Sean Buckley's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Batman-News Reviews: 118
6.1Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #1

Jun 5, 2015

Overall: Though not what I was expecting, this run of Batman Beyond sets the stage for the greater conflict between Earth's survivors and Brother Eye. With artwork that good more often times than not, and a story that has potential, I'd say give this series a chance. How long it takes before this becomes just another stand-alone story and fall victim to the steady loosening of continuity? I'll hold out on guessing for a few more months.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #2

Jul 4, 2015

Overall: While the writing and story need considerable work, an interesting premise and strong artwork are the driving force behind the newest run of Batman Beyond. I expect a sharp drop-off in readers, though, if the creative team is going to continue introducing characters without staying true to their publication history.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman Beyond (2015) #3

Aug 8, 2015

A beautiful issue centered around the horrors of internment camps and the struggle to survive in an otherwise hostile world, this latest installment in the most recentBatman Beyondseries is both fun to read and wonderful to look at. The biggest problem would be that it leaves the reader wantingmore, though not in the best way. Some of the coolest panels are but one amid the six or seven that populate the page, and are not given the chance to shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Batman Beyond (2015) #4

Sep 4, 2015

A fast-paced and high-energy book with a focus on urban warfare, this issue of Batman Beyond shows just how much Tim learned in his time under Bruce, and how important the city of Gotham is to him. I've been against most of the creative choices when it comes to the story, but I still have hope that the battle between Tim and Brother Eye will be worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #5

Oct 11, 2015

An unoriginal story and weak dialogue wrecks an otherwise outstanding performance by an overachieving art team. Neither inspired nor unique, this reads like little more than a carbon copy of the previous issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Convergence: Batman and the Outsiders #1

Apr 27, 2015

Overall: While a valiant attempt at trying to capture the nostalgia of an earlier, more popular series, this issue unfortunately falls flat. Without enough time to build characters that new readers can relate to or bring in a compelling villain, there is little appeal for anyone who hasn't read the original Outsiders run. Expect next issue to be little more than an all-out battle.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Convergence: Batman and the Outsiders #2

May 26, 2015

Overall: Fun, fast-paced, and full of moments that bring back memories of comics-gone-by, Batman and the Outsiders provides readers with everything that was promised with the release of Convergence. If you are following this event at all, or are fans of the original Outsiders runs, this is a definite pick-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Convergence: Detective Comics #1

May 1, 2015

Overall: Buy this book. It's a fun story with some touching moments and characters with a depth that you won't find many other places in this Convergence event. There's strong artwork and even if you're a casual fan of any of these heroes, this will be a worthy pickup.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Convergence: Detective Comics #2

May 30, 2015

Overall: This book was certainly a surprise. After an otherwise stellarentry into the Convergence catalogue, this issue comespacked with action, emotion, and some of the few moments I will remember from this whole event. While the ending is lackluster and vague in its execution, I would still recommend this book to anyone following the Convergence story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Convergence: The Question #2

May 10, 2015

This book does a lot for both Two-Face's character and Renee Montoya's. Anyone who's into this whole Convergence event should absolutely go out and pick up this two-parter. It introduces new readers to a very cool and fan-favorite hero in The Question and offers a compelling story even though it's limited to two issues. This is a definite pick-up

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Earth 2 #1

Jun 22, 2014

After Batman, this might have been my favorite #1 issue in the entire New 52. A fantastic and daring story, gorgeous artwork, and something along the lines of real stakes look to propel this story of a new world for readers to explore. The only thing stopping me from giving it a 10 is an unnecessary soldier scene in a book so revolved around heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Earth 2 #2

Jun 22, 2014

I really can't recommend this title enough. The artwork of Trevor Scott is as solid as last issue, and I've always believed Flash is the hardest hero to draw. The story is moving along at a good pace and one can feel a darkness rising in Earth 2 to combat these new Wonders.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Earth 2 #3

Jun 24, 2014

James Robinson and Nikola Scott have really raised the stakes with this improved villain, and I'm really looking forward to how these freshly-birthed Wonders battle together. Or if they even can!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2 #4

Jun 24, 2014

We keep seeing new heroes added, and the stage is getting a little crowded with this newest Wonder, but perhaps his arrival marks an accelerated story going forward. Trevor Scott's artwork is not as strong as it has been in previous chapters, but there is some great hero/villain battling that makes up for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Earth 2 #5

Jun 25, 2014

Overall: There's a lot of fighting going on, jarringly broken up by scenes that throw way too much information at us. This should have just kept to the combat, and I would've even been able to forgive the sub-par artwork (sub-par by Earth 2's standards) if it weren't for the awful ending. Sorry Earth 2, but you dropped the ball on that one in my book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2 #6

Jun 25, 2014

Overall: An entertaining ending to a successful first arc, "End Times" answered many questions I had at the beginning of Earth 2. In return, I've already come up with a host of other questions about the Wonders, the World Army, Terry Sloan, and "the threat greater than Apokolips." This series has kept me intrigued so far and I look forward to more high-quality work in the issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Earth 2 #7

Jun 25, 2014

This issue was the calm following the storm that was Grundy's siege on Washington. Tensions are building both between comrades and rivals that may set the stage for the next arc. It's not a terribly good place to jump on, but you'll get caught up on most of what's been going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Earth 2 #8

Jun 25, 2014

Overall: This article definitely feels like it was just thrown in for no reason. There are cooler ways of introducing Steppenwolf as the new enemy for the Wonders if that was the plan. If you're looking for plot progression, don't bother.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2 #9

Jun 25, 2014

The story still doesn't advance much, but there's enough action and exposition to keep me interested going forward. Hopefully the speed picks up, because there's a lot of potential going forward into The Tower of Fate.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Earth 2 #24

Jul 1, 2014

I keep waiting for the right blend of character development and action, and this issue delivered for the most part. It felt forced in some places, but overall was a fun quick story with at least one loose end resolved. I'm still waiting for the fight against Superman; there have been too many Evil-Superman stories recently.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Earth 2 #25

Jul 3, 2014

Apokolips' plan comes to fruition as Earth 2's mightiest Wonders and final chance for survival match off against the strength of evil. A beautifully drawn and powerful issue with some of the best artwork and action sequences I've seen from Earth 2 so far make this one of my favorite issues since the New 52 started.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.5
Earth 2 #26

Aug 7, 2014

I never thought I could feel so cheated and foolish for buying a comic. I have never had that feeling, and it's not fun. Earth 2 is my favorite series outside of Batman, and this felt like a rushed, poorly-edited excuse for a book that has had an otherwise strong run. This doesn't get a 1 because of that Batman punch " that sweet Batman punch. I can understand being unable to live up to expectations, but it felt like there wasn't even an attempt made here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2 #27

Oct 9, 2014

A solid start to a new arc that acts more like an epilogue to the last few issues than a prologue to the next ones. Characters who we knew little about before are fleshed out in a well-written, though nearly clich, story. The action more than makes up for it, but the strength of this issue lies in its writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2 #28

Nov 6, 2014

Some interesting backstories give new life to common characters, isn't that one of the major appeals of Earth 2? This book is full of it, along with quality artwork and provides a pause from the chaos that is going on in Earth 2: World's End.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2 #30

Jan 10, 2015

I don't like how this book is taking on the role of sidekick to the more heavily-pushed World's End, mainly because the first twenty-five or so issues were so good. It seems that only once World's End has finished its run will Earth 2 be able to return to form " if there is an Earth 2 by then.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2 #31

Feb 9, 2015

An entertaining look into two of the more criminally underused characters from the Earth 2 series, this issue tries but fails to become more than what it is " a filler. Until Convergence hits next month, it would seem this book will finish its run as little more than supplementary material to an inferior book. That's the real shame.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Earth 2 #32

Mar 9, 2015

Overall: It's official: Earth 2 has been swallowed by the pedantic monstrosity that is World's End. It had a good run, and the first twenty-six issues are some of the most creative and fun arcs in the New 52. With the arrival of Convergence, I hope that we can get a fitting conclusion to this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Earth 2 Annual #2

Jul 3, 2014

Strong artwork and a cathartic story make this one of the more powerful origin stories that I've read in a long time. An unexpected result, along with genuine heartache and sympathy, put this in one of my more favorite Batman origin stories of all time. I strongly recommended you read this even if you're not reading Earth 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Earth 2: Futures End #1

Sep 4, 2014

This isn't the experience I've come to expect from an Earth 2 issue, this is a teenage cover band trying to copy Pink Floyd in a garage with bad acoustics and little talent. There are so few redeemable qualities for this book outside of the action (which felt forced anyway), that I am only keeping this to complete my Earth 2 catalogue. I won't even be counting this as an Earth 2 comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: Society #1

Jun 12, 2015

Overall: This issue gives me hope for Earth 2, the same hope that was stripped from me by the lumbering World's End run. Seeing Dick Grayson as Batman, some mystery around Green Lantern, and the promise of a new villain waiting in the wings leaves me wanting to read the next issue as soon as possible. That's the highest compliment I think you can give the creators of a serial.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Earth 2: Society #2

Jul 11, 2015

While the story taking place in the present-day is moving slower than I would have liked, the overall narrative is moving at a solid pace to piece together what readers have missed during the time-skip. Batman fans will be happy with the focus on Dick Grayson and readers of Earth 2 will enjoy the brief but satisfying cameos from the other Wonders. Strong artwork and a lot of promise lend itself to the issue and keep me engaged enough to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Earth 2: Society #3

Aug 14, 2015

Serving more as a look into the struggles of Lois as she acclimates to her new world, this issue acts as an interesting character study and not much more. We learn nothing that we didn't know from last issue, so while the "one year ago" segments show the promise of an interesting story, the "present day" plot feels lacking and empty.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Earth 2: Society #4

Sep 12, 2015

A wonderful book both to read and examine, this issue felt real in all the right places. While a few inconsistent characters lessen the overall impact of "Nexus," it is by far the best issue that has been put out by Earth 2: Society so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2: Society #5

Oct 19, 2015

A strong entry into the Earth 2: Society line-up, this issue brings with it a look into the overwhelmed lives of the Wonders. While some can rise to the challenge, others must fall from the pack, but there are few things better than a redemption story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Earth 2: World's End #1

Oct 9, 2014

At $2.99, this might be the most bang I've gotten for my buck in a long, long time. A comprehensive break-down of everything that's been going on in the past two years, backstory's I've been dying to hear about, and the characters " Oh! The Characters! " push this story to the forefront of books I'll be reading from now on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Earth 2: World's End #2

Oct 16, 2014

I'm enjoying these first two issues so much. Strong writing with exemplary action sequences and solid artwork are all coming together in a way that other weekly titles (you know who I'm talking about) have only nipped at. Although it feels crowded and blurred in some areas, this is a great second step to what is easily my favorite weekly title (small sample size, I know).

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Earth 2: World's End #3

Oct 23, 2014

Definitely the weakest of the three issues so far, the melding of artists is the biggest knock on World's End so far. For a weekly book, I expected there to be a lot of setting up and a bunch of issues where "nothing happens." Perhaps I'm just not used to it yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Earth 2: World's End #4

Oct 30, 2014

There has to be some way to get these weekly titles off the ground and have them be more accessible to readers who pick up each issue and do not want to wait for a trade book. World's End has not hit its stride yet after four issues, and the last two I've come away with a lot of sound and fury with little substance.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Earth 2: World's End #5

Nov 7, 2014

There's a lot of the same old problems, things I don't see being changed any time soon. This doesn't mean that they will just be accepted, but it's something readers of this book are going to have to live with. Half of this book was so freaking good, and half was so very bad. I was so torn reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Earth 2: World's End #6

Nov 17, 2014

At its best, this issue is jumbled mix of team-ups. At its worst, it's a near-incomprehensible book that reads like someone grabs chunks of different issues and threw them together. While I'd like to place the majority of the blame on editors, inconsistent and unreliable writing has continued to bring this series down.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2: World's End #7

Nov 20, 2014

Another 50/50 split between the good and bad parts of this issue. The reason this issue scored higher than the last is because the good was very good. Still, plot holes and jumps in logic hinder his series from fulfilling its potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Earth 2: World's End #8

Nov 27, 2014

Some gross artwork holds back the scattered story as World's End pushes forward as a title that has been quite the disappointment so far. Oh, and if you have to tell me not once, but twice in the editor's notes to "Check Out (Insert Comic Here)" you are failing at your job as an editor and a writer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2: World's End #9

Dec 6, 2014

Overall: A coherent story with genuinely breath-catching cliffhangers blends well with some of the best artwork that the series has seen to date. This was a strong turn-around from the past several issues which have certainly been disappointing. I look forward to where this story is going for the first time in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Earth 2: World's End #10

Dec 16, 2014

The story is coming together in a more solidified form, but the threads all seem too spread out to bring them together anytime soon. This was a definite improvement over the mean of this series, but I'm still waiting for everything to come together. With another few dozen issues to come, there is still plenty of time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: World's End #11

Dec 18, 2014

Overall: Major changes and a stylistic overhaul that seemed long overdue contribute to the success of this issue. For the first time since this series started, I'm looking forward to see where the endgame of World's End is heading. If it's done properly, this book could live up to its promise of shaking the entire DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Earth 2: World's End #12

Jan 5, 2015

Overall: While I do not necessarily like the change back to the more unfocused direction, Wilson's story continues to escalate the stakes, leaving me wondering how much longer it will be until we have a unified narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Earth 2: World's End #13

Jan 6, 2015

Overall: The improved artwork and the gradually-coalescing story have improved this issue over the last, and the final touching moment actually made me sad. There are, however, still the insane and unbelievably coincidental plot points. These massive plot holes keep the score down. This book has a way to go until it has consistently good scores.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Earth 2: World's End #14

Jan 10, 2015

Overall: Storylines have begun converging, and with only three more months left the pace of World's End better pick up soon. I've enjoyed the new artistic direction and the narrative has improved, but I can't shake the feeling that this whole series could go very wrong very quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Earth 2: World's End #15

Jan 18, 2015

Overall: Another strong issue for me, though not as satisfying as I would have hoped. There's only about a dozen or so more issues left of World's End, so the story better get together real quick.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Earth 2: World's End #16

Jan 22, 2015

Overall: While this issue brings together almost every diverging storyline, there are still some serious flaws that this book will have to overcome. Story-breaking leaps in logic, an insane time span that has zero explanation, and editing issues take away from the popping artwork and immersive premise.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Earth 2: World's End #17

Jan 30, 2015

Over halfway through the series' run, characters are still being introduced and new plot lines are still being formed. There's two months left and still there's no sign of the endgame in sight. After two above-average entries to World's End, this issue is a major downturn with its weak art and lack of direction behind its story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: World's End #18

Feb 7, 2015

Overall: This book was a pleasant surprise to read. It was the first book in a few months that felt like a worthwhile read, and lights a small fire of hope in my heart for the conclusion of this story. While I was put off by some of the artwork, there were a number of great scenes between some undervalued characters. If you've been following World's End so far, or are a fan of Thomas Wayne, pick this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Earth 2: World's End #19

Feb 12, 2015

When there's nothing to spoil, that's bad. This was an empty book, an entire book that could have been covered in a few panels. After months of rapid pace and scatter-brained action, we get an issue where there's lots of noise and explosions, but no substance. It's a Michael Bay film with less significant plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Earth 2: World's End #20

Feb 21, 2015

Overall: We're twenty issues in, and things are still being set up and characters are just being introduced. This thing ends in like six issues, and half of the storylines are going absolutely nowhere. If you want it that badly, just buy the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Earth 2: World's End #21

Feb 26, 2015

I've done enough spouting about this book's logic breaks, time skips, unintelligeble story, inconsistent artwork, shallow characters, and all the other flaws that have hit it. Either you're buying it, or you're not, and this issue won't change that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Earth 2: World's End #22

Mar 6, 2015

This was probably the first issue I genuinely enjoyed in a few months. Granted, it goes hand-in-hand with this week's Earth 2 issue, which allows it to do more than what we've become accustomed to in World's End.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: World's End #23

Mar 16, 2015

Overall: The last few issues of this book have been a solid improvement over what we've been given with World's End. Impressive action, high-quality artwork, character development, and the semblance of a coherent storyline are coming together to raise my hopes just enough to keep buying this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2: World's End #24

Mar 20, 2015

Overall: For the first time in a long time, I have the slimmest of hopes for this series. The last few issues have been very good. It's just upsetting that it took this long for this book to find its stride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: World's End #25

Mar 29, 2015

I've enjoyed the increase in quality these last few weeks. Dare I say it's almost been an entire month of good World's End issues. Seeing Darkseid take his place as a true villain and watching the Wonders battle back should have been introduced way earlier in the series. But with Convergence and Earth 2: Society only a few months away, there is only so much that can be salvaged from the overall train wreck that was the beginning of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Earth 2: World's End #26

Apr 5, 2015

Overall: I didn't call this an "epic conclusion" for sensationalist reasons. This issue is truly epic, and was such a joy to read that I went through it three times before writing this. Although the artwork falters in the latter half, and there are some rushed character arcs that should have been taken care of way earlier than now, I suggest anyone who's read Earth 2 or World's End pick this up immediately. It was well worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Infinite Crisis: Fight for the Multiverse #1

Jul 16, 2014

There's some pretty dense stuff to get through for a comic book, and I couldn't stand the first two-thirds of the book, but I have high hopes for this run going forward. The third act saves it somewhat, but Batman was just written so poorly that it kills the vibe for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Infinite Crisis: Fight for the Multiverse #2

Aug 21, 2014

This book was a big improvement over the first issue, but there's still too much talking and not enough being done to explore these new worlds. The dynamic between these heroes may not be getting better, but it's getting interesting at least.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Infinite Crisis: Fight for the Multiverse #3

Sep 18, 2014

Since its rather weak and uneven start, Infinite Crisis has become a rather fun book and exciting book. Its creative reimagining of stalwart DC heroes and villains has started to rub off on me, and I'm actually starting to look forward to this title every week. (Don't tell anyone, but I may have been skipping ahead with the Digital First issues)

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Infinite Crisis: Fight for the Multiverse #4

Oct 16, 2014

This month lost its luster, that's for sure. There were still some fun moments, but the drop in artistic quality and uneven story threw me this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Infinite Crisis: Fight for the Multiverse #5

Nov 22, 2014

For the third time I'll ask: Are any of you reading this book? I totally understand if you're not, and if you are, why? I don't see what's here for fans of these heroes or for comic fans in general. But hey, I guess it's trying to be original?

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Infinite Crisis: Fight for the Multiverse #6

Jan 6, 2015

Overall: You probably didn't even notice that I forgot to review this. That's how insignificant this line is.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Infinite Crisis: Fight for the Multiverse #7

Jan 25, 2015

Man, I loved that first-third. Doctor Fate has so quickly skyrocketed up my list of favorite heroes, and how he, Green Arrow, and Powergirl are all presented is just so awesome. It's a shame that the intrigue that the creative team tried to bring about in the second half of the book failed to pull me in.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Infinite Crisis: Fight for the Multiverse #8

Feb 23, 2015

Overall: The potential of this series keepings being diminished by the weak writing, less than spectacular artwork, and a rehashed premise that has been run into the ground. We're given an opportunity to explore new worlds and unique characters, but the focus is just so limited that it spites itself. If there is one thing this book has going for it, it would be the action sequences, so if you like fighting, pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Infinite Crisis: Fight for the Multiverse #10

Apr 19, 2015

Overall: This is fun and all, but I see a rapidly-declining audience for a decent story with substandard artwork. I'm be genuinely interested about the digital and paper numbers for these issues. At my local shop, they only get a handful of these each month, so I can't imagine it's doing too well.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Infinite Crisis: Fight for the Multiverse #11

May 23, 2015

Overall: One more issue. I won't lament the passing of this series, merely marvel at the unused potential with a few brilliant moments that was buried under a pile of blas storytelling trying to claw its way out. While I don't think this could have ever rivaled Injustice or the new Mortal Kombat digital firsts, it never felt like Infinite Crisis was even trying. But the Lord hates a quitter.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Infinite Crisis: Fight for the Multiverse #12

Jun 19, 2015

Overall: This book seemed doomed from the start, with a number of interesting concepts and a high ceiling wasted on a meandering story and subpar artwork. Unique characters and landscapes that populated the first arc were thrown away in the endgame, costing this series the one thing it had in terms of appeal. I hope DC treats whole experience " comic and game " as an exercise in "missing the point."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League 3000 #1

Jun 22, 2014

I really, really enjoyed this issue. Granted, it's just an introduction and there's very little in terms of real plot, I still found myself reading it multiple times just because I was such a fan of the heroes' interactions.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League 3000 #2

Jun 26, 2014

Little advancement of the story and overly-used tropes take away from the beautifully drawn and fun "Things Fall Apart." If you're into comics that enjoy and exploit the craziness of the universe that our heroes live in, please pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Justice League 3000 #3

Jun 26, 2014

The story has stopped in this issue, but it seems to be building up to something on the horizon. A showdown with The Five seems inching closer as we learn more and more about their members. I place a lot of emphasis on storytelling, so this issue suffers greatly without it. There also seem to be very few characters to care about at this point who aren't the League members.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League 3000 #4

Jun 26, 2014

"The Terrible Truth" does not solve any of our heroes' problems, but it does create another interesting layer to the story that they will have to come to terms with.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League 3000 #8

Jul 3, 2014

Overall: The actual plan of counter-attack will have to wait until next issue, but have a hyper-intelligent scientist with all the powers of the Speed Force should be a major asset against the strength of The Five.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League 3000 #9

Aug 7, 2014

A surprisingly light story with some good, if jarringly different, artwork and some strong, satisfying action, this issue of JL3K is a must-buy for anyone who has been following the series. Any new readers should just wait for the next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League 3000 #10

Oct 3, 2014

This felt to me like your standard comic book arc ending. Good guys come up with a cool plan, bad guys seemingly overcome trap but wind up on the wrong end anyway, both teams fight and then we get a resolution. There wasn't much here that added anything new, but as someone who doesn't read a whole lot of team-books, this was fun for me, regardless of the artwork, which felt off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League 3000 #11

Nov 5, 2014

I loved every moment of this issue from the quiet serenity and funny moments of Camelot to the sinister and plotting machinations on Cadmus. Not only does this do a fantastic job of closing the first arc of a series that just rocketed to the top of my reading list, but also skillfully sets up an intriguing plot going forward that I am very much looking forward to read. Go out and get this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League 3000 #12

Dec 6, 2014

Overall: Taking nothing away from the quality of the story or the artwork, both of which were standard for this series, but I just wasn't into this issue. Maybe it's because I have so little exposure to Blue Beetle and Booster Gold, but I'm at least interested in where they're going.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League 3000 #13

Jan 12, 2015

Overall: This book was the surprise of the year for me, and its high quality has gotten me looking for big things in the future. While I have questions about some direction choices, the character development and artwork are some of the best I've seen this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League 3000 #14

Feb 13, 2015

This series has been close to my heart since it came out. Its mixture of excellent writing, high-quality artwork, humor, and originality work together to provide a fun read that I look forward to every month. While this month was heavy on the exposition and a little wonky with the art, I still place this at the top of my reading list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League 3000 #15

Mar 10, 2015

While the writing and artwork is above average and has been consistently one of my favorite titles, about once an arc there's an issue that makes me go "meh." Maybe the jokes are laid on a little too thick, or maybe the characters lose their charm for an instant, or maybe in even the most inventive of universes there are things that I can't quite wrap my head around. The strength of this series raises the bar for me, and this one just missed it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League 3001 #1

Jun 27, 2015

Overall: A fun, enjoyable start to a series with a lot of freedom and strong creative team. While the time-skip left a lot of unanswered questions and loose ends, it did propel the story forward from one arc to the next. Lots of story-telling potential and excellent artwork keep me engaged and looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League 3001 #2

Aug 8, 2015

Another fun entry into the growing catalogue of the JL3K, this issue highlights both the elements that make this series great, as well as the problems with DC's eagerness to use time-skips. There's still too much missing from the story, and while I can't blame Giffen and DeMatteis, it's not something that's just going to go away anytime soon. I trust them to make the best of a bad situation, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League 3001 #3

Aug 29, 2015

While I have dwindling hopes for the future of this title, I find myself enjoying it consistently every month. Giffen and DeMatteis have a strong ability for dialogue and are paired up with one of the best art teams in the business. This line has been an easy sell for those who know a great deal about the history of comics and should continue to do well with a dedicated fan base. The score does not reflect their exceptional work, but the negligent behavior of their parent company in forcing along the story at an uncomfortable clip.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League 3001 #4

Sep 27, 2015

I'm honestly not sure how I feel about this. It has the camp that JL3K has been known for, but it also doesn't know when a bit has run stale (also that JL3K has been known for). While I'm torn on the change in art direction and what purpose this story holds in the overall Injustice League arc, fans of Flash and Mirror Master will find this book enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #1

Jun 13, 2015

Overall: Swing and a miss. Scott Lobdell continues his quest to destroy all the bad-ass cache that had been built up since Under the Red Hood and Battle for the Cowl. I'll save you some time. Unless you're an avid collector of #1 issues or a big-time fan of Jason or Roy, don't bother with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #2

Jul 10, 2015

Overall: While I've come to accept that this is not your father's Jason Todd narrative, Red Hood/Arsenal has set itself up as a bro-y journey designed for fans of bro-y one-liners and bro-y beat-em-ups. Think Marcus and Dom from Gears of War except with more showers and mimes. It's enough to keep me entertained about what's coming next, but the premise is nothing to be crazy about. At least Lobdell has accepted that he can't write serious, heavy premises.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.5
Red Hood / Arsenal #3

Aug 15, 2015

The last thing that kept me pulled on this series was that it was at least kind of funny. That's gone. I'm almost certain Lobdell isn't doing this ironically, but there's a part of me that doesn't want to believe it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #4

Sep 13, 2015

I'm really trying to enjoy this, but then again it seems like I end up saying that in every one of these Red Hood/Arsenal reviews. There's too much here that's lacking, and I don't see any possibility of improvement with this current creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Red Hood And The Outlaws #26

Jun 22, 2014

There's strong artwork here, and the story is noticeably moved on past the muck that's held the series back the past dozen issues or so. Jason Todd's story has gone so far off-base and has just dived head-first into insanity that the best I can see happening is that this arc ends soon and with a finality that allows Jason to move on to better things.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood And The Outlaws #27

Jun 22, 2014

This issue brought a lot to the table, but ultimately the importance of “The Rage of Ra's al Ghul” lies in the fact that it provides closure. Closure, not just for this arc, but for the entire mystic quality of the All-Caste and Untitled for the time being. I hope future issues look back on these last few chapters of Jason Todd's story and craft a more coherent train of thought.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #28

Jun 22, 2014

Ever since that amnesia arc has ended, Red Hood and the Outlaws has been on a consistent incline. I was inclined to put an 8.5 but this one-shot was such a breath of fresh air it felt better than it probably was.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #29

Jun 24, 2014

Our heroes face a new set of villains, but they're either too far away to be effective or are just bystanders. This new arc is a good place to jump on for new readers and readers who gave up during the previous arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood And The Outlaws #30

Jun 24, 2014

There's no real character development, but the introduction of a new villain along with some fun fights makes this an enjoyable read and a worthwhile issue to pick up if you read Issue 29. Would've been higher if the first couple pages weren't so unnecessary. Take those pages out and give me more Frankenstein/Jason sword fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Red Hood And The Outlaws #31

Jun 24, 2014

After the last three issues, Red Hood and the Outlaws seemed to be on the rise. This last issue was definitely the weakest since the end of the Amnesia Arc, but there are some cool Lobo moments, as well as some good teamwork from Jason, Roy, and Kori.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Red Hood And The Outlaws #32

Jun 26, 2014

The start of a new arc brings back Scott Lobdell as writer and a return of fun to a title that has been seriously lacking in it. Steps back for Kori's development, however, and a half-formed villain coupled with average art, make this issue more of a jumbled mess than a proper opening to a new storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #33

Jul 17, 2014

This article is pretty much meant for fans of Starfire, while Red Hood and Arsenal take a noticeable back seat. If you want decent artwork and don't mind the lack of real story progression, then pick this up. If Kori isn't one of your favorite heroes, I'd suggest you pass on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #34

Aug 21, 2014

Sometimes the darkness is what makes an issue stand out and reveal a tiny glimmer of what the soul of a book is made of. This issue of Red Hood and the Outlaws cuts deep to the heart of who the Outlaws are in their most basic forms " void-like dark, irreparably broken, and they might just be unsalvageable.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #35

Oct 16, 2014

This arc is supposed to deal with the drug use of each character, whether it's Kori and Jason's current/future use or Roy's previous use. Frankly, I didn't get any kind of feeling from this issue. It was decently drawn but poorly written, a staple of the Scott Lobdell era of Red Hood and the Outlaws.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #36

Nov 20, 2014

Less a warning about the use of drugs and more an examination of how people react to drugs under duress, this issue serves as an interesting addition to an originally weak storyline. I look forward to see where this is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #37

Dec 19, 2014

Overall: This wasn't a particularly bad issue, but it felt so out of place I couldn't connect to it. I greatly enjoyed the artwork, but the narrative was so bland and unnecessary when a host of other stories could have been told.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #38

Jan 23, 2015

Overall: This book lacks any direction, and it has been that way since the very first issue. I can't stress enough the sheer number of weird turns and themes this series has taken on with very little success. The only thing keeping me in this title right now is my Red Hood fandom and the dollops of humor that one can find in each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #39

Feb 24, 2015

Pretty much everything that has gone into this series has been a bust, which is a shame for the fans of these characters. From the perspective of a reader, if I wasn't reviewing these, I wouldn't be reading them. All I can do is hope that once the team gets shaken up, there will be something salvaged from all the nonsense that this series has built itself on.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #40

Mar 20, 2015

As someone who had read this from the first issue and hoped that each month would finally bring a satisfying dynamic to these characters, I was extremely let down by this finale. Rushed, poorly thought out, and misguided are just a few ways to describe how emotionless and bland this split felt. For a book that tried so hard to be something that it very obviously was not, it doesn't surprise me that it could not even disappear properly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws: Futures End #1

Sep 18, 2014

The most true-to-character and entertaining of all the Future's End Month issues I've reviewed, I strongly suggest fans of Jason to pick up this book. A strong blend of fast-paced action, solid artwork, and an entertaining story come together to boost Red Hood and the Outlaws to the top of this month's books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Origins #7

Nov 30, 2014

One standard tale for Flash, an intriguing but, for me, uninteresting story for Kon-El, and a wonderful origin for Huntress all come together to make this an enjoyable read going forward. If it was just Helena's origin, this would get an easy 9 for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl (2011) #35

Oct 16, 2014

This was a fun and action-filled book that told a complete story. What more could you ask for? One can hope that it's only a matter of time before Red Hood becomes a book like this and Future's End and less like the stuff that's going on in Red Hood and the Outlaws now.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Worlds' Finest #25

Jul 10, 2014

Improved artwork and great character design are held back by a meandering story and shallow heroes. Things look like they will spiral towards heavy action, as the issue's conclusion gives readers a taste of just how bad the situation on Earth 2 is.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Worlds' Finest #26

Aug 15, 2014

There are still some trademark weaknesses of Worlds' Finest, namely the poor writing behind Huntress and Powergirl, but there are a host of secondary characters that became much more intriguing in this issue. The artwork was solid but I can't help but feel that the title characters are not the most captivating people in this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Worlds' Finest #27

Oct 16, 2014

When I say that Huntress and Powergirl were probably going to be more interesting than what's going to come, that's a bad sign. This isn't worth it, you've seen all this before.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Worlds' Finest #28

Nov 17, 2014

There's really not much to be said. In a universe full of potential stories, the fact that we would get another Batman/Superman title just is not appealing, regardless of the differences made in the fabric of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Worlds' Finest #29

Dec 13, 2014

Overall: At least this book is moving away from any kind of origin story and is thankfully passing over how Clark met Bruce. There is no way this book will ever be groundbreaking or revelatory in any way, that's just the nature of it. Providing an in-depth history into the destruction of Earth 2, however, holds some promise for entertaining story-telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Worlds' Finest #30

Jan 18, 2015

Overall: As an avid follower of Earth 2 and a huge fan of the little universe that these books have created, I can see the value in trying to add as much background and world-building as possible. That being said, these issues themselves really have little purpose.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.5
Worlds' Finest #31

Feb 18, 2015

One more month. One more issue. Lois is going to die next issue and that will be the end of this series. We've only know that for about six months now. Once this is over, there will be another, hopefully better, book to replace it. That's all I have going for me every time I pick up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Worlds' Finest #32

Mar 13, 2015

The universe played a real joke on us by having the series finale of this book be by far the best issue of the last six months. Worlds' Finest was by no means an excellent, and most months it wasn't even good. Hell, average would be a stretch most of the time, but at least it knew how to end an arc in style.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Worlds' Finest: Futures End #1

Sep 13, 2014

An entertaining semi-one-shot with decent writing and strong action was a surprise for me coming off of last week's horror show. If you've been wondering whether or not to jump on the Worlds' Finest bandwagon, this is a good place to test the waters. Go for it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More