Clyde Hall's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Doom Rocket Reviews: 36
7.7Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Adventures of the Super Sons #1

Aug 2, 2018

Adventures of the Super Sons#1 satisfies, especially if you enjoy the interplay between two very different kids who find themselves unlikely allies thanks to their parents working at the same job. Damian is a complex character written well and diversely across DC titles, but my favorite version rests here. The mixture of Jon's mother and father, their attitudes and personalities, are always in subtle balance with Tomasi's Superboy as well. Seeing him take center stage rather than used as a support character in other books is always a treat. If you've missed your monthly fix of these young gentlemen, get ready to experience an explosive Summer of Super.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Algeria Is Beautiful Like America #1

Mar 27, 2018

Algeria Is Beautiful like America offers something important and significant to the current reexaminations of national history and character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie Meets Batman '66 #1

Jul 19, 2018

Archie Meets Batman '66 #1 succeeds in doing what all first issues should, and that's making us long for issue #2 while simultaneously filling our imaginations with all that could lie ahead. Reggie, a Catwoman henchman? Hot Dog and Ace lending the heroes a paw (I know, Bat-Hound was never part of the show, but neither was Poison Ivy). Batman, Robin, and Batgirl cutting a mean Batusi to the soulful musical stylings of The Archies? The creative team has proven once again how versatile the Riverdale teens can be when it comes to crossovers, even the unlikely ones. Archie vs Sharknado happened, after all. This one, however, has been helmed to go together like chocolate and peanut butter. Or, if you're Jughead, the Sixteen-Hamburgers-in-One Burger.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Archie's Superteens vs. Crusaders #1

Jun 26, 2018

Issue #1 not only takes a fresh approach to a previous Archie-nate Reality without reinventing it, it surpasses the original in most respects.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Atomic Robo: Spectre of Tomorrow #1

Nov 3, 2017

Spectre of Tomorrow #1 is a building issue, not an action extravaganza. I expect this; Robo story chapters don't always drop the reader directly into a fray. They court patience to set up the Big Bad before our hero goes after it full tilt. That said, this issue would not lend itself well as a jumping-on-point for new readers. There is a very brief 'Where the Story Is Now' intro, but overall, it's taken for granted you're a returning reader. But if youare a reader who has come back for more, you'll find thatAtomic Robo has provided a warm welcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Battlestar Galactica Vs. Battlestar Galactica #1

Jan 11, 2018

This is a fun way to begin a fandom dream mashup, and it remains to be seen how David balances that with the serious tone of the 2004 incarnation. But I wrote BSG fanfic yahrens ago, so I'll be picking up the next installment to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Hammer: Age of Doom #1

Apr 10, 2018

The Rod Serling shroud established so well by Lemire and artist Dean Ormston continues to hang over Rockwood and all its residents, each character vulnerable to a sudden case of death. Or at the least, a trip to The Cornfield without notice. Part of the mystery remains in just who their Anthony is"a vengeful past villain, another cosmic entity altogether, or maybe a member of the confined.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Brothers Dracul #1

Apr 12, 2018

The first issue is a stark, striking view of brothers caught up in intrigues not of their choosing, on paths that differ as they cope with treading a course without being overtaken, overpowered or overrun. The creative team has expertly shaped a dangerous, complicated natural world for them to survive. My curiosity lies in seeing if the unnatural, undead vampiric world is equally complex as the tale of two brothers continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Bully Wars #1

Aug 17, 2018

It should be appealing entertainment for students seeking escapist fun, one that brings smiles along with an affinity to their own weekly travails. It may also be a balm for parents struggling with new school year registrations and schedules. For any reader, it's a witty display of character perspectives that plays to timeless roles from shared academic experiences. And that allows for a few lessons to be couched in the laughter.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dark Fang #1

Nov 16, 2017

Horror and comedy are double-edged blades either rendered cutting or dull. Gunter and Shannon aren't fashioning a razor just yet, but their first issue is edged enough for an enjoyable main character introduction. Valla is pure predator, with little interest in or concern for human lives; her former one, or the ones she now needs for sustenance. Her bloody rampage against those endangering her food supply with unsustainable abuse of our resources makes for enlightening entertainment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DC Beach Blanket Bad Guys Summer Special #1

Jul 27, 2018

Beach Blanket Bad Guys Summer Special #1 is a diverse sample platter of adversarial analysis, satisfying as ice cold melon slices, grilled ballpark hotdogs, and carnival midway funnel cakes. The diabolic nature of these main characters, however, may have you frisking the cooks rather than kissing them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Doctor Star and the Kingdom of Lost Tomorrows #2

Apr 5, 2018

Dr. Star's past milestones and mistakes, his resultant modern malaise, have all been set down. What remains is seeing what lengths he's willing to go to redress his current situation. And maybe work in some homage to a certain corps of ring-slingers along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Doctor Strange: Damnation #1

Feb 27, 2018

The solid selection for the Stephen Strange Rescue Squad (Wong's Hoodooing Commandoes?) includes some of my favorite Marvel heroes, too, like Moon Knight, Blade, Man-Thing, Iron Fist, Elsa Bloodstone, Doctor Voodoo, and the Johnny Blaze Ghost Rider. And an appearance by Bats the spectral hound guarantees I'll be saying, "Just take my money" for several Wednesdays to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Doomsday Clock #5

Jun 1, 2018

With issue #5, DC is piloting a good series " not great, but good. One now working toward a resolution of all that's come before, with several ways I can imagine it failing, and far fewer satisfying endings. My hope is that Johns, Frank, Anderson, and Leigh will continue to surprise us in all the right ways, will intensify their considerable efforts so that by #12, Doomsday Clock will have proven its significance on its own terms. It's the kind of hope their work on Rebirth has rekindled in this DC fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Hornet (2018) #1

Mar 8, 2018

First issues examining vintage characters in a whole new way, while retaining the strengths and components that made that character memorable, do not come much better than this. My Green Hornet passion may have originated Old School, but this creative team has me thrilled. The New School is now in session.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ice Cream Man #5

Jul 5, 2018

There's a much vaster story than the reader is currently privy to, but watching the spidery scripter weave his web transfixes us, and we want to get closer, to see more of the pattern revealed with each forming strand. Even if that means we eventually witness it from the fly's point of view.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Incognegro: Renaissance #1

Feb 1, 2018

Reading the first issue, anyone can find in Zane Pinchback a very relatable hero. Not a fearless one, not an altruistic one, a very human one with talent, ambition, and the will to overcome trepidation for the truth. And just as in Fitzgerald's depiction of the Jazz Age, that truth is never guaranteed to be convenient or gilded, nor its pursuit without sacrifice and heartache. But in the fading luster of pretense and the waning cheapness of veneer, it's the only enduring treasure. This book has a solid twenty-four karat heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jem and the Holograms: Dimensions #1

Dec 8, 2017

The storytelling is tight, effective, and seemingly effortless. But in it resides great guffaw-worthy dialogue and a true sense of tabletop gaming chaos. Plus, Leth embellishes the various characters while also introducing each of their in-game D&D characters. The correlation of each revealed more about the Holograms through their player characters, organically.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League Dark (2018) #1

Jul 26, 2018

Such vivid delights in the inaugural issue of Justice League Dark beguile, with imminent bewitching still to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Lowlifes #1

Jul 6, 2018

Alexis Sentenac is an ideal artistic match for this story, his shadow play especially effective for the neo-noir vibe of the book and his blackened guttering as Grand's situation becomes intolerable is a strong indicator of the abyss the cop's life spirals into. Even in bright swatches of SoCal sunlight the setting is gritty, dirty, and unkept. Combined with the muted color palette, the reader feels ready for a long soak in a tub of scalding water once the first issue is finished. To shadow these lowlifes, to immerse yourself as witness to their world, be prepared to get dirty right alongside them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mata Hari (2018) #1

Feb 22, 2018

With many parts of her story yet to be explored in the next four issues, I'm looking forward to the journey and deciding if any modern versions would also end with the condemned refusing a blindfold, defiantly but demurely staring down her accusers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mystery Science Theater 3000 #1

Aug 30, 2018

Todd Nauck's art for the introductory portion involving the SoL, Moon 13, and the Return characters proved an unexpected major plus for the book. The fun he's having morphing the show into comic book form is tangible. His pages warranted a second viewing after my initial read, just to admire the joie de vivre he invested.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum Age: From the World of Black Hammer #1

Jun 28, 2018

Lemire successfully contrasts the two time periods with elements that float apparition-like from the classic Adventure Comics era of the Legion of Super-Heroes, and the 'Five Years Later' Keith Giffen/Tom and Mary Bierbaum tales of LSH Volume 4. More, he delivers it in the heart-rending manner longtime comics fans familiar with the homage's source material have come to expect, poignantly and on-key.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja/Tarzan #1

May 4, 2018

You may need a Red Sonja/Tarzan team-up in your life even if you think you don't, and Gail Simone is just the writer to prove it to you. She's orchestrated that rarity of a high-quality mashup able to please fans of both main characters. She's also added a villain to the Howard and Burroughs mythoi worthy of keeping dark company with the likes of Thoth-Amon and Nikolas Rokoff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil #2

Nov 27, 2017

The mystery widens, the danger mounts, and we're left wondering: Is Cthu-Lou harmless, or simply hiding in the open, biding his Master's time?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Skyward (2018) #1

Apr 23, 2018

I've never been a connoisseur of hard science fiction, preferring writers with a talent for making incredibly complex technical concepts and their implications understandable to the layperson. Folks like the late Michael Crichton come to mind. Despite this, the consequences of a low-G Earth and how humanity copes with it fired my imagination afterburners.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Thrawn #1

Feb 19, 2018

Those who have read the Zahn novel may feel a sense of familiarity from the storyline, but this creative team delivers the thrill you get seeing a favorite book realized on celluloid. They've tapped our mind's eyes for the graphics, channeled our inner reading voices for the dialogues, and conveyed Thrawn to a new innovative dimension of reality.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sword of Ages #1

Dec 1, 2017

We know these legends, Round Table et al. " just not this way. We're left eager to know more, and already lamenting that a mere four issues remain for Rodrguez to finish weaving his Merlin spell of remembrance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Sandman Universe #1

Aug 10, 2018

This particular kind of Special Issue has several objectives. To remind us of what was great in the previous tomes, to prepare us for additional sections of that storyline, to excite us with the new elements that will comprise it, and to introduce us to the folks who'll be shepherding us. The Sandman Universe #1 accomplishes all of that. The realm of Dream is reawakened, the braziers brightly lit once more, and the library ready for new patrons.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Shadow/Batman #4

Jan 4, 2018

. In the end, Orlando has funambulated the story extremely well, without snapping the disbelief suspension. He deserves kudos for not playing it safe. Instead, we have normally nigh-infallible heroes facing unconditional defeat. Neither Batman nor The Shadow have ever been more vulnerable, nor an outcome for either been less certain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Wrong Earth #1

Sep 7, 2018

This is a lot of quality entertainment packed into a single issue. If it sets the standard for future issues, it's a steal given the cover price. If #1 comes in a special introductory size, it's a grand start to the series. Either way, it's helmed by people of amazing achievement and even greater potential as evidenced by sneak peeks at their other previews.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
There's Nothing There #5

Nov 9, 2017

The conclusion satisfies without being simplistic, delivers poignancy sans Pollyanna.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Vampironica #1

Mar 6, 2018

Not every comic book project (or TV show, or movie series) hits the ground in overdrive, and all the elements needed to make Vampironica an equal to the post-Afterlife with Archie line are present. In interviews, the Smallwoods have given a clear, inspired vision of what they want to achieve in their series, a vision they have ample talent to realize. If the creative team can shift things into higher gear as the series continues, there's no reason this couldn't become a must-have for the readership reveling in the updated Archie mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Vinegar Teeth #1

Jan 26, 2018

The blended genres and the creators' love for each sets Vinegar Teeth apart, the result posing the question, "What if Alfred Hitchcock produced a Cohen Brothers film, based on an H.P. Lovecraft story adapted by Charles Addams and John Huston?" The answer? We all win.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Volition #1

Aug 20, 2018

They've begun well, with an issue showcasing a natural narrative flow, elegant art, and some twisty bits to simmer on. We want to know more, from the process by which artificials create their 'children' to how coping with the plague of Rust parallels or differentiates from sad human handlings of our own pandemics. There's even an overall fostering of hope for this future, that while far from perfect, the conjoined forces of man and intelligent machine will do better facing such challenges than we have on our own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We are The Danger #1

May 29, 2018

In interviews, Lelay's entertained notions of how characters from Jade Street Protection Services (with art by Lelay and written by Katy Rex) would stack up as a band. Thus, We Are The Danger might come off as mere wish fulfillment, and one that emulates other series concepts already being done. Except that he does it very well, well enough you don't care about all that. You just get swept up in the breakneck, youthful creative process of passion and possibilities.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More