Joe Grunenwald's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Beat Reviews: 30
6.7Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Ant-Man & The Wasp (2018) #1

Jun 6, 2018

Buy if you like big, clever concepts and entertaining banter between an unlikely set of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing X-Men (2017) Annual #1

Aug 15, 2018

In all, Astonishing X-Men Annual #1 is a solid X-Men comic, filled with entertaining character interactions and featuring an ending that somewhat turns on its ear the notion of what readers have come to expect from an X-book. It made this casual X-fan want to read more. What more can you ask of a comic?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #1

Oct 24, 2018

This is a great, fun comic with an unlikely pairing that works really well together in part because of how unlikely it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America (2018) #1

Jul 4, 2018

This issue is certainly a lot of setup for what's coming, but I can't bring myself to be upset about it when Coates nails Steve so perfectly. Coates using Nuke right off the bat feels very much like a statement of intent as well. And the whole thing is drawn beautifully by Leinil Yu.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Captain Marvel (2019) #1

Jan 9, 2019

Thompson's script is on-point and she clearly has great affection for the characters she's working with, and Carnero's art is generally pretty solid. This is great set-up for what's to come for Carol.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Champions #24

Sep 12, 2018

I think it does what it sets out to do fine, but whether or not that's enough or what you're looking for in a comic is entirely a personal call.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Daredevil (2015) Annual #1

Aug 29, 2018

It's a pretty average self-contained story. If you've got five bucks burning a hole in your pocket for a Daredevil comic you could do worse than this, but you could also probably do better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Exiles (2018) #1

Apr 11, 2018

Exiles #1 is a strong debut. The writing is smart, the characters are entertaining, and the art is fantastic. I'm looking forward to the whole team is assembled and the real fun begins.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Extermination (2018) #1

Aug 15, 2018

I wouldn't want to jump into this without knowing at least a little bit of what's come before with the Original Five.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Fantastic Four (2018): Wedding Special #1

Dec 12, 2018

There's no shortage of wedding tie-in comics from 2018 to compare this one to. If the whole thing had been of the same quality as the Slott and Buckingham story, I would say this is the best of all of them; as it was, one great story out of three isn't quite enough to elevate this book past a BROWSE for me. Maybe I've just grown fatigued from all of the comic book event weddings this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hunt For Wolverine: Dead Ends #1

Aug 29, 2018

This is a solid entry point, nicely tying up the threads from the stories that came before it and kicking off the proper return of Wolverine in an interesting way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Immortal Hulk #9

Nov 21, 2018

The Immortal Hulk is a rich book, both thematically and tonally. I've never been the biggest Hulk fan, either, but Al Ewing is pushing the character in new and interesting directions and it's been really enjoyable. I wouldn't recommend jumping on with this week's issue, but the series is worth going back and catching up on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invaders (2019) #1

Jan 16, 2019

Invaders #1 is a strong first issue for the series. The team has a compelling, character-driven reason for coming together, made all the more urgent by the fantastic twist at the end of the issue. The creative team is firing on all cylinders right out of the gate, and I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jessica Jones #18

Mar 28, 2018

Bendis and Gaydos go out on top with a final story that showcases everything great about Jessica Jones.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Man Without Fear (2019) #1

Jan 2, 2019

It's fine. It's inoffensive, but it doesn't feel essential. I don't hate that I read it, and I liked Beyruth's art a fair amount.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Marvel Knights: 20th #1

Nov 7, 2018

Remember how Marvel used to bill stories as "offbeat"? This comic needs that stamp on the cover. It's strange and disorienting, which are good things, but it's also confusing, and not in a good way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel Two-In-One Annual #1

Jun 13, 2018

Put plainly, Marvel Two-in-One Annual #1 is an excellent comic. Zdarsky, Shalvey, and Bellaire deliver superior work that examines and enhances one of Marvel's best villains, and introduces the potential for a lot of future stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mr. and Mrs. X #1

Jul 25, 2018

In all, Mr. & Mrs. X #1 is a really enjoyable read. The character work is entertaining and the art fits the story well

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man Annual #1

Jun 20, 2018

BUY for JJJ shenanigans, excellent art, and a story with a solid emotional core.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Punisher (2018) #1

Aug 22, 2018

This is an action-heavy comic, but the visuals are so ill-defined that it's easy to lose track of what's supposed to be happening. A truck explodes at one point and I have no idea why. Things happen and there's no continuity between panels. It's very strange.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Return of Wolverine #1

Sep 19, 2018

I like Charles Soule a lot, and after the Hunt for Wolverine: Dead Ends one-shot I was excited to see what he did with the proper return of Wolvie, but after an exciting dozen or so pages, this issue just goes nowhere. The potential is there, I think, but we haven't gotten there yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Spider-Geddon #5

Dec 22, 2018

Ultimately, Spider-Geddon was an event with some nice character work but very little substance. It's pretty clear this was put out solely to capitalize on the release of the Into the Spider-Verse animated film and the heightened interest in that stable of Multiversal spider-heroes. It's a shame that this series couldn't live up to the potential of its conflict.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spider-Gwen: Ghost-Spider (2018) #1

Oct 24, 2018

The work that McGuire, Kmpe, and co. put forth on this issue is solid, even if the issue overall is hindered by having to tie in to Spider-Geddon. Once that event is in the rearview, I'm looking forward to seeing what this new series has in store for Gwen.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superior Octopus #1

Oct 3, 2018

I thought the overall package here was decent. The main story sets up Otto's new status quo effectively, though at this point I'm more interested in his personal troubles than his super-heroics. The backup story setting up Spider-Geddon was lackluster.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thor (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

The comic felt like a story of Thor going through the motions to hunt down a series of MacGuffins.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #1

Jun 20, 2018

I'd give this book a solid, middle-of-the-road BROWSE. It has some fun ideas in it and decent action, though the characterization could use some work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #1

Nov 14, 2018

I'm not sure if it brought anything new to the table at this point. The 'mutant vaccine' is an interesting idea, but similar to things we've seen in the past. That said, I don't mind a familiar concept if the execution is strong, and I think it definitely is here. As a book that brings all of the disparate threads of the various X-titles back under one roof, I think this is a solid first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom (2018) #1

May 9, 2018

It's accessible for new readers and I'm intrigued by where it's going.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Black (2018): Magneto #1

Oct 3, 2018

Overall I'd say this is a decent comic for the casual X-fan, but there's probably nothing new here for longtime readers. I'd give it a BROWSE.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #26

Apr 18, 2018

Browse for some decent punching, questionable conflict, and to check outKitty's weird Rogue portrait.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More