from enacting his evil plans for world domination. Funny humor, beautiful art and a great story await in the pages of this brand new comic coming out monthly from Dark Horse.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Poison Ivy: Cycle of Life and Death #1

Jan 20, 2016

A stunning solo series for an underrated character, Poison Ivy will ensnare you right from the first page. Both the writing and artistic teams are at the top of their games, and the ending leaves you excited for what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Poison Ivy: Cycle of Life and Death #2

Feb 19, 2016

A great second issue, Poison Ivy is truly growing as a character thanks to an entertaining and complex story. There is mystery, intrigue, and some classic "Ivy" moments that lead to an incredible revelation that could have serious ramifications in DC comics for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Savage Wolverine #21

Jul 18, 2014

Regardless of this specific story, this series has been a real fun one to collect and read. Obviously in part because of my affinity towards Wolverine, but also because it isn't so deeply rooted in his struggles, or the events that plague the Marvel Universe on the whole. These stories all stand alone, and give the reader a new angle to look at this character. I personally hope that this line continues after his inevitable death that is so rapidly approaching in his main line. I am actually looking forward to the next issue as well, because even if the story of Wolverine in the army has been done six ways to Sunday, I am always ready for a seventh.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage Wolverine #22

Aug 21, 2014

I really wanted to see more of this character Link. I like how he is introduced, and think that the dichotomy of Wolverine and Link is familiar (see Professor X and Logan) but also foreign because it is so early in Logan's life. Knowing how this comic series operates, we most likely will skip ahead, or back, in years and probably won't see that character again. That is a shame, because of the potential that could be, but that happens a lot with a character like Wolverine who has lived for a long, long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Savage Wolverine #23

Sep 25, 2014

I really hope this comic line doesn't end when Wolverine finally kicks the bucket. Honestly, I see no reason they couldn't keep this title going, therefore having a Wolverine comic that fans can still buy every month, and also the freedom to tell any type of story, not ones that are dealing with current Marvel Events.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Wars #1

May 6, 2015

This is the end of everything we all know about the Marvel Comic Universe. Also, it is the start of something new. Even the casual reader needs to own this issue in their collection. - See more at: http://fanboysinc.com/comic-book-review-secret-wars-1-earths-collide/#sthash.7d1V3PQp.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Wars #2

May 13, 2015

Beautiful, epic panel work gives "Secret Wars #2" the gravitas it deserves for an event this large, but the story line gets lost among it's humongous checklist of characters and worlds. If "Secret Wars #3"is another issue of countless new introductions and new plot points, this event might trip itself up before it hits its stride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Wars #2

May 13, 2015

Beautiful, epic panel work gives "Secret Wars #2" the gravitas it deserves for an event this large, but the story line gets lost among it's humongous checklist of characters and worlds. If "Secret Wars #3"is another issue of countless new introductions and new plot points, this event might trip itself up before it hits its stride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Wars #3

Jun 4, 2015

We finally get some answers in this issue, which make it an essential read for this week. The worry is that too many plot points are being trotted out right now, and coupled with the different versions of characters on the page, the confusion might start to outweigh the excellent art and storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Secret Wars #4

Jul 2, 2015

This issue found me missing the feeling of the first couple, and the few big "spoiler events" in this book felt lacking of true power. This is halfway point, so hopefully the story returns to its former glory in the next four issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Wars #5

Aug 17, 2015

The art and the writing are still excellent, but the idea to stall the story for essentially a "flashback" exposition issue falls a little flat. Hopefully, with only three issues left, there will be enough time to tie up all the loose threads in this earth shattering event. - See more at: http://fanboysinc.com/comic-review-secret-wars-5-i-for-see-something-worse/#sthash.AG3yBRla.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Secret Wars #6

Oct 27, 2015

This story finally gets the action back to where it needs to be, and there are definitely a lot of cool reveals littered throughout this issue. Yet, I hop there isn't TOO much story, as the plot jumps from point to point rather freely, and might trip up over itself by the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Secret Wars #7

Nov 12, 2015

A fun read because of all the action concerning countless versions of many favorite characters, and the art is incredible throughout the issue. Yet with the addition of so many different storylines and character factions coming together, it is tough to not leave "Secret Wars #7" a little confused.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Wars #9

Jan 19, 2016

A surprisingly interesting end to the Secret Wars series, yet it poses just as many questions as it provides answers. The art of Secret Wars #9 is superb though, making for a visually stunning book that concerns most of the heavy-hitters in the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Wars: Battleworld #3

Jul 16, 2015

There is something beautiful about a story with no words. The art of a comic book, when done well, tells the story in different ways than the prose can, with sweeping action.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars (2014) #1

Jan 14, 2015

For all the nitpicking one could do with this, or any Star Wars related story, this was a solid outing to start a wonderful new story arc for Star Wars and Marvel. I can't wait for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars (2014) #2

Feb 4, 2015

Solid issue with some increasingly interesting setup to a hopefully great story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #3

Mar 11, 2015

The dynamic duo of Jason Aaron and John Cassady are at it again with a tight script and art that leaps off the page. Throw in Laura Martin's colors, and this book seriously looks better than most current issues on the shelves today. Far be it from Marvel to put a "B" team together to helm their flagship Star Wars property, and here is to hoping that this team stays on through the first story arc. - See more at: http://fanboysinc.com/review-star-wars-3-not-this-time-boy/#sthash.xhUkt5jK.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars (2014) #4

Apr 22, 2015

When a comic tackles characters and plots that have been in existence for decades, and does so with an expert hand and keen eye, the experience only becomes richer. This series has been organically good from issue one, and this issue continues to up the game upon just how familiar and amazing these Star Wars stories can feel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Star Wars (2014) #5

May 21, 2015

The familiar faces at the cantina, the sand people making an appearance, and fan favorites like R2 and Boba Fett make for a fun book to read. Not much action abounds, save for Boba Fett breaking arms and taking names. Well one name, as he shows up right on the tail of Luke Skywalker.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars (2014) #6

Jun 4, 2015

So many fun moments and neat winks to true fans in the issue make for a fun read, and an eye-popping artistic comic. Especially the end with Vader really gives the gravity of the series its spotlight, but the left field twist might leave some readers angry, while intrigue others to eagerly await the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars (2014) #7

Jul 29, 2015

Seriously, between getting to see Obi-Wan Kenobi back in action, at the time when he was protecting a young Luke Skywalker, and to have the whole thing portrayed by Simone Bianchi, this issue is all sorts of epic. Even if you are not getting this series, if you are fan of the original trilogy of Star Wars, you should really get this issue for your collection, and relieve the mystery of A New Hope all over again. - See more at: http://fanboysinc.com/comic-review-star-wars-7-the-last-of-his-breed/#sthash.rVCPbku6.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Star Wars (2014) #8

Aug 19, 2015

It is really cool to see Immonen's art grace the pages of Star Wars, but that can't save a lack luster story arc. Aaron has done a fine job up until this point, but it seems like even though the characters are still believable, the story and plot is stalling big time. I hope this can be resolved in the next issue and beyond.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #9

Sep 18, 2015

This issue had some really cool action sequences, and it was fun to see the characters mix it up a little after a few issues steeped in heavy dialogue. But some of the writing left conversations feeling empty, and also the revelation of Sana Solo joining up with Han and Leia can be interesting, or disastrous.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars (2014) #10

Oct 27, 2015

This issue brings each of the two major plots to the forefront, without having either vying for space. Jason Aaron is an expert storyteller, and he proves it by having both Luke's plight and Leia and Han's adventure gain equal billing. Also, the good cop/bad cop duo of C-3PO and Chewbacca is a gold mine that needs to happen more often.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars (2014) #11

Nov 6, 2015

Other than the lackluster reveal about the truth behind Sana Solo, this issue had a little bit of everything you want from a Star Wars tale. All of the mini plot lines are starting to come together, and this issue blended exciting action with some interesting reveals to make an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #12

Nov 19, 2015

Great action, and compelling artwork save this book from being too laden with some lazy writing choices concerning the main characters. Also, seeing Leia wield a lightsaber is worth it alone to pick up Star Wars #12.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #13

Dec 3, 2015

Star Wars #13 is a great artistic outing by Deodato and Martin Jr. once again, complimenting a fairly strong story being crafted by Aaron and Gillen. Also, it was pretty heartwarming and incredible to see Chewbacca finally rip the arm off of a droid and beat him with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars (2014) #14

Jan 7, 2016

The action is incredibly fun and deftly drawn by the stellar artistic team, making for an enjoyable read. This penultimate issue of the "Vader Down" story arc has just the right twists and turns to make you wait with bated breath for the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #15

Jan 31, 2016

Great art and interesting storytelling choices lend themselves to Star Wars #15, which is an enjoyable read. The flashbacks are becoming a little bit of a tease though, and the story gets lost amongst the events of the main story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) Annual #1

Dec 16, 2015

It was a really fun and interesting look at another corner of the universe, set during a single night amid the three years between A New Hope and Empire Strikes Back. Yet the Emperor's big reveal in this issue is slightly off-putting, and not a reveal at all, considering how he towers above the new character Eneb Ray on the cover of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader #1

Feb 11, 2015

It really is a wonderful issue depicting an iconic character. Fans of the series will be pleased, and fans of Darth Vader himself will be excited to see him portrayed so vividly and full of life once more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #2

Feb 25, 2015

First of all, I cannot say enough about Keiron Gillen. He has proven himself time and again with Marvel properties, co-writing Uncanny X-Men with Matt Fraction, and taking over for Fraction on Invincible Iron Man. Gillen brings his effortless flow and style to the script in the pages of Darth Vader, and we are all better for it. The words can get a little "jargon-heavy" in the Star Wars universe, spouting off ship call signs, and techno-babble that we have come to be accustomed to from the movies. Gillen makes sure none of this falls flat and allows the reader to glide through the book as if it was being read to them. Truly, I hope he stays with Vader for awhile, because it will be interesting to see where he can take that character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #3

Mar 26, 2015

If you aren't reading Darth Vader yet, pick this issue up to see how wrong you've been. Then ask your local comic book shop to get you the first and second issues, and strap in for the last two.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #4

Apr 9, 2015

This mini series is a fun look at Vader, now reeling from failure and mistrust from his peers and his master. It is interesting to see him strike out on his own to put pieces on the board in his favor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #5

May 13, 2015

A good wrap up of all the moves Darth Vader has been making in the first four issues, with some interesting twist and turns. Hopefully the writing and artistic team stay with this book through the next volume, due out in June.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #5

May 13, 2015

A good wrap up of all the moves Darth Vader has been making in the first four issues, with some interesting twist and turns. Hopefully the writing and artistic team stay with this book through the next volume, due out in June.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #6

Jun 9, 2015

Lackluster cyborg characters bring the story to a halt briefly, but the art redeems the action sequences on the whole. Also, the revelation that Vader now knows who Luke Skywalker is, and the fact that Vader must deal with the knowledge that he has son, is portrayed in a beautiful and terrifying way upon the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #7

Jul 2, 2015

Star Wars Darth Vader #7 is much slower than some of the previous ones, but the Vader that we see on the page is more indicative of the one we all revere from the movies. Hopefully, the actiom and drama will ramp up in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #8

Aug 5, 2015

I am still on board with the premise of this series, and the character of Doctor Aphra is what is keeping me coming back for more. But the rehash of previous storylines and slow plot points really bring this issue to a halt a few times, and I can only find so many excuses to continue buying this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #13

Nov 27, 2015

The story takes a slower turn with this second installment of Vader Down, if only to make sure that every character is now a larger part of it. With only four more issues left to flesh out this arc, hopefully the pace and action will ramp up in the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #14

Jan 2, 2016

Darth Vader #14 A good chapter to this sprawling "Vader Down" story arc, and some cool action sequences as well. The art is the true winner, as the characters are shown with a deft hand from the talented Salvador Larroca.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars: Darth Vader #15

Jan 8, 2016

A strong finale to the "Vader Down" arc, Darth Vader #15 not only wraps things up nicely, but sews the seeds for some compelling stories moving forward within this series as well as the main Star Wars series. Also, could there be a subtle tie to the events of The Force Awakens and beyond?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars: Darth Vader #16

Feb 11, 2016

An absolutely stunning cover, along with some real juicy dialogue and great character building for Darth Vader makes this book incredibly enjoyable to read. It was a little tentative coming out of the "Vader Down" cross over as to how this book would pick up the pace again, by Kieron Gillen proves yet again that his writing talent should never be questioned.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader Annual #1

Dec 17, 2015

A really fun, terrifying, and engaging story about Darth Vader and the lengths he will go to flex the strength of the Empire. Darth Vader Annual #1 works as not only a great stand-alone story, but a great jumping on point to see what Marvel has in store for Vader and their Star Wars universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Princess Leia #1

Mar 4, 2015

Leia, a once senator and princess of a world that doesn't exist, has done so much for the Rebellion, but now finds herself struggling to fit in to this new wartime landscape. The ideas are strong with this script.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Princess Leia #2

Mar 21, 2015

This book is still producing an enjoyable story and interesting look at Leia's character, but I worry that it has the potential to be blas and trite if the story telling just moves along at a pre-determined pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Wars: Princess Leia #3

Apr 30, 2015

R2D2 gets his heroic moment, and the action sequences really shine through this issue. Also, Leia questions her involvement in her own plans, citing that when she harbored hope before, it got her home planet destroyed. A wonderful look within a character that we all know so well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Shattered Empire #1

Sep 12, 2015

Star Wars: Shattered Empire is a seriously fun read, that picks up right after the famous end sequence of Return of the Jedi. While it is really cool to see what happens next, I hope this book can find its artistic footing and also keep up the intensity and allure of the plot it has laid out in the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars: Vader Down #1

Nov 27, 2015

After all the set up between various Star Wars titles, this book finally gives the reader endless action, and compelling story. Add to that the flawless artistic team of Mike Deodato and Frank Martin Jr. and you have a winning book in the eyes of Star Wars fans, and comic book fans as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Storm #1

Jul 25, 2014

Points for a good first start, but let's all buckle up and see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man #32

Aug 9, 2014

Cool way to bring the character back, and the reveal at the end is very interesting, but we will have to see how Spider-Verse pans out to truly love or hate this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Accelerators: Momentum #3

Jul 29, 2015

I really liked this issue, but I felt that the entire issue being devoted to the mystery of "why" the group was stuck in this time stalled the story a little bit. Especially because the reveal, even though was twist heavy and a little shocking, was inferred by the keen reader early in the issue. All in all, I can't wait for the fourth and final issue of The Accelerators: Momentum to hit the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Complete Funky Winkerbean Volume 1: 1972-1974 #1

Jun 5, 2012

Powered by Drupal

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Multiversity #2

May 4, 2015

Kudos to the creative team for pulling off a story both in writing and art that very few in the business could parallel. It is very confusing at parts, but the central idea that the "comic book superhero ideal" is one that exists, but also is under attack creatively and figuratively, is laid out throughout this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Multiversity: Pax Americana #1

Nov 20, 2014

The whole story is of America, and the turmoil it is in because of super-heroes. Morrison does his best job to pay homage to Alan Moore, and he does very well a few times. Sentiments like " what happened to Americas supermen? and The view is the same in both directions and " they think they run the game, but who runs the board? are all great examples of the sentiments of Watchmen and, by parallel, Earth-4. Assassinating the President on the first page and spiraling into the plot and events surrounding it plays out like a action/thriller in the highest degree. Multiversity has a lot to tell us, especially judging from Morrison's first few issues. Like I have said before, this entire event will most likely surprise even the most die-hard DC Comics fans, and once all issues are collected in one story, flipping from page to page and having our own power over time will give readers the final perspective on the bigger picture.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Multiversity: Society of Super-Heroes #1

Sep 18, 2014

Faithful reader, I implore you to use caution on reading this book. First of all, you need to pick up a copy of Multiversity #1 to really get into this storys meat and potatoes so to speak, and also be up to speed what is happening. Also, make sure you get out your handy wikipedia links, because some of these characters had me even going, Who is that, are they from OUR DC Universe?, which makes reading this event that much more of a learning experience. Morrison is the master of storytelling and weaving intricate tales with characters well known and obscure, and references to the golden age of comics. Also, a note of caution, as the characters are self-aware of the haunted comic book that lives in their universes, and I am beginning to wonder if these issues are our own haunted comics. Time will tell!

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
The Multiversity: Thunderworld Adventures #1

Dec 18, 2014

Out of the different issues within this Multiversity line, this one works the best on it's own story. I am certain we will see this version of Shazam again, within the wrap up of the story as a whole, and the events within this issue will most likely make more sense towards everything Morrison has in store. All I am saying is, I want just a little more answers regarding that overall, all encompassing, Multiversity storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #1

Jan 8, 2016

A stellar first issue for the new Uncanny X-Men series, Cullen Bunn has proven he knows exactly what to do when trotting out a brand-new team. It will be very interesting to see just how these characters gel with each other, and eventually gel with the other two X-Teams that are already out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #2

Jan 25, 2016

8.5 out of 10. A strong issue of Uncanny X-Men again, adding new characters to the large number of cast already introduced. Also, with some great color work and exciting action, this issue makes for a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #3

Feb 4, 2016

While the idea of the new team of Uncanny X-Men is still promising, and they are continuing to add characters into the mix with this issue, the series on the whole doesn't seem to be much of a team, or very "uncanny" at all. Hopefully, the story will find its footing with the next few issues as this first story arc will start to wrap up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
We Stand On Guard #1

Jul 6, 2015

An incredible first issue from two very talented people, with a refreshing and interesting story that takes hold of you from panel one. The futuristic feel adds to the heightened suspense of a conflict between Canada and America, and the core characters are already compelling in their own right by the end of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
We Stand On Guard #2

Aug 8, 2015

This book has easily risen to my top pick in only two short issues. If Brian K. Vaughn hasn't convinced you he is a master storyteller by this point with his other work (Y the Last Man, SAGA), then this is the final piece of evidence you need. Get on board with this book now, because I predict it will be the hit everyone is talking about very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
We Stand On Guard #3

Sep 2, 2015

Still a real strong issue, even with some of the larger implications brought on in the meat of the story. Through three issues We Stand On Guard has continued to be a favorite of my monthly pull list, and I continue to look forward to learning more about the war and Amber's past.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Wolverine (2014) #10

Jul 11, 2014

Last but not least, the elephant in the room: Stop with the arm claws. I get it, no healing factor. Hurts when he pops his real claws, and he bleeds all over the place. But the arm gauntlets with claws in them that Superior Doc Ock-Spider-Man gave him need to go. They should be burned in a fire when he dies. Just saying.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wolverine (2014) #11

Aug 15, 2014

I, for one, am just tired of this character. I love Wolverine like an old friend but I can't bear to see him limp though the end of his life like this. I welcome the last issue and the finality it brings, and look forward to the death of this once great character. Also, I am really annoyed by Wolverine's new 'teammates', and glad that I won't be seeing them for much longer. Every time the character named Lost Boy uses his powers and says 'Boom', I die a little inside.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wolverine (2014) #12

Aug 30, 2014

This is the very last issue of WOLVERINE. Through all the ups and downs of the series, it is a sad day for fans of his everywhere. Once the DEATH OF WOLVERINE mini series is over, it will be very sad to go to my pull list month after month, with no Wolverine title in it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine (2014) Annual #1

Aug 22, 2014

Two things: first, I still hate how Jubilee is a vampire. I never liked that story, when the X-Men had to go up against Dracula, and I still don't like it. Maybe someday Jubilee will return to her old powers of explosive energy, but we will see. Second, the couple that turn out to be antagonists in this story, I wasn't too fond of. They really kinda halted the storytelling at points, and the message at the end that we are all 'cubs' to the women being 'wolves' was a little too heavy handed, and a little out of character for Wolverine.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wytches #6

May 20, 2015

Serious talent between the art and the storytelling, Wytches is a true gem in the realm of comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More