Luis Cruz's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 79
8.2Avg. Review Rating

7
Batman (2016) #25

Jun 21, 2017

I really enjoyed the take on two different stories that lead into one story narrated by Bruce Wayne. The story was kind of slow for being one of Batman's greatest failures and also being an "Extra-Sized Anniversary Issue!" Also, this buffed up Edward Nigma is a no go for me. I'll definitely keep reading to see what will happen next, Batman tends to pick up rather quickly and this feud between The Joker and The Riddler looks like it will be one hell of a ride. Who will have the last laugh?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #26

Jul 5, 2017

As I said in the last review, "Batman tends to pick up rather quickly." I was not lying. Tom King's Joker and Riddler feud is a story made in heaven. Chaos vs Order, who doesn't want to read this!? We see Batman racing to stop crimes before they happen only to fail, finding out that whatever is happening to the city will tear it apart. There is a great nod to Tim Burton's 1989 Batman film, as a big Batman fan it brought a smile to my face. (Pun intended) That final panel is amazing! The War of Jokes and Riddles has me wanting the next issue. "It took a few more weeks before the city saw what is was."

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #27

Jul 19, 2017

Tom King does it again. This time he brings the war right into a normal man's life. Not a super villain or even a regular villain, but a normal civilian like you or I who is down on his luck. He takes us into the life of Charlie Brown" no, not the one from The Peanuts Gang. This new take strikes closer to home as we realize how impactful this War of Jokes and Riddles has become. Batman fights to keep Gotham City safe, but does he understand the outcome of the war to its residence?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2016) #28

Aug 2, 2017

Tom King shows us the dangers of living in Gotham and writes them in perfection. The War of Jokes and Riddles is a must read for any Batman fan. Things have come undone in Gotham and we the readers must stand by and watch as many lose their lives in a War they are not part off. Batman truly tries his best to stop it, but only a year in as Batman he can only do so much. This is the toughest decision of his life. How to save Gotham? Before there is nothing left to save.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2016) #29

Aug 16, 2017

The tension in this issue could be cut with a knife! Both sides come face to face since the last time when The Joker shot The Riddler and left him to die. Things are truly heating up as a new proposition emerges. Tom King shows his amazing talents as a writer as he sits Bruce in the middle of the two most wanted villains in Gotham City. Putting Bruce in a tough spot that only he can solve is what makes this story a work of art. Mikel Janins art is prefect and on point as with every issue, showing everyones expressions and close detail to things that are happening is why his art is so good. Love The Jokers pissed off face. Be ready to indulge yourself in an amazingly delicious French cuisine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2016) #30

Sep 6, 2017

The War of Jokes and Riddles is great, but when these Interludes come around, they just have a place in my heart above them all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2016) #31

Sep 20, 2017

Things are really heating up now. The war is almost over and finally we see the four main characters duke it out. I cant wait to read the next issue to find out what Batman will finally tell Catwoman about what he truly did that makes him think twice if he did the right thing in the war. Mikel Janins art is always great, and seeing The Joker without a smile for so long is kind of creepy, but god I love it. The panel where everyone is in the sky, brought such a smile on my face. Tom King has planted a seed in my heart and that seed has a name. Hell Yeah it does. The seeds name is Kite Man. Finally seeing Kite Man soaring to the top and be the man everyone needs was such a great full circle. Will there be more Kite Man after this issue? Lord I hope so.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2016) #32

Oct 4, 2017

Putting Bruce in a light where he is human and has love in his heart like any other normal person is why Tom King is so damn good. We're so used to seeing Batman as this gothic vigilante, we forget that he's still a man who cares and loves. Mikel Janin's art has been perfect throughout the series, and FINALLY I get to see The Joker laugh!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2016) #33

Oct 18, 2017

This issue was pretty slow from what we read in The War of Jokes and Riddles, but it doesnt beat the fact that you know something intense is about to go down. The wait is over; we finally see Batman and Catwomans engagement. What they have planned is still a mystery but that person waiting for them surely will not like where Batman and Catwomans status is at right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2016) #34

Nov 1, 2017

Talia Al Ghul and Catwoman meet for the first time as Taila finds out about Batman and Catwomans engagement, and ladies and gentlemen it is not a pretty sight! The issue picks up a little from the last issue, but nothing really over the top happens. The bickering between Batman and Catwoman is beautiful; you can tell they will make the perfect crime fighting couple. The issue ends leaving you wanting more as both ladies are ready for a confrontation you damn well know it wont be a tea party. Let the nails come out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2016) #35

Nov 15, 2017

Where Batman and Catwoman go from here is a journey we all can't wait to read and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2016) #36

Dec 6, 2017

Tom King takes what we go through in our everyday normal lives and smacks it right in the middle between Batman and Superman. Making them feel like normal people and not an over powered superhero and the world's greatest detective. With what they go through every single day, seeing them question and struggle themselves on calling the other is pretty cool to see. What the next issue brings will be that awkward setting of a double date. What embarrassing stories will Lois and Selina tell, we can only wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2016) #37

Dec 20, 2017

Tom King, Clay Mann, Seth Mann, and Mikel Janin work as a wonderful team to show us a double date that we all have been waiting for. To see Bruce and Clark understand each other and what their symbols mean shows us they are both working to finally become more than just friends, but super friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #38

Jan 3, 2018

What Tom King does is just a work of art. He takes Bruce Wayne's origin and turns it around to face Bruce Wayne so that he never forgets what he fights for. But, the best part is how he makes a simple story we all know and tweaks it just a bit; making it feel fresh and new as we walk with Batman trying to find out the killer of a young boy's parents like he lost his own. What waits for Batman will only make Bruce Wayne question who he truly is.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman (2016) #39

Jan 17, 2018

Let's just say Catwoman will not be pleased on how this issue ends. As for Wonder Woman and Batman, they continue their fighting against monsters for many years and their friendship grows stronger with every passing day, maybe even getting closer than before.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman (2016) #40

Feb 7, 2018

The horde of enemies never ceases. Will Wonder Woman and Batman persevere despite their exhaustion?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #41

Feb 22, 2018

This is not a continuation to the "Super Friends" story arc, but a new epic arc that has brought b back artist Mikel Janin back since we last saw Tom King and Mikel Janin working together in the amazing War of Jokes and Riddles. This time things are taken to a grander scale; so grand that everyone around the world is in love with one person.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #42

Mar 7, 2018

Don't miss the Batman issue everyone will be talking about for weeks to come. I hope after what happened to Batman he can recover and come back stronger" I hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #43

Mar 21, 2018

Poison Ivy pushed Batman and Catwoman to their limits, but in the end, only the truth will set them free. The teamwork between Tom King and Mikel Janin continues to make Batman comics hit it out of the park. As we thought we were done with The War of Jokes and Riddles, its demons came back to haunt us and with it came one of its broken soldiers. With Batman, Catwoman, and Harkey Quinn's help, hopefully, Poison Ivy can turn her life around and with Harley can live their lives together as they always wanted to. Everyone get their suits and dresses ready; we're going to be going to a wedding very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman (2016) #44

Apr 7, 2018

To see the growth between Batman and Catwoman throughout the years in their different costumes was such a sight to see. We forget how far these characters have come from and Tom King places that nostalgia in a perfect issue. Seeing Selina Kyle now looking for a wedding dress is something many of us thought would never happen, and now we are here geeking out on a wedding that most of us only dreamed about. Can't believe this wedding is truly happened" Batman and Catwoman are getting married; I keep telling myself that hoping it's not a dream and that what we only dreamed of has come true. But if I know Batman and Catwoman, this wedding might not go as planned as they hope it will be. But if everything goes well can't wait to hear those words "I DO."

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2016) #45

Apr 18, 2018

Tom King loves his lesser known characters (well for many people not everyone) and puts them right on the center stage. Many years characters like Kite Man and Booster Gold have rode on the back grounds of most of DC comics. But not for King, As for Kite Man in The Wars of Jokes and Riddles; this time we see Booster Gold take the reins of the Batman comic and just turn it upside down. Ready yourselves for a wild ride your driver" Booster Gold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2016) #46

May 3, 2018

I'm not a Booster Gold fan, but I give the man his respect when he deserves it. But honestly, right now Booster Gold just gets a good SMH. He has me wondering "How does this guy still have a time machine and is still part of the Justice League?" All I hope is for Booster Gold to quickly turn this whole mess around and fix this time line, because on how this issue ended things are not looking so good for everyone and Booster Gold. Right now Booster Gold is diffidently the Kite Man of the Justice League, maybe even worse. He's the Yamcha of the Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2016) Annual #2

Nov 29, 2017

Usually annuals are side stories that really don't have anything to do with what happens in the main comic book, just an off story where the main character is on an adventure doing something cool or spending his/her time trying to buy a hat or something along those lines. In Batman Annual #2 it felt nothing like that; it truly went with what is happening in the main Batman comic book, the whole Batman and Catwoman engagement.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman and the Signal #1

Jan 5, 2018

A 3 issue mini-series is a slap in the face for Gotham's new day time protector: The Signal. This should be a full on series and could of filled that empty gap that Static Shock cartoon left so long ago. As The Bat-families newest member and with meta-human powers, we could have seen a range of new villains and a new take of the city of Gotham. I feel DC may have dropped the ball on this but hopefully they have some future plans for Duke Thomas. Man could you imagen The Signal and Static Shock teaming up? Make it happen DC" make it happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman and the Signal #2

Feb 23, 2018

Duke Thompson is investigating what's behind the meta-human crisis, and how they all seem to be linked to him. What role does Batman play in the creation of the meta-humans? Is someone else pulling the strings?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman and the Signal #3

May 4, 2018

To see another side of Gotham that wasn't the dark gritty underworld were so used to seeing and reading was quite refreshing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Creature of the Night #1

Nov 22, 2017

Writer Kurt Busiek is writing pure gold and the art of Johan Paul Leon is just perfect for this book. It gives you that nostalgic feel of reading an old comic book, which makes you feel like a kid again; that is why it meshes so well with how Mr. Busiek tells his dark and emotional story. "Bruce. Safe. You Safe."

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Creature of the Night #2

Jan 2, 2018

Writer Kurt Busiek gives us a Batman origin with a dark twist, one that we all will never want to happen to any of us. Kurt Busiek and the art of John Paul Leon work so well together giving us different aspects of Bruce growing up and his shadowy vigilante. We get to feel like we're part of Bruce's' life in hopes that he will become something like the comic book character Batman. But in this story there won't be any happy endings.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: White Knight #1

Oct 4, 2017

Mr. Murphy's art work is amazing and goes perfectly with this book; I have seen upcoming images of further issues and it looks amazing. This is a series I have had my eyes on since it was announced and cannot wait where it will lead us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: White Knight #2

Nov 1, 2017

Sean Murphy and Matt Hollingsworth are creating a work of art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: White Knight #3

Dec 6, 2017

Jack Napier may be too smart for Batman. I know that's a big statement, but Batman is so blinded by his anger that Jack is just out smarting him in every way. He hasn't even lifted his hands against Batman but is attacking him by ways no one else has done before; using the very people Batman swore to protect, the people of Gotham. Telling them the truth of what is really going on behind their backs is just what The Joker would do if he became sane, and it is great. I'm loving Jack Napier and wondering what else he has planned for the City of Gotham, maybe running for Mayor down the road? We can only hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: White Knight #4

Jan 3, 2018

Finally, Sean Murphy and Matt Hollingsworth continue to give us their best work, this insane story of Jack Napier (The Joker) becoming Gotham's White Knight will be one to be talked about for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: White Knight #5

Feb 8, 2018

Batman's obsession with Jack is taking its toll. Jack's body is failing as they move forward to their inevitable showdown.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: White Knight #7

Apr 6, 2018

Sean Murphy and Matt Hollingsworth's great run is coming to an end, and we're all going to miss this amazing story. They have shown us that a comic does not need to be cannon to be great, and I think they are right. They have the free will to do and write what they want and not feel held to do things that will only work for the character for future crossovers and events that revolve around the character. Most times these events feel so pushed down our throats, we forget about the amazing stories that made us love the characters. Batman: White Knight will go down as one of the best Batman comics of all time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight #8

May 17, 2018

I recommend this mini-series to anyone who is a Batman fan looking for a great adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #958

Jun 26, 2017

The story picks up quickly as Azrael's old friend appears leaving a bloody trail. Every team member has his or her voice and you can feel that it is a team. Most team books sometimes fall out of place because members are forgotten in the background; not in Detective Comics. Since he has joined the team, Basil (Clay Face) has shown his worth and in this issue you catch a different side of him. He might be one of Batman's greatest choices. With Azrael's past brought to light and now knowing he is obsolete, the upcoming issues are a must read. Can the team get past this new treat or will The Order prevail? Bruce's friend was a great reveal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Jun 28, 2017

The new arc is becoming one to really look forward to and look out what will happen next. What Batman shows to Zatanna and what Azrael sees in his room in the final panel has made this comic a must read to find out what is next. Only negative thing I have is that the fight was too short, only leaving Batman to shine and Batwoman not feel as a leader.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Detective Comics (2016) #960

Jul 12, 2017

This issue takes a step backwards from its previous ones. With such a build up from the last two issues this one kind of slows everything down. More questions are asked as Batman gets one step closer to finding the truth. The team takes a hit as they are nowhere to be found. Kate and Lucas are the only ones shown, as a team book it would have been nice to at least have shown the rest of them being called. Jean-Paul battling his demons is a nice touch, but with him still the main focus this issue for some reason did not do him justice. Hopefully James Tynion picks up the pace again as we all want to know and see what is going on with Azrael and Ascalon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #961

Jul 26, 2017

Last time I said Detective Comics took a step backwards from its previous issues, that is not the case in this new issue. Writer James Tynion IV cranks up the volume and things are really getting back on track. Jean-Paul has lost his spotlight and in his place Azrael has full control. This is what I was waiting for, the team is back as they were M.I.A in the last issue and the fight was epic. Also, the last panel will bring back some nostalgic awesomeness.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #962

Aug 9, 2017

Ready to purify the City of Gotham, Ascalon and his devoted artificial servants go in search of Nomoz to bring a new order. Only one to stand in their way now is Azrael and his new suit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Detective Comics (2016) #963

Aug 23, 2017

This new story arc stared off pretty slow, but I'm excited to see Spoiler once again and this time she is on the forefront; what also is pretty awesome to see is DC bringing back other characters in the Batman gallery that have not been in the light and put them in a way that you know something insane will happen soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #964

Sep 13, 2017

The problem I had with the issue was that it felt kind of rushed with Spoiler and Anakry's story. I know the team has something up their sleeves that will definitely have the Batman messed up; someone is returning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #965

Sep 27, 2017

After a long time wondering what really happened to Tim Drake (Red Robin), we get to see where he is. At first like many, I thought Mr. Oz was going to be someone that was going to have ties with a certain character that changed the DC universe. I was pretty surprised to see his real identity and also as to why he took Tim Drake away. Many still unanswered questions left, as to who is this person that has an eye on Tim Drake that isnt just Mr. Oz? Finally, wait until the last few panels youre going to lose it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #966

Oct 11, 2017

I can't believe that Detective Comics is literally one of the best Batman comics in the lineup right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #967

Oct 25, 2017

What an emotional roller-coater!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #970

Dec 14, 2017

Nooooo! (Darth Vader voice) I knew it was going to happen, I didn't know when or how, but it did. All I hope is that he may come back to the Bat-family and not revert to his old ways. It's really hard to see that a few members of Bat-family are beginning to crack under the pressure; they looked so amazing together, but sadly nothing lasts forever. These damn Victim Syndicate guys are really planning something and won't go anywhere. I just hope the Bat-family can get together and get through what is about to happen to them because the final panels are only going to make the Syndicate stronger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #971

Dec 27, 2017

I have said it before and from the beginning, Clayface has been my favorite in this team. He might be the heart of the team as Red Robin is the brain. The struggle of becoming a better person and Batman believing in home shows us that we all struggle with demons, but we all deserve a second chance. And if Batman comes for you to join his team what a great opportunity is that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #972

Jan 10, 2018

It has finally come. The day I've been dreading, the fall of Clayface. From the beginning, Clayface has been that character that I kept my eye on, hoping that he could amend his demons and become a full part in the Bat-family. But sometimes the past won't let you move forward and that is what has happened to Clayface. Not only has Clayface fallen, but the team as a whole; you can start to see that not everything is going as planned. It's odd to say that the Victim Syndicate might have won this round, and in a very big way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #973

Jan 25, 2018

What's my final thought? I don't know let me ask my heart that's on the floor what my final thoughts are. But in all honesty, this issue will be one that people will be talking about. From the beginning, I liked the idea of Clayface joining the team, a second chance to become a hero and be part of the Bat-family; and for a while it was awesome seeing Clayface side by side with Batman. Now it's just heart wrenching knowing that this might be the end for" the Bat-family as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #974

Feb 14, 2018

The Fall of the Batmen story arc ended with a shock that keep everyone's mouth open, now it is the after math and it will test the Gotham Knights even further than before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #975

Mar 1, 2018

In this anniversary issue, Batman and Red Robin take Batwoman to trial in front of all the Bat-family; for the actions she has done. Can she still wear the Bat symbol when she has pulled the trigger? As the Bat-family comes together to understand the evidence from what has happened, truths about the Gotham Knight's agenda comes to light. Only now, Batwoman will not be the only one on trial. You do not want to miss what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Detective Comics (2016) #976

Mar 14, 2018

The future for the Bat-family looks like a dark one, one that Tim of the future warned about. With the Bat-family all shattered and new factions taking over, Batman will have a lot on his hands to handle alone. We can all see where this is heading towards, but with Ulysses Armstrong popping up and telling Red Robin of the possession he has from Tim Drakes dark future, anything can happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #977

Mar 28, 2018

As James Tynion IV run on Detective Comics is quickly coming to an end, he continues to give the readers' issues that will leave their hearts hurting just a little but letting them wanting more every time. A dark future is indeed in the horizon as Tynion will be moving onto Justice League Dark, but with his love, he has laid out a future that any writer can pick up and run with to continue to give us great issues like James Tynion IV has done. With the future of The Bat-family unclear, EYE has been ready to go into full effect. SLEEP. EYE AM HERE".

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #978

Apr 11, 2018

One of the things that scare me in DC comics is back! The OMACS are one of those things that whenever they appear, nothing good comes out of it; like the Terminators in the Terminator movies they come with one purpose" destroy. Where this will lead us we can only imagen, but as I write this review I can only see a dark future for the Bat family, one where they all lose and Brother Eye reigns supreme.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #979

May 4, 2018

Detective Comics is surely to go down as one of Batman's best comic book since the start of Rebirth. With James Tynion IV leaving very soon, well hope whoever takes the Detective Comics bring the same passion James Tynion IV gave us on his run. For now let go back and worry about our poor Red Robin. Hopefully they can bring him back from this crazy nightmare.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics (2016) Annual #1

Jan 31, 2018

Thank you for staying and finally seeing a part of what happened to young Basil Karloff; one of Hollywood's most wanted actors who lost it all. It is truly a sad story to finally know what events caused such a great actor to lose it all and become this hideous monster everyone is afraid of now. In the end, Basil Karloff got to do what he always wanted to do, to show the people the monster that was deep inside of him. But, where it stops was the love; Fear is what he has given the people, now maybe it is true" "Nobody really loves a monster."

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ghostbusters 101 #5

Jul 27, 2017

If you're a Ghostbuster fan of either both or of all, you should be reading this. Go and catch yourself some Ghostbusters 101.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ghostbusters: Crossing Over #1

Mar 30, 2018

If you're a fan of The Ghostbusters and enjoy them in any aspect, this is the series you all have been waiting for. Yes, the Ghostbusters have crossed over with other Ghostbusters before, but this time ALL Ghostbuster incarnations will meet each other! Growing up in the 90's I caught the Ghostbusters pretty late, but when I first watch them I became a fan at that moment, I watched the Ghostbuster movies constantly and even The Real Ghostbusters cartoon. But all in all, I was a really big fan of Extreme Ghostbusters, and finally with Ghostbusters: Crossing Over I'll get to see them once again. About damn time!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League Dark (2018) #1

Jul 27, 2018

If you were a fan of the New 52 Justice League Dark, then you should be picking this up. James Tynion IV is a great storyteller and he is bound to take us on a supernatural roller coaster.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League Dark (2018) #2

Aug 27, 2018

Writer James Tynion IV has gone on record in stating that the UPSIDE DOWN MAN is to be the "scariest damn villain" DC has seen in a while, and I believe it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League Dark (2018) #3

Sep 27, 2018

And just like that the Justice League Dark have fallen. If this is what's to come I'm afraid that The Originals of magic will take magic back and bring horrors to Earth that no one has ever seen. Writer James Tynion IV was night lying. The Upside Down Man is the "scariest damn villain". I've never seen such a team get wasted so fast in all my life. These are not upcoming new heroes, these are veterans, and their damn good at what they do, but they just got shrugged off like a child bothering his older brother. Readers should not miss out on this epic conclusion of Justice League Dark. Where the League goes from here now, only time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 10, 2017

Wow! Just wow! Coming into this, I was not expecting such great story telling. I mean Tom King is great, but he really out did himself. Tom King truly is showing off his skills as story teller as we go into the life of Scott Free (Mister Miracle) after his attempt of his greatest escape. Mitch Gerads art goes perfectly with Tom Kings Mister Miracle, where its not all sunshine and rainbows or dark and gritty. They make Mister Miracle feel like it could be one of us, even though he is a New God. I cant wait to see where Mister Miracles journey takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mister Miracle #2

Sep 14, 2017

Not as mind bending as the last issue, but still a very good damn issue. I missed the static pages from the issue before and wondering Holy hell is Scott Free okay or is he really messed up in the head? Not taking anything away from this new issue, the art and color look beautiful in every page and the story is good, but will Scott Free keep breaking as this war goes on or will it be straight forward like this issue? Thats what Im wondering now. The issue is a straight journey that Mister Miracle may or not be questioning his every actions; especially his new Highfather Orion. Mister Miracle might be one of the best comics to have come out in a long time. I am so lucky to be reading this, if you have not picked up the first issue please go out and read it. Tom King and Mitch Gerads are making history.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mister Miracle #3

Oct 11, 2017

The static panels are back. Yes! I love seeing those static panels, it gives me that acknowledgment that there is something really messed up with Scott Free's mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mister Miracle #5

Dec 18, 2017

God is" Darkseid is" What will happen now that Mister Miracles' day is up? The next issue will surely steer up the Highfather back in New Genesis when he finds out what happened. Just ready yourselves for the final pages that will shock you and leave you questioning the outcome of what comes next. To be honest, Mister Miracle has become one of my favorite comic books and I have found a new love for Scott Free. I really hope he gets better because if in the end he's still laid out on that bathroom floor when he cut his wrist and all of this that happened never did that would totally suck. But, if Darkseid is messing with his mind well then damn Mister Mircale, how will you escape that? Let's just wait and see what Tom King and Mitch Gerads' amazing team work bring us next time". Darkseid is.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mister Miracle #6

Jan 10, 2018

This issue had it all. From a couple arguing about normal stuff, to blood and gore to crazy twists. Tom King and Mitch Gerads really out did themselves in this latest issue, might be one of my favorites. Mister Miracle has gone through so much that right when he feels like everything might be going perfect or at least better, we come to realize at its end that everything is far from perfect. I really hope Scott Free can finally find peace in his life soon because the ending of this issue will definitely mess up our poor Mister Miracle.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #7

Mar 14, 2018

Alexander Logan Cruz you are my Jacob's ladder, my LUMP! A NEW GOD on earth. To the readers, go read Mister Miracle #7.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mister Miracle #8

Apr 23, 2018

Only four more issue is left for DC comics hit series! Tom King and Mitch Gerads work of art has truly come out of nowhere and hit it right out of the park. The sad thing about all this is that it's only 12 issues long, but I guess most great things must come to an end sooner or later. It'll only keep getter better from here. Also, Scott Free's shirts are amazing, keep your eyes peeled on seeing his amazing shirts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rocko's Modern Life #1

Dec 12, 2017

Growing up in the 90s was the best thing ever. We had pogs, socker boppers, amazing cartoons, everything was made out for kids, and Nickelodeon reigned king for kids entertainment (I still love Fox Kids, Cartoon Network, and WB Kids). Through all those cartoons there was one which stood out more than the others, with their zany storylines, zany characters, and just over the top scenes of imaginative events that happened around or to the main character. Rocko's Modern Life took what real life was and dropped it into the Ace chemical building; till this day the theme song has stayed in my mind as I envision Rocko screaming as he runs away from danger. Boom and Nickelodeon team up again and take you back to a time where it was simple and amazing to just be a kid, can't wait to follow Rocko in this new modern life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rocko's Modern Life #2

Jan 17, 2018

One reason why I love Rocko's Modern Life is because of their over the top adventures, and this second issue still keeps that same feeling from the 90's cartoon. If you were a kid in the 90's and loved watching Nickelodeon and Rocko's Modern Life, you should definitely be reading this series. You better not be missing one of Nickelodeon and Boom's great master piece.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rocko's Modern Life #3

Feb 17, 2018

Rocko continues to out shine in every way. This time nothing extremely major happens, but if we know what Rocko's Modern Life is about it will turn things on his head quickly. We get to see the beginning of something that will not only probably get Rocko hurt, but most definitely have Rocko question his life and where he is at in it. Mr. Bighead has always been that mean neighbor and most of the times hates Rocko. This time Rocko and the boyz are there to save his day and mend his broken heart, but can Mr. Bighead let go and enjoy boyz night out or is it just too late for him? Also Bloaty and Squirmy get a flea circus" step right up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rocko's Modern Life #4

Mar 31, 2018

Rock's Modern Life keeps taking me back to my childhood, and it's an amazing feeling. Boom is working with gold and I hope it never ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #73

Aug 3, 2017

I never thought I would see the day that Krang would be in prison and going to trial for what he has done. But if you know General Krang, he always has a plan under his pink tentacles. The Ninja Turtles are awesome as they bicker with each other as they always do, which feels genuine and not out of place. With their new mission at hand we must see if the brothers can bring back the witnesses or will Krang go free? Cowabunga dudes! This is going to be a shell of a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #74

Sep 28, 2017

Just when you thought the war is over and Krang is going to jail, here comes Krang with his slick lawyer. Things really are not looking good for the Turtles and Co. as now the trial has been stopped. What will Krang think of next that will get him out of this trial? What was great to see was the new allies that came to the aid of Zak, Kala, and the Turtles. Seeing these new allies and what they asked for at the end will be something that we must keep a close eye on. Nothing is going right for what was supposed to be the trial of the century; in the end, can the Turtles and their friends put Krang away or will Krangs assassin end the trail before it really goes underway?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #76

Nov 16, 2017

"Out of the pan and straight into the fire." Can the turtles get a break? All I want for them at this point is for them to sit down, play some videogames, and eat some pizza, but lately the Turtles have been through so much. Returning home you think they will be able to at least sit down; nope. Also, humans can be such cruel creatures; always afraid of thing's they don't know. The Triceratons come to see their home planet and right out the bat, it's a full on war. Hopefully the Ninja Turtles get there in time to stop all the madness.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #77

Dec 12, 2017

New York City is never going to be the same again. An Invasion is about to commence, a deadly alliance is forged, and four green turtles are smacked right in the middle of it all. War has come to the streets of New York City, and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles hope they can stop it all. Will they?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #78

Jan 17, 2018

This arc has quickly become everything I was hoping for. The invasion is fully underway and with every turn the major players have joined the fight. What waits for the Triceraton army will not be an easy task and I fear the City of New York will never be the same again. The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles truly find themselves smacked in the middle between helping an ally who they have fought with before and attacked first as they come in peace, or stop them from destroying everything they know and love. What The Foot and Bishop have planned will only make things worse and I fear that the Turtles will be making some hard decisions really soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #79

Mar 1, 2018

The Turtles are grounded! Will they listen to Master Splinter as the city faces destruction? Will they disobey in order to aid the Triceratons? This fast moving arc is sure to catch your eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #81

Apr 13, 2018

If you are not reading Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles you are seriously missing out. With every issue the story between the pages keeps you hooked and wanting more. As a Ninja Turtles fan this series is one of the best comic books around. With the new Rat King Story arc, we will see Leo, Mikey, Donnie, and Raph try to rebuild New York, fight a new army, and try to get their family back together. Be sure to pick up this series, you want be disappointed. Cowabunga Dude!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

More