Ben Snyder's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards, Outright Geekery Reviews: 33
7.3Avg. Review Rating

10
Beautiful Canvas #1

Jun 28, 2017

At first glance, I wasn't that excited to read Beautiful Canvas #1. But upon finishing the book, I can say that I was very pleasantly surprised and I am very excited to see where and how the story continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Beautiful Canvas #2

Jul 26, 2017

I am really loving this story so far. Writer Ryan K. Lindsay and artist Sami Kivela are beginning one of the cleverest and mysterious stories I have read in a long time. And while eventually, we will need answers and clarifications, being lost in this intricate plot and characters is enough to make Beautiful Canvas #2 a standout issue this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Beautiful Canvas #3

Sep 6, 2017

The cliffhanger is aptly poetic and does a good job of setting up the finale next issue. While I do love the Lon and Asia aspects of this story I am becoming more and more frustrated with any lack of answers given so far. Seeing as the story is wrapping up next issue, I am worried they wont have enough time to answer each question sufficiently. However I am willing to grin and bear it because the payoff is bound to be intensely emotional and suitably beautiful.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Cloud #3

Jun 14, 2017

Despite these sometimes-minor gripes, the overall intrigue of Jason Latour's plot in Black Cloud #3, keeps me hooked and waiting for the next issue. Hopefully, some mysteries will be explained, and some details will be patched up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer #11

Jul 26, 2017

I really can't say enough of this series. Black Hammer continues to amaze me to the point where even a stellar issue of it such as Black Hammer #11 registers as just a "meh" for me because I'm so used to the greatness of each issue and I think that is this series biggest flaw: In any other comic series I'd give this issue a 5 out of 5. But because this issue is a part of Black Hammer it's score is lessened a bit because every issue would be 5 out of 5. So in the grand scheme of the story, this issue was one of the lesser "WOW" ones. However, this is a stupid thing to complain about and should not be held against this issue alone. If anything it simply proves the ultimate point that you should be reading this comic regardless of what my review says.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Crosswind #1

Jun 21, 2017

Crosswinds #1 does an excellent job of presenting an interesting premise with some interesting characters, while the art is nothing exceptional it does it's job and justifies its place alongside Simone's excellent script.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Crosswind #2

Jul 27, 2017

Crosswind #2 is a funny and entertaining issue. It does more enough to lead the reader gracefully into the next issue, placing our characters into situations with actual consequences. As well as providing us with an interesting question of who did this to Cason and Mrs. Blue and more importantly- Why?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Descender #22

Jul 19, 2017

Descender #22 is another worthy entry in the series and while the story is good and serves it's purpose, despite minor gripes and character misuse, the art is truly where this issue shines. I would and have recommended this book on mere art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Descender #24

Sep 20, 2017

Descender #24 is another excellent entry to the series. While it total separation from the core story may make some feel like it's unnecessary and fillery, I feel otherwise. I feel that without these core character issues are essential to the making us care about the overarching plot and it's consequences. I guess my only complaint is that we don't get enough of them in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Diablo House #1

Jul 5, 2017

While it does seem like I ranted about how poor Diablo House #1 was, I want it to be clear that I am more so disappointed at what could have been. Twilight Zone is one of my favorite shows of all time and I desperately hoped this could exist in the same vein as it. However, there are some series pitfalls in this issue that need to be dealt with if Diablo House wants more visitors.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #7

Jul 26, 2017

When adding up the aspects of Doom Patrol #7, it should be a funny and great comic. And for the most part, it is. Despite this, the past continues to be added baggage and really detracts from the quality of this issue. I understand that some readers appreciate the past ties that Way uses in his story, but as a newer reader to the series, I do not. I want Gerard Way to be the original and talented writer he has proven to be when unburdened with the past and based upon the ending of this issue there is ample potential for this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dread Gods #1

Jul 12, 2017

Dread Gods #1 assures the reader this story is off to a unique and fresh start. While there is room for the story to eventually falter, the pros of the present greatly outweigh the cons of the future. Minor gripes aside, Dread Gods should be on everyone's radar for future releases.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dread Gods #2

Sep 13, 2017

Dread Gods #2 isn't bad by any stretch of the imagination. It simply lacks of what made the first issue so exciting. However, I do believe that the series is heading in a positive direction as this issue lands and sets up an eventful next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Elsewhere #1

Aug 2, 2017

Overall, Elsewhere #1 is a sufficient and entertaining read. While not the most novel or creative book, it executes what it attempts well especially, the star character Earhart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elsewhere #2

Sep 6, 2017

While the story is still overwhelmingly unoriginal, I don't really think it's a bad thing. I think with the correct talent behind it, it can still be an enjoyable ride. And Elsewhere #2 is definitely that as well as an improvement on the first issue and makes me genuinely excited for the next one. Hopefully, Faerber and Kesgin continue to add just enough intrigue to the story to prevent anyone from pumping the brakes.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Ghost Station Zero #1

Aug 2, 2017

Ghost Station Zero #1 is what is, a formulaic spy story and I can't really fault it for that. However, it really doesn't do anything noteworthy or to keep my attention. Perhaps eventually, it will get to the point where it can do something unique to the spy genre but as of now, I really wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Glitterbomb: The Fame Game #1

Sep 20, 2017

Glitterbomb- The Fame Game #1 is shaping up to be a very worthy successor to it's predecessor, but there are some drawbacks that need to be addressed. Hopefully, Zub can make Kaydon and her mom more multi-dimensional and interesting. But most importantly, we see more gruesome gory deaths happen to some deserving Scumbags.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
I Hate Fairyland #13

Jun 21, 2017

While offering a humorous diversion into the what if life of Larrington Wentsworth, nothing particular new or significant happened, making it feel like a wasted issue. However, due to Skottie Young's unique imagery and style of humor, I Hate Fairyland #13, proves to be worth the ticket price regardless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
I Hate Fairyland #14

Jul 20, 2017

I Hate Fairyland #14 is one of the funniest and most plot substantial issues of the series in a long time. Skottie Young continues to be the perfect artist for his script although I fear it may be getting stale soon. But it has not happened yet and issue #14 is funny and offers up intrigue for future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #9

Jun 2, 2017

Brubaker, Phillips, and Breitweiser continue their excellent run in Kill or Be Killed #9 and despite some minor repetition and corny-ness deliver a satisfying and thrilling installment that leaves the reader waiting for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #10

Jul 12, 2017

Another issue, another stellar addition to Kill or Be Killed's stellar run. Issue #10 may be a bit slower on the action front, but all of the other elements line up to deliver another knockout issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #11

Aug 9, 2017

It's hard to pinpoint many series that have been as consistently good as Kill or Be Killed it's initial premise has continued to hold sway and remains effective. However, I do wonder how much longer we can stay in flashback mode and what the series will look like when we're not. Regardless if you're not reading Kill or Be Killed you really should start because Kill or Be Killed #11 is another fantastic entry.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #12

Sep 13, 2017

Kill or Be Killed #12 is a true triumph for the series, which has already been so great so far. It deviated from the paranormal aspects of the series and instead focused more on the relationship between Dylan and Kira and the lengths Dylan will go to protect her. I liked how the devil wasn't present in this issue because this chapter wasn't about the paranormal; it was about the passion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kill the Minotaur #1

Jun 16, 2017

Kill The Minotaur #1 sets the groundwork for a very familiar tale but told through a distinctive enough style and perspective that it will still be effective and enjoyable enough to read however without offering anything new to the formula.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill the Minotaur #2

Jul 19, 2017

The lasting image of the beast is also one of the most hopeful images this book has, because of it's promise that Kill the Minotaur will be different from all the incarnations of the story before it. Kill the Minotaur #2 is a great issue and is well worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kill the Minotaur #3

Aug 16, 2017

Kill the Minotaur is consistently proving to be an amazing series. For this reason, I am going to have to be stricter when scoring it. This issue while still great is simply not as good as the ones that came before it for a couple of reasons and because of this, the score will be lower. However, this series is great week in and week out, and if anyone is interested in comics or Greek mythology, I'd recommend this series without any hesitation.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Mage: The Hero Denied #1

Aug 16, 2017

Mage: Hero Denied #1 isn't a bad comic at all. For the most part it is an enjoyable read. However it suffers from an intense case of "Seen it before". From it's cookie cutter character designs to it's contrived dialogue its just painfully average. That's why I'm giving it a 2 out of 5, not because it's bad, but because I feel like it could do so much more creatively.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Redlands #1

Jul 13, 2017

Redlands #1 is horrifying. It's also amazing and should be on everyone's list of new books to read for the upcoming future. Hopefully though more information will be explained and the reader will not be left in the dark as much- because it is very scary in there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #3

Jun 29, 2017

Overall, Redneck #3, offers more intrigue into the first arch of the story and sets the seeds for future strife and conflict in the Bowman family, hopefully Cates doesn't get lost in the past and focuses on the present though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Royal City #4

Jun 20, 2017

Despite his extensive workload, Jeff Lemire continues to pump out issue after issue of exceptional stories and Royal City #4 doesn't disappoint. Lemire continues to prove that he truly shines in quieter character driven stories and all signs point to a satisfying conclusion to the first story arch of Royal City next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sacred Creatures #1

Jul 6, 2017

While showing some shades of its influences, Sacred Creatures #1 does a great job of introducing its intriguing villains and heroes as the stakes for a legitimate holy war seemingly rage on for many future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Weapons #1

Jun 28, 2017

While not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, Secret Weapons #1 does enough to merit its worth and offers hope for improvement in further issues. If Heisserer continues to expand on the mythos and answer questions, Secret Weapons should improve and prove to be an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Youngblood (2017) #2

Jun 5, 2017

Youngblood #2 picks up where issue #1 left off, which uncreative characters, a clich story and inconsistent art. There is some hope that the series will pick up in quality, but as of this issue the spark is simply not there.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More