Jordan Claes's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards, Word Of The Nerd Reviews: 37
7.2Avg. Review Rating

10
A.D.: After Death #1

Sep 27, 2016

I read a lot of books, a lot of good books I like to think, written and drawn by creators who I believe to be the best at what they do. Do you know how many of those books I've ever re-read out of the literal hundreds that I've burned through at this age and stage in my life " maybe five? Seven tops. Do you know the first thing I did after I was done reading A.D. After Death? Flipped to the beginning and started reading again. It's exciting, intriguing; it's imagination run wild. I've never read a more honest script from Scott Snyder nor have I seen Jeff Lemire be any more"well"Jeff Lemire! This book is a must-read, an instant favourite and a sure contender for Book of the Year.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
All-Star Batman #2

Sep 14, 2016

So if I could say anything to Scott Snyder, it would be this: if you're going to force us to looks at JRJr's pages, at least give us some more extensive dialogue to help fill the gaps in the months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #1

Aug 18, 2016

What makes me most excited about this title is that I've never been a fan of Batgirl, nor am I partial to Black Canary or Huntress. I've always tried to ignore the expanded Bat-family because I thought they cheapened Batman, making him appear too overly humanized. After reading both the Rebirth one-shot and now this inaugural issue, the Benson sisters have changed my tune. It's refreshing to have Batgirl and the Birds of Prey being written from the female perspective; it's the first time ever in fact that I've read a comic with a female lead, that's also written/drawn by female creators. It's a much more honest and authentic tone, and it elevates the feminine prowess inherent within the characters. The world of comics has been a boys club for far too long. It's exciting to have such a powerful and palpable female-lead creative team and I await eagerly for what is to come in the weeks ahead.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman (2016) #3

Jul 20, 2016

I hate bitching. I hate bitching about Batman more than anything but Tom King just"irks me so far. I feel like the annoying kid in the classroom who's constantly yelling out to the substitute ‘you're doing it wrong, you're doing it wrong!' but these problems go way beyond nitpicking and fanboying. It's clear to see there are some intrinsic problems in the scripting that have to be addressed immediately. King and Finch need to take a bold step out from the shadow of Snyder and Capullo, stop worrying about what came before and focus on their task ahead. Right now for better or worse Tom King is Batman; let's hope he starts acting like it soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Batman (2016) #69

Apr 17, 2019

Do heroes hurt? It's a question Tom King has been trying to answer through the vessel of Batman. I haven't always enjoyed the ride but I do have respect for the process. That time is over now. No more introspection, no more Bat/Cat cringe-worthy rhyme innuendos. It's time to ramp things up again, to take Batman back to his roots. Maybe even, oh I don't know, have the World's Greatest Detective actually detect something for a change? Maybe figure out once and for all what's at stake between Bane and his father? Just no more naked Bane wrestling, please?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #1

May 1, 2019

There's just something about Batman and TMNT that fits so naturally well together; it's nothing short of joyous seeing them reunited again. James Tynion IV and Freddie Williams II have established themselves as a powerhouse of a creative team. A formidable dynamic duo that can contend with the very best"both on the streets of Gotham and New York City.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Damned #3

Jun 27, 2019

My favorite thing about Batman: Damned is that immediately after I finished reading issue #3, I reread the entire series. It will both engage and enrage readers, and I can't wait to witness the divide. More importantly, it pays homage to all the great accomplishments of the Batman universe over the past 30 years while simultaneously cementing itself into the conversation of “Greatest Batman Story Ever Told”. Brian Azzarello and Lee Bermejo have a classic on their hands, folks. Let's just hope for all our sakes that they don't decide to wait another decade before we get to read the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Science #39

Mar 26, 2019

It's been an emotional year so far for comics; all of my favorite titles are coming to an end. But although it's sad to see them go, I'm happy that they're going out with a bang, rather than fading with a whimper. I will always be grateful to Rick Remender for reigniting my love for comics. Beyond that, I feel so lucky to have been along for this incredible journey through the Eververse from start to finish; to the center of the onion and back again. Black Science #39 reinforces everything I love about the series and gives loyal readers a glimpse of things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Circuit-Breaker #1

Mar 23, 2016

It's upsetting when a title you were looking forward to reading turns out to be a letdown " after all no one reads anything in the hope that it's going to suck. Sometimes first impressions aren't always true representations of a book no more than they can be that of a person. We can be wrong; opinions can change. However " my decision will be to not add Circuit-Breaker to my pull-list and it's an opinion I don't anticipate vacating.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Criminal (2019) #3

Mar 20, 2019

I was hesitant about doing this review. Having never read any of Criminal's seminal installment, I knew that there were going to be things I didn't understand, characters I wouldn't recognize or even know. Ed Brubaker does a great job of making this transition an easy one for new readers; it quickly extinguishes any feelings of intimidation. This was a "slow-burn" of a read, but one that I thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DCeased #1

May 3, 2019

The good guys always win, the bad guys always die. But it's precisely this trope that makes DCEASED #1 so enticing"Tom Taylor doesn't play by the rules! He's like the George R.R. Martin of the comic book world, and he's about to go 'Ned Stark' on the Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #1000

Dec 31, 1969

Who is Batman? He's a detective, a warrior, father, and son. He's a hero, a dark knight; an agent of justice and an instrument of vengeance. He is all of these things and more. He means something different and is something different to each and every one of us. That's what I took away from Detective Comics #1000. It's a privilege seeing the most influential artists and writers telling their versions of what a Batman story should be; as a fan, it's really all you could ever ask for. So cheers to DC, cheers to Batman, and cheers to us, the forever citizens of Gotham City.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #4

Mar 9, 2019

So you've probably guessed it"I liked DIE #4. I think the series as a whole is fan-freaking-tastic, as a matter of fact. When great writing meets incredible art, the result is usually something pretty special. Kieron Gillen and Stephanie Hans have a true comic book gem on their hands. I personally cannot wait to see how this first arc concludes, as well as what the future holds for our heroes lost in the world of DIE.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Gideon Falls #12

Apr 17, 2019

Sometimes in order to move forward, you need to first go backward. It appears Jeff Lemire is telling us that in order to understand the Black Barn, we need to go back to where it all began. While a part of me is admittedly disappointed at having to wait to find out what happened with Norton and Father Fred, I know we'll get there in time. It's what I love about Jeff Lemire; he's constantly imbuing a sense of confidence that everything will be ok. He reminds readers that it's ok to look out the window, to enjoy the journey rather than always needing to focus on the road ahead.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #6

Sep 15, 2016

I'm so excited about the direction that Green Lanterns is taking; it's been a non-stop, fuel-injected wild ride thus far and it has no signs of slowing or gearing down. It's made me laugh, provided moments of genuine introspection and overall has consistently been a kick-ass, solid book since its inception. I couldn't find a stone to level at any aspect of Green Lanterns, even if I wanted to. So to Sam Humphries and the rest of the creative team, just keep doing what you're doing because right now " Green Lanterns is one seriously good book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #1

Jul 27, 2016

It's obvious that Venditti is building towards what will inevitably be an awesome showdown between Hal Jordan and Sinestro. I would have hoped for a little bit more plot progression since the issue so closely mirrors the Rebirth one-shot but that can be forgiven, it is only the first issue after all. A lot of questions were raised without answer: how will a now rejuvenated Sinestro conduct himself and the Yellow Lanterns? Will Hal Jordan be able to control and contain the sheer power of his newly forged ring? And perhaps most importantly, when he struck the hammer to the anvil, did anyone else in the universe hear it?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Hardcore (2018) #3

Mar 1, 2019

For the first time, this series, Andy Diggle and Alessandro Vitti seem to be spinning their wheels. What started off with a bang now hangs on a whimper, leaving readers to wonder what's coming next. Hardcore is beginning to show signs of series that burns bright for a brief moment before it supernovas into oblivion. Explosions and gunfights may turn pages but you need substance to build an audience.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Heroes In Crisis #8

Apr 25, 2019

Tom King is wandering in uncharted territory and while I may not have always enjoyed Heroes in Crisis I recognize its value and the importance it has on readers and comic book writing as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Lake of Fire #1

Aug 24, 2016

Before there is any confusion, let me set something straight: Lake of Fire is not a bad book, it just hasn't figured out what it wants to be quite yet. There are brief moments of redemption, but largely it seems as if Fairbairn is still in the midst of a “feeling-out” process with his story and characters, unsure of exactly where he wants to take them or how he wants to get there. The good news is Fairbairn is a seasoned veteran with a multitude of talent; he has all the tools to turn this around. The best comics are often a marathon rather than a sprint, and I am confident that Lake of Fire will be the proverbial tortoise that slews the hare. It's either that or he's going to have an Indiana Jones and the Crystal Skull-type situation on his hands, and we all know that there is no coming back from that kind of carnage.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Low #21

Apr 9, 2019

Rick Remender isn't always my favorite writer; he isn't always the best storyteller. But what he is and what he's always been able to do is convey himself as one of the most honest, introspective, and philosophical comic book authors alive. Remender bleeds his characters and it shows. They truly are fragmented representations of his own personality; his insecurities, frustrations, and ideals. Remender's consumed by the human condition, by ethics and morality. Constantly challenging readers to seek out their own interpretation of "the good" rather than succumb to the pressures of what society thinks we're "supposed" to be. He's a rebel, an anarchist, and a true orator for the "anti" establishment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Middlewest #5

Mar 19, 2019

I've been a fan of Skottie Young's for a long time now; he's always been one of my favorite artists. What I find exciting is that now he's also becoming one of my favorite authors as well. The fact that he's surrendering artistic creative control to someone other than himself would also seem to support the idea that writing is the area where Young wants to devote the majority of his focus moving forward. I've loved watching him evolve as a creator and I can't wait for everything that's in-store for Abel and Fox in Middlewest.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nailbiter #21

May 11, 2016

This issue was nothing short of brilliance; a great start to a new arc and one of the best issues in the entire series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nailbiter #22

Jun 6, 2016

I suppose the best word to describe the state of the Nailbiter world right now is volatile; ready to erupt at any minute and without warning. Though as mentioned above this was much more subdued issue in terms of pace, it is laying the foundation for a final act that promises to be violent, bloody and totally shocking. That is what continues to make Nailbiter worth reading month after month: it hasn't become formulaic; you can't guess what's going to happen in advance. That's how you truly scare someone; by being completely unpredictable. Wes Craven knew this better than perhaps anyone to have come before him; Joshua Williamson exemplifies this ideal and carries it forward better than any of his contemporaries today. Had time not been premature in its taking of Wes Craven, it would have been interesting to see his directorial-take on Nailbiter. Sadly, such ideas are now only the stuff of dreams"or nightmares"

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Oliver #2

Feb 26, 2019

Every once in a while a book comes along that truly tugs at my inner-nerd. Gary Whitta and Darick Robertson's Oliver does just that. I'm positively in love with the idea of naming characters from Shakespearean plays, and the fact that the Shakespearean archetype correctly corresponds with each character's rendering is indicative of an author with true literary prowess.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Paper Girls #8

Aug 5, 2016

I can't say enough times how nice it is to finally have the wheels turning in the Paper Girls world; for so long the story just kept expanding outwards with no resolution in sight, so it's nice to see some horizon for a change. Admittedly we still don't know much as far as the ‘why' of it all is concerned but I anticipate some concrete answers coming before the end of this sophomore arc. Keep doing what you're doing Paper Girls team (Cliff, we've already had our talk), you continue to be the highlight of my monthly pull-list!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Power Lines #1

Mar 30, 2016

It may not sound like it but I do have hope for Power Lines in the coming issues. I have a feeling that something larger may be afoot and perhaps I am just too close at the moment to see what is right in front of my face. There is a good foundation being laid but Robinson has a long way to go to make up for what was a somewhat dismal first issue. I'll be eager to see if any adjustments or tweaks are made as he continues onward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rat Queens #15

Mar 16, 2016

I guess that brings us to a close! If you couldn't tell this was one of my favourite issues of Rat Queens since the departure of Roc Upchurch. Both the art and story have been pushed to another level and I can't wait to see what happens with the beginning of the fourth arc. What will happen to Hannah? Who is Petunia Harvestchild? I hate to have to wait but I am excited to find out – the Queens are Kings once again!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Renato Jones: The One % #1

Apr 19, 2016

I meant it when I said that this is the best release of the year, so far. It has depth, rich dialogue and takes the time to develop itscharacters beyond the scope of what typically constitutes a first issue. Andrews' world is both visually and emotionally dark, scattered with moments of genuine hope and human connection that persistineven in the most brutaltimes. The layout is fantastic, the tableau memory sequences are terrifying/breathtaking, and the story is impossibly enthralling. As excited as I am to uncover more about Renato and his past, I'm most looking forward to finding out just how ‘super-fucked' the ‘super-rich' really are!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Saga #35

Apr 2, 2016

You can probably already tell that this was a bit of a 'calm before the storm' type chapter but it still contained all of the elements that make Saga great: incredible and insightful art, heartfelt familial moments and of course, spontaneous fits of laughter that are often found at the most seemingly inappropriate times. Nearly five years and thirty five chapters later Saga continues to excel and set the standard for great writing and art in comics. Don't expect a reinvention of the wheel with this one but at the same time be excited for what's to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Section Zero (2019) #1

Apr 2, 2019

I've always held firm to the belief that you should never read a book for what's written on the outside; it's the words between the covers that matter. But in a brand-name world where even comic books aren't immune, this is often not the case. Sometimes creators get by more on their legacy and less on their merit. Maybe that's what I'm falling victim to here? I can't honestly say one way or the other. What I can confidently say is that Section Zero has a long way to go in a very short period of time and that as much as I respect the creative team at the helm, I don't know if that's enough to bring me back for next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman: Year One #1

Jun 19, 2019

Miller is definitely one to “stay in his own lane”. But with Superman: Year One #1 it's to the point of him whitewashing the contributions of others who came before and simply signing his own name in their stead. There's nothing new, nothing we haven't seen or haven't already been told at least a dozen times over. I read this issue because of the names on the cover. I won't be repeating that behavior.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Deviations (One Shot) #1

Mar 30, 2016

It's always fun playing the 'what if?' game: it allows for the opportunity to turn reader's expectations upside down with no risk of reprieve. It opens the doors to different avenues of expectation allowing us to see old characters and stories in new ways. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – DEVIATIONS delivers on that and more: it's a Lewis Carol-esque inversion of a world you thought you knew that will leave you shocked, riveted and with a higher body count than the final acts of Hamlet. I've said it before and I'll say it again: "man, I love reading the Turtles""

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #4

Apr 11, 2019

Oh, Scott, “your kingdom rots beneath you. It makes me frown, frown, frown! Frown so deep my jaw is breaking. I look at you and I want to knock on your skull and ask ‘who's in there? Who is this? Where's my old friend?' Sigh…But don't worry! We're going to correct it all tonight. Because now I'm here! I've come back to save you! Save you from the ones you call your allies. Your table. The ones who make you slow. The ones who make you weak.”

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Batman Who Laughs (2018): The Grim Knight #1

Mar 14, 2019

I feel like Natalia Imbruglia"I'm torn. On the one hand, there were so many great moments and elements throughout The Batman Who Laughs: The Grim Knight #1; my biggest critique is simply that there just wasn't enough. The issue stood in one place when there was limitless potential to be much more far-reachingand exploratory. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great. I know that's such a reductionist statement on what honestly was a great comic book; I suppose my expectations were just a tad too high.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans (2016) #1

Jul 29, 2016

I've begun to notice a pattern with Rebirth titles lately, and not a good one at that. What began with so much promise, hope, and excitement is starting to trickle down into the mundane and quite honestly, the boring. I know I am holding these first issues to an extremely high standard. By no means am I condemning them to obscurity or wiping them from my pull-list altogether but to say that I am just as excited week after week for each bi-monthly issue would be a falsity. This isn't a problem unique to Titans either; it spans nearly every DC Rebirth title.SOMETHING NEEDS TO HAPPEN. Turn up the heat; kick it into gear – anything to keep me coming back for more! Because soon, reading Titans for no reason other than the fact that it's Titans, will fail to be enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Tokyo Ghost #6

Apr 22, 2016

This definitely has been the biggest letdown of the year, so far for me. I still have tremendously high hopes for Tokyo Ghostbut I no longer wait with bated breath; my expectations are lesser. Remender and Murphy left on such a high-note before the hiatus that the return simply comes up wanting in comparison. Several technical reasons attributed to an overall lack off success but at its root this was just a bad issue. When youforego the fundamentals the result will always be ahalf-cocked attempt of your true potential.Remender and Murphy have a lot of ground to cover to get Tokyo Ghost back in high regard but I am confident that in the issues to follow we will see them begin to settle back in to their winning ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity (2016) #1

Sep 22, 2016

Even as I write this review, I'm still asking myself how I felt about Trinity as a whole. It was slow paced, but there was definite substance and character depth well beyond the scope of what you normally see in superhero comics. On the other hand, it IS a superhero comic! Would it have hurt to see the Justice League's most famous members do something, anything that was even kind of cool in their first issue?! I think we all would have been O.K. with that; I definitely would have been. I'll keep reading on not because of what Trinity is but rather because of what I think/hope it will become; I just hope I'm right.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More