Daniela Mendoza's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Shoot The Breeze Comics Reviews: 65
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
All-New Wolverine #25

Oct 12, 2017

I like this art style by Cabal more than what Ive seen in other issues. It has more detail and captures action scenes well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New Wolverine #26

Oct 26, 2017

A lot is happening in this arc as a whole. It is super violent and kick-ass. Keeps you on your toes and lots of things from the last issue make sense. Cabal did great in this issue, the art is great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
All-New Wolverine #27

Nov 25, 2017

This is definitely one of the more intense arcs in the amazing series. More is revealed about The Orphans and this took a dark turn. It can definitely get worse for Laura while they're around. The art by Cabal is very vibrant and great as always.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
All-New Wolverine #28

Dec 16, 2017

This has a strong, strong plot. A lot is at stake here, Laura has to struggle not only with survival, but keeping her family members safe from harm as well. The Orphans of X being introduced in this comic has just made it all the more interesting. This comicbook series as a whole has so many strong points when it comes to storylines and art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
All-New Wolverine #30

Feb 9, 2018

Laura is sticking to her new peaceful ways of no killing. She tries to keep the peace between her and The Orphans despite everything that has gone down. Laura is wise, but perhaps a bit foolish.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
All-New Wolverine #31

Mar 5, 2018

Art was awesome by Failla, and it totally works for an All-New Wolverine issue. This was a perfect comic to bring Deadpool in and we'll see if he is able to help them against their next adversary!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
All-New Wolverine #33

Apr 6, 2018

This issue is a good read because it does a great job with flashbacks and retouching important events. I would love to see the Doom War in the X-23 storyline. Clift hangers always keep me on my toes and we definitely have a big one. What could Gabby have done? The art by Rosanas is solid and detailed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
All-New Wolverine #34

May 1, 2018

The art by Rosanas is solid along with the color by Woodard. Lopez's cover art was good at capturing Laura's ferocity. Taylor always brings in awesome characters and uses them to their full potential and never wastes them. I love easter eggs they have in the comic, since they are in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
All-New Wolverine #35

May 20, 2018

All-New Wolverine has been one of the more solid comic books in Marvel's lineup and always delivers. I knew DC fanboys who loved this book. With Logan returning as Wolverine, Laura is stepping back to X-23, in her own self-titled comic. Hopefully it will be as good as the way Tom Taylor writes and we continue to have solid, detailed artwork like we have had here. Ending with the storyline Old Woman Laura was a good move.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ash vs. The Army of Darkness #3

Sep 22, 2017

Incredible adaptation from the movie! Funny twist from the T.V. show since theyd have a slightly different timeline. TV and books always differ though. If you dig horror comics or are just a hardcore fan of this series, Id highly suggest picking it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ash vs. The Army of Darkness #4

Oct 19, 2017

Dig the art and color by Vargas, Lofti, and Farrell. Wise choice on adding more staff for this issue. Im really hooked on what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Ash vs. The Army of Darkness #5

Dec 5, 2017

Has all the gritty, funny, gory concepts from the movies. I did like this series as a whole and can't wait to see what the future has in store not only for this but the TV show as well. It was a good fun arc to see what antics Ash gets into. We are going to get KISS.. Yeah KISS and Army of Darkness together in a comic set to release in 2018. That should be very interesting and I'm praying Gene Simmons doesn't try to trademark all things Evil Dead related.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #5

Nov 3, 2017

Soule is constantly keeping you at the edge of your seat with this series. X-Men comics are easily lovable, but if you liked the FX series Legion, this issue is for you. The psychological elements make it extra interesting along with the real world drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #6

Dec 9, 2017

Art was different, but really pretty to look at. Different than standard comic book art. No harsh lines, almost like watercolor. It has bright colors with no harshness, but had a good amount of contrast in all the different panels. It suits the issue well and had a lot of detail still.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #7

Jan 8, 2018

I've always really liked Phil Noto as at artist. I feel like his style is a good match for this series. This is a great way to start the new Act II arc because it opens so many doors. A young Charles Xavier back from the dead can cause a lot of dilemmas, even though it seems like a good thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #8

Mar 8, 2018

Charles Xavier, better known now as X, has made his triumphant return. However, is this a mistake? The X-Men don't trust this new version of him. X is determined to talk to Proteus without causing more bloodshed. He wants to solve this the peaceful way, but Proteus holds a nasty grudge. Can they save the day peacefully?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #11

May 7, 2018

This has been such a solid comic with a great storyline! I'm not looking forward to it ending. There's definitely a cliffhanger at the end of each issue, but not an annoying one either. I hope to see this team soon. Again, it's not officially over, it's just how I feel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #12

Jun 19, 2018

Art is amazing, it's dark and gritty and a different style than usual. X looked way different. This is a comic that has issues that ALWAYS deliver. It has a lot of different aspects you don't expect. Charles Soule has done it again! I'm so sad this comic book is only 12 issues long. There's so much more they could expand upon and I love this team, they are made up of some of my favorite X-Men!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #24

Jul 19, 2017

It's a cute way to wrap up the arc, but there was a lot of things in the last issue that I wanted to see. It has introduced a lot of potential conflicts and I was looking forward to see those in this issue, but I trust they will be resolved very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #25

Aug 9, 2017

This is such a fun issue! You get to see Harley kicking serious ass. This is a funny, campy, action-packed issue for Harley's Birthday!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #26

Aug 23, 2017

It was a gritty, action packed issue! I love fight scenes, but Im also kind of a gore-buff, so I loved seeing people being slaughtered for a fight they picked!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #27

Sep 6, 2017

Funny, quirky, everything I expect from a Harley Quinn comic. Rarely disappoints. I do enjoy the artwork, although I favor John Timms. Same with the cover, I prefer Amanda Conner and Alexs Sinclairs cover art, but Carlini and Thompson are great too!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #28

Sep 21, 2017

Love the art, and it is a funny story. Its a great opening to the rest of the arc, just nothing really crazy happened. Thats how it is for most beginnings though. One thing is for sure, Id definitely vote for Harley!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #29

Oct 5, 2017

Fun issue, keeps you on your toes. I love seeing old Arkham villains in this series. The mix of art styles is cool since we see The Suicide Squad style. Its done tastefully. Sort of disturbing at certain points, so that REALLY brings the stakes up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #30

Oct 19, 2017

I'm not too crazy about this arc, and unfortunately with Conner and Palmiotti leaving, their writing is getting weaker with trying to wrap the story up. I love this series so Ill be sad to see it end. Im open to new writers in the future. I am looking forward to seeing the results of this election though!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #31

Nov 9, 2017

Suspenseful to the end. Title gives away a lot, and I think that is part of Conner and Palmiottis plan with leaving.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Harley Quinn (2016) #33

Dec 22, 2017

Since Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti are leaving and new writers are taking over now, it does feel like just an easy way to have their way out. I'm sure writing a character as complex and popular as Harley can be overwhelming. The ending steers towards new beginnings which I liked but it could have been built up more. I like the art and it's cute, but it goes for eery to bright to eery and bright and it's like are we going for an issue where they are mourning the loss of a loved one or just another silly Harley Quinn comic?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Harley Quinn (2016) #34

Jan 13, 2018

I love John Timms art so much. Chad Hardins was a good fit too since it's almost similar. Sometimes art changes are my pet peeve. But that is just me. I've been talking about Conner and Palmiotti leaving a lot, and for people who do not know the news, well you'll certainly get a lot of answers in here. The quality was good here but I think the overall quality of the comicbook deteriorated when it hit Rebirth, I know a lot of people who dropped this title. Maybe they will come back after a while and have new better material.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #35

Jan 18, 2018

Art is awesome! I love the shading and darker colors by Miranda and Skipper. The cover looks cute like an average Harley issue, but the art makes it look like Suicide Squad which is cool because she's great in that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Harley Quinn (2016) #37

Feb 9, 2018

We haven't really seen Andolfo in Harley Quinn that much or really recently, but she did an awesome job with everything and Harley's outfit. The way Alex Sinclair incorporates bright colors with her art works well. The ending of this issue got exciting since we get a lot more villains and familiar faces.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Harley Quinn (2016) #38

Feb 24, 2018

Wacky villains, unforeseen saviors, and more in the angry birds arc! We see villains like Mr. Freeze and The Condiment King, but where is Penguin?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016): 25th Anniversary Special #1

Sep 14, 2017

This gives insight to the fact that even when Harley was with the Joker, she was not truly evil. She did everything for him out of love and hopes for what they could have in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Harley Quinn (2016): Be Careful What You Wish For Special #1

Jan 12, 2018

I really dig the art style overall, I'm glad Amanda Conner was the main artist for this. I sort of lost interest half way through, not super memorable to me as special

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Mr. and Mrs. X #1

Jul 30, 2018

I couldn't explain how happy I was that Rogue and Gambit got their own mini series before, but I was even more excited when a new one entailed them getting married! Like Thompson said, with a couple this hot and powerful, it is hard to get bored! I feel like this series has way more potential since they have more X-Men involved and they're starting off the fight in space! Bazaldua does great with the art and the cover by D'Armata is beautiful! I really can't wait to see what's in store!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Mr. and Mrs. X #3

Sep 25, 2018

The use of so many bright colors works amazingly! All over a great issue. Never a dull moment with this comic in general, it's really solid. It's the half way point for this comicbook, and they plot continues to thicken and even though it's more light-hearted and funny, it continues to kick ass!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mr. and Mrs. X #4

Oct 26, 2018

This has been a lot of action for such a short series! It's great. Art has not disappointing. This was a fun read but didn't blow me away. I feel like we will have a lot of drama and sacrifice next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #12

Jul 22, 2017

While this is an extremely kick-ass comic, you'll see a lot of themes of friendship. It's pretty deep, deeper than a lot of stuff I've read. It is very full of action and mystery and keeps you on your toes. It has also made me emotional, which is kind of hard for a comic to do. I would highly recommend this series if you haven't started it and hope this catches you up!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #13

Aug 11, 2017

There was an interesting twist in the end. I think well get to see a lot more as the arc opens up and if this deal bites them in the ass. I liked how we got to see Bizarro open up a bit and witness his whole point of view of things.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #14

Sep 16, 2017

Im in love with this series as a whole. Just a bit of a weaker issue but mostly because its an opener and first of its arc. I prefer the art of Dexter Soy, this one is good but hes been one of my favorite comic book artists so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #15

Oct 14, 2017

I was disappointed not see Soy as the artist last issue, because I adore his style so much! I was very happy to see him back doing this issue. I love the BatFam as a whole, so seeing them clash with Jason. I think everyone has at some point. I cant wait to see them working with Her.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #16

Nov 10, 2017

#SquadGoals? As a title? A little silly, but okay. I expected more interactions between these antiheroes (emphasis on anti). I have a ton of faith to see what this opens up to however. Art by Soy is killer as always.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #17

Dec 14, 2017

I am absolutely in love with Dexter Soy's art as always. This issue was fun, just anticlimactic in my opinion and they had a lot to work with. Suicide Squad comics are awesome and I just feel like they under-utilized them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #18

Jan 17, 2018

Art is great, but I still love Dexter Soy's more. The art style plus colors AND details make everything pop and adds to a better story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #19

Feb 16, 2018

This issue has a good spin on Valentine's Day but still has the feel of a Red Hood The Outlaws comic. I'm majorly stuck on Dexter Soy's art so anything aside from him like can't live up to him but Takara's art was fine. The mix of color Schwager and Serrano worked well with it and tied everything nice together. They used brights, bolds, and darks.I look forward to see what Artemis's and Jason's "deal" leads to and what they wanna do about Bizarro. I also would like to see what they could become romantically.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #20

Mar 16, 2018

From chatty henchmen to a spying Bizarro, the issue has plenty of twists and turns. Jason is forced to see his actions in a new light, and Artemis and Bizarro have a long awaited discussion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #21

Apr 14, 2018

cover is always promising when their is a big bad on it, he doesn't have a huge part in this issue though, he was more of a filler. Facial features are awesome, because Penguin and Red Hood have a face off, even though it's a little anti-climatic. It is funny and Penguin snarkiness is caught well. Dexter Soy probably my favorite comic book artist, so he always get a 10. He doesn't waste a single panel and there's always great detail in each. Gandini always puts great color too, the two together are great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #22

May 11, 2018

Art is awesome but Borge's style overshadowed Soy's and his normally comes out super amazing. Cover is awesome as well, but the Penguin storyline is overplayed since he's only been in miniscule parts of the issues lately. Before, the whole Life of Bizarro storyline was overplayed because it seemed like the same issue over and over, but now we have more insight and they need to fight to resolve it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #23

Jun 20, 2018

We didn't get to see much of Artemis and Bizarro, but that's okay, we haven't gotten to see a lot of Jason, and we get to read about a huge part of his past. I think it is pretty deep, something maybe a lot of fans of this novel can maybe relate to. Red Hood has been a fan favorite because of how badass and ruthless he is, but we can kind of see why now. Art was good, but Jason didn't look like Jason.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #24

Jul 14, 2018

Wow! That was intense, Red Hood actually murdered The Penguin. This is a big move for Rebirth, will we be seeing this villain again? This is going to create a ton of conflict between Batman and Red Hood, which may result in Batman trying to arrest him. This is going to be as painful as when Jason came back from the grave. As always, the art is great and detailed, Soy and Borges made a good combination.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #25

Aug 18, 2018

This was a great issue! All the artists collabing totally worked. This storyline has built up a lot of drama and suspense. We wonder what the future of The Outlaws is. I really cannot wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #26

Sep 16, 2018

Not one of the strongest of intros, but I'm sure the rest of the storyline will deliver. I'm itching to see what fate really had in store for Artemis and Bizarro. Jason feels like he failed his team and Batman certained added injury to insult. Art was decent, not the best I've seen for this comic but it had a gritty feel to it. Jason doesn't really look like Jason, and it's bizarre that his new weapon of choice is the very thing that killed him, but it did also turn him into THE Red Hood.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #27

Oct 11, 2018

All in all, it was a really great issue. Art was good but Jason doesn't look like Jason. It was a great tie in to what's going on with the rest of the universe. It was really heartfelt, give my dude Jason a break! I hope things get easier for him.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2017

It was great seeing a team up between the Outlaws and Nightwing! He definitely came in clutch even though he was sort of apprehensive of working with the team. The stakes werent super high against a villain like KGBeast, but it was still an entertaining read. I generally prefer Dexter Soys art style, Tyler Kirkham is identical so its still pretty awesome. I really loved this issue, but in the back of my head, I was just thinking Hows Bizarro? Whats going to happen with Bizarro? from the last issue, since this technically isnt #14.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Rogue & Gambit (2018) #1

Jan 8, 2018

The art is awesome! Great detail, bold, and bright! Everything I love in an X-Men comic. I actually prefer the variants to the cover. I was so excited to pick this up because Rogue and Gambit have been one of my favorite comicbook couples, probably ever. This brings great homage to the past, the good ol' days. Not only do I love the interaction between them, but between all the other characters introduced as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Rogue & Gambit (2018) #2

Feb 14, 2018

Summary: This is a great issue especially with Valentine's Day coming up. It is a good mix of action and drama, with a little bit of homage to the past. The art by Perez is very detailed on character features and in backgrounds and everything else and D'Armata's mix of color makes it pop. Very fun read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Rogue & Gambit (2018) #3

Mar 12, 2018

This was jam packed full of a lot of action, romance, and suspence. I've been loving how this comic pays homage to the past. Whether it be Rogue and Gambit's history and complications, to silly outfits. Plus they art gets all the different versions right and it's wonderful all around! This plot is as far-fetched as it is good. Yes, it's almost like that random fluffy fanfic to get two soulmates together on a romantic retreat, and having a villain feed off them. Of course it would be Rogue and Gambit. They have faced weirder things on other missions! The cover is a great subtle giveaway for what happens in the issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Rogue & Gambit (2018) #4

Apr 15, 2018

Love this cover! It captures the issue well since they do have to see from each other's point of view. Anka ALWAYS does an excellent job with foreshadowing what will be in the issue with the cover art. Perez and D'Armata use of bright colors with detailed art works perfectly. Thompson does a good job touching flashbacks and their mixed feelings about each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rogue & Gambit (2018) #5

May 9, 2018

They learned more about themselves, more about each other, and taught other mutants to appreciate their powers. That it is part of who they are. Rogue and Gambit saved the day in many ways. And their relationship. It's been a case of "met the right person at the wrong time," but their timing will never be perfect, their lives will never be perfect, it is better to just live in the moment with the person you've always been in love with. This is an adorable way to end the series, but I think it is also awesome that we don't actually know what happened to Lavish, she could make a good villain later on with the rest of the mutant. Kelly Thompson carried this series very well and kept you coming back for more. The art and color was beautiful and never sloppy. Sad to see it end!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wynonna Earp: Season Zero #3

Sep 13, 2017

For a first time read, this is a cool, gritty adaptation to this series. I could see myself getting into the show just from reading these comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-23 (2018) #1

Jul 16, 2018

I guess we'll see if Tamaki can carry the series as well as Thompson did with All-New Wolverine, it had left a lot skeptical. Cabal continues to have strong and awesome art. I think it has great potential to be as awesome as ANW was and we can look forward to great villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
X-23 (2018) #2

Jul 31, 2018

This story isn't holding up to All-New Wolverine sad to say, I know it's a beginner but I'm not hooked yet and I felt like all the action took place the last 4 pages. I feel like we have a strong character like Laura and her awesome team up with Gabby and it just isn't reaching its full potential. Art saved it from being below average.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
X-23 (2018) #3

Sep 4, 2018

Again, I feel like nothing exciting happens in the end. I literally read through this is 3 minutes. There's a lot of build up but little development to Tamaki's stories. I didn't even have a bias to go off of for Tamaki I don't think I've ever read anything she's written.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
X-23 (2018) #4

Sep 19, 2018

I've been feeling like this story drags on and is just milking material it has because maybe they don't have anymore ideas? Art and cover art are good, the realness captures Gabby's emotion and struggle well, even though we don't see much of her side in all of this. The color palette used is really pretty in this issue too. I don't 100% know what happened. Again, these issues always fly by.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
X-23 (2018) #5

Oct 22, 2018

Would definitely like to see more action in the next story. This was the best comic in this storyline that took forever to build up. The art was good and very vibrant, Cabal and Fiorito definitely did a good collab of both their styles.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-23 (2018) #6

Nov 13, 2018

I may be on some hater-ade, but I just expect a lot more from a favorite superhero. Cover makes it seem a lot cooler than it is, I feel like it would definitely be a memorable one, just with an basic story behind it. Art saves it, it has good detail with pretty background colors.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More