Gold Goblin #3

Writer: Christopher Cantwell Artist: Lan Medina Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: January 4, 2023 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 21
5.2Critic Rating
8.5User Rating

BEING A HERO ISN'T FOR EVERYONE...
Norman Osborn faced Chasm in DARK WEB #1 and has to face another terrifying opponent in this issue! Norman's only been a super hero for a few days... but his tenure might be quite short!
RATED T

  • 5.5
    Weird Science Marvel Comics - mrgabehernandez Jan 6, 2023

    Gold Goblin #3 continues to explore an intriguing idea about a man struggling with addiction and his past, but an idea is not a story, and Cantwell appears to have no story to tell. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    ComicBook.com - Chase Magnett Jan 4, 2023

    Gold Goblin remains a clunky read, but with the demands of "Dark Web" out of the way, it may still find its destination. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Hex May 15, 2023

    Between his guilt, trying at heroics and scolding a parent to be better than he was this is one of the best turns for Norman I could have hoped for. Villains turning into heroes is cliché but only so far as they tend to be surface level and don't have them deal with their actual sins. This particular case manages to have those in a physical form but it's all very grounded despite that. Norman really wants to try even through the animosity he is met with from most he helps. I doubt this will even be a long term status quo for Norman Osborn and I was even skeptical when it began but it's one of the best things to happen to the character and the best thing happening in Spider-Man right now.

  • 9.0
    Screaming Enigma Mar 26, 2023

    This was a series I almost didn't get, but I'm very glad I picked it up last-minute. The previous two issues have been great and this was no different. I'm happy to see that Cantwell has taken the Dark Web crossover and purely used it to his advantage. As with the issue before this, the crossover doesn't drag this book down whatsoever. Across the board, his writing is great and he's able to stretch things out just enough before hitting Norman with a flashback or reminder of his past. As for Medina, his art continues to fit right in here. Just a well-done book and I really hope the next two issues stick the landing.

    + LikeComment
  • 9.0
    Amazing Psycamorean Jan 25, 2023

    I really enjoy this introspective look into Norman Osborn. Not something I ever thought I'd say.

    + LikeComment
  • 9.0
    Jeff Plaza Jan 6, 2023

    As a Spidey-fan, this is a great in-depth character piece into Norman's state of mind these days. The writer did their homework.

  • 8.5
    CrazyforRAMU Oct 14, 2023

    Going in, I wanted more Queen Goblin and less Jack O'Lantern. This issue delivered the exact opposite…and I really like it.

    The author's found the right balance between narration and action. The words themselves are good. The art is surprisingly strong considering the huge collaborative crew working on it.

    What I find most impressive is the bold choice the creators make, spending most of the issue looping back over previous plot points to establish that Norman's stuck in a cycle he has to break.

    Of course, his more destructive thoughts in the front of the book are still cause for concern.

    Sass: So Norman is now capable of being a hero--unless he's sleep-deprived, in which case all bets are off.

  • 8.5
    Toonstrack Jan 6, 2023

    The pro reviewers are just completely wrong on this one. This is better than the main event which I'm not even hating. This issue isn't as good as the first two, the art takes a dip due to the multiple finishers of Medinas pencils but its still a solid issue and feels relentless as Osborne sins are.

    + LikeComment
  • 8.5
    Afre Jan 4, 2023

    Why are't the main issues as good as these tie-ins are...

    + LikeComment
  • 8.0
    DDJamesB Jan 4, 2023

    I liked this one more than I expected. I do believe that next issue is going to have to give us more. I feel this is the last issue I can give Norman brooding about sins a pass before it becomes stale.

  • 6.0
    Federico Liguori Jan 14, 2023

    Terribly rushed storytelling. It has good ideas, but they're drowned in bad dialogues and random events.

  • 10
    Maluminary Mar 1, 2023

  • 10
    Ventilator-x Feb 25, 2023

  • 10
    Bruno Mael Jan 6, 2023

  • 10
    CesarCastanha Jan 5, 2023

  • 9.0
    iPodwithnomusic Jun 14, 2023

  • 9.0
    Swanktub Jan 7, 2023

  • 9.0
    KittyNone Jan 4, 2023

  • 7.5
    dreagan Mar 28, 2023

  • 7.0
    Jason The Dude May 28, 2023

  • 7.0
    K-23 Apr 10, 2023

  • 7.0
    ComicWorm Mar 20, 2023

  • 6.0
    kotfr1tz Feb 4, 2023

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More