Jeremy Bernard's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Batman-News Reviews: 53
5.3Avg. Review Rating

8
Arkham City: The Order of the World #1

Mar 14, 2022

Even though the final issue or two might not have the same incredible pacing as the previous issues, Arkham City: Order of the World is absolutely worth your while. From the art, to the colors, to the lettering to the character dynamics, this six-issue series possesses the grace and flexibility of Robin the Boy Wonder.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman / Catwoman: The Gotham War (2023): Red Hood #1

Sep 26, 2023

Wow, I just realized how little this first issue even impacts the main storyline of The Gotham War. I hope that's just because it's an introduction to the premise of this comic but for a product that makes no sense outside of The Gotham War fanclub members feeling they have to buy it this does kind of irk me. Apart from that the story is just very underwhelming with yet another instance of a story that revolves around a singular character I can't even force myself to care about. At least when Red Hood interacts with Catwoman there's an inkling of intrigue so let's hope we get to see more of that, or, I don't know, a story that involves henchmen with actual personality.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman: Beyond the White Knight #1

Apr 21, 2022

A terrifying return to the world of Batman Beyond. The art, coloring and letters all work off each other incredibly well and there are a plethora of little details that I'm discovering and absolutely loving. Hopefully Sean Murphy continues showing us how terrible Batman and Napier's well-meaning schemes actually are but the writing is still creating these arguments based on flawed premises.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman: One Bad Day (2022): Two-Face #1

Sep 20, 2022

This review wasn't as positive as I first thought it would be and after reading it a couple times I really feel like the pacing and presence of Batman are the biggest problems I have when I think about why each time has been less enjoyable than the last. The story definitely got me to think about some interesting conflict of interests and had me horrified by the end of it but just like the coloring I was way more impressed with it at the beginning than by the time I had let it settle in.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman: White Knight Presents: Generation Joker #2

Jun 20, 2023

The entertainment is there. The execution is impressive in its ability to juggle so many stories at the same time. I'm just feeling a bit underwhelmed when I know what this comic looks like when put side by side with Sean Murphy's stories. Sure Sean Murphy might not have navigated Batman's world with the most tact but it was bold and brilliant in it's own right and I still admire the risks taken. Not so much here

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Batman: White Knight Presents: Generation Joker #3

Jul 19, 2023

Why is this a mature 17+ story??? That actually boggles my mind because any self respecting comic fan who's old enough to read and understand complex stories is going to be thoroughly disappointed by how boring and tame this is. Pick up anything by Le Marquis de Sade if you want mature works. Pick this up if you're a cool adult who needs to find a gift for your teenage niece/nephew/nibling. Cause while I'm losing interest right now I could still see a younger me really liking the story for how it talks to the many insecurities and need for rebellion we feel at that age.Score: 4.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Batman: White Knight Presents: Generation Joker #4

Aug 15, 2023

I keep reading this series with the understanding that the main story talks about a conflict that I'll never relate to. At least not anymore. While stories meant for children can be great for any audience, this childhood feeling of needing to take control of your own narrative doesn't really pack that much of a punch unless you really feel like it's speaking to you. I think the story is serviceable but I'm not going to want to revisit this bump in the road and hopeful that it'll continue to get better because the ending of this issue certainly works a lot better!

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Batman: White Knight Presents: Generation Joker #5

Sep 19, 2023

The fluid storytelling is gone, the subtlety of character decisions is gone, the childhood framing and themes are a mess Why bother reading this really? Looking at it, sure. But actually trying to unpack it leaves you with nothing more than "oh wow, people have a hard time letting go, crazy conclusion right there!

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Batman: White Knight Presents: Generation Joker #6

Oct 17, 2023

Wow, today was a rough day to review comics. I had to write about such lifeless works that I can't even manage to write longer pieces (which I prefer) or motivate myself to talk about things I usually enjoy unpacking like colors and lettering. I just want this review to be over and am typing enough words for y'all to understand that this ain't it and you should jump ship before it's too late.Score: 3/10

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Birds of Prey (2023) #1

Sep 6, 2023

I'm always cautiously optimistic with new DC series and despite really digging this first issue and loving the art I want to wait to see if this can really shine beyond the flashy opener. Notice how I barely have anything to say about the actual story? Hopefully it doesn't stay that way.Score: 6/10

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Birds of Prey (2023) #2

Oct 3, 2023

I'm so excited about this issue! And the more excited I get the more worried I get because God knows I've been burnt before. It's hard not to look at all the improvements made and feel like there might be a great story through and through but the first issue keeps knocking at the door to remind me that there are still some lingering problems to deal with. Lots of coincidences and causal explanations that are somewhat understandable now without exactly being flawless. But every character feels unique and the writing doesn't hinder the story even if it doesn't exactly work best with it on a reread. So for now I'll be keeping to this story with fingers crossed and a smile on my face. Score: 7.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Birds of Prey (2023) #3

Nov 8, 2023

Another great issue and suddenly I get this new feeling I haven't had in a while with DC. What is it? Not exactly trust though I do trust this particular team to bring about a great story. Maybe a smidgeon of hope but this comic isn't going to change the entire comic industry nor was that ever promised in the first place. Ah! I know. It's relief. The realization that comics can be fun and well thought out and have characters with motivation and mystery and all the good things that make us want to dive into these crazy worlds in the first place. The soft aesthetic and jokey tone provide that relief with a badass flock of fearless birds I'm ready to follow as I support their rights and their wrongs!Score: 7.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Birds of Prey (2023) #4

Dec 5, 2023

There's small things here and there that I could nitpick but wow this series is so fun and beautiful that I can only think about those criticisms in passing. Truth is I'm just curious with where we're going and can't wait to read the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Birds of Prey (2023) #6

Feb 6, 2024

I for one have been a big fan of this series and am happy that we have so many talented people working together! Does that mean the story is without flaws? Of course not. The small things pile up and the art makes up for a lot but this series has to definitely find creative ways to make everything more than a joke. I like how the ending shows a glimmer of hope as it takes things more seriously when appropriate. The issue starts off tense, gets to show off badass beatings

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Birds of Prey (2023) #8

Apr 2, 2024

I've been really disappointed by these past two issues. I hope it picks up again and we start having a stronger balance between the comedy and serious elements. I want the art to be bold and the characters to be more than just the writer's punchlines. I'd honestly say avoid this series until further notice. Pretend that the first arc was the only oneScore: 3/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
DC Power (2023) #1

Jan 31, 2023

Most of these stories are incredible and capture the essence of so much in such a short amount of pages. The diversity of stories, of emotions, of problems and characters really makes this anthology stand out and if you approach it with a critical lens then you are going to be rewarded by thoughtful depictions of many of the problems currently plaguing the world. The lessons that can be learned from these stories are inspiring and I am glad to see many of these superheroes empowering themselves through their communities as both are elevated and ready to take on what they know to be the problem!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Earth-Prime (2022): Batwoman #1

Apr 7, 2022

The fact that they had to tie this first issue to so many different plot points in the CW show was a real blow to the pacing, just like the over the top dialogue that barely fits the pages it's in. The character dynamics are fun and fluid when they relate to the narrative of the comic or just show us more about the lives and inner thoughts of the characters themselves but this isn't super consistent. I am in love with the colors of this comic and certain pages and panels have definitely stood out to me while the overall composition remains relatively solid. Score: 5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
3
I Am Batman (2021) #11

Jul 12, 2022

Even though I enjoy tiny details here and there I have found I Am Batman to be kind of overly confusing in its themes and messages. This issue in particular felt like everything was still advancing at a snail's pace and I honestly wouldn't recommend reading this issue because it's not even a part one at this point, just another section of Jace's many slices of life that have all gotten stale real fast.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
I Am Batman (2021) #12

Aug 10, 2022

I was mostly bored with this issue. The plot advances very slowly and the characters feel really bland and uninteresting. I wasn't able to latch onto the art because the settings and action don't have any showstopper moments. So as much as I appreciate the consistency and details of the realistic world that Batman is in I don't really care about why Batman is there or what Batman is going to do now that he's there. I would suggest skipping this issue and checking out the next one because you probably won't be lost anyways.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
I Am Batman (2021) #13

Sep 13, 2022

This issue, although it has shown improvement, does not exist in a vacuum and is way too dependent on you following an incredibly mediocre (at best) story that advances at a snail's pace. I could have easily spent a large part of this review criticizing this issue for how it ties into the overall story but I really love seeing people improve their work and I wanted to make sure I spent this review talking about that.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
I Am Batman (2021) #14

Oct 11, 2022

I may not always agree with everything in this comic but I'm pleasantly surprised by the campiness, the self aware writing and the closure over Danny Chan's death. I still think that I am Batman advances way too slowly and like I said this has made the finale feel like a small piece of a puzzle rather than the beautiful big picture. But in an insane turn of events I'm more irratated by the coloring than the actual writing and I hope that Rex Lokus is doing ok.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
I Am Batman (2021) #15

Nov 9, 2022

I really hope this new start keeps it up and am cautiously optimistic about the future of I Am Batman. The reason I'm still cautious is because this issue was mostly a one on one and only involved a single character with superpowers which worked incredibly well in order to dive into Batman's psyche but it seems like we're about to get a bunch of new superheroes and supervillains headed our way and this might dilute the story. In the past I Am Batman has had a hard time juggling multiple characters so I guess we'll see! I'm just happy to have been able to read this gem and could easily return to it without needing to read the previous issues for a recap.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
I Am Batman (2021) #16

Dec 13, 2022

Welp, I guess we're back in New York and we're going to stay here for now. That means the same ol' same ol': a bit of story dumped onto your lap, slowly strung out for your boredom to be maximized as your eyes try to quickly capture the art before immediately forgetting about it. Because I'm reviewing this I have to keep track with what's about to go down but I highly advise y'all to skip this comic for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
I Am Batman (2021) #17

Jan 11, 2023

I think it's really cool that this issue actually addresses some tense family dynamics, themes that relate to the real world and characters that are complex. My problem is the only reason I can actually unpack this issue is because I had to sit through so much filler and I have the patience to reread the issues that were actually relevant. So I think these characters can be talked about at length at this point (except the cops) but are people doing that? Or are they just waiting for it to be over? I know some people are genuinely into this series and I think that it's cool that once in a while you can have an issue like this that actually rewards them for sticking to it but it's not enough in my opinion and if you don't want to start from the beginning I would definitely recommend avoiding this issue.Score: 5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Am Batman (2021) #18

Feb 14, 2023

I am really not a fan of this series. I kept seeing potential here but the pacing was so slow that I really had a hard time wanting to recommend anything I felt like was just filler. This issue at the very least ends on a high note. Takes the story to emotional and action packed moments that any fan of the series will feel deeply. For that, I am happy to recommend the only existing issue of I Am Batman (as far as I'm aware of).

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Joker: The Man Who Stopped Laughing #10

Sep 6, 2023

I really couldn't recommend slogging through these issues despite the decent art. I've had to catch up and the fact that I was over with it by the end of three days of intense reading was honestly a sweet relief compared to anyone following it every month with the faintest hope that the story won't just keep meandering along its asinine plot. Is it the worst thing I've ever read for Batman News? Absolutely not. But it's the terrible way this comic decided to use Joker and other Joker that stands out for me. I don't read many comics compared to my fellow reviewers but this already gave me serious Joker Fatigue

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Joker: The Man Who Stopped Laughing #11

Oct 3, 2023

What a stunning issue. I'm both paralyzed by the snail pacing of the previous issues leading up to another chaotic mess of characters running around blowing things up for no reason as well as stuck on each page as my eyes focus on the smallest artistic choices made. The big picture is beautiful and a complete headache to think about. So don't! Stop thinking about the story because, no spoilers, the ending just explains the mystery anyways!

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Joker: The Man Who Stopped Laughing #12

Nov 8, 2023

Doesn't stick the landing. Just a whole series devoted to wasting your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League vs. Godzilla vs. Kong (2023) #1

Oct 17, 2023

There's nothing offensive about this issue. It's not poorly written or ugly to look at. It just feels lifeless. Like the corporate product it was meant to be. I can't recommend this to someone but I can't say to avoid it like the plague. Maybe you've always wanted this kind of story to happen, in which case, have at it! CONSUME.Score: 5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Multiversity: Teen Justice (2022) #1

Jun 14, 2022

Ultimately, I do understand that this is just the introduction and that the villains can be fleshed out later while their plot is being unraveled by Teen Justice. Gigi's arc could also really help us see more of the world from the villain's side and the focal point of this issue remains intact. Even though there are some problems here and there, this mini-series definitely has me invested and I'm excited to see what happens next!Score: 7.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Multiversity: Teen Justice (2022) #2

Jul 11, 2022

Even though the writing in this issue started showing some of the cracks of the previous one, Multiversity: Teen Justice offers us a great cast of characters that have the ability to take us to some incredible scenery all while doing really cool superhero stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Multiversity: Teen Justice (2022) #3

Aug 2, 2022

The plots are really letting me down here. Not only do they do the bare minimum to explain what's going on but at its worst the writing feels like all it's doing is wasting time explaining the obvious or reminding you not to think too much about the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Multiversity: Teen Justice (2022) #4

Sep 6, 2022

This issue shows some improvement and I hope that it keeps getting better but honestly if I weren't this invested then I would say there's no need to check this issue out. So if you're like me then this issue isn't something you will despise or be intensely disappointed in.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Multiversity: Teen Justice (2022) #5

Oct 4, 2022

For a big fight so close to the end there's nothing spectacular about it. The writing is a massive departure from the first issue because it spends time actively undermining itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Multiversity: Teen Justice (2022) #6

Nov 9, 2022

Since this issue was able to answer many questions and provide an entertaining and well fleshed out fight I can certainly see the value in it for those who just really like Multiversity: Teen Justice. I thought I was one of those people too. Now I think that the mini-series is just pretty mediocre and will only be fondly remembered because the staff managed to do the beginning and end parts really well. If I was just passively engaging with this story I could see myself enjoying it a lot more but after trying to unpack and attempt to follow each thread this finale just feels kind of hollow.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Robins (2021) #5

Mar 19, 2022

I would recommend staying away from this entire series. I've heard great things about Seeley's and the artists' other works so maybe just stick to their other works instead!Score: 3/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tales from Earth-6: A Celebration of Stan Lee #1

Dec 28, 2022

These stories are all incredibly short. Most of them use their time to deliver incredibly concise and captivating combinations of solid art and writing. Personally I really like the fact that I can pick this up and immediately feel either horrified or uplifted depending on how I want to feel that day. There are definitely some weaker links in here but almost all are above average and it's always refreshing to at least see these familiar heroes be presented with a unique twist and an incredibly talented roster of writers and artists!

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #1

Sep 27, 2022

While I enjoyed the theme of this issue and the character relations are pretty fun, both of these elements are pretty much thrown out the window to make place for the dumbest mystery I've read in a while told in the least interesting way possible. The art on the other hand has some great work that gives you the right amount of balance between action and information but sometimes fails to give you anything other than style, Squidwards and squigglies

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #2

Oct 26, 2022

I get why people are disappointed. I'm disappointed. Even if I ignore the history of Tim Drake this comic is still just an inconsistent reference making machine and manages to grind everyone's gears. I want this story to develop, to find its own footing, to tap into its source material more rather than the source material of detective stories in general. When this series manages to do that, and those who not only stomach Rossmo's style but actually enjoy it stick around, then I feel like this series will be grand. But boy does it have a lot to make up for

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #3

Nov 22, 2022

This issue has shed some of its worse features and immediately taken on a whole new set of problems. The writing is poor and too in your face, the art is inconsistent and can be very unintuitive and anything interesting is watered down like a mocktail you ordered by accident. Except for instead of having a sweet alcohol free beverage you get served this bitter disappointment

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #4

Dec 28, 2022

I don't want to make my reviews too long but god I have so much more to say. From the comments I didn't bring up to the amazing colors and decent lettering, this issue has my mind racing! I know a lot of people are invested in this story, and there's some serious potential buried deep beneath layers of frivolous story beats and exposition dumps. So while I see some improvements in terms of writing it has a long way to go before it catches up to the insane progress that the art has made.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #5

Jan 24, 2023

The only things that seem to be building up for Tim Drake: Robin are its flaws. If you want to save yourself some time just imagine the ending of the previous issue but with slightly higher stakes. Maybe I'm the only one who thought this fight scene was poorly written and drawn but I had to go through it a lot in order to even talk about it. It's a real shame because I actually bought the previous issue just to stare at certain double page spreads and now I'm too bored to care

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #6

Feb 28, 2023

If only Fitzmartin was able to focus! Moriarty's big fight ended up looking so cool but I really don't care about how we ended up here and I don't know anyone that's supposedly being saved by Tim. Maybe if this was cut short, turned into a three issue adventure and we honed in on Bernard, Moriarty and Tim then this could've been something but there's too much getting skipped in favor of cramming in a million little pieces. If this was a three issue story I wonder if the art would have stayed this good throughout and it's a shame that this is one of the few issues where I am more than happy to linger on every single panel and page.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #7

Mar 29, 2023

We've made it to the next part in Tim's story. This time Bernard's narration and background development isn't enough to make this any better for fans of Tim Drake and still has a lot of randomness in both the visual and story departments. I think the issues are quite minor when you compare it to the dumpster fire that was the previous arc so maybe this might feel like a breath of fresh air to some readers?Score: 5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #8

Apr 26, 2023

This issue starts off so rough and already carries with it the many failures of its past. So even though the art isn't terrible and the second half is a bit more exciting I just can't imagine people being that excited to check out the rest when this is one of the best issues of the series. It's still overly wordy and self congratulating. It's still lacking development that feels natural or characters with interesting dynamics. All in all, I just don't feel too strongly about any of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #9

May 23, 2023

The art is really noticeable in this issue because we've become so used to seeing nothing but mediocrities being the pinnacle of what this series has to offer. While the issue does improve a bit with regards to Tim's love interest, there's just nothing I could see the final issue delivering that could make the multiple issue story of this final arc worth it for me. I wish the final issues could have been more like an anthology but I guess Fitzmartin had no idea her series would get canceled and probably had this story in mind.Score: 5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #10

Jun 28, 2023

An incredibly underwhelming ending with lots of visual flourish for little narrative backbone. The result is a finale that bends over backwards to make you feel satisfied by the mess of a story we've gotten here. Tim Drake: Robin has always been problematic but I do think it's a shame when writers like Fitzmartin aren't given at least the chance to make things better. I've appreciated some of her standalone stories in anthologies so I think the biggest weaknesses (apart from the pinkwashing) were always the amount of characters she tried to juggle and the length of the stories. Standalone one or two issue stories surrounding maybe three to four characters at most could allow her to really work on the many minor problems present in her writing. Score: 3/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Titans United (2021) #6

Feb 22, 2023

This series is a blast! If you like the Teen Titans then I can not recommend this mini enough! From the action to the setup to the character dynamics, there's so much to admire! The art is as essential to the writing and while they both carry the same flaws of underdeveloped worldbuilding the forefront is just too amazing to really care about that. For those who want to flip through some comics and have a great time this is a 10/10 mini. You'll finish each issue wanting more until it's all neatly packaged in a chaotic and captivating six issue wonder!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Titans United: Blood Pact (2022) #1

Sep 20, 2022

While this first issue was a lot of fun to look at I'm really curious to see where the story will go on from here. I don't want to spoil the ending but there are a lot of implications and ideas that this story could use for its next issues and also way more character development that could really drive this story home. If the comic decided to keep up with the energy of the first issue then I'm honestly here for it, as long as the writing doesn't crowd the page then I'm pretty happy checking out these insane displays of might every month or so.Score: 6.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Titans United: Blood Pact (2022) #2

Oct 18, 2022

If you're not looking for anything that digs deep into its own world then this second comic promises to be part of a 10/10 mini-series with incredible art to boot! I think that the fish out of water premise is also a great way to have conveyed this story to us because we can't actually know more than the bare minimum. The level of mistrust also made this particular issue all about running around and avoiding most of Tim's questions so who knows if we're about to get the full package of action and character exploration?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Titans United: Blood Pact (2022) #3

Nov 17, 2022

I was always hesitant about the story. The action has never been the problem and if you want to shut your brain a little and see some cool stuff then this comic is here for you. But this comic also invites you to think about so much more! The problem I'm really having is that from the writing to the art, it seems like your imagination is gonna have to do most of the heavy lifting if you care about these characters rather than just enjoying them when they're flexing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Titans United: Blood Pact (2022) #4

Dec 20, 2022

This issue might not have reached its full potential but it's still a great read to get into right now! I just want to see everything get explored and introduced for a reason and have it develop with the same quality as Starfire's arc. Hopefully the moment Jinx gains back her agency the story can really hone in on it's best feature (apart from the action of course).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Titans United: Blood Pact (2022) #5

Jan 17, 2023

This mini-series delivers the audience a combination of thrilling action and tense character dynamics within a truly nightmarish new reality but there's always just a bit too much that gets skipped. Yet there's so much going on that is actually developed in satisfying and unpredictable ways. So I could easily recommend reading Titans United: Bloodpact and I'm really excited to see how it all ends! I'm glad I was wrong about Raven possessing Jinx but I'm still right about the lack of details sadly.Score: 8/10

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More