Khadjiah Johnson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 85
8.9Avg. Review Rating

8.6
Absolute Carnage vs. Deadpool #1

Aug 22, 2019

The creative team gave this comic a cinematic feel with deep sharp cuts and even wittier clap-backs. With this, unfortunately it can be easy for readers to get lost towards the middle. The scenes reveal like a horror film. Releasing surprise after surprise, so it will be a fun read if you pay close attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Absolute Carnage vs. Deadpool #3

Oct 22, 2019

Though the metaphorical implications were beautiful, I wanted to see more experimentation with language. It felt like the weight of the content did more work than the writing could have done. We brought the lord of symbiotes to the field, one with a grudge for both Spidey and Deadpool, there was so much that could have been done. We learn lessons on friendship, sacrifice, the journey to mental health but what was missing was the recognition of mental turmoil. It didn't spend enough time on growth, the transition felt like light flickering which made me wonder, what happens if we left the lights off for once? What would be Deadpool's experience?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Acts of Evil: Deadpool Annual #1

Aug 22, 2019

Deadpool Annual gave me the heart to believe that without my knowledge Wade could be out here wrestling with the burdens in my subconscious. Ain't that the most beautiful thing a Merc could do for a fan?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Batman: Damned #1

Sep 20, 2018

The writing style was phenomenal, but once a path is opened it could be more concrete. Even a broad path with many possibilities would help. I would love to see how each component introduced in this initial entry ties into the next one which comes out in November. This would push it away from the slight biographical stillness and towards a plot-centered format that used previous experiences and metaphors as tools for reader enlightenment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman: Damned #2

Dec 12, 2018

Batman Damned #2 didn't have that anxious and flexible shape like the previous issue. Rather it presented layers of memories and gave room to unpack them throughout the panels. It still stands on its own, and I hope to see a merger of both the thrill of the darkness and the rage of painful memories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman: Damned #3

Jun 25, 2019

Batman Damned #3 helped me question the idea of letting go. What does letting go of your fears look like? What is it rooted in, and why does it still affect the decisions you make now? I learned about my own trauma in Batman Damned. Honestly, this limited series was an amazing trip that challenges readers to reflect on their own decisions, their relationship to control, and its ability to inhibit us from making decisions healthy for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #1

Oct 26, 2018

The Kibblesmith and Ortiz team pulled through and used chaos as a metaphor to establish the climate between our two protagonists. The thin line between understanding necessities and taking advantage for preservation is a conversation that leaks into our current realities. I am excited to wander into the battle these two will be forced to conquer or fail whether it is internal criticisms, fears, or just plain out fisticuffs for a misunderstanding.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #2

Dec 3, 2018

Ricardo Lpez Ortiz really heightened this experience and honestly I'm down for the cause. If there is one thing I appreciate about comic artistry is its ability to align with content and push the narrative in other directions. Words are beautiful but if we just wanted words we'd read a novel. Oritz matches the messiness of the relationship with the strokes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #3

Dec 24, 2018

This issue had this weird obsession with heads that brought both the artistry and metaphorical word play together. The “Christmas Dream” versus the “Halloween Tricks” is a great embodiment of a metaphorical BP vs DP even if their targets are not each other. This comic was both an interesting trip and a great reflection on the embodiment of word and art cohesiveness.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #4

Feb 1, 2019

We see T'Challa in “NO” mode from the jump. It doesn't seem as if he has assessed all the issues before him and the line of hero vs villain is not as blurred as it should. It feels like depending on character bias you could lean on either side. In an experience like this, I should be cringing for rooting for either side.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #5

Mar 3, 2019

The Kibblesmith-Ortiz team took the opportunity to highlight the brutality of two warriors attempting to save something important to them, that they end up being swallowed in this pseudo-heroic act. Consistently trying to save their separate worlds from one another or steal something they feel is necessary for the growth of their environment. I hope to see more from this duo in the future as the expressions and body language accompanied by the sharp wit honestly hit in every aspect, and exactly when it needed to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Black Panther: Long Live The King #1

Dec 14, 2017

In spite of this disaster being used as an extended metaphor, at times it felt like a crutch. This creature that caused the earthquake felt like it didn't cause any damage. If we're going to have a creature causing huge chaos can it at least do something? It felt like it was there to scare people but it didn't do any of the scaring? The writer felt like it was doing the bulk of the work meanwhile the artistry was snagging behind it. The art felt a bit distracting rather than helpful at times, but it didn't destroy the content.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
By Night #1

Jun 12, 2018

Outside of the storytelling, I appreciated the humor. It was dark and hidden at moments and I appreciated the subtlety. The dialogue was sneaky and snappy. It is sure to bring out a couple of chuckles during a re-read. When I finished the comic, I went back to see if there were any knee-slappers I missed. I cant wait to see what our duo unleashes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deadpool (2018) #1

Jun 8, 2018

I would also love to see more linking between Deadpool's thoughts. Though his character is known to be random and it adds on to his likability, the travel between consciousness needs to be tightened. I loved traveling in-between his soliloquies and hearing him create scenarios. I saw how these scenarios faintly linked together with the loneliness of his condition, which was initially a beautiful add-on. With this, I believe that the writer should take the risks that is there. Either tighten up the linking between DP's mind or make it so random that it makes the humor jarring. Deadpool presents plenty risks that could be taken. There will be much to gain, from taking the character through that journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Deadpool (2018) #2

Jul 6, 2018

This comic will make you ask yourself: “Did I miss something?” I can't wait to see Skottie and Nic put their foot into the future of this series and properly represent one of my favorite anti-heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Deadpool (2018) #5

Oct 7, 2018

The first arc of Deadpool 2018 was one to admire and came with a mixture of emotions. It stole the show and then left me lost. It created obnoxious belly laughs and then made me cringe in the next. The Young-Hepburn team has set their foot in soil that will continue to grow. I am excited to see what emerges in the second arc. The new contrasts and new knee slaps.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Deadpool (2018) #6

Nov 9, 2018

Sometimes sadness is jaunting, at times it feels out of place. Maybe the light does not always reflect the possibilities after sadness. It felt like what was going on right here, right now. Nothing else mattered but this illusion of being caged even in open spaces. Give me Deadpool in all of his existential crisis. In pain, without the dick jokes. In prime chaotic neutral. Give me Deadpool, even when Deadpool doesn't want to be Deadpool.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Deadpool (2018) #7

Dec 7, 2018

In all, this issue is a certified eye-roller and gives you all the holiday bloodshed to sweep you into the new year. Waiting to see what the Young-Klein squad got cooking up for 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Deadpool (2018) #8

Jan 4, 2019

Guns n Piglets With Deadpool being the anti-hero that he is, this issue honestly made me hype. By like page five I internally shouted “DEATH TO CUTE THINGS”. And honestly, if there was anything that I think deserves to be tainted is the idea that cuteness cannot live within the same paradigm of destruction. The Young-Klein team helped me understand Deadpool even more as a being who is consistently at battle with his own titles. I'm extremely excited for what this will bring to future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deadpool (2018) #9

Feb 9, 2019

In this issue the comic feels like a journey to find Deadpool's heart through various methods, which is cute. But I was continuously waiting for something to happen that brought out Wade's character outside of his usual mannerisms.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Deadpool (2018) #10

Mar 11, 2019

I hope to see more movement within the next issue. Blood battles and gruesome cracks does not necessarily make everything “awesome”. But there are various ways to heighten a scenery and allow moments within the comic such as metaphorical aspects and literal components to serve as a vehicle to push the comic forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Deadpool (2018) #11

Apr 7, 2019

What I will look forward to in future issues is the expansion of these arcs. What do these villains and side characters bring out in Deadpool? It often feels like as funny and amazing the issues are, I'm consistently trying to figure out “How does this relate to Wade?” This can be great short snippets, and maybe I am trying to psycho-analyze and do the impossible, but I am missing Wade's motivations. I get his reactions but not enough of the analysis.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Deadpool (2018) #12

May 3, 2019

Was this issue entertaining? Yes. Did it do what I know it was capable of? No.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Deadpool (2018) #13

Jun 9, 2019

The comic could have done more by allowing these metaphors to live beyond just a quick laugh here and there. An example, maybe allowing these characters to serve as different entities of Deadpool and how he sees himself in comparison to others? Relating mundane objects to the idea of mediocrity versus strength? I know there were many ways to do this, but I'm oddly excited to see the next entry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Deadpool (2018) #14

Jun 21, 2019

I kept rooting for him as everything fell down around him. I guess what I learned from this comic is that failure comes in different forms. Maybe it isn't failure at all, but simple recognition that certain things are not cut out for you. You do all that you could, and it could still fall apart. This does not necessarily change your talents, but encourages you to shift in the direction it should have been going this whole time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Deadpool (2018) #15

Jul 20, 2019

What I hope to see for future Deadpool comics is the celebration of that specific Wade Wilson ‘randomness that actually makes sense'. There were some times while reading the series where I felt completely confused as to how the narrative arrived at where it did.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Deadpool (2019) #1

Nov 22, 2019

In this issue we still get our saucy mercenary who doesn't know the right time to shut up, the right basis of all good things Deadpool.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Deadpool: Assassin #1

Jun 14, 2018

The flashbacks were a nice touch that allowed us to see this soft side to our almost-immortal mercenary. After being in the mercenary game for years, your outlook changes. Relationships transform, and so does your relationship to what you do. The flashbacks set a reflective mood; and the reader will often go back and forth between DP's internal reflections, silly banter, and doing his job. This is one I wish to reread over and over again. It felt like I was playing the DP video game with every page turn. This comic is a reminder to the audience so they can remember who the real Wade Wilson is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool: Assassin #2

Jun 29, 2018

Cullen Bunn's interpretation of Deadpool not only gave me chills but an added respect. I was always a fan of DP, but this gave me an extra opening for appreciation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Deadpool: Assassin #3

Jul 14, 2018

Great job, but left a bit more for wanting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Deadpool: Assassin #4

Jul 30, 2018

Sharpen That PencilPhew, if there was anything that heightened the excitement in this comic, it was the artwork. Bagley made it swish this time. Because the colors were bright and hyperactive, I felt my heart-rate pickup. The gore was still present, but the focus went on vibrant colors and action scenes. I knew what was at stake, and it felt like there was a timer associated with Deadpool's death and his relationships. What lacked in immediate humor, provided itself in the coloring. I never felt separated from the page, and this is one of the rare moments where I found the art played an even stronger role in determining the protagonist's personality when the words weren't always available.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool: Assassin #5

Aug 17, 2018

The setting play felt dizzy, yet definite. It was mostly monochromatic until big movements that caused for big color display, then right back to chromaticism. In previous issues, though monochromes was used in most dark scenes, there was this guilt in the atmosphere I already felt before I reached the fifth page. This comic, made me excited to feel guilt, and that's scary. I'm literally sad there's only one more issue left.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Deadpool: Assassin #6

Sep 3, 2018

Deadpool Assassins #7 is honestly the limited series that I will look up to when I read other DP limited series. As a fan I felt like I was tugged along the story and I was watching it all go down right there in person as if I got some blood on my t-shirt. This is a comic that DP fans would look for if they want a gush of entertainment with a hefty side of existential crisis.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Exiles (2018) #3

May 11, 2018

First our heroes are stuck in a different reality then three minutes later they are fighting the perpetrator? Did this ending feel earned? I enjoyed being caught in a daze while reading the comic, but at the same time I was consistently trying to figure out “How did we get here?” The comic felt like a train that went express, right before your stop on the local line. I would love to see how this transitions into their next battle and what kind of speed and imagery the creators will use to engage their audiences.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Exiles (2018) #4

Jun 15, 2018

Now the critical part of me is like “So y'all just HAD to use slavery right?” I'm tired of Black identities and Black struggles being used as a metaphor to push forward a story line. There are so many other things that could possibly be used. I don't know, use a battle in Greece. Make Alexander the Great pop up and not be aware of his own greatness. I love seeing Black folk in literature, movies, etc. I'm here for it, but slavery is kind of over used. Maybe there is more of a reason why it is brought up later on that directly deals with the previous story line. I always love seeing my Black folks get free from their shackles. Appreciate that they are trying to say “save these people first”, but we been saved long time ago B. NEXT.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Exiles (2018) #5

Jul 14, 2018

What I can't wait to see more of, is character backgrounds. The great thing about this comic is that it brings back various versions of characters from past issues/different dimensions. As someone who might not remember details, or never read it, it is kind of hard to follow the minor details. It might help to add some asterisks where there are important moments to look back on. It might tear the fourth wall a bit, but it is something that hindered my understanding in the past issues. You need some research for these comics, which is beautiful because reflection. Annoying because not all of the time does that heighten the experience when you don't remember what certain sections are referencing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Exiles (2018) #7

Sep 2, 2018

The series is starting to pick up, and I am excited to see where it goes. I can't wait to see what lessons I will learn in some upcoming disastrous atmosphere. Saladin Ahmed and the guest artist team need to take all my dolla dolla bills if they going to continue pushing content out like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Exiles (2018) #8

Sep 16, 2018

The artistry this time was so subtle, and I appreciate it. In past issues, you can see the colors being highlighted, and the playfulness pushing out even in moments of seriousness. This time I appreciated that I can enjoy the colors but also feel the somberness and tension as if I was in a movie. In digital mediums, we often see characters and colors fading, but here we see the colors hug each other. It's hard to look at the art and not feel like you're encompassed in the same room. Hard to not notice the same shifts in emotion and time period. I hope to see this subtlety rise and fall in future issues and take this comic to new heights.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Geek-Girl Vol 2 #1

Jun 1, 2018

What I loved about the comic, is the outright quirkiness that is sometimes hard to execute without being forced.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #1

Sep 5, 2019

We're going to see what our characters are willing to lose in order to gain stability. Houser, Melo and Morales teach us through Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy #1 that a balance scale is all about learning what's too heavy for us to carry. Sometimes burdens will be lifted by faith and other times we have to suffer when our fears tips it out of balance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #4

Dec 11, 2019

If you weren't rooting for them before Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy #4 is a fun comic bound to make you look back twice. But if you're a returning fan of this duo, you will be sure to soak in this content like osmosis.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #6

Feb 12, 2020

This was one of my favorite scenes of the limited series because the creative team was able to breakdown vulnerability and anger and display it across “happy colors.” Disrupting the sadness with brightness and it felt poetic because we noticed the brightness of growth and yet sometimes bright colors are harsh on the eyes and it often disrupts our vision. This series was a great reflection of the path towards leaving things behind and sometimes that means letting someone go in order to fulfill your own healing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Harriet Tubman Demon Slayer #1

Apr 16, 2018

For those who love the medium of a comic book: This is the Harriet we have been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Infinity Wars: Soldier Supreme #1

Sep 21, 2018

The unique perspective of the beloved Steve Rogers is ever growing and the transformations are inevitable. I appreciate Duggan and Kuberts contribution to the various sides of this war hero. Infinity Wars: Soldier Supreme #1 gave off a classical vibe that many comic lovers would enjoy. There were times I felt lost, but it did not take away too much from the experience where I felt like I needed to step away.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Infinity Wars: Soldier Supreme #2

Oct 28, 2018

I hope that the rest of the series picks up in a way that does not make these mergers as corny as they seem. Concepts can be corny, but you can make it fire if the writing and display of the idea is phenomenal. This comic fits readers who are looking for more casual reads and want a filler between their sessions. It does the job just right but not enough to make it as amazing as I imagined it would.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Invisible Woman (2019) #1

Jul 14, 2019

The Waid-De Iulis team managed to pull on the hearts of readers by showing Sue as both the powerhouse and the wallflower. What I hope to see in future issues is an analysis of her powers and how that reflects in Sue's movements. It would be an interesting way to not only talk about the growth of Sue as a hero, but Sue's relationship with those around her. When is Sue a force field? When is Sue invisible? What does her world look like when she's both? I'm excited to see what this world looks like.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Invisible Woman (2019) #2

Aug 9, 2019

A great focus would be, other than teaming up with Black Widow, Sue's agenda for saving a lost friend. Who is this for? What is she trying to achieve? With that, I believe that our Invisible Woman will have more buoyancy. The Wade-De Iulis team does a good job in setting the stage, but I believe with more actionable words, and choices the team has the potential to set the show.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Invisible Woman (2019) #3

Sep 13, 2019

The comic is filled with exciting twists, the art to text play is something that I see is being dabbled with. I would love to see that being explored more. If the creative team could find a way to reflect the emotions Sue is feeling within the art display as a form of “reveal” it would be a sight to see. Almost like a hidden treasure, very much like The Invisible Woman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Invisible Woman (2019) #4

Nov 1, 2019

If you're interested in getting to know Sue Storm-Richards better, this is the best issue to do it. We get to see Sue highlight her weaknesses and combat them. I hope that the creative team uses the stakes they have created to further gray the likelihood of success.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #3

Jan 16, 2020

Legion of Super Heroes is a beautiful beginning to a whole lot of trouble.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Man-Eaters #1

Sep 26, 2018

I hope to see the metaphors unravel in various aspects of the comic in future issues. They got the suspense down, the voice down, and even down to the character personality. I hope to see how the metaphors not only play out in her own development, but in the future setbacks as well. The creative team set forth an amazing start. What will make the comic better is the ease in transitions. Since the storyline focused on outlining the setting, situations, and set up, it often jumped in various places. Granted for the first issue it was exciting, and the set up was amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Man-Eaters #2

Nov 1, 2018

I appreciate the fact that this team knows the power that's behind them and continuously capitalizes on it. What don't we see when we talk about periods? Bright colors and sunshine. We often see it associated with pain, maturity, growing up, moodiness. Yes, let's all talk about that and add a sarcastic pamphlet to go along with it to spruce it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Man-Eaters #3

Nov 28, 2018

Reflecting on the pace of this series I keep thinking it is moving kind of slow. Granted the content and the metaphorical aspects are really important. Yet at the same time, Maude hasn't done anything moving except discover her period. That is still an important aspect, but the build-up is starting to get a little long. I'm pretty sure the “Aw shit. It's about to go down” is coming. She's showing those “symptoms”.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Man-Eaters #5

Jan 30, 2019

I am happy about the usage of brightness. I also like to appreciate the dark color schemes that are projected outside of things directly related to womanhood. The colors fill a different role in building suspense and play a huge part in conveying the contrasts between society's different views of womanhood. One thing I hope to see in future issues is the merging of both of these visuals. A bright narrative exploring dark color schemes in order to create a sneaky suspense. Man-Eaters gives you the bright when its dark, and the dark when its dark but I'd love to see it give the dark when it's bright. That feeling of self doubt that exists in the midst of the hormone swings.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Man-Eaters #6

Feb 27, 2019

I loved what this issue offered, but its delivery this time did not hit the marks exactly where it should have. On one hand, I understand the “women in hiding.” The consistent battle of deciding what parts of womanhood to hide. What's normal for public consumption versus what is seen as too feminine to exist. I am also here for the feminist videos and metaphorical placements in Maude's life as she opens up to the idea of womanhood more. At the same time, I feel like these were just tools for young readers to find feminist content in everything, which I am high key here for. At the same time, how can we use these tools to push forward Maude's narrative outside of “passive aggressive hiding.”

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Man-Eaters #7

Mar 27, 2019

I had various questions that consistently came to mind. What does each feminine/hygiene product symbolize throughout the series? What role will this hygiene product play in comparison to all of the “feminine” reduction chemicals throughout the series? Blood will always be a main topic, but will its purpose transform beyond cats and periods? What I assume to be a huge twist to come next issue, I'm excited to see the decisions that the Cain-Niemczyk team will make in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Man-Eaters #8

Apr 24, 2019

The Man-Eaters series continuously makes brave movements without caring if others find it palatable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Man-Eaters #9

Jun 5, 2019

“Menstruation is Dangerous”The beauty of Man-Eaters #9 is that it does not decrease the content and livelihood of the previous eight issues. The series is fun, and it feels like a wonderful journey every time I pick it up to read. Granted, this installation I was not much of a fan of the artwork. I was pleased to see Maude's reworking, but it felt like some of the risks that were taken in previous issues were not taken this time. On one hand, not everything has to be fun and playful, but I didn't feel like the characters met to the standard of the expressions the writing is giving.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Man-Eaters #10

Jul 3, 2019

What I hope to see in future installations of Man-Eaters is the incorporation of political values outside of the general realm. Even though the talks about violence against women's bodies is important, it is equally important to talk about bodies outside of feminine whiteness. I enjoyed the inclusion of people outside of those who identify with she/her pronouns in the talks about menstruation and violence. I believe that the violence against People of Color and their experiences with these bodily functions will heighten the realism of this comic. It will add another layer of understanding if went about carefully and not stereotypically.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Man-Eaters #11

Sep 11, 2019

In all, I enjoy the structure and appeal the Man Eaters series has allowed readers to experience. The series brought a kind of psychological intensity that feels both realistic and scary. I imagine that future issues would be able to bring forth new ways in which conversations about periods have become a political statement. Wishing Maude great feminist waves and “Panther” surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Man-Eaters #12

Oct 2, 2019

The Malleable ManualI enjoyed it for what it is. It was presented flashy and quirky much like the other issues. The writing was quippy when it was present, but this issue was a tribute. Maude's manual allowed the colors and stroke work to really speak for itself. Diagrams really shone as a star. This is something I have always loved about the series. The freeing nature that Man-Eaters exhibits, breaks the fourth wall and vamps up your imagination in ways that inspires you. Though this was fun and engaging, it felt kind of repetitive. We've had a couple of issues like this and I was ready for this to be the best time to start off a story with another patriarchy butt-kickin' femmenista. This felt like an opportunity not taken, but a fun ride none the less.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #1

Mar 2, 2018

To be honest, I can't wait to see the development of Mera over the course of this series. I am even more excited for the water puns, because you can't have an Atlantis comic without water puns. It's blasphemy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #2

Apr 1, 2018

Mera Queen of Atlantis is two issues in and they already coming through with the elite symbolism.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #3

Apr 27, 2018

Mera and Orm in this issue begin to explore what made them say ‘no, I can change this.' Mera's empathy and love for an unlikely lover, drew the line for her. Orm's surprising love for an earth-dweller and new “duties” helps him understand how it could be to lose the two things that soothes him. Conflict is trying to heal your own toxicity, and the toxicity of your own home.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #4

May 23, 2018

I believe that this comic captured a perfect mind versus environment metaphor within the text. The consistent movement between the tide and the consciousness. What to accept and what to leave behind. Sand being what's under the surface, and wanting to scrape it out, but sand still being a safe haven one could return to. This series taught me more about the art of letting things go than many books I read in my younger years.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #5

Jun 27, 2018

9.5 Clam Bikinis out of 10Reading Mera Queen of Atlantis? Find BNP's other reviews of the series here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #6

Jul 25, 2018

Not once did I question her ability to whoop Orm into the next empire. In spite of Mera being at a disadvantage, Orm never looked like he would succeed. The moments Mera pointed out what he is losing when he agreed to this fight is when he seemed more vulnerable. Mera Queen of Atlantis taught me about finesse. You might not have a physical weapon in your hand, but once you learn how to finesse your disadvantages, the crown will magically fall on your head.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Ms. Marvel (2015) #25

Dec 21, 2017

Therefore, I have some questions: When will Kamala come out of her cave? At what point will the world blow up before she appears? Because if she doesn't pop up soon, will someone eat that sandwich? You know that we can't be wasting sandwiches like that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #1

Dec 29, 2017

The subtle metaphor of the bird that was prevalent throughout the comic. A flaming bird (Phoenix), but at the same time an entity that disappears and returns in between seasons. The artwork followed the same crisp feeling that was evicted from the text itself. The movements were sharp yet flowing, very much like a fire. The comic altogether mingled in this anxious dance, and it left me saying, “we see the signs, where is she?!”

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #2

Jan 5, 2018

Psy-KickHow the writers will use the X-Men's lack of psychics to get in touch with their old teammate? There is this energy concerning loss that circulates among the group. This consistent push and pull that the X-Men goes through is a metaphor throughout each series. Rosenberg uses death as a tactical approach to nostalgia. How can one create a eulogy for someone they consistently resurrect? This series is going to be the hardest to put down, but the saddest to pick up. I just can't stop saying, they are about to lose their friend, again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #3

Jan 12, 2018

Does the powerful aspects of our past selves overcome what we have transformed into today? Jean Grey is no longer dead, but which piece of her is the strongest part of her resurrection? What does this change about the X-Men and their fallen friend? The presence of shadows stretched across the issue; which really spoke to the idea of a rebirth of “darkness”. Which is probably the most ironic thing to arise in the presence of fire.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #4

Jan 25, 2018

This has to be the most emotional entry in the Phoenix Resurrection series. It started to make me think about how the environment around us might make us complacent. Are we moving within our own bubbles in order to feel more comfortable in "pseudo" upward mobility?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #5

Feb 2, 2018

I loved this ending, and would not have wanted this resurrection to happen any other way. Enjoy your potential nine lives Jean Grey.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Shuri (2018) #1

Oct 18, 2018

What I hope to see more of in future issues is the relationship Shuri has with her inventions. We all hear about vibranium's flexibility but it almost feels like a Krabby Patty secret formula. We know what it is capable of but exactly what is happening? A great insight for future readers to have is to understand the limitations that Shuri faces in the creation of said inventions. Granted this super genius grew and will continue to grow, but with new ideas come walls. Not only will this introduction help us better understand the barriers our Black Panther faced to get here, but what she will continue to face as time goes on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Shuri (2018) #2

Nov 23, 2018

Okorafor and Romero cultivated a beautiful partnership that extends into this Wakandan paradise. By using ancestral practices as a foreground to pushing the craft forward, it not only opens up opportunities for historical appreciation but a new profound understanding of where it can take us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Shuri (2018) #3

Dec 21, 2018

From the first issue, Shuri coming to terms that she will not take up the mantle as The Black Panther again to not be compared to her brother. The second issue a battle between the spiritual side and the logic side.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Shuri (2018) #4

Jan 24, 2019

Hold Up with the Weapons The Shuri team is giving us the culture of Wakanda in sensational, expanded breaths. From the first issue I took a breath of hieroglyphs. Next, I was given definitive shapes with cultural implications. By the time Romero caught me with the color schemes, I was given seemingly simplistic notions that aided in a comedic effect throughout the comic. What I hope to see in the future is the merge between these “millennials” from the other African countries. The nervousness was hilarious and classic to say the least, but there is so much more to explore with the leadership mantra. How could we use the outside realm to heighten the need of T'Challa's return, and Shuri's dependency on the ancestors in spite of her feeling like her creations can do the job? Pressure creates diamonds, but Vibranium is a Wakandan genius's best friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Shuri (2018) #5

Feb 22, 2019

Freedom Wings Shuri #5 is the fun read you'd turn to during your dreadful public transit commute. At times it is sure to crack a smile, and maybe a quick “HA!”. Shuri's black girl magic drips off her metal wings and blesses us all. I hope that there will be more integration from the ancestors as Shuri shapes the mantle to fit her goals and the needs of her people.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Shuri (2018) #7

Apr 18, 2019

Not only was the narrative important and the set goals of the characters but the breath of fresh air from the art was amazing too. What I love about Davidson's approach to our beloved heroes is that we get to see facial reactions and movements as a cohesive entity. As much as I loved the hieroglyphic approach to the first couple of arcs of the Shuri comic, at times it made certain movements robotic. Granted its definitive nature was a sight to behold, but I enjoyed the shadowing and hatches in different sections that I did not get as much in previous issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Shuri (2018) #8

May 24, 2019

Our Faded Connections At times these memories haunt us, transforming into different entities that take over our well-being. Being in touch with them can open up both previous trauma and ways that were used to escape it. Not all memories bring back joy. Sometimes they hold us hostage. I feel like this comic was in tune with that sentiment. Shuri #8 opened my eyes to the fact that our own memories our sometimes the villain in our story. We can't always overpower them and we may not be able to vocalize them, there are people to help us (…did Shuri #8 give me a lesson or two on how to deal with depressive episodes? Probably.) The Okorafor-Scott-Lopez team took us on a journey through quips, colors, and famous tunes to help readers come to terms with combating erasure on our own spiritual journeys.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Shuri (2018) #9

Jun 20, 2019

A step up from the last installment, this issue is filled with more jarring colors and movement. I enjoyed their moments of flight and trip-ups. It pushed the urgency of the narrative, and kept the story moving in a cinematic way. What I hope to see in more Shuri comics is the evidence of this transformation. Now that she has achieved this growth, in what ways will she continue to raise her capabilities? How else can she provide for her people? What other comfort zones does Shuri have that we have yet to unlock? I can't wait to admire what the Shuri Unlimited team has in store for our ever-growing powerhouse.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Smooth Criminals #1

Nov 21, 2018

Artistic AllureI'll admit it, I'm a sucker for colors that pop but are not necessarily bright. The scenery comes together like a really well thought out outfit. The characters color dynamics meld in with their personalities. I thought “Oh this is really Brenda”. Oh, I am able to notice tiny details it doesn't feel like aspects were forgotten. But Mia? Oh Mia's design was my favorite. Her style and presence was meant to stand out from the rest and I felt like it disrupted the current comfortable scenery.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Teen Titans (2016) #38

Jan 15, 2020

The creative team did a great job utilizing color to heighten the emotions of each scene. My favorite panel was the slow realization Damian has which eventually brings him to tears. The scene was subtle and heartbreaking. I enjoyed how the artist used highlighting to evict the conflicting emotions of desire and loss. It was a somber issue as a whole, but once we see tears fall down Damian's face, it was already a chosen fate. I'm excited to see how the gang will handle their adventure and how fate will reveal even bigger sacrifices later in the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Welcome to Wanderland #1

Sep 14, 2018

From the “princess loving preteen” to “cos-playing empresses of the galaxy” this is not only a dream to experience but a comic that will probably seep into my subconscious. I'm excited to see where the “fairy tale gone wrong” will take the readers and what it will add to fans of future creators.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Year of the Villain: Harley Quinn #1

Dec 11, 2019

Villain of The Year is like the (early 2000s) Kids Choice Awards meets the anger of Kanye West when Taylor Swift won that award over Beyonc. Just imagine all of that fun energy with the aura of a side eye through the whole night. That's the best way to describe the movements from the creative team. I would love to see more issues like this, each with a chaotic neutral host that brings out the personality of these villains

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More