J.A. Fludd's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 35
8.8Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Fantastic Four (2018) #1

Aug 11, 2018

This issue, in which nothing happened but everything happened, played like the prologue to the real story still to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Fantastic Four (2018) #2

Sep 23, 2018

This ending of this issue also symbolizes what we most need to see right now: The Fantastic Four asleaders of the Marvel cast of characters.Not followers of trends, not a subordinate or secondary presence, not imitators of the sensationalistic things going on in other comics, not riders of the coattails of other characters. This is a disservice to the characters who started it all and are still the greatest. Let's never forget it again: They are still The Fantastic Four.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Fantastic Four (2018) #3

Nov 15, 2018

This issue represents the Fantastic Fourboth the book and its charactersgetting back on their feet after three years of separation and three years without a new issue every month. One more welcome sight is to be found on the cover of the main edition of this issue, with the Esad Ribic painting: the return of the Worlds Greatest Comic Magazine! banner over the title. Regardless of commercial considerations and the relative popularity of other characters who would not even exist if there had been no Fantastic Four, it is this book and only this book to which the designation of The Worlds Greatest Comic Magazine! rightfully belongs. With more appropriate art choices and the sure hand of Dan Slott on scripts, we may yet hope to see another renaissance for the firstand still the bestMarvel comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Fantastic Four (2018) #4

Nov 30, 2018

So, to tally things up: The FF are back on regular Marvel Earth with a new home; someone else is living in their former digs; The Future Foundation has withdrawn into the subplot, making our team once again the Fantastic FOUR; and Ben and Alicia have moved up the wedding date. And coming up along with that, we have Dr. Doom and Galactus in what I surmise will bring new twists to familiar stories. If we can just keep up the quality of the artand have people draw the Human Torch and the Thing correctlythe current stories of Dan Slott just might make it a great time to be reading The Worlds Greatest Comic Magazine! again. Stay tuned, Four fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Fantastic Four (2018) #5

Dec 28, 2018

Tallying up Fantastic Four #5: These first five issues have been about getting Marvels founding heroes back on their feet after three years on hiatus. We now have the team back together and in a new headquarters, the Future Foundation gone, the Thing and Alicia married, and Dr. Doom and Galactus back in play. I for one look forward to Reed and Doom having a chance to catch up with each other in the wake of the last Secret Wars. With everything and everyone now in place, my wish for 2019 is to see this book truly become THE FANTASTIC FOUR again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Fantastic Four (2018) #6

Jan 19, 2019

Victorious is a well-designed character and I hope Slott has some interesting twists in mind for the story that I suspect lies ahead for her. Aaron Kuder, please dont leave. Gracia and Arciniega, keep up the good work. This issue of The FF leaves us eager to see more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Fantastic Four (2018) #7

Mar 3, 2019

In spite of the aggravating postponement of its releasethe second time Marvel has done this to us since re-starting the FF series, and will they please knock it off?this is another winning issue. The art of Aaron Kuder continues to be impressive (Reeds damn beard notwithstanding); if Kuder continues as hes doing now, his work will be remembered as being entirely worthy of The Worlds Greatest Comic Magazine! And Dan Slotts stories are humming along, making us want to see what awaits us on the other side of this story that restores Dr. Doom to his role as the baddest of all the bad guys. We should hope not to have to wait until the end of March to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Fantastic Four (2018) #8

Apr 1, 2019

With this issue and the next, Dan Slott will have completed his re-set of The Fantastic Four. He has the team back together and up and running, in a new home, with the kids older and Ben and Alicia married. He has restored Dr. Doom to his place at the top of the super-villain food chain (and then some). Once we get past the War of the Realms crossover episode scheduled for FF #10, I have a feeling (assuming the art remains consistent) that things are going to start looking really fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Fantastic Four (2018) #9

Apr 30, 2019

In all of comics there is no greater enmity than that of the Fantastic Four and Dr. Doom and no more entertaining story than watching Marvels greatest heroes and greatest villain come to blows. For all of Marvels history, the most bitter enemies have been Doom and Mr. Fantasticbut now, with this new twist, Dooms wrath and vengeance will fall on Reeds wife as much as on Reed himself. Up to this point, Dooms attitude towards Sue has been, Beautiful, but married to my mortal enemy and must be destroyed. Now the Invisible Woman is as much Dooms bitter foe as her husband is, and that could get us into some very interesting situations in tales yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Fantastic Four (2018) #10

Jun 3, 2019

With our heroes and the kids now settled in to their new home, all the pieces are in place for renewed and continued Fantastic Four greatness. The next order of business, to be taken up next issue, is the honeymoon of Ben and Alicia. And what better time to bring back yet another FF tradition: An epic battle between the many-splendored Thing and the ever-incredible Hulk! Thats for next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Fantastic Four (2018) #11

Jun 30, 2019

And so, another good Fantastic Four story, well-told, art problems aside, brings us nearly to the end of the first year of the revived FF book. All the characterizations are clicking, and Franklins power problems and their effect on his morale pose an interesting conflict, of which we are surely seeing only the beginning. Dan Slott continues to lay the groundwork for what may prove to be one of The FFs most creatively fertile periods.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Fantastic Four (2018) #12

Aug 6, 2019

Dan Slott once again turns in a good story that leaves you wanting more. The backup feature jacked up the price of this issue by a dollar, and its a dollar I would rather not have spent for that artwork. And Im really anxious to see the outcome of this latest, and possibly most fateful, battle between The Thing and The Hulk. Come on, August 14, 2019!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Fantastic Four (2018) #13

Aug 23, 2019

In these thirteen issues so far, Dan Slott has reunited The Fantastic Four, brought them home, given them a new place to live, married Alicia and The Thing, restored the villainy of Dr. Doom, and now given us another memorable round of comics greatest grudge match. Its time to open this book up to some new territory, some new things to explore, and some new things to discover, in the best Fantastic Four tradition. And it looks as if in the issues ahead, we may see just that. Onward to FF #14 and whatever may await us, and our heroes, there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fantastic Four (2018) #14

Sep 9, 2019

There was a time when The Fantastic Four was a book of universe-expanding and universe-shaping discoveries, which introduced new characters and new ideas that made the Marvel Universe a richer and more wonder-filled place. Of course, that was with Jack Kirby at the helm, and no one expects current storytellers to operate on Kirbys level. But this book should always have that kind of ambition, and with the new voyage of discovery on which The FF are embarking, we at least see a hint of that kind of spirit coming back. May this be as awesome a time as The Fantastic Four deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Fantastic Four (2018) #15

Oct 6, 2019

Where does the prophecy about The Fantastic Four come from, and will The FF become a part of the world of Spyre forever? Will The Thing be overrun by the monsters of the planets underworld? Why does Sky think The Human Torch is her soulmate, and what will Citadel have to say about that? These questions and many others will be answered in the next issue of The Fantastic Four!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Fantastic Four (2018) #16

Nov 12, 2019

The senses-shattering saga of Spyre plays a number of familiar Fantastic Four riffs and comes up with some new and entertaining things to do with them. This is stuff weve seen before in ways that we havent seen it. Coming up with material that is true to the FF tradition but isnt a mere retread of old stories isnt easy, but Dan Slott seems to be on top of things. I look forward to seeing the full effects of the visit of The Fantastic Four to planet Spyre, and what it will mean to the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Fantastic Four (2018): Wedding Special #1

Dec 15, 2018

Just about everything is now in place except for the Things bachelor party, which I surmise well be seeing in Fantastic Four #5 along with the nuptials themselves. Much as Im looking forward to the wedding and everything surrounding it (a bachelor party thrown by the Human Torchwhat could possibly go wrong there?), Im even more intrigued with what will immediately follow: the return of Dr. Doom and a battle between the Monarch of Evil andGalactus! Im very interested to know what thats all about and whats going to come of it!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Fantastic Four: Grand Design #1

Nov 5, 2019

This book is full of pointless, gratuitous, and in some cases inexcusable things that neednt have been so. An homage to the history of The Fantastic Four should be done with love and care. What I see here is someone being allowed to treat it all in a cavalier fashion, in a style that is adolescent at best and juvenile at worst. I dont know whether its more maddening or saddening.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Invisible Woman (2019) #1

Jul 13, 2019

This first issue is mostly set-up, laying out the conflicts that The Invisible Woman will have to navigate and negotiate in the rest of the miniseries. If Id been commissioned to do a miniseries about Sue, I would have put her in some super-cosmic, Earth-shaking Fantastic Four-type situation which she would have to face with no Reed, Torch, and Thing to help her. What Waid is doing here is to take Sue completely out of her usual element. However, being the heroine she is, Sue will doubtless come through like a champion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Invisible Woman (2019) #2

Aug 14, 2019

Id still have preferred to see how The Invisible Woman would handle herself if she were on her own in the kind of adventure that we normally associate with The Fantastic Four. But this miniseries shows us how truly resourceful and fearless she is. Not for nothing is Susan Richards the second in command of Earths greatest adventuring team. Reed would be proud of her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Invisible Woman (2019) #3

Sep 17, 2019

Well, halfway through The Invisible Womans spy adventure, what can we look forward to seeing next? I rather wish Id paid better attention to James Bond movies all these years; I might have a better idea of whats coming. Anyone know where I can watch some Man From UNCLE reruns, at least? What do you want to bet Aidan is double agent or something?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invisible Woman (2019) #4

Nov 10, 2019

If you were writing a blurb for the back cover of this mini, you might describe it as "a taut, complex espionage thriller with super-powers." On that score, it delivers. It's intriguing to think of The Invisible Woman taking the power-skill set that she demonstrates in this story back into the regular adventures of The Fantastic Four.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Two-In-One #1

Dec 25, 2017

This first issue is a skillfully written and beautifully drawn entry that makes you want to see more. The only remaining criticism is that Jim Cheung will not be aboard as regular artist, which will cost the book something in visual consistency. The challenge for other pencilers will be to keep the art at the level established in this issue. That's another thing that will bear watching.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Marvel Two-In-One #2

Jan 31, 2018

There is everything to love about this issue. I haven't much to add to the high marks I've already given it. But if and when we have a monthly Fantastic Four book again, I would nominate Zdarsky to write it. He clearly knows what he's doing with this property.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Two-In-One #3

Feb 22, 2018

All things considered, Marvel 2-in-One is a book to be recommended, especially if you loved The Fantastic Four.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Marvel Two-In-One #4

Mar 22, 2018

Marvel 2-in-One continues to show itself worthy of the Fantastic Four heritage.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Two-In-One #5

Apr 7, 2018

The art of Valerio Schiti slips just a little bit this issue, getting a bit quirky in the sequence in which the Thing is losing his temper on alter-Reed. It makes one want to see what a John Byrne or an Alan Davis might have done with that scene. I guess the tableau of Benjy venting his wrath on an already mentally beaten-up Reed is enough to make anyone's drawing style go a little wonky. The rest of this issue's story and art makes up for this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Marvel Two-In-One #6

Jun 8, 2018

Before we take our leave of Marvel 2-in-One until the Annual, it bears mentioning how good it is to have Jim Cheung back as penciler. Not that Valerio Schiti wasn't doing a good job, and not that Schiti wasn't developing well as the artist of this mag, but this great saga started with Cheung's art and it's good to have him on board for the wrap-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel Two-In-One #7

Jul 5, 2018

Now that the introductory story for the new Marvel 2-in-One is over (as of last issue), this universe-hopping business is diverting, but it will be much more interesting when Ben and Johnny return to the prime Marvel Earth and catch up with what's going on over there, especially the Mad Thinker's all-new Fantastic Four.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Two-In-One #8

Jul 31, 2018

Where did they find artist Ramon Perez, how long can they keep him on this book, and is there any possibility that they can get him on the actual Fantastic Four book? His work looked promising last issue and it's looking better this issue. I'm almost beginning to think this is an artist we should be keeping our eyes on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Two-In-One #9

Sep 1, 2018

The Mad Thinker is madder than ever and seems truly bent on trying to become Reed Richards. With the characters in this issue and some others who are soon to appear in the main FF book, Marvel seems to be having a bit of fun playing with our notions of what a "Fantastic Four" is. We should all be looking forward to Reed and companylet it be known in no uncertain terms that there is only one foursome to whom that title truly, rightfully belongs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Marvel Two-In-One #10

Oct 7, 2018

It's been a long, strange trip with Ben and Johnny since Ben decided to take Johnny "on the road" across universes to buck up his morale after the apparent loss of Sue and Reed. Marvel 2-in-One has so far shown us some really good comic books in the Fantastic Four tradition, especially in the opening story that concluded with the showdown with the Galactus-powered Dr. Doom.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Marvel Two-In-One #11

Nov 6, 2018

This issue was about tying up loose ends, not only in Marvel 2-in-One but in the main Fantastic Four book. It remains to be seen how Reeds actions, as explained in this issue, will be addressed in The FF. In fact it remains to be seen how our Fantastic Four, with a lot of help from their friends, got out of the situation in which we left them back in September. I still look forward to seeing the Fantastic Four return to doing what they do best: Challenging the Unknown and righteously clobbering the evils that they find along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Marvel Two-In-One #12

Dec 3, 2018

Theres not much more to say about Marvel 2-in-One. Writer Chip Zdarsky is to be commended for his understanding of the Fantastic Four and the way its characters work. Of the artists who have worked with him on these twelves issues, Jim Cheung did the most stellar job and its regrettable that we didnt get to see more of it. Last year at this time, this book held out the tantalizing promise of the return of the Fantastic Four, and its gratifying to see that Marvel has delivered on that promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Marvel Two-In-One Annual #1

Jun 21, 2018

I wanted to like the Marvel 2-in-One Annual as much as I've liked the six "Fate of the Four" issues that just wrapped up. Sadly, I found the whole thing quite unsatisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More