gangstermegan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nerd Initiative Reviews: 48
9.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Black Widow & Hawkeye (2024) #3

May 22, 2024

If I've said it once, I've said it a hundred times. One of the best things Marvel has given us is the friendship between Natasha and Clint. The loyalty and love between these two runs so deep and you can see it so clearly in Black Widow & Hawkeye #3. Another excellent comic for this run!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Widow & Hawkeye (2024) #4

Jun 26, 2024

I think it did a good job showing how connected they've always been. So connected to the point that their life is a pattern that they've grown comfortable with. I always enjoy the plot points that show how deep their friendship goes. Black Widow & Hawkeye #4 is an excellent continuation for this run and I can't wait to see what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Blasfamous (2024) #2

Apr 24, 2024

The comic's writing exudes a modern and trendy vibe, perfectly in sync with our main character's celebrity status in contemporary society. The artwork impresses with its meticulous detail in every panel, complemented by colors that flawlessly enhance each scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blood Hunters (2024) #1

Jun 4, 2024

This was such a strong start to this run, and I truly can't wait to see what's next. Everything I've read from the Blood Hunt event has been fabulous and this is no different. Creating so much chaos but still having the emotional depth isn't easy but the creative team pulls it off with flying colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blood Hunters (2024) #2

Jun 5, 2024

All three stories worked so well together in one comic book. Each one had their own stakes but it was still shown they were all fighting the same battle. The Blood Hunters books have been really exciting! The creative teams truly showing their incredible skills at keeping you captivated in the small stories while keeping your mind on the big picture of the story as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool & Wolverine: WWIII (2024) #1

May 1, 2025

The writing in Deadpool & Wolverine: World War III was fantastic. The dynamic chemistry between the main characters was palpable, and I particularly enjoyed Wolverine's introspective monologue throughout the comic. It added a layer of vulnerability to Wolverine, allowing readers to glimpse into his thoughts and emotions. Joe Kelly really did an impeccable job on this first installment and I can't wait to read what does with the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool (2024) #1

Apr 3, 2024

Overall, I think this deserves a 10 out of 10. The writing, the art, the characters, everything was excellent. I truly can't wait to see what's next for Deadpool and Princess. I have so many theories running around in my head as to what could be next. If you're a Deadpool fan like me, I can guarantee you'll find this comic exciting and compelling!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool (2024) #2

May 8, 2024

I found this second install of Deadpool to be another homerun. It was funny with nodes of seriousness that are so true to the character of Deadpool. I feel Cody Ziglar has such a firm grasp on the characters and delivers their stories in such a way that has you feeling like you're reading about the adventures of an old friend. He nails every aspect you'd want to see in a Deadpool comic book, whether it be the humor, the laughing off of the seriousness, the chaos, or the emotions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deadpool (2024) #3

Jun 12, 2024

I thought it was a lot of fun! I'm excited to see how the team utilizes Ellie and her abilities. I'm also very interested to see what plan Death Grip has in store for Deadpool. We've been so spoiled with great Deadpool content we've been getting and what we're going to get in the near future. I couldn't be more grateful as a fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deep Cuts (2023) #6

Apr 3, 2024

Deep Cuts #6 exhibits exceptional pacing, infused with a genuine sense of realism and growth. It's crafted with a poignant sense of self doubt and vulnerability at the most critical times in a musicians life, as well as the feeling of self-discovery that resonates deeply with the emotions of finding one's self worth. I found it very relatable, especially when Barry felt he lost his right to his journey when grieving the loss of his idol.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dracula: Blood Hunt (2024) #1

Jun 18, 2024

I really enjoyed how fast paced this comic was. It made you really experience the excitement and confusion that Brielle was experiencing while Dracula's even tone made you feel the tension in the air. The story itself is extremely compelling with Dracula tracking down his oldest enemy's daughter to team up to save the world from the Blood Hunt. Danny Lore does an incredible job at keeping you on the edge of your seat throughout the comic book!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dracula: Blood Hunt (2024) #2

Jun 19, 2024

I've read quite a bit of the Blood Hunt event, and I have to say this might be my favorite run. All in all, there's so much depth within this story with very high stakes. The creative team is doing an outstanding job on all fronts in Dracula: Blood Hunt #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Faith Returns (2024) #2

Jun 19, 2024

Faith Returns #2 is a modern look at a superpowered story. Faith's dialogue is written how anyone living in the era would talk, which makes her feel very relatable. The story itself is fun and easy to read, especially if you're new to the world of superhero comics. I think the story does a great job explaining itself in a way that doesn't feel like it's over doing it, but just enough so you can keep up with it without feeling lost.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Immortal Thor (2023) #11

May 22, 2024

I loved every bit of the writing for The Immortal Thor #11. The dialogue from the characters was serious but you could still see a sibling-like humor between them. Personally, I think it would be very difficult to make a storyline involving so many strong characters and each of them still be able to shine, but Al Ewing nailed it. I can't wait to see what Ewing does with The Immortal Thor #12.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jackpot & Black Cat (2024) #1

Mar 27, 2024

The writing I thought was done really well. The conversations flowed well, and nothing felt forced to me. It's how I would imagine MJ and Felicia to interact in real life. I do wish we got to see a little more dialogue between them, showing them truly forming a friendship and not talking just because there's a dangerous situation they have to solve.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jackpot & Black Cat (2024) #2

Apr 24, 2024

As for the writing, it was masterfully executed. The dialogue flowed seamlessly, devoid of any forced elements. It felt authentic, mirroring how I would envision Jackpot and Black Cat to converse while on a mission together. Something I really appreciate is how Black Cat shows empathy and understanding for Jackpot at the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jackpot & Black Cat (2024) #4

Jun 26, 2024

I think this was a perfect way to end the Jackpot & Black Cat comic run. The way Black Cat showed her loyalty to Jackpot in the end was handled really well. I hope to see Jackpot and Black Cat work together again because this was so much fun to read. The loyalty and love between the best friends was portrayed excellently. Hats off the to the creative team for this run!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Midnight Sons: Blood Hunt (2024) #1

May 29, 2024

The writing is superb! The storyline grips you so tightly that by the end of the comic book, you're left yearning for more. The character interactions are diverse yet consistently maintain the dark tone of Midnight Sons: Blood Hunt #1. Each character exudes their own distinct personality, shining brightly throughout this first installment. Bryan Hill's talent is very obvious when reading Midnight Sons: Blood Hunt #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ms. Marvel: Mutant Menace (2024) #4

Jun 5, 2024

I think the entire creative team of Ms. Marvel: Mutant Menace #4 shows that they truly care about Kamala as a character, given the incredible work they've done so far. From the story to the art, to the cover art, it's all been an absolute pleasure to experience. I'll be very anxiously waiting for Ms. Marvel: Mutant Menace #5!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Scarlet Witch (2024) #1

Jun 12, 2024

I think this new Scarlet Witch run will be fantastic if it's anything like the first installment. Scarlet Witch #1 was an extremely strong start. The creative team really showed their talents with this. As someone that's a big Scarlet Witch fan, I can honestly say that I loved it and I can't wait to read the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sensational She-Hulk (2023) #9

Jun 19, 2024

The Sensational She-Hulk #9 was a really fun read, just as the rest of this run has been. You can see that the writers and artists are having a lot of fun with Jen and the story. I'm really excited to see what's next for Jen!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Gwen: The Ghost-Spider (2024) #1

May 22, 2024

I have to say, this comic book got my blood pumping. Seeing Spider-Gwen back in action did my heart good. It was such a pleasure seeing O.B. again since he was a brand new character for Loki Season 2 on Disney+. Also, I have to mention that I love the villain that was chosen for this run. There's not a single thing I would have done differently in Spider-Gwen: The Ghost-Spider #1. If I could grade this as an 11 out of 10, I would. I'll be anxiously waiting for the second installment to drop!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spider-Gwen: The Ghost-Spider (2024) #2

Jun 26, 2024

Spider-Gwen: The Ghost-Spider #2 is a perfect second installment of this run. It's very fun while having pretty serious stakes. The creative team outdid themselves on this. I can't wait to see what's next!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Punk: Arms Race (2024) #3

Apr 24, 2024

One word I would use to describe this would be vibrant. The artwork all the way to the plot was vibrant. I can honestly say I haven't gotten this excited reading a comic run in a while, and that's saying something because I've read some incredible comics. To say I'm excited to see what's next for Spider-Punk: Arms Race would be a huge understatement.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Punk: Arms Race (2024) #4

May 29, 2024

While the comic run was only four issues, it was a full course meal of everything you could ask for in a comic book run. Spider-Punk: Arms Race #4 was the perfect way to end the Arms Race run. From the artwork to the dialogue between the characters, I would say this is as close to a perfect comic book run as you could get.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spider-Woman (2023) #6

Apr 17, 2024

The artwork was fantastic. I particularly enjoyed the depiction of the climactic battle at the end, especially showcasing Star's unique powers. The contrast between Jessica's abilities and Star's powers provided an engaging clash that was visually striking.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin #1

Mar 13, 2024

A 10, I give this issue a solid 10. It's such a strong start to an excellent comic run. The darkness of it is something you just wouldn't expect when reading a TMNT comic book. Although the "cowabunga dude energy is nowhere to be found, it's replaced by depth and the feeling of longing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin: II - Re-Evolution #1

Mar 6, 2024

I would absolutely recommend giving this comic book a read if you're a fan of the Ninja Turtles. Even if you're not a fan, I'm willing to bet you'd enjoy this one!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin: II - Re-Evolution #2

Jun 19, 2024

Another banger of a comic for TMNT: The Last Ronin Re-Evolution! They've got me hooked with the story and the characters. Seeing April and Casey care so deeply for the Ninja Turtles, while the Turtles want to get out there and prove themselves works so well in this comic book. I'll be impatiently waiting for the third issue to release as I can't wait to see what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Tormented (2024) #1

Mar 19, 2024

I would have liked a bit more about his family history, but that's because I'm a sucker for an origin story. Other than that, everything in this first issue was fabulous.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The White Trees: A Blacksand Tale #1

May 1, 2024

The artwork in The White Trees is simply astounding. The vibrant contrasts of colors of the characters versus the backgrounds makes you feel like you're in their world experiencing all of the fantastical encounters with the characters. Every single fight scene in the comic will have your heart racing as quickly as your admiration grows with the fantastic drawing of the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ultimate X-Men (2024) #2

Apr 10, 2024

I found this comic to be relatable when dealing with the emotions of being close to someone who died by suicide. It authentically portrays the feelings of guilt, the instinct to avoid confronting emotions, and the tendency to withdraw inwardly while coping with loss. The narrative beautifully delves into the shadows of Hisako's life, offering insights that anyone who has experienced the mental anguish resulting from bullying can understand.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate X-Men (2024) #4

Jun 12, 2024

Ultimate X-Men is such a unique way to experience the mutants and the fourth issue continues that. Every new character or new part of the plot is added just at the exact right pace. Peach Momoko and the creative team hit another home run with Ultimate X-Men #4

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Venom: Separation Anxiety (2024) #1

May 15, 2024

This comic book is definitely one to read if you have any interest at all in Venom. This was exactly what I would want out of a Venom comic book. It had the action, the dialogue, the compelling story, the stunning artwork. All the makings of an excellent read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Venom: Separation Anxiety (2024) #2

Jun 19, 2024

I'm loving where Venom: Separation Anxiety is going with its story. This issue had so much substance in its story, it's hard to believe it was just one comic book. The tension between Eddie and Joy is so well written, that you almost feel the thick air yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wolverine: Blood Hunt (2024) #1

Jun 5, 2024

This was such a fun comic book to jump into. The story is so captivating and keeps you hooked to every panel. The art is superb, which is clea to see just by looking at the cover art and variant covers. I can't wait to see what's next for Wolverine: Blood Hunt!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wolverine: Blood Hunt (2024) #2

Jun 19, 2024

The second installment matches the same energy as Wolverine: Blood Hunt #1. I really hope it continues to be this good because this run is something special. The creative team should be very proud of themselves for this one!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men '97 (2024) #1

Mar 27, 2024

The writing excellent! Somehow they managed to pack so many exciting things into one issue and still have a great flow. The artwork was phenomenal! The colors were very aesthetically pleasing. I love how every character looked, especially Storm. Personally, I'm a huge fan of the mohawk. A badass look for a badass woman!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men '97 (2024) #2

Apr 10, 2024

We X-Men fans are truly being treated with an abundance of fantastic content from Marvel lately. The writing and dialogue continue to impress, as expected! The emotional depth portrayed in each scenario within the comic was remarkable. Moreover, the artwork is exceptional, especially the vibrant portrayal of every fight scene, showcasing the brilliance of each powerset's bright colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men '97 (2024) #3

May 22, 2024

I'm really grateful they made this prelude to the Disney+ series and gave us this extra content after it being so long since we have gotten to see our favorite mutants in action like this. X-Men 97 #3 does an excellent job of continuing the first two comics while giving us knew content to add to the story. I can't wait for the fourth issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men '97 (2024) #4

Jun 26, 2024

I really do hope they continue the X-Men '97 comic stories. I think there's lots of opportunities to have spin off stories regarding X-Men '97. This run made the show feel even bigger than it already did. The creative team really showcased their talents with this run and as an X-Men fan, I couldn't be more grateful. Hats off to everyone that worked on this!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men (2021) #34

May 1, 2024

The art in X-Men #34 is as solid as it gets. Something I love about the X-Men comics is that every mutant shines in their own right when it comes to how they're drawn. The colors on their suits are always gorgeous and fits their personality perfectly. In this case, I think Shadowkat looks fantastic. The blue and black suit with the hood added to the emotional tone of the scene at the end of the comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men: Blood Hunt (2024): Jubilee #1

Jun 12, 2024

I'm loving all of the Blood Hunt comics coming out but this one felt like it made the most sense for the character. Like I mentioned before, I think Jubilee is pretty underrated and this showed just how helpful she can be just by using the knowledge of her past. X-Men: Blood Hunt Jubilee is a lot of fun and an interesting look at how other vampires are looking at the Blood Hunt situation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men: Forever (2024) #2

Apr 24, 2024

X-Men: Forever #2 skillfully maintains the exciting momentum characteristic of the X-Men series. Bursting with action throughout, the comic adeptly blends character development and storyline progression. The artwork is exquisite, showcasing each mutant with a stunning array of colors. Personally, I find Rachel Summers, also known as Askani, particularly striking in this issue. The scenes are visually captivating, with the final scene being especially memorableI won't spoil it, but trust me, it's fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men: Forever (2024) #3

May 8, 2024

While this was an emotional issue with plenty of action, there also was a few funny moments intertwined. The comic does a great job at blending all of these elements together in a way that doesn't feel forced, but flows nicely. The writer, Kieron Gillen, does a fantastic job at giving each mutant their own chance to shine without dulling the other's around them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men: Forever (2024) #4

May 15, 2024

X-Men: Forever #4 does an excellent job at keeping the pace as its predecessors. Each issue has been nonstop action as well as great insights into the struggles of the mutants, and this comic is no exception. I look forward to what comes next in this run!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Heir of Apocalypse (2024) #1

Jun 12, 2024

Like I mentioned, I think the storyline is a lot of fun. The characters chosen are a great bunch that I can't to see interact and compete against each other. With all the heavy stuff going on in the other X-Men comics currently, this feels lighter and more of a fun time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men: Heir of Apocalypse (2024) #2

Jun 26, 2024

Personally, I think the second installment of X-Men: Heir of Apocalypse was even more fun than the first one. The stakes felt a lot higher in this one, for sure. Steve Foxe is fantastic at keeping the excitement going throughout the comic. He does a great job at giving each mutant their own chance to shine without watering down the other characters. I can't wait to see what's next for X-Men: Heir of Apocalypse!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More