Zach Woolf's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 50
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #679

Feb 5, 2012

In every time travel story, no matter how well done, there is going to be some factor of cheesiness, in my mind at least. This holds true even with this well put together two-part story. I wouldn't look for these two issues to have any lasting effects in the coming issues, but it was an enjoyable read nonetheless. Dan Slott and the rest of the Amazng Spider-Man team were once again on their A-game earning issue #679 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #694

Sep 29, 2012

December is creeping closer and with it brings stupid snow, stupid cold, stupid wind, and the stupid 700th issue of Amazing Spider-Man. Why do I think that it's stupid? Because with that the series is stopping and that means we may no longer have new Spider-Man issues like this. Bringing in Alpha had me slightly worried, but it ended up being a fascinating story. After this I have little doubt that Slott will handle the conclusion of Spider-Man with class and a truly amazing story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #699

Dec 11, 2012

When Dan Slott embarks on a little three-issue arc, which he has been doing consistently over the last year, I have always felt that the story ends up slumping a little during the second installment. That theory falls apart with this series wrapping up arc. For as shocking as #698 was, #699 was a clinic on character development and a character driven storyline. Slott showed his hand on how he was been building to this moment for well over a year and it doesn't disappoint. But I wouldn't get comfortable yet, issue 700 is sure to be one hell of an issue as Dan wraps up Amazing Spider-Man while laying more ground work for Superior Spider-Man debuting next month. Amazing Spider-Man #699 is one of the best issues of Spider-Man I have read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Arena #1

Dec 16, 2012

I'll admit that when Avengers Arena was announced I moaned a little bit and all the way up to the reading of this first issue was skeptical about this series. Well count me as converted because I'm here to stay. The paring of Hopeless and Walker has already delivered an issue that is able to able to able emotionally and physically while covering all the needed bases for a first issue. Marvel NOW continues to pump out engaging books and you can now put Avengers Arena on that list. Go pick up Avengers Arena #1 even if you have your doubts, it won't disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2011) #10

Jun 16, 2012

After finishing my first read through Batgirl #10 I was deeply disappointed in myself for not picking up this title from the beginning. In a single issue she presented a character with Barbara that I felt connected with and cared for just as much as any character that I have read so far. Combine that with the art coming from Alitha Martinez and you have a completely engrossing book. If you couldn't tell from my gushing already I'm giving this issue 5 out of 5 stars. I will now go "punish" myself for not reading the first nine issues by spending my money to buy every single one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and Robin (2011) #6

Feb 15, 2012

The first six issues of this series have balanced action with dialogue, while both continue to build upon the less than perfect relationship between Bruce and Damian. Even with Batman's tendency to display little emotion, you can feel his pain and franticness to have his son once again at his side. Batman and Robin #6 continues to build upon all the right parts and earns 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bedlam #1

Nov 5, 2012

Bedlam #1 caught me by surprise last week. I knew going into the read what the book was roughly about but I wasn't mentally prepared for this. If you don't like large amounts of blood, dismemberment, child endangerment, with spats of foul language in your comics than Bedlam isn't for you. Now if you are capable of handling those inside your weekly reading you must check this out. Madder Red could be compared to The Joker in The Dark Knight and Madder is just as entertaining to read as it was to watch Heth Ledger. The hook that finished off the book will take this series in an interesting direction and you aren't going to want to miss it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Before Watchmen: Nite Owl #2

Aug 1, 2012

I love the dynamic that is being built between Rorschach and Nite Owl through this issue. I never picked up on how deep the relationship between the two were during my reading of the original issues, but I'm sure there was a lot of parts I missed since Watchmen was the first comic series I ever attempted to read. I hope that their partnership is stretched and deepened throughout the remaining issues as it is why this is the only series I'm still reading of the Before Watchmen line. Nite Owl #2 surpassed my expectations and earns a solid 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #23

Jan 21, 2012

John Layman and Rob Guillory are on a 23-issue streak for creating comic greatness, and don't expect that streak to end anytime soon. This pairing creates dynamic characterization through the writing and art, along with a plot that is well paced and entertaining. Chew #23 exemplifies everything that makes Chew what it is and earns 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Chew #26

May 24, 2012

With both creators on this book saying that Chew will end at issue 60, there is a time coming when I will no longer be able to look forward to new happenings in this crazy, cybernetic animal, chicken-less world. While this saddens me, I know that it will be a great ride to the end. I mean this issue, and the whole last arc really, was pretty Tony-less, but the story never falters and is continually funny.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Chew #28

Sep 16, 2012

The Internet has been rumbling of readers not enjoying this issue or current arc, which I can honestly understand why. Instead of a through story line like every other arc has featured, the Chew team has decided to take these issues and tell, seemingly, the wackiest stories they possibly can. Yet, inside that they are laying down foundation for stories that are yet to come and expanding the Chewniverse. While Chew #28 may not be the ideal place for new readers to jump on returning readers should have a fun time with the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew: Secret Agent Poyo #1

Jul 11, 2012

I mean this. If there is but a single copy of Secret Agent Poyo at your LCS, it's time to call Michael Buffer, oil up your body, and get ready to rumble because you need this issue. Layman and Guillory crafted an issue that brings what makes Chew the success that it is and take it up, at least, three notches. If you come into Poyo being a fan of Chew, you will love it. If you pick this up without knowing anything about Chew, well, you may think these two need locked up. They don't, I promise. Secret Agent Poyo is a piece of work and earns 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Creator Owned Heroes #1

Jun 7, 2012

Overall Creator-Owned Heroes featured two above average comics and a few articles that had some great take-aways. Looking forward in the solicitations it seems this will continue to be for sale every moth, which should help in the viability and longevity of the title. I'm saying go grab this title. It's worth your time and I'm giving it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Danger Club #1

Apr 12, 2012

I had no real expectations going into Danger Club, but after seeing the faux cover on the inside I thought I was in for a real treat. After all was said and done though the story left me high and dry. The saving grace in the issue was definitely Eric Jones's art and is a big factor in my decision to pick up next month's issue. I think there is potential for this series for good story telling, but as for this I'm going to have to give it 2.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Danger Club #4

Oct 9, 2012

After looking over at the solicits for this title it seems that with this issue the first volume has come to a close. That's somewhat confusing because this issue leaves off with two huge cliffhangers so it doesn't seem like the ideal place for a comic volume to end. But hopefully when that trade comes out more people will get into this series. Danger Club is a series that hits high and low moments equally well that features art that makes you droll all over the pages and issue four continues on with the awesome. I highly recommend this issue and am giving it 4.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #10

Apr 5, 2012

From cover to cover this book is dedicated to giving the reader a deeper understanding of the inner turmoil Matt Murdok, and even Moleman, face. Even during the fight scene the fighting was secondary to the dialogue flying between the two opponents. Ultimately what it boils down to is that Mark Waid is pulling me into this book not through giant action sequences or head spinning plot, but by making my genuinely care about the man underneath the mask. Every issue you read of Daredevil makes you want to keep reading more and this is no exception, and is why I'm giving it 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Debris #1

Jul 25, 2012

If you are looking for a comic with a strong lead female role, then you should be picking up Debris. Already in the first issue she was able to take down a Jormungard single handily, confidently instruct the village warriors in their fight, and take the necessary actions to keep her people alive. Maya isn't devoid of emotions though as those surface towards the end. Debris #1 caught me off guard, in a good way, at the beginning and had artwork that may not have been perfect but was completely engaging. I'm giving the issue 3.5 out of 5 stars and recommending it to anyone with a bent towards survival adventure stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Detective Comics (2011) #0

Sep 7, 2012

Since there are multiple Batman centered books I'm hoping for a connected story between them this month, but even if that does pan out Detective Comics #0 will not play much of a role. The story is far too rushed to make an impact on the readers and the content within seems to fall to the way side with stories Batman is currently in. Besides the art, the only other positive is the fact that this is the last issue before John Layman takes over the writing duties.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Edison Rex #1

Jul 4, 2012

My recommendation to read the issue more than once isn't necessarily because it is an out-of-this-world inaugural issue, but because after every reread I have appreciated the ending more. The entire lead up always had me engaged and attached to the characters, and the fact the issue accomplished that in under 16 pages is a feat in itself. While I'm only giving this issue a 3 out of 5, I'm looking forward to strong outings in the future. I say go download Edison Rex #1 now, and with a price of only $0.99, what's the risk?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
FF #15

Mar 5, 2012

The intertwining story between this and Fantastic Four has be a seriously fun, worthy of a few re-reads, if for nothing more than to fully grab the story. With both books ending on the same splash page reveal the significance could be seen from two different perspectives and puts both at the same moment for coming issues. FF #15 continues the trend of character building while keeping with the action and pacing moving forward and that is why I'm giving it 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Five Ghosts #1

Mar 23, 2013

I have tried out a few different pulp comics, each withvaryingdegrees of enjoyment, but none of those have grabbed me likeFive Ghosts #1 has. Individually, the writing and art are above average, so when placed together a read can expect to be drawn completely into the story. I'm expecting great things from this series and eagerly await the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Flash (2011) #8

May 1, 2012

I have to admit that I didn't buy Flash #7 until this issue hit shelves. I don't remember my reasoning for not picking it up, didn't want to read good comics that day I guess. But after catching up and reading this issue I'm here to proclaim that I will once again be buying this regularly. Francis Manapul and company are creating an enjoyable read, and with that ending hook how could you not come back for the next installment? The explanation of the wormhole creation has me slightly confused, but overall it was a fun time so I'm giving Flash #8 3.5 out of 5 stars with high expectations in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Gambit #1

Aug 8, 2012

With hopes that Gambit would draw me into a character I could honestly care less about, much like Hawkeye #1, I gingerly eased myself into the book. At the end I was pleasantly surprised about what came from this. You don't need any background information (I didn't have any) to jump right in and follow Le Beau as he goes back to his roots of thievery. I'm hoping that this title can stay away from any crossover madness, with maybe only the slightest of crossover with individual characters (one with Hawkeye could be awesome.) Gambit #1 receives 3.5 out of 5 stars for putting out a first issue anyone can jump on board with.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ghostbusters #7

Mar 28, 2012

What interests me is that this issue has the feel of a finale to an arc, but instead it is just the third part. These last issues have definitely set the tone for the Ghostbusters to be working outside of their general NYC setting, but unless this second arc is longer than the inaugural I'm worried that the next few issues will feel too rushed. With all the talk from Burnham and the foreshadowing after the issue in Peck's files, I'm excited to see the team hit the road and rid the rest of the country of their paranormal issues. I'm giving this issue 3.5 out of 5 stars as this series continues to be a must-read for any fan of the movies and a book that should grab a solid followership amongst readers in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lantern (2011) #0

Sep 11, 2012

So there is now another new Green Lantern on Earth. Of course this will bring up the argument of does there really need to be another one, but we should be focusing on the fact that Hal is gone (until he can come back to save the day) and we have the possibilities for a run of new stories from a hopeful dynamic character. Green Lantern #0 did a superb job of fulfilling the concept of the zero issue and gave us background on Simon before he becomes the central focus of the coming issues. With some nice pacing and a couple really nice beats, coupled with above average art, Geoff and company gave Simon Baz a warm welcome into the DC Universe and get 3.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lantern (2011) #4

Dec 16, 2011

Sinestro is still the main focus of this series, and that is what had me excited from the announcement of this book for the New 52. Am I glad that Hal Jordan didn't die? I would be lying if didn't say no. It's not that I'm upset that Hal wasn't disintegrated, but I know the longer he stays around the more likely he is to replace Sinestro as the lead character. But of course without Hal who would come up with great ideas like giving a group of vengeful citizens the power to wield one of the most powerful weapons in the universe? Green Lantern continues to be high on my read list and this issue doesn't change that, earning this issue 3.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern (2011) #5

Jan 13, 2012

Green Lantern has been exactly what I hoped it would be when I saw the announcement previews way back in the middle of 2011. Geoff Johns and the rest of the creation team told a story that showed the depth of Sinestro's power and emotions. I hope that this team is kept together and continues to give us story arcs as well done as this one. Green Lantern #5 falls in line with the previous issues and earns 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Happy #1

Sep 24, 2012

Having writers and artist creating entirely original stories that they can do whatever they please with is an exciting thing. Happy #1 sets the stage perfectly for what should be a bloody, foul-mouthed tale with a nice twist coming from the soon to be departed writer of Action Comics. If you are looking for a slightly different read come Wednesday try Happy out. At $2.99 an issue for a series with only four installments it's worth adding to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Infinite Vacation #5

Jan 9, 2013

Could it be that a mere nine days into the year of 2013 the issue of the year hit stands? I wouldn't rule it out so fast. It's a shame that Infinite Vacation didn't release all within the same year so that it could be up for the multiple awards that it deserves. Nick Spencer and Christian Ward deliver a final issue that lets your imagination run wild, leaves your mouth agape at the visuals, and finally pulls on your heart strings. If you have read Infinite Vacation you aren't going to want to miss the final issue. If you haven't read any Infinite Vacation do yourself the favor and pick up the five-issue run, clear out your schedule and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mars Attacks #1

Jun 26, 2012

With this first issue Layman and McCrea have established they aren't here to rehash the story that has spilled out from the card line and movie. There were certain faults with the way the story was presented, but I think Mars Attacks will be another series that allows John Layman to produce wacky, engaging stories. I'm giving the opener for IDW's newest licensed property 3.5 out of 5 stars, with the recommendation for fans of the previous iterations to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Masks and Mobsters #1

Jul 30, 2012

Is this not the greatest time to be reading comics in recorded history? We currently line a time where we have access to decades of stories right at our fingertips. Creators have easier avenues to tell stories they need to write, about characters of their own. Small publishers, like Monkeybrain, have the ability to distribute top of the line books, like Masks & Mobsters, at a reduced cost by way of digital comics. All of that to say, Masks & Mobsters is an excellently crafted book that tells a complete story at the measly cost of 99 cents. This has been my personal favorite read from the line new line of books and earns 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Myth #2

May 23, 2013

ProsSense of child-like adventureBlack & White used wellConsLack of clear panel separationHaving to wait for the next issue

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Peter Panzerfaust #4

Jun 6, 2012

My last big encounter with the Peter Pan story was in the form of Robin Williams in Hook. While I do have a soft part in my heart for that film, I'm glad that this book is not that. I truly believe that the creation team has presented a form of Peter that is both magical and adventurous without needing the aid of pixie dust or giant crocodiles (not saying that throwing in the croc wouldn't be awesome though). Peter Panzerfaust is a title that you should be checking into every month and I'm giving this issue 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Punisher (2011) #10

Apr 20, 2012

For being a Punisher title there was little focus on Punisher as a character, but that is the risk you run doing a cross-title event. As the second part of The Omega Effect the issue worked really well. Characters were allowed to shine in turn, with more insight to their character given, and the story continued at a nice pace with a cliffhanger to take us into the final act of this three-part event. Punisher #10 was a fun read and also a must read if you are following The Omega Effect and earns 3.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Revival #3

Sep 26, 2012

It's no secret that Image has been pumping out outstanding titles for a long while now and I don't think it's too soon to add Revival to the list. With dynamic action and dialogue, a story that balances action and dialogue, and art that can hold its own against any Big Two title. Seeley and Norton have a book that should keep gathering fans every issue, while picking up awards along the way. Revival #3 keeps this series going strong and earns all 5 of the stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #4

Jun 27, 2012

Saga should not only be on your monthly pull list but also on the top ten selling list every month. Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples are putting together a book that is doing the seemingly impossible by topping itself issue after issue. I could keep on gushing but that would take time away from you reading this brilliant series. 5 out of 5 stars. Go buy it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #7

Nov 10, 2012

If you are to ever come across a person that exclaims, "Comics are only for little kids!" proceed to immediately throw the collected first volume and this issue at them. Saga #7 continues on as a testament to the type of stories that are possible and even better in a paneled-paged format. Vaughan's words intertwine with Staples' art to deliver a narrative that is worthy of many awards. The introduction of Marko's parents has already proved to be an interesting addition to the story that will develop, especially with the ending cliffhanger, in the issues to come. Saga #7 is a must pick up next Wednesday and earns 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Skullkickers #16

Jul 21, 2012

That was the next to last line of this issue and it basically sums up the attitude towards this series. It's not an attitude that throws together convoluted story plots for the sake of sensationalism, but one that is upfront about saying, "Ya we know this technically wouldn't work, but it's awesome and not too far-fetched so we are going with it." Now that's a philosophy I can get behind for a wisecracking sword and sorcery book. Skullkickers #16 is rude, violent, foul-mouthed, artistic, and all-around well-done, earning 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Skullkickers #17

Aug 31, 2012

The bottom line is that Skullkickers was a great book just when the violence and crazy antics drove the book, but now that we are getting that on top of a deep back-story with a complex storyline, Skullkickers has entered the realm of "must-buy". If you haven't ever read Skullkickers go pick up the first issue, if you like that go read the trades. Once you have fallen in love and make it to this issue hopefully it will strike you as the masterpiece it did me. Skullkickers #17 receives a much-deserved 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Goon #37

Jan 6, 2012

This is an easy place for new readers, like me, to jump in to the world of The Goon and not suffer from any back-story confusion. No, you won't understand the depth to each character, but you will figure out who the main hitters are, and how they function. With the art and colors that complement the story, readers receive a fully rounded reading experience. I'm going to be picking up this title every month without hesitation and you should too. The Goon #37 earns 4.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Manhattan Projects #1

Mar 12, 2012

I was never entirely sure what was going to happen in this first issue; with the premise of alternate programs surrounding the creation of the atom bomb, the door seemed open wide with possibilities. Every part of this book, words, coloring, page layouts, Feynman's quotes, is crafted so that the story is king. The Manhattan Projects #1 is a very well done first issue that promises to shoot off big, and that is why I'm giving it 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Secret History of D.B.Cooper #1

Mar 16, 2012

Overall this was an enjoyable read and I like the direction Brian Churilla is pointing this series for the future. The "official" letter at the end was a nice touch to try and establish this as the truth and even included a link to "some new audio" that had been discovered. I had only one problem and that was with the ending panel and the timeline confusion that unfolded from it. The Secret History of D.B. Cooper deserves 4 out of 5 stars and a high recommendation for you to go out and grab a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Secret History of D.B.Cooper #3

May 19, 2012

If you have yet to read this issue, or the previous two, please run to you local comic book shop or download them from your app of choice and get to reading! Brian Churilla is setting the standard for creator owned books, and he is setting it high. With art complementing the solid story telling this issue is worthy of multiple reads. The Secret History of D.B. Cooper #3 deserves nothing less than 5 out of 5 stars. I beg you go read this.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Secret History of D.B.Cooper #5

Jul 20, 2012

I have been on board with the series and singing praises through a couple reviews, Twitter, and even bought a piece of art from Churilla himself, so I simply assumed this would be a topnotch series wrap-up issue. Yet, when I made it through my first read I was left underwhelmed, so I read it again and come up with much of the same feelings. The four issues leading up had been spot on for me, but with a few hiccups in the art and some qualms about the story, this issue didn't leave me completely satisfied. In the end, I have more questions about the story than I had gong in (and not questions like the end of Inception questions), and can only give Secret History of D.B. Cooper #5 a middle of the road score of 2.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Walking Dead #97

May 17, 2012

If you only have slight background information on The Walking Dead, even if its from the TV show, you should have very little problem figuring out what has happened/is happening. There is a nice balance of exposition and action that keeps the issue moving while filling in knowledge gaps and setting up the rest of the arc. If you haven't been reading this book, Walking Dead #97 is a place you can jump in and hit the ground running. 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man Vol. 2 #6

Jan 25, 2012

Bendis continues to develop Miles as a relatable character while starting to build in more story lines. This issue still has the same pacing from pervious issues, but you can just feel the story about to shoot off the line with Miles's first big encounter. Again, Samnee's art isn't bad it's just different. Hopefully on the next issue I will be use to it so I don't pull myself out of the issue. Ultimate Spider-Man continues to be a title that you should be reading and I'm giving this issue 3.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man Vol. 2 #10

May 9, 2012

I almost didn't buy this issue, not because there is anything wrong with the story, but because once again there are only 17 pages of content in this issue. I have accepted the fact that I will generally have to pay a little extra for most Marvel titles, but I would still like there to be just as many pages. Thankfully the current story line and art still keep bringing me back each month. We are starting to see Miles grow in his powers and understanding what his responsibilities for having them are, and it has been a treat to watch which is why I'm giving this 3.5 out of 5 stars. Hopefully future books will have a little more content, but I am looking forward to where it is headed with the Spider-Men crossover in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man Vol. 2 #13

Aug 1, 2012

For the last three issues of Ultimate Spider-Man I have paused to ask myself, "Do I really want to spend the $3.99 for this?" But every time I end up deciding, "Yes", and at the end of each issue I'm happy that I did. Every month the story of Miles Morales Is pushed farther and I'm sucked deeper into that world; it even has made me pick up other Ultimate books so I get the full United We Fallstory line. If you are a fan of any of the other Spider-Man books being published you should definitely be reading this. Ultimate Spider-Man is my new favorite issue from this run and earns 4.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Ultimate Comics: Ultimates #14

Aug 24, 2012

Ultimately the Divided We Fall storyline shuffled slightly forward instead of taking a regular issue step. What do we have at the end of this? Texas is down a nuke and the same guy is 'effing with everyone in a clear attempt to establish a new leader for the continent. Make this issue a dollar cheaper and I would say it's probably worth picking up to get the whole story for "Divided", but with a $3.99 price tag I say skip it and wait till next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Xenoholics #3

Dec 25, 2011

The initial premise of people coming together to help each other through their post-abduction lives had me interested enough to pick up the first issue. From there the story has expanded to cover-up stories and secrets from seemingly everyone involved. Williamson has been dropping hints throughout the issues on what is actually happening but never enough so you know the whole story. I'm excited to find out where this first arc is heading, and how they will continue the story after that. Xenoholics #3 from the Shadowline imprint of Image Comics was another fun read and earns 4.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

More