Ben Snyder's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards, Monkeys Fighting Robots, Outright Geekery Reviews: 109
7.1Avg. Review Rating

4.0
1985: Black Hole Repo #1

Nov 1, 2017

1985 Black Hole Repo #1 is nothing if not unexceptional as it attempts to recreate the heavy metal aesthetic it so admires. It falters on some key aspects namely its characters and overall storyline, but it seems as though this story isn't intent on delivering a groundbreaking and emotional story. 1985 Black Hole Repo is more focused on delivering a fun and enjoyable ride, which it doesn't necessarily deliver on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
4 Kids Walk Into A Bank #1

Nov 8, 2017

I'm just going to spell this out and make it really simple, 4 Kids Walk Into a Bank is phenomenal and one of the best books that I have read all year. The ending is heartfelt and earned, Paige is one of the best characters in recent memory, and the art is stellar. Pick up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Abbott #1

Jan 24, 2018

Abbott #1 feels special. The world that both Ahmed and Kivel created is full of interesting characters, racial undertones, and many aspects that still hold relevance in our current world. But most importantly it's fun and looks pretty. I really try to avoid giving perfect scores in first issues, subsequently giving them a 4 for superfluous reasons. However I simply can't do that to Abbott.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abbott #2

Feb 28, 2018

For all of my gripes with Abbott #2 it is undoubtably a fantastic follow-up to an incredible first issue. Ahmed and Kivel deliver on a handful of the promises of the introductory issue while also bringing forth new mysteries and interesting characters that will only benefit the series in the long run. Abbott continues to be one of the best new series of this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Abbott #3

Mar 28, 2018

While the flaws in Abbott #3 are not unique to the issue in particular, they are becoming increasingly more cumbersome. Common complaints such as overcrowding with word bubbles and inconsistent panel design quality are starting to pile up. However, the overall quality of the rest of the work gives me hope that these problems can be fixed. Which is good, because when Abbott works, it really works.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Analog #1

Apr 4, 2018

Analog #1 isn't a horrible comic, in many ways it is actually above standard fare. I love the world Gerry Duggan, David O' Sullivan, and Jordie Bellaire have created and I am heavily interested in the characters existing in it. But there are certain details that need to be refined if this series is ever to achieve something stellar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Analog #2

May 9, 2018

Despite a couple of missteps Analog #2 improves greatly on the premise of the original issue. Gerry Duggan and David O'Sullivan achieve just enough to distinguish themselves amongst the crowded landscape of talented Image creators.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Antar: The Black Knight #1

Apr 18, 2018

Perhaps I'm being overly critical. Antar #1 isn't anything groundbreaking, but it is passable at what it attempts to do. I am not in love with the art or the story telling framing, but the bones of the story seem intact and deserving of another issue. It might be more of a marathon than a sprint though, testing how long one can bear with these problems.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Assassin's Creed: Origins #1

Mar 7, 2018

A major theme throughout Assassin's Creed: Origins #1 is unfortunately inconsistency. There are instances in which the book succeeds; however they are brought down entirely by the books shortcomings. Even if you loved the video game, I cannot whole-heartedly recommend this book yet. Despite this I am hoping the story does go into interesting places.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Assassinistas #1

Dec 20, 2017

Assassinistas #1 delivers a strong and involving introduction to a hopefully entertaining series. There are a couple of problems story-wise that should be straightened out and resolved such as the history of the individual Assassinistas and their eventual falling out, and I am not particularly sold on the art style. However, I still have hope that this series will continue to offer a different and fun take on an already exited and well-worn trope.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #1

Jul 24, 2019

An amazing first entry into what could be a new staple of the Batman mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: White Knight #3

Dec 6, 2017

Batman: White Knight #3 continues Sean Murphy's delving into the ins and outs of the Joker. I want it to be clear that this issue and the overall story are still extremely good. It's not very often we get an undertaking of this magnitude and Murphy's unique art style and writing prowess seem tailor-made for this story. However, I think it is only fair to judge this story in comparison with other stories of its ilk i.e. The Killing Joke or Joker and in this instance, this issue simply doesn't hold the same level of prestige. There is however, definite signs of improvement for future issues and hopefully, this grand story comes together in a fittingly chaotic and beautiful way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: White Knight #5

Feb 7, 2018

The things that work in Batman: White Knight #5 work really well. Murphy offers a highly personal and stylized spin on these popular characters. In fact they even balance out the aspects that don't necessarily work as well such as Neo-Joker and Bruce's connection to the Nazi's. But all of this is contingent on the unknown; mainly will the old Joker resurface or is Jack Napier here to stay?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: White Knight #6

Mar 7, 2018

Batman: White Knight #6 isn't a horrible comic book despite my complaints throughout this review, and Batman: White Knight isn't a bad comic book mini-series, both offer an interesting spin on very well worn characters. And chapter #6 introduces some fairly novel wrinkles to the story. I guess I was expecting much more with a brilliant, accomplished creator such as Sean Murphy at the helm.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight #7

Apr 4, 2018

Batman: White Knight hasn't achieved the lofty goals I set out for it so far. It has been good, but it hasn't been as good as I hoped it would be given the talent behind it. However, in Batman: White Knight #7, Sean Murphy's plan finally seems to be coming together and brings new light to previous entries. Not only are we creeping to closure for the series but an emphasis of this issue seems to be on closure of the character of Batman, and it leaves me wondering if this series ends with no more Batman. If it feels earned, maybe it will push this series to new heights.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: White Knight #8

May 9, 2018

Batman: White Knight and its final issue have certainly not been a slog to get through. Sean Murphy and Matt Hollingsworth have most certainly put their own unique stamp on the Batman mythos with this mini-series. It just feels unfinished with so much potential still lying around. Batman: White Knight #8 ties things up pretty neatly however leaving little room for expansion, which is perhaps it's greatest crime.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beautiful Canvas #1

Jun 28, 2017

At first glance, I wasn't that excited to read Beautiful Canvas #1. But upon finishing the book, I can say that I was very pleasantly surprised and I am very excited to see where and how the story continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Beautiful Canvas #2

Jul 26, 2017

I am really loving this story so far. Writer Ryan K. Lindsay and artist Sami Kivela are beginning one of the cleverest and mysterious stories I have read in a long time. And while eventually, we will need answers and clarifications, being lost in this intricate plot and characters is enough to make Beautiful Canvas #2 a standout issue this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Beautiful Canvas #3

Sep 6, 2017

The cliffhanger is aptly poetic and does a good job of setting up the finale next issue. While I do love the Lon and Asia aspects of this story I am becoming more and more frustrated with any lack of answers given so far. Seeing as the story is wrapping up next issue, I am worried they wont have enough time to answer each question sufficiently. However I am willing to grin and bear it because the payoff is bound to be intensely emotional and suitably beautiful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Beautiful Canvas #4

Oct 4, 2017

Ryan K. Lindsay and Sami Kivela have created such an interesting and personal story set in the chaos of a bustling world that deserves to be more fully discovered. A part of me was disappointed in the final pages in which Lindsay said he doesn't plan on returning to Lon's story any time soon. However, I also believe there's merit and virtue to leaving this story where it ended; with both of these lover's ready to take on a whole new adventure with their past ghosts watching over them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bingo Love #1

Jan 17, 2018

Stories like Bingo Love are vital to comic books as an industry. More diversity can only produce more varied and phenomenal stories and for this reason Bingo Love is a marvel. We need more and more voices such as Tee Franklin's to take center stage. And Bingo Love is an adequate enough introduction into the realm of comic writing. It isn't horrible by any stretch of the imagination. It's simply not a knock out, which is perfectly fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Cloud #3

Jun 14, 2017

Despite these sometimes-minor gripes, the overall intrigue of Jason Latour's plot in Black Cloud #3, keeps me hooked and waiting for the next issue. Hopefully, some mysteries will be explained, and some details will be patched up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer #11

Jul 26, 2017

I really can't say enough of this series. Black Hammer continues to amaze me to the point where even a stellar issue of it such as Black Hammer #11 registers as just a "meh" for me because I'm so used to the greatness of each issue and I think that is this series biggest flaw: In any other comic series I'd give this issue a 5 out of 5. But because this issue is a part of Black Hammer it's score is lessened a bit because every issue would be 5 out of 5. So in the grand scheme of the story, this issue was one of the lesser "WOW" ones. However, this is a stupid thing to complain about and should not be held against this issue alone. If anything it simply proves the ultimate point that you should be reading this comic regardless of what my review says.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Black Hammer/Justice League: Hammer of Justice! #2

Aug 14, 2019

While the ingredients to Justice League/ Black Hammer: Hammer of Justice #2 seem to work amazingly together, the result is just meh.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
By Night #1

Jun 13, 2018

By Night #1 is an entertaining tale about two estranged friends encountering something other-wordly and hopefully getting closer because of it. It's not the most unique or engrossing story, but John Allsion does enough with his characterization and dialogue to draw the readers in. There is room for expansion as to what is actually on the other side of the portal and what exactly are Heather's true intentions, so the series can go in a bunch of directions.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Collapser #1

Jul 21, 2019

Collapser #1 succeeds mostly because of the likeability and realism of its main character, Liam James.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Crosswind #1

Jun 21, 2017

Crosswinds #1 does an excellent job of presenting an interesting premise with some interesting characters, while the art is nothing exceptional it does it's job and justifies its place alongside Simone's excellent script.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Crosswind #2

Jul 27, 2017

Crosswind #2 is a funny and entertaining issue. It does more enough to lead the reader gracefully into the next issue, placing our characters into situations with actual consequences. As well as providing us with an interesting question of who did this to Cason and Mrs. Blue and more importantly- Why?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Days of Hate #1

Jan 17, 2018

Days of Hate is not a perfect book. Sometimes, Kot can get a bit wordy in his speech bubbles and sometimes his characterization will be off and offend readers. Mostly, I can't stress this enough, if you voted for Trump or maybe even lean conservative on some issues, this book isn't for you. But if at any point since the election, you've felt afraid or unsure of the future; Days of Hate #1 will assure you that you're not alone, you're not crazy, and you should be afraid. Plus, it's also a really good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Days of Hate #2

Feb 28, 2018

Ale Kot's story and Danijel eelij's art is not going to be for everyone throughout this series. But if chapter 1 didn't scare you away, Days of Hate #2 is going to be right up your alley.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Days of Hate #3

Mar 28, 2018

Days of Hate #3 might be the best chapter of the series yet. It encapsulates everything that has made the series work so far, while also emphasizing the overwhelming paranoia and distrust in truly unique and brilliant ways. Although Days of Hate #3 is a fairly quiet issue, Ales Kot and Danijel eelj are able to speak volumes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Days of Hate #4

Apr 25, 2018

At first I was afraid Days of Hate would be a tad gimmicky by using the tumultuous election and post election politics as a platform for vitriol and hate without understanding. But writer Ale Kot and artists Danijel eelj and Jordie Bellaire continue to imbue so much love and detail in this world and characters that it is apparent they have bigger and better things in store. Days of Hate #4 is an exceptional indicator of this trend.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Days of Hate #5

May 23, 2018

Days of Hate is beyond the point of convincing new readers. It is firmly entrenched in the story it is set on telling, and it is a fantastic one at that. All of the characters are jaded and complex in ways that are few and far between in comics. Days of Hate #5 is another standout issue for a standout series. If any entry in this series is Eisner-worthy, it's this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Descender #22

Jul 19, 2017

Descender #22 is another worthy entry in the series and while the story is good and serves it's purpose, despite minor gripes and character misuse, the art is truly where this issue shines. I would and have recommended this book on mere art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Descender #24

Sep 20, 2017

Descender #24 is another excellent entry to the series. While it total separation from the core story may make some feel like it's unnecessary and fillery, I feel otherwise. I feel that without these core character issues are essential to the making us care about the overarching plot and it's consequences. I guess my only complaint is that we don't get enough of them in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Descender #25

Oct 25, 2017

A lot of the impact of this issue hinges on how Lemire follows it up and sets up the next arc. As much as I would love another Driller-centric issue, it seems counter-intuitive to pump the breaks on the development of Tim-21 seeing as it's only getting more and more interesting. However with all of these threads hanging in the balance, it's hard to deny how satisfying it was to see Tim-21 finally start acting on his own.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Descender #26

Nov 15, 2017

Descender #26 attempts to wraps up the "Rise of the Robots" story line, but instead it seems to invite more questions. Rarely has their been a poor Descender issue and this one follows suit. However, I can't shake the feeling that more could have been with this arc and more story beats could have been accomplished. Heck, I'd always take more Driller-centric issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Descender #27

Feb 21, 2018

A lot of information in Descender #27 may feel unneeded or unwarranted, but Lemire does enough to justify its existence while enticing us with answers regarding the ancient Harvesters and their creators. However the real star of this issue is Dustin Nguyen's art, as it simply should not go missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Descender #28

Mar 21, 2018

Descender #28 marks an improvement over recent issues, but it's still not where it needs to be. For a series that started off so strong, it is a bit sad to see it wallow a bit. But it is getting better and I can honestly say I am interested to see how the story ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Descender #29

Apr 18, 2018

Descender #29 is a fantastically well done issue that sparks the initial interest I had in the series. Jeff Lemire ditches his usual trappings of convoluted mythos and side plots and instead options for more a straightforward approach as we gear towards the endgame and Nguyen's art is can't miss. Simply put if you have been keeping up Descender, Descender #29 gives you no reason to stop.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Descender #31

Jun 27, 2018

Descender as a series has come along way from its inception. Lemire's story has shifted into something totally unexpected and Nguyen's art has grown in ways I thought were impossible. Descender #31 is far from perfect but it does enough to excite prior to the series finale and it conveys just how much growth took place in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Diablo House #1

Jul 5, 2017

While it does seem like I ranted about how poor Diablo House #1 was, I want it to be clear that I am more so disappointed at what could have been. Twilight Zone is one of my favorite shows of all time and I desperately hoped this could exist in the same vein as it. However, there are some series pitfalls in this issue that need to be dealt with if Diablo House wants more visitors.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #7

Jul 26, 2017

When adding up the aspects of Doom Patrol #7, it should be a funny and great comic. And for the most part, it is. Despite this, the past continues to be added baggage and really detracts from the quality of this issue. I understand that some readers appreciate the past ties that Way uses in his story, but as a newer reader to the series, I do not. I want Gerard Way to be the original and talented writer he has proven to be when unburdened with the past and based upon the ending of this issue there is ample potential for this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dread Gods #1

Jul 12, 2017

Dread Gods #1 assures the reader this story is off to a unique and fresh start. While there is room for the story to eventually falter, the pros of the present greatly outweigh the cons of the future. Minor gripes aside, Dread Gods should be on everyone's radar for future releases.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dread Gods #2

Sep 13, 2017

Dread Gods #2 isn't bad by any stretch of the imagination. It simply lacks of what made the first issue so exciting. However, I do believe that the series is heading in a positive direction as this issue lands and sets up an eventful next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Dread Gods #3

Jan 31, 2018

Dread Gods #3 does little to draw in new readers, but nothing to offend the old ones. It's not one of the best series around right now and I don't think that's what it's aiming for. There is nothing wrong with this book just being ok. But sometimes, especially in Dread Gods #3 it struggles to even do that. Despite this, Marz introduces enough to inspire hope for future issues and Raney's God scenes are particularly visceral and cartoonish.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Elsewhere #1

Aug 2, 2017

Overall, Elsewhere #1 is a sufficient and entertaining read. While not the most novel or creative book, it executes what it attempts well especially, the star character Earhart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elsewhere #2

Sep 6, 2017

While the story is still overwhelmingly unoriginal, I don't really think it's a bad thing. I think with the correct talent behind it, it can still be an enjoyable ride. And Elsewhere #2 is definitely that as well as an improvement on the first issue and makes me genuinely excited for the next one. Hopefully, Faerber and Kesgin continue to add just enough intrigue to the story to prevent anyone from pumping the brakes.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Ghost Station Zero #1

Aug 2, 2017

Ghost Station Zero #1 is what is, a formulaic spy story and I can't really fault it for that. However, it really doesn't do anything noteworthy or to keep my attention. Perhaps eventually, it will get to the point where it can do something unique to the spy genre but as of now, I really wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Glitterbomb: The Fame Game #1

Sep 20, 2017

Glitterbomb- The Fame Game #1 is shaping up to be a very worthy successor to it's predecessor, but there are some drawbacks that need to be addressed. Hopefully, Zub can make Kaydon and her mom more multi-dimensional and interesting. But most importantly, we see more gruesome gory deaths happen to some deserving Scumbags.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Glitterbomb: The Fame Game #2

Oct 25, 2017

Glitterbomb- The Fame Game #2 struggles solely because of it's protagonist. It's not that Kaydon is given poorly written dialogue or poorly drawn; it's just that Jim Zub hasn't really done anything with her yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
I Hate Fairyland #13

Jun 21, 2017

While offering a humorous diversion into the what if life of Larrington Wentsworth, nothing particular new or significant happened, making it feel like a wasted issue. However, due to Skottie Young's unique imagery and style of humor, I Hate Fairyland #13, proves to be worth the ticket price regardless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
I Hate Fairyland #14

Jul 20, 2017

I Hate Fairyland #14 is one of the funniest and most plot substantial issues of the series in a long time. Skottie Young continues to be the perfect artist for his script although I fear it may be getting stale soon. But it has not happened yet and issue #14 is funny and offers up intrigue for future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #9

Jun 2, 2017

Brubaker, Phillips, and Breitweiser continue their excellent run in Kill or Be Killed #9 and despite some minor repetition and corny-ness deliver a satisfying and thrilling installment that leaves the reader waiting for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #10

Jul 12, 2017

Another issue, another stellar addition to Kill or Be Killed's stellar run. Issue #10 may be a bit slower on the action front, but all of the other elements line up to deliver another knockout issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #11

Aug 9, 2017

It's hard to pinpoint many series that have been as consistently good as Kill or Be Killed it's initial premise has continued to hold sway and remains effective. However, I do wonder how much longer we can stay in flashback mode and what the series will look like when we're not. Regardless if you're not reading Kill or Be Killed you really should start because Kill or Be Killed #11 is another fantastic entry.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #12

Sep 13, 2017

Kill or Be Killed #12 is a true triumph for the series, which has already been so great so far. It deviated from the paranormal aspects of the series and instead focused more on the relationship between Dylan and Kira and the lengths Dylan will go to protect her. I liked how the devil wasn't present in this issue because this chapter wasn't about the paranormal; it was about the passion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #14

Nov 29, 2017

Kill or Be Killed #14 is another fantastic entry in the series. Kill or Be Killed consistently proves to be one of the best written and drawn comics on stands today, but perhaps the biggest compliment I can give the series is that it without either Brubaker or Phillips, the series would not be the same. The way in which the script compliments the art and vice versa is a perfect example of a symbiotic relationship. If you aren't caught up in the series, I highly recommend you reacquaint yourself because this is one of the best comic series being printed right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #16

Feb 14, 2018

Kill or Be Killed #16 continues the run of excellence for the series. But more importantly it goes miles in establishing it's already well thought out and written characters and advances the side characters and stories to new heights. Issue #16, only reinforces Dylan's murderous desire (Demon or no Demon) and his inner compass towards justice, now we just have to wait and see how he goes through with it. Everyone should be reading this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #17

Mar 21, 2018

Kill or Be Killed #17 continues Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips's run of excellence. While no truly original or new idea is introduced in this issue, it doesn't particularly need one. Kill or Be Killed #17 succeeds for the same reason the prior entries have, it's just damn good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kill Or Be Killed #18

Apr 25, 2018

Kill or Be Killed has been a consistently great and entertaining series. Whether it's Ed Brubaker's script or Sean Phillips and Elizabeth Breitweiser's art. But for several reasons Kill or Be Killed #18 fails to live up to the series' lofty standards. Once again, this is not a bad comic- it's simply that the plot doesn't move forward enough to warrant its existence. I felt as though this entire issue could have been boiled down to a 3-4 page summary.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #19

May 30, 2018

I've loved Kill or Be Killed for a majority of it's run and it brings me a sadness to know it is ending soon. However, I am pleased to report it seems to be ending on a satisfying note so far producing the writing and artistic quality it has maintained since it's inception. A lot of this payoff will have to deal with the ending (which is shocking to say the least), but readers should have confidence and high hopes. Brubaker and Phillips haven't let us down so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kill Or Be Killed #20

Jun 27, 2018

Kill or Be Killed #20 is still a satisfying conclusion to a fantastic series overall. Although it may be one of it's weaker chapters, it should not take away anything from the stellar series as a whole. Kill or Be Killed has been an achievement on all fronts and should definitely be picked up by anyone who is a noir fan or anyone that enjoys fantastic comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kill the Minotaur #1

Jun 16, 2017

Kill The Minotaur #1 sets the groundwork for a very familiar tale but told through a distinctive enough style and perspective that it will still be effective and enjoyable enough to read however without offering anything new to the formula.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill the Minotaur #2

Jul 19, 2017

The lasting image of the beast is also one of the most hopeful images this book has, because of it's promise that Kill the Minotaur will be different from all the incarnations of the story before it. Kill the Minotaur #2 is a great issue and is well worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kill the Minotaur #3

Aug 16, 2017

Kill the Minotaur is consistently proving to be an amazing series. For this reason, I am going to have to be stricter when scoring it. This issue while still great is simply not as good as the ones that came before it for a couple of reasons and because of this, the score will be lower. However, this series is great week in and week out, and if anyone is interested in comics or Greek mythology, I'd recommend this series without any hesitation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Killers #1

Jul 31, 2019

It's not the most unique premise, but Killers #1 does enough to differentiate itself in a crowded room providing a fun and kinetic entry point into the world of Ninjak.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Mage: The Hero Denied #1

Aug 16, 2017

Mage: Hero Denied #1 isn't a bad comic at all. For the most part it is an enjoyable read. However it suffers from an intense case of "Seen it before". From it's cookie cutter character designs to it's contrived dialogue its just painfully average. That's why I'm giving it a 2 out of 5, not because it's bad, but because I feel like it could do so much more creatively.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Monstress #13

Jan 24, 2018

At this point, new readers should be warned about Monstress. It's convoluted lore and history can cause a headache for even it's most devoted fans sometimes. But if you have been keeping up with the series, Monstress #13 provides more of what to of what you love- giant monsters, Maika being a badass, and Takeda fantastic art.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Niourk #1

Feb 7, 2018

Niourk is nothing if not a disappointment. It had some potential in its earlier pages when the plot seemed simple like it's characters. But as the story evolved and expanded it became increasingly ridiculous.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
No One Left To Fight #1

Jul 5, 2019

What could have been a clich, trope filled mindless romp proves otherwise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
No One Left To Fight #2

Aug 7, 2019

No One Left To Fight #2 cements the series place on everyone's must-read list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Powers of X #1

Jul 30, 2019

Powers of X #1 is the beginnings of a new X-Men Epic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Prodigy #6

Jun 12, 2019

Prodigy is a slick power fantasy. It is not going to reveal untold secrets or truths, but it is a fun ride through and through.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Redlands #1

Jul 13, 2017

Redlands #1 is horrifying. It's also amazing and should be on everyone's list of new books to read for the upcoming future. Hopefully though more information will be explained and the reader will not be left in the dark as much- because it is very scary in there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #3

Jun 29, 2017

Overall, Redneck #3, offers more intrigue into the first arch of the story and sets the seeds for future strife and conflict in the Bowman family, hopefully Cates doesn't get lost in the past and focuses on the present though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Royal City #4

Jun 20, 2017

Despite his extensive workload, Jeff Lemire continues to pump out issue after issue of exceptional stories and Royal City #4 doesn't disappoint. Lemire continues to prove that he truly shines in quieter character driven stories and all signs point to a satisfying conclusion to the first story arch of Royal City next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Royal City #6

Oct 11, 2017

Royal City #6 sets up potentially the most interesting and emotionally charged arc Royal City has to offer. As we lead up to Tommy's eventual death the focus shifts to tell us that this arc is in fact Tommy's story, not his siblings or his parents. This is finally Tommy's time to be the main character and in the spotlight, Tommy truly shines.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Royal City #7

Nov 8, 2017

No issue of Royal City is bad, any time we can get more of Jeff Lemire's depressing and human writing we are better off for it, when we can get past the tears. However, Royal City #7 doesn't quite meet the bar Lemire has set for himself in prior issues. Often times, this issue seems meandering and lost just like Tommy. Next issue, Lemire promises a drug and drink fueled joy ride with Richie, Tommy, and friends. Hopefully, we will arrive a more concrete plot location then.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Royal City #9

Jan 10, 2018

No issue of Royal City has been bad so far. In fact a majority of them have been consistently amazing. However, Royal City #9 doesn't reach the standard of excellence that Lemire has set for himself in this series. It still hits the emotional highs and lows we have come to expect from this series, but certain elements simply detract too much from the experience in this entry.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Royal City #10

Feb 21, 2018

Despite all of this I wouldn't consider Royal City #10 to be a particularly bad issue. Lemire's dialogue is still great throughout a majority of this issue especially during Tara and Steve's abortion discussion and Lemire's pros is stellar during Patti's monologue. But once again none of it feels like it meshes as well as it could have. Hopefully, Lemire is able to tie it all together with a fittingly melancholic and emotional ribbon as in this arc's final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Royal City #11

May 30, 2018

I've personally grappled with Royal City in the past. Some issues felt pointless and boring, while others struck a deeply personal note as I, too, have felt similarly to the characters. And I think in Royal City #11, these emotions finally come together. I'm supposed to feel stuck while reading some of Royal City because that's exactly what the characters are: Stuck, never able to move one way or the other. It's troubling and its haunting, but it's similarly beautiful and almost hopeful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rumble (2017) #1

Nov 29, 2017

Rumble #1 delivers an interesting and involving introduction to the world of Rumble. It is one of the few examples where the story doesn't scare off newer readers but instead welcomes them by offering them easily digestible tidbits of the universes pre-existing history. While many of my pre-existing concerns regarding #1 issues stand in place, Rumble #1 offers hope that the story will go in a positive direction and not collapse inward on it's already expansive lore and mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sacred Creatures #1

Jul 6, 2017

While showing some shades of its influences, Sacred Creatures #1 does a great job of introducing its intriguing villains and heroes as the stakes for a legitimate holy war seemingly rage on for many future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Sea of Stars #1

Jul 5, 2019

An enthralling first entry into perhaps the next great comic story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Weapons #1

Jun 28, 2017

While not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, Secret Weapons #1 does enough to merit its worth and offers hope for improvement in further issues. If Heisserer continues to expand on the mythos and answer questions, Secret Weapons should improve and prove to be an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Skyward (2018) #2

May 23, 2018

Skyward #2 is a mediocre addition to a series that needs a lot of work going forward. I love the concept of a world without gravity and some of the characters do work, so the bones are there. Joe Henderson and Lee Garbett simply need to do more with Willa and make her semi-likable or even capable, while fixing some other flaws.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sleepless (2017) #1

Dec 6, 2017

Sleepless #1 is a fascinating introduction to a world that would be eerily unremarkable in lesser hands. The team of Vaughn, Del Duca, and Sallah seem like a perfect match by imbuing this tale with enough character and history to keep the reader entertained for many more issues. Hopefully, the rest of the series can maintain the momentum of its enthralling first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sleepless (2017) #2

Jan 10, 2018

Sleepless #2 is a deeper dive into a promisingly elaborate and extravagant tale. It's not an incredibly deep story so far, I wouldn't be expecting to many philosophical metaphors about morality or what it means to be human, but so far it's a pretty damn good fairy tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sleepless (2017) #3

Feb 14, 2018

Which I guess is a decent enough summation of the issue- All right. Sleepless #3 is not going to wow you in any particular facet. But it's enough to keep you hoping the next issue is better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Sonata #2

Jul 21, 2019

While not reaching the same highs as the debut issue, Sonata #2 still delivers the goods when needed. Plus the creatures look soooo damn cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Star Wars: Age Of Rebellion: Darth Vader #1

Jun 28, 2019

An overall underwhelming attempt to understand one of the most iconic figures in pop culture history.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.6
Star Wars: Age Of Resistance: Captain Phasma #1

Jul 15, 2019

Another disappointing entry into the lore of Captain Phasma.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Strayed #1

Aug 1, 2019

Strayed's core premise is such a childhood wish fulfillment; it is upsetting the rest of the book doesn't deliver the same sense of wonder.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dead Hand #1

Apr 11, 2018

The Dead Hand #1 is an expertly paced and drawn beginning chapter into a promisingly great new original series. While initially reluctant to read the rest of the issue in the beginning, the ending spin fostered a new hope for the story that it hopefully can cash in on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dead Hand #2

May 16, 2018

The Dead Hand #2 is fantastic and the creative team behind this story is a powerhouse. It's not too late to begin the series as there are still so many questions up in the air and missing this series seems criminal.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dead Hand #3

Jun 13, 2018

The Dead Hand #3 continues the series's hot streak. While in some stories ending each chapter could lead to some fatigue, Higgins, Mooney, and Bellaire are so effective in each of their fields that it works. I anticipate each new chapter as I wonder how the team will alter my perspective of the story next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Family Trade #1

Oct 11, 2017

The Family Trade #1 offers a lot of potential in its political commentary and interesting world, however the lack of exposition towards the Jessa and the out of place art ultimately sink this issue from true greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Family Trade #2

Nov 15, 2017

At first, I really enjoyed the world of the float that the first issue of The Family Trade introduced. I thought the concept of a shadow family on the side of good that kept the politics in check could really stick out as unique in this ever growing and expanding catalogue of Image series. However, The Family Trade #2 fails to instill as much hope for this series going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Family Trade #3

Dec 20, 2017

The Family Trade #3 finally receives its best entry yet. While still not perfect, it finally feels as if the plot is in motion and the main character is worth following. I am interested in how far they take the political commentary as it is especially important in our current political climate. Also, it makes the book even more enjoyable to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Shadow/Batman #2

Nov 1, 2017

Every aspect of The Shadow/Batman #2 is great and served a purpose beyond a simple cash grab, which is probably more than anyone should expect from a crossover involving these classic comic book titans. However, while this issue is great from front to back and there are few flaws to be had, it's a shame it doesn't do anything groundbreaking or earthshattering. In comparison to Tom King's Batman run which is going on simultaneously in which something earth-shattering is happening weekly, The Shadow/Batman #2 feels like a letdown of sorts. But ultimately that is a personal gripe, and this issue is a great solid read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Unearth #1

Jul 15, 2019

A new horror-inspired mystery begins under the earth's surface.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Unearth #2

Aug 14, 2019

UNEARTH #2 takes a bunch of stellar horror influences and gives us a so-so result.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Unnatural #1

Jun 20, 2018

It's hard to find any aspect of Unnatural #1 redeemable. I understand what Mirka Andolfo is attempting to do and who her intended audience is, but what she put out feels insulting to that audience. Surely, people can enjoy a sexual book with a decent story, writing, and art, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
VS #1

Feb 7, 2018

VS #1 isn't a perfect entry point to a seemingly overtly complex and convoluted story. However, it is successful in whetting the appetite for more of it. With interesting art, and clever story explanation, hopefully it doesn't bite off more than it can chew.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Warframe #1

Oct 4, 2017

Warframe #1 offers a pretty boilerplate addition to a middle-of"the-road videogame. While the book is not a total failure for the most part, I simply cannot recommend it to someone who is not already a fan of the universe. If not for the pretty action scene midway through this issue, I don't even know if I would recommend it to someone who already is a fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Xerxes: The Fall of the House of Darius and the Rise of Alexander #1

Apr 12, 2018

It may seem unfair to constantly compare Xerxes: The Fall of the House of Darius and the Rise of Alexander with it's groundbreaking and historical companion, as so few novels in general can match that height. But my main complaint is why revisit the same well-trodden landscape if you're not going to give us something of equal or more worth. It felt as the only thing that could have been added to his definitive tome is what happened after the battle against the 300 Spartans pertaining to Xerxes. But seeing as Xerxes isn't even in this chapter, it almost seems pointless.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Xerxes: The Fall of the House of Darius and the Rise of Alexander #2

May 16, 2018

Xerxes: the Fall of the House of Darius and the Rise of Alexander #2 continues the series tendency to disappoint. There are increasingly few reasons to stick with this series. The only redeeming hope is that perhaps Alexander might add an interesting wrinkle or two, but due to the state of the series now, I doubt I'll be sticking around long enough to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Youngblood (2017) #2

Jun 5, 2017

Youngblood #2 picks up where issue #1 left off, which uncreative characters, a clich story and inconsistent art. There is some hope that the series will pick up in quality, but as of this issue the spark is simply not there.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More