Chris Murman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 174
6.5Avg. Review Rating

5.0
52: Aftermath: The Four Horsemen #1

Aug 30, 2007

Overall, it was the great follow up book to 52 that never was. Decent artwork and a great premise never were actualized into good story. I may give the next issue a shot, but I dont have any indication that the purchase is warranted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abyss #1

Aug 6, 2007

Im going to say something I rarely say about non-Image indie books: I am going to buy Abyss. If this is the kind of quality work I can expect from the duo responsible for shooting Uncle Owen, sign me up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Abyss #2

Dec 11, 2007

No doubt many readers fell in love with the one-liners that filled the first issue, as did I, but it would appear that great story telling was what earned my praise this time around. The jokes were still there, Rubio is too good at writing humor to let that get away from him. Instead, he decided to open up the stables and show he is more than a one-trick pony as a writer. Please try this book out, Im begging you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Abyss: Family Issues #1

Feb 15, 2011

If you missed the first mini-series, be sure to ask your local shop owner for a trade and catch up. If not, its not like you cant jump right into this issue and start in medias res. I recommend this issue with both thumbs.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Action Comics #846

Mar 1, 2007

It shouldnt take away from my enjoyment of this book. With the annual issue that hit the stands last month, this creative team has given plenty of great stuff to read. The story is good, just not great. The art is even better, just not consistent enough on a timeliness scale. I hope the layoff gives this group a chance to catch up and deliver what I hope to be more good books in the months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics #851

Jul 8, 2007

Im totally on board for the Revenge Squad story planned for the next Action Annual. Who knows when well actually see it, but its going to be good nevertheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Action Comics #855

Sep 3, 2007

I honestly dont know what is in store for the other two issues of this arc, but surely they cant be this head scratching, can they? Im sure at some point the backwards JLA will show up, and somehow Clark will save the day. I will feel seriously let down if the Pa Kent questions arent answered, and the rest of the story probably wont make up for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics Annual #10

Feb 8, 2007

This is a huge tale that deserves a huge review. Now I want the regular issues to get the show back on the road and bring the impending doom upon Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics Annual #11

May 12, 2008

Clark not only helped save the world yet again, but he was shown to be the father figure he should have been written as instead of the absentee superhero in the recent movie. I actually want to see him and Lois adopt now, although it probably wouldn't feel the same if it wasn't Lor-Zod. I'm going to bask in the glory of this story arc for some time, I can't even touch another Superman comic right now because it would cheapen the moment I had after closing the cover on the first read. It's doubtful we will see a creative team like this ever again, so be sure and reserve your hardcover of this when it comes out. I know I already have.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
After the Cape #1

Mar 25, 2007

Just give me a more believable alcoholic and leave some of the ink on the press next time. I look forward to more from what seems to be a growing Signature line from Image.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Alien Pig Farm 3000 #1

May 14, 2007

This book was amusing at best, and in my opinion wont sell very well in the end, at least at first glance. Fans may turn out in the end because of the first two names on the book. Jane has a growing comics following that, in conjunction with Niles' cemented comics fans, could produce some decent numbers. I even enjoy what they are trying to do with this book. In the end, however, its simply not enough for me to want to fork over money for this title in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
All-Star Batman and Robin the Boy Wonder #5

May 20, 2007

Did I make sense with any of what I just tortured you with? If I were honest with myself I would answer questionable at best. In the end, that has been my point with ASBRTBW #5. Some of it was funny, some angering, and some was ridiculous. All in all, it questionably resembles a well-done comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman and Robin the Boy Wonder #7

Sep 28, 2007

Im impressed by this book, as we all should be. Many things got in the way of this book being the well woven piece of fiction that is, and thats a crying shame. Nevertheless, I will hold my copies of this title near and dear because when we finally got out of the teams way and stopped bitching about the delays, we were treated to a fantastic exercise in the psychosis of a man in a cowl. One who likes making out with female smokers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman and Robin the Boy Wonder #9

Mar 2, 2008

In seventy some-odd years, our dear Dark Knight has learned quite the lesson or two from his run-ins with some of the best bad guys in comics. This is not that man yet, and Miller's assertion that Bats must break a few eggs to make an omelet is a welcome idea to this reader. Hardly anybody knows how to make the right decision the first time around, so it's okay to reflect that with my favorite super hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Army@Love #1

Mar 25, 2007

Im just on my soapbox now. Based on what Ive read, I probably wont buy future issues. This book doesnt deserve my money. I would have loved to close Army@Love #1 laughing away at the military just as I did with the first Starship Troopers; instead I went out and rented Starship Troopers to remember how good social commentary when its well written.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Astro City: Astra Special #1

Nov 2, 2009

As long as they keep cranking them out, Ill keep buying. This team continues to tell stories that dont just make my eyes move from left to right, but provoke thought.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Astronaut Dad #1

Nov 27, 2007

For being relatively young in the comics world, these two unassuming creators have definitely set the bar pretty high for what is possible in their careers. They can definitely count on me seeking out the next chapter to find out what happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Atomic Robo #2

Nov 12, 2007

For now, though, I get the pleasure of reading about a very enjoyable character that walks around with a bunch of geeks while protecting the country he fought three wars for. Hes a throwback of sorts, while bringing a futuristic mentality to the table. Be on the watch for Red 5 Comics, they will be a major player very soon in the comics market.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Atomic Robo #3

Dec 6, 2007

With the exciting (well, mildly hair-raising at least) conclusion coming next month, how will AR deal with the fact that he was in an exploding pyramid out in the middle of the desert? Please tell me it involves the Action Scientists having to play a real live game of Operation. Yes, thats why I only review comics instead of writing them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Atomic Robo #4

Jan 13, 2008

I continue to be amazed at this book that wasnt intended to be the publishers flagship title, but it is becoming just that literally overnight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers: The Initiative #8

Dec 23, 2007

If thats not clich enough for you, I give up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman #658

Nov 12, 2006

There were some pretty cool moments in this series. Bruce telling Damian that he dishonors his sensei was right on the money. The makeshift Robin outfit with the cape was a nice touch. The halo jump out of the Bat-rocket that made Damian proud to be his fathers son kind of gave it a Mission Impossible moment. Batman even being tricked at the end was an interesting twist (unbelievable, yes, but as Ive said, Morry is always interesting). I just think the book shouldnt have been three issues of back story, and then cram all the action into the last one. And dont even get me started on the ninja Man-bats. I still cant wait to see what comes next, however. Im looking forward to reading the next ish, where we find out what happened to Joker after being shot in the face. That arc would have been a much better read than this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman #663

Feb 16, 2007

If it was, I for one give you permission to go back to writing something that resembles a comic book, Mr. Morrison. I love your work, but the more of you I read, the harsher of a critic I become. Being on the top of my reading list comes with a price. Just give me my regular Batman back. I'll even wait another three months for a book; just make it a better one.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman #670

Nov 1, 2007

Im supporting this crossover because thats the kind of Batman fan I am, there is a huge chance that I will end up getting angrier and angrier with each part of the eight-issue run. Kind of reminds me of the rest of whats going on in the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman and Robin #2

Jul 5, 2009

It'd be nice to hope for things to really be changed and shaken up around Gotham. I'd love to see Dick take his freewheeling attitude toward crime fighting and carry it over to the cape and cowl Bruce left for him. However, we know that's a bit too far outside of DC President Dan Didio's comfort zone, so Morrison will have to make this comic fall in line like the others.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Battle for the Cowl: Arkham Asylum #1

Apr 25, 2009

Part of me wants to know how the new Arkham Asylum is going to be run, but its going to depend a lot on who is writing the book. It can either be handled very well or horribly. Maybe this was a tryout for Hine to write an ongoing about Dr. Arkham and his band of freaks.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Battle Pope #11

Nov 16, 2006

Then again, those people probably read my reviews on Saturday nights in their mothers basement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blackest Night #0

Apr 25, 2009

Mark your calendars, this summer. I will use more rainbow one-liners than you can shake a stick at!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blackest Night #1

Jul 19, 2009

Chris Murman: I agree, but in this genre we see that the more things change, the more they stay the same. The only thing I can add in summary is the words of Metallica:

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Blackest Night #5

Nov 29, 2009

Im afraid that other than the Guardians relinquishing their power and letting the corps run themselves, there wont be much of a payoff. This story hasnt been a very rewarding Return of the Jedi for this Green Lantern fan, and Im betting that it wont get much better.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Blackest Night #6

Jan 10, 2010

Lets just hurry up and finish so we dont have to read the words emotional connection again.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Blackest Night #8

Apr 4, 2010

Now that its over, where will Blackest Night rank among the rest of comicdoms grand-scale epics? Many writers in the future would be wise to at least somewhat pattern their big events after this one, but Id be lying if I said that this finale didnt leave me longing for something a little more memorable.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Blackest Night: Batman #1

Aug 16, 2009

At this point, I'd settle for mediocre tie-ins.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blackest Night: Superman #1

Aug 22, 2009

Hats off to the team responsible for this series, it just goes to show that in the right hands a very decent story from a tie-in is possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bomb Queen III: The Good, the Bad & the Lovely #1

Apr 3, 2007

Along the way, you may get an interesting plot as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Booster Gold #1

Aug 19, 2007

If nothing else, it gave me a laugh when I read on Rips chalkboard, Forget about Countdown.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Booster Gold #3

Oct 16, 2007

With a series humming along as nicely as this, its hard to knock it. Unfortunately, I believe I will be in another month or two.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
C.B. Cebulskis Wonderlost #1

Feb 2, 2007

If you are up to the six bucks it takes to bring this book home (the only downer for the book), you wont be sorry. When youre done, hit me up on the message boards and tell me what this book made you think of.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America (2004) #25

Mar 11, 2007

Quesada stated that its all in the telling. I agree, but I wish we could talk more about how Cap died instead of that he died.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Checkmate #8

Nov 16, 2006

The writings good on this book. The artwork fits the tone of this book very well. I hope this book has a long and glorious lifespan. Just give me Wall and call it a day though.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Checkmate #9

Dec 21, 2006

Crass, lude, and very enjoyable. Nothing sums up Rucka any better than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Checkmate #11

Feb 22, 2007

Heres hoping the pace continues in this manner, as well as the Waller madness.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Checkmate #18

Sep 25, 2007

For those that have been wondering whether to pick up this title or not, now is a perfect jumping on point. There will be many things, as I mentioned, that wont be as big of a payoff if you havent been reading since day one, but this wont end pretty for the royals of Checkmate, and I couldnt be more pumped to see how this all plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Checkmate #19

Oct 23, 2007

So what will happen in the final chapter? Some of it seems simple, yet how many times have we thought that before reading one of our favorite titles. Its plain as day that not all of the royals will make it out of this book in their office, but some should save face against the inquiry that Amanda has sprung on her rivals. Its hard to imagine this book without Sasha, Bordeaux and Waller were meant to be each others foils in the book. One would think the SS will play some role in whats to come during Final Crisis with that event half of a calendar away, but to what extent? Hell, at this point I wouldnt be surprised to find out Wallers a Skrull. Regardless of the outcome, I will definitely be marking my calendar as issue #20 will be one of my most anticipated reads for November.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Checkmate #20

Nov 27, 2007

Amanda Waller is coming back soon, and shes going to be pissed. Cue the creepy music.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Checkmate #21

Dec 20, 2007

Its hard to come up with new ways to love this series every month, obviously one of the most consistent and thought provoking books in the lineup for DC. Hopefully the news of Rucka not re-upping with the company wont mean he will leave the book any time soon. It just wouldnt be the same without him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Checkmate #22

Jan 18, 2008

I continue to be amazed at how great this book is, and next up is a revisit to the Pawn 502 character that was used to infiltrate Kobra. I see no reason why I wont be just as impressed next month, as I was this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Checkmate #23

Feb 22, 2008

This is a must read for anyone who wants to see this book ride off into the sunset with a flourish. Im not saying Im done with it after issue #25, but I hope Bruce Jones continues at this fantastic pace or this book may not survive Rucka leaving in the sales department.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Civil War #6

Jan 7, 2007

To which my reaction would be, Wheres the popcorn?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Civil War: Front Line #9

Dec 21, 2006

Overall, this book lost a bit of steam somewhere in the middle of its run, but as we near the end of the Civil War, this book has re-positioned itself as a fitting companion to the proper title..., whenever that comes out. Just get it here finally, please.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Civil War: Front Line #11

Mar 1, 2007

We will see more of the same from Jenkins once "World War Hulk" begins later this year. I cannot surmise if he will supersede Greg Pak in telling a much grander tale once the dust settles. It would, however, make complete sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Daredevil (1998) #99

Aug 12, 2007

The key for me as a reader of this title will be the next few issues. I realize next months centennial issue will be different than what we have been getting, and thats fine. After that, I need to see something different from this team for me to keep enjoying this run. Brubaker is getting my money these days over other Marvel creators at the moment, but that could change if the Kool-Aid isnt stirred a bit to get the sugar off the bottom.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Daredevil (1998) #100

Sep 9, 2007

Of course, Matt and Foggy will get Milla out of whatever legal jam she is in, and the status quo will go back to what it went to after Devil takes a Ride. Im okay with that for the time being, but eventually it will feel too contrived to read story after story where Daredevil has to fend off the world from himself and his loved ones, and then go back to life as it was. Its too Saturday morning cartoon for me, and if I wanted that to keep happening, Id go watch old episodes of Scooby Doo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (1998) #118

Apr 21, 2009

If Whoopi shows up, I'm going home. Great story so far, hopefully it will build to the denouement we are all hoping for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (1998) #503

Dec 15, 2009

Interesting start to this creative team's run. I haven't said much about the art because I feel the same as Dave Wallace: It's good and provides some continuity to the title. I'm enjoying what's going on, but I'll be really interested to see what happens after this initial arc is finished and Siege is complete.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dark Tower: The Gunslinger Born #7

Aug 5, 2007

This limited series has been a great seller for Marvel, and I see a great hardcover complete with even more extras on the horizon for this title. If it sells some more Dark Tower novels for a writer I admire greatly, super. If I were to evaluate this series for what it could turn into, or base it on my love of the character in those books, I might not rate it so low. Instead, I am left thinking what could have been and uninterested in the next series to come out in February.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
DC Universe Infinite Holiday Special #1

Dec 14, 2006

So there you have it, fellow geeks. The holidays according to Dan DiDio. Again, this book shouldnt be, or is supposed to be, taken seriously. Its the holidays, for crying out loud. I thought it was cool for the writers to make fun of themselves and take us along for the ride. Its not a keeper, but what holiday issue is?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics #839

Dec 20, 2007

I would give the crossover a forgettable score, but of the books in the line this was one of the better ones. Who knows what part, if any, Ras will play in the coming year of stories. With stories like this one in hand, I cant say Im that excited to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics #855

Aug 2, 2009

So . . . both heroines are unconscious at the end of this issue--with not a whole lot of drama waiting behind them waking up. Neither villain awaiting their rousing is that compelling, but it sure looks pretty. Granted, Rucka has earned my patience with the great stories he's delivered over the years. I just hope that by the end of this first arc I'm lauding more than the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Doom Patrol (2009) #1

Aug 9, 2009

Most likely, I won't be finding out if I'm wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Elephantmen #8

Apr 10, 2007

I ask each of you to please try this book out. My comic shop owner is like most business owners: he rarely gets a chance to sit around and play with his merchandise because hes too busy trying to sell it. Well, this is one book he makes a point to read every week. That to me says its worth buying. Hes been selling books for over 15 years, so take it for what its worth.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Elephantmen #9

May 24, 2007

This is a beautifully made book in every facet. From the main story, the extras on the writers, artists and cover art that frequent every book, to the great flip-style back up story, I am excited each month this book comes out. If the stories end up being one-and-dones, this title still garners that same jubilation. My hope is that I will be getting way more than I bargained for from our favorite letterer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Elephantmen #10

Jul 27, 2007

Dont make me beg you to try this series out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Elephantmen #15

Jan 26, 2009

Heres to hoping readers can find out in 2009. The rating may not reflect my usual high scores, but its not meant to be taken as an indictment against this particular issue. Instead, thats because Rich and company have me right where they wantfoaming at the mouth and ready for a great year of issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Elephantmen #16

Mar 6, 2009

I just know I can get better for my three bucks than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Elephantmen #17

Mar 30, 2009

Hopefully I get to admit Im wrong again soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elephantmen #24

Mar 15, 2010

This story arc should be exciting for fans of the series. A good amount of detective work mixed with action when things come to a head. Hopefully, we will see all of the Elephantmen make an appearance and in six more issues end with a bang. Thanks for the great stories as of late Rich. Id like to think I had a little part in prodding you along, or at least thats what my ego is telling myself.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Elephantmen: War Toys #1

Dec 18, 2007

I expect the story to ramp up next issue, and we should get the fantastic battle scenes I was expecting in this issue. Im nowhere near giving up on my boy Rich; hes got to disappoint me further than this for me to get down about the title. I just had over extended expectations. Everything as we know it should go back to normal with issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Elephantmen: War Toys #2

Feb 28, 2008

Of course, the letters page this month might have something to do with that, but thats another story for another time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
End League #1

Dec 30, 2007

Simply put, Im in for this series. Since The End League is an on-going, it wont have to cram too much story into one mini-series. Ive always said to every comic shop owner who runs my pull list, Everyone needs at least one good team book in their monthly box. Those who are tired of Marvels and DCs latest attempts can rest assured that another option is on the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faker #3

Sep 11, 2007

Of course, everythings all fun and games until the government shows up with a demolition squad at your house. Where does this cliffhanger leave us as readers? Fortunately for Carey, Im left with a ton of questions that I can hardly wait a month to get answered. As much as I try to dislike this book and the evil government project that could be the end of us all concept that is as clichd as my quips about them, this is a very well put together book that should finish up rather nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fiction Clemens #3

Aug 21, 2008

A likeable team produced a likeable series, end of story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Final Crisis #7

Feb 1, 2009

Where we go from here is a different story, but Im not going to judge this series based upon that. Id rather enjoy this final chapter for what it was: an ending that will hopefully make just as much sense in time as the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash: Fastest Man Alive #6

Nov 30, 2006

Now of course, should the next issue suck, please allow me the chance to take back everything I just said about the writers.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Flash: Fastest Man Alive #7

Jan 1, 2007

Lets hope Mark Guggenheim does a better job.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Flash: Fastest Man Alive #13

Jun 24, 2007

Shame on you DC. I never thought I would say those words about the creators of some of my favorite characters ever. Your careless way of putting out monthly funny books makes you no better than that hack in charge of Marvel editorial.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Flash: Rebirth #1

Apr 5, 2009

I just hope this issue isnt a harbinger of whats to come of my use of four dollars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Forgotten 22 #1

Mar 8, 2011

Im not giving it a perfect score because I dont want the hippie getting a big head. Its that darn close to perfect though. This is a definite buy for me when it reaches stores, though. Instead of just supporting my friend, however, Im going to buy it because its a damn good story that actually leaves me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Four Eyes #2

Feb 23, 2009

That would be sans the fire-breathing giants, of course.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Underground #1

Oct 30, 2007

There are a lot of balls in the air on this title, some of which I didnt even address. It will either keep the book confusing till the end, or add to the suspense and aura of the book. I will give it another issue or two before I drop it, mostly because its part of this very interesting story line (and because its Batman). I would recommend trying this title out, but only if youve been on Checkmate and Outsiders like me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow Year One #1

Jul 12, 2007

I think in the end Diggle will deliver a good story that gives extra depth to a character I already enjoy. This opening stanza left me a little down, but I think this series is worth sticking around for, and will get better with each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow Year One #2

Jul 26, 2007

Make no mistake about it, this series had me worried after the first installment. Andy had me thinking his Batman Confidential days werent behind him just yet. Now I feel that "Dark Knight Year One" series may have been an aberration, and this summer mini-series is the first good thing Ive read from the Distinguished Competition in many months. Heres hoping it will continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow Year One #4

Aug 28, 2007

Just keep the boxing glove arrow in the quiver for this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #14

Nov 9, 2006

I love where this series is going. Its fun to read about Hal again. I hope this series delves a bit more into 52, Superboy-Prime and how pissed off the Guardians are at Hal. But sooner or later, Hals going to have to stand up at Oa and say, My names Hal, and I was a bad little boy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2005) #16

Jan 22, 2007

This story is big, expansive and most pros would agree when I say it keeps you coming back for more. This arc hasnt really given me everything I hoped for the follow up to Cyborg Supermans return, but we havent reached the payoff issue yet. Hopefully, next month will change my mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2005) #22

Aug 9, 2007

If this story ends up the way I think it will with Kyllax and Hal deciding the outcome, dont consider me surprised or disappointed. Its a story that will never cease to become old. I just wish we were told the truth about what the story was from the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lantern (2005) #25

Dec 16, 2007

Look, regardless of Ganthets and Sayds hugging heroics, The Blackest Night will come, and with baited breath we will watch the colors collide. Most likely, an eighth color will work its way into the mix with the Anti-Monitor representing black. Does that mean all the other colors have to meld into the color white to fight the ever-looming darkness of black? Spare me the gut-wrenching clichs and just get back to single colored space tales. Im glad Sinestro Corps War is over. Maybe we can get back to decent stories about everyones favorite space cops.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2005) #42

Jun 26, 2009

Rather, he could say that if he ever actually read them in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern Corps #10

Mar 15, 2007

Just hurry up and bring on the yellow-ringed bad guys so we can keep the engine moving. Champagne proved we can expect more from GL Corps, so lets have it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps #16

Oct 9, 2007

I think this book is a vast improvement from what I have read so far on this series, but I didnt have to look at Cyborg-Superman, the Anti-Monitor, or Superman-Prime either. I got the battle of Hoth, with decent artwork and a taste of my new favorite Green Lantern to dislike.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lantern Corps #18

Dec 6, 2007

This issue was predictable from start to finish, maybe even a touch clich, but I blame the direction of the crossover for that. Taken on the merits that this was a battle between two very super-powered individuals for an entire book (with some flashback scenes to add flavor) and dizzying art effect to add to the fray, this book wasnt half bad. Dont be asking for a higher rating, though. My principles wont allow a "Sinestro Corps" book to be much higher than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern Corps #42

Nov 20, 2009

Wow, so this is what Ray Tate feels like.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern Corps #43

Dec 21, 2009

Id love to have spent this review lauding the feats of Guy after seeing red, but any momentum that was built after he made the color change was quickly lost. At least I can say Kyles back from the dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lantern: Sinestro Corps Special #1

Jul 1, 2007

Sure Im mad. I deserve to be after the crap Ive read this year. With publishing delays, short-sighted stories, and ridiculous deaths, I feel I should get more from my favorite line of comics. Who knows if things will rebound at all, but I dont know if they will because of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Guy Gardner: Collateral Damage #2

Dec 29, 2006

It wasnt for me. Good thing Green Lantern Corps will make up for it next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
House of M: Avengers #1

Nov 11, 2007

I foresee this series doing quite well for Marvel in the end. As with Son of M and Silent War, we continue to see quality stories coming from a company wide event that nobody seems to care about remembering. A strange dichotomy to be sure, but then again thats Marvel fans for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Invincible #37

Dec 7, 2006

Help me out Kirkman buffs; show me the error of my ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ion #8

Dec 1, 2006

Now I have a rule of thumb, never give anything with a clich trifecta nothing more than on principle. Where did the extra bullet come from? Oh yeah, thats right: the princess takes her clothes off in the end for Kyle and says, Heres your prize right here, big boy. Man, some guys have all the luck. But since theres some sort of unwritten rule about having to kill any girl Kyle rolls around in bed with at the DC offices, he cant do it. Hes a man of principle, you know.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
JLA Classified #50

Jan 14, 2008

Like it or not, Silver Age 2 is here to stay as long as Didio is in charge. Why not join the party and see this story through and enjoy it for what it is: the team doing what it is meant to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
JLA Classified #51

Jan 25, 2008

I could go either way with this story arc at this point. It is either going to ramp up big time and end with a bang, or the issues will just get worse as time goes on. Im not ready to commit to either answer so far, but I hope I get the former and not the latter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice #12

Jun 17, 2007

In closing, let me share with you about my long box at home. With a brand new wife living under my roof, the space for my comics to be put into storage has dwindled down considerably. The good part is I have become very selective about which comics I keep and which I sell back for trade at my LCS. I can say unequivocally, without a doubt, this series will be in my collection for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2006) #12

Aug 19, 2007

Id give Meltzers 13 issues a solid four bullets. Nine or 10 solid issues out of 13 is quite a nice batting average. Come back to comics soon Brad. Ill be patiently waiting.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League: Cry for Justice #6

Feb 5, 2010

I really wanted to cover the rest of this series, seeing how this is the beginning of DCs big year planned for Ollie and the Green Arrow family. You can almost see how it is going to play out, this issue just turned out to be something different. Cry For Justice looks to have a predictable ending, funneling into the JLA proper series. My disappointment in this series has more to do with how shallow the characterization has been rather than the script. If not for the great afterward that James provides on the team he chose, I wouldnt really feel that invested into what has gone on thus far. I plan on giving his Justice League run a shot, hopefully we will deeper into the rift forming between the two factions of heroes that I was hoping to see in this mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League: New Frontier Special #1

Mar 9, 2008

It may seem that I hated this book from the indictments made in this review, but again this issue had its merits at times. I just didn't think a glowing review would be fair to our readers. Criticism of this book isn't necessarily about whether or not the team has talent, or if the overall message is rotten. We're just really splitting hairs at this point. There were just a few things that bugged me, but anyone who owns the original series wouldn't want to be without this issue. It's a fun reminder that the old series still is an amazing read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: Rise and Fall #1

Mar 15, 2010

Now, I know this fall can only go so far, so Im interested in seeing what will be the event where Ollie says enough is enough. Who will bring him back, and why will he stop? He cant be a bad guy forever, but for now I think this color suits the man. Im just as interested in seeing how Roy rises from the maiming. Will he go after his mentor? We do know for sure that he goes back to using the moniker Arsenal as opposed to Red Arrow. Maybe he doesnt want to be associated with what the old man has done anymore. Either way, fans of the Green Arrow Universe should be treated to a few good months of issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice Society of America #1

Dec 10, 2006

This team is the family that will do that for the Mystery Men out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice Society of America #2

Jan 14, 2007

Youre good Geoff; lets hope youre that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Midknight #1

Nov 19, 2007

I think there is room to grow for this book, and if you enjoyed Hodges pencils enough you should stick around to see it happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Neozoic #1

Aug 7, 2007

This book will appeal to a niche audience assuredly. I question how much average comic readers will feel led to continue buying the title after the first offering, but with a bi-monthly schedule, there is ample opportunity to tighten up the scripts. Give this book a shot if you love sci-fi alternate Earths, and well see how the dinos continue to live with the puny humans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Neozoic #2

Dec 18, 2007

With a budding story that should have a few more twists in it before the end, as well as stellar art that either of the big two would kill for, this book yet another reason why I continue to tout Red 5 as a comic publisher to keep your eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Avengers #25

Nov 16, 2006

When Tony actually does open his yapper, it has nothing to do with anything. And thats a shame. Iron Man should have meant so much more to the 616 than he does right now. His Ultimate versions (both Millars and Cards) are way more interesting and readable. Well see what hes like once hes running an actual clandestine outfit instead of a public humiliation once Civil War wraps.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Avengers #26

Dec 21, 2006

See what happens when you dont put much dialogue into your books, Brian? I end up going on a rant about you. Go back to witty retorts and snarky quips. Some of your readers actually prefer that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Avengers #36

Nov 15, 2007

As far as Avengers stories go, my enjoyment could not be higher. The art was solid, and the story held my attention for nearly all of the pages attached, so the victory goes to BMB. Give me more issues like this, and Ill think about taking back my insults Ive cursed your way many times.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Oracle: The Cure #1

Mar 30, 2009

Overall, I look forward to finishing this mini out, with my eyes open as to what will (or is rumored to) happen. I'm sure Ray will tear this issue a new one, but until the ret-con actually happens we should expect that. Here's to enjoying my red-head computer geek for a few more months.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Oracle: The Cure #2

Apr 19, 2009

Then again, they could end up having her button her shirt all the way to the top.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Outsiders #47

Jun 19, 2007

And heres where I end with my obligatory comment about being wrong many times.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Outsiders #50

Sep 11, 2007

Just like dating a bad girl in college, Im predicting a sloppy break up before it even begins. Im giving this book less than six months before driving me away, but at least it will be a fun ride until then.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Outsiders (2007) #1

Nov 18, 2007

Hopefully, docking bullets off the score certainly wont come as a slap to Mr. Dixon. His circumstances surrounding this title just dictated a bit more than he could salvage for the first couple of issues. I stuck with my pledge to read this book because if anyone can give me a decent Bat-book right now at DC, its him. Until then, Ill have to make do with the Outsiders battling an OMAC instead of the Suicide Squad.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Outsiders (2007) #2

Dec 3, 2007

I will miss the Martian being a part of the team, but it is clear that Bruce is taking the team down a path Jonn isnt willing to walk with. Its hard to argue with his exit, as with Selinas. I am excited to see the revised line-up take on the JLA next month; I hope other readers give Chuck the same courtesy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Outsiders (2007) #4

Feb 22, 2008

With Checkmate changing direction with writers soon, Im afraid this title is going to be my new go-to for DC in the coming months. Im not completely sold on the team and whats happening to them, but things are still coming together so it will take time. Its going to be very pretty to look at in the meantime as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Outsiders (2007): Special #1

Feb 13, 2009

This title, which I have been reading for the past several years, looks to be cut from my monthly list after reading this offering. Alfred Im sure knows what he is doing, but the past teams Bruce made had a sort of connection to them. I didnt feel it with this one. Fortunately, I was treated to a great way to walk away from the Outsiders. Maybe if Tim or Dick come back to take over the team I might be in, but the Outsiders should honor their fallen creator better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Perhapanauts Annual #1

Feb 10, 2008

Other than disagreeing on the name for the team (I kept pronouncing it Perhapnauts before realizing there was an extra an in there), I had no pre-conceived notions entering my read of this issue. Im happy to say that a small hiccup opening the book was more than fixed with smart dialogue and more than decent art. The team in charge might have found a new reader for their upcoming monthly title as a result.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Phonogram #4

Feb 9, 2007

This read will most likely lead to me picking up the rest of the series and being on the look out for more books that have Gillen and McKelvie attached to them. If you have the means to expand your horizons, this is a good place to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Phonogram #5

Mar 16, 2007

After all, if youre going to cross the Event Horizon into the black hole of the male psychemight as well be with this book in hand.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Phonogram #6

May 11, 2007

That is this book to me. Kohl in the end learns that hes not as old as he thinks, but not the kid he used to be. As it turns out, Im David Kohl

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
R.A. Salvatores Demon Wars: The Demon Awakens #1

Feb 16, 2007

Buy this book, but only if you want something to entertain at the next D&D game you host.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scorn #1

Jul 24, 2007

Half a good book, great story idea, but poorly conveyed in the end. That is how I would begin this series from fledgling Septagon Studios. If the writers decide to tighten up the story and stick with what makes this story great, it could recover quite well. The problem is if you start the book off like this, many readers will recognize it as "average" and move on before they give this title a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret History #1

May 4, 2007

I am going to recommend this series with a hint of trepidation. The art and plot seem to be geared to take us on seven whirlwind issues around the globe. This book was well translated in dialogue and image, and as long as a few questions about our four stars get answered along the way, we should be treated to a dandy of an issue by the people at Archaia.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Silent War #1

Jan 21, 2007

You should be getting the idea to go buy this book as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Silent War #2

Feb 22, 2007

Lets just hope my new favorite writer doesnt end the war with a bunch of bystanders tackling Black Bolt and him changing his mind in 30 seconds. Who would think to end a series that way?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Silent War #3

Mar 29, 2007

If you arent on board with this title yet, I would say its not too late to get going. Its a must read for X-Factor readers, as well as people who are tired of the brand of war Marvel has been selling of late. This version is more to my liking.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Soleil: Sky Doll #3

Jul 15, 2008

I'm glad of the road I'm traveling down. Are you?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Soulfire: New World Order #0

Aug 28, 2007

All they needed was a pencil and a mouse.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Sparta U.S.A. #1

Mar 7, 2010

Any time there is a place where people never leave, and their leader is a mysterious man, things will start to get tricky. Its been used many times, which is why Im not sure why I wanted to read this book in the first place. Maybe it was the apparent allusion to my hometown, but that connection quickly ended. Lapham is a great artist, and I love much of his work, but this idea is one that I cannot jump on board with.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spawn #161

Nov 20, 2006

This book is a nice read if you are into the Spawn idea nearly a decade after everyone else called it quits. I always felt like this book seemed to be more than good guys punching bad guys, but thats not just because I believe in God. Any story that has more long term ramifications Im down for. Well, as long as it doesnt have Spider-man switching sides back and forth throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spawn #164

Feb 13, 2007

Can he do so? Only time, and the great David Hine, can tell for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #166

Apr 17, 2007

Many have gone on and on (including myself) about Al and the new genesis (not the John Byrne one) he has had in the industry. For a title once thought so dead that its own creator didn't want to handle it, it's now reeling in new readers and fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spawn #167

Jun 5, 2007

Its not too late to jump on board with this title. I see issue #167 eventually selling out just as the previous issue did, so I would go and snatch this up while you can. It begins what I hope to be a good run between the red cape and the blue face.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spawn #171

Oct 30, 2007

All these questions I foresee being answered in the coming year, as well as letting us know what big event all these small occurrences are building towards. While the stories as of late havent been my favorite, my commitment to this title will not fade while Hine and Hab are on the job.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
StormWatch: Post Human Division #11

Sep 25, 2007

In the end, this book is joining my other Wildstorm favorite Welcome to Tranquility in the tanking because the series is being cancelled department. We all know its a reality in the publishing world, and many a series far better than this have seen it happen to them. Im just bummed because Gage is a very talented writer who turned in quality scripts for this title. When the rising-star penciller gets pulled up to the big leagues and the writer gets higher profile books to work on, its no surprise what happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Strange Embrace #1

Jul 5, 2007

The interesting aspect will be how Hine continues this plot. I didnt read this book the first time around, but rest assured I will find out where Alexs and Sukumars journey takes them.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Strongarm #1

Jan 28, 2007

Anything would be better than this book. I didnt want to give it such a low rating, but when the only name we get in the book besides the main character and baddie is some cop who dies immediately, I can t do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad: Raise the Flag #1

Sep 17, 2007

In the end, however, thats what I really wanted to read a story about. What I had hoped for was seeing a new squad, with members that are actually alive, and doing the dirty work for the current Waller. I want more with Eiling and the political climate at this time in the squads history, and show me the new incarnation of the SS while we are at it. Then again, nobody asked me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman Confidential #1

Nov 3, 2006

So I will have to recommend this book, but only if you want an interesting side story to the Superman lore while you wait for the next issue of Action Comics to be released. Ill buy this series; just dont tell my wife its not on my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman Confidential #2

Dec 11, 2006

You need to be in on this title. If its not a top 10 seller on Diamonds list by the end of the series, I will hold each of you responsible. GO GET THIS BOOK! If you dig the superhero comics genre, you wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman Confidential #3

Jan 5, 2007

Just stop kissing and start with the lead suit. It would ruin what is and should be a great mini-series to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman: World of New Krypton #4

Jun 8, 2009

This issue didnt really accomplish much in the grand scheme of things, but this is a 12 issue series. I enjoyed the three previous issues for the most part; I just got assigned to this title on an off month. I hope we continue to peel away layers around Zod and find out what he really wants now that hes out of prison for good. We all know the final confrontation is between the two military guild heavyweights, I just hope this round is a doozy.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Tales of the Sinestro Corps: Cyborg Superman #1

Oct 25, 2007

Even then, there was not much to like about this issue. I couldnt stand the work done on Kyllax in the previous one-shot, and I liked it a whole lot more than this issue. I realize that Hanks origin hasnt been touched in 17 years, but certainly more justice can be given to the character than this. Too little emotion in the action and bad use of 22 pages lead to a poor example of a tie in to a successfully selling series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2003) #44

Mar 15, 2007

Then again, maybe Im just being a cynic. I have come to expect such great things from this writer and his penciling cohort, and I wanted to be blown away as I was by the last issue. I am going to see this arc through to its end and give it a chance to prove myself wrong. I just dont think I will be at this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2003) #45

Apr 12, 2007

If you've followed this East vs. West story for the past year, next month will seem somewhat bittersweet. Not only will it be the last of this arc, but it will also be the last with Geoff's name on it. Regardless of how I've felt about these last few issues, Johns' mark on this title is easily felt and should easily resonate once Beechen takes over the reigns full time. This issue is average in my estimation, but over all I would give the writer's run a higher rating than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2003) #51

Sep 28, 2007

Will this initial arc by the teen-titan writer wrap up as easily as it appears, or will there be some keen twist in an issue or two? Id be all for this arc continuing for more than four or six issues. Lets have some great fights, some more time traveling and one hell of an ending to this salvo. That will get this book added to my pull list. Drive-by arcs are boring the bull-butter out of me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2003) #53

Dec 6, 2007

So what will Tim choose? Its not a hard guess, and I cant imagine McKeever expecting people to buy Robin as a killer and turn his team down a dark path never to recover. The question is how will Tim say no? He certainly has a walk with the dark side in his own title this week as well, maybe we are setting up to see the Boy Wonder in a new light for a while. Hey, if a dark and gritty Batman can get good ratings, why not his apprentice as well?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2003) #54

Dec 31, 2007

Im back on the Teen Titans bandwagon after this story. It was just the thing this title needed, and I hope this is just a sign of things to come from this creative team. At least with Eddie Berganza at the helm it shouldnt stray too far from decent any time soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Teen Titans (2003) #55

Jan 25, 2008

I liked this story a little more than it may appear in my review, but being blindsided by the immature drama sure did take its toll on the ratings. Many may like this kind of characterization in Teen Titans, but it was too much for me. Hopefully the great story telling I read in the previous five issues will return next month. McKeevers earned at least another three bucks from this reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Brave and the Bold #1

Feb 25, 2007

Sales were good, but the one thing needed for me to continue on with Brave and the Bold didnt happen. This book may continue to do well in shops, and may actually get good in the long run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Order #1

Jul 15, 2007

Overall, a very enjoyable read that has the chance to really grow. Of course, it can drop just as quickly, but Fraction has the tools in place to have a top 20 book here. Lets see if he can keep it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Surrogates, The Surrogates: Flesh and Bone #1

Sep 30, 2009

Maybe the "wife test" isnt so bad after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tick 20th Anniversary Special Edition #1

Jul 5, 2007

Just pick another utensil for a battle cry.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ultimate Iron-Man II #1

Dec 9, 2007

While the magic has faded, Im not writing this book off yet. I just may not be buying it, which is the name of the game, isnt it?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Warhammer 40,000: Damnation Crusade #1

Dec 24, 2006

Obviously, since I am a fan of the tabletop game as well as the computer series that is one of my favorites to come out in a long time, I am really into this book. But thats the key to this series. Will the faithful turn out for this book and give it some respectable numbers? I have my doubts, but heres hoping that we are reading the start of a series that has a long run. This series is cant miss for us painters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Welcome to Tranquility #2

Jan 12, 2007

This issue isnt perfect (because in my mind I am not sure I will ever read a perfect book), but this one sure gets darn close. Heres to a great read and the hopes the steam keeps rolling next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Welcome to Tranquility #4

Mar 9, 2007

How far will the dark side of Tranquility continue? Only time can tell. My only hope is this book will continue on for dozens of issues as we further see that the town of Tranquility is not what we thought it was.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Welcome to Tranquility #5

Apr 6, 2007

There is a ton to complain about in this book, but theres also even more to like about Welcome to Tranquility. Please go buy itif you dont like it, Ill send you an IOU.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Welcome to Tranquility #7

Jun 8, 2007

Endearing humor, multi-layered plots, rich characters and a great up-and-coming artist; those are the trademarks of this great book. Plus, we got to see the Emoticon take his eyeballs out and the dead rise.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Welcome to Tranquility #10

Sep 14, 2007

I want this book to stay and get back to the business of telling cool stories about the Maxis and how they might not be done fighting for justice no matter their age. Sadly, this book will probably either be cancelled or Ill have to read about them fighting Darkseid soon. If Im wrong, I will apologize, but I dont think I will be. Either way, I dont know how much more of this book I can take.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Welcome to Tranquility #12

Nov 16, 2007

Pick up the first six issues on trade, and leave the second for the quarter bins. Wherever Christos Gage takes the Wildstorm U, I hope this title has a chance of starting over with a clean slate. Im sorry I had to rant and rave about this book for the past few reviews, if I hadnt been sucked in by a great concept, I wouldnt have been let down so much in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Weston Cage and Nicolas Cages Voodoo Child #1

Jul 10, 2007

I would say this book is worth a shot for those like me who are getting tired of DC and Marvel. Its got an anti-hero who doesnt mind getting a bit bloody while trying to avenge his family. Carey is starting to climb my chart of competent writers, and I fully expect more reading from this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wild Boys: Dawn of the Wild #1

Jun 5, 2007

With this being my first foray into your Masterpiece Universe, however, I would have just preferred to have something a bit more original in concept. Good luck with your books, and please write me. I have much to ask you.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wolverine (2003) #50

Jan 21, 2007

Lets just hope people are still on board for when that happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
World War Hulk #2

Jul 22, 2007

I just dont have to think its great storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
World War Hulk: Front Line #1

Jun 24, 2007

I promise to make Front Line its own series and move Jenkins from the B-squad to varsity. Got a catchy ring to it, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
World War III #1

Apr 22, 2007

52 has been great, in other words. I just wish the four books that accompanied the parent title would have added to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Xombie #1

Apr 15, 2007

I would have just enjoyed my laughter more if it was meant to be intentional.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Young Avengers Presents #1

Jan 22, 2008

There were some really great ideas expressed in this issue, as to be expected by Bru. Unfortunately, he wasnt given a whole lot to work with. The result is an average book that could have been much better.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More