Batman's Grave #12

Writer: Warren Ellis Artist: Bryan Hitch Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: December 16, 2020 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 14
5.5Critic Rating
6.0User Rating

In this final issue, Scorn makes his final move to destroy justice in Gotham City! Injured and alone against an army of chaos, Batman has one chance to save the city: his ability to think like the victim. But the victim is always dead. The Batman can only win by using the approach of his own death.

  • 6.0
    ComicBook.com - Evan Valentine Dec 16, 2020

    The Batman's Grave comes to a close with a rather abrupt ending that almost feels like there's more story to tell and leaves you wanting more in a negative fashion. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Forces Of Geek - Atlee Greene Dec 17, 2020

    Ultimately, Ellis and Hitch produce an intriguing concept that starts strong enough but hits the wall halfway through and never recovers. Much like this issue, The Batman's Graveis a series you'll forget by the turn of the final page. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Swift Planet Jan 15, 2021

    Not sure whether I hate or love the ending, but it got me.

  • 6.0
    Spacey Medicine Apr 16, 2021

    Eh this was fine.

  • 7.0
    mrDovydas Jan 17, 2021

    While I did find this a bit uneven towards the end, I feel like it was definitely a good story, even if the ending did not land as well as I've hoped it will. Loved the Hitch's art, as per usual. Ellis was fine here, even if it's definitely not his best work.

  • 6.0
    allenquanobi Dec 15, 2020

    Weak ending. It wasn't as epic as it was trying to be nor did it achieve any sort of emotional impact. It was just Batman beating up the bad guy for most of the book. Also Hitch's art looks incredibly rushed and not good at all. It's hard to make out a lot of the action in some pages and panels.

  • 6.0
    Watchtower022 Dec 28, 2020

    Hitch did a fantastic job. Loved his work in every issue. The script didn’t live up to the art.

  • 5.0
    Psycamorean Dec 15, 2020

    Well, this ended similarly to Ellis' Moon Knight, but I guess Moon Knight got a more decisive victory. Which is expected, since Moon Knight is better than Batman. This was fine. I guess the ending was unexpected, but like I've been saying since issue one, the art doesn't fit here. It's too stiff. It took what could've been an impactful finale and turned it into something I just sorta shrug at.

  • 5.0
    Liem Duong Dec 22, 2020

    What the hell was this series. It started off strong, an intriguing mystery that Batman needs to solve. A great set-up, by with delays, and very little substance keeping me invested in this story, add on a terrible ending, Ellis gave out by Issue #12. There are some great things to this comic, Alfred and Bruce's dialogue is excellent, loved it. The artwork by Hitch was splendid as well, and how he handles action scenes is so dynamic and explosive. But the actual crime story, it did not hold me all the way through. I basically stopped caring what the story was even about anymore, a major flaw many detective stories suffer from. The ending as well, what was that? It ended in such a stunted and anti-climatic manner.

    This is sad con more

  • 4.0
    Hellblazer Dec 17, 2020

    The series started brilliantly but issues after issues it weakened badly and the main antagonist was bland with no real impact leading to a stale finale. A really poor effort from the writers.

  • 10
    Tothebe Feb 2, 2021

  • 10
    Steve R Apr 3, 2021

  • 6.5
    tonpas1989 Dec 15, 2020

  • 5.0
    daspidaboy Jul 23, 2021

  • 3.5
    Críticas Crónicas Dec 15, 2020

  • 3.0
    Franzlildead Dec 17, 2020

Reviews for the Week of...

August

4th

July

More