Luis Cruz's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Shoot The Breeze Comics Reviews: 17
8.1Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Batman (2016) #25

Jun 21, 2017

I really enjoyed the take on two different stories that lead into one story narrated by Bruce Wayne. The story was kind of slow for being one of Batman's greatest failures and also being an "Extra-Sized Anniversary Issue!" Also, this buffed up Edward Nigma is a no go for me. I'll definitely keep reading to see what will happen next, Batman tends to pick up rather quickly and this feud between The Joker and The Riddler looks like it will be one hell of a ride. Who will have the last laugh?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #26

Jul 5, 2017

As I said in the last review, "Batman tends to pick up rather quickly." I was not lying. Tom King's Joker and Riddler feud is a story made in heaven. Chaos vs Order, who doesn't want to read this!? We see Batman racing to stop crimes before they happen only to fail, finding out that whatever is happening to the city will tear it apart. There is a great nod to Tim Burton's 1989 Batman film, as a big Batman fan it brought a smile to my face. (Pun intended) That final panel is amazing! The War of Jokes and Riddles has me wanting the next issue. "It took a few more weeks before the city saw what is was."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #27

Jul 19, 2017

Tom King does it again. This time he brings the war right into a normal man's life. Not a super villain or even a regular villain, but a normal civilian like you or I who is down on his luck. He takes us into the life of Charlie Brown" no, not the one from The Peanuts Gang. This new take strikes closer to home as we realize how impactful this War of Jokes and Riddles has become. Batman fights to keep Gotham City safe, but does he understand the outcome of the war to its residence?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #28

Aug 2, 2017

Tom King shows us the dangers of living in Gotham and writes them in perfection. The War of Jokes and Riddles is a must read for any Batman fan. Things have come undone in Gotham and we the readers must stand by and watch as many lose their lives in a War they are not part off. Batman truly tries his best to stop it, but only a year in as Batman he can only do so much. This is the toughest decision of his life. How to save Gotham? Before there is nothing left to save.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #29

Aug 16, 2017

The tension in this issue could be cut with a knife! Both sides come face to face since the last time when The Joker shot The Riddler and left him to die. Things are truly heating up as a new proposition emerges. Tom King shows his amazing talents as a writer as he sits Bruce in the middle of the two most wanted villains in Gotham City. Putting Bruce in a tough spot that only he can solve is what makes this story a work of art. Mikel Janins art is prefect and on point as with every issue, showing everyones expressions and close detail to things that are happening is why his art is so good. Love The Jokers pissed off face. Be ready to indulge yourself in an amazingly delicious French cuisine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #30

Sep 6, 2017

The War of Jokes and Riddles is great, but when these Interludes come around, they just have a place in my heart above them all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #958

Jun 26, 2017

The story picks up quickly as Azrael's old friend appears leaving a bloody trail. Every team member has his or her voice and you can feel that it is a team. Most team books sometimes fall out of place because members are forgotten in the background; not in Detective Comics. Since he has joined the team, Basil (Clay Face) has shown his worth and in this issue you catch a different side of him. He might be one of Batman's greatest choices. With Azrael's past brought to light and now knowing he is obsolete, the upcoming issues are a must read. Can the team get past this new treat or will The Order prevail? Bruce's friend was a great reveal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Jun 28, 2017

The new arc is becoming one to really look forward to and look out what will happen next. What Batman shows to Zatanna and what Azrael sees in his room in the final panel has made this comic a must read to find out what is next. Only negative thing I have is that the fight was too short, only leaving Batman to shine and Batwoman not feel as a leader.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Detective Comics (2016) #960

Jul 12, 2017

This issue takes a step backwards from its previous ones. With such a build up from the last two issues this one kind of slows everything down. More questions are asked as Batman gets one step closer to finding the truth. The team takes a hit as they are nowhere to be found. Kate and Lucas are the only ones shown, as a team book it would have been nice to at least have shown the rest of them being called. Jean-Paul battling his demons is a nice touch, but with him still the main focus this issue for some reason did not do him justice. Hopefully James Tynion picks up the pace again as we all want to know and see what is going on with Azrael and Ascalon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #961

Jul 26, 2017

Last time I said Detective Comics took a step backwards from its previous issues, that is not the case in this new issue. Writer James Tynion IV cranks up the volume and things are really getting back on track. Jean-Paul has lost his spotlight and in his place Azrael has full control. This is what I was waiting for, the team is back as they were M.I.A in the last issue and the fight was epic. Also, the last panel will bring back some nostalgic awesomeness.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #962

Aug 9, 2017

Ready to purify the City of Gotham, Ascalon and his devoted artificial servants go in search of Nomoz to bring a new order. Only one to stand in their way now is Azrael and his new suit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #963

Aug 23, 2017

This new story arc stared off pretty slow, but I'm excited to see Spoiler once again and this time she is on the forefront; what also is pretty awesome to see is DC bringing back other characters in the Batman gallery that have not been in the light and put them in a way that you know something insane will happen soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #964

Sep 13, 2017

The problem I had with the issue was that it felt kind of rushed with Spoiler and Anakry's story. I know the team has something up their sleeves that will definitely have the Batman messed up; someone is returning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters 101 #5

Jul 27, 2017

If you're a Ghostbuster fan of either both or of all, you should be reading this. Go and catch yourself some Ghostbusters 101.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 10, 2017

Wow! Just wow! Coming into this, I was not expecting such great story telling. I mean Tom King is great, but he really out did himself. Tom King truly is showing off his skills as story teller as we go into the life of Scott Free (Mister Miracle) after his attempt of his greatest escape. Mitch Gerads art goes perfectly with Tom Kings Mister Miracle, where its not all sunshine and rainbows or dark and gritty. They make Mister Miracle feel like it could be one of us, even though he is a New God. I cant wait to see where Mister Miracles journey takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mister Miracle #2

Sep 14, 2017

Not as mind bending as the last issue, but still a very good damn issue. I missed the static pages from the issue before and wondering Holy hell is Scott Free okay or is he really messed up in the head? Not taking anything away from this new issue, the art and color look beautiful in every page and the story is good, but will Scott Free keep breaking as this war goes on or will it be straight forward like this issue? Thats what Im wondering now. The issue is a straight journey that Mister Miracle may or not be questioning his every actions; especially his new Highfather Orion. Mister Miracle might be one of the best comics to have come out in a long time. I am so lucky to be reading this, if you have not picked up the first issue please go out and read it. Tom King and Mitch Gerads are making history.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #73

Aug 3, 2017

I never thought I would see the day that Krang would be in prison and going to trial for what he has done. But if you know General Krang, he always has a plan under his pink tentacles. The Ninja Turtles are awesome as they bicker with each other as they always do, which feels genuine and not out of place. With their new mission at hand we must see if the brothers can bring back the witnesses or will Krang go free? Cowabunga dudes! This is going to be a shell of a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More