Scott West's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ScienceFiction.com Reviews: 59
7.6Avg. Review Rating

9
Action Comics (2011) #0

Sep 6, 2012

Plus, amidst all the glory of these origins and flashbacks, we're given a quick look at a magician that I can't wait to see appear in the pages of 'Action' in the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Action Comics (2011) #13

Oct 4, 2012

This is a solid issue and deserved a perfect middle-of-the-road score but it gets a bonus half point for the appearance of one of my favorite DC characters however brief it may have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Action Comics (2011) Annual #1

Nov 4, 2012

I won't spoil the Superman/Kryptonite Man showdown but it's a blast to read! I understand that Morrison is an artist and likes to explore some of the themes and messages behind an iconic character like Superman but, as a fan, sometimes I just want to see a cool villain throw down with the Man of Steel. Fisch delivers that kind of fun in spades with this issue! It doesn't move the storyline along much other than setting up Kryptonite Man and his ties to the government and Lex Luthor but it's sure to have repercussions in the Superman titles in the stories to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
All-Star Western #0

Sep 29, 2012

When I heard that 'All-Star Western' #0 was to be a retelling of Hex's origin, I'd wondered what new direction Gray and Palmiotti were going to take the story. Like 'The Flash' #0, there isn't anything here that has been told before. But, also like that Flash story, this one is told is such a beautiful way that it's hard to fault it. If they'd veered too far from Hex's origins, I'm sure many fans, myself included, would've been upset. Still, even though they played it safe, it was a rousing fun story and well worth the price of admission. Now I'm dying to see how weird this western can get with Jekyll's serum being released to the streets of Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-Star Western #12

Aug 25, 2012

Next month's #0 apparently won't have a backup story since the tag at the end of this issue says: "Coming in two months: Tomahawk!" Now there's a character I haven't read in a long long time! I love how many awesome western characters are in the company's illustrious history. Add to that the new characters that Gray and Palmiotti are coming up with and you've got a goldmine of storytelling that has barely been touched upon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-Star Western #13

Oct 28, 2012

Week in and week out, I constantly recommend 'All-Star Western' to my friends who are looking for something different than the usual superhero fare. It's Western stories that are just crazy and weird enough to entertain those people who aren't usually into the genre. Add into that some background on Gotham City that ties into some current events in the Batman universe, and you've got one of the best and often overlooked titles on DC's New 52 shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #691

Aug 18, 2012

Mr. Slott, if you happen to read my humble reviews, know this" you are now officially my second favorite Spider-Man writer behind Stan "The Man" himself. You've rocked your entire ASM run but this issue" you got an old fan excited for next issue in a way that I haven't been in decades! Great work!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #692

Aug 23, 2012

The issue took a look at Spider-Man's past, present, and future and gave both old-time fans (like myself) and new fans something to enjoy. (I grinned like a kid when I saw that the third story even used the classic trope of the cool names for the creators from the Bullpen like "Jumpin' Joshua Hale Fialkov" and "Nigh-Invulnerable Nuno Plati".) If you're a fan of Spider-Man at all, you owe it to yourself to run out and pick up this issue. It's definitely worthy of my favorite web-head's 50th anniversary!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #693

Sep 6, 2012

I can't wait to see where this one goes!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #694

Sep 29, 2012

Then again, Slott has pulled a few cool plot twists in the past so the shelving of Alpha may have just been a ruse and the kid could come back and cause even more havoc. I guess we'll find out next week when 'Amazing Spider-Man' #695 hits the comic book shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #695

Oct 4, 2012

Now in this 50th anniversary year, Spidey has faced off against Doctor Octopus and now the original Hobgoblin which is fine with me. I'd love to see the Green Goblin return as well but I think Norman Osborn is too far gone from that role to return any time soon… but I guess we'll see. Issue #700 is still on the way and I expect that's when the proverbial bomb is going to drop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #696

Oct 28, 2012

With only a single issue to go before the final countdown to issue #700 begins in 'ASM' #698, writer Dan Slott isn't holding anything back on our good ol' friendly neighborhood web-slinger. He's delivered yet another bang-up issue that'll have you cheering, booing, and hugging the edge of your chair… and I have every expectation that things are only going to get more exciting as 2012 (and the end of an era) rushes to a close.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Animal Man #0

Sep 8, 2012

Steve Pugh's artwork is, as always, very beautiful and fitting for this title but that doesn't elevate this special #0 issue beyond being just "good". If you're an 'Animal Man' completist, you might want to check this one out. If not, you could probably skip it and jump right into next issue as the "Rotworld" story really picks up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Animal Man #13

Oct 6, 2012

If there's any complaint with this story is that I have to wonder where it fits in DC's New 52 continuity. If the world has fallen into chaos and The Rot has won, why is this story no leaking over into every book in the DC universe? I guess time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2011) #0

Sep 15, 2012

Scott Snyder has delivered a solid flashback issue to the New 52. The first story drops hints of things that are sure to have repercussions in the modern storylines and the backup tale is just a quick fun read. The artwork from Capullo and Glapion is very good (although I actually prefer Glapion's pencils here). In the end, this could probably be skipped without missing much, but if you like Batman or his extended family, it's worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #13

Oct 11, 2012

It's so good that it may deserve a re-read or two to take in all of the awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and Robin (2011) #0

Sep 15, 2012

Damien Wayne is one of the most interesting characters created in the DC universe (New 52 or otherwise) in many years and is definitely my favorite Robin since Dick left the role. His backstory of being trained as by assassins with the intent that he will one day rule the world makes him much more than the Robins that have come before. He combines the troubled issues of Jason with the mental prowess of Tim and tosses in a bit of the Al Ghul arrogance for a wonderful mixture of character. Honestly, if Bruce ever steps down, I'd like to see Damien take over the Bat mantle. But, before that happens, I'm going to enjoy seeing his evolution into the hero that I feel that he can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman and Robin (2011) #13

Oct 14, 2012

Still, what I find amusing is that an all-out zombie outbreak still just seems like the calm before the storm. Readers all know that after the zombies are inevitably defeated, this title (like every other bat-title) will be plunged into the "Death of the Family" arc with the return of the Joker that began in last week's 'Batman' #13. But, until it does, join me back here next month for a review of the second half of Gotham's zombie outbreak.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2011) #0

Sep 7, 2012

This was a great issue, especially that first story, and makes me yearn for more tales of Bruce Wayne's training years. Maybe WB made a mistake when they passed on that idea for a show to replace 'Smallville' because, after this issue, I'd definitely give a show like that a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2011) #13

Oct 5, 2012

I sincerely hope that Layman sticks around because, in a single, issue he turned this title into exactly what the name promises… a detective story featuring the Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2011) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2012

Tony Daniel delivers a pretty solid stand-alone Batman story but it doesn't really stick out enough to be very memorable. It's not bad by any stretch, but it's not great either. It's a square middle-of-the-road sort of story and earn's a final score of…

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fantastic Four (1998) #610

Sep 14, 2012

In addition to a great story, the artwork from Ryan Stegman ('Scarlet Spider') kept with the action sequences very well. I don't think Stegman's anime/cartoon style of pencils would work with all of the FF adventures, but it does quite good in this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fantastic Four (1998) #611

Oct 13, 2012

I was a little perturbed that one of Marvel's longest running titles was coming to an end (again). Then today, I picked up the Marvel NOW! preview issue at my local comic shop and what was there within those pages? Previews for 'Fantastic Four' #1 and 'FF' #1, both premiering in November. Both of the new titles will be written by Matt Fraction with art handled by Mark Bagley ('Ultimate Spider-Man') on 'Fantastic Four' and Mike Allred ('Madman') on 'FF'. So we won't be without Marvel's first family for long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
FF #21

Aug 31, 2012

Jonathan Hickman might be ending his runs on both 'FF' and 'Fantastic Four' soon but he's left fans of Marvel's first family with some of the best stories in their long and illustrious history. I've said it before and I'll say it again. You want to pick this run up in trades when it's available. It's got everything that any reader of comics or good stories could ever want.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
FF #22

Sep 27, 2012

As this series winds down and writer Jonathan Hickman prepares to leave, issues like this one are bittersweet. They're awesome fun to read but knowing that it'll be gone after next month stings a bit. Let's hope that Hickman returns to the FF universe sooner than later after Marvel NOW inevitably reboots or relaunches the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
FF #23

Oct 28, 2012

Not one to let "The World's Greatest Comic Magazine" sit in limbo for long, Marvel is relaunching both 'Fantastic Four' and 'FF' with new #1 issues next month as part of Marvel NOW!. With the new numbering comes all new creative teams. Matt Fraction ('Thor') will be handling writing duties on both titles while Mark Bagley ('Ultimate Spider-Man') and Mike Allred ('Madman') will be handling the artwork. All I can say is: Good luck, guys. After Hickman, you have a lot to live up to with these titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Flash (2011) #0

Sep 28, 2012

Even though there's nothing really new storywise in this issue, Francis Manapul continues to deliver intense story with some beautiful artwork. So, while it's been told before, this is a beautiful take on the Flash's origin story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Flash (2011) #12

Aug 27, 2012

Manapul is back on art duty again this month after having Marcus To step in for an issue and I couldn't be happier. To's work was adequate enough and matched the writing style but Manapul seems to write these stories to his own artistic strengths and it shows on each and every page. This is a solidly written title with some of the best artwork in comics. Period. If you're not reading 'The Flash' already, you should definitely check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Flash (2011) #13

Oct 29, 2012

What makes 'The Flash' even more of a wonderful title is Manapul's pencils. They take what is a good (but not great) story and push it into the realm of real art. Each and every panel of 'The Flash' is stunning. On the issues where the title rises above, 'The Flash' can easily hit some 4.5 scores. This issue, on the other hand, is just one of those solid good stories and it scores…

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Flash (2011) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2012

Wow! This issue was great! This series overall has been awesome but I've commented before that it moves at a rapid-fire pace allowing the readers only brief moments to slow down and get their bearings before plowing into the next action-packed scene. That isn't bad and of itself (and it's actually fitting given the title character). This issue though doesn't have that problem. Oh! Don't get me wrong. It still moves extremely fast. But the story is broken down into smaller chunks and chapters that allow more moments to breath. Also, the switching of gears with the different tales seems to keep things fresh every few pages. I haven't had a chance to read all of my annuals this week yet but I already expect that this one is going to be one of the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lantern (2011) #0

Sep 7, 2012

I'm sure that Baz's Muslim heritage is sure to cause some controversy but but liked his introduction here. It was very well told and, so long as DC doesn't allow the writers to make Baz into a character with a chip on his shoulder, there's definitely an interesting tale to be told here. I look forward to reading more about Baz in the pages of the other Green Lantern titles in the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern (2011) #12

Aug 18, 2012

Geoff Johns is a master at weaving the epic mythology of the Green Lanterns and this issue shows that he's had a plan since the beginning of the New 52 and it wasn't just to have Sinestro as a Green Lantern again. Instead, it's something much more insidious. Kudos, Mr. Johns. Kudos indeed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern (2011) #13

Oct 6, 2012

I don't think I've enjoyed the introduction of a new Green Lantern this much in a long while. Geoff Johns has given us a believable character in Baz and his struggles to just have a normal life in light of the craziness that's going on around him is a surefire page turner. It's that juxtaposition of the real world with the epic that, like my favorite hero Spider-Man, is a draw in books like this and this issue nails it. Great read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern (2011) Annual #1

Sep 3, 2012

If you're a fan of the Green Lantern, Hal Jordan, or Sinestro, you will want to read this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #0

Sep 15, 2012

Peter Tomasi has given us a new look at Guy Gardner that might make him a little more sympathetic and it only serves to make me like him more. Guy is an everyman. He's the little guy that struggles with life knocking him around. Despite all that, he's a hero and a great Lantern. Like Spider-Man (another of my favorite heroes in case you hadn't noticed), Guy isn't perfect… and I like him just fine that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #13

Oct 12, 2012

If there's any setback to this story at all, it is that it looks like the writers are setting Guy Garnder, my favorite Lantern of all time, for a major downfall. But Guy's a tough nut to crack and DC has put him through a lot of crap in the past (Anyone remember Guy becoming the Warrior?) so I have no doubt he'll come out on top. I just hope DC doesn't hurt him too much before he does.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #0

Sep 20, 2012

With 'The Phantom Stranger' and now Shazam!, Pandora, and The Question, I'm really loving the "Trinity of Sin" and the new landscape of magic in the New 52 Universe. Don't miss this issue as it's sure to be the opening salvo of something truly… magical! (Bah dum pum!)

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League #12

Sep 2, 2012

In the end, it's a decent close to the 'Villain's Journey' story arc with an okay reveal at the end. Now I can start getting excited for issue #0 in two weeks when Geoff Johns and Gary Frank give us the sure to be epic finale to the Shazam! backup story that was left out of this issue and the reveal of the New 52 Captain Marv… I mean Shazam. It is going to so rock!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League #13

Oct 21, 2012

This isn't a bad issue but, like Diana says, the Cheetah really doesn't seem like much of a match for the Justice League. She's small potatoes but it looks like writer Johns is going to use the story as a backdrop for the real drama of Superman and Wonder Woman's relationship. I just hope that this title gets back to the but-kicking soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Phantom Stranger (2012) #0

Sep 7, 2012

In a bonus twist, we're treated to the origin of another of the DCU's darker and more mysterious figures this issue and I can't wait to see where this one's going to turn up as teh New 52 Universe continues to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Phantom Stranger (2012) #1

Oct 14, 2012

When the FCBD New 52 special and 'Phantom Stranger' #0 revealed that the Stranger has a name and an origin in this universe, I wasn't sure I was going to dig it. However, the further along the story moves, I'm finding myself enthralled with the Strangers plight. DC has gone to lengths to let readers know who he really is while never once actually saying his name and I love that angle. But, the final few pages of this issue toss a twist into the Stranger's stories that I have never seen before. If you'd warned me that it was going to happen, I would've told you that it was a stupid idea but the shock of seeing it with no spoilers gave it a gravity that I absolutely love. Now to see if the writers can keep it going without losing the focus of the story. If they can, this title may jump to the #2 spot in my favorite “horror” titles of the New 52.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Scarlet Spider #9

Sep 15, 2012

Join me in just three weeks when Scarlet Spider teams up (or at least crosses over) with Agent Venom as they face off against one of Spider-Man's deadliest foes… Carnage!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Scarlet Spider #10

Oct 12, 2012

I just want to get back to some great heroic stories with these two characters and now it looks like that's not happening for at least another couple of months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spider-Men #5

Sep 19, 2012

Would I recommend 'Spider-Men' after reading the entire arc? Yes. It's a wonderful introduction to Miles for those like myself who haven't read much of his regular series and is a fun romp through the eyes of the two heroes. It's good… it's just not great. I was kind of hoping that something more universe altering would happen in this final issue. Instead, we just got the expected Spidey-makes-it-home ending. Of course, whatever Peter saw on that laptop screen could change things. I can only hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Superman (2011) #0

Sep 27, 2012

Before all is said and done, Jor-El and Lara are fleshed out a bit and the destruction of Krypton is given an ominous new take. I like reading about Superman's Kryptonian heritage and I hope we get more of this in the main series. The only reason this doesn't get a higher score is that, even with the plot twists and new information, this is a story that Superman readers have seen too many times for it to be given an entire issue. Writer Scott Lobdell did a wonderful job with the material but, in the end, it still feels a bit like putting new tires on an old car.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Superman (2011) #12

Aug 27, 2012

The juxtaposition of these two stories comes to a nice conclusion after Superman's battle with the alien and show again that Dan Jurgens has a good grasp on what makes this character stand the test of time. Marvel's Spider-Man may have turned 50 this year, but Superman will hit the 75 year mark in 2013! It's the good old fashioned ideals that Superman stands for both in his superhero guise and as Clark Kent that make him so enduring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman (2011) #13

Oct 27, 2012

So, despite my trepidation at Lobdell taking over as writer, I thoroughly enjoyed this issue and can't wait to see where the upcoming 'H'el on Earth' storyline. Add to that the simply stunning artwork from Kenneth Rocafort and you've got a darn solid issue. I just hope that this level of quality keeps up on this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Superman (2011) Annual #1

Sep 2, 2012

On top of the lackluster story, we're also given some art that just doesn't fit. It's not bad art. It's just gritty and harsh. It would fit well in a horror title like 'Swamp Thing' or maybe a Vertigo title, but it just doesn't click at all when it's laid over the Man of Steel. The only redeeming them about this issue that kept it from getting a total stinker score was the decent cover from Kenneth Rocafort. That highly stylized almost anime look goes well with Superman. The rest of what happened this issue… doesn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Swamp Thing (2011) #0

Sep 9, 2012

So, while this issue is not a 100% necessary read, it is a very good read and worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Swamp Thing (2011) #13

Oct 6, 2012

Like 'Animal Man' #13, my only complaint with 'Rotworld' is continuity. If 99% of the world's population was dead, why is this story no leaking into every other title in the DC universe? I'm going to take an early guess here and say that, despite the characters repeatedly stating that this isn't a dream, that it is still a trick of The Rot and that Alec and Buddy are trapped in a false world created by Arcane.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Swamp Thing (2011) Annual #1

Nov 5, 2012

I absolutely loved this issue. Scott Snyder delivered a story that is something straight out of an old Hammer horror flick with all of the ominous scenery and foreshadowing with Arcane. The only reason this one didn't earn a perfect score is that the story, while amazing, isn't really essential to the "Rotworld" plot overall. It's more of an interesting aside into the history of the New 52 world of Swamp Thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Avenging Spider-Man #11

Aug 31, 2012

Add on top of that artwork from Steve Dillon ('Preacher') and you've got not only a great comic book, but a real piece of art all the way around. Sure. I'll admit I'm a bit biased towards Spider-Man titles but this one definitely deserves its score, and that score is…

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Avenging Spider-Man #12

Sep 13, 2012

It was a good issue, despite my usual dislike for Deadpool, and I am actually looking forward to where this will go… especially with that villain reveal! I just hope that pulling Deadpool out into the real world doesn't make his antics annoying again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Avenging Spider-Man #13

Oct 13, 2012

I like that Marvel has some actual comedians handling Deadpool instead of the usual superhero type writers. I may even have to give the rebooted 'Deadpool' series a chance this November when Brian Posehn takes a spin as writer. If they can pull off the humor like Shinick did with this arc, Marvel may make a Deadpool fan out of me yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Avenging Spider-Man Annual #1

Nov 4, 2012

If this issue had been a few pages shorter, I might have enjoyed it more but the lackluster setup and the length had me wishing it were a little more tight in the story department. Still… fun issue. I'm just not sure it's worth the "annual" price of $5 unless you're just a Spidey completist like myself and would be getting the issue anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Venom (2011) #23

Aug 23, 2012

Aside from the story, the artwork from Thony Silas was perfect for this book. It's dark, thick, and very reminiscent of Tony Moore's work that has come before. There's one scene in particular during the flashback sequence that I think worked brilliantly as a spread. If not for Silas' work, I would've given this book a solid middle-of-the-road score of 3 atoms, but the art brought it up just enough to earn…

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Venom (2011) #24

Sep 8, 2012

Still, I thought the same thing when 'Circle of Four' started so I'm willing to give the rest of this arc a chance. I just can't recommend it very highly to those who are looking for a good Venom story. Here's hoping that the upcoming 'Minimum Carnage' cross-over and Venom's pending move from NYC to Philly will shakes things up and get this title back on some good old fashioned military style Venom tales.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Venom (2011) #25

Sep 19, 2012

So far, Cullen Bunn's first arc in 'Venom' has been quite a let down. I tried to give it a pass since I likened it to the mid-90s supernatural books but, after a couple of issues of this tripe, it's almost painful to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Venom (2011) #26

Oct 22, 2012

We have two more issues of 'Venom' and one of 'Scarlet Spider' to go before 'Minimum Carnage' is over… and boy will I be glad when it is!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

1st

March

More