Paul Mason's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Bin Reviews: 70
7.4Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Action Comics (2016) #985

Aug 11, 2017

There has been a trend in DC where some have complained about some of their titles plotting and pacing. This title doesnt seek to fall under the umbrella of being slow, with not much happening. There are panels which slow action down but they are few. I can not say this is most compelling story about superman I have ever read, but it is fast paced and intriguing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #13

Sep 1, 2017

Including some internal dialogue from Alfred that really characterizes him, Batman and their relationship. Snyder's writing seems rich and complex without being unnecessarily confusing, assuming you have been following the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Bane: Conquest #1

May 6, 2017

After a second read the plot and characterization became clearer, but I dont enjoy a comic hurting my head upon first read trying to figure out whats going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Bane: Conquest #3

Jul 7, 2017

Nolans art hasn't evolved much past his late eighties early nineties style so if you were a fan then you probably are still a fan. It is suitable for the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #11

May 25, 2017

The conclusion of the Penguin's son story begins with the son hosting a surprise and unwelcome retirement party for the Penguin. His suit has the tech to control groups of people and he uses it to try to make the retirement permanent. The remainder of the issue is basically a chase through Burnside and confrontation with Batgirl.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batgirl (2016) #12

Jul 1, 2017

This leads to Barbara discovering a scientific professor's student has gone missing. Ah, a mystery within a mystery. Watch out Batman it looks like Larsen is writing Batgirl to be the world's greatest detective. I stated that with tongue in cheek but there is a nice parallel of protegees in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batgirl (2016) #13

Aug 2, 2017

This is another filler issue between story arcs. And frankly full of fluff.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batgirl (2016) Annual #1

Mar 30, 2017

Annuals are usually a little something extra, more pages, and special one off storylines. This annual fits the formula as it is two stories in one comic. And the first story in the annual guest stars Supergirl, and fittingly is titled World's Finest. A nice homage and call out to the classic Batman/Superman team up series by that name.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #8

Mar 8, 2017

Overall I would give this a solid 3.75 rating out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #9

Apr 14, 2017

The other birds do not even show up until the end but the fact there is two other DC heroes takes a little off that sting, and as I stated Black Canary is charming and capable of carrying a comic. However overall this comic felt a little like a pop left out that lost its fizz, I. E. It lacked a little sizzle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #10

May 12, 2017

This is a fun comic. It has action, and quips but most importantly it has heart. The thematical themes of the Birds of Prey are highlighted in this issue sure it hits some tropes including the obligatory hero vs. Hero throwdown, yet the writing does not seem clichd or stale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #11

Jun 15, 2017

Stylistically the art is different than a lot of mainstream comics, yet with each issue of this title the style grows on me a little more, enough to say I like it and am now on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman '66 Meets Wonder Woman '77 #6

Jul 1, 2017

Also there was thankfully the iconic fight sound effects. In other words this was the classic fun campy batman that epitomised the classic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 18, 2017

The artwork of this comic is different but beautiful and suitable for the title. The storytelling is sparse but not in a bad way. Whereas in some comics there is a lot of dialogue and internal dialogue to tell the story but here there is a minimalist approach. This method of story telling accomplishes two things. One it really highlights the visual medium of storytelling as the panels are uncluttered with unnecessary text and two it lends an air of mystery to the title and the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 22, 2017

In all honesty the plot is a little convoluted yet it is more straight forward than the first issue. It appears like a true mystery the answers will be doled out as the story progresses. One thing though the pacing is good as each issue seems shorter than they are in reality.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Jul 16, 2017

There is a lot of exposition, and a minimal amount of action in this comic, yet there is so much going on I am not going to complain about that. Basically for an oversize comic I finished still wanting more which I think a set up or prequel is supposed to do to you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 15, 2017

Suffice it to say with all the famous creators working on this both the story and art are fantastic!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Nights: Metal #2

Sep 20, 2017

The art is really sharp and I like it a lot overall the Justice League are drawn beautifully each of their features sharp on the panels, yet for some reason Batman looks a little funny to me, mainly his cowl looks more two dimensional than the rest of him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deathstroke (2016) #18

May 6, 2017

This storytelling method really appeals to me. I havent followed the whole arc, full disclosure, but didnt feel completely lost as the main players were clear, and while there were gaps in plot those were my gaps and not the fault of the creators. This issue seemed to tie up story lines that began in issue one and set up for the following story arc in an exciting and intriguing way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #956

May 12, 2017

A lo of the bat family have roles here but Tynion really does the readers a favour focusing on Cassandra, flushing out her character. She is a bit of an enigma like many characters gracing the bat family but she has true charm and charisma. Her dialogue with Shiva as they fight is some strong writing in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #961

Aug 2, 2017

Scene shifts again to a brainwashed Azrael fighting Batwing and Batwoman. Cassandra shows up to help but even she isnt enough to tip the scales and things look dire until Zatanna teleports her and Batman there to take Azrael down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #18

Mar 8, 2017

There is a lot of excitement and family drama crammed into the 21 pages of this comic, and as one has come to expect from a Flash title the artwork is kinetic without being too busy or messy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Flash (2016) #19

Mar 22, 2017

The plot wasnt advanced too far in this issue , but a key revelation comes to light imbuing it with the emotional impact one has come to expect from a Flash comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #20

Apr 14, 2017

The primary weakness in the tale was it felt rushed. This was almost comic with shaky cut scenes but forgive me for muddying the review waters with a clumsy metaphor. Bottom line an enjoyable comic with intriguing hook at the end but overall not the strongest effort. The artist was serviceable but there were a couple panels that looked sloppy and rushed as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Arrow (2016) #19

Mar 18, 2017

DC has again found a great creative team the art in this issue is bold and fluid really complementing a story that is thus far being told with a tight plot and spot on characterization.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #21

Apr 22, 2017

The whole building up of transforming Seattle to Star City is a bonus as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Arrow (2016) #24

Jun 7, 2017

Percy just gets more and more literate as he scripts this comic, really settling into his role as writer. He made the plot complex but not convoluted. It reads (as I may have stated in the last issue I reviewed but it is even more appropriate here) like a novel in comic form. In other words the story is great and it is told in a medium with the added benefit of brilliant pictures to complement it. And just as Percy really seems to be hitting his stride, the art seems to get better and better with each issue. I almost drooled over the beautiful renderings inside this comic. The style may not be for everyone, but I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #27

Jul 24, 2017

Meanwhile Black Canary and Emi are battling the ninth circle beneath star city. This issue has a good amount of action and minimal hero fighting hero so there is that. Basically The Green Arrow squad, or team Arrow are fighting the cabal on two fronts in DC and Star city. There wasnt a lot of revelation in this issue but there was some classic Oliver Queen exposition. It seems like Percy not only gets green arrow, but is determined through both the main character and his interactions with his supporting cast to return the hero to his roots. In fact this arc is a subtle and not so subtle homage to the classic ONeill green lantern green arrow series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #29

Aug 18, 2017

However without too much explanation the scene shifts to court of owlsmand their talons and we see Green Arrow and Batman throw down with them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #30

Sep 9, 2017

Once again both the story and art are strong. Percy hits the dynamic between the Green themed duo without plagiarism and giving the long awaited Rebirth meeting some humour and sentimentality without being too heavy handed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #24

Jun 7, 2017

And the writing is so much fun, very comic bookish. Humphries embraces the history of the Green Lanterns Corps but adds his own fresh perspective. The result is a fun comic that is fun because it knows what it is , very self aware but never absurd or over the top. Well not too over the top anyhow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #22

Jun 15, 2017

The art continues to be sharp and superb the whole team working so each page, each panel even really stands out the way a Lantern comic should.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #23

Jul 1, 2017

Again the art is impeccable, as the team makes visuals for what a Green Lantern Corps comic should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #28

Sep 20, 2017

Jordan gets High Father aboard but still has to outrace omega beams.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #25

Aug 11, 2017

The second story flashes back to more Harley and Joker with cameos from Penguin.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016): 25th Anniversary Special #1

Sep 20, 2017

This is the last story in the anniversary issue and although somewhat politically themed, its decent and entertaining enough. Although it is my least favourite as Harley the title character is the least focal point in it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn and Batman #1

Aug 2, 2017

Aug 2, 2017 - 17:40 Burkett did an admirable job recreating the Batman the animated series style. The pages of this comic could almost be stills from the cartoon. It wont be to everyone's taste, but if you were a fan of the cartoon, you will most likely love the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellblazer (2016) #12

Aug 2, 2017

And the art it was very different than your superman or batman art. But it works. John looks like the sloppy, yet surprisingly competent character he is reputed to be. When someone says they can smell last nights liquor on him you can almost see it as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #1

May 6, 2017

Theres a simplicity to the opening pages of this comic. Clark captured and in a red sun cell, begins a dialogue with Bruce summing up what led to the meltdown of Superman that led to Injustice, he lists a few of the casualties, and sarcastically wishes Batman luck now that he won the battle. Yet within that dialogue lies the philosophical viewpoints of how at least this universes and many of the multiverses of Batman and Superman. Jump to a healthy dose of Harley Quinn providing her usual mix of psychological insight and much needed comic relief. Of course it seems no matter the reality Harley is destined to be a member of the Suicide Squad. And speaking of Fate there are appearances by Dr. FATE and Black Canary and Green Arrow in this comic as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #2

May 17, 2017

I lolled several times in this issue almost as much as I gasped in the twists and turns again this series combines humour with action in a fine balance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Injustice 2 #4

Jun 22, 2017

There is an equal measure of heart and humour in the writing and the art is great. The characters are drawn differently than their regular counterparts which makes sense as it is an alternative reality.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Injustice 2 #6

Jul 24, 2017

Despite that it is a compelling issue. Kara is portrayed as a little nave and gives off stranger in a strange land vibes which is interesting because it allows me as a reader to empathize with her a little more than usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Injustice 2 #7

Aug 2, 2017

The writing in this issue was decent, but this seems to be another comic this week that wasnt up to its previous standards story wise. I hope it is setting off for a good payoff and not just following a comic wedding trope. The quality of this series has been such that I am optimistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #8

Aug 18, 2017

The tension makes way for trademark Injustice humour when Batman tracks down plastic man.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Injustice 2 #9

Sep 9, 2017

The war between R'as all ghul and team Batman rages on, the majority of this issue is concerned with Green Arrow and Black Canary rescuing Conner from al Ghul's jungle hideout. The small Green Arrow squad sneaks into the lair with the help of Plastic Man and his son.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Looney Tunes #237

May 25, 2017

Finally we round out this issue with another Foghorn story guest starring the dog and weasel. Thankfully this was a short p.s. as it was almost painful adapting these characters to comic book form.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Lucifer (2015) #18

May 17, 2017

Kadry is another novelist turned comic writer, so although I was lost in this story I trust there is a clear narrative and this issue interested me enough to go and read the back story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightwing (2016) #19

Apr 22, 2017

This is a fast paced action packed issue, the fight is well written and drawn, in fact once again the art is great pencils a mixture of sharp and messy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #28

Sep 9, 2017

As I see the appeal of a super spy nightwing, it makes sense from a character trajectory, for some reason the whole idea never truly struck a chord with me. So while I am glad we seem to have seen the last of that side of Dick's persona it dismays me a little that it followed him from New 52 to Rebirth. There is some thrilling dialogue and comic book action so I am not going to pan this, but I am ready to move on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing: The New Order #1

Aug 28, 2017

At first with the different timelines this is a little confusing, but throughout the issue the story becomes clearer and makes some sense. Additionally its an intriguing debut comic and I am interested to find out what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #3

Mar 18, 2017

The art was again strong in this issue. However I fear the story is already becoming a little muddled, maybe the editors were afraid of it becoming formulaic so they instructed Grevioux to write as many twists and turns as possible. I do not know, however I found parts hard to follow and some of the writing repetitive three issues into the comic. I trust the big picture will have a payoff that makes it all worthwhile though so I grade this one 7/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #6

Jun 22, 2017

In all fairness there are some mythological overtones to the story, yet this almost detracts as opposed to adding to the narrative as it is like the creators are trying too hard too be literate and intelligent but instead come across as snobbish and unfocused.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #12

Jul 16, 2017

There are obvious parallels between this and the iconic Death of Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #13

Aug 11, 2017

This story picks up from where the last issue left off and as the title suggests focuses on Bizarro. In fact a lot is narrated by him. With Bizarro's life is danger the outlaws allow Lex Luthor to examine him. Red Hood and Artemis share first impressions. Its established Bizarro means a lot to both and this triad has formed a family.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #14

Sep 20, 2017

So it did that, yet I wouldnt call the issue a huge success because a lot of Bizarro's charm was his child like innocence and wonder even when his mind was trapped in a powerful super body. So I see Lobdell's attempt to switch things up but am not really a fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Scooby-Doo Team-up #29

Aug 28, 2017

It opens with top cat talking to his peers about being rich,rich rich and busted by a cop. Whereupon Top Cat relates that Hoagy's ally is haunted by the ghost of Hoagy. Sounds like a job for Scooby-doo and the gang and Officer Dibble calls them in to investigate. What follows is a pretty amusing typical scooby-doo case with the expected hijinks and shenanigans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #22

Aug 2, 2017

What else makes this a very readable issue is even though the whole humans vs. Metas isn't a new trope there were some interesting arguments made while Waller was captive. As they say the best villains don't see themselves as villains but saviors. So I am very interested how this arc will play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Super Sons #3

Apr 22, 2017

It doesnt distract from the story though where Robin and Superboy are duking it out with robot versions of Batman and superman. During the fight they meet Sara whose family was infected by and survived the Amazo virus.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman (2016) #29

Aug 18, 2017

While searching for the missing children Clark name drops Jess and Simon but the green lanterns turn out to be super relevant to this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #6

Mar 22, 2017

Did I mention this issue ended on a cliff hanger making this reader salivate for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Teen Titans (2016) #8

May 17, 2017

As the second part of the Titans and Teen Titans crossover we are reminded by Robin that Death stroke has both Wally Wests. Naturally the Teen Titans head to the Titans, and tensions run high. After all Robin is not exactly a diplomat, yet Percy avoids the hero versus hero fight with aplomb.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Teen Titans (2016) #9

Jul 1, 2017

Ive praised Percy's storytelling before, but I am man enough to do it again, all right Im a fanboy. His storytelling prowess is superb he knows when to be blunt and comicky and when to use subtle narrative to tell his story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Teen Titans (2016) #11

Aug 28, 2017

This was some great action but it didn't overshadow the story of Aqualad officially becoming a Teen Titan. It seems like this was the title Percy was meant to write as he seems to really understand the team and individuals. And as I mentioned the art was spot on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

As an annual there are more pages in this issue. Which is a good thing as this comic is packed with story and action. Most annuals I have read in the past have been one shots, sometimes connecting to a story arc on a periphery way, I applaud the creators and editors using the giant sized comic to wrap up the Lazarus Contract. Plus the more Death stroke the better right?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #11

May 12, 2017

The story was written by Dan Abnett but plotted with Benjamin Percy which makes sense as it will crossover with Teen Titans. Point is I could really see Percy's influence in the details of the plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Titans (2016) #13

Jul 16, 2017

The art in this series has a bit of a nineties feel to it. Not a bad thing, just different. The Titans look a little like the 90s X-men comics. Which were beautiful, so although I dont like comparative reviews I will use that as my frame of reference describing the look of this comic. However Flash is pretty distinct. The artists really make it look like hes moving lightning quick.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) Annual #1

Mar 30, 2017

This annual ends not exactly on a lefthander but without all the storylines being resolved making me wonder if it will be picked up in future issues of Titans and Justice League. Overall a well written and well drawn story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #11

Jul 24, 2017

Wonder Woman, Batman and Superman are in space and WW has been infected with a space virus. This leads to conflict. Other member of the Justice League make cameos either as infected or heroes battling to prevent the spread of virus.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

In some of my recent reviews I have critiqued the art, so first and foremost I find this comic gorgeous. I was hooked from the cover, a stark plain image of Wonder Woman finely drawn and detailed. Both on the cover and inside the issue she looks like an Amazon princess. So kudos to the fine work here. As expected from a Greg Rucker penned issue the writing is strong as well. I was saddened to hear he was leaving the title, but I suspect hell leave a fine legacy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #29

Sep 1, 2017

On the positive side this issue opens with a lot of action . a price has been out on Wonder Woman and to open the issue she is brawling with some c level villains including catseye and Cheshire and plastique.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More