Tyson Yurai's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 49
8.2Avg. Review Rating

7.9
2020 Machine Man #1

Feb 28, 2020

I will always support anything Machine Man-related because hes another one of my favorites in terms of more obscure heroes. Christos Gage obviously has respect for the character by giving him an interesting story thread in trying to win back Jocasta. Andy MacDonald and Dono Sanchez-Almara bring it with the art, even if I dont find it especially appealing aside from the coloring. Machine Man 2020 #1 does end up being a fun experience, even if its going to be a fairly short one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
2020 Machine Man #2

Apr 2, 2020

Over all, without spoiling things, this book gets a happy ending and warms my heart as a Machine Man fan. Christos Gage writes the character fantastically well and I would love to see another miniseries from this team, especially with Andy MacDonald on art and Dono Sanchez-Almara on colors. This book was a ton of fun and worth bearing the name of Machine Man for what has proved to be a VERY good event so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Batgirl (2016) #49

Sep 29, 2020

Batgirl #49 succeeds at being an interesting story about family and how Batgirls double life not only puts her in danger, but also her family and even people that look like her when the wrong person sets their sights on the hero. Though, its rushed and anticlimactic ending as mandated by an editorial cancellation knocks down what could have been an amazing five-issue arc if it needed to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman/Superman (2019) #1

Aug 30, 2019

With fantastic art direction and an interesting story, Joshua Williamson and David Marquez are gearing up for an absolute banger of a book. This is one of the few times I can say, this will change the face of the DC Universe and not want to vomit by how cheesy that sounds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman/Superman (2019) #2

Oct 1, 2019

Because of solicits, the mystery of this book and the questioning of who the Secret Six are is diminished, but thankfully, theres enough here to keep you engaged. Watching fan favorites slowly become unhinged is something I love reading, especially with how great the Batman Who Laughs has been. As long as David Marquez and Williamson keep up the quality work, this story will be one for the ages!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman/Superman (2019) #3

Nov 1, 2019

Batman/Superman is an intriguing series so far. Though solicitations have spoiled the mystery, the journey of getting to the end is what matters as TBMWL is on a collision course with The Legion of Doom. Marquezs art is amazing and Joshua Williamson pens a good script, but knowing TBMWL will always win because he can outsmart everyone takes a bit of the drama away. The series is worth continuing, but given the overpowered villain, who knows for how long?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman/Superman (2019) #4

Dec 5, 2019

This issue of Batman/Superman was nothing but non-stop action and future set-up. I love that the new crop of villains are former heroes that have had their inhibitions removed and will likely remain that way for the foreseeable future. Joshua Williamson has scripted an awesome story, made real with David Marquezs dynamic art, Alejandro Sanchezs beautiful coloring and John J. Hills expert lettering. The Batman Who Laughs is genuinely a credible threat and things are looking dire for the DC Universe after this amazing issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman/Superman (2019) #5

Jan 1, 2020

This was absolutely an explosive ending to the first arc of this series. We were introduced to some pretty cool villains, got some expansion on the level of trust that Batman places on his allies and we saw the potential danger that The Batman Who Laughs and his allies pose. Together, they are some of the most dangerous heroes ever assembled under the command of one of the deadliest and smartest villains around. Joshua Williamson and David Marquez made for an excellent team with stellart and writing, so this issue is absolutely worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman/Superman (2019) #6

Jan 30, 2020

This book was very emotional and did well with painting our heroes with flaws. Its not often that some mistakes come back to haunt them, but Joshua Williamson is doing everything he can to make sure that The Worlds Finest are better heroes because of it. This issue had fantastic writing and even better art, giving it the double whammy of awesomeness needed to guarantee returning readers. With Marquez leaving the book with this issue and Nick Derington as his replacement, I think it may suffer a little, but not by much because Derington is great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman/Superman (2019) #7

Mar 4, 2020

It makes sense why Ras al Ghul and General Zod have never crossed paths, but I never knew I needed a new rivalry quite like it. This issue was a lot of fun and with Nick Derington on the art, Im excited for what the next few issues will bring, especially when titans like Ras al Ghul and Zod clash. Joshua Williamson is continuing to give us a great friendship between Batman and Superman very reminiscent of that of their own Super Sons and that made this whole experience thoroughly enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman/Superman (2019) #8

Apr 6, 2020

This issue was a lot of fun and continues the more anti-heroic turn of General Zod that Ive been appreciating over the last few years. Williamson is telling a great story with Batman and Superman combating their greatest threats and hes bringing over talents like Nick Derington to help tell those stories. This book was absolutely excellent from cover to cover with excellent writing, fantastic art, stellar coloring and lovely lettering.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Detective Comics (2016) #1010

Sep 1, 2019

This issue is quite mediocre, unfortunately. Peter J. Tomasi's writing isnt the most interesting thing in the world here and it definitely feels like the filler that it is until the build up for Mr. Freezes Dark Gift is paid off. Christian Duce's art saves this book from being a complete waste of time and I would recommend it on that merit alone, but youre just as well waiting until this short arc is finished before jumping back in when Mr. Freeze becomes the main villain for the next few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Detective Comics (2016) #1011

Sep 15, 2019

What the book lacks in compelling and sort of camply storytelling, it makes up for in amazing art and direction in spades. This entire arc is worth reading simply for that alone, especially if you happen to love the skirmishes between the Dark Knight and the Man Who Never Misses. As we gear up for the real Year of the Villain confrontation, this was a fantastic slight detour.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Detective Comics (2016) #1012

Oct 1, 2019

This could be the exact shot in the arm that Mr. Freeze has needed since most of DC Rebirth has left him in the absolute dust. And if the solicits are any indication, a new status quo is well in order for his cold, cold heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Detective Comics (2016) #1013

Oct 20, 2019

This issue wasnt as amazing as the previous one, but Mahnkes awesome visuals made up for that. The last issue fleshed out Freezes darkness in a more real and terrifying way where the cold zombies felt like cartoon antics. While theres nothing wrong with that, its liable to drag a reader out of the story while the villain makes his NYEH, BATMAN getaway. I still have high hopes for the story, but this issue is best bought for the art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Detective Comics (2016) #1014

Oct 29, 2019

Mr. Freeze has always deserved better and with this storyline, hes finally gotten it. Peter J. Tomasi, Doug Mahnke and the rest of the creative team on this book have done an excellent job of crafting a refreshing and fulfilling chapter in the life of Mr. Freeze. This issue is the culmination of almost 30 years of characterization for one of Batmans most chilling foes. Beyond a shadow of a doubt, this entire arc is worth reading for this issue alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Detective Comics (2016) #1015

Nov 25, 2019

While this does knock a bit of the wind out of my sails, the story, art and direction is still good. This is exactly what I expect when I read Detective Comics; a story with twists and turns, awesome villains and stories that we might not get out of the main series. Peter J. Tomasi and Doug Mahnke have been allowed to go hog wild with the stories theyre telling and seamlessly weaving it into Year of the Villain only makes it so much better. So while this issue lacked the emotional impact of the last few, it was still dramatic and interesting to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics (2016) #1016

Dec 8, 2019

I did love this issue as much as I wanted Freeze to actually have a happy ending. I feel like there was nothing more that anyone could do with his character and thats why he hasnt seen much use in so many years. At the same time, I also feel like Nora herself is just taking on the personality of Mr. Freeze from The Batman tv show from 2005. Its not bad, but I suppose we dont have enough of a motivation from her to continue committing crimes aside from some small feeling of entitlement over not being able to live her life. But the art was fantastic and we finally have an ending for one of the most tragic sagas in Batman history, even if it wasnt what everyone was expecting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Detective Comics (2016) #1017

Dec 18, 2019

After an annual that posed him as an unstoppable being that can topple any threat and his current war with Flashpoint Thomas Wayne, its nice to see Batman come back to street level threats in a wholesome, but dramatic comic. Its doubly nice to see him interacting Damian again given their lack of contact for the better part of a year or so. In an age where every conflict is near universal, its always refreshing to have something small-scale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1018

Jan 9, 2020

This issue of Detective Comics has a lot going for it - an interesting storyline, fantastic art and colors, as well as a new and VIOLENT enemy. Peter J. Tomasi has been having fun with this series and the freedom of stories hes been able to tell and this is a stunning example of that. After months of Doug Mahnke on art, Scott Godlewski is an excellent choice for the darkly cheery story. Im absolutely anticipating the next issue of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1019

Feb 6, 2020

As a side story, these two issues havent overstayed their welcome and its a bit refreshing. With Tomasi, the quality of these Detective Comics stories are only getting better and better with him being given the opportunity to tell smaller, self contained stories before getting right into bigger arcs. Scott Godlewski on art was a really good choice for the story as his action is heavy and scene setting is near perfect with David Barons accentuating colors. I love the idea of Batman having a Norse themed villain, but substituting that for a monster of indescribable horror is an even better choice!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Detective Comics (2016) #1020

Mar 17, 2020

This issue of Detective Comics has me absolutely excited for the new path of Two-Face and whatever exciting crimes he has planned. Tomasi continues to be one of the best writers for these shorter stories and the art team absolutely do an amazing job in giving this a high action feel!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Detective Comics (2016) #1023

Jul 16, 2020

While Im less than enthused about another Joker story, the one that we got here was absolutely fantastic nonetheless. Some of the best Batman stories are just about him stomping out bad guys so that he can save someone he cares about, in this case being Harvey. The art was absolutely amazing and the end of the book had a little bit of a teaser that makes the next issue more than worth looking forward to. Detective Comics still stands as one of the best Batman books being released right now, especially when there are SO MANY to choose from.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hawkman (2018) #18

Nov 26, 2019

This book is definitely worth a read, especially if you want to keep up with all of the overarching story of The Batman Who Laughs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Hawkman (2018) #19

Dec 19, 2019

I wanted to make fun of this issue for making Sky Tyrant not nearly as terrifying as his concept implies, but I also had to take into consideration that it was Hawkwoman that defeated him. Sky Tyrant is still a brute and Olliffe, Palmer and Skipper did their absolute best to express just that. Sky Tyrant looked tough throughout, but Hawkwoman was just tougher. Robert Venditti is still managing to tell a good story that elevates Hawkmans already rich lore and its still fun and enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Hawkman (2018) #20

Jan 16, 2020

I enjoyed this issue of Hawkman a lot. Switching artists is always a rough deal, but thankfully Fernando Pasarin, Jeromy Cox and Oclair Albert are an amazing team together. Robert Vendittis vision for the character only continues to reach new heights (pun intended for this issue) and makes me yearn for more of this story. With such great writing and even better art, Hawkman still remains one of the more underrated DC releases today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Hawkman (2018) #21

Feb 20, 2020

This issue of Hawkman continues the ascension of Robert Vendittis epic, continuing to be one of the still underrated stories that DC is releasing today. Fernando Pasarin and the rest of the art team blew my mind with their visuals, making this thing such a beauty to read and see. Hawkman is easily one of the highlights to come out of Dark Nights: Metal and this book continues to carry on the nearly 80 Year Legacy of the character with amazing storytelling and art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Hawkman (2018) #22

Mar 24, 2020

As always, Robert Vendittis Hawkman epic continues to be an underrated masterpiece of storytelling and world building. Fernando Pasarin and the rest of the art team make this book look so effortlessly cool and good while milking each panel for drama and intensity. Truly, this whole saga of Hawkman is worth reading because of issues like this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Hawkman (2018) #27

Sep 8, 2020

Hawkman #27 succeeds as the beginning of a new chapter in Hawkman and Hawkwomans old life. Catering to fans new and old, this story pulls threads from older comics while also sowing seeds for another epic in the making now that theres a real sense of tension in the Hawks life. Robert Venditti and his team continue to make this one of the best written comics that DC is currently publishing and one of the best drawn as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #38

Oct 3, 2019

I dont really know where the story is going here. I didnt even mention the forgettable Bizarro/Artemis segments because that storyline stopped being interesting after they stopped the Future War in their annual. I guess it could still be a wild ride with Jason Todd and his new kids, but this issue is ultimately skippable. Not even DOOMED could save it from that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #39

Nov 3, 2019

Red Hood: Outlaw #39 may not have lived up to my hopes of it becoming a darker and grittier tale of Jason Tood finally striking out on his own as a grim vigilante, but I cant help but like this arc. Jason is a good teacher and his students are interesting potential future villains. Id recommend it for Rocaforts art alone, but I have to hand it to Scott Lobdell for giving this book some heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #40

Dec 13, 2019

The book moved incredibly slow for me and not even though it had good developmental moments for our new characters, the book felt like it was missing something. More than likely, Im just tired of this kind of story or dont really care where Jason Todd is as a character at the moment. Its not particularly compelling and this whole arc just feels like its to give Jason something to do since Bizarro and Artemis were stuck in future Earth for much longer than they needed to be and no one knows what to do with the bad boy of the bat family. There might be a clear direction for this, but I just dont see it and honestly, youd be better off skipping this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #41

Jan 14, 2020

I honestly dont know that Ill continue this series. Maybe only to review it until it hopefully ends at Issue #50, but this was lame. If not for Messina and Lokus art, this book would rate far lower than it already is.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #44

Apr 5, 2020

This issue was very okay. It didnt have quite the explosive action of previous issues, nor many great character moments, but it does succeed at least being a fun time filler. Paolo Pantalena only continues to get better at art and it was accentuated by Arif Priantos excellent colors. If you were a fan of Lobdells New 52 Red Hood and the Outlaws and hoped that stories of that ilk would continue, this is certainly the issue for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Rorschach (2020) #1

Oct 13, 2020

I like Tom Kings work for the most part and first issues have a high bar to reach for continued reading, but this one just misses the mark in both regards. Whether this ambivalence is due to fatigue from Doomsday Clock, the HBO show or just simply wanting the world of Watchmen to take a rest, I dont have the highest of hopes for this series as it just seems superfluous at best. Jorge Forns and Dave Stewart are almost worth it, but its not enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Runaways (2017) #24

Sep 7, 2019

This book could be sold on its beautiful art alone, but the story within is absolutely cute and adorable as well. Peak teen drama that's actually readable. Rainbow Rowells method of storytelling in regards to the Runaways has been unorthodox, but that approach has paid off. Its little one offs like this that build character for two relatively lesser characters in the grand scheme of the Marvel Universe. I want to see more of them together and hopefully this new upcoming Doc Justice arc gives that to us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Runaways (2017) #26

Nov 16, 2019

This issue is a take it or leave it. It moves forward the story to show exactly how and why the Runaways are going to become part of the new J-Team, but a next issue recap could do just the same. If youre a die hard Runaways fan, then this issue wont be any different than any other exposition dumps that have been written over their years. Its a good, solid effort, but not exactly necessary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Runaways (2017) #27

Nov 29, 2019

Runaways continues to be Marvels best slice of life/teen drama series and with good reason. Rainbow Rowell really gets inside the heads of these characters and tells amazing, (although a bit slow) stories with each of them. This particular issue had fun moments, but otherwise had very little going on aside from Gerts continuing struggle to fit in amongst her gifted friends. It was solid, but not the greatest thing in the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Runaways (2017) #28

Jan 20, 2020

I enjoyed this issue of Runaways for what it was. It certainly wasnt the best of them by far, but Andres Genolets art always makes for a fun experience with expressive faces and a happier tone with Cunniffes light coloring. Rainbow Rowell also takes her time with the story, not rushing things to get to a conclusion and that makes for an easy reading experience as we dont have to worry about too many story threads at once. Ultimately, this issue was another easy read in a pretty decent series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Runaways (2017) #29

Feb 4, 2020

I do love the slow burn that Rainbow Rowell is doing right now. As stated in previous reviews, the Runaways' story is one that doesnt need high action set pieces and a constantly moving plot to be engrossing and entertaining. The best part of this series so far is the character aspects of it and how were getting far more of Gert Yorkes than we did before she died. Andres Genolets art continues the signature of this series and compliments the slice-of-life style of it. Rowells writing, Genolets art and Cunniffes colors make this another great issue, even if fairly okay by its own standards.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Runaways (2017) #31

Mar 29, 2020

This last issue was absolutely fantastic from beginning to end. Rainbow Rowell told an amazing story with this six part story and cracked The Runaways just a little bit. Andres Genolet and Dee Cunniffe absolutely smash it on the art, giving everything a tense feeling and dynamic colors. They really make you believe that Doc Justice is a true villain and make this arc worth reading. Overall, this was a dark and fitting end to one of the better Runaways arcs since the book restarted!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Supergirl (2016) #36

Nov 27, 2019

This issue of Supergirl wasnt exactly nothing, but it relied on the actions of other books to push it along. Im glad that shes been given something to do, even if that is being evil. It had quite a few great moments and the art team was fantastic throughout, but its difficult to say that this was really Supergirls story when it seemed like she was a bit player in the much larger narrative. It will be interesting to see what she does while Infected, especially since the next issue indicates a fight between her and the Worlds Finest.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Supergirl (2016) #37

Jan 2, 2020

This issue wasnt anything spectacular. It had fun moments like the fight between Kara, Superman and Batman, but as the start of this new arc for her character it was pretty bland. Jody Houser is a great writer and shell need time to build everything up, so I cant be too hard on this. Rachael Stott has a good style, but it also isnt very eye-catching to me particularly. Im looking forward to the next few issues, but this one was otherwise missable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Supergirl (2016) #39

Mar 5, 2020

With solicitations hinting that Supergirl is getting cancelled (again) after issue #42, I shouldnt be so hard on her, but I want this series to end. The Infected storyline has deflated and brought Supergirl down with it. It would have been better off if things just continued in the pages of Hell Arisen instead. For a series that came back with a good purpose, its lost its direction by being caught between two event stories while not capitalizing on either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Infected: The Commissioner #1

Jan 4, 2020

This issue was fantastic and hopefully sets up a potential good storyline with Batman trying to cure his Infected friend because theres a lot going on in this story that I can get behind. Gordon seeking to destroy Gotham would be an immense change of character and something we havent seen before. The story was great and the art was absolutely fantastic, this is a one-shot worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Infected: Deathbringer #1

Dec 16, 2019

While not as harrowing as King Shazam, horrifying as the Scarab, or violent as Sky Tyrant, Deathbringer has a more psychological feel to it. Much like the Troia storyline in the Rebirth Titans series, it almost seems like destiny that Donna would end up being evil again at some point. Deathbringer wasnt my favorite of the introductory one-shots, but with decent art and good writing, it was still an enjoyable experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Infected: King Shazam #1

Nov 15, 2019

While Shazam didn't explicitly kill anyone, the possibility of what he could do is more than terrifying enough. He's as strong as Superman with the recklessness of a teenager and he is dripping with evil. This one-shot is the first of hopefully many excellent stories of The Batman Who Laugh's Secret Six. If you have ever asked what would happen if Billy and Teth Adam switched alignments, this is a GREAT answer and a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Young Justice (2019) #10

Nov 14, 2019

I have my opinions on Brian Michael Bendis' writing style when it comes to teenage characters, but so far he's managed to do a well enough job that I keep coming back. With great art from the two artists and their inkers and colorists, Young Justice is still a fun story with great characters, especially the emerging ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Young Justice (2019) #11

Dec 9, 2019

This Young Justice series hasnt quite been what Ive been expecting from it thus far. BMB is a (sometimes) good storyteller, but Young Justice hasnt managed to capture my attention as much as I thought it would. Even with the return of my beloved Conner and Tim isnt enough to make this amazing. John Timms art is fantastic and stylish, but I just couldnt find enough to care about in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

3rd

October

September

More