Keigen Rea's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AIPT, Comics Bookcase Reviews: 26
8.2Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Angel (2019) #14

Sep 22, 2020

This comic isn't just for fans of Angel or Buffy, but for everyone who likes good comics. It has unique art, and is approachable without being too slow or exposition heavy. If you're a fan of the Buffyverse this feels like a great place to get more of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Autumnal #1

Sep 23, 2020

In all, The Autumnal #1 is an issue thats highly elevated by the craft on display, but the story isnt something that really engaged me. It feels like it could be the opening chapter of a great trade, but it also feels like it could disappoint if it continues to lean on familiar horror ideas.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Bang! #3

Sep 2, 2020

A fun issue of a fun series thats held back by its handling of its protagonists disability. The future of the series may allow for some recovery, but it hurts much of my enjoyment of this particular comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Big Girls #1

Aug 12, 2020

There are far worse first issues than this one, and its competently well-made in every way but the story. Tonal inconsistencies and derivative characters hold this back from being great, but future issues may correct those issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dead Day #3

Sep 16, 2020

I was surprised that this comic worked as well as it does for me, and Im happy about that as well! If The Leftovers+Purge+zombies sounds like a good time, pick this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Die #12

Jul 22, 2020

If you're behind, catch up; if you aren't reading, pick up the trades. This issue is a highlight in a week full of highlights, and it's about as recommendable as any comic running.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Far Sector #8

Oct 6, 2020

This issue continues the streak of near perfection that Far Sector operates in. It's interesting, prescient, and cooler than any other comic you could buy right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Getting It Together #1

Oct 7, 2020

This issue is good, and I think Ill enjoy it more with the coming issues. Its full of heart, and a relative rarity in the direct market. As such I plan on cherishing this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Join the Future #2

Jun 10, 2020

This issue has me more on board than the first issue did, and Im fully intending to read the next one, but I am a tentative about where the series is going. If you like pretty horses or westerns focused on social progress, Id recommend this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ludocrats #2

Jun 16, 2020

I tried to give this comic a 10 but my IPad made fart noises and I heard my neighbors laughing at me. Hard. Ludocrats enjoy ass kissing, but not that kind.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ludocrats #3

Jul 15, 2020

Ludocrats #3 doesn't feel like a story that festered and fermented for a decade or two (even though it kind of did), it feels like a collaboration, not just between creators, but characters. The characters have agency and use it to be as big and ridiculous and as terrible as possible, and it is so. Much. Fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ludocrats #4

Aug 19, 2020

The Ludocrats #4 is my favorite issue of a series that will likely end up being one of my favorites this year. Very excited to see what the finale has in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ludocrats #5

Sep 30, 2020

Ludocrats ends its life as a monthly comic, but will be immortalized in my heart and on my shelf soon enough. I'm not sure I'm it's biggest fan, but I am 6'4" and 215 pounds, so I might be competitive!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mega Man: Fully Charged (2020) #1

Aug 26, 2020

Mega Man: Fully Charged #1 has great pacing and art, but leans pretty heavily on common superhero tropes. Despite that, its still fun and energetic, and Im excited for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
No One's Rose #2

Jun 15, 2020

Read this. No Ones Rose should be the crossover hit of 2020, not only because of its combination of notable pieces, but because the execution of it all is top shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
No One's Rose #3

Jul 7, 2020

This is a dense issue that is very close to being overfull, but the team as a whole pulled off another great issue. It also has a hairy chested piece of man beef on the last page. In other words, this comic is worth the $3.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
November #2

Jun 3, 2020

I love this series, and Im onboard even if they keep adding more volumes as they go,but it it isnt something that I would give a blanket recommendation to. Give it a go if you enjoy formalism, non-traditional story structure, or beautiful design, provided youve also read book I.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Once & Future #8

Jun 24, 2020

Still a great series, this is simply an issue where little of substance happens, and/or I dont know enough about Beowulf to get excited. The art shines, especially the colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Protector #4

Jun 30, 2020

The penultimate issue of this arc delivers a meaty story and beautiful craft, along with perfectly setting up the arc finale. If youve been on the fence about the series, consider this your chance to catch up!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Sex Criminals #30

Aug 5, 2020

Sex Criminals #30 holds the weight of the previous 29 issues, and on one hand does it well, and on another disappoints. The fact that this isnt the actual finale is a sneaky strength, and sets up issue 69 by tidying up the series plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Something is Killing the Children #8

Jul 8, 2020

Something is Killing the Children #8 is able to deliver a creepy, funny, and engaging issue while mostly consisting of characters talking to each other. You shouldn't be missing one of the best monthly horror comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Stillwater (2020) #1

Sep 15, 2020

This comic feels designed for everyone to enjoy it, and I think everyone will. Its extra-sized for the same cost as the average comic, and it is extremely worth it. Jump on now and dont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stillwater (2020) #2

Oct 21, 2020

An issue that does a lot of necessary set up, while still setting up the mysteries of the series, but is able to escape being dull by the creative teams endless creativity. Keep up with one of this years best new series!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wicked Things #2

Jun 23, 2020

This issue is plot heavy in a genre that is incredibly well tread. If you like Giant Days, this feels exactly like an average issue of that, but lacking much of the uniqueness of that beloved series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed OGN

Jul 21, 2020

Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed is about losing your way of life and finding a new one. It's about using your abilities to help others for their betterment. I love this comic, and it's themes will stick with me for some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Ray Robot #2

Sep 29, 2020

This is a delightful comic that has me excited for more X-Ray Robot. If you like The Allreds, this is a book for you!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More