Tyson Yurai's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 14
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Batman/Superman (2019) #1

Aug 30, 2019

With fantastic art direction and an interesting story, Joshua Williamson and David Marquez are gearing up for an absolute banger of a book. This is one of the few times I can say, this will change the face of the DC Universe and not want to vomit by how cheesy that sounds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman/Superman (2019) #2

Oct 1, 2019

Because of solicits, the mystery of this book and the questioning of who the Secret Six are is diminished, but thankfully, theres enough here to keep you engaged. Watching fan favorites slowly become unhinged is something I love reading, especially with how great the Batman Who Laughs has been. As long as David Marquez and Williamson keep up the quality work, this story will be one for the ages!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Superman (2019) #3

Nov 1, 2019

Batman/Superman is an intriguing series so far. Though solicitations have spoiled the mystery, the journey of getting to the end is what matters as TBMWL is on a collision course with The Legion of Doom. Marquezs art is amazing and Joshua Williamson pens a good script, but knowing TBMWL will always win because he can outsmart everyone takes a bit of the drama away. The series is worth continuing, but given the overpowered villain, who knows for how long?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Detective Comics (2016) #1010

Sep 1, 2019

This issue is quite mediocre, unfortunately. Peter J. Tomasi's writing isnt the most interesting thing in the world here and it definitely feels like the filler that it is until the build up for Mr. Freezes Dark Gift is paid off. Christian Duce's art saves this book from being a complete waste of time and I would recommend it on that merit alone, but youre just as well waiting until this short arc is finished before jumping back in when Mr. Freeze becomes the main villain for the next few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Detective Comics (2016) #1011

Sep 15, 2019

What the book lacks in compelling and sort of camply storytelling, it makes up for in amazing art and direction in spades. This entire arc is worth reading simply for that alone, especially if you happen to love the skirmishes between the Dark Knight and the Man Who Never Misses. As we gear up for the real Year of the Villain confrontation, this was a fantastic slight detour.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Detective Comics (2016) #1012

Oct 1, 2019

This could be the exact shot in the arm that Mr. Freeze has needed since most of DC Rebirth has left him in the absolute dust. And if the solicits are any indication, a new status quo is well in order for his cold, cold heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Detective Comics (2016) #1013

Oct 20, 2019

This issue wasnt as amazing as the previous one, but Mahnkes awesome visuals made up for that. The last issue fleshed out Freezes darkness in a more real and terrifying way where the cold zombies felt like cartoon antics. While theres nothing wrong with that, its liable to drag a reader out of the story while the villain makes his NYEH, BATMAN getaway. I still have high hopes for the story, but this issue is best bought for the art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Detective Comics (2016) #1014

Oct 29, 2019

Mr. Freeze has always deserved better and with this storyline, hes finally gotten it. Peter J. Tomasi, Doug Mahnke and the rest of the creative team on this book have done an excellent job of crafting a refreshing and fulfilling chapter in the life of Mr. Freeze. This issue is the culmination of almost 30 years of characterization for one of Batmans most chilling foes. Beyond a shadow of a doubt, this entire arc is worth reading for this issue alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #38

Oct 3, 2019

I dont really know where the story is going here. I didnt even mention the forgettable Bizarro/Artemis segments because that storyline stopped being interesting after they stopped the Future War in their annual. I guess it could still be a wild ride with Jason Todd and his new kids, but this issue is ultimately skippable. Not even DOOMED could save it from that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #39

Nov 3, 2019

Red Hood: Outlaw #39 may not have lived up to my hopes of it becoming a darker and grittier tale of Jason Tood finally striking out on his own as a grim vigilante, but I cant help but like this arc. Jason is a good teacher and his students are interesting potential future villains. Id recommend it for Rocaforts art alone, but I have to hand it to Scott Lobdell for giving this book some heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Runaways (2017) #24

Sep 7, 2019

This book could be sold on its beautiful art alone, but the story within is absolutely cute and adorable as well. Peak teen drama that's actually readable. Rainbow Rowells method of storytelling in regards to the Runaways has been unorthodox, but that approach has paid off. Its little one offs like this that build character for two relatively lesser characters in the grand scheme of the Marvel Universe. I want to see more of them together and hopefully this new upcoming Doc Justice arc gives that to us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Runaways (2017) #26

Nov 16, 2019

This issue is a take it or leave it. It moves forward the story to show exactly how and why the Runaways are going to become part of the new J-Team, but a next issue recap could do just the same. If youre a die hard Runaways fan, then this issue wont be any different than any other exposition dumps that have been written over their years. Its a good, solid effort, but not exactly necessary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Infected: King Shazam #1

Nov 15, 2019

While Shazam didn't explicitly kill anyone, the possibility of what he could do is more than terrifying enough. He's as strong as Superman with the recklessness of a teenager and he is dripping with evil. This one-shot is the first of hopefully many excellent stories of The Batman Who Laugh's Secret Six. If you have ever asked what would happen if Billy and Teth Adam switched alignments, this is a GREAT answer and a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Young Justice (2019) #10

Nov 14, 2019

I have my opinions on Brian Michael Bendis' writing style when it comes to teenage characters, but so far he's managed to do a well enough job that I keep coming back. With great art from the two artists and their inkers and colorists, Young Justice is still a fun story with great characters, especially the emerging ones.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More