Craig Neilson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 159
7.9Avg. Review Rating

2.0
24: Underground #1

Apr 22, 2014

As much as I love the series, this is 24 by-the-numbers, and simply doesn't feature anything remotely exciting or creative. Maybe things will pick up once the series gets moving, but after such an instantly forgettable beginning, I'm almost certain that I'm not going to be around to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abe Sapien #15

Aug 12, 2014

Overall, while this one-and-done story may not quite qualify as essential reading, even for die-hard Abe Sapien fans, this issue is most definitely worth picking up for the quality of the artwork alone. The opportunity to see one of todays top artists taking on such a well-established character is one that shouldnt be passed up, and I can only hope this isnt the last time we see Mister Ferreyra in the Mignolaverse in the months and years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Alex + Ada #4

Feb 18, 2014

The drama is ramped up in the latter part of the issue, with the final page offering up all sorts of exciting questions going into issue five. Intelligent, believable sci-fi is a rarity these days, and while a lot of people will be groaning at the snail-like pace and lack of action, Alex + Ada has the potential to be something truly special as the series continues to pick up steam.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #1

Oct 8, 2014

One minor niggle I had would be the fact that the Predators themselves do feel like something of an afterthought, at least for the time being, although the final panel of the issue all but guarantees they're going to be taking a bigger role as the series moves forwards. Overall however, this is another strong addition to the Fire and Stone universe, and while it doesn't quite maintain the incredibly high standard of its predecessors, it's still definitely a worthwhile purchase, especially for readers planning on following the other three arcs.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #2

Nov 4, 2014

As it is, it feels almost like I'm going to have to grit my teeth and get through the last two issues, rather than savouring the conclusion to what should be a compelling arc. Personal taste perhaps, as I'm sure some people will get a real kick out of the addition, but I'm really not a fan of where it now appears this series is heading.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #3

Dec 2, 2014

Unfortunately, the way the storyline is progressed within these pages means that this arc is unlikely to pull out of its nosedive in the final issue. There's a great story just begging to be told here, but unfortunately, it's one which seems to have been completely sidetracked by the creators' fascination of seeing what kind of effect accelerant has on different species. A rare misfire from the Fire and Stone team, then, and while there are a few undeniably bright spots along the way, I can't in good conscience recommend this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #4

Jan 14, 2015

Overall, while never quite manages to hit the heights of the other arcs in this event, Aliens vs Predator: Fire and Stone manages to pull out of its nosedive in this final issue, finishing the series with a slightly bumpy " but still somewhat satisfying " landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aliens: Fire and Stone #2

Oct 29, 2014

It's becoming somewhat predictable " in a good way, of course " just how good this Fire and Stone event is becoming. Each arc serves as a fond love letter to the source material, but each creative team has also made sure that they've added something new to the proceedings, preventing things from feeling forced or re-hashed. I'm honestly finding it difficult to remain impartial and find things to criticise about these comics, such is the quality of what I'm reading, and in spite of adopting a somewhat slower pace in this particular issue, Aliens: Fire and Stone loses none of its innate sense of 'haunted house' horror along the way. Highly, highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aliens: Fire and Stone #3

Dec 1, 2014

Each of the arcs in the Fire and Stone event continues to stamp their own unique mark on the overall story, and the crushing horror of this series pushes it right to the top of the reading pile every month. This is 'Aliens' distilled down to its purest form, with Roberson and Reynolds each displaying a firm, confident grasp of precisely what makes these creatures so utterly terrifying. Essential reading for fans of the franchise, fans of horror, fans of sci-fi or just plain ol' comicbook fans. Captivating stuff from beginning to end, and I really cant wait to see how this particular arc wraps up in a few weeks time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aliens: Fire and Stone #4

Dec 23, 2014

This is a finalissue that – in stark contrast to the frantic, panicked threat of the previous three chapters slows things right down and lets the deep-seated psychological horror of the situation drip from every page. Once again, each of the strands in the Fire and Stone event manages to hit its own unique tone, and once again Reynolds and Robersoncombine here to paint a suffocatingly bleak picture thats likely to linger in the mind of the reader for a long time to come. This is Aliens done to absolute perfection. Take a bow, gentlemen.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Altered States: Red Sonja (One-Shot) #1

Mar 11, 2015

Another swing and another miss for Dynamite's 'Altered States'series then, Im afraid to say. Plus, at the end of the day, when you consider that so many classic Elseworld and What If? tales have seen us visiting intriguing alternative worlds where much-lovedcharacters have lived or died and existing events were twistedby unfamiliar actions, Im not sure what if a museum employee was transformed into Red Sonja for a bit? is really a question worth answering.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Altered States: Vampirella (One-Shot) #1

Mar 2, 2015

While long-timeVampirella fans will undoubtedly get a kick out of the unique take on their beloved heroine, for everyone else there'sjust not enough here to get too excited about. Novelty factor aside, what we have here is a flat sci-fi yarn with acreativetwist that isn'tutilised anywhere near enough to make it worthwhile.One for the die-hard fans only, Im afraid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
And Then Emily Was Gone #0

Apr 20, 2015

Overall, this release firmly cements ComixTribe as one oftodays up and coming publishers, with a rapidly expandingcatalogue of iconic characters and an impressive stable of supremely talented creators. While the vast majorityof FCBD attendees are likely to gravitate towards the Marvel and DC offerings, those who dig a little deeper and take a chance on the murky, depraved worlds of Bonnie Shaw and Oxymoron are in for an absolute treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Animal Man #27

Jan 23, 2014

While it may not be for everyone, Animal Man has undoubtedly been one of my personal favourite titles since the beginning of the New 52, and while it's sad in a way to see the end just around the corner (even if the main character will live on in the pages of Lemire's Justice League United), it's also great to see the series going out on such a high.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2011) #26

Jan 1, 2014

Overall, this issue serves as a great start to the “next” chapter of the New 52 Aquaman, and is a title I'm going to continue reading with considerable interest. There's always a sense of apprehension when a successful comic creator leaves a title, but thankfully, with Parker at the helm, Aquaman is undoubtedly going to be in safe hands moving forwards.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie vs. Predator #1

Mar 19, 2015

While its perhaps a little too much Archie and not enough Predator so far for my tastes, this is still an extremely encouraging start to one of the most gloriously bonkers mash-ups that youre likely to see this year. While the real meat of the story is still to come (and I mean that literally as well as figuratively), the tone established so far by DeCampi all but guarantees that this is going to become something truly memorable. So whether Archie and Jughead end up smeared in mud battling their alien assailant to the death, or with their skulls and spinal columns hanging on a trophy room wall somewhere, you can most definitely count me in for the rest of this story which is a sentence I honestly never thought Id write in a comic review.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ares & Aphrodite: Love Wars #1

Jan 6, 2015

Bottom line, your enjoyment of Ares & Aphrodite is clearly going to be limited by how much you enjoy the genre the creators are paying homage to. The humour is undoubtedly there, as is the charm, and while its somewhat lacking in any real substance at least so far the characters are definitely likeable enough to make it readable, and hey, isnt that what the rom-com is all about? Possibly not to my own personal tastes, but still an admirable attempt at recreating a well-loved genre in the comic book format.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Big Con-Job #1

Mar 3, 2015

This series has been marketed as Galaxy Quest meets Oceans Eleven, and thats pretty much the best way to describe it so far. If the idea of washed up former celebrities taking matters into their own hands and deciding to rob the biggest comic convention in the world tickles your fancy, then this is most definitely the title for you. Funny in places, tender and moving in others, this is a series with a brilliantly executed premise and a colourful cast of characters. Count me in for the rest of the job.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bill & Ted's Most Triumphant Return #1

Mar 11, 2015

Overall, Bill And Ted's Most Triumphant Return is exactly that, an utterly authentic, nostalgia-filled look at what happened after the credits rolled on the second movie. Fans of the films will be in absolute heaven here, although newcomers to the franchise " assuming such bogus people still actually exist " are likely to feel left out and confused by the brisk pace and frequent referencing of previous events.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Bob's Burgers #1

Aug 27, 2014

While I found myself desperately wanting to enjoy this comic the same way love the show, there simply wasnt much here for me to get excited about. Sure, it had its occasional moments, but for the most part, this issue serves as a stark warning about the fact that just because something is fun on the TV screen, that doesnt necessarily mean its going to work as a comic. Which is a real shame.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Burning Fields #1

Jan 19, 2015

Homeland meets Se7en in this gorgeously illustrated, tightly scripted horror drama. Lorimer is on top of his game, Tim Daniel adds his distinctive flavour, and well 2015 may very well be poised to become the Year of Moreci, given his impressive body of work that seems to be growing week by week. Perhaps the most exciting thing to take away from this first issue is that there are seven more still to come, and this stunning opening chapter kicks off a story that Im going to be watching with tremendous interest as it develops. Simply put, Burning Fields looks all-but-guaranteed to become yet another creator owned success from the fine folks at BOOM! Studios, and is a series I honestly can't recommend highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Burning Fields #2

Feb 17, 2015

While the restrained pace in this second issue may not necessarily appeal to those readers looking for a quick fix or instant gratification, Im more than happy to allow myself to sink gradually into the utterly compelling world that this team has created. A tense military drama with a powerful message behind it and a faint, unnerving horror lurking on the periphery, Burning Fields is a series that continues to live up to my ridiculously high expectations from this creative team, and is once again a series I cant recommend highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Burning Fields #3

Mar 18, 2015

Three issues in, Burning Fieldscontinues to draw the reader deeper and deeper into a murky, oil-soaked world of immoral PMCs, shadowy politics and a faintly supernatural horrorlurking just on the periphery. Moreci and Daniel are taking their time drawing back the curtain completely, but the brief glimpses they've given us so farinto the horrors lurking in the oilfields of Iraq are morethan enough to make this series absolutely essential reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Burning Fields #4

Apr 28, 2015

As Ive been saying from the very first issue, this series is absolutely essentialreading, and proves itself more than worthy successor to Curse one of my Top 5 comics of 2014 " in terms of both scope and execution. Moreci and Daniel have laid out a sprawling mystery filled with compelling characters and stomach-churning horror, and Lorimers grimy visuals help to bring their story to life in visceral, oil-soaked fashion. What are you waiting for?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Burning Fields #5

Jun 16, 2015

Oh, and as an aside, any issue of any comic that manages to include an insanely topical Jurassic Park reference without it feeling tacky earns an additional tip of the hat from me. Well played, sirs.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Burning Fields #6

Jul 20, 2015

For my money, Burning Fields is the best comic on the shelves right now, hands down. The pacing is top-notch, the artwork is dark, grimy and dripping with atmosphere and the characterisation is absolutely spot-on. Horror, politics and drama all churned together into an utterly intoxicating mixture, this is a creator-owned triumph that deserves to be seen by as many eyes as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Burning Fields #7

Aug 18, 2015

Cards on the table time, folks… if 2015 ended today, Burning Fields would be my comic of the year.  It's that good.  If you're not reading it by now, then – okay – it's probably not the best time for you to jump on board, but you damn well better make sure to pick up the trade when it's released. This is a story that grabs you by the throat and shakes before dragging you down into a murky, violent and supernaturally charged mire of oil and blood.  Unmissable in every sense of the word.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Burning Fields #8

Sep 22, 2015

Okay, so Ive said it before on no less than seven occasions, but Ill say it again here… Burning Fields is hands-down the best comic of 2015 so far. Now obviously, if you havent jumped on the bandwagon yet, this isnt exactly the best place to start, but consider this review to be a ringing endorsement if not an out-and-out demand to pick up the trade paperback of this series when it becomes available. Moreci, Daniel and Lorimer have set the bar for what qualifies as a truly great comic, and with just a few months left in the year, Im not sure if there are many other titles out there who stand a hope in hell of matching the creativity, characterisation and sheer gripping intensity of Burning Fields. Utterly fantastic from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cluster #1

Feb 3, 2015

The final pages of this issue set the tone for whats to come, and given theintriguingcast of characters that have been assembled, it should make for some interesting reading. Perhaps more than anything else though, it is Brissons impressive work on pre-apocalyptic series Sheltered that gives me high hopes for the future of this series. With a proven track record of taking familiar ideas in new and unexpected directions, I have no doubt that things are going to improve in the issues to come, and with a strong foundation being laid in this issue, Im definitely on board with this series – for the time being, at least.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Colder: The Bad Seed #1

Oct 19, 2014

Overall, in spite of my doubts that the original series had set the bar impossibly high, Colder: The Bad Seed effortlessly captures the same sense of creeping dread that made the original such a runaway hit. Ferreyra and Tobin are a partnership that simply cannot put a foot wrong right now, and this issue is a perfect example of two supremely talented creators each playing to their individual strengths. Intriguing and unnerving in equal measures, Colder: The Bad Seed is unlike any other horror comic on the shelves right now, and is absolutely essential reading for any and all horror fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conan / Red Sonja #1

Jan 13, 2015

Rather than merely being satisfied with the sheer novelty of having Conan and Sonja in the same comic at the same time, Simone and Zubhave created the beginnings of what should be a truly epic event, sowing the seeds (pun intended) for a tale that promises to stretch across the years and allow us to see the relationship between these two iconic characters grow as they do. Dynamic, exciting and filled to the brim with character, this is a series that delivers on its potential and provides a thrilling look at the undisputed power couple of the fantasy world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Convergence: Shazam #1

May 1, 2015

So, consider this review the equivalent of me eating my words about this whole Convergence event. An apology, of sorts. Gimmicky it may undeniably be, but some of the creative teams and situations offered up by DCs bold editorial decision are definitely worth a look this one in particular. A gloriously upbeat callback to a forgotten era, lovingly recreated with a distinctly modern twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Creepy Comics #17

Aug 12, 2014

Overall, while Ill freely admit that I was only really here for Tobin and Ferreyra, the quality of the structure and the intriguing stories on display mean that Im going to make damn sure Creepy doesnt slip through the cracks again. Dark Horse horror at its absolute finest and thats definitely saying something.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Curse #1

Jan 14, 2014

Curse is a horror comic that works on almost every level, and while this issue is mainly set-up, it does its job perfectly in immersing us in this world, getting our pulses racing, and making us want to know more. Well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curse #2

Feb 19, 2014

Curse continues to be a horror tale I cant recommend enough, and the combination of the human drama of Laney and his son with the supernatural world of werewolves results in a powerfully engaging drama, and one which Im definitely going to be sticking with until the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Curse #4

Apr 15, 2014

To summarise, Curse is a perfectly paced story based around several intriguing, compelling characters, and manages to balance violence, drama and tension beautifully to weave one of the most impressive horror tales Ive read in a long, long time. Seek it out if you can, or make sure you get your hands on the inevitable trade. I promise you wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Damian: Son of Batman #1

Nov 1, 2013

This first issue is worth buying for the artwork (and one or two extremelyexciting character moments), and hopefully the writing can pick up the pace in the remaining three chapters and make this series something truly memorable, rather than just a slice of (admittedly delicious) eye candy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #36

Feb 22, 2014

I've been recommending this comic for over a year now, so if you haven't heeded my words yet, you're unlikely to start now. But all I will say is that if you like your superhero comics to have action, drama, humor and intelligence, Daredevil is most definitely the book for you. Grab all the trades of the past series now, and get yourself ready for the “All-New” reboot in a few weeks time. You can thank me later.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Daredevil: Dark Nights #6

Nov 9, 2013

This story serves as a definite change of pace from the usual Daredevil fare, although a better-established hook at the end perhaps a reveal of this ominous Cuban crimelord would have gone a long way in making me want to read more. Ill stick with it though, primarily because I hate having incomplete mini-series, but overall, this is an essentially forgettable DD tale that could easily have been so much more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Ages #1

Aug 12, 2014

Overall, Dark Ages sees the return of a creative partnership who seem to compliment each other perfectly, and lays some intriguing groundwork for what promises to be a gripping mix of the historical and the supernatural. Highly recommended, even if Abnett and Culbard are clearly playing their cards very close to their chests so far in this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Ages #2

Sep 9, 2014

The final pages of the issue provide the hook that will spur this story forwards, giving a chilling explanation for the monks vow of silence, and dangling the faint promise of answers in front of us. If the first issue was them merely getting up to speed, then this issue sees Abnett and Culbard in full sprint, providing a brilliantly inventive tale featuring some truly compelling characters, all wrapped up in a mystery that simply demands to be solved. Two masters at the top of their game, and a title I honestly cant recommend highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Ages #3

Oct 7, 2014

Overall, this issue serves its purpose well, giving us the explanation we were all craving and carefully moving all of Abnett and Culbards pieces into position for what should be a climactic, action-packed showdown. The final panel is pretty damn fantastic, too, and I have no doubt in my mind that the payoff to this bizarre mash-up of styles is definitely going to deliver. Lets call this one a deep breath before the final plunge, and begin bracing ourselves for the carnage to come. Devil's arsehole indeed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Ages #4

Nov 11, 2014

Overall, Dark Ages serves as the latest impressive 'mash-up' collaboration between these two supremely talented creators, and while the merging of medieval and science fiction may be seen as jarring to some, I found myself utterly gripped by this series from its very beginning. An exciting, self-contained story with a beginning, middle and end, and a stunning showcase for one of the most truly unique artists going at the moment. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Drones #1

Apr 21, 2015

Overall, while the premise is undoubtedly intriguing, the execution thus far is a little off-kilter, leaving Drones an ultimately frustrating read. Im still planning to check out the second issue, if only to see how Lewis and Oliveirahandle the story once it starts to pick up some momentum. The idea of terrorism as entertainment and the obvious parallels that can be drawn to our current society definitely has a lot of potential to it, its just a shame that this book seems to have stumbled right out of the starting blocks. Definitely one to keep an eye on though, if only to see if things pick up throughout the remaining four issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Drumhellar #1

Nov 5, 2013

Link and Rossmo have put together a beautifully rendered, fantastically compelling world. A dream-like, surrealist reality that serves a backdrop for some brilliantly realised characters. I'm fully aware that the surrealist style of storytelling may not be for everyone, but this is a comic that grabbed me from the opening pages and simply refused to let go. And the fact that almost every panel is absolutely gorgeous certainly doesn't hurt matters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Drumhellar #2

Dec 12, 2013

Drumhellar builds on its fine start with an extremely impressive second issue here, and the more I find out about the unusual inhabitants of this sleepy rural town, the more I want to know. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Drumhellar #4

Feb 4, 2014

While Ill freely admit (and Im sure the creators would echo this sentiment) that this title isnt for everyone, and can be a somewhat challenging read with all the surreal plot points and frequent hallucinations, theres something utterly engaging about it thats difficult not to be drawn in by. Links knack for realistic, humorous dialogue and Rossmos truly unique artistic style marry up perfectly here, creating a book that is truly like nothing else on the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
East of West #9

Jan 28, 2014

My only minor complaint is also perhaps one of the main strengths of the book. I want to know more! Hickman continues to play his cards close to his chest, drip-feeding information and moving the plot along at a glacial pace, revelling in every small detail. And as much as I would be a fan of this approach were I reading a trade paperback, it makes East of West a painfully impatient experience for the single-issue collectors. That said, this is still an undeniably remarkable world with some truly three-dimensional protagonists, brought to life by an artist at the very top of his game. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
EGOs #1

Jan 15, 2014

An intelligent sci-fi comic with superhero overtones, realistic characters and more creativity than it knows what to do with, EGOs is going to be an extremely interesting read over the next couple of issues, and I for one cant wait to see where this particular story is headed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ei8ht #1

Feb 16, 2015

Crackling with originality and adventure, EI8HTis stunning creator-owned debut from one of the most celebrated artists in the business today. A masterpiece of visual storytelling with a genuinely compelling mystery at its heart, this is a series I honestly cant recommend highly enough. Bring on the second issue, and quickly!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Epic #3

Mar 21, 2015

Bottom line, if youre looking for something fresh or innovative, EPIC is probably not for you. A lot of the characters, themes and events contained within these pages are almost as old as comics themselves. But if youre looking for an unapolagetic celebration of zany, over-the-top superheroics with some fantastically eye-catching visuals and an impressively likeable protagonist well EPIC may be exactly what youre looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Escape from New York #1

Dec 2, 2014

Overall, while it may not quite live up to the hype, this is still a solid opening salvo for the new series, and contains more than enough meat for fans of the franchise to get their teeth into. I'm definitely curious to see where the story goes from here, and as a die-hard fan of cheesy 80's action, I'm planning on sticking with this one " at least for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ex-Con #1

Sep 2, 2014

Overall, Ex-Con manages to avoid being merely a one trick pony, and instead lays the groundwork for what seems poised to be a gripping crime yarn. Count me in for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Exit Generation #1

Sep 21, 2015

Overall, this is an extremely promising start, not just to this tale but to Sam Reads writing career as a whole.   Kudos to ComixTribe for realising the potential in this particular story, and for helping to offer it up to the worldwide market.  Simply put, Exit Generation is a raucous, frenetic dose of sci-fi insanity with some genuine emotion at its core.   Also, and I cant stress this enough, those first six pages are absolutely worth the cover price alone, given how truly beautiful they are in their storytelling simplicity. This is a new series which is definitely worth getting your hands on, folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Feathers #1

Jan 9, 2015

Overall, Feathersis a charmingly adventurous series that incorporates some of the best aspects from the fairy tales we all know and love to create something truly memorable. I challenge anyone toread this first issue and not find themselves deeply invested in Poe and his mysterious origin by the time they put it down. Anotherall-ages success story from the folks at BOOM!, whoare undoubtedly setting the standard for this particular genre right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Feathers #2

Feb 3, 2015

Overall, Feathers remains a strong all-ages offering from the folks at Archaia, albeit one which may be suffering ever so slightly at the moment from its episodic format. As one continual story, this could be seen as just a slight lull, but as an issue all on its own, it does fall just a little flat at least compared to the opening chapter. That said, the charm and excitement of Poe and Biancas growing friendship is more than enough to warrant the cover price for the time being, and once the real meat of the story gets going, I have no doubt this series is going to become pretty much essential reading. Watch this space, folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Five Ghosts #6

Oct 29, 2013

In fact, cinematic would be the best word to describe this comic as a whole. While there isn't a tremendous sense of depth (in this issue, at least), Fabian Gray is an undoubtedly intriguing protagonist, and the title has a sense of swashbuckling grandeur to it that I absolutely loved. This is definitely a title that Im going to be adding to the reading list in the future, and this issue serves as a terrific jumping-on point for the curious.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash Gordon #1

Apr 8, 2014

For a character that has never really been on my radar before, I found myself thoroughly enjoying this first issue, and Im definitely going to be hopping on for the ride as the series moves forwards. And while some of the storyline elements may not have had a chance to establish themselves quite yet, theres definitely enough fun, excitement and humour in this book to win anyone over. Well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Garfield #33

Jan 6, 2015

Overall, this isa disappointing start to the resurrection of one of my favourite childhood memories, although with three more issues to come, Im hopeful that things will improve. Bring on Sam Spayed, thats what I say!

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Gold Key Alliance #1

Apr 5, 2016

It's difficult to know who this comic is aimed at. For newcomers, it's a dull affair without any real story other than "here are the characters". For existing fans, it's an utterly redundant and fairly superficial look at characters they already know. In all honesty, this feels like a Free Comic Book Day teaser being marketed as an actual comic with a cover price, which is an incredibly disappointing outcome for what should be " on paper, at least " a winning concept. Skip this one entirely and start the series for issue #2 if you're dead-set on following this one. Trust me, you aren't missing anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy #4

Jan 26, 2015

Count me in with this series for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Grendel vs. The Shadow #1

Sep 3, 2014

Its a frustrating read, 50 pages actually dragging in. At the end of the issue, when they finally meet and Grendel declares that finally, things have got interesting, Im hard pressed to agree.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hack/Slash: Son of Samhain #1

Jun 28, 2014

Overall, this issue serves as both a continuation of a beloved series, and a perfect jumping-on point for new readers. No prior knowledge is required to enjoy the awesomeness contained within these pages, although if youre anything like me, youre going to find yourself instantly wanting to dig into the archives to get your hands on more of Cassie Hacks adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harrow County #1

Apr 16, 2015

Part coming-of-agedrama and part backwoods horror story, Harrow County is a series thatcrawls under your skin and stays there, painting a vividly unnerving picture of a deeply troubled town. Beautifully paced in this opening chapter, Bunn and Crook are playing their cards close to their chest for the time being, only offering mere glimpses at the true horror to come, and if the final pages are anything to go by horror may be a major understatement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellbreak #1

Mar 11, 2015

Overall, Hellbreakprovides a unique take on the somewhat overdone exorcism trope which, used correctly, has the potential to providenear limitless storyline possibilities as this ongoing series develops. So long as the characters are fleshed out a little in the issues to come, you can count me in with this one for the foreseeable future – something which, given the creative team at the helm, seems all but guaranteed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Herobear And The Kid: Saving Time #1

Apr 22, 2014

Perfectly capturing the magic and wonder of childhood, Mike Kunkel has done it again here with another utterly charming tale. My only hope is that once this series is finished, we don't have to wait another decade for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hoax Hunters (2015) #1

Apr 1, 2015

Existing fans are going to be over the moon, and new readers may just have found one of their new favourite series'.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hoax Hunters (2015) #2

Apr 28, 2015

Overall, while its starting to feel less and less like a jumping-on point for new readers, Moreciand co. are stilldoing an admirable job here in providing a subtle shift in tone for the ‘Heavy Metal' version of their cult series, giving readers an impressivemixture of fresh new ideas and the continuation of existing ones, and crafting a light-hearted supernatural horror series that's well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Fist: The Living Weapon #1

Apr 12, 2014

Overall, for an introduction to a new (to me, at least) character, Kaare Andrews has done a terrific job here in making me instantly invested in Danny Rands past, present and future. Consider me on board with this one for the foreseeable future, unless something truly drastic happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kaptara #2

May 20, 2015

Kaptara is a tough one to call, and is sure to divide opinion. An intriguing central character and wonderfully inventive art are definitely its strengths, but some awkward dialogue in places does let it down somewhat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kiss Me, Satan #4

Dec 17, 2013

It's difficult to predict how the story – which has been slowed down slightly by some (admittedly cool) battles with a variety of interesting enemies – is going to reach a satisfying conclusion in just one issue. If this were an ongoing series I'd have no concerns, but as a five-part mini, I'm definitely more than a little apprehensive. Overall though, this is an enjoyable enough read buoyed by some truly stellar artwork. Well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kiss Me, Satan #5

Jan 14, 2014

Well worth a look, and based on this issue, Ferreyra continues his rapid ascent up my favourite artist list. Just a stunning piece of work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lady Killer #1

Jan 6, 2015

Overall, while it isnt clear yet exactly where the rest of this five-part story is heading, this is still an impressively strong opening chapter. A brilliantly unique idea executed with a delicious visual flair, Lady Killer is a series you owe it to yourself to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lady Killer #2

Feb 2, 2015

Overall, the second instalment of Lady Killercapitalisesperfectly on the momentum built by the first, drawing us deeper and deeper into the complicated life of Josie Schuller, and serving as a stunning showcase for the creative abilities ofJolle Jones. A darkly comic take on the saccharine world of the early 60s housewife, and a series that judging by the nature of Josies next mission – promises to become even darker before alls said and done. Well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lady Killer #3

Mar 2, 2015

Overall, while it may have made its mark with its stunning visuals and sharply conceived concept, Lady Killer is finally starting to hit its stride in terms of the story itself, and promises a tense, emotional conclusion before alls said and done. Over the course of this one issue, leading lady Josie Schullerhas gone from intriguing enigma to genuinely compelling protagonist, and Im most definitely going to bewaiting with baited breath to find out what happens to her next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer #4

Mar 31, 2015

Brilliantly paced, gloriously rendered and utterlyempowering, Lady Killer takes a refreshing look at the era of the quiet, subservient housewife and throws insome shockinglybrutal violence for good measure. Featuring slick dialogue, engaging characters and a slow build to what promises to be a show-stopping conclusion, I honestly cant recommend this series highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Leaving Megalopolis: Surviving Megalopolis #2

Feb 9, 2016

Sure, there are still a lot of unanswered questions hanging over this series; we don't know why the capes went crazy, nor do we know why their reign of terror remains confined to the city limits of Megalopolis. There are hints being dangled, but nothing even remotely concrete. At this point though, it's almost kind of fun not knowing, y'know? Simones typically strong character work combined with Calafiores dazzling visuals are more than enough to make this series an absolutely essential purchase, with or without an overabundance of unresolved plot threads. Plus, they throw in a bit of a curveball in the final pages which suggests that certain members of the rescue team may have their own agenda, one that goes a lot further than a mere “rescue”. If you like your characters to be realistic and intriguing, your artwork to be dynamic and detailed, and your superheroes to be insane and homicidal, Surviving Megalopolis is most definitely for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Leaving Megalopolis: Surviving Megalopolis #3

Mar 7, 2016

Ah yes. That final page. While this may be a slightly slower issue in terms of overall storyline development, Simone uses the closing couple of pages to jerk the wheel and send the series careering off into an exciting new direction.  The change in dynamic is so completely out of left field and yet, at the same time, so wonderfully obvious that it's amazing it hadn't occurred to me earlier.  One thing's for sure though, both the pace and the stakes are about to be ramped up to a whole new level for the second half of this series, and you can most definitely count me in for the remainder of this white-knuckle, homicidal superhero ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Legends of Red Sonja #1

Nov 5, 2013

Overall, this is an interesting look at an iconic character, and will hopefully give the reader a chance to explore the legend of Red Sonja from a variety of different perspectives as the series continues. For a character I hadn't read any of until very recently, I'm definitely finding myself more and more intrigued to find out more about her, and in that respect, this book is perfectly suited for me. Well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magneto (2014) #1

Mar 6, 2014

Overall, Magneto manages to separate itself from the pack with a gritty, brutal and uncharacteristically dark take on the Master of Magnetism, and has managed to attach itself firmly to my pull list for the foreseeable future. Well worth a look, folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Man Plus #1

May 24, 2015

Another utterly intriguing release from the folks at Titan then, and while it may be playing its cards somewhat close to its chest for the time being, theres enough of a hook here in this first issue to suggest that Arajos long-awaited creator owned passion project is going to become something truly special. Highly recommended, folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Manifest Destiny #1

Nov 12, 2013

Manifest Destiny is definitely a new title that's worth getting in on the ground floor of, and looks set to provide an interesting, extremely creative take on a well-established tale. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Manifest Destiny #4

Feb 11, 2014

A creative, exciting and beautifully illustrated comic, Manifest Destiny is something as many people as possible owe it to themselves to discover. You can thank me later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Munchkin #1

Jan 28, 2015

My only real concern for this title is with how its going to maintainthings moving forwards. As funny as the premise is, I can see it becoming rather repetitive fairly quickly, so Ill be watching with interest to see how they avoid things becoming stale in the issues to come. For the time being however, this is definitely a recommended purchase, for fans of the game in particular (each first print edition of the comic comes with a collectable Munchkin game card, folks!) as well as fans of, well, laughing in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Munchkin #3

Mar 24, 2015

With yet another free exclusive game card for fans of the Steve Jackson Games card game, die-hards have no excuse notto bepicking this one up on a monthly basis. Plus, with such sharp comedic writing on display, theres no reason that anyone else who enjoys a good chuckle shouldnt be grabbing it as well. It may well be my own affectionfor the zany world of D&D and RPGsin general that helps the jokes land as beautifully as they do, but Munchkin may well be the funniest comic on the shelves right now. Another critical hit for all involved, saving throw be damned.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Munchkin #4

Apr 29, 2015

Overall, while it may provide an ever-so-slight dip in quality from the first three issues, this latest instalment of the series manages to stay true to the spirit of the source material, bringing the laughs thick and fast and relocating the familiar dungeon-based humour to some intriguing new locations. Still well worth a look then, especially for card game players looking to snag themselves an exclusive playable game card.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nailbiter #1

Apr 26, 2014

Im calling it now Nailbiter is going to be an absolute runaway hit for Image. Its a series that truly gets under your skin. Or, more accurately, a series that gets under your skin, removes your skin, and then makes a rather fetching coat out of it. There are a lot of wonderfully messed-up characters here, and a truly gripping mystery at the heart of it all. Make sure you pick this one up when its released on the 7th of May. I guarantee you wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nailbiter #2

Jun 3, 2014

Overall, this is a book that as I mentioned before gets deep under your skin. There is a lot going on here, from the interactions of the main characters to the mystery of Carrolls disappearance to the truth behind the town itself, and I get the impression were only just getting started in what is likely to be a dizzying spiral into a sickening world of violence and depravity. Well, we can only hope, right? Buy this book. I guarantee you wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nailbiter / Hack/Slash (One-Shot) #1

Mar 5, 2014

Overall, while it doesn't necessarily add anything significant to either of the worlds, this is still a deliciously inventive collaboration between two of the top horror creative teams going today, and should be viewed as pretty much an essential purchase for fans of either series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Pirouette #1

Oct 8, 2014

Overall, while it does feel more like a prologue than the first chapter in a story, Pirouette #1 still does an admirable job of introducing a genuinely intriguing protagonist and giving us enough of a glimpse into her troubled life to help us become emotionally invested in what happens in her future. So while the pace is relatively restrained for the time being, as a well-rounded character study not to mention an absolute visual treat – Pirouette comes highly, highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pirouette #2

Nov 27, 2014

Readers looking for a fast-paced quick-fix of a horror comic will likely leave disappointed, but those who take the time to absorb the world that Miller and Granda have created here are in for an absolute treat. The pace is slow, but the mood and characterisation are right on the money, and the emotion packed into the final couple of pages of this issue make issue three an all-but-guaranteed purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Plants vs. Zombies #1

May 21, 2015

Plants vs. Zombies: Bully For Youis a gloriously fun series with a surprising amount of brainsssssss that doesnt take itself too seriously, and has lots to offer for readers of all ages. While I was initially a little sceptical about just how entertaining a comic based on a tower defence mobile game could actually be, in the hands of this particular creative team, it just flat-out works. Now, to start delving into that PvZ back catalogue

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Predator: Fire And Stone #1

Oct 22, 2014

Overall, while the emotional investment isn't quite there in the main character yet " for me, at least " this book overcomes this minor shortcoming by providing a story that demonstrates a clear affection for the Predator mythos, a firm understanding about just what makes these creatures so awesome, and showcases one of the most talented artists in the business today doing what he does best. Like everything else in Dark Horse's Fire and Stone event so far, this one is highly, highly recommended, folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Predator: Fire And Stone #2

Nov 26, 2014

Overall, this particular arc maintains its impressively high standard here, providing a unique look at the Predator that goes far beyond the 'sci-fi serial killers' they are often portrayed as. Galgo is gradually warming as a character, and while the release schedule of the Fire and Stone event remains its one true Achilles heel, the combined might of the four creative teams are still managing to keep things interesting and " as can be seen here " managing to slip in a few surprises along the way. Highly, highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Predator: Fire And Stone #3

Dec 16, 2014

Overall, by the final page of this issue, all the pieces have been moved into place for what should be a fiercely dramatic resolution, although it bears mentioning at this point that I'm not really sure exactly what role Kelly Sue DeConnick's "Omega" title is going to play in the overall narrative. Tying up loose ends? Laying the groundwork for something else down the line? Either way, with DeConnick at the helm, there's no concerns about the quality, and with a lot of ground to cover before we even get there, it's safe to say that Fire and Stone continues to cement itself as one of the most impressive uses of these franchises for quite some time, and serves as a showcase for four uniquely talented creative teams.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Predator: Fire And Stone #4

Jan 27, 2015

Overall though, the Predator strand of Dark Horses Fire and Stone web can definitely be considered to bea majorsuccess, and all eyes now fall on Kelly Sue DeConnicks Omega issue to wrap things up entirely. I for one cant wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #3

Nov 11, 2014

In almost a complete reversal of their cinematic counterparts, Prometheus remains the undisputed crown jewel in Dark Horse's Fire and Stone event. Compelling characters, tense, gripping situations and " I'll say it again " the best horror artist on the planet right now, all combining to make something truly special. Highly, highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #4

Dec 10, 2014

I'd love to live in a world where Paul Tobin and Juan Ferreyra created every comic on the shelves, but for the time being, this is more than enough to keep me satisfied.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Prometheus: Fire and Stone - Omega #1

Feb 11, 2015

Im keeping my fingers crossed that this shared universeis resurrected somewhere down the line, but for the time being, Fire and Stone has to be seen as an overwhelming success for the entire creative team involved,as well asproof that providing theyre done right licensed properties can be just as worthy as any other comic medium. If not more so.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum and Woody #5

Nov 5, 2013

Distracting artwork aside, this is a terrific comic with a creative premise that definitely doesnt take itself too seriously. Well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ragnarok #1

Jul 22, 2014

Overall however, Ragnarok serves as Walter Simonson's triumphant return to the genre he is perhaps best known for, and seems poised to deliver an epic, sprawling tale of violence and heroism. In his first creator-owned title in two decades, it's clear that Simonson has chosen a subject matter that he cares about deeply, and the level of detail and passion that has been poured into every single page of this issue is difficult not to get excited about. One thing's for sure, if it continues to look as gorgeous as it does in this opening issue, you can add Ragnarok to my ‘must read' pile for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rasputin #5

Feb 23, 2015

With the first volume of this story ending in shocking, heart-stopping fashion, it's undoubtedly going to be a long, painful wait until June 24th for the second volume in the series to begin. However, I'm going to make it my personal mission during that time to ensure that anyone who may have missed out on this inspired series until is given every opportunity to rectify that mistake. Gripping storytelling wrapped up in an utterly sublime visual package, Rasputin is a series that simply must be read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens #5

Feb 25, 2014

Simply put, if youre not reading Rat Queens right now, youre doing it wrong.  A fantastically original title that has developed an astounding cult following after just five issues.  Drama, humour, gore, sex-based jokes?  What more could you possibly want from a comic?  Buy Rat Queens. Now.  You owe it to yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Sonja (2016) #2

Feb 16, 2016

While artist Aneke's work is undoubtedly beautiful, with expressive characters and impressive panel layouts aplenty, her style doesn't necessarily transfer all that well to the action sequences, with a slight awkwardness to the posing and a sanitised, oddly disconnected feel to the combat. There also seems to be a worrying uniformity to her character's faces, with almost every female character we encounter here looking like the same woman in a different wig. That said, there are some truly stunning pages to be found here, and her un-objectified and utterly ass-kicking depiction of Sonja herself is definitely a thing of beauty.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja (2016) #3

Mar 15, 2016

The final pages add an intriguing new wrinkle to the story, and the groundwork has been laid impressively for the next chapter of this particular arc. Bennett continues to display a firm grasp of both Sonja's voice and her innate appeal as a character, and by thrusting her into this unusual position, the stage has been set for what should be a truly memorable chapter in the She-Devil's history. You can count me in for the foreseeable future, that's for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Sonja and Cub One Shot #1

Apr 1, 2014

Overall though, this is still worth a look, particularly for fans of the character, and definitely due to the beautiful artwork of Jonathan Lau. It all just feels like a little bit of a missed opportunity though, thinking about how truly great it could have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Red Sonja: The Black Tower #1

Sep 2, 2014

I honestly hate giving wholly negative reviews, but on this occasion the comic lands so incredibly wide of the mark that its difficult to find anything to really praise here. Red Sonja is a character Im desperate to see written and drawn well, if only to see her rise above the pointless misogyny label that so many readers place on the character. Sadly, on this occasion, Red Sonja: The Dark Tower plays right into these critics hands, providing a superficial look at a multi-layered character, and whose only real high point if you can call it that is Sonja removing the mercenary leaders weapon with what I can only assume to be her bare hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Robocop: Hominem Ex Machina #1

Feb 5, 2014

So, while there seems to be a rising wave of negativity directed towards the upcoming movie (this isnt the RoboCop I know and love!), this comic actually went a long way in reassuring me about the new films approach. Yes, some things have been changed, and yes, this isnt simply a shot-for-shot remake of the original, but based on Moreci and Coplands depiction on the new (and improved?) RoboCop franchise, I think I might actually give the film the benefit of the doubt.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Roche Limit #4

Jan 6, 2015

To go into detail about the events of this issue would be to completely undermine the stellar work Moreci has done to build things up to this point, so Ill gloss over any potential spoilers in favour of – well –you picking this issueup yourself. What I will say however is that while the series may have started off as something of a slow burner, Roche Limit is rapidly picking up a pace that seems unlikely to slow down any time soon. Morecis skilful world-building and Malhotras uniquely expressive artwork combine here to create something truly memorable; a noir-soaked sci-fi masterclass complete with twists, turns and dramatic, character-driven moments. Plus, as Ive just proved myself, its stillnot too late to get up to speed with this impressive series, and I strongly advise anyone reading this whos still on the fence to do just that. Trust me, you wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Roche Limit: Clandestiny #1

May 5, 2015

For an opening issue, Clandestinygets its hooks in early with some brilliantly compelling protagonists and tantalising mystery at its heart, managing to effortlessly fill the colossal shoes of its predecessor. Morecicontinues to carve out his reputation as one of the strongest, most versatile voices on the scene today, and the passion he pours into every single page of this series makes for truly riveting reading. A sharply written slice of existential sci-fi, Roche Limit: Clandestiny is your new favourite series, even if you dont know it yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Snow Blind #3

Feb 9, 2016

Overall then, while we may be heading for a bit of a sprint finish, Snow Blind remains one of the most intriguing thrillers Ive read for quite some time. It asks some truly interesting questions about the fragile nature of trust by dragging us kicking and screaming into the world of a deeply troubled teen who seems willing to stop at absolutely nothing to discover the truth about his family. The finale is going to be an absolute must-read, and its a testament to the strength of the storytelling that, at this point, I have absolutely no idea how its all going to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Snow Blind #4

Mar 8, 2016

Overall though, while it asks some fairly big questions about the nature of trust and the fragile nature of family, Snow Blind ends up being an incredibly intimate story about young Teddy's quest for truth.  How far do the bonds of family stretch, even when their entire existence has been built on a foundation of lies?  This final issue provides the chilling answer to that particular question, and does so with both flair and stark realism.  A fascinating, gripping and through-provoking crime thriller from start to finish, Snow Blind has staked its early claim to being one of the best titles of 2016.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sons of the Devil #1

May 27, 2015

Overall, while the true nature of the story has yet to be revealed, this is an incredibly engaging opening issue with a strong protagonist and a grounded sense of realism that only adds to the creeping horror. In a genre that finds itself increasingly relying on schlock and monsters to hammer its point home, Sons of the Devil provides one of the most truly chilling opening chapters to a series that I can remember, and snatches your attention like a blunt force trauma to the temple. Highly, highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Southern Cross #1

Mar 10, 2015

Overall, Southern Cross is series that manages to rise above the seemingly endless parade of sci-fi horror titles hitting the shelves these days, making its mark with a truly unique feel and a brilliantly intriguing protagonist. Count me in for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Rebel Heist #1

Apr 29, 2014

I'll be honest, this is a series that won me over with its premise before I'd even picked it up, but I'm happy to say that the execution definitely doesn't disappoint. This is an eye-opening and creative take on the well-established Star Wars Universe, and a perfect opportunity for the inner fanboy (or fangirl) in all of us to get up close and personal with our iconic heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Rebel Heist #2

May 27, 2014

A brilliantly creative take on a (potentially) over saturated franchise, Kindt manages to breathe fresh life into the characters we all know and love, and gives us the opportunity to see them in a whole new light.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suiciders #1

Feb 27, 2015

An engaging opening chapter then, and a bold, jarring introduction to a violent, intriguing world. While the true story has yet to really begin, the groundwork has been laid here in scintillating fashion, and the passion Berjemo has for this project can be felt seeping out of every single panel. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sundowners #5

Dec 23, 2014

If you havent been following Sundownersto this point, then I strongly urge you to remedy that as quickly as possible. This is a truly inspired take on the somewhat tired superhero genre, featuring some of the most intriguing characters Ive read in quitesome time. Seeley and Terry have combined to create something truly special here; a multi-layered look at the inherent insanity and identity issues that come hand in hand with being a quote-unquote hero, an utterly compelling story to boot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sundowners #6

Jan 27, 2015

Itll be interesting to see what direction Seeley takes things in the second arc, but with such brilliantly developed and multi-layered characters already in place, I cant see it being anything other than an overwhelming success. The flawed, vulnerable protagonists that have been created are each worth of individual praise, but its their interactions that really make this series come together. From Crowlita and her brash, profanity-laced outbursts, to the simmering sexual tension between Joe and Andrea, to my personal favourite, Shrejic himself, with his curious ways and mysterious secrets, this is an immaculately structured series with a brilliant premise at its core. One of the cleverest takes on both the horror and superhero genre that Ive seen for quite some time, Sundowners is a series that I honestly cant recommend highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sundowners #7

Mar 13, 2015

While Sundowners may have inexplicably failed to achieve the commercial success it clearly deserves, this is a series thats simply too good to be ignored, and deserves to be seen by as many eyes as possible. A brilliantly inventive take on the superhero genre, with horror, sci-fi and comedy elements thrown in for good measure, Sundowners was easily one of my favourite series of late 2014, and looks poised to continue that trend into the beginning of 2015. Get on it!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Super Secret Crisis War: Johnny Bravo #1

Jul 24, 2014

To summarise, the Johnny Bravo chapter of the ‘Super Secret Crisis War' has all the hallmarks a winning combination; faithful artwork, a fantastic writer, and a brilliant lead character. However, it just didn't quite manage to capture the magic of the television show, and came across as more than a little forced and unnatural as a result. Possibly worth a look if you're a bigtime fan, but not once I can recommend, I'm sad to say.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Foes of Spider-Man #5

Nov 14, 2013

I won't delve too much into the story, but suffice to say there's a lot going on here, including a gloriously absurd finalcouple of pages that are definitely going to make for some interesting reading moving forward. Simply put, Superior Foes of Spider-Man is a bandwagon that everyone reading this needs to hop onto before it picks up much more speed. I honestly cant recommend this title enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Surface Tension #1

May 20, 2015

Overall, Surface Tension lays out a truly intriguing premise in this first issue, introducing some of the key players and painting an impressive picture of creator Jay Gunns distinctive dystopian vision. Equal parts mystery, horror and human drama, this is a first issue that provides more questions than it does answers, but with the clear passion Gunn has for the project, Surface Tension looks poised to become something truly special as the story progresses. Jump in and get your feet wet before you end up missing out on what could be one of the sleeper hits of 2015.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #27

Jan 9, 2014

Alongside Snyders Batman, Swamp Thing has easily been the best title to come out of the New 52, and with Soule and Saiz working in perfect harmony here, this is a book that everybody owes it to themselves to have in their pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #45

Apr 28, 2015

The final few pages leave us with a unexpected new dynamic for the team moving forward, and with the creative team subtly shifting pieces in the background to set up the next chapter of their story, I have no doubt that readers dipping into this series as a result of the increased media coverage due to thecontroversial events of the previous issue will find themselves completely and utterly hooked, kicking themselves for not picking up this title sooner.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #46

May 26, 2015

I get the impression that this is one of those issues that will read better as part of a trade, serving as a slight storyline lull as we take stock of exactly where we are before pushing forward again. Unfortunately however, as a single issue, it comes across as more than a little flat, lacking direction and failing to provideenough meat for the reader to get their teeth into. That said, given the track record of the Eastman and Waltz write partnership, Im more than happy to write this one offas a minor blip rather thanhitting the panic button and abandoning ship.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #54

Jan 26, 2016

Overall then, this latest arc continues to showcase the truly gripping nature of IDW's TMNT universe, with complex character arcs mixed with dynamic, exciting action.  As I've said before, you can count me in for the foreseeable future, and if a – gasp – Mutanimals storyline can't derail Waltz and Eastman's unstoppable momentum, I honestly don't think anything can.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #55

Feb 23, 2016

In summary then, while this is essentially a transitional issue between larger storylines, the sheer consistency of IDWs TMNT title remains unparalleled, particularly in the often shaky world of licensed comics.  Even in these down issues there are still so many great moments, and with the seeds being planted for what could prove to be some significant changes in the issues to come, my dedication to this series remains absolute for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #56

Mar 22, 2016

That niggle aside, this is another typically strong installment of the series, and offers up some truly interesting moral questions, a fantastic new character in Leatherhead, and an impressively shocking cliffhanger. Once again, I find myself having praise the sheer consistency of this series, and of the measured, thoughtful plotting of its creative team. Roll on next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: 30th Anniversary Special #1

May 20, 2014

A beautiful encapsulation of everything thats great about the TMNT, and a respectful and passionate celebration of three amazing decades. If youre a Turtle fan, you need this in your collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time #1

Jun 18, 2014

Readers looking for the more gritty, realistic Turtles that have graced the pages of IDW's ongoing series in recent years are likely to be disappointed here, but those of us looking for a quick injection of the fun and humour that made the Turtles such a cartoon sensation are in for a treat. Personally speaking, my own tastes lie somewhere in the middle, but there's no denying the appeal " particularly to younger readers " of the story that Allor, Campbell and Crabtree have put together here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time #2

Jul 22, 2014

The epilogue is also legitimately goosebump-raising stuff, and serves as a perfect sign-off for what is probably the finest stand-alone TMNT story Ive read in quite some time. Obviously the story links into the previous and following issues, but this is a story that stands on its own merits, and is one that should be considered pretty much essential reading for any Turtle fans out there. I honestly cant recommend this one highly enough, folks. Even if you havent picked up the first issue, you owe it to yourself to give this one a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time #3

Aug 26, 2014

Overall, Turtles in Time continues to provide an entertaining take on the potentially worn-out time travel trope, and while this issue doesnt quite maintain the dizzying heights of issue two, Bates' gorgeous artwork and Burnhams firm, confident grasp on the lead characters ensure that this is still pretty much essential reading for any and all TMNT fans out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time #4

Sep 16, 2014

Overall, Turtles in Time serves as a microcosm of exactly what makes the Turtles so great (and, at the same time, so inherently hit-and-miss). Weve been treated to fantastic action beats with our heroes in a half shell bouncing around kicking ass, weve had emotional character moments as the four brothers squabble, bicker and eventually come together in the face of adversity, weve had a taster of the rich universe and cast of characters that fleshes out our heroes antics, and yes, weve had a lot of jokes about pizza. This series is well worth a look for any fan of everyones favourite sewer-dwelling ninjas, and while this may not be a perfect final issue, it does have a lot to offer, particularly in its closing pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thanos: The Infinity Revelation #1

Aug 21, 2014

Ever since his post-credits scene in The Avengers, Thanos has been something of a hot property, and following his recent appearance in Marvels Guardians of the Galaxy, interest in him has never been higher as people desperately scramble to find out more about the smirking, purple-skinned Titan. This may not perhaps be the best jumping-on point for newcomers to gain an understanding of Thanos " particularly the Emperor Palpatine-eque Josh Brolin version " but for long-time fans of the character, this provides a unique insight into the inner workings of his psyche, and shows a master comicbook craftsman carving out something truly memorable with some of his favourite tools.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
That's Because You're a Robot (One Shot) #1

Jun 10, 2014

This may not be a style that works for everyone, but it definitely works for me. So if you feel like having your brain melted and your retinas scorched, then this is a title you owe it to yourself to pick up. And if not? Well thats probably because youre a robot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Delinquents #1

Aug 19, 2014

The Delinquents manages to take two incredibly strong double acts and integrate them in such a way as to ensure that not a single character is lost in the shuffle, all the while making sure the humour keeps flowing and the whole thing doesn't end up feeling forced. So whether you're familiar with the worlds of Archer & Armstrong or Quantum & Woody, do yourselves a favour and pick this one up. I promise you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Delinquents #2

Sep 17, 2014

If youve not been following the exploits of these two partnerships in their separate titles to this point, then this series is all but guaranteed to convert you. Ill freely admit that Ive only dipped in and out of the individual books previously, but based on what Ive seen here, theres absolutely no doubt in my mind Im going to be checking them both out in the future. Superpowered goofballs trading insults and wise-cracks in a ludicrously bizarre situation? Whats not to like? It seems like theres an almost endless barrage of titles out there at the moment trying to be zany and offbeat but missing the mark spectacularly. The Delinquents is not one of these comics. If you like to laugh, then you owe it to yourself to pick this one up. Its just that simple.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Goddamned #3

Feb 24, 2016

While it's not entirely clear just where these two creators are going with this story, I can honestly say that, at this point, I simply don't care. Actually, allow me to clarify that; what I mean is that, given how completely and utterly captivated I am by the world Aaron and Gura have created, with its beautiful squalor and mesmerisingly shocking levels of violence and depravity, I honestly can't think of a single direction they could take where I wouldn't keep picking this book up each and every time they decide to put an issue on the shelves. The best new title from Image Comics in a long, long time, and that isn't a compliment I give away lightly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Midas Flesh #1

Dec 18, 2013

Overall, The Midas Flesh is an intriguing opening chapter to what should be an interesting tale, and Im definitely going to be sticking around to see what happens next.  And with this new Boom! Box imprint seemingly dedicating itself to allowing established creator to cut loose and have some fun with somewhat out there ideas, Im excited to find out what they have in store in the future.  Well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Names #1

Sep 3, 2014

The first issue of The Names serves as an appetizer, a fleeting glimpse at a larger world and what seems poised to be a conspiracy with far-reaching implications. But most of all, it serves as an introduction to Katya Walker, a compelling and multi-layered protagonist who Im going to be watching with a great deal of interest as this series moves forward. Another hit from the folks at Vertigo, and a fantastically intriguing first chapter from Milligan. Well worth a look, folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Remains #1

Mar 4, 2014

Its always a pleasure to see writers cut loose with their own creator-owned projects, and thats something Bunn is clearly doing here, creating a dark, sinister world filled with compelling and in the case of Cole Jensen truly unsettling protagonists. With an endless stream of "issue ones" flooding our way on a daily basis, it's important for a new title to grab my attention from the get-go, and give me a reason to keep reading. The Remains managed to do both these things effortlessly, immediately sucking me into a world of mystery, tension and horror. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Squidder #1

Jul 15, 2014

The Squidder is a perfect example of a creator being able to tell the story they always wanted to, without limits or restrictions, and Templesmiths passion for the subject matter shines through on pretty much every single page. Gorgeous to look at, unnerving in places yet always utterly compelling, you owe it to yourself to pick this comic up. Hail to the squid!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Walking Dead #116

Nov 12, 2013

However, in spite of this, what we have here is another extremely enjoyable slice of the episodic storytelling that this series has become so famous for. And while the latest event hasn't quite lived up to its lofty expectations – at least not just yet – to use the words of Rick himself, “the war has only just begun.”

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Witcher #2

Apr 22, 2014

Overall though, The Witcher is definitely an intriguing series, and while the first two issues have done an admirable job of the ‘set up', I think its about time that we had a little payoff. Ill definitely be sticking with it to see how things pan out, and I have total faith that Tobin and Querrio can turn things around as the series nears its conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thief of Thieves #26

Feb 24, 2015

Overall, while it could almost be seen as a transitional, or ‘set-up' issue — a deep breath before the next big plunge — the final pages provide a spark that seems destined to lead to a raging inferno before too long. At any rate, simply being reunited with these familiar characters, and the world that Diggle and Martinborough have created as a whole, is a long overdue pleasure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thief of Thieves #27

Mar 24, 2015

To be honest, the one truly criminal thing about Thief of Thieves is the fact that I'm still just reading it in comic form, instead of also tuning in every week to watch it on TV. Come on AMC, get your act together! The world deserves to experience the world of Redmond and chums, and sooner rather than later. For the time being though, Thief of Thievesremains episodic storytelling at its finest, complete with a dynamic structure and a truly engaging cast of characters. This latest arc is a solid jumping-on point, but with all the previoustrades being available, theres no reason not to dig into the archives and experience this gripping saga right from the start. It may have its ups and downs along the way, but for a consistently gripping heist drama, theres really not much else on the shelves these days that cantrulyhope to compete.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thief of Thieves #28

May 5, 2015

Overall, Thief of Thieves keeps the strong momentum of its latest arc going here, and if the events of this issue are to be believed, things are fixing to ramp up significantlyin the issues to come. Diggleand Martinbroughs crime thriller continues to go from strength to strength then, and by introducing an inventive new dynamic on the Redmond persona, theyve managed to re-energise this already pretty damn energetic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thor (2014) #5

Feb 13, 2015

Overall, its no real surprise that Ive been loving this series, being that I am such a die-hard Jason Aaron fan. Objectively speaking though, this is still undoubtedly a deftly handled take on what could be a fairly contentious transition period, and should, five issues in, be more than enough to prove to the doubters that this quote-unquote publicity stunt is so much more than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Toe Tag Riot #3

Feb 13, 2015

Overall, while readers looking for a sophisticatedbreakdown of the social injustice and bigotry of the world are unlikely to find what theyre looking for here, those of us who just want to see a Dudebropumped so full of steroids that his arm explodes are in for an absolute treat. It may be a little on the nose at times, but thisis aworthy message delivered with all the subtlety of a Doc Marten to the groin. Highly recommended, providing youre willing to look past the superficial flaws.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Toe Tag Riot #4

Apr 13, 2015

As a comic, its undeniably a little hit or miss, but as a statement, it hits the mark like a bayonet-adorned guitar to the temple. Black Mask Studios take great pride in their mission statement of backing comics that other publishers wouldnt necessarily look twice at, and Toe Tag Riot is living, breathing proof of that. Subversive, transgressive and filled with raw passion, this is a series that wears its heart on its sleeve, and in todays increasingly sterile, cookie-cutter world of comics, thats something to be truly admired.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Transference #2

Aug 19, 2015

Don't get me wrong folks, this is still a strong offering from Black Mask Studios, and as soon as I can wrap my little head around the premise, I have no doubt that my enjoyment of it will skyrocket. Plus, given Moreci's track record, this year in particular (#YearofMoreci, yo), my confidence is incredibly high that everything will sort itself out sooner rather than later, and that the key strengths of this series – the main character, the visuals and the dialogue – will be allowed to shine like they truly deserve to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Transformers: Robots In Disguise #22

Oct 29, 2013

Personally speaking, its great to know that Soundwave (a personal favourite of mine) is going to play such a significant role in the upcoming crossover, as hes a character who far too often finds himself lost in the shuffle behind the established favourites such as Megaton, Optimus Prime, Starscream, Bumblebee etc. These two issues have done more to develop the character than Ive seen in a long time, and have ramped up my excitement for Dark Cybertron in a major way as a result

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny #6

Feb 11, 2014

With the trade paperback collecting the first six issues due out on the 26th of February, I really cant recommend this series enough to new readers. This is well worth picking up for an immersive, exciting and creative title thats all but guaranteed to hook you from the very first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unity #1

Nov 12, 2013

Overall, this served as an eye-opening first foray into the world of Valiant, and a tremendously compelling first chapter in what promises to be a sprawling, epictale. Well worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wild's End #1

Sep 9, 2014

Gorgeous artwork, engaging characters and the quirky combination of two all-too-familiar genres make The Wilds End something truly worth seeking out, if only to get on board with this brilliantly creative tale before it really starts to pick up steam.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wild's End: The Enemy Within #6

Feb 25, 2016

In summary, while this could potentially be an easy series to overlook with its fluffy, all-ages appearance and ‘out-there' concept, I often find that a simple equation works best in these kind of occasions; Abnett + Culbard = awesome. Whether it's Dark Ages, The New Deadwardians or either of their Wild's End stories, this is a creative team which brings out the absolute best in one another, and this series is a glowing testament to the devastating effect of their unconventional ‘mash up' approach. Featuring gripping plot twists and utterly engaging characters, The Wild's End: The Enemy Within is a truly accomplished series that deserves to be seen by as many wide, appreciative eyes as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-O Manowar #20

Dec 17, 2013

Overall, while this is most definitely not the standalone story arc its advertised as, this title works extremely well as part of the ongoing saga, and provides some key character and storyline beats that are undoubtedly going to be extremely significant as the rest of this crossover unfolds. Well worth a look, but only if you have some knowledge of what has happened previously.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Xena: Warrior Princess #1

Apr 12, 2016

Overall then, there may just be enough here to appease die-hard Xena fans, providing they can temper their expectations. For the rest of us however, this is likely to fall woefully short, providing a shallow, bland and uninspired dose of fantasy fiction. Its not bad as such, it just feels utterly, utterly forgettable and comes across like a disappointing waste of a potentially brilliant comic book franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More