Kelly Richards's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Newsarama, Comicosity Reviews: 71
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9.0
A-Force #1

May 20, 2015

The expectations for A-Force have been undoubtedly high, partly because of the creative team behind the book, and partly because this is one of the few Marvel titles that features a team made solely of women, but let me tell you, this book does not disappoint. It's funny, it's engaging, it's packed full of action, and it's a little bit emotional. A-Force has a diverse cast of heroes plucked from the full breadth of the Marvel universe and believe me, your favorite is in there somewhere. They are all in there somewhere. You can't deny that even though we are only one issue in, A-Force is pretty tight. Captain Marvel totally punches a shark - what's not to love?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Adventure Time: Marceline Gone Adrift #1

Jan 14, 2015

Definitely one for the younger readers, especially those looking for a female led adventure story, but still totally enjoyable for the grown-up Adventure Time fans among us. While this book might not be at the top of my pile, its definitely still going to be in there, and I am excited to find out what happens next.The Verdict 7.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New Hawkeye #3

Jun 1, 2015

#3 stands as a big step forward for the creative team behind All-New Hawkeye as the story and characterization move from strength to strength. If the first two issues had left you unsure of whether you should keep reading, this issue will help you decide as the shift in pace and focus lead to a far more engaging narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Another Castle #1

Mar 2, 2016

Fun and fresh, Another Castle #1 is well deserving of this and any other praise the book generates. While it will undoubtedly appeal to fans of books like Zodiac Starforce and Patsy Walker AKA Hellcat, I would recommend taking a peak regardless of whether or not fairy tales and fantasy are what you would usually call your thing. It really is that good. With that said, I just have one question: is it too soon for me to start shipping Misty and Gorga?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archie (2015) #1

Jul 7, 2015

I didnt expect to feel quite so enthused by Archie #1 but I really am. It has perfectly encapsulated that high school sitcom, slice of life, teen movie vibe that I, and so many other people love and maybe havent been getting too much of lately, or at least nothing that feels so genuine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2011) #1

Jun 29, 2015

It is not difficult to be impressed with what the creative team is doing to both appeal to, and secure a younger and more diverse readership for the book. They are considerate of their fans and work for them rather than in spite of them. Even with the controversy that has surrounded the book since Stewart, Fletcher and Tarr have taken the reigns they seem to be taking it all in their stride, quick to respond to criticism and willing to resolve anything that may alienate the many marginalized voiced within their fan base. With a story and artwork that is as fun as it is charming, Batgirl #41 feels like a step up for everyone involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #3

Feb 17, 2015

For many women, the subjects raised with in this issue are neither something of the past nor are they the nightmarish visions of a future that keep them up at night. They are their reality. They are my reality. DeConnick has blurred the lines between what is fact and what is fiction via the way of exploitation movies and packaged it between 32 beautifully illustrated pages. Closing with an essay from Megan Carpentier, U.S. opinion editor of the Guardian, and a back page there is as gut wrenching as it in tongue-in-cheek - half stomach-churning stats on domestic violence, half ways to spend your hard-earned money. Aggressively, unapologetically feminist in both tone and content, and unsettling in a way that will leave you on edge, Kelly Sue DeConnick is undoubtedly doing some of her best work to date with Bitch Planet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #7

Feb 19, 2016

Powerful, and heart rending, DeConnick and De Landro continue to stamp their feminist agendas on the pages of Bitch Planet as issue #7 lays the groundwork for the new arc without neglecting to pick up any loose ends from issues #5 and #6.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #1

May 21, 2017

As with any satire there is humor to be found in all of the stories but that humor is dark and it is cutting and it brings little respite from the very real situations that these women find themselves in. All three stories manage to hit a little close to home or in some cases a lot close to home and you will find people who say this is unrealistic or that women should be lucky that things arent this bad but the truth is that things are a lot worse for a lot of women and sadly seeing it laid out in a comic is one of the few times it ever feels like anyone is even paying attention

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Canary (2015) #1

Jun 17, 2015

Described by Fletcher as a kung-fu, rock 'n roll road trip, Black Canary #1 proves itself to be all of that and more. A fun first installment and a sound addition to the "DC You" catalogue of teen friendly books, Black Canary is the solo title that Dinah Lance deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Captain Marvel (2014) #10

Dec 17, 2014

Kelly Sue isnt just writing comics, she is building communities. Communities of strong, empowered, girls and women. Girls and women who dont need super powers to help their friends, or to overcome their fears, or to get shit done. This book left me with a smile on my face and looking forward, not just for part 2, but for many adventures to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2016) #1

Jan 25, 2016

Balancing action with character development, Captain Marvel #1 does not fail to entertain. While some may find the book a little slow, Fazekas and Butters work hard to keep readers engaged with their tight script and the intrigue they have created through the reveal on the last page will undoubtedly leave people curious as to what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Casanova: Acedia #1

Jan 28, 2015

Long-time fans can breathe a sigh of relief and newcomers can jump straight in without having to worry about what they have missed. Although, if you havent read any of the previous volumes you probably should, because they are ace and they will make your life better. Is it time for issue #2 yet?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curb Stomp #1

Feb 24, 2015

Though parallels have been drawn between this and '70s cult classic The Warriors, the only real similarity between the two is that they both are about gangs. Curb Stomp bypasses camp for something far more realistic and should it stay on course it looks to be one of the more interesting series of 2015. Although the violence may prove too much for some readers and the title may be a little off putting it is not unfair to say that with a unique take on gang dynamics, turf warfare, and an emphasis on the issues associated with gender, equality and social class, Ferrier and Neogi are creating another platform for which to hold discussion about representation and diversity within the comic's community in the most badass way I can think of.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Feathers #1

Jan 7, 2015

Feathers really is a delightful read. Poe makes for an excellent and sympathetic protagonist, who would not be out of place amongst the cast of Grimms Fairy Tales. If youre looking for an all ages, adventure story in the vein of Coraline and Over The Garden Wall, you may want to pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Feathers #2

Feb 9, 2015

Forgetting about the City and the Maze, the Mice and the guards, the story that lies at the center of Feathers is one of friendship. Friendship and the way it changes people, makes them better and braver and bolder. Both Poe and Bianca have spent their lives shielded from the outside world, whether due to fear of hurt, or respect of order. Ultimately, the result, is the same - Poe and Bianca are lonely. They are both desperately in need of a friend. Not only is this a book for readers of all ages, it is a book for outcasts. It is a book for kids who are looking for adventure and, more importantly, someone to share it with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy #3

Dec 3, 2014

Essentially this book gives the reader the best of Batman Meets Scooby Doo via Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Headed up by a diverse and predominantly female cast but completely void of every trope associated with them; Gotham Academy is everything teenage Kelly needed from comics and everything present Kelly wants.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gotham Academy #4

Jan 28, 2015

It cant be denied that there is something special happening between these pages. Personally, I dont know if it's nostalgia for being a teenager obsessed with all things paranormal and Buffy the Vampire Slayer or something else entirely but this book brings me such joy. It is an absolute delight and I cant help but read with a big grin on my face. Its a huge step away from DCs usual offerings and it really does have something for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy #6

Mar 25, 2015

Gotham Academy has everything. Romance, mystery, suspense, high school drama, a cast that gets better with every issue, and most importantly, a great creative team. A team who are not only pushing for diversity and inclusivity within comics, but who are delivering it with every issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gotham Academy #7

Jun 10, 2015

Issue #7 is a reminder of how much fun both Gotham Academy and comics in general can be. If you have yet to venture into Gothams most prestigious prep school, now is as good a time as ever as the team begin their second arc. With strong storytelling and beautiful artwork, Gotham Academy is one of the best all ages titles available.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grayson #10

Jul 27, 2015

As we move into the second arc, or series as it has been dubbed, Grayson continues to live up to the hype that surrounds it. By maintaining an exceptionally high standard with regards to both the writing and the artwork Grayson sets itself apart from what could be considered its competitors.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkeye (2016) #4

Mar 7, 2017

The Kate in this book is the Kate I love. She is very good at what she does while simultaneously being a complete mess. She is a caring, intuitive, smart ass who absolutely cannot stop talking and I think we should be best friends. I look forward to seeing more from this team, and cant wait to see what they do with the upcoming team up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #22

Jul 15, 2015

Issue #22 is a wonderful, heart-breaking, tear-inducing ending to the one book I didnt want to end. If youve yet to indulge, what better time to start. I honestly cant recommend Hawkeye highly enough because even though in reality, this has nothing to do with me, sharing it is a little bit like sharing a piece of myself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Help Us! Great Warrior #2

Mar 13, 2015

Help Us! Great Warrior is just too cute. It makes a great addition to BOOMs female focused, all ages selection and fans of Bee and Puppycat are going eat this up and then start a weird online petition to get an animated series and thats totally okay with me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hit: 1957 #2

Apr 30, 2015

For a four parter, Hit: 1957 has a lot going on – there are flashbacks, multiple location changes, and a whole heap of characters but dont let that put you off. Carlson more than delivers a taste of pulp fiction, and Del Rey and Guardias art makes up for any missteps along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Howard The Duck #2

Apr 10, 2015

Issue #2 more than reaches the bar set by issue #1. Its just as off the wall crazy while still being incredibly charming, and most importantly, fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jem and the Holograms #3

May 23, 2015

As this book continues to develop I think it will become increasingly clear that Campbells artwork is not in keeping with the tone of the narrative, because if anything, it is setting the tone. The collaborative nature of Thompson and Campbells work is evident on every page and I am looking forward to seeing the direction in which they decide to take this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jem and the Holograms Annual #2015

Sep 29, 2015

Jem and The Holograms: Outrageous Annual #1 is a lot of fun and tackles the dream sequence trope with its tongue firmly in its cheek. While the nods to some classic cinematic favorites may be lost on younger readers, those of a certain age will definitely enjoy the riffs on Teen Wolf, Mad Max and Star Wars. Consistently amongst IDW Publishing's strongest offerings, Jem and The Holograms: Outrageous Annual #1 is a great example of what an all-ages comic books can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jonesy #1

Feb 9, 2016

While Jonesy may not hit the mark for all readers, it goes further than most in creating something that is simultaneously relatable and whimsical. Readers will find a lot to love and will have fun while doing so. A strong start for an all ages comic book Jonesy is undeniably charming and brimming with promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Karnak #1

Oct 26, 2015

Calculated and brimming with an underlying tension, that feels like a hint toward what is still to come Karnak #1 is yet another strong offering from Marvel's "All-New, All-Different" line of titles, and an even stronger approach to a character who is often pushed to the sidelines.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lumberjanes #10

Jan 21, 2015

Totally adorable and unashamedly feminist, Lumberjanes feels like it was written with people like me in mind, and when I say people like me, I mean girls. Girls as defined by them selves and not by their relationships with the men in their lives. Featuring both an all girl cast and creative team, Lumberjanes is an all-ages adventure for the hardcore lady types in your life. The boys too, but lets be honest, they get enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Midnighter (2015) #3

Aug 9, 2015

As a big fan of The Authority and Midnighter in particular I was both excited and apprehensive when this book was announced but 3 issues in and, honestly, I couldnt be happier. I dont know what to say other than Steve Orlando gets it, and as a result Midnighter (the comic) is darkly funny while Midnighter (the man) is completely charming. If you havent already picked up a copy you need to look in the mirror and ask yourself why. There is action, romance, science fiction, an openly gay lead, a whole heap of kicking and punching, amazing artwork, and excellent writing – what more could you want?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Midnighter (2015) #9

Feb 4, 2016

Midnighter isn't just a comic about sarcasm and punching, it is about figuring out who you are, balancing the light and the dark, and it is full of so much heart. On every page, you can feel how much the creative team care about what they are doing and how they are doing it and as a result every issue is a masterpiece in storytelling and besides that, just straight up beautiful to look at. If it's not already, Midnighter should be at the top of your to read pile. And if by chance youve already read it, maybe read it again, just for good measure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mockingbird #1

Mar 14, 2016

With Mockingbird, Cain, Niemczyk and Rosenberg set out to create something different. Something unlike the rest of Marvel's current stable of heroes and spies, and it is not unfair to say that they have gone above and beyond. Mockingbird is tense while remaining lighthearted, beautifully illustrated, and will no doubt leave readers guessing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2014) #12

Feb 19, 2015

Coming off of its first major story arc and newly nominated for the first ever Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity, Ms. Marvel is championing diversity and representation without preaching or patronizing. With something for everyone, Ms. Marvel continues to be a fun and funny addition to marvels all ages selection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2014) #16

Jun 20, 2015

The final page, offers Kamala the boost and support she needs to continue and will leave readers desperate for part two as Wilson introduces Kamala's hero and sets us up for the team-up we have been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
ODY-C #3

Feb 25, 2015

While a gender-bent retelling of an 8th century Greek epic may not sound like the sort of thing you would usually read I would implore you to reconsider. Strange and beautiful, ODY-C is what happens when you throw caution to the wind and jump in with both feet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Over The Garden Wall Special #1

Aug 30, 2015

If you are already a fan or just curious as to why people keep cosplaying as a child with an upside down teapot on his head, Over The Garden Wall #1 is definitely worth your time. However, new readers may find themselves feeling a little lost, as there is very little set up apart from a very brief introduction to the characters. Overall, Over the Garden Wall #1 is an enjoyable and promising starting point, very much in keeping with what we have come to expect from Pat McHale, and the Unknown.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Up #1

Jul 23, 2015

With a strong and engaging start to the series, Power Up#1 looks to leave readers cursing the wait until issue 2. Fun and funny, Leth and Cummings have hit all the right notes and created something truly charming and I cant wait to see where they take it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Power Up #4

Oct 30, 2015

Kate Leth and Matt Cummings are honestly doing such good work on this book. The fact that it has not been picked up turned into animated series yet is, in my opinion, an absolute travesty. Every issue is better than the last. The characters are rich, the story is nuanced and, most importantly, it is just so much fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Skull (2015) #1

Jul 5, 2015

Red Skull #1 stands as a great start to yet another promising Secret Wars tie-in, that I believe gives us some hope for October's relaunch. If action movies, or just fun in general, are your thing, Red Skull #1 is definitely worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rocket Raccoon #6

Dec 12, 2014

Massively tongue-in-cheek and violent without being graphic, Rocket Raccoon is both fun and funny. Featuring what is possibly the best-written Rocket yet, it is easy to see how he sweet-talked all of those princesses into falling for him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Runaways (2015) #3

Aug 25, 2015

Runaways is a fascinating story that features an equally intriguing cast and delivers on multiple levels. With the help of an excellent creative team, Stevenson is rebuilding these characters from the ground up without betraying either their history or their fan bases by pitting them against each other in worlds they would otherwise have never encountered.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Saga #26

Mar 6, 2015

Issue after issue, Saga continues to be one of the most engaging and heartfelt stories to grace the shelves. Although clearly on a mission to break our hearts, I feel as though we are in safe hands with Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples, and I look forward to seeing where this arc takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Secret Six (2014) #2

Feb 11, 2015

Unfortunately, this book is let down somewhat by Lashley's artwork. There seems to be some disconnect in the visual storytelling with regards to both the line work and colour that makes it difficult to follow the story. Some panels, and indeed pages, are fairly minimal in their use of colour and detail, while others are completely overwrought, resulting in the imagery becoming confused and unclear.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Wars Journal #1

May 29, 2015

The one thing I cant help but notice is the way that the stories seem at odds with each other. With the exception of the fact that they are set within Battleworld there is nothing to tie them together and as such the book feels disjointed. While this does not doom the book, it does nothing to help.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sex Criminals #13

Oct 16, 2015

Well written, beautifully illustrated, funny, heart breaking, and sort of gross, issue #13 is everything you could possibly want, and with some interesting twists and intriguing new characters, issue #13 has definitely left me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Silk #2

Mar 22, 2015

Well written and beautifully rendered, Silk is on its way to becoming one of Marvels the most interesting female led titles – its definitely becoming one of my favourites and we are only two issues in.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Silk (2015) #3

Jan 18, 2016

Silk has been one of my favorite Marvel titles for a while there was something about issue #3 that failed to hit the mark. Neither the story nor the artwork succeeded in gripping me and getting through the issue felt like something of a slog. I truly hope that this is not indicative of what is still to come because up until this point, Silk really has been amongst the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Silver Surfer (2014) #8

Jan 14, 2015

I have been hooked on Silver Surfer from the get go, I mean, its essentially about a cute Earth girl kicking it in space with her hot, silver, maybe-boyfriend – whats not to like? This book is honestly just so much fun to read and absolutely beautiful to look at. The characters are likable and multifaceted, and Dan Slott makes you care about every single one, which will make it suck even worse when he gets done killing Spideys and directs his murderous gaze in this direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Silver Surfer (2014) #11

May 4, 2015

There aren't many writers bold enough to even consider telling the exact same story from different perspectives within the same book. Even fewer would actually think to do it. Silver Surfer #11 stands as a testament to what a creative team can achieve if they are willing to take a risk. Interesting, engaging, and with a twist that is both literal and visual, this may be some of Slott and Allred's finest work to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Silver Surfer (2014) #14

Sep 8, 2015

As a whole, Silver Surfer has been a wonderfully fun read, filled with interesting characters and plot points, unfortunately this issue was not indicative of this. I hope it doesnt turn off more casual readers of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Southern Cross #1

Mar 10, 2015

Beautifully executed, Southern Cross is every bit as anxiety inducing as expected. The suspense builds ever so slowly throughout the issue and, assuming the rest of the book didn't grab you, the very last page will leave you desperate for answers and #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Southern Cross #5

Sep 20, 2015

If you have yet to check out Southern Cross, issue 5 of a 6 part series may not be the best place to begin, however, should a wonderfully 80s, sci fi, action thriller with a diverse cast and a rad female protagonist be the kind of thing that usually piques your interest – and lets face it, why wouldnt it be I would highly recommend you taking a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #1

Oct 19, 2015

Fun, fast-paced, and just lovely to look at, Radioactive Spider-Gwen will definitely appeal to fans of fellow spider-verse heroine Silk as well as titles such as The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl and Batgirl. This is a strong offering from Marvel's "All-New, All-Different" lineup, and a solid introduction to one of their female-fronted titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #4

Jan 18, 2016

The creative team behind Spider-Gwen are moving from strength to strength with each passing issue and increasing the drama and tension as they go. While on the surface Spider-Gwen may seem like a fun, all-ages book, there are darker themes that lie beneath the jokes and eye-catching pinks and purples which will leave readers with much more to chew upon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Woman (2014) #3

Jan 22, 2015

While there is nothing wrong with the story as such, the art just does not sit well with me and, in my opinion, really lets the book down. The decision to put an artist like Greg Land on a book aimed primarily at women is just baffling. Luckily, Hopeless makes up for Lands shortcomings and prevents this book from being a total loss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Woman (2014) #6

Apr 13, 2015

Still a site for controversy, whether as a result of her costume, or her cover art, Spider-Woman continues to kick ass regardless of what you may or may not think. Coming strong out of "Spider-Verse" and two issues into the current arc, Hopeless, Rodriguez and Lopez are going from strength to strength with each issue, and don't seem to be showing any signs of quitting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Princess Leia #1

Mar 4, 2015

Princess Leia stands apart from its counterparts by being the only of the three recent Star Wars titles that is aimed primarily at a female audience. Accessible to those with no prior knowledge of the Star Wars universe, but not positioned in such a way as to alienate longtime fans, Princess Leia looks to be off to a strong start. However, at this point it is difficult to see whether it will be able to build any real momentum over its five-issue run.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Starfire #2

Jul 13, 2015

There seems to be some sort of disconnect that prevents Starfire from really hitting the mark. It is, for example, rather difficult to gauge who the book is really aimed at. It is potentially too adult for the Teen Titans fan base, and too teenaged and female focused for fans of Red Hood and The Outlaws. While not a stand-out issue, Starfire was not entirely unenjoyable, and longtime fans of the character will most likely be able to find something to love.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #5

May 20, 2016

Fans of Chilling Adventures of Sabrina will be glad of its long awaited return and the pace with which it picks up the story. Aguirre-Sacasa and Hack continue to create a book that plays horror against teenage angst in a way that feels unique and does not merely result in a slasher story. Well written and masterfully illustrated, Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #5 was well worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Fiction #1

Jun 16, 2015

It would be easy to draw parallels between what has so far been revealed of The Fiction and stories like The Unwritten, or The Inkheart Trilogy. However, while these assertions would not be unfounded, they would be a little reductive, as while the narrative may feel familiar, it is the differences that make The Fiction such a compelling read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #2

Feb 9, 2015

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl is cute and fun, and assuming you are in fact a human person who likes things, chances are you will enjoy this book. If you are a little reticent about the cutesy nature of this book let me assure you that The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl is in no way a girl's comic. This book is for everyone and I promise you, you will not lose dude points or catch girl germs if you read it. If anything, you will catch awesome - an illness for which there is no known cure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thor (2014) #5

Feb 11, 2015

But beyond these quibbles, Thor #5 is definitely an issue for the girls " Thor, Titania, Freya, and Sif all make their presence, and inability to suffer fools known within the pages of #5. These are not identikit women, and each possesses an agency and speaks with a voice all of her own. Whether beating down B-list bad guys or partaking in a little girl talk on the moon, these women are getting stuff done in ways the boys can only dream of.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Toil and Trouble #1

Sep 1, 2015

Toil and Trouble is a book with great potential, both as a reimagining and as a story that could stand apart from its source material. How far it will eventually stray from the original is yet to be seen but Shakespeare purists need not be disheartened by its liberal interpretation because what is lost from the original text is made up for with beautiful art, strong writing and a captivating narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Vampirella (2016) #2

Apr 9, 2016

Vampirella does more than appeal to the teenaged 90s goth that resides within my soul, it appeals to the grown up that wears my body and pays bills and stuff. It's not only fun and relevant but it takes something that I, and others, have previously found intimidating and made it accessible to newcomers and women, alike. Its one more step in the right direction and I am excited to see where this step takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wolf Moon #1

Dec 4, 2014

As a side note, and feel free to call me pedantic, but I cannot believe that no one at Vertigo picked up the typo in the credits. Its driving me insane.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Wolf Moon #3

Feb 9, 2015

Though not without its flaws, Wolf Moon could be viewed in very much the same way as so many B-list horror movies are: campy, gruesome, tongue-in-cheek, and most importantly capable of ascending to cult status with ease. When approached from this perspective much of what could be considered as problematic is transformed into a positive as it moves beyond the avenues of what some would refer to as good taste.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wytches #4

Feb 4, 2015

Wytches is scary. Knots in your stomach, butterflies in your chest, cant read it before bed because you will have nightmares, scary. By creating a mythology that draws from fairy tales, folklore, and every fear you ever had growing up near the woods, Snyder is telling campfire stories for grown-ups in the best way possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wytches #5

Mar 25, 2015

Unlike many of the books that fall under the banner of horror, Wytches is consistently and unequivocally unsettling. From the very first page you feel the tension rise, along with hairs on the back of your neck. In what is unquestionably a horrifying addition to the witch mythos, Snyder and Jock have given us cause enough to stay out of the woods for life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Zodiac Starforce #2

Oct 4, 2015

Although we are currently only 2 issues into the series I dont think it would be unfair to say that with bffs, mean girls, crushes, monsters, portals, and pesky kids, Zodiac Starforce lights the way.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More