Jamil Scalese's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 127
7.1Avg. Review Rating

6
A+X #8

May 28, 2013

By now you get what A+X is about. After the big spat the A's and X's can't stop bumping into each other and their hijacks are housed in this digestible anthology. It's the type of comic that encourages a bit of artistic freedom in really tight parameters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Action Comics #900

May 1, 2011

There have been more issues of Action Comics than any other superhero series ever, and this issue is its commemoration. Thus, its an obvious must-own for any-and-all Superman aficionados, but the series is still a coin-flip for casual fans like me. Still though, I can foresee #901 making it onto my pile in a month. I think my budget can handle it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Afrika #1

Mar 7, 2012

Afrika is named for a place but it's about a character. Dario Ferrer will stick with me for some time, a Jonah Hex-archetype displaced by 10,000 miles and hundred years. I highly recommended this to anyone looking to step away from the current comics market and check out something that plays to the tune of the soul.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Age of Ultron #1

Mar 12, 2013

In media res describes exactly what I like about this series. 99.9% of superhero stories are about the heroes preventing the villain from winning, this one details how the protagonists respond after their greatest defeat. It speaks to how close things are to going to shit each and every time a heavy hitter like Red Skull or Thanos threatens the world with the Cosmic Cube or Infinity Gauntlet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amelia Cole #1

Jul 9, 2012

Amelia Cole and the Unknown World is not as complicated as I'm letting on; it just could be. Right now it stars a very likeable and earnest lead character and world with a lot of trap doors. For two bucks it is well worth a peek, and if the Unknown aspects turn into something as magical as the power wielded by Amelia it will then warrant a longer look.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Army of Darkness Vol. 3 #1

Feb 27, 2012

I might give this book another chance despite all the flaws. As I said, the concepts are there and Serrano seems to be fan, but this comic has way too many confusing and un-fleshed out elements to truly demand anyone other than a hardcore Army of Darkness fan give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Ash and the Army of Darkness #1

Nov 5, 2013

This first issue did near to nothing to separate it from any other title out there right now. It's just a good character is a very nondescript adventure. Look elsewhere this week for your horror or comic needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers & X-Men: Axis #2

Oct 20, 2014

If you like AXIS and want a bit more context when I highly recommend this, but even after that Magneto appears to be a damn fine comic starring a character that remains one of the most complex and alluring figures on the printed page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers & X-Men: Axis #3

Nov 4, 2014

These anthologies are always a risk. Depending on your tastes this one is a hit or miss

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers & X-Men: Axis #6

Dec 2, 2014

Again, it's heavy on Daredevil, and those parts are fine. Cinar works better in the action, street-level setting than he does the high tech world of Iron Man. Taylor has some clever snips of dialogue, and the last page is a good piece of drama to drive a wedge between Matt and Tony. I'm eager to see how long this idea lasts and what the creative team can do with it. Right now it's OK, something to check out later perhaps.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers & X-Men: Axis #7

Dec 16, 2014

I'm still interested in Zenpool but I'm wondering how much this tie-in is advancing the overall narrative versus just being a gimmick to put Wade Wilson in a new costume.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers & X-Men: Axis #9

Dec 29, 2014

In the end AXIS was worth the time. I like Remender a lot so I was pretty excited for this and it delivered with a bunch of neat superhero moments stacked on top of each other. It wouldn't be the first work I'd hand off to the friend but I would recommended it if they were into reading a healthy plate of tie-ins.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Avengers (2010) #11

Apr 7, 2011

Theres so much to like about Avengers #11 that I just recommend jumping in now before you miss the juicy parts. It has great art, novel twists on old concepts, fantastic characters both new and old and two of best comic book creators the world has to offer. To me, this is what traditional superhero comics are all about.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers (2010) #14

Jun 17, 2011

*Dont misunderstand, I love Carol, and Im sure her skull can withstand a hammer strike, unlike weak-ass Bucky.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers (2010) #18

Oct 21, 2011

Within a few pages I immediately put Avengers #18 on the stack. Daniel Acua brings a fresh and softly glorious aura to this title primarily helmed by John Romita Jr. JRJR provides a certain bold feeling to the action packed adventures, but for a slow down, recovery issue like this Acua's style is appropriate for the tone. The simply drawn characters work well (even if Red Hulk looks like a midget) and inspired, almost slippery colors deserve particular mention. Those colors make this work and elevate the issue to one of the better Avengers related reads of the past few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers Vs. X-Men #3

May 7, 2012

Brubaker is the first writer so far to make the character's actions feel like realistic and organic decisions. Even though the big fight scene at the end is short on dialogue the emotions and stances of those characters are clearer than they ever been.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers Vs. X-Men #3

May 6, 2012

I liked this issue, but not enough to throw high praise on it. The storyline is getting just a tad more unpredictable but still, not a whole lot happens in issue #3 either. The event's centerpiece, Hope and Phoenix, are still a bit of mystery, and this installment seems to be more about positioning and cleaning up after the first big bout.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman Beyond (2011) #6

Jun 6, 2011

The subplots that are brewing underneath the main story are the best part of this comic. The mysterious antagonist Undercloud, Danas creepster brother Doug and the apparent return of Glorious Godfrey are all extremely interesting undertakings by Beechen. Not one of them is particularly riveting, but together they keep the book together. Its weird that Im still on board for the new stuff because Im so nostalgic about the old. Well, for a few more months, anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond Universe #2

Sep 24, 2013

DC has had some odd things happen over the course of the last two years but it appears the beloved Beyond universe is in capable hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Arkham City #1

May 16, 2011

Arkham City promises to be the best superhero game of all time. The comic adaptation is a not ground-breaking, but its a nice holdover until October 18, 2011. Until then, we can only dream of Scarecrows and Crocs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Arkham City #2

Jun 16, 2011

Though he first appeared to be simple side character and plot device dedicated, play-the-hell-out-of-a-game-to-get-your-moneys-worth types like me found out that the spirit of Amadeus Arkham had inhabited the body of the Sharp. I was personally very confused by this development, one that came much after the final battle with Joker in my gaming experience. We get some clarification on Sharps motives and background, welcoming since theres implication that the digital mayor of Gotham will play a huge narrative role in the game.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Gates of Gotham #2

Jun 27, 2011

On another level, we have this lovely start to a Bat series that features no Bruce Wayne and a somewhat iffy future continuity-wise. This is one of the last chronicles of Dick Grayson as Batman, and so far I have not really noticed the absence of the one true Dark Knight. The concentration of the series is on the central, layered plot and the supporting cast, which includes members of the Bat family and the Rouges Gallery.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain America (2012) #1

Nov 26, 2012

The writer of this book has a pattern of planting seeds for larger plot points in the early issues of long runs, and there are plenty of fun thought-nuggets in the 20 pages I read on Wednesday. Whether a dedicated fan of Steve Rogers or not it's a comic worth checking.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Captain America Corps #1

Jun 17, 2011

Ron schooled me, he loaned me comics and recounted classic tales of the super-solider. Simply put, I learned Captain America wins. Always. Sure, a lot of other heroes win too, but sometimes they get knocked silly or make a mistake. Not Cap, he wins. So, even though he still owes me $125 and moved out of our apartment overnight, I always thank Ron for exposing me to greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Avengers #190

May 31, 2013

Am I nostalgic? Yeah. Am I sad? Hell no. My long boxes aren't going anywhere, and it's only a matter of time before something else captures my attention, and my heart, like Thunderbolts/Dark Avengers. It's just going to take a handful of perfect pieces. Boomerang is probably one of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Deadpool (2008) #30

Dec 28, 2010

Daniel Way and Deadpool are a well-oiled machine and I anticipate more from one of my favorite monthly pick-ups. So Deadpool #30 really didnt do it for me. I inflated the rating because Im confident it will be better. Check back in on this title in February. Chimichanga!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deadpool (2008) #31

Jan 17, 2011

Curse of the Mutants is over for our man Deadpool. So just wait until next month to check this normally solid on-going out, even if this issue wasnt all terrible.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Deadpool (2008) #32

Jan 31, 2011

Not a terrible issue, but not at all worth the time or money to read it. With no forward momentum and an odd, ill-defined villain its best to wait until Point One to jump on the normally reliable Deadpool Express.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deadpool (2008) #33

Feb 24, 2011

Deadpool #33.1 is still on the way, but this also serves as a very good jumping-on point. Is this the return of the funny, shameless ass-kicking, mercenary Deadpool? We shall see.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Deadpool (2008) #34

Mar 31, 2011

Not the best of Deadpool stories, but I trust the creative team. Im just waiting for DP to become a little more grounded in what has been his bread and butter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deadpool (2008) #35

Apr 21, 2011

Still, the series is fairly entertaining, has very solid art and lacks any glaring flaws. Deadpool fans are recommended to stay the course.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deadpool (2008) #37

May 27, 2011

The gun is pointed in the right direction, but Im not sure it will be aimed that way when the tigger is pulled. Its always a coin flip with this book, and it's all about your interest in Deadpool and his guest star.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deadpool (2008) #39

Jun 24, 2011

These last few issues have been very visual with the classic "Hulk vs." concept being in play. Purple Pants jumps around, punches and yells real loud. Bong Dazo actually draws a pretty sweet Hulk. Ive bashed Dazo for some Deadpool work in the past but he is improving, even if he keeps taking liberties with DPs costume. The paneling is creative, and takes the typical super hero fight and gives it some flavor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deadpool (2008) #40

Jul 21, 2011

When Deadpools deep psychological issues surface, and he has a moment where hes not trying to be the funniest guy in the room, he has the opportunity to shine just has hard as any other comic hero with a complex (so all of them).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deadpool (2008) #41

Aug 12, 2011

The balance of jokes and story made this one of the best efforts in the recent run of the series. The inclusion of Dr. Whitby provides an earnest and quirky partner for Wade and allows his humor and insanity to shine on like a figurative crazy diamond. Daniel Way goes for the neck in Deadpool #41 with direct questioning of both the mercenary's issue in hearing (or seeing) voices in the form of caption boxes and his complacency with killing lots of people, particularly by ludicrous means.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deadpool (2008) #47

Dec 9, 2011

"Evil Deadpool" is fun, violent and manages to do some character work too. A great jumping on point before the probably awesome "Dead" storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool (2008) #50

Feb 18, 2012

TL;DR: Deadpool is sweet again, and there's lots of swearing!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deadpool (2008) Annual #1

May 6, 2011

This was not extremely disappointing, but nothing worthy to rush to the store for. A borderline buy, but if you like Layman and/or alternate universes, it might be worth grabbing. I may be in for the Incredible Hulks annual. Banner as the Sorcerer Supreme sounds somewhat entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deadpool (2012) #7

Apr 10, 2013

With an Iron Man promotional push coming up this comic actually features, and honors, the Armored Avenger in a funky fresh way. I don't want to spoil anything but I will reveal one guest star: Angar the Screamer. Yeah, that makes this a keeper for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deadpool (2012) #39

Dec 29, 2014

The issue reads as a wonderful capper to year two of Deadpool, tying off some subplots and acknowledging the large supporting cast they've created. There's an affect of a fresh slate to the ending, a nod to Deadpool's core status quo and the outlook of the character for the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deadpool and Cable #26

Feb 8, 2011

In the end, this is a must-grab for any fan of Deadpool, Cable or their peculiar friendship. Otherwise, leave this one on the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Deathstroke #2

Oct 17, 2011

When Deathstroke feels disrespected he gets pissed, and when he gets pissed he is likely to murder your ass. That's basically what this second issue reiterates for the reader. The tone of the whole thing is a continuation of last issue's ending pages where 'Stroke murders the members of his newly appointed teenage special ops team. I'm going to spare you a rundown of the mind-numbing violence that occurs in this issue and rather take you on an unsolicited trip down memory lane. You're welcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Double Jumpers #1

Apr 5, 2012

Double Jumpers is a fresh idea off to an exciting start. It's worth a look for those seeking something with heart and charm.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Double Jumpers #2

Jun 26, 2012

Though it's subject material and humor is focused on a certain audience, Double Jumpers is worth a look. Very few print comics go for the funny these days, so let's support one tries to make blackened-soul jerks like me smile once in awhile.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Extermination #1

Jun 12, 2012

Check out Extermination if you're looking for a lively twist on the superhero genre. It's violent, funny and inventive, and if it builds on a strong start it might turn into a keeper. For a dollar, it's definitely worth a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fear Itself #5

Aug 12, 2011

Fear Itself #5Posted: Friday, August 12, 2011By: Jamil Scalese Matt FractionStuart Immonen, Wade Von Grawbadger (i), Laura Martin (c), Milla Molinar (c), Chris Eliopoulos (l)Marvel Since the inception of the traditional comic book, the industry has moved from children's pastime to legitimate medium to tell a deep and poignant story. Comics have a more serious, harder edge to them than before with dialogue, strong characters and dense plots as emphasis. Especially in a big-time event like Fear Itself, substance and solid story elements are what fans want in their superhero sagas. Sadly, I'm the type of reader that is far too easily amused at pretty pictures and the simple thematic joy of big dudes beating each other up. Sometimes I just like to see colorful giants destroy each other with massive hammers, and I apologize.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Forever Evil #2

Oct 7, 2013

Villains Month is over. It was a victory "on paper" but not on the paper, if you get me. Yet, Forever Evil is a different animal as it will be around for several months and affect many of the core books in the line. There is a great idea brewing underneath the foggy set-up of this issue, but I'm not very optimistic we'll get the story I think we're all looking fo

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Forever Evil #7

May 27, 2014

DC has had a funky, frenetic last few years but (outside of Batman) I honestly feel like Forever Evil represents their first big success. With Futures End already well underway there isn't much time to take this one in, but you should.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ghostbusters: Infestation #1

Mar 12, 2011

This installment of Infestation is intriguing, but needed a little more momentum. The strong representation of the characters makes this a good (but not fantastic) read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Great Pacific #1

Nov 19, 2012

It's basically Think Tank, except with an island of garbage.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Hero Town #1

Oct 29, 2011

Jamil Scalese is just like you -- an avid comics fan and lover of sequential art. Residing in Pittsburgh, PA, he is an unapologetic Deadpool fan, lover of the Food Network and proud member of Steelers Nation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Iceman & Angel #1

Mar 22, 2011

Overall, this story was an entertaining success and worth the grab if youre a fan of Angel, Iceman or even Goom. Its a fun issue, but thats about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Indestructible Hulk #1

Nov 26, 2012

So much about Indestructible Hulk #1 makes sense it's hard not to love it. The comic takes a little bit of time to set up it's premise, but it's simple and full of new territory. The opening issue shares a duality between brain and brawn that represents the main character, and lays foundation for another great Hulk run. Hopefully, it can keep my fickle, child-like attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Infestation #1

Jan 29, 2011

Infestation #1 is worth it. It does its job introducing you to this ambitious venture and lays the foundation for what should be an enormously entertaining journey through the IDW multiverse. Even if you havent picked it up yet, stick around: the good parts are yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Infestation #2

Apr 9, 2011

All things considered Infestation rocked, but this issue is only necessary if you were on board for a good chunk of the ride. Wait for the trade paperback.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Infinity Heist #1

Oct 1, 2013

The concept is far from new (see MODOK's 11), but it works just the same. I need more momentum, more surprises, more good one-liners, but it's an acceptable first issue. With only a marginal connection to Infinity this is a decent read for anyone interested in the seeing the fourth best gallery do what they do.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Invincible Iron Man #500.1

Feb 7, 2011

The jury is still out on "Point One," and consequently the next chapter of Invincible Iron Man. A great issue in terms of memorable moments, but Id argue backwards looking can not be construed as forward momentum.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Journey Into Mystery #624

Jun 10, 2011

Right there. Thats where I, Comics Bulletin reviewer Jamil Scalese, would stop reading this review and conclude that this story was not for me. Damn, Im stupid. Kieron Gillens Journey Into Mystery is a delightful, intense journey that compliments Fear Itself in a way that makes it feel like its part of a Director's Cut.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Journey Into Mystery #625

Jul 15, 2011

Gillens short tenure on Journey Into Mystery has been riddled with magic, adventure and majesty. The variety of locales and the decisions of how to present them are appeasing to both first time vacationers to the nine realms and those who have timeshares there. Gillen seems to relish the chance to play around in Thors world and it shows. I enjoyed this issue a lot, but its not because it featured characters like the Mephisto and Tyr or because it does something new and fantastic with one of Marvels oldest villains. No, I enjoyed the hell out of this because it was funny.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Journey Into Mystery #626

Aug 19, 2011

Gillen's short work has gone a long way in the pages of Journey Into Mystery. The brash and brazen Loki skips through the Nine Realms on a mission to save Asgard, first meeting up with the powerful Thor villain Surtur, then making his way back to Midgard to take on the Serpent and his Dark Asgard, the floating island from Fear Itself #5.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Journey Into Mystery #627

Sep 16, 2011

In recent issues of Journey Into Mystery, a de-aged Loki has traversed the Nine Realms in an attempt to save Asgard against the intimidating forces of the Serpent. He's been to Hel, Midgard, Limbo and back on his mission and has rubbed elbows with the likes of Surtur, Volstagg and Tyr. There has been no shortage of locales and personalities in the quickly moving, always active story. In this issue it is -- holy crap! Is that Shuma-Gorath?!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Key of Z #1

Apr 5, 2012

Key of Z provides a solid experience, something of substance, but don't look for it to redefine the genre... or the setting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Killing Pickman #1

Dec 21, 2011

Some indie comics set out to do something in response to what the bigger guys are or aren't doing. Then sometimes some independent comics just try to be their own thing. Killing Pickman is a refreshingly thoughtful work, that doesn't skimp on story for form. It delivers a classic, yet layered, story and fits it in a slightly different package. When I get done reading something like this I am reminded that I love comics for what it can do and not what for what it has already done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Miniseries Extermination #1

Feb 8, 2013

Is Extermination's finish saying something, or just a jovial poke at the "good always wins" formula that never, ever gets broken? The bad guy, a stand in for the many mass murderers across comics, takes advantage of an unruly feud between two heroes, wipes out all his rivals and proclaims his dominance. It's through this ending that Extermination makes the continuing case for generic superheroes as a place to play around with some the best collective ideas in comics and flip them on their head. Gross, funny and ambitious in its character work this collection of comics is worth a read. Check it out, at the very least so I can get the Red Reaper ongoing we all know Spurrier really wanted to write.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
New Suicide Squad #1

Jul 15, 2014

This is a remarkably average start but there's enough there that a good story could bloom in the next issue. We'll see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Once Upon a Time Machine #1

Nov 8, 2012

Once Upon a Time Machine is a hefty collection that works for any age. It's a great read for somebody with interest in either fairy tales or science fiction as it hits all the finer points of both genres adequately. There are stories that don't work fantastically, or fail to impress visually, but those are balanced out by a Santa sack full of smart and artfully depicted reimaginings of timeless and more recent classics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Original Sin #8

Sep 30, 2014

All good things come to an end. So do bad things. And mediocre things, and average ones too. Cape comics seemingly will never end, at least probably not in our lifetime, so when whenever there are major changes to character or concept fans tend to take notice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Penguin: Pain and Prejudice #1

Oct 10, 2011

Nestled among a slew of second issues, Penguin: Pain and Prejudice somehow managed to delight me as much as any other book released since the end of August. The limited series is a bit of reverse of what DC has been going for. For one, it features a villain and many of the new titles offer characters who reach anti-hero at best. Secondly, the villain is one of the oldest and most ingrained the company can offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Planet of the Apes (2011) #6

Sep 24, 2011

The tension between humans and apes spikes as both sides make preparations to gain ground in the increasingly bloody social and political struggle. In this issue we spend a lot of time with various humans following their attempts to even the score against the repressive and domineering polices of the ape race. Characters like Bako, Wyn and Brother Kale shine in the second chapter of the second arc of the series and strengthen the title as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Power Man and Iron Fist #2

Feb 28, 2011

The story is in order, but the art is in flux. In the end, Im still in for the long haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Power Man and Iron Fist #3

Mar 25, 2011

More of the same from this limited: a fun, action-packed story with a cast of big personalities, but the art is in trouble at points and the overall quality suffers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Power Man and Iron Fist #4

Apr 29, 2011

Power Man and Iron Fist has been an eventful, engaging story so far with old-school feel and new spins on classic concepts. Hopefully its conclusion in the next issue will do the layered story justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Power Man and Iron Fist #5

May 27, 2011

This was a satisfying ending to a quality limited series about two characters that arent mightily important. You should definitely consider picking this up once it gets collected in trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Red She-Hulk #63

Mar 13, 2013

Parker can produce a great single issue, so I have little worry that the series can improve quickly, but the pieces here, from Betty and Machine Man, to Bruce Banner's involvement and the pit stops along Route 616 are patchwork. Let's hope they cohere very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red She-Hulk #64

Apr 10, 2013

The uneven art is the area that has me most uneasy. Pagulayan and Alves have worked together before, and Marvel pairs them because their styles are ridiculously similar. Carlo Pagulayan has a crisper, Deodato-like method. Alves' style is scratchier, and his forte is the grim and grotesque. I prefer Pagulayan, but my distaste for the pencils isn't about preference -- it's that Marvel has these two artists working in tandem on single issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Resident Alien #0

Apr 11, 2012

The ultimate stranger, the classic town, Resident Alien takes an old premise a step further and lays the groundwork for a potentially great piece of literature.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Resident Alien #1

May 24, 2012

The concept has me riveted, the art has me in awe. Resident Alien continues to be promising and I am eagerly awaiting the next issue. Clearly one of the best, original creations to come out of Dark Horse in recent memory.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Revenge #1

Mar 4, 2014

This debut issue did just enough for it to be a success, but this series could fly off the rails at any point. Revenge #1 is full of surprises but it hinges on how it happens and not what happens. The concept of revenge is one explored many times in every nearly artistic medium, and it's hard to tell if Ross and Churchill are exploring its complications or merely paying homage. The narrative needs to elevate in some way, and I'll be checking out issue #2 to see if they can do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Revenge #3

May 13, 2014

The basic requirement of a comic book is to get the reader to keep turning pages and Revenge hits that criteria. Though not groundbreaking it's not a bad buy if you're looking for a relentless and fun story about bloody retribution.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Savage Wolverine #9

Oct 8, 2013

It's safe to report that the art is what you would expect from the creator, which is fantabulous and engaging. The story also works on some levels, isolating The Best There Is in a far off place. I'm eagerly looking forward to the next two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Secret #1

Apr 13, 2012

Secret #1 is a solid debut. Nothing extraordinary, and still without a firm direction, but bold and gritty enough to stick out in the current market. I look for the co-creators to improve on a commendable start, and hopefully when, and if, they get to the meat of this story I'll be there with them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Avengers (2013) #3

Apr 18, 2013

The formula is working. Secret Avengers stands out as an ambitious, witty title when it easily could have been a bland melodrama. With an assault of titles in the A-word category it might get lost in the herd, but it shouldn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Wars #3

Jun 9, 2015

It's accurate to say we're high on Secret Wars. Its early but the main title and auxiliaries are neither too unwieldy nor too bereft. The rest of the summer should offer up some good readin'.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Secret Wars #6

Oct 14, 2015

There were two other series, 1872 and Hail Hydra, that each release their second and third issues, but since Ive already typed way lots about all my other reads Ill save my thoughts on those two quality books for the next installment of Secret Wars Team-Up. See you then!.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Secret Wars #9

Jan 26, 2016

All the months, pages and dollars were a good time spent but Im glad to be taking a break from the crossover game for a few…weeks. I guess I'm getting suckered into Standoff!… We'll meet again to talk about the next war, Shawn. Im guessing it will be, ahem, civil.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Trek #35

Jul 15, 2014

For those nostalgic for the Enterprise of yesteryear, but still not bitter enough to hate the JJ-Verse on principle, this one will please you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Trek: Infestation #1

Feb 14, 2011

A good zombie story through a fantastic Star Trek lens. If youre following Infestation or just a Kirk fanatic this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stray Bullets: Killers #8

Oct 26, 2014

Stray Bullets: Killers #8 ends a very successful "mini-ongoing" by utilizing a bunch of characters introduced over the previous seven issues and putting them against each other in unforeseen ways. With a savvy mix of violence, emotion and absurdity I recommend this series to anyone looking for a damn good read. Now excuse me while I catch up on the 1000 or so pages that I missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Risk #9

Jan 14, 2014

This title exists in a realm between boilerplate superhero comics and some of the more avant-garde stuff that you have to special order at your LCS. It's a joy to read as I have no flippin' clue what to expect issue to issue, a rarity in the age of advanced solicits. While much of the allure ties into the huge overarching mystery about Leo and his spare identify of Requiem there is still plenty of legwork done in the mean to make this a fun, fresh and dramatic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Risk #16

Aug 8, 2014

The mix of familiar and very weird works magically for this series. It's a highly individualistic title lost in a crowd of many other equally unique comic books. Suicide Risk is as good as anything else on the racks, and that's saying something because there's a lot of frickin' good comics right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superior Foes of Spider-Man #5

Nov 18, 2013

Know what amazes me most though? Spider-Man hasn't actually showed his stupid, bug-eyed face yet. Amazingly, none of the plot events hinge on his presence, and it's cool to see this comic stand on its own two, contending for possibly the best item on the stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Superior Iron Man #2

Dec 29, 2014

The same critique of the art remains, way too mundane for a book about a tech and ego. Yinar would be awesome on a street-level title like Heroes for Hire or something more straightforward in its concept like a Hulk comic. There's an uncertain blandness that doesn't speak to the art quality, just the art direction. I'm waiting for this series to heat up. Maybe it could drop a few bombs or vary the team-ups a little bit. There are elements hinting that the story will tighten, like the Pepper subplot, but more work needs done to justify this creative choice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman Beyond #0

Aug 29, 2011

This version of the character originated in the Batman Beyond animated series, and made his comics debut in last years excellent Superman/Batman Annual #4. Its an alluring take on an icon that is often depicted as the pillar of vitality and strength. This one-shot seems like an effort from DC to bring the big boy back to help strengthen the line, along with the Justice League roster.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Tall Tales From The Badlands #2

Sep 17, 2012

Generally, I really like a lot of what I see in this issue. The art overall is extremely  sound, and for the most part the stories are complete and get the point across. Collectively, the comic is worth a look for anyone into a straightforward western. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Avenging Spider-Man #17

Mar 6, 2013

Via the magic of time-travel, Yost and Medina allow the reader to peep through the keyhole and see what's down the line for one of the biggest "new" characters of the year. There are hints that this whole endeavor ends very, very badly for Otto Gunther Octavius, a tragedy that is both horrific and unstoppable. With the appearances of two classic Spidey villains -- each showing up at the end of the last two issues -- it seems that Yost and the art team have cohesive plans for the title, which is shaping up to be one of Marvel's most fun and unpredictable.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Infinite #1

Aug 2, 2011

The potential of the idea and the creators' track record save this title from being a complete letdown. I am eager to find out if The Infinite will find the necessary depth -- both in Kirkman's plot and Liefeld's pencils.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Iron Age #1

Jul 1, 2011

Yet, somehow it was worth it. This double-sized issue brims with fabulous art and remarkable, thoughtful story-telling. We transport into the mind of the frazzled and weakened Stark and get meaningful perspective on the present, past and future of Marvel Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Last of the Greats #1

Oct 4, 2011

Megan: Really?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New Ghostbusters #1

Feb 14, 2013

For a franchise that has produced very little source material Ghostbusters, almost inexplicably, continues to churn out fresh material. This new launch by IDW and the gang continues the tradition that makes all the concept great, from peculiar antagonists, to New York city bureaucracy and sarcastic smarm for miles. Maybe, most importantly, the series is attempting to branch out from the status quo, while still utilizing all the things fans love about the status quo. Thus, the answer to "Who you gonna call?" is a bit more complicated and unfamiliar, but it could be exactly what this book needed to shake off the ectoplasm funk and start to build new stories with a now classic formula. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Rinse #1

Aug 30, 2011

Thats where Jeff Sinclair comes in. Jeff is the best money rinse guy in the grand city of San Francisco. Everyone from mob bosses to small time crooks request his services for their own. Jeff is a slick, though levelheaded, guy who appears focused only on making as much money and the score of the baseball game. He lives in a fast, dangerous world that requires equal parts grit and ingenuity to stay one step ahead of the technology and people that make his job so difficult. Established creator Gary Phillips (Angeltown, Highrollers) does an excellent job of quickly establishing the setting and tone of Jeffs world and getting us into some of the juicer aspects of the plot. Admittedly, in this debut issue Jeff Sinclair is like a stone skipping along the service of the narrative pond. We only get the information we need to get the meat of the story, but for the purposes of drawing in the reader it was appropriate.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Rinse #4

Dec 11, 2011

The final cycle of The Rinse concludes the biggest money cleaning of Jeff Sinclair's career. With a gang of thugs on his trail, and the IRS sniffing around, Jeff has proven himself one of the smoothest characters in town. This guy does not get flustered, even in the face of mean dudes who want to kill him with scary guns.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Think Tank #1

Aug 8, 2012

The comic does not visually standout, and the main character needs room to grow, but this Top Cow release feels fresh and a little overdue. Keep a watchful and eager eye on Think Tank, it's a scrappy little comic that begs for a read. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Think Tank #4

Nov 19, 2012

The conclusion for the first arc details the final portion of David's escape from the government facility he's worked and lived out of for much of his adult life. The ultra slick super genius utilizes real life science in his getaway, from suggestion gas, to invisibility suits, surface thought mind readers and localized EMP bombs. The series' credibility links to the idea that military tech is fifteen years ahead of what's available to consumers, and most of its success derives from Hawkins' research and background knowledge. Along with artist Rahsan Ekedal, the two have pieced together an exciting ongoing. The main downfall is that David is smarter, hotter and cooler than me, and it depressing to read about his fictional success.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Thunderbolts (2006) #153

Feb 22, 2011

The art is great and the characters are interesting, but the concept is bare-bones. Not the most "important" book Marvel is putting out, but potentially one of the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thunderbolts (2006) #156

Apr 22, 2011

This book represents the "leftovers" of the Marvel super-community and does not disappoint for a fan of the brand. Crazy prediction here -- this title is going to be very readable in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thunderbolts (2006) #157

May 20, 2011

The ending to this one showed that doubling the roster can equal double the fun -- oh, and its kind of chilling. Book my ticket for next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thunderbolts (2006) #159

Jun 24, 2011

The four stories showcase the long arm of Thunderbolts and the built-in ability to reach into just about subsection of Marvels diverse library. Only the Avengers brand is better at it. Then again, there are stories about the villains of the Avengers and Boomerang.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thunderbolts (2006) #160

Jul 8, 2011

Thunderbolts #160Posted: Friday, July 8, 2011By: Jamil Scalese Jeff ParkerDeclan Shalvey, Frank Martin Jr. (c)Marvel Jeff Parker makes event tie-ins look good. After rocking it when the Thunderbolts participated in the Shadowland saga, the Fear Itself issues have provided some excellent connections to the event while still doing justice to the characters and themes of the previous 30 issues. Still, Im kind of glad this one was regular-sized and not five dollars like the last issue. Skipping meals gets old after breakfast.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Thunderbolts (2006) #162

Aug 19, 2011

Although it's slapped across the front cover Fear Itself has almost nothing to do with what's happening on the panel. The frog army attack is schemed by Sin, but the versatile invasion force is an invention stolen from Zemo, who made a surprising return last issue. More surprising is his association with Fixer and how that plotline develops in this issue. Parker is doing an excellent job of keeping the continuous subplots moving and trying to incorporate all of the players.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thunderbolts (2006) #163

Sep 16, 2011

Hold on to your cowls, Thunderbolts, things are about to get weird. As this comic pulls itself from the snake's coil of Fear Itself, there are a few things on the cover that deserve immediate mention. First, the "Justice, Like Lighting" tagline makes it return, an off-and-on motto of our favorite team of half-assed bad guys. Also, there is a proud statement of this being "1ST ISSUE OF A NEW ERA", an odd declaration considering this book is not offering a new creative team, roster or philosophical direction. Probably the most notable thing on the front of this week's Thunderbolts is the indication that Captain America and Namor are now part the new team in some capacity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Thunderbolts (2006) #167

Dec 23, 2011

I do have to admit that the lofty rating received a bump from the last page guest appearance of one of my favorite characters in Marvel lore. Another great thing about Thunderbolts -- it's not tied down by any specific character or franchise so it can generally go anywhere and do anything. Almost 30 issues in, this era of the title might be the best ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Thunderbolts (2012) #1

Dec 11, 2012

Anyone who buys Thunderbolts should understand what they are getting. Big names and big action. The flaw of the first issue is that it features a shit ton of preamble but no real reason for the reader to come back. Compare this to Avengers #1 which basically lays out the entire next year for you in the prologue. All that's set up here is a tone and a cast. We'll have to wait for plot and theme.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thunderbolts (2012) #22

Mar 4, 2014

With the new art team and the writer's comfort with the volatile cast and the book's voice this series finally has potential to set itself apart from the rest. It's lighthearted with the dirtiest intentions, and has quickly risen to one of my favorite reads.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Thunderbolts (2012) #23

Mar 25, 2014

With a new writing team on the horizon it's apparent that someone somewhere is trying to make this work. The pieces are there for a great story, but can anyone figure it out?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Thunderbolts (2012) #27

Jun 24, 2014

Thunderbolts #27 indicates that this title might have finally found it's stride, and given the appearance of an old school T-bolts character, I'm extremely encouraged the writers understand the history and potential future of the franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Thunderbolts (2016) #1

May 9, 2016

I do question of the muddled feel of Thunderbolts and I look toward the editors, Tom Brevoort and Alanna Smith. Ill pick one character to whine about: Fixer. How the hell was he pulled out the time loop he created when he killed then replaced himself? (Dont tell me Kobik) Why the shit is he wearing his Techno gear when he was in the modern version of his costume during Pleasant Hill? Eh, Ill lay off. I adore this franchise, and the original crew back together is kind of a dream. Imma stick around for a little. Just do the obvious, Marvel Bring back Jolt!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Transfusion #1

Oct 9, 2012

At the end of the day, there isn't a whole lot to Transfusion #1 in terms of plot or setting. While it's a short, very entertaining read that holds promise nothing it guaranteed. I'll admit to being turned around on the paper-thin pitch, but Niles and menton3 need to do a lot more work for me to give Infusion an above average endorsement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny X-Force (2010) #14

Sep 2, 2011

Uncanny X-Force has sneakily risen to my absolute must-buy list. I initially picked up the first issue based on a mild recommendation and interest in the line-up. I had no expectations for Remender or the art team, even though I loved the ashy black and white costumes. Somehow, even though it isnt the ending chapter to The Dark Angel Saga, I feel like this issue brings me full circle. The events connect tightly to those that happened in the first arc, and even the digressive storylines since then have helped push the characters to this moment. Another homecoming of sorts is the return of Jerome Opea who worked on that first arc, and he delivers another strong effort in the fourth chapter of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny X-Force (2010) #18

Dec 16, 2011

Bag or not, #18 is a great issue with a wonderful balance of reveals, shockers and nods to the future. The hype is legit -- Uncanny X-Force is the X-Men comic childhood-nostalgic adults have always hoped for. Sex, murder, betrayal and a giant minotaur all in one convenient package.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Vescell #1

Aug 30, 2011

Moo is a cool dude. Hes got the ladies on lock, he dresses smooth, he has cool weapons and his job keeps him on the move. Too bad its a little too speedy for the reader. Not only is there the prospect of people switching bodies, but this story by Enrique Carrion features sexual cyborgs, girlfriend spirits and alternate demon-infested worlds. I started this story thinking it to be a sleek, serious, neo-noir or something akin to the misguided 2010 Repo Men movie, but it literally turned into something else as I witnessed a hot woman transform into a hotter woman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Where is Jake Ellis? #1

Nov 16, 2012

Where is Jake Ellis? #1 utilizes the momentum from a crafty idea and the first part of the second arc is executed well in terms of collaboration. It's not a page turner, it's a page absorber; a comic book I find myself staring at, getting lost in art and concept. A righteous start to the sequel, and fun series overall.   

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Who Is Jake Ellis? #1

Jan 9, 2011

Edmondson and Zonjic have something special brewing here. Were a week into 2011 and we might have one of the best titles of the year already. No major flaws, except that I have to wait a month to discover who IS Jake Ellis?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Who Is Jake Ellis? #2

Feb 24, 2011

My questions and wants were remarkably satisfied, and the art couldnt be more solid. I cant promise you itll all pay off, but for right now its an enjoyable ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Who Is Jake Ellis? #4

Jun 4, 2011

The original planned length of the series was five issues, and I anticipate the next one will drop some vital information on the core plot. Hopefully it expands on the Jake Ellis story scope. Will we get more characters and more back story for our leading men? As long as Tonci Zonjic is drawing I will give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Who Is Jake Ellis? #5

Oct 11, 2011

The concept and pacing of this series reached golden peaks at points in previous issues, but Edmondson never blew me away with dialogue or dynamic relationships. Who Is Jake Ellis? worked best when it was simple and spontaneous. As soon as a Jon Moore stopped shooting and someone else started talking it transformed into a jumblefuck of sentences that did not speak "last chapter." It felt like a huge tease. (Feel free insert your own sexual metaphor.)

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wolverine/ Hercules: Myths, Monsters & Mutants #1

Mar 7, 2011

A very good to start to a story with a boatload of possibility. For Wolverine aficionados, its a must-grab.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wolverine/Deadpool: The Decoy #1

Jul 29, 2011

In The Decoy, which apparently made an appearance as a digital comic on Marvel.com last year, we find Wolverine trying to eliminate a giant Shi'ar robot that is programmed to hunt down Jean Grey and will destroy anything it reaches for that point. Problem is -- Jeanie is dead, so the robot will never stop hunting her down and thus kill everyone on its fruitless mission. Our grisly friend Logan knows hell need back-up on this one and naturally tracks someone down who would be dumb enough to be bait.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

More