J. Luis's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GAMbIT Magazine Reviews: 97
7.1Avg. Review Rating

6
4001 A.D. #3

Aug 7, 2016

Despite some issues I enjoyed the whole thing and find I think it really cool to learn a little bit more about this world with the cinematic aspect that each page gave us. It's still early, but there is room for improvement in direction of this series so things can improve. It's one to keep an eye on, but issue #4 needs to be a strong on to keep me reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
4001 A.D.: Warmother #1

Aug 7, 2016

The coloring helped me a lot to get into the reading despite the uneven pacing of the writing. It's not that the story is bad, is just a kind of weak beginning supported that happens to be supported by great art, and that's okay for me right now. I'll be patiently waiting for the next issue, as this really woke up my curiosity and I'd like to see what happens next in this world

View Issue       View Full Review
8
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #8

Oct 9, 2016

If there's one thing thatI've learned with A&A: The Adventures of Archer & Armstrong is that this is one of those comics that never stops surprising me

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing X-Men Annual #1

Jun 4, 2014

If you are a fan of Amazing X-Men then you are to want to give this one a read, and if you are a Storm fan then this is a must have.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batgirl (2011) #39

Feb 18, 2015

While Batgirl #39 might not be everyone's cup of tea, Ithoroughly enjoyed it. The book also has a pretty awesome ending that will make you want to keep reading next month. I highly recommend picking this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2011): Endgame #1

Mar 18, 2015

I am beyond excited to see more of this and to see what the team has in store for Batgirl with this new threat looking to end everything that the Bat-family holds dear. Batgirl Endgame #1 is one heck of a ride, and is one that is summed up best by in the final panel with the only spoken line of dialogue (sort of). Pick this on up as it comes highly recommenced.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batgirl (2011): Futures End #1

Sep 10, 2014

So yes, in conclusion Batgirl Futures End #1 really did turn it around and manage to surprise me. Never have I been more happy to be wrong and am very glad I picked this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman '66 Meets The Green Hornet #1

Jun 4, 2014

Now get him, Kato!If you are a fan of either incarnation of these heroes, then you are definitely going to want to pick this book up. It really does justice to both and leaves you wanting more. It's always nice to be able to read a comic that is just pure unadulterated fun and doesn't ask a great deal from the reader. I can easily recommend this one to both kids and adults alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman '66: The Lost Episode #1

Dec 3, 2014

Technology!Sure, maybe I'm reading too much into things, but that's what makes me enjoy this book so much. When you can take something as silly and campy as Batman 66 and turn it into something more, that's when you have a good book on your hands. Do yourself a favor and pick this one up this week, it's sure to please even the most hardened Batman fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman/Superman (2013) #19

Feb 18, 2015

Batman/Superman #19 is a fun read and comes recommended for fans of these two characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman: Eternal #44

Feb 7, 2015

If you aren't following along with Batman Eternal then you can skip this one and jump in with the next issueIf you are a fan of the series you are going to still feel a little let down, but will appreciate seeing what else is going on in Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman: Eternal #45

Feb 12, 2015

Batman Eternal #45 isn't a terrible book, but it feels like more of the same. I for one want to see this story get moving at a brisker pace because there are a lot of good things they have in play here. I hope next week things get better because that cliffhanger ending gives us the impression it will.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batwoman #38

Jan 22, 2015

It's not absolutely terrible, but there isn't anything here I can recommend to justly spending your hard-earned money on. If you are a fan of the obscure DC character, Ragman, you'll enjoy seeing him here, but he seems more like aMacGuffinthan anything else. Batwoman #38 just comes off like a first draft, instead of a ready to go book. The only good thing I can say is that the cover work from Rafael Albuquerque is out of this world. Seriously, DC, you need to get this guy to do the art on this series to save it from itself, because right now the only reason to get this story-arc is to display Albuquerque's connected covers on the wall.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batwoman #39

Feb 20, 2015

Batwoman #39 feels like the third movie in any superhero film franchise. Let's throw in as many characters as we can, for no other reason than we can and that will automatically make it cool. That premise is not cool and this book isn't cool. Let's hope that it takes a cue from superhero movies and just reboots everything. I can't recommend this book to anyone, and the only thing keeping it from getting a single star is fantastic cover art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Big Trouble In Little China #1

Jun 5, 2014

If you are a fan of Big Trouble In Little China then this is a must have. Now, if you'll excuse me I have a movie to re-watch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bizarro #4

Sep 18, 2015

We tie this little adventure up with a cameo from Argus agents that bear a striking resemblance to Agents Mulder and Scully from the X-Files. Bizaro #4 was already an amazingly fun read, but now I'm even more excited about seeing where the story goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bloodshot: Reborn #18

Oct 5, 2016

When your series is as good as Bloodshot Reborn an average issue gets reviewed a bit harder because it has a lot to live up to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Captain Action Cat #2

Jun 5, 2014

I really can't praise this book enough and I highly recommend you put this one on yourpull-list for your family. I also appreciate the subtle nod to the original Captain Action (Look up his history online, it's great) the book sneaks in. It's a really enjoyable read with fantastic artwork that is sure to please comic fans both young and old. The book daily has a lot more content than many other books realized so you won;t be dissapointed. And while you're out be sure and pick up issue #1 as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Captain America: Road to War #1

Apr 22, 2016

Seems like Marvel hasa really good bridge between Age of Ultron and Civil War. It's a fun book and works well as a movie tie-in book, something that often is an afterthought. This one is worth keeping an eye on as the series continues!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2011) #40

Mar 25, 2015

The whole thing ends with a lovely splash page of Selina finally donning her Catwoman costume, ready to put an end to everything once and for all. I also have to mention the variant cover to this issue that was the whole reason I picked this one up instead of going digital like I usually do. The 70's movie poster variant by Dave Johnson is simply wild. I for one wouldn't mind seeing a new Catwoman series set in that time period!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Clandestino #1

Oct 16, 2015

Still, what we are given a akin to a puzzle box. We have the basic idea of what's going on in the larger world, but we are yet to have all the pieces to unlock the bigger mysterious allowing us access to said box. Clandestino #1 looks amazing as the art beautifully flows from panel to panel between pages, and is a lot of fun to read through. It's not a perfect first issue, but it does enough to stand on its own in a crowded market and sets up what looks to be an exciting next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Clandestino #2

Mar 17, 2016

Clandestino #2 get my recommendation on the insanity alone, but if you can I highly suggest you find a copy of issue one first.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Convergence: Batgirl #1

Apr 8, 2015

The story flows at a really nice pace and the art is solid, but the book just feels a little all over the place. It's a fun read for sure, but it fails to make fans of Stephanie Brown happy and will leave new readers of the New 52 era lost beyond belief. Still, this isn't a bad book, especially if you are a fan of some Stephanie Brown action. Let's hope part two ramps up the action now that the needed, but flimsy, backstory is out of the way. It's not perfect, but Batgirl #1 still gets my recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Convergence: Detective Comics #2

May 29, 2015

Convergence: Detective Comics #2 is a decent book that offers up a lot of fun, I just wish this little bit was its own event in and of itself as it sets up a nice new book with a new Batman and Huntress. And for someone who loved seeing Dick Grayson wear the cowl, I'd be sure to keep reading the stories that follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Convergence: Green Lantern Corps #1

Apr 26, 2015

While Convergence: Green Lantern Corps #1 isn't going to win any awards, the art is in the perfect style of the original timeline and the writing is quite strong. I still am not of fan of this event, but I'll definitely pick up the next book to see how this plays out. Convergence: Green Lantern Corps #1 comes highly recommended for the Gl fan and people looking for something a bit different and is easily the best book of this event so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Convergence: Green Lantern Corps #2

May 23, 2015

There is just something really special at the core of this run and I am so very happy to have stumbled upon it, especially when I've be so disinterested in this whole Convergence thing. Guy Gardner has finally taken his place among the Green Lantern elite with this book, and I can't wait to see what the future may hold for the character. If you pick up one book this week this is the one you should get. In fact, pick this one up and grab issue #1 if you can still find it. Convergence – Green Lantern Corps #2 is a fantastic comic book and comes highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Convergence: Justice League #1

Apr 10, 2015

Hey, look at all the fan service we are giving you!Justice League #1 even had the opportunity to dive into the relationship between this world's Mera and the Flashpoint Aquaman, but drops the ball only to have her capture quickly set up next issues big fight. There was the potential of a nice mini-arc there, with the evil Flashpoint Aquaman having lost his world's Mera and that pain driving what could have been an interesting and deeper story and confrontation. Look, I love a good who could win in a fight comic debate as much as the next guy, but Convergence is so far more concerned about fan service and internet poking than it is about providing us with a meaningful event. In the end, what could have been a great book just ends up as falling into the pit of mediocrity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Cougar and Cub #2

Feb 16, 2017

Cougar And Cub # 2 is a bloody good time!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deadpool (2012) Annual #2

May 30, 2014

If you are a fan of Deadpool or heck, a fan of Spider-Man you are going to want to pick this one up ASAP.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deadpool (2015) #10

Apr 22, 2016

I know many of you are going to like this story because of the Deadpool brand. The booksreliesmore on smaller, funny moments than on a solid overall plot. It's still an enjoyable read and promises better ones down the line, even if, as me, you're not acquainted with the main character as the rest of the world seems to be. I haven't yet seen the movie, I know, shame on me, but I'm living in South America and i'll get to it eventually.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deathstroke (2014) #4

Jan 29, 2015

This isn't an issue that is going to blow anyone away, but one that is necessary to the overall arc of this book. It's the kind of slow segment that will read much better when collected into a trade paperback as opposed to a single issue. While Deathstroke #4 won't amaze it will satisfy series fans and has done its job by grabbing my attention. I'll definitely be checking out what comes next for Deathstroke and his family troubles and what, or who, Gotham has in store for him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke (2014) #5

Feb 28, 2015

All that being said, Deathstroke #5 is probably the most action packed book I have read in a long time. This is the kind of comic that fans have been wanting and you would be doing a disservice in not picking it up right now. It may reserve forwarding the story to the last page or two, but Deathstroke #5 is still a fantastic and engaging read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Detective Comics (2011) #42

Jul 3, 2015

Things in Gotham are a little messy right now and it feels like the writers really wanted to do a true Gotham PD series, but were forced to add in a silly Batman angle to please readers and fans. In the end it's all a bit disjointed, but there are bits where you can see greatness emerging. I only hope that comes soon because it's already starting to feel like this Batman Gordon thing is nothing more that a play to grab readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Divinity II #4

Aug 7, 2016

This time, the commentary in the final pages was from the artist, Trevor Hairsine, again with the creation process of some pages showing pencils, inks and finally the colors. It wasn't until then that I realized the real effort it was needed to reflect the script. Divinity II #4 was a solid read and I hope for more to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Dollface #2

Feb 8, 2017

Dollface still needs to find its legs to grab the audience, but fans of Mendoza's earlier work will be all over this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dream Thief: Escape #1

Jun 25, 2014

Even more interesting is that Lincoln has inherited this ability, as the mask calls only those of a certain bloodline. The story dives even deeper and introduces Lincoln's father into the equation, even though he was brutally murdered. His spirit now inhabits the body of a prisoner locked up for murder, presumably being caught in the act while under possession of a spirit.Couple all this with avillain that understands what is going on and a shocking twist ending, Dream Thief: Escape #1 is one heck of a wild ride that is highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Eye Of Newt #1

Jun 18, 2014

The whole issue sort of reminds me of the old Heavy Metal. It's really cool and grandiose, but I have very little idea of what the hell is going on most of the time. And yet, there is something about Eye of Newt that has me interested, has me curious about whats to come in the next issue. If you are looking for a wild and crazy fantasy tale then Eye of Newt #1 should be on your list. If anything, the artwork alone is worth the price of admission on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Faith #3

Sep 13, 2016

In short, the comic is a very good, light, and enjoyable read. With Faith #3, this seriesis on its right track and should be on your must-read list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Figment #1

Jun 11, 2014

There are a lot of times that I find it difficult to grab hold of a new story in a meaningful way, but Figment #1 has managed to do just that. It's a book that is meant for everyone, not just kids or Disney fans. I can't wait to read more and am becoming more and more excited about this comic book merger between Disney and Marvel. If they keep bring out great books like these, the entire comic loving populace is going to benefit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Figment #2

Jul 2, 2014

Figment #2 is another fantastic ride thatdoesn'tshow any signs of slowing. If you have kids or just love a journey throughthe imagination ofsome really amazing talent, pick up Figment #2right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
G.I. Joe (2014) #1

Sep 24, 2014

While I hope the action does come soon (issue #2 looks like it will deliver), I really hope Kurth can handle the action set-pieces just as well as he does the political stuff. If you are a fan of Gi.I. Joe then this is an easy recommendation and if you have long thought the series to be silly camp tailored towards kids, then this book might just change your mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Grayson #1

Jul 9, 2014

There is a monumental task ahead of him, but also the underpinnings for some amazing growth for the character the likes that we rarely get to see in the medium. Mix all that with the veneer of a vintage spy thriller and you have the makings for one of the freshest books from DC Comics. Grayson #1 is full of action, intrigue, and some surprising cameos from two characters you wouldn't expect to see make this a fantastic read and an exciting setup for what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Grayson #2

Aug 6, 2014

The comedy sprinkled throughout the story is smartly written and helps to change the pacing a bit when things start becoming a little heavy with regards to characters and situations. So many books have amazing first issues and quickly lose their pace with their followup, so it's really great to see the Grayson #2 is so far living up to all the hype behind it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Green Arrow (2011) #44

Sep 4, 2015

The writing is pretty solid ignoring that weird magic twist, and the artwork –aside from some questionable angles– is well detailed with panels flowing well, and for that Green Arrow #44 is a solid read -Not a great one, but a good read nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Guardians Team-Up #9

Aug 6, 2015

If you are looking for something a bit different, especially with your Spider-Man fare then Guardians Team-Up #9 comes highly recommended. Hell, the cover art alone will get you to pick this one up. Not a deep story, but a visual treat that is sure to please most fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn (2013) #25

Feb 19, 2016

The moment so many of us have been waiting for!Harley Quinn #25 is an easy recommendation, but I highly suggest you go back and catch up on the series before she starts fresh next month. I know this will be an arc that I'll be snagging once it hits as a trade paperback. The message that this issue is pushing is one that really elevates the bookand also allows some of the minor gripes with the issue to fade away like Harley's past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Intersect #3

Jan 23, 2015

It is yet to be seen if Fawkes can keep us on the edge of our seats with everything that is going on. While Intersect is an amazing amount of fun, it runs the danger of being too out there for its own good. If the series doesn't settle down and make sense to us lesser beings it could risk imploding under its own wonder.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League #30

May 30, 2014

If you are looking for a good read, you'll find one underneath all the mediocre art work presented here. The entire middle chunk of the book pitting Lex Luthor and the Justice League in a battle of words over the events leading up to this point has some mighty fine writing. I also have to bring up the cliffhanger scene that closes out our book that honestly left me shocked and surprised, something that doesn't happen quite often. It's the kind of moment that makes you really excited about what's coming next. And we want to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League #37

Dec 19, 2014

The way they are treating the classic Amazo in this manner gives it such a unique style and makes for an engaging storyline. If you have already jumped on board for issue one then I'm sure this is going to satisfy. If on the other hand you are new to this, you'll end up like me and feel lost in this world, especially after reading Teen Titans where everything seems dandy in the DCU. Regardless of what's going on you are going to have a good time with this book and will no doubt want to catch up on it before next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League: Futures End #1

Sep 17, 2014

Dr. Manhattan… Err, Captain Atom about to blow up for the 9,654th time in DC history 

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League 3000 #15

Mar 5, 2015

I recommend this one if you want to just relax and have a bit of fun with some good action beats, and seeing Ice do the whole Elsa ice queen look from Frozen is a plus.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League United #1

May 30, 2014

Justice League United #1 is a great read and a really fun start to what I hope is a book that has a good long run. The characters have enough personality and chemistry that you'll quickly forget that they aren't the AAA Justice League. Everything here is solidly put together minus the few artistic hiccups, and while the whole off world/space baby angle is a bit jarring (I'm sure it has precedence in earlier books even though this is a #1)it is intriguing enough to make you want to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League United #2

Jun 11, 2014

Justice League United #2 moves along the plot in a way that satisfies the reader, but don't expect to see a whole lot of action. What we get is more an in-between issue that serves to set up something grander. Hawkman and Lobo get the least amount of pages, but offer the most action if that's what you're interested in. New readers are going to be all sorts of confused with this one, but if you've invested in the series so far you are going to be pleased.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Looney Tunes #223

Feb 5, 2015

At the end of the day Looney Tunes #223 is a lot of fun that is an excellent book for kids and parents alike. I miss this sort of multistory comic book and just wished that DC would handle them in the same manner as some of their bigger titles. Kids books are important, now more than ever, but they shouldn't havelesser standards than the bigger books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
M.O.D.O.K.: Assassin #3

Jul 31, 2015

“I speak of your death, vegetable faced killer!!”In the end though, this crazy tale of murder and violence actually has some honest depth to it. M.O.D.O.K. truly cares for this Thor and pushes his limits to protect her throughout. Sure, it's by killing in some incredibly brutal and satisfying ways, but he is after all the Mental Organism Designed Only For Killing. M.O.D.O.K.: Assassin #3 is hands down the most fun I've had with a comic in a very long time. Yes, it's part of the whole Secret Wars thing, but if you are looking for some pure unabashed fun you really can't go wrong picking this one up. The story is all sorts of funny, the art is wonderful and pushes the action forward, and it's really, really nice to see M.O.D.O.K. kicking some major tail.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mortal Kombat X #1

Jan 15, 2015

All that being said writer Shawn Kittelson is doing a lovely job at building a lot of necessary backstory that will no doubt be indispensable for fans of the Mortal Kombat series. Ir might not be everyones cup of tea, but Mortal Kombat X #1 gets my seal al approval. I also have to say that the two cover for the book featuring Scorpion and Sub-Zero are pretty amazing, so much so that I bought both of them!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Nightwing (2011) #30

May 30, 2014

Strong writing with some strangely inconsistent artwork end up making for a pretty average book at best and not quite the satisfying end to a really strong series that fans were hoping for. I know DC is really pushing the Dick Grayson book, but would it have been so hard to close a series better and not make the book just another lead-in? The Nightwing series deserves a better end than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ninjak #21

Nov 26, 2016

Ninjak is the sort of series that will keep you on your toes while reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outcast By Kirkman & Azaceta #1

Jun 26, 2014

If you are a fan of Kirkman and the work he has done with The Walking Dead then you are going to want to defiantly want to pick this book up. The way in which the book handles demons in a very real way that many of us can actually understand, even by the faintest of margins, makes Outcast #1 from Image Comics a must own.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Red Hood And The Outlaws #31

May 30, 2014

Red Hood And The Outlaws #31 should only be picked up if you are a diehard fan of the series, and even then I think you are going to be disappointed. Hell, I just spent nearly 800 words talking about that Wolverine knock off, Lobo and not the books heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Red Hood And The Outlaws #38

Jan 22, 2015

I want to really like Red Hood And The Outlaws, but every time that I jump back into the series the art leaves me wanting. For a book that has lasted this long I think it's currently the weakest (as a whole) of all the offerings from DC. Maybe it's because we have to many Batman based books, or that there is just so much good stuff coming from smaller publishers, but I still can't recommend picking up Red Hood And The Outlaws.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Red Hood And The Outlaws #40

Mar 21, 2015

Arsenal just kind of walks away into the forest, perhaps to become the Predator and actually have something to do, while Todd tells Slade Jr. that they were never a team, but instead “OUTLAWS!” Yeah, it's about as Saturday Morning cartoon as you would expect and a crap way to end this series. At least Starfire will be back in her own book, and this time will be wearing some clothes!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Robocop (2014) #1

Jul 2, 2014

Robocop #1 is a solid first outing that is setting up a much bigger series of events. It's a bit to early to say this is going to be series you are going to “have” to pick up, but the book is a very real, dark, and gritty adventure that is going to be hard to pass up for fans of the character. The art is clearly the stand-out here and fans of the classic film version of RoboCop will no doubt enjoy this new series. RoboCop #1 doesn't dwell heavily on the past, so new readers will also be able to join in on this adventure, but if you haven't done yourself the pleasure of watching the original RoboCop film, I suggest you do that ASAP.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rocket Raccoon #1

Jul 3, 2014

Other than that little quip, Rocket Raccoon #1 is a blast. If you are looking to have a good time and a few laughs along the way then I suggest you head to your local comic shop and buy a copy. Heck, do yourself a favor and support great talents and buy a couple of copies to share with friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #54

Feb 11, 2015

Scooby-Doo #54 isn't going to set the comic world on fire, but there is a lot on content here that is very well executed. If you are looking for a solid family book then you really can't go wrong here. The only thing that I would have liked is if the two stories had their places swapped as“Over The Boardwalk” is the better outing, but I do commend them for keeping the two stories connected with their ocean elements.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #55

Mar 13, 2015

Scooby-Doo, Where Are You #55 is a lot of fun and comes highly recommended. Not only that, but you get a second backup story so you can rest assured your money is well spent.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Space Riders #1

Apr 2, 2015

If you are looking for something completely out there, or are a classic fan of those old pulp comics, Space Riders #1 from Black Mask Studios is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Spider-Man 2099 (2014) #1

Jul 11, 2014

If you like Spider-Man 2099 this book may put you off as it's missing what made that series unique. The writing from Peter David is strong, but is this really something that we need/want? As a single tale or story arc, this book would be pretty fantastic for it's cameos and for putting Miguel out of his element (Even though he clearly has the advantage over everything with his holographic assistant), but as a number 1, as the story for a relaunch, in that respect it doesn't quite work.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Spider-Woman (2014) #1

Dec 3, 2014

Everyone but Spider-Woman gets top billing.Spider-Woman #1 is a book you'll want to skip unless you are already invested in the larger Spider-Man arc and even then it does little to move things forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Trek Special: Flesh and Stone #1

Jul 16, 2014

If you are a fan of Star Trek (any series) then this book is going to satiate your fix for the crossovers that Trek is known for. Even better is that it features only the doctors, something which doesn't happen all that often. If you aren't a fan of Trek (what the heck are you doing reading this?) then this book isn't all that special as it doesn't do anything or serve a purpose to get you to ready any other series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: City On The Edge Of Forever #1

Jun 18, 2014

The book alone could be daily recommended on the art alone, but with the addition of a strong script by one of the greats of our time, Star Trek: City on the Edge of Forever is hands down the best book of the year so far. It sets ups what next in such a way that we can't wait for next month. There is enough of a new take on this classic episode that it's almost as if we are reading, and seeing, an all original tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Darth Maul: Son Of Dathomir #1

May 30, 2014

Darth Maul was one of the few saving graces of the Phantom Menace film, so it's nice to be able to see him fleshed out as a truly interesting character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Darth Maul: Son Of Dathomir #2

Jun 20, 2014

Star Wars: Darth Maul – Son of Dathomir #2 is a good continuation of the series and is helped with showcasing stinger art this time around. A good plot that leaves you engaged and curious as to what happens next, not only with Maul, but his enemies as well help to make this an enjoyable read. This is a definite pickup for Star Wars fans as well as fans of Darth Maul. He is finally looking like an impressive force and makes his movie version pale in comparison.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars: Rebel Heist #2

May 30, 2014

Star Wars Rebel Heist #2 is a decent book. The writing is well laid out and if you can get past some really inconsistent art you will find an enjoyable read. If you are on the fence about the series after issue #1 I would suggest picking this one up before you drop it alltogther.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Rebel Heist #3

Jun 25, 2014

Rebel Heist #3 offers a lot of action, but the focus here is on the writing and the reader diving deeper into the nitty-gritty world that our heroes inhabit. I look forward to seeing what's in store next for our company of heroes now scattered across the galaxy.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Star-Spangled War Stories: G.I. Zombie #6

Jan 28, 2015

The fish just realized it was in Star Spangled War Stories #6This is the first time in as long as I cant remember that I had to put a book down halfway through because I was so disappointed in its quality. I had to try very hard to finish this read and am angry that I paid actual money for it. While the book does pick up when G.I. Zombie gets to the party, it still is a slog of a read and is visually unappealing to the eyes. Star Spangled War Stories #6 looks like a book you'd get from the mid '90s from a first time publisher after the speculator crash nearly killed the industry. It's bad. Don't get this one, even if you are a fan of the character included.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star-Spangled War Stories: G.I. Zombie #7

Feb 25, 2015

Star Spangled War Stories Featuring G.I. Zombie #7 still has a way to go before it claws it way up from obscurity, but this issue is a great turn for the series and redeems the misgivings I had with issue #6

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Starfire #1

Jun 13, 2015

Starfire #1 is a solid start for a new book ,and while it isn't action focused, the focus it places on character building is really appreciated. Not only that, but it leaves us readers with a decent cliffhanger ending that gives us enough to want to see what comes next. I recommend this book and say you should give Starfire #1 a shot, as you won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Strange Sports Stories #2

Apr 17, 2015

I'm not going to mince words here, so I'll just flat-out say that Strange Sports Stories #2 is a fantastic book with one of the most poignant stories that I have ever had the pleasure of reading in comic book form. Pick up a copy right now and do your friends and family a favor by picking up some for them as well. Seriously, why isn't DC pushing this book and instead focusing on that terrible Convergence event. This book is simply comic gold.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Superman (2011) #31

May 30, 2014

If you need your "Doomed" fix then pick this one up, but if you choose to skip it, know that you won't be missing anything important.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Superman: Doomed #1

May 14, 2014

That being said, I am really excited to see where and how the story develops. For a first issue it's a good start with a really great story that ties together both the pre-New 52 Superman/Doomsday and this modern New 52 take. It's yet to be seen if we are going to be witness to something as epic as that original news making tale, but I'm happy to be along for the ride once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans (2014) #5

Dec 19, 2014

Teen Titans #5 is a fun read and is friendly to new readers, so if you have been wanting to jump on now would be an excellent time. The New 52 has done a pretty good job at reintroducing old characters in new ways and this issue is no different. I won't spoil anything, but it sure was a treat seeing Manchester Black in his new role in the DCU. Good stuff all around and makes for an easy recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans (2014) #6

Jan 21, 2015

So far I am having a blast with this series and I hope that the groundwork that this issue laid out becomes something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teen Titans Go! #29

Mar 4, 2016

Teen Titans Go! Chapter29 is a blast for people of all ages. It's bright and colorful and is well written. There are enough jokes that kids will understand while still throwing a few bits that are directed more toward the parents reading this too. It doesn't push the genre forward, but that isn't the point. Sometimes it's just nice to pick up a book and have a little fun without needing an encyclopedia of backstory.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Telos #1

Oct 9, 2015

I don't know, it just all feels really rushed story wise. I would have loved to spend more time on the battle with Brainiac and getting more details on who Telos is because he looks like a pretty neat new character. Still, Telos #1 is a fun read and does its job to get you hooked for the next issue, so this one gets a recommendation, albeit a tepid one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tetris: The Games People Play #1

Sep 22, 2016

Tetris: The Games People Play is a fantastic book with some really lovely art. Odds are even video game veterans are going to learn something new (I did), but if you only know Tetris from one of the thousands of versions over the years, this book makes for a darn compelling read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Thanos vs. Hulk #1

Dec 3, 2014

A series like this has a lot of potential when it comes to Thanos and Hulk throwing down while cities crumble around them, but instead it looks and feels like a book that should have come out sometime in the '90s. I know Jim Starlin is coming back to Thanos (a character he created), but sometimes the past should better be left there as nostalgia is a dangerous thing. As someone who isn'tfamiliar with his prior work I can only judge this book as it stands, and because of that I can't recommend it, even if that makes me the odd man out with this review.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Toe Tag Riot #3

Feb 11, 2015

Toe Tag Riot #3 does in fact serve as a filler issue to the overall story, but it kicks societyin the balls hard enough to keep you entertained. I mean, who here doesn't hate “dude bros” and want to see them get their comeuppance. I also can't wait until next month when the band finally faces the Westboro Baptist Church! Maybe the Toe Tag Riot series just speaks to me on a more personal level as a person that would be considered a punk in the eyes of many, but I really do think that Tow Tag Riot is a book that needs to be on everyone's pull list and comes highly recommended. In a medium that tends to play it safe with regards to social issues and the authority, Toe Tag Riot flips it the double bird and for that it's to be commended.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tomboy #10

Feb 9, 2017

Tomboy is a series that demands to be read!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Trees #1

May 30, 2014

“Trees” is a beautiful book that is highlyrecommended. It's not only a great start to a series, but one of the best and most original books of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Trees #2

Jun 26, 2014

If you have already invested in Trees #1 then this is of course going to be on your list of books to pick up. If on the other hand you have been on the fence or weren't impressed by the last issue, Trees #2 isn't going to do anything to change your view. For those that havent picked up the series I suggest finding a copy of Trees #1 and giving that a read to see what your feelings are.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
We Can Never Go Home #1

Mar 26, 2015

We Can Never Go Home #1 is a blast and a fantastic start to a new series. It may move at a brisk pace and have a shock ending that could have used some room to breathe, but it all works well as a whole. I wish they would have spaced the story out over an issue or two, but We Can Never Go Home #1 is still a must have book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
We Can Never Go Home #2

May 6, 2015

We Can Never Go Home #2 is another fantastic entry into this new series that looks to push the boundaries on what a story about having powers can be. The artwork is once again excellent with its distinct style, and the writing is also on-point. You really can't go wrong with having this book in your pull-list, and I can't recommend it highly enough to fans that are looking for something really fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wolf Moon #1

Dec 3, 2014

If you are a fan of classic monsters that aren't running around like a daytime soap opera then Wolf Moon #1 is a book you should really consider picking up. Bloody, visceral, and a lot of fun, Wolf Moon is shaping up to be an exciting limited series that I will continue to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Worlds' Finest #31

Feb 13, 2015

While Worlds' Finest #31 isn't a great book, it is still a really fun read and has me very interested in finding out what is in store for our plucky reporter. Having skipped this series for a long time this issue has managed to draw be back in for at least one more issue. It's a good jumping on point and we can recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Worlds' Finest #32

Mar 13, 2015

At the end of the day Worlds' Finest #32 leaves this world behind on a high note. While the art doesn't quite belong, the story will hit you and leave you feeling some genuine sadness for many of these characters. But the death of Lois Lane isn't quite the end for her as a character as she continues to narrate the end of the world. The book will leave you with a surprise ending that see Lois Lane the last person to stand against Apokolips and facing a second death with grace and dignity. It's and ending that makes the book worth a pickup.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-O Manowar #48

Aug 7, 2016

In many ways it felt like I was reading Civil War II #0 again because of the many lateral panels. Not really a con, but it made me lose the plot's thread a little when I noticed this. Anyway, this series seems to be on the right direction and I'm starting to think it could turn to be a really cool TV or web series because of the style, the narrative and the plot itself. Can't wait for what's next!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More