Tyler Sewell's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AIPT Reviews: 110
7.4Avg. Review Rating

9
Arcadia #1

May 6, 2015

Paknadel definitely pulled out a lot of stops for this first issue and let me tell you, it worked. It's going to be hard to read Arcadia and not be hooked on the series. It shocks you with the creative technological flair and then hits you with some emotionally stimulating material. This is a well-rounded comic and a must have for any sci-fi fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Arcadia #2

Jun 3, 2015

Arcadia is 2/2 for successful issues. >Arcadia #2 compounds on the first issue's hook with a solid and unique storyline that provides plenty of intrigue. The art isn't my favorite, but it does enough to make the series one of my current top five.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Baltimore: The Witch of Harju #2

Aug 19, 2014

You get a simple origin story for the witch and get to see a couple of demons pop out of zombie chests like the scene from Alien. Other than that it's a pretty forgettable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Hammer #1

Jul 13, 2016

I think we have a hit on our hands. It's one of those stories that immediately pulls the reader in with its original characters, authentic drama and subtle humor that Lemire slips in throughout the storyline. Despite it being an introductory issue, it's readable and easy to follow, but still manages to hint at the series' hidden depth.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Hammer #2

Aug 16, 2016

Black Hammer debuted as a healthy balance of old and new concepts and while it can be considered an homage to the Golden Age of comics, this particular issue loses some of its magic with the lack of original material. However, we gain more insight into Gail's backstory and information surrounding why the team is forced into the such a lifestyle. This is still a series to keep on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Black Hammer #3

Sep 15, 2016

Issue three is all about Barbalien and his story is particularly good. I'm still hesitant about the series as a whole, but this issue is worth a read just for Mark Markz origin story alone. The art has its moments with some nice scenery shots and some action panels, but the character faces are still underwhelming. The series still has a lot of potential even after the plot has slowed down.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Burning Fields #1

Jan 22, 2015

Burning Fields‘s debut provides a very strong opening to a series with a lot of potential. Moreci and Daniel have put together a very well structured issue that immediately captures your interest and eliminates any dull introductory monologues. The story blends a classic horror plot with a modern setting and appeals to any fan of political, detective, or horror genres. I can't say enough about Lorimer who does an excellent job illustrating and capturing the tension of each situation the characters are thrust into. His artistic style fits really well with the nature of the comic and the panel-placement itself is really impressive. This is definitely a series to add to your list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cinderella: Age of Darkness #1

Oct 29, 2014

Cinderella presents quite an entertaining read with great writing for readers who have been following Realm War or those who are just jumping in. The comedic wit is supported with the some great art which captures the essence of Cindy's condescending face. If you want to see some of your favorite childhood figures behead people and get into vulgar arguments, this is the comic for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Convergence #2

Apr 16, 2015

King and Lobdell have wasted potential scenarios and refused to take risks thus far into this event. At times the writing appears to be contrived and overtly dramatic and even the fight scenes seem to have a generic nature about them. Pagulayan and Paz do a fine job with the art, no qualms there. This series doesn't look like it'll get better any time soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Convergence #3

Apr 23, 2015

While Convergence shows signs of life in this issue, those moments are heavily outweighed by the lows and continued wasted moments. A large portion of the story isn't new-reader friendly and will require some DC historical knowledge. If you're this far into the series you're probably committed solely for collecting purposes; if not, you must have a lot more faith in this series than I do.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Convergence #4

Apr 30, 2015

Better. Things are getting better. We're moving from bad to more of a neutral when it comes to this series' quality. With the way this issue ended, I'm optimistic for issue 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Convergence #5

May 7, 2015

I really wanted to enjoy this issue and I just couldn't. The beginning of the issue seems mismanaged and the rest of the issue failed to peak my interest. The art does have some good scenes, but is very hit or miss throughout the issue. With a complete change in direction, maybe our new main villain will bring Convergence what it needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Convergence #6

May 14, 2015

Convergence is now firing on all cylinders. While there are still some areas that aren't as strong, the writing and art alike have taken a huge step forward. If this trend continues into next week, Convergence may be able to make up for the first half of the event and redeem itself in the end. If you've dropped the series this is a good place to pick it back up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Convergence #8

May 28, 2015

Convergence ends on a better note than it started on, but it's another convenient finale in terms of how things are wrapped up. The event as a whole wasn't that bad, but it's the expectations that ultimately let it down. I'd still say Convergence succeeded in providing a concise main storyline with a lot of individual titles that hit more often than missed. Now that DC fans' wallets are empty, it's time to devote our attention to Divergence.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Convergence: Nightwing / Oracle #1

Apr 9, 2015

I recognize that some people are going to use this convergence opportunity to put out some issues have the flair of unique character combinations, but lack the quality of the story. Gail Simone knocks this issue out of the park and makes us nostalgic for the days when we saw Nightwing and Oracle interact on a monthly basis. My favorite comics are the ones that leave me emotionally drained and that's exactly what this issue did. The next issue can't come soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Convergence: Wonder Woman #1

Apr 23, 2015

Convergence: Wonder Woman is definitely a cross-over that you need to pick up. Whether you're a fan of the Steve and Diana couple (which I call Steana), Hama does a quality job at depicting the strong feminine hero, strength being something she's lacked lately in New 52. Diana has one of the coolest world matchups that we'll see from these crossovers and while of the issue is a bit slow, the second issue is set up to make up for that and more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cyanide & Happiness: Punching Zoo #1

Sep 10, 2014

C&H already has an illustrious history digitally and it's nice to see it make its way into a hard copy. Punching Zoo is a 21st version of The Far Side that exploits everything we find funny, despite not being politically correct. This book is truly the best excuse for killing trees humanity has ever come up with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Django / Zorro #1

Nov 11, 2014

This is a great introductory issue to a series with a whole lot of potential. While it contains more discussion than action, issue two is primed to delve into the duo's task and first encounter with the series' villain. De la Vega is a great character who is backed with great writing and easily becomes one of your favorites and he hasn't even donned the Zorro persona yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
East of West #15

Sep 10, 2014

The wait is well worth it. Issue #15, appropriately named Awake Babylon, does a great job of ending current storylines and setting up even more. Despite the slow beginning, everything is right on target and Hickman continues to deliver a knockout series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
East of West #22

Dec 3, 2015

Issue #22 serves as a great stand-alone comic to fans of the series and those who have never read. The lack of dialogue makes Dragotta's artwork that much more powerful as he's able to singlehandedly convey one of the most exciting issues of the series. This should be at the top of your pull-lists this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
East of West: The World One Shot #1

Dec 9, 2014

While it is unnecessary and slightly gimmicky, it's definitely a fun issue. I could see something like this, a standalone issue that just includes extra information for die-hards, being double the price of a regular issue. Instead, this fun one-shot includes a short story as well as analysis and timeline for the price of a regular issue. Normally I'm not a fan of these sorts of things, but I would definitely suggest it, especially given that it's been months since the last issue and the complexity of the storyline may require you to refresh yourself. This issue mostly serves as an anticipation builder for The Apocalypse: Year Two, the next chapter of the series. Year Two aka issue #16 will hit shelves on December 31.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Edward Scissorhands #1

Oct 22, 2014

Leth has breathed life back into our favorite little invention and for that we are eternally grateful. You can't help but smile when seeing Edward back on the pages pages. The amount of detail that went into this comic is impressive and you'll be able to recognize the same newsclipping-covered mantle, staircase gargoyle and weathered rooftop hole. It's a cute issue to say the least and I'm already disappointed there are only four left.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Edward Scissorhands #2

Nov 26, 2014

This issue lacks a strong storyline and it doesn't feature enough Edward to make up for it. This issue is made up of a lot of fluff and not particularly worth $4. Let's hope next issue is able to stir up some more magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ei8ht #1

Feb 17, 2015

Ei8ht kicks off to an exciting first issue that demands your attention from start to finish. It's one of the most enjoyable reads I've had so far this year and the story is incredibly well-structured so you get the comic's plot without getting an overtly-wordy explanation. Keep your eye on this series because I have a feeling it's going places.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ei8ht #2

Mar 17, 2015

Ei8ht continues to set itself apart and stake a claim as one of the year's most original series thus far. Albuquerque and Johnson put out another excellent issue to the new series that demands to be at the top of every comic fan's pull list. If you aren't on the bandwagon yet, now's the time to jump on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ei8ht #3

Apr 13, 2015

Had I stopped twenty pages into the issue, I would have called this a sub-par issue in comparison to Johnson and Albuquerque's first two issue. However, naturally I finished the issue and received a thorough mind f@$% and once again hyping this comic as best I can. Three issues in and Ei8ht still hasn't let up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ei8ht #5

Jun 11, 2015

Unfortunately this finale didn't pack the usual punch Ei8ht seems to consistently bring to the table. With a very short battle and a lot of pages that felt like filler, Ei8ht #5 doesn't present the fireworks we anticipated. However, the opening story arc has still been an impressive one and by the way this issue closes, it seems Albuquerque and Johnson still have a lot up their sleeve and this series is anything, but over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Empty Zone #1

Jun 4, 2015

Empty Zone #1 is a psychological trip that'll leave you with more questions than answers and while that may be frustrating I have to acknowledge it's a good start to the series. Backed with excellent art, Alexander has created the type of comic that you walk away from feeling slightly disturbed and you can't identify why. Any comic that's powerful enough to make you feel like you need to take a cold shower afterwards is a keeper. Look for Empty Zone #1 on June 17th.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fight Club 2 #1

Apr 30, 2015

Fight Club 2 is able to remind us why the first work gained such a following. Bringing the same manic and revolutionary themes to the table, Palahniuk creates a perfect blend of dark and quirky literature to generate a thoroughly entertaining issue in his comic book debut. Overall this is a great set-up that builds a strong foundation for the much anticipated series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fight Club 2 #2

Jun 23, 2015

Overall it's still an entertaining issue, but I see holes within the series looming in the distance. Palahniuk went into this against with a ridiculously high bar and it's time we lower it to a realistic level.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Fight Club 2 #3

Jul 22, 2015

This has changed from a story containing twisted themes to a comic that takes you to a dark place and lingers with you even after you're finished. Now I'm sure others might enjoy this issue because it moves the plot along a considerable amount and sheds some light on Tyler's plans, but it's far too dark for my taste. This issue continues to prove that the comic series is further deviating from the original novel's themes, subject matter, and even quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
God Hates Astronauts #1

Sep 3, 2014

This is a must have for those who enjoy farcical comedy in their comics. This issue is chock-full of wit and features gags that will go over some heads, but will surely be valued by others (at one point they reference the TV edited version of Die Hard 2. This is just asking for a cult following). The art is hilarious and you can find yourself studying the background intently for vulgar sound effects or a bear flipping the bird. Whether or not drugs were used in the making of this issue, by the time you finish it you'll feel like you're on something yourself. Just smile and thank Ryan "What do you mean it's not butter" Browne for the trip.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
God Hates Astronauts #2

Sep 30, 2014

This is yet another hilarious issue, but it's a lot of what we saw in the first issue — just a bit more odd. We get to see more of Browne's abstract universe, but the material isn't as entertaining as issue one's battle. Maybe next week we'll get to see more Star Grass in action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
God Hates Astronauts #3

Nov 5, 2014

This issue is ludicrous. And I mean that in a good way. Like "My Chick Bad" Ludacris rather than "Fred Claus" Ludacris (I don't know how many comic book readers will understand those references, but if you got both of them congratulations). This issue brings us back up to the standards presented in the first and it looks like plenty of action in on the horizon for Stargrass and the rest of the nincompoops at NASA.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Grayson Annual #1

Dec 25, 2014

Really the question we should be asking when it comes to annuals is: Is it worth the $5? And in this case it is. You get a very long issue that involves so much plot and information that it feels more cinematic than literary. The artwork isn't quite as good as Janin and the storyline doesn't pack as much "umph" as we're used to, but still a great issue overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grayson: Futures End #1

Sep 4, 2014

I acknowledge that some people would not consider this a perfect comic, but for any die-hard fan of Dick Grayson, such as myself, this comic will be one of your favorites of the year. For those of you who haven't followed Grayson, this issue will make you fall in love with this character because it's a perfect blend of everything a good Dick Grayson comic needs: a love affair, action scenes, and humor. Tom King and Tim Seeley have done an excellent job with this series and this is a pinnacle of their work thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Was The Cat #1

Aug 6, 2014

Backed by some excellent art from the hand of Benjamin Dewey, Tobin does a great job of presenting a fun book that's appropriate for most ages. This is a great casual read if treated as one (Please do not expect a jaw dropping, stress-inducing, gritty, epic tale because I already warned you in the very first sentence that it was about a talking cat). So expect entertaining historical spotlights, sardonic humor that only a cat could deliver, and even an unexpected-but-probably-expected twist at the very end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
International Iron Man #1

Mar 17, 2016

I haven't kept up with current Iron Man series or events as well as I should have lately, but this series doesn't appear to be dependent on any prior reading so it's a great jumping on point. Bendis and Maleev are collaborating once again and they produced a solid first issue to kick off the series, but I have a feeling it's going to be an uphill battle trying to prove the necessity for an additional Iron Man story. So far I like what I'm seeing though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ivar, Timewalker #2

Feb 17, 2015

Ivar, Timewalker showed a lot of potential from its first issue and this one gives us a glimpse at the story formatting going forward. The series is an amalgam of Dr. Who, The Terminator, and the Magic Tree House series, making it a unique and consistently entertaining series with each issue. High praise for this issue which should have you hooked if you were ever on the fence.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Ivar, Timewalker #3

Mar 18, 2015

Ivar, Timewalker #3 is the first time the series comes down from its debut high. While it still proves to be an extremely promising series, constantly engaging, and features quality art and writing, it's downfall comes at the hands of an growing complexity of the storyline. Jeff Daniels had a line in the movie Looper that went "All this time travel shit, just fries your brain like an egg." Let's hope Ivar, Timewalker doesn't continue on that current trajectory.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ivar, Timewalker #4

Apr 21, 2015

This issue definitely isn't as flashy as the previous issues have been. While it is considered the finale to the series' first story arc, it serves more as a stepping stone into the next arc that promises a new look and a great jumping on point. This issue provides plenty of necessary context as far as rules to time travel and Neela's personal history, but doesn't have the fireworks of a finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ivar, Timewalker #5

May 26, 2015

Ivar, Timewalker #5 is a promising start to a new story arc, but it doesn't appear to be that accessible to those who haven't read the first four issue. Despite it not being the best jumping on point, it does serve as a well written, succinct issue that should make any reader excited for the new direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League: Darkseid War: Special #1

Apr 6, 2016

I was expecting this special to be just another bonus issue and another regretted $3.99 cast into the DC pot. What we actually get is an extremely well written backstory with just as much current, and essential, content to the Darkseid War event. If you've read the entire event thus far, this is definitely an issue you don't want to skip. Johns continues to increase the hype for a dramatic end for the event and New 52 as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Leaving Megalopolis #1

Sep 17, 2014

Quite. The novel presents a unique perspective for a situation never before shown in such magnitude. The characters are realistic and easy to connect with emotionally. It's a very grim tale that expands past the superficiality of a superhero story, but still references the magic that comic book heroes contribute to our lives. Leaving Megalopolis is definitely a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Leaving Megalopolis: Surviving Megalopolis #1

Jan 12, 2016

When I heard Simone and Calafiore were collaborating again I was thrilled. When I heard that it was a sequel to Leaving Megalopolis I was even more excited. This new series has more of an apocalyptic feel to it and is poised to reveal even more supervillain conflict than the first novel. With a blend of original and exciting new characters, Surviving Megalopolis is a solid start to the new story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Leaving Megalopolis: Surviving Megalopolis #2

Feb 13, 2016

I enjoyed the first issue and this second one just took it to another level. The writing and art are still on point and the storyline is going more in depth, adding additional sub-plots, and is beginning to answer questions we've been asking since the first novel. Everything is looking up for Surviving Megalopolis.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Leaving Megalopolis: Surviving Megalopolis #3

Mar 8, 2016

The series hits a lull in this particular issue, but makes up for it with its incredible art and the final page which sets up the rescue team's underlying motivations. This volume is appearing to be even more climactic than the first.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Leaving Megalopolis: Surviving Megalopolis #4

Apr 19, 2016

Calafiore's artwork is carrying the series. At this point within Leaving Megalopolis I was much more invested. What started out as an action-packed series has slowly become a lackluster chain of events. I'm expecting major shit to go down in the next issue; I hope I'm not wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Leaving Megalopolis: Surviving Megalopolis #5

Jun 28, 2016

Leaving Megalopolis: Surviving Megalopolis #5 remains consistent with its previous issues in progressing the storyline, delivering quality visuals, but doing so in a way that doesn't knock your socks off. The last volume had an amazing culminating issue so if you've stuck with it this far I'd hang around for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Leaving Megalopolis: Surviving Megalopolis #6

Sep 28, 2016

With the sixth and culminating issue, we get a finale that doesn't feel so "final." While a lot is cleared up and a huge cast of characters is wiped out, there's still a lot left on the plate and the intention to continue the series in another upcoming volume is clear. While the story leaves you wanting more, the art itself more than satisfies with some amazingly detailed and complex panels. Despite each issue declining throughout the arc, the series ends on a higher note.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lobo #1

Oct 2, 2014

So by viewing this comic independently and giving Bunn the benefit of the doubt of it being the first issue, I'm giving it a high score. Bottom line, it provides plenty of entertainment and great artwork and a lot of the problems may be solved over a larger sample size. I'd definitely recommend it and I'm excited for the next issue, but I'm looking for a little more from it next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mantle #1

May 12, 2015

The Mantle is definitely more than meets the eye. Once you think you know the premise and dynamic of the series the last three pages change everything. With the twist at the end it's hard to accurately predict what the rest of the series is going to be like because of the change in direction, but I prefer that than the rushed plot of this issue. Level backs up the story with excellent art and is one of the main appeals of the comic. I'm hesitant, but on board for the series as of now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mantle #2

Jun 10, 2015

The Mantle is showcasing some great art and an intriguing open storyline with no clearly predictable plot. Some comedic lines may feel a little forced, almost like when your parents attempt to use "hip, cool language" (no offense Brisson, that's not me calling you old). This is yet another solid issue that's convinced me to stick with the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Material #1

Jun 1, 2015

Material can be classified as progressive and edgy, but that edge may come as a downfall to some. It definitely separates itself from the majority of comics out there currently and readers may receive it as a sight for sore eyes or something too inaccessible, especially for the comic medium. I personally enjoyed it and after sleeping on it and after reading it a second time I came away with a much better opinion of it than my initial reaction. This politically and philosophically driven series definitely stands out among the rest and I encourage readers looking for something new to give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mighty Jack #1

Sep 1, 2016

Hatke has once again produced a fantastical and engaging child-friendly graphic novel. Mighty Jack is a unique and modern twist of the class tale that provides beautiful art and a fun storyline with good morals. This is a perfect introduction to Hatke's work and a great way to break children into the comic world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Suicide Squad #2

Aug 14, 2014

This issue definitely delivers another solid installment of one of my former favorite series. I only have one problem with it and that comes at the end of this issue. Spoiler: The issue ends with Deadshot getting shot multiple times by a Russian agent, despite Deadshot having shot him at point blank range. Deadshot can shoot a man between the eyes a thousand yards away, yet he failed to deliver a killshot from three feet away? Ryan could have written Deadshot getting shot in a way that made him seem less" incompetent.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
New Suicide Squad #3

Oct 9, 2014

Is it as good as the previous issues we've seen? Not quite. This issue is a quick read and doesn't include the usual laughs like we're used to seeing. It's an important issue for the two cover girls and even toes the emotional sensitivity line that is uncommon for these characters. It's a unique issue, enjoyable overall, and loads better than what we were given last month for Futures End.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Suicide Squad #4

Nov 13, 2014

This issue presents a lot of exciting opportunities, but still doesn't have the same pizzazz as we saw in the first two issues. It's another rough outing for art and there's no sign of Joker's Daughter. However, we do get some greatly missed humor and a showdown between Deathstroke and the squad. Look forward to next issue which may feature the follow-up to Sage's actions and the series debut of Captain Boomerang.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
New Suicide Squad #5

Dec 10, 2014

I love the new additions to the team. I like the concept of the mission. I like the Taylor Swift reference. I'm unsure how I feel about Waller's character development. I abhor the art and that's the sole reason for the low score.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
New Suicide Squad #6

Jan 15, 2015

I've tried sticking up for the Suicide Squad for a while, but I can't anymore. Between both the art and writing this story arc is a train wreck. Unless I happen to have an unusually large amount of spending money next month, it's going to be hard to pick up the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
New Suicide Squad #7

Feb 12, 2015

While the writing does have its moments at times, it just feels like the creative team wants this story arc to be over with and frankly we're on the same page. This might be the time to give the series a break and let it work out its issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
New Suicide Squad: Futures End #1

Sep 11, 2014

I'm not mad Sean, I'm just disappointed. The buildup from the last issues just made for an even bigger let down for this one-shot that packed a lot of potential. I will say that there are some graphically violent panels, one that makes me cringe even thinking about it so kudos to Coelho. Hopefully we get back on track with issue #3 next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Poet Anderson: The Dream Walker #2

Jun 11, 2015

For those who have seen the film and newcomers to the story, this series is very accessible and contains a surprisingly good storyline. This second issue's plot gives the comic a much more dark and morbid tone and shows us exactly how far Delonge and Kull are willing to go. I highly encourage picking this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #1

Sep 3, 2014

This issue serves as the calm before the storm and ends with danger knocking at the door, almost quite literally. Most of you are probably getting this series because you enjoy high-stress, sci-fi horror, but you won't be getting much in this issue. However, everything has now been set into place and from here on out we can sit back, relax, and wait for the floodgates to open.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #2

Oct 15, 2014

Issue one gave us plot, issue two gave us action, and issue three is poised to give us even more battle sequences and morbid deaths. This series is pretty well rounded in both art and plot and I can't wait to see where it takes us next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #3

Nov 11, 2014

The mediocre storyline plummets and there's no action or death to support the issue. It sets up the fourth and final Prometheus: Fire and Stone issue for a potentially intriguing finale, but the series needed a strong showing this month and in my opinion it didn't get 'er done. It still showcases some great art and I'll be picking up the next one, but this issue is a little lackluster.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #4

Dec 8, 2014

The series finale does bounce back from last issue in an action-packed bloodbath. While you'll have to wait for some answers in the other series finales, we still get our fill of plot and eye candy. There are definitely some unexpected moments and a good amount of horror, something this series has kind of been lacking in. While it couldn't overcome some of the limitations previous issue had set it up for, the issue does a good job of going out with a bang.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Renato Jones: The One % #1

Apr 11, 2016

While this review may have gotten a bit nit-picky, I did enjoy the comic and loved some of the spreads and page setups. The One% attempts to deviate from the typical vigilante tale, but still relies heavily on traditional and overused tropes. The artwork is refreshing and I hope Andrews utilizes more of his darker panels because those are what make the series original. The jury's still out on the series' potential, but Andrews needs to continue to distance the plot from clichs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Six (2014) #1

Dec 3, 2014

I'm going to give this issue the benefit of the doubt when it comes to the writing because it had to pack a lot of information into one issue. The plotline shows potential if it can stray away from clichs and really try to distinguish itself and not just be "another random team of kinda bad people like Suicide Squad." I'm game for the next issue because the combination of these characters and Lashley's art make a great foundation for a series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Sherlock: A Study In Pink #1

Jun 8, 2016

This is a must have for fans of Sherlock, manga, and especially for those who enjoy both. With good art and incredible accuracy in recreating the rush of the show, Sherlock: A Study In Pink is the perfect way to relive the series through an alternate medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Showman Killer: Heartless Hero #1

Jan 20, 2016

I came for the visuals and was dissatisfied with the writing and story development. The end of the novel provides an intriguing cliffhanger, but I don't know if we'll get anything different from the writing. The Showman Killer is definitely a unique comic experience, but not one everyone will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sundowners #1

Aug 27, 2014

It's definitely grabbed my attention and will be near the top of my list for next month. I'm excited to see where Seeley takes the series and whether it plays into more realism or supernatural themes. e.g. What's up with the opening striptease from Miss. Boil-Back? And Crowlita now has a crow's head; how long will that last? Solid opening overall, definitely worth grabbing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sundowners #2

Sep 24, 2014

With the wit of the writing and the opportunity to explore each character's lives individually, you're confronted with the struggle to pick a favorite character (which is challenging because they're all really likeable). The comic is very well organized to say the least, and the only complaint I have yet again is that I now have even more questions. Although, this is like any mystery-based series; fans want to know the answers, but they really don't want the answers. As a reader we enjoy getting pulled along and frustrated, but next issue Seeley has to throw us a bone. Sundowners is still at the top of my list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sundowners #3

Oct 29, 2014

Seeley presents the best issue yet as he provides some answers and introduces new threats as storylines come crashing together. I don't think the inclusion of the characters' full names is by chance as you find yourself empathetic for the team as they struggle with realistic life events—well, mostly realistic. Matched with another great showing of Jim Terry's art, this issue should be at the top of your list this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sundowners #4

Nov 25, 2014

This issue once again brings the high intensity scenes we saw last month, but also contributes a lot of answers subsequently handcuffed to a lot more questions. Things got really weird at the end and while it was entertaining to read, it didn't help make sense of the current events. Still a solid issue that delivers more answers than we're used to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sundowners #5

Dec 23, 2014

Seeley has definitely raised the standard of this comic and can hopefully sustain it as the Sundowners and the Illuminated surely face off in next month's issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Sundowners #6

Jan 28, 2015

This is one of those issues you put down and realize you've been holding your breath for the last several minutes. For how utterly confusing this first arc was, the ending was both climatic and well developed (unlike Lost, this writer knew where he was taking the series). From this point it'll be really interesting to see what direction Seeley takes the comic because after this issue it's pretty open to change. However, as he has previously hinted, there are many other people out there on the streets of Chicago who may or may not be suffering from Sundowners.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Superman/Wonder Woman #11

Aug 14, 2014

We're drawing near the end of the story arc and while this isn't as good as some of the other issues, it makes a decent penultimate issue in setting up the finale. The art by Siqueira is a noticeable difference from what we've come to expect from Daniel, but he still gives us some good looks in the outer space robot fight (I feel ridiculous even writing that sentence.)

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superman/Wonder Woman Annual #1

Aug 7, 2014

Superman/Wonder Woman has been one of my favorite New 52 series and it's because it produces issues like this. Soule's writing with the incredible artwork makes for one of the best superhero comics out there, and this one is able to incorporate a large amount of those heroes. It's an exciting read 'til the very last page and that's where Soule takes it a step further. A crazy end for a crazy good issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Superman: Doomed #2

Sep 25, 2014

If you are just looking for a comic to let your mind go, put your arms in the air and enjoy the ride, this is it. It packs plenty of action, great art, and introduces some pretty cool plot scenarios. The problem is that it struggles to come together in a succinct conclusion to a huge crossover event. It's like an overstuffed suitcase on the way back from a vacation. You have some souvenirs of battle sequences and a lot of really great pictures, but you had to throw out some Wonder Woman plot to fit Brainiac's backstory and there are plot twists hanging haphazardly out of the side of your suitcase. As long as you ignore the process and focus on the specific items in the suitcase, you'll have a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superwoman #1

Aug 10, 2016

Superwoman #1 is a reader friendly issue with a comprehensible storyline that will immediately have you subscribing to the series. As a reader you're quickly drawn to the characters and throughout the issue we're bombarded with a number of shocking reveals that will fill you with that giddy comic adrenaline we all know and love. I'm not even a particular fan of Superman-related comics, but I consider this one of the best first issues Rebirth has produced. Give it a try and become a fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superwoman #2

Sep 14, 2016

Superwoman continues to be one of the most intriguing and well written comics of the Rebirth series and the quality of plot development shows the difference between a once a month series and a bi-weekly series. The art struggled at moments, but can be forgiven for the numerous character cameos and intriguing storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Superwoman #3

Oct 12, 2016

This is still a good series that has a ton of potential. This issue, in my opinion, is just a small blemish on an otherwise solid start for Jimenez and Lupacchino. It all came down to some irksome character conversations that ruined the buildup of Lena's villainous status. I'll still be looking for fireworks next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Superwoman #4

Nov 10, 2016

The creative team took on a lot of material coming into the series' very first story arc and now the series is consequently suffering. It's time to cut the fat and dedicate to the most significant plotlines.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Surface Tension #1

Mar 25, 2015

Surface Tension provides an impressive debut for Jay Gunn as a first time creator. The concept is refreshingly original and Gunn fills the pages with lively art and wonderfully imaginative creations. As one of Titan's more anticipated series, Surface Tension certainly meets its expectations and then some.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Surface Tension #2

Jun 24, 2015

Surface Tension #2 has thinned the horror aspect which I found to be the most intriguing aspect of the comic so that's sure to disappoint for this specific issue. Replacing the horror is the backstory of a relationship which helps provide the context of the sea sickness, but still comes off as a little dull. Yes it's now more of a well-rounded comic, but I'm hoping to see more horror in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Surface Tension #3

Jul 28, 2015

Surface Tension hits more than it misses in issue #3, largely due to the multiple action sequences and the amazing artwork. Gunn still needs to work on sections of awkward dialogue and Cassel's face, but other than that, Surface Tension still holds promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Surface Tension #4

Sep 1, 2015

This should serve as a make it or break it issue for a lot of people following the series and really it comes down to a personal decision. The issue has a lot of good components and even some emotional parts. Gunn once again kills it with the art and the story here on out should contain more action now that the backstory has been completely caught up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Beauty #1

Aug 12, 2015

I personally had no expectations when I picked up the issue and I was pleasantly surprised at what I found. The Beauty makes a lasting impression and certainly stands out as a well-rounded issue from the concept to the aesthetic execution. I definitely recommend picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Beauty #2

Sep 17, 2015

All in all this is still a good issue. It more clearly establishes the future for the series and this plot building had a lot to do with the issue being slow at times. Yes, it comes down a few notches from its first issue, but that's to be expected. Issue three should give us a clearer view of the quality of the series overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Bigger Bang #1

Nov 11, 2014

Initially, I'm not sold on The Bigger Bang, but I recognize its potential. It has a compelling plot and is set to a unique style of artwork. I'll be picking up the next issue hoping a larger sample size will clear up the exact nature of the comic and whether it's a superficial, fun read or if there's more to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Devilers #2

Aug 12, 2014

Did I enjoy reading it? Absolutely. Am I looking forward to the next? 100%. Besides the storyline being a little messy, the story itself is quality. I'm very excited to see where this takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Devilers #3

Sep 17, 2014

The storyline is a lot less complex and the art is still solid, featuring a couple of really nice two-page spreads. I would like a little more action, as this issue does a little more story-telling than action-depiction. There is a good twist at the end that should set up the next issue quite nicely. Another good issue for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Devilers #4

Oct 14, 2014

I love the fact Fialkov is now putting labels under the characters (one of my earlier complaints in the series). We're now able to learn the characters names and powers much quicker and don't have to flip through the previous issues tracking down names. I'm also enjoying the direction of the series after this issue. This almost feels like the end of a story arc despite only being the first four issues, but regardless I'm excited to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Devilers #5

Dec 23, 2014

This comic continues to get better each week as it now begins to wrap things up and prepare for what should be a pretty epic finale. While the backstory featured isn't the most enthralling, its significance sets the stage for an action-packed issue six. It's impossible at this point to not finish out the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Devilers #6

Apr 29, 2015

The penultimate issue of the series definitely delivers a more than sufficient amount of action that's to be expected from a comic that had a lot to wrap up. This is the most fast-paced, exciting issue of the series thus far, but the art fails to keep up with the action. Overall it's still a good issue, and while it could have been great, it still sets the series up for fireworks in its finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Devilers #7

Oct 6, 2015

The Devilers #7 marks the end of the current storyline, but leaves it open for future possibilities. Was it everything we could have asked for? No. But we got a thought-provoking talk with God and some action shots battling the devil and at the end of the day, isn't that what we all want? No, actually. I wish there was a bit more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Empty #1

Feb 10, 2015

Robinson gives life to a truly imaginative world that blends the fantasy and apocalypse. While the writing is a bit lackluster and the art can be either exaggerated or miss completely when it comes to depth, I applaud the originality of the concept and design of the comic. Empty is a great example of a writer exploring new dimensions within the comic book industry and serves as a solid pickup for someone who wants something that seems to come out of left field. While I still can't decide who the target audience is, its fantastical aspects and visual design should appeal to both younger and older readers alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Empty #2

Mar 25, 2015

Robinson continues to guide us through his imaginative world and adds a twist into the main plotline. The art quality is on a rise while the writing itself could be better. Overall Robinson's got me committed to at least another issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse #1

Sep 9, 2014

While we're handed an intriguing view of the afterlife and some truly epic Hell scenes, the storyline is pretty generic and the writing lackluster. I was rather surprised at how truly dark and graphic some parts were, one in particular that featured rape. If you're looking for a happy-go lucky novel to pass the time, this isn't it. However, if you're looking for video game concept art with a decent story to go along with it, go out and grab it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Manhattan Projects: The Sun Beyond the Stars #1

Mar 19, 2015

Hickman writes quality characters with wit and charm, but they're only made present halfway through the issue. While I'm sure the introduction is necessary and essential to this storyline, it may throw new readers off and lose their attention before Hickman can switch on the humor. It's an appealing first issue after the series' break, but hopefully next month he can grab our attention sooner in the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wonder Woman (2011) #36

Nov 20, 2014

Wow. This issue is definitely something that will have the people talking. This is a great jumping on point in the series that sets the tone for Meredith's new direction. It's too early to voice an opinion on the direction of the series, but the writing in this immediate issue is quite good and the artwork deserves to be hung up and made into posters. Buckle your seatbelts, this is going to be one hell of a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Wonder Woman (2011) #37

Dec 17, 2014

It seems as though Meredith has bit off a little more than she can chew. The storyline is extremely confusing because we don't know how much of Brian's run is still relevant to the current storyline and the change in art makes it difficult to recognize formerly introduced characters. The reader definitely shares Diana's pain in being overwhelmed by the amount of events that are taking place and trying to figure out how they all connect. Hopefully next issue we get more answers than questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wonder Woman (2011) #38

Jan 22, 2015

This isn't the Diana that went hand to hand with the First Born, but I think she's getting there. While this issue feels like it's on the shorter side, there's definitely a lot at play and it's all going to boil over in an issue or two. Aesthetically speaking the art is at the top of its game and it's some of the best I've seen. I look forward to next month as well as the reactions to this week's issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wonder Woman (2011) #39

Feb 19, 2015

I'm happily surprised at how well this issue went and it rejuvenated my enthusiasm for the series as a whole. The last two issues have really brought the quality of the series back up to where it should be. Next month is the penultimate issue of the story arc and it looks like it'll start with a showdown between Donna and Diana. This series is back on an upward trend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wonder Woman (2011) #40

Apr 2, 2015

In the end it's another lackluster issue that doesn't seem to be meeting its potential, even after the auspicious issue last month. The issue is made up of too many things that lack real substance or plot. Here's hoping the first arc ends on a high note with Wonder Woman's first annual next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wonder Woman (2011) #41

Jun 18, 2015

Finch gives us a great start to the new arc. It's a fresh look and an intriguing premise that incorporates some of the older characters we haven't seen in Wonder Woman's title series since before the Finches took over. While I wasn't a big fan of the last volume, this one is looking much more promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wonder Woman (2011) #42

Jul 23, 2015

Overall the storyline falters a bit since the last issue, but it does still have potential to be much better than the last arc. Meredith Finch's kiss of death was the opening club scene and after that it seems to recover a bit. David Finch does an excellent job with art as usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Wonder Woman (2011) #43

Aug 20, 2015

As expected, this issue centers on Donna Troy and more of her personal problems. However it does incorporate more mythological aspects which is a nice touch. While Finchs' art will be missed, Churchhill demonstrates some different, but quality artwork for the God of War. Hopefully next issue will show a more distinct and straightforward plot without the dichotomy between Donna's struggles and Wonder Woman's assassin.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Wonder Woman (2011) Annual #1

Jun 4, 2015

The second half of the issue helps make the entire arc more meaningful and is some of the better writing by Meredith during this run. However the second piece is not able to make up for the shortcomings of the first half and overall it's a disappointing finale.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More