Kyle Garret's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 75
7.3Avg. Review Rating

9
9 Months #1

Oct 2, 2008

Let me put it this way: I got to read this issue for free and Ill be buying it anyway when it comes out. Thats how good it is and thats how much its deserving of support.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Adventures of Superman (1987) #521

Dec 5, 2010

Hopefully, this issue is the beginning of Levitz finding his footing with the Legion again. With the academy taking center stage soon and Jimenez coming on board for art, we could be seeing the start of something great for the newly revived Legion.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Adventures of Superman (1987) #522

Jan 10, 2011

Given that the Legion Academy has remained on the fringes for quite some time and that Phil Jimenez is one of the premiere artists working today, I have high hopes for this title. In a lot of ways, it could very quickly become the better of the two Legion titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Atlas #2

Jun 25, 2010

The characters that make up the Atlas team are rife with potential, and Jeff Parker seems determined to delve into as much of their stories as he can, full speed ahead. The complexity of this book is one of the things I love most about it. I just hope its around long enough to tell all those stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Atlas #4

Aug 24, 2010

In the end, that has been the true genius of the assorted Atlas books--the connections. Parker has taken a group of forgotten characters and put together apparently disparate storylines into one, fantastic, complex mythology, although within the trappings of the traditional Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Atlas #5

Oct 4, 2010

I suppose the faults of this issue are fitting then. There was clearly more story to tell and it was brought to an abrupt end, just like Atlas itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman #686

Feb 15, 2009

Ill be honest: I feel a little bad about reviewing this story after only the first part. The fine line I keep mentioning could go astray in the next issue. But I have more faith in this creative team than that; this issue alone gives them plenty of rope to run with as far as Im concerned. Heres hoping the second half of this story is as enjoyable as the first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and Robin #3

Aug 30, 2009

I love this Batman. I have no doubt that we're only going to get him for a limited time, but thank god we got him at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and Robin #13

Jul 11, 2010

I can remember the last time I was ever so eager to re-read my back issues. Oh, wait, yes, I can: it was the last time a Morrison-written Batman title was released.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and Robin #14

Sep 14, 2010

Batman and Robin continues to be one of the best superhero books being published today, and while I'm concerned about the changes coming in the next few months, I'm willing to see where this ride takes me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman and Robin #15

Oct 24, 2010

The Clown Prince of Crime has also never looked better. Frazer Irving has made his distinctive mark on the Dark Knight. Irving has a bold, contrasting style, and I will give it the highest compliment I can: if Frazer Irving signs on to draw a Robin comic starring Damian, I will buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin #16

Nov 7, 2010

Then again, maybe were going to see Morrisons other ultimate Batman story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman and Robin #18

Dec 19, 2010

The issue ends with Absence attacking Vicki Vale, who is, coincidentally, trying to come up with a word to use in her story. She ponders using Cyclopean--because, you know, thats a pretty common word used by journalists and has nothing to do with the fact that the giant hole in Absences head seems like a single, giant eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman, Inc. #1

Nov 21, 2010

So much of Morrisons work on Batman so far has been focused on the past; Im excited to see what he does with the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman, Inc. #2

Dec 26, 2010

Im really interested to see where Morrison goes with this concept and whether or not it will become an issue. I dont see how it cant, and I think the revelation on the last page was supposed to tip us off as to whats to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 #16

Sep 25, 2008

This may seem an overly negative review; Im brushing past the good stuff, like the scenes between Xander and Dawn (particularly when the castle is attacked), Buffy meeting Gunther, and much of the dialogue (but not all). I just keep waiting for the weaknesses of this book to iron out. I keep waiting for Whedon to realize that hes not writing the show anymore, hes writing a comic, and that adjustments need to be made. Hes managed to do that here and there, but by this point Im expecting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Charlatan's Ball #2

Jul 17, 2008

With Godland coming to an end due to sales, heres hoping that Charlatans Ball will be able to fill that void and that its lower price point (only $2.50!) will help it avoid the same fate.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Charlatan's Ball #5

Dec 6, 2008

I have no idea how well Charlatan Ball is selling, but I hope its enough for Casey and Suriano to keep creating it. It would be a shame to see such a unique book, a modern remix of those '70s Marvel books, fall by the wayside.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Creature Feature #1

Jul 11, 2008

No anthology is perfect, but the positives in Creature Feature #1 are stronger than the negatives are weak. If they build around the last story and strengthen the one and done stories, Creature Feature should only get better with time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Daredevil (2011) #1

Jul 24, 2011

However, Ive been longing to get back into the Marvel Universe lately. My problem was that the vast majority of their books seem to be connected to some kind of event or crossover, and held little interest for me. Im also not a fan of paying 4 bucks for a traditional length comic, but Daredevil #1 has extra pages for the extra dollar. But, really, it was the creative team that convinced me to give this book a shot, and Im glad that I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC Comics Presents: Legion of Super-Heroes: Legion of the Damned #1

May 16, 2011

So, despite the fact that it doesnt feature the Legion team that is currently appearing the books by the same name, is it worth your time and money? Hey, it was worth my time many times over, has now been worth my money twice. Its a great read and a great way to learn about the core of the Legion, something that remains the same from reboot to reboot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics #880

Jul 31, 2011

But suddenly that story took a turn. James was altering the chemical components of his pills to make him less sane, and he was also preparing to use that formula against the entire city of Gotham. Suddenly, he was no longer this very personal, very real problem. Now hed turned into some kind of super villain clich. It was a completely unnecessary turn that ruined what had come before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics #881

Aug 14, 2011

Allow me to summarize my feelings thusly: Scott Snyder will always get the benefit of the doubt from me from now on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Doom Patrol (2009) #1

Aug 9, 2009

I absolutely love this combination of characters in a single book. Honestly, I'd gladly pay another extra dollar if they could add a good Challengers of the Unknown feature to this, but that's just me. Maybe we'll get that when DC does their next price hike.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Echoes #2

Jan 31, 2011

If you're not reading Echoes, do yourself a favor and track down the first two issues. This is the type of book that needs support in the monthly format, so don't wait on a trade get it now and enjoy having a month between issues to let it sink in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Echoes #4

Mar 26, 2011

So, no, dont wait for the collected edition. Go to your local comic book store and tell them to order all the back issues. And then sit down and enjoy the insanity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Echoes #5

May 5, 2011

And that sound you hear is the fluffy bunny laughing maniacally.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Final Crisis #6

Jan 18, 2009

In fact, I can hardly wait to sit down and read through this entire, fantastic labyrinth of a story through from start to finish all over again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Final Crisis #7

Feb 1, 2009

I enjoyed Final Crisis as a whole. Honestly, it was worth it just for the creation of Earth-Kirby (aka Earth-51). But the final issue didnt hold to the standards of the first six, and that was something of a disappointment. Still, it was a heck of a ride, and I dont think Ive ever been so excited to go to the comics shop on Wednesday. That, in and of itself, is pretty amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Final Crisis Aftermath: Dance #1

May 23, 2009

I was worried when this book was announced. I enjoyed the little bits I saw of the Super Young Team in Final Crisis. I was unsure that DC could find a creative team for this title that could remain true to what we saw in their first appearances. If this first issue is an indication, Casey and Crisscross should do these characters justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Final Crisis: Legion Of Three Worlds #4

May 3, 2009

I had high hopes for this series. I actually had high hopes even after the insanity that was the end of the last issue. However, this issue is just so . . . mediocre. I suppose my love of the Legion and of Perezs art blinded me to one simple fact: This is Geoff Johns written event comic, and I should know better by now.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Final Crisis: Legion Of Three Worlds #5

Jul 26, 2009

I dont know that Im going to waste four dollars a month for what could be eight pages of new Legion stories that might very well be like this series. Heres hoping DC lets a different writer have a shot at this team sooner rather than later.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Final Crisis: Secret Files #1

Jan 3, 2009

Hindsight being 20/20, perhaps it would have been a better idea for DC to hold off on reprinting Libras only earlier appearance and instead attached it to the end of this book, even at the cost of an extra dollar. Because this single issue seems like a waste, while adding the reprints would have at least given the book some depth and perhaps made it feel more like a real Secret Files.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Freedom Formula #1

Aug 4, 2008

Id admire any attempts at introducing a new title to the shelves, particularly one that isnt standard superhero fare. But Freedom Formula #1 just seems to miss too many essential storytelling marks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Garage Band #1

Oct 6, 2010

Its authenticity is what makes Garage Band so good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Godland #24

Jul 18, 2008

Tom Scioli has a day job and Id imagine Joe Casey subsides mostly on his monthly Marvel limited series. Personally, I think this is a tragedy, particularly since theyre the bi-products of the fact that Godland just doesnt sell very well. I am glad that Casey saw the writing on the wall and decided to set an end date for the series (#36 for those who dont know), so at least well get a well planned finale. Still, its a shame that such a fantastic book has to end at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gorilla-Man #1

Jul 19, 2010

Of all the characters in Atlas, it seems like Gorilla-Man has the largest following. Given that he was also on Marvels Heroic Age promotional pieces, I have to wonder if we might seem him show up elsewhere in the near future. I think Parker is laying down enough history for the character that hed be easy to mix in almost anywhere. Lets hope so. Hes a fun character and it would be a shame to see him go to waste.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Grimm Fairy Tales #28

Jul 5, 2008

Grimm Fairy Tales is an interesting series, one rife with potential, and, regardless of the overall mediocrity of this issue, I think Zenescope is doing a great job with it. Most mainstream comics are ignoring the horror genre and dont necessarily indulge in blatant cheese cake. Its nice to see some options out there for those who are looking for something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Higher Earth #1

May 8, 2012

There's a lot of action in this first issue, so much so that it easily could have been ruined by a bad or even average artist. I've never seen Francesco Biagini's work before, but I was really impressed with his art. There's an Eduardo Barreto/Ron Garney feel to it. The action is kinetic and the backgrounds are rich. I don't know if editor Dafna Pleban is responsible for getting Biagini on this book, but whoever did struck gold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hybrid #1

Jul 4, 2008

Hybrid #1 isnt going to set the comic book world on fire, but it is a solid first issue that shows plenty of potential. Its also 24 full color pages for only $2.75, a little less than the going rate. If youre a fan of old school, creature feature movies and like a little more monster in your horror, then this is a good book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Knight and Squire #1

Oct 17, 2010

Really, Knight and Squire #1 would probably have worked better as the last issue of this series, but it certainly doesnt work as the first. As it now stands, the next issue is going to get the flip test at the store from me before I decide to buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Legion of 3 Worlds #1

Aug 24, 2008

Still, this first issue had all the makings of a classic series, and if it brings in new fans that allow for a new monthly Legion title, all the better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Legion of 3 Worlds #3

Feb 8, 2009

Still, each issue has had me excited for the next, and I cant wait to see how it all ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Legion of Super-Heroes (2010) #3

Jul 29, 2010

I will fully admit that Im a Legion fanboy and there wasnt much that was going to stop me from buying this book. Right now I feel good about it, but Id love to feel great. I think once Levitz gets past this first arc, hell be settled in, and well see some new magic from him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Legion of Super-Heroes (2010) #8

Dec 27, 2010

I am a longtime Legion fan and Im thrilled to see the stories improving, but I dont know how much longer I can continue to be frustrated by the art. I only hope that sales increase on Adventure Comics when a well known and dynamic artist takes over, and that will lead the power at be to realize they need to make a similar move with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Marvel Adventures Fantastic Four #42

Nov 25, 2008

The bar had been set really high for the Marvel Adventures line. I hope this isn't an indication that they're bringing it down.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Marvel Adventures Spider-Man #46

Dec 9, 2008

As always, another enjoy Marvel Adventures story. I think an argument could be made that this is the best Spider-Man book that Marvel currently publishes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Marvel Adventures Super Heroes #5

Nov 25, 2008

My main concern with this comic, however, is whether or not it's necessary. For all intents and purposes it's a team-up story featuring Spider-Man so why not publish it in the Marvel Adventures Spider-Man book? With so many titles being canceled these days, I worry about this line as a whole, and I'd hate to see them expand beyond their means.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Moon Lake #1

Feb 9, 2011

Good anthologies are a difficult thing to find in any medium, and the choice to do one in such an extravagant format as this was a bold one. While the relatively low price point for such a book makes the varied quality a bit easier to digest, the book is just too wildly inconsistent to stand on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Nova (2007) #21

Jan 27, 2009

I've always enjoyed the character of Nova. I just think his solo book is losing steam. Here's hoping the upcoming War of Kings event will breathe some new life into this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Our Love Is Real #1

Jul 9, 2011

So if theres no bestiality in this comic, what does it contain? Its right there in the title. This isnt called "Our Sex Is Great" or "Our Lust Is Real." No, its Our Love Is Real. In its own way, this is a strange little love story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Phonogram: The Singles Club #1

Dec 12, 2008

I could go into more detail about this first issue because theres lots to discuss. At some point, Id love to see an analysis of why the dance club scene permeates all forms of British music, while its relegated to specific genres in American music. But thats just one thought that crossed my mind while reading The Singles Club #1, a testament to just how interesting and thought provoking Phonogram is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Phonogram: The Singles Club #2

May 4, 2009

If youre not reading Phonogram, go pick up the trade of the first series. Read it with an open mind. I promise you that youll come back for more and that youll enjoy the second series just as much.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Phonogram: The Singles Club #3

Jun 22, 2009

Id be shocked if anyone reading this review isnt already a fan of Phonogram. On the off chance you arent, you should really give this book a shot. And if youre already on the bandwagon, you should consider it your sacred duty to spread the word. This book is too good to remain a cult hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Phonogram: The Singles Club #5

Nov 23, 2009

Phonogram is great comics and more people should take the plunge into its world, because theres nothing else like it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Phonogram: The Singles Club #6

Dec 14, 2009

I follow both Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie on Twitter, and all indications are that this could be the last we see of Phonogram, at least for a while. The sales just arent there for a third season. This is incredibly sad. I can only hope that an eventual trade paperback collection is able to give this book new life.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phonogram: The Singles Club #7

Feb 12, 2010

I could go on and, in my head, I have (because I do think a lot). This single issue is the perfect finale, even without the rather sly climax to the story. The pacing is perfect and the artwork is phenomenal and all that does it make it that much more upsetting that this is most likely the last issue of Phonogram well see, as it just doesnt pay for the creators to keep making it. But I have 13 comic books (six issues from the first series, seven issues from the second) sitting on the table in front of me and Im going to submerge myself in this world and just be thankful that it exists at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sacrifice #1

Dec 14, 2011

Sacrifice is self-published and self-distributed; your local comic shop can't get it from Diamond. If you're interested in tracking a copy down, you can find out how at Sam Humphries' website -- it's worth the extra effort.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Scream Queen #3

Aug 11, 2008

Scream Queen is fluff, but Im not entirely sure that thats a bad thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Seaguy: Slaves of Mickey Eye #1

Apr 6, 2009

There will be a certain weirdness threshold for anyone reading Seaguy; youre either able to go along with it all or you arent. I dont think either camp is more intelligent or more open minded than the other. Theyre both perfectly valid responses to what is, at a base level, an absurdist tragedy. But if you can find enjoyment in the four color wonder of it all, then reading Seaguy can be a rewarding experience--particularly since theres a chance we might get a few answers along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Seaguy: Slaves of Mickey Eye #3

Jun 8, 2009

Thats whats made the two Sea Guy series so great--for all the weirdness, for all the layered commentary on storytelling and fiction, at its core theres heart and you cant help by be moved by it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
She-Hulk (2005) #36

Dec 23, 2008

I'm glad that Marvel is trying to diversify their line, giving solo titles to more than just white men. I just wish they didn't seem to do it so haphazardly. Here's hoping that She-Hulk returns with some stability in a few years.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
She-Hulk (2005): Cosmic Collision #1

Dec 2, 2008

If there's a reason to buy this book, however, it's the artwork from Muhmud A. Asrar. I actually feel bad about his work appearing in this comic, because it will no doubt start a steady stream of work for Asrar from the Big Two, which would put his future on Dynamo 5 in jeopardy. It would be a shame for a struggling Image book to lose a great artist, particularly if it's to books like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Sheena: Dark Rising #2

Nov 24, 2008

There are a number of jungle girl books coming out these days. Any fan of the genre should be quite happy with what they get in Sheena.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sweet Tooth #1

Sep 7, 2009

Ill be honest: I dont think I can do this comic justice by writing about it; you have to read it for yourself. Thankfully, the people at Vertigo seemed to know this, so they priced the first issue at only a $1.00. I dont know that I would have picked it up, otherwise, but I can guarantee you that Ill be reading it from here on out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sixth Gun #5

Oct 25, 2010

The end of this issue suggests that next issue will be the logical conclusion to the main plot. I dont know what sales are like on this book, but hopefully theyre good enough that this series will continue well beyond the culmination of the initial storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Sixth Gun #7

Dec 27, 2010

It seems like The Sixth Gun is building a cult following, one that at least seems to make the book profitable. With the release of the first collection and the start of a promising new storyline, hopefully this title will be able to attract new fans and get the attention it deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Sixth Gun #11

Apr 23, 2011

Two arcs in, and The Sixth Gun shows no signs of slowing down. Hopefully, it will rack up as many new readers as it does glowing reviews.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Sixth Gun #12

Jun 28, 2011

I should open with this statement: I do not know Cullen Bunn, Brian Hurtt, or anyone who works at Oni Press. I say this because I am about to lay down yet another glowing review of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Thor God-Size Special #1

Dec 18, 2008

In the end, though, this just felt like a book put out to take advantage of Thors upcoming anniversary, and perhaps Matt Fractions growing popularity, both of which are well deserved, but could probably be served better by a more comprehensive retrospective of the Thunder Gods life.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
War Machine #1

Dec 30, 2008

Still, there's nothing here to be interested in, nothing unique or really even entertaining. They would have been better off making it a comedy: "War Machine: Half man, half machine, ALL WAR."

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Witch Doctor #2

Jul 23, 2011

The most obvious comparison to make with Witch Doctor would be Hellblazer. After all, the two seem to be involved in endless supernatural adventures. But this is what Dr. Morrow does for a living; he even has a team of assistants to prove it. Morrows professionalism takes away from the bleakness of the situations he finds himself in, as he has a way of making every twist and turn seem like a normal occurrence. Thats not to say this book doesnt have its fair share of snark, but its not nearly as depressing as the similar Vertigo book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Infernus #2

Jan 13, 2009

This might be sad, but perhaps the greatest thing about this series is the fact that it's not a crossover. It could have been very easy for Marvel to decide to do another crossover, a way of nodding towards the original Inferno. I'm so glad that they kept this relatively small and self-contained. I think it's making for a solid story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
X-Men: Manifest Destiny #5

Jan 6, 2009

Anthologies are a mixed bag, and with so many X-titles already being published, it would probably be smarter to take the quality elements of these various stories and add them to the main books, rather than publish these watered down comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Zombie Tales #2

Jul 24, 2008

I'm happy that there appears to be a market for zombie stories (as evidenced by the fact that this title started as a series of specials and is now an ongoing). I think, right now, we're seeing such an influx of undead related stories that it's watering down the concept. Hopefully, over time, we'll see the crme rise to the top. While this issue wasn't amazing, I expect those top end stories will eventually find their home in Zombie Tales.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More