Luke Handley's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 72
6.5Avg. Review Rating

5
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #537

Jan 8, 2007

Another tie-in issue of Amazing Spider-Man and another issue that fills the gaps in and around the issues of Civil War proper. Theres nothing wholly new or unexpected there. But the assassin hired by the Kingpin to take out Peter (or if hes unavailable, his family) might just turn the next issue into the most important event in the webslingers life for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #538

Mar 2, 2007

Though the ending to this issue will have Spider-fans wringing their hands wondering what comes next, I was expecting some manner of resolution and instead all we got was another cliffhanger leading into the next arc. Fine for regular readers, but for those people who jumped on board for Civil War, this is a bit of a letdown. There simply hasnt been enough going on in these last issues to warrant sticking around for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #539

Mar 18, 2007

Unfortunately, I just dont really care all that much about where this story goes. Its nice to see Spidey back in black and the possibility of Aunt Mays demise will no doubt have Spider-fans waiting impatiently for the end of this arc. But for the casual reader, this drawn out, will she, won t she situation is slightly annoying, and theres not enough else to really make me want to stick around. Having said that, I will no doubt flick through upcoming issues to see if the old dear makes it or not, I just wont be buying them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Annihilation: Conquest - Wraith #1

Jul 8, 2007

Even if some of the concepts are clichs, there is still a certain amount of charm to this new addition to the Marvel cosmic pantheon. Though the series could benefit from a more suited art form, the identity of the Phalanxs interrogator that Wraith faces on the final page should make for an interesting second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers: The Initiative #1

Apr 8, 2007

This book takes a look at what it means to have superpowers in the post-Civil War Marvel Universe. The new kids introduced in this issue could prove to be worthwhile additions to the Marvel pantheon, and it will be interesting to see how some of the more established heroes, such as Rage, deal with the compulsory training. Definitely one to watch.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers: The Initiative #5

Aug 26, 2007

Despite a certain lack of continuity within the title, this comic still works on several levels. The idea of Gyrich having his own personal commandos becomes more appealing every time I think of it and, within the space of five issues, Dan Slott has successfully fleshed out his newbie heroes. I still have hopes that this title can pull things together and become great, but this issue just isnt quite there yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman #658

Nov 12, 2006

Wow, looking at what Ive just written. I seem to be complaining a lot. I guess I am, but as I said, I still enjoyed this enough to want to know what comes next and am actually looking forward to Damians eventual return. Theres also a lot to like here: I love the way Morrison writes Alfred, the Bat-Rocket was worth a smile, I still like the whole army of Ninja Man-Bats gimmick. This is a good Batman story, no doubt setting the scene for things to come during Morrisons run and definitely worth reading if youre a fan of the character. Otherwise, its not that outstanding.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Beyond #5

Nov 6, 2006

Though I have enjoyed every issue of Beyond!, its a bit frustrating that the whole thing has come and nearly gone without any real lasting impression as to what the whole point was. Along the way though weve had some great character development moments that have benefited characters old and new, especially with some possible closure to the Hank Pym/The Wasp relationship. Having said all that, its too soon to judge the whole thing, and I am looking forward to the final issue. Its just a shame I have the feeling that this could have been so much more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Beyond #6

Dec 14, 2006

Beyond! has been a fun read and a nice break from the Civil War stuff that all of Marvels core heroes books are currently embroiled in. However, the series has felt rather disjointed in places, and though this last issue does go some way toward resolving the whole thing in a satisfactory way, there are some questions that dont feel properly answered. The ending gives us..., well..., an ending and a beginning, with the promise that a hero will rise again. I just hope that everything that occurred in this series, such as Hank Pyms new relationship status, wont just be politely ignored by Marvel, and that the changes that occurred here will stick.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Booster Gold (2007) #1

Aug 19, 2007

But more than anything, the reason you should pick up this issue is because its fun from start to finish. Everything falls into place very nicely to produce one of the best comics DC have put out in a while (note: I havent read any of the Sinestro War issues).

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Captain America (2004) #24

Dec 5, 2006

This issue might not have as much to do with Civil War as might be expected, but it does deliver another interesting chapter of Brubakers Captain America epic (is it too soon to be using that word?). Though there isnt a whole lot happening here, some interesting questions are asked, and the Red Skull recruits a new ally. The blurb for next issue promises the Biggest Cap Story Yet: The Death of the Dream. Im down for this. But first I need to get hold of those remaining trades

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Civil War #5

Nov 19, 2006

In my opinion, this was probably the weakest issue of Civil War so far. Even though there was some high octane stuff, there wasnt really a whole lot happening here except Spider-Mans defection, which we knew was coming anyway. The new Thunderbolts debut was also disappointing with none of the big guns putting in an appearance. But its always easy to focus on the negatives. All in all, I still got a kick out of reading this. I just find something appealing in seeing these guys go at each other in such a vicious way. Im definitely in this to the end and am genuinely intrigued as to how it will all work out because right now I really have no idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Civil War #6

Jan 7, 2007

This is a good read; its a well structured and decently paced issue thats an improvement on the last one. But Im starting to get bored of Civil War. The whole thing has dragged on too long, and right now I just want some kind of resolution.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Civil War #7

Feb 25, 2007

Marvel has indeed set up a new status quo that holds the potential for some interesting stories in the future. Unfortunately, theyve apparently forgotten that the story that gets things to this point should also have been interesting in its own right. After a promising start, Civil War ends as a real disappointment. Though it isnt all bad, even McNivens great art cant save this issue. Hopefully, this will be quickly put behind us and we can move on to better things.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Civil War: War Crimes #1

Jan 4, 2007

Another addition to the Civil War publishing stable and another interesting read. This one-shot adds another layer to the War, checking in on the underworld elements of the Marvel Universe. Though there are no real faults with this issue, there is nothing exceptionally great about it either. A worthwhile read if youre into Civil War or the main characters on display here.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Civil War: Front Line #8

Nov 30, 2006

On the art side of things, Ramon Bachs turns in some decent stuff on Embedded. Ive liked his work on the series and especially the way he depicts Ben Urich, scrawny and dishevelled yet full of purpose, but in some scenes I cant look at his Sally Floyd, with her slightly pinched mouth and curved up nose, without thinking of the show Spitting Image (one for the Brits out there!). Steve Liebers work on The Accused is the best in the book; Ive found his Speedball great, hes done a good Mr. less-than-Fantastic and She-Hulk. His Maria Hill does seem to have a slightly elongated neck, but hey, who cares if she looks a bit odd. In "Sleeper Cell," Lee Weeks does an okay job. Ive not been a fan of his work here, but theres no point in moaning too much about it. Finally, I feel sorry for every artist whos collaborated on War Letters; lets just leave it at that.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Countdown to Adventure #1

Sep 18, 2007

So, if you liked the space heroes sections in 52 and desperately want to know what theyre up to now, give the book a glance, but dont expect to be blown away. Unfortunately, youll have to shell out an extra dollar for back-up material that will probably be enough to scare you away from

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dark Tower: The Gunslinger Born #1

Feb 4, 2007

So, an interesting and visually stunning debut to this mini-series. It is good, and Ill definitely follow it to see where it goes but only time, and 6 more issues, will tell if this comic really is all that Marvel is making it out to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Tower: The Gunslinger Born #2

Mar 13, 2007

The Gunslinger Born continues to tell the intriguing tale of the formative years of an intriguing character, and this odd world (that is a cross between fantasy and spaghetti western) is one that is proving to be thoroughly captivating. Before this series I had never read, nor had any desire to read, any work by Stephen King, but now Im becoming a Dark Tower convert. I just hope that this series isnt just retelling scenes from the novels and that by reading it, Im not spoiling events to come therein.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Eagle Flies Again #14

Nov 12, 2006

I enjoyed reading nearly all of this, but ultimately if I had to ask myself Would I buy the next issue had it not been cancelled?, and the answer would be no. As I mentioned above, I think Id rather buy a couple more comics instead. In this day and age, there are so many fansites and newsites devoted to comics that all news and information tends to be just the click of a mouse away. How much chance did a fanzine priced at 3.50 ($6.75) have? Another thing that in my opinion holds (held) this back is the focus on old comics and playing up the nostalgia feeling older readers might get reading these articles, and maybe this isnt the best way to bring in the modern readership. But this isnt meant to be a snub to the guys who put out this issue. The focus on British comics makes it stand out and contains stuff Id never heard of. It was a satisfying read, and I got just as much entertainment out of it as I would out of so many pages of actual comics (and I get to feel less ign

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fantastic Four (1998) #541

Dec 21, 2006

Im not very fond of the Fantastic Four as a concept. It just never worked for me, and I must confess Ive only been picking up the title for the Civil War tie-ins. Whilst previous issues have been all about personal morals and values, this is just pure unadulterated fun. I want to see more of Les Hros de Paris. I want to see Ben stick around for a while. I want Reed and Sue Richards booted off the FF for being boring and annoying. This issue is a real gem and exceeded my expectations by so much that it passed into a whole other category. Even if you dont read Fantastic Four, even if youre not following Civil War, pick this up. If you dont like it, feel free to berate me. If you love it, let me know.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Fantastic Four (1998) #542

Jan 25, 2007

This issue gives McDuffie and the reader a chance to take a closer look at what goes on inside Reed Richards head and why hes supporting an Act that the rest of his family are openly opposing. It doesnt exactly make him much more endearing, but does offer up a plausible explanation and tells it in an interesting way, with a little surprise thrown in at the end for good measure.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fantastic Four (1998) #543

Mar 13, 2007

All in all, this issue is a worthy anniversary celebration for one of Marvels most famous franchises. The Fantastic Fours new status quo is established, though its one that was revealed ahead of time, as some of the hurts of Civil War start to heal. Im not sold on the new roster yet, but after having come onboard for Civil War, I might just stick around for a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Final Crisis: Superman Beyond 3D #1

Aug 31, 2008

The first half of Superman Beyond is a well-crafted and incredibly intriguing diversion from the main plotline of Final Crisis, but one that I suspect will have serious implications for DC's current ber-storyline. Morrison and Mahnke bring their best to this tie-in and anyone enjoying the main storyline should give this a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
House of M: Avengers #1

Nov 11, 2007

This is a stronger debut issue than I had thought it might be. Both Gage and Perkins take the concept seriously and could be in the process of delivering the Cage series many people have been expecting for the last couple of years. Unfortunately, that series is telling a story set in a world that no longer is and to which, ultimately, we already know the ending. Its well executed within these constraints though and anyone who enjoys What If? tales or wants more House of M material should really give this a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Immortal Iron Fist #3

Mar 13, 2007

A good if unremarkable issue as B&F continue to redefine Danny Rands role as Iron Fist in the Marvel Universe. Things slow down in the third act of this arc, but enough is teased at to make this title worth returning to next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Iron Man (2004) #13

Nov 21, 2006

Overall then, we have here a perfectly good Iron Man story, which feeds into Civil War and that more than any of the other crossover books humanises Tony Stark. This issue helps remind us that superhuman registration makes sense. And the ending alone is enough to guarantee that Ill be back next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Iron Man/Captain America: Casualties of War #1

Dec 17, 2006

This issue really does go someway toward making the whole whos side are you on? question worth considering once again. If Iron Man and Reed Richards hadnt suffered the character assassinations they have in Amazing Spider-Man and Fantastic Four, it might actually be hard to choose. If youre following Civil War then I would strongly recommend picking this up. This isnt just filler, its possibly the most important tie-in of the whole event so far and, finally, gives Tony Stark the opportunity to properly make his case for the Registration Act.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Irredeemable Ant-Man #2

Nov 17, 2006

The first two issues of The Irredeemable Ant-Man have been fun with a lot of stuff going on. We now have an explanation as to how the titular hero ended up in the suit and a brief look at what he sees as the most profitable way to put it to good use. The ending gives a brief glimpse into some of the irredeemable stuff hes been up to in the last six months, and it doesnt look pretty. This title is proving to be an interesting read, but Im a little unsure if Kirkman can make most people actually care enough about this jerk to want to read about his adventures. Unfortunately, Marvels ads overdose really makes the comic off-putting this month and makes the most compelling argument for waiting for the trade. Seriously, I just cant bring myself to recommend any book with this much unnecessary crap crammed in.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice Society of America #4

Apr 3, 2007

This issue is a good end to a decent re-introduction to DCs first superhero team with some new members who already show potential. Unfortunately, the direct threat to the heroes is never very real, the evil masterminds plan is as leaky as a sieve and the identity of the new Chairperson is utterly baffling. But the issue is still enjoyable, and though I initially wasnt thrilled by the idea, Im now looking forward to the Society/League crossover over the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Loners #1

Apr 15, 2007

This series gathers together an interesting group of heroes trying to kick the habit. But some of them are starting to realise that one cant give up helping people in need that easily if you have the power to do so. Though Ill be coming back next month, I hope this will be more than just heroes taking down drug runners.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mighty Avengers #1

Mar 4, 2007

This is without a doubt the best, or at least most fun, Avengers issue Ive read in a good long while. Nearly everything about this comic works as Bendis seems to effortlessly combine good old superheroics with his usual trademark banter. This isnt an issue that relies on reader nostalgia. Its a new take on the Avengers that incorporates many of the elements that fans have always looked for in this team. A surprisingly great start to a promising series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Ms. Marvel (2006) #28

Jun 24, 2008

This issue trundles along from start to finish with little to really grab the attention. A whole issue of fighting is not in and of itself a bad thing, but when it's against a bunch of bad guys that every other Marvel hero is currently fighting it turns out to be rather boring and the Super-Skrulls have now appeared so often and with so many power permutations that they're getting old very quickly. And, with the character development amounting to little more than "I like hitting things," there's simply not enough here to make it worthwhile.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
New Avengers #27

Feb 13, 2007

I enjoyed this issue. After the fiasco that was Disassembled and the formation of an Avengers team that had little to do with the Avengers I knew and loved, I initially wasnt impressed with Bendis New Avengers. However, now is a good time to move on. Most of these characters have been starring in this title for more than two years and by now can be called Avengers. Im not overly keen on the line-up of hand-picked heroes, but writers on superhero team books have always used those characters they feel most comfortable with and for whom they can write the best stories. Yeah, there are no classic Avengers on the team and "New Defenders" may be a more appropriate title for the book, but that doesnt mean longstanding Avengers fans cant enjoy it. Hopefully, Mighty Avengers will provide a good counterbalance to this book with bigger threats and a more old-school feel (but Ultron with boobs? Spare us please). In the meantime though, Ill take these new New Avengers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
New Avengers #35

Oct 7, 2007

So, this is a better issue than a couple of the previous ones, both from the art perspective and the general advancement of the ongoing plotlines. Fortunately, the continuity mistakes can just about be ignored (pretend you never saw Constrictor, Nitro, Graviton, Armadillo), but they do mar what is an otherwise good book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
New X-Men (2004) #33

Dec 21, 2006

Even though this issue doesnt give the characters much of a chance to rest, its still a welcome let-up from the last year of craziness these kids have been through. I feel this title really does have the potential to become something big within the confines of the X-Universe: it has an interesting and, at times, engaging cast and is set in a Marvel Universe where being a mutant is more special and dangerous than it has been in recent years. Heres to hoping Kyle and Yost can bring a bit of humanity back into this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
New X-Men (2004) #36

Apr 3, 2007

A solid ending to a solid story that continues to place these kids squarely on the X-Universe map. This creative team has progressively got stronger and with the return of Magik in the near future, now would be a good time to give this book a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nova (2007) #1

Apr 15, 2007

This is an enjoyable issue but lacks a certain je ne sais quoi to make it a great one. The title character shows promise, and it will be interesting to see what direction Abnett and Lanning take him in. Right now I find myself eagerly awaiting the next instalment to hopefully see Nova give Iron Man a much deserved smack-down.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Omega Flight (2007) #1

Apr 1, 2007

This is a good issue that finally reveals the superhero status in Canada and how their government means to tackle it. Unfortunately, Omega Flight themselves are conspicuously absent from this issue, and I hope that Oeming manages to successfully adapt the rest of his story to make it a solid limited series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Punisher War Journal (2006) #1

Nov 26, 2006

Its odd, the last three comics Ive reviewed Ive given them each . Not that Im being lazy and not trying to seriously evaluate them, but theyve all fallen into the same category really: good solid comics, definitely worth reading if youre into the main characters, and maybe even if youre not, but due to various reasons (different each time) just not quite that good to really recommend to anyone and everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Runaways (2005) #22

Dec 1, 2006

So, only two Brain K. Vaughan and Adrian Alphona issues left to enjoy. I really want these issues to be a memorable send off, and so far my hopes are maintained. Ill obviously be sticking with the book once the new team of Joss Whedon and Michael Ryan come onboard; if anyone can match Vaughan when it comes to snappy dialogue, its Whedon. But I sure as hell will miss these two guys who have created one of my favourite regular comic books series ever. If youve never read any Runaways do yourself a favour and pick up the digests from the beginning; at $7.99 a pop, how can you go wrong?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Runaways (2005) #23

Jan 19, 2007

A slightly sub-par issue of Runaways, not because of the writing or the art but simply because of the lack of plot development in what is to be the second-to-last issue produced by the creative team extraordinaire that is Vaughan and Alphona. Hopefully, next issue will deliver a decent send-off and resolve some of the teen heroes current romantic and moral dilemmas.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Runaways (2005) #25

Apr 8, 2007

Whedon and Ryan had big boots and expectations to fill coming onto this title and have done so admirably. Their arrival brings with it a breath of fresh air and a slightly new direction with the relocation to the Big Apple. Heres to hoping they stick around for a little longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
She-Hulk (2005) #13

Nov 6, 2006

I really enjoyed this. It was great to see Starfox acting like the hero he can be with a resolution to the whole sexual harassment issue. We got some Stargod action (yay!), a throw down with Thanos and some nice character moments. Two years ago I thought of She-Hulk as just some lame Hulk knock-off. Now Dan Slott has managed to turn her into one of if not the most interesting and entertaining female character to appear in Marvel Comics. Next issue deals with more fallout from the last couple of months but issue #15 marks the beginning of a new storyline, with She-Hulk taking down the Hulks unattended rogues while big green is off-world being all gladiatorial in his own titles Planet Hulk storyline and should provide an ideal jumping on point for new readers. This book deserves to be read by anyone whos into superhero comics. Honestly, give it a go, you wont regret it (I hope!).

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Strongarm #1

Jan 28, 2007

This first issue sets up an interesting premise for the series, teasing the reader as to what is going on and where things might go from here. I dont mind not having everything spelled out for me from the onset, but, unfortunately, Horton takes this a bit far with so little actually revealed that it left me a bit dazed and confused. The story races through the issue and is over before much happens. Heres to hoping the next issue will provide some much needed answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Super-Villain Team-Up/Modoks 11 #1

Jul 15, 2007

The overall result is a fun mini-series with a refreshing premise and a strong creative team that deserves to be given a chance by anyone whos ever rooted for the bad guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Order #1

Jul 15, 2007

Despite a couple of head-scratching points, this was a thoroughly enjoyable first issue that has left me wanting more from Fractions Order. I hope the new team members will surprise me, but right now Im just happy to have a real speedster back in the Marvel Universe!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Thor (2007) #1

Jul 1, 2007

A good first issue that sets up an interesting premise and I cant wait for the return of more of the Norse Pantheon and Asgard. Hopefully, future issues will deliver more fully on this titles potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Thunderbolts (2006) #108

Nov 23, 2006

If the last scene and the solicitations are anything to go by, then next month should see a couple of changes to these characters before the handover to Warren Ellis with Nicieza wrapping up some of their stories. The sacrifice makes sense; this T-Bolt has grown (no pun intended) throughout Niciezas run but had definitely started to stagnate recently. In fact, this is unfortunately the feeling Ive been having about several members of the team. Maybe it really is time for a change and the arrival of some fresh faces? On that same note, Im looking forward to seeing how the new big shots (Venom, Green Goblin, Bullseye) will fit in with the longer-serving Thunderbolts, and Im really looking forward to Moonstones return next issue; the books really missed her. But Im sad to see Mach IV, Fixer and Speed Demon leave. Why and where to? Hopefully, this will be answered in Niciezas final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Thunderbolts (2006) #109

Jan 2, 2007

Overall then, a decent sending off for most of Niciezas T-Bolts. Some leave, some get a job, some get caught by the draft. Speaking of which, they say theyre being drafted to hunt down unregistered heroes. So this would strongly suggest the pro-reg boys win the Civil War currently going on in the Marvel Universe. Not that thats a big surprise though. Now we just have to wait and see what the future holds for Marvels Most Wanted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thunderbolts (2006) #110

Jan 16, 2007

All in all, I really like the direction this book is taking. Having a Thunderbolts team composed of and run by villains and characters of dubious morality who are in it for the money or because they have no choice in the matter sure is a step away from Niciezas redemption driven T-Bolts, but does open up some interesting storytelling options. Its rather dark and gritty but with some fun elements thrown in. Though I really liked Niciezas outstanding Thunderbolts run, this issue really has captured my interest and these new Thunderbolts are a breath of fresh air for this title and the Marvel Universe in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Transformers: Escalation #1

Dec 7, 2006

This issue sets the scene nicely with the two Transformer factions waiting whilst the humans let them know that they wont take alien invasion lightly. Just as in Infiltration, this series suffers from the comparative lack of giant robots parading around. But as I mentioned above, this is called Escalation so by the end of the six issues, Im sure things will be in a very different situation. All in all, a good start to the new arc of Furmans revamped Transformers with the seeds being sown for greater things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Transformers: Escalation #2

Jan 4, 2007

Another solid issue of IDWs Transformers, with things escalating slightly and a twist thrown in at the end. This re-imagining of the franchise is turning out to be a pleasant surprise, with all the ingredients that originally drew me to Furmans Transformers along with some new additions. At this point Im not sure where this miniseries will end up going, but Im down for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: Escalation #3

Feb 6, 2007

Another good issue of what is becoming a thoroughly successful revamp of the Transformers in comics. Furman is telling one of the better Transformers stories in recent memory and the scene is set for the first Autobot/Decepticon battle proper on Earth with the promise of more characters being thrown into the mix.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #481

Dec 14, 2006

More than halfway through Brubakers space epic, and the X-Men still seem to be treading water while their enemies run circles around them. Hopefully, with the aid of their new ally and the reinforcements they plan to pick up next issue, theyll finally turn things around and start taking names. Not quite sure where the rise part of The Rise and Fall of the Shiar Empire has gone as I get a feeling itll be all down hill for them now. Overall, another solid if slightly unremarkable chapter as Brubaker continues to move his pieces into place. All I can say now is bring on the Starjammers!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Warhammer 40,000: Damnation Crusade #1

Dec 24, 2006

I was really looking forward to this, and I cant help but feel really disappointed. If someone who has a previous interest in the concept isnt impressed then what will the total newcomer think? But maybe, by the same token, Im just placing my expectations too high. This isnt in any way a train wreck. Setup issues, especially when trying to introduce a whole new universe, are never easy, and I do have hope that things will only improve from here on out. Ill definitely stick with the title a little longer and give it a real chance, but this first issue didnt leave me with any burning desire for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wolverine (2003) #50

Jan 21, 2007

Loebs first issue of Wolverine gets things off to a visceral start with Wolverine and Sabretooth throwing down as only two killing machines with healing factors know how. Its been done umpteen times before but its done well with some great art to back it up. Hopefully well finally be getting some answers regarding the complex relationship these two characters enjoy and get a resolution to their decades old feud. Even though the finer points of the plot arent all that tight and the back-up feature is on the throwaway side, this issue holds some promise for things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Wolverine (2003) #51

Mar 13, 2007

Bianchis art saves this comic from becoming an utter waste of time but isnt enough to warrant reading it. Maybe next issue will provide some answers, but in the meantime, theres nothing new or particularly interesting here.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Wolverine Origins #12

Apr 3, 2007

This series is still struggling to find its stride and has just made things worse by introducing a character that I cant imagine many people caring for. This isnt dreadful but is definitely lacking on several levels.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Wonder Man #1

Dec 10, 2006

Recently, Ive been on a bit of a comics high. Nearly everything Ive read has met or surpassed my expectations, and Ive really enjoyed being able to write some nice and well deserved praise in my reviews. This book breaks that trend in a spectacular way. I had planned on picking up this series. Not anymore. But maybe I just dont get it, and there are people out there who will love this. If you do, please let me know.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
World War Hulk: Prologue #1

Apr 29, 2007

Though some people may feel a bit burnt out by the abundance of Wars in superhero comics of late, World War Hulk could turn out to be worth a look. Its only one issue, but Pak does a good job here. I had been planning to pick up the main mini series and pass on the Hulks own title. Now Im definitely going to give it a go. Though some will no doubt complain about another War between heroes so soon after the last, this one has far more potential for destruction and truly epic battles. So bring on the Hulk and let the Marvel Universe tremble!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
World War Hulk: Front Line #1

Jun 24, 2007

This issue of WWH: Front Line is an immediate improvement on the previous series. This time around, Jenkins doesnt need to waste time setting the scene and introducing his cast and can jump straight into the main story. This series looks like it will be about more than just reacting to the destruction caused by the Hulk and the murder investigation will hopefully allow for a closer interaction between normal humans and the alien invaders. Heres to hoping that Jenkins can make this series work more smoothly than its predecessor.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
World War Hulk: X-Men #3

Sep 18, 2007

This series does what it set out to do and does it rather well. Unfortunately, when all is said and done, it is just a slugfest between the Hulk and the X-Men. There is an attempt to add some gravitas at the end but its not all that convincing. Having said that, I enjoyed this issue for what it is and the creators deserve a lot of credit for taking something that could have been an outright train wreck and making something of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Factor (2005) #14

Dec 10, 2006

I think X-Factor is currently my favourite X-title, including Joss Whedons Astonishing X-Men. David is doing a cracking job on this title, and I strongly recommend picking up this issue when it comes out later this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Factor (2005) #15

Feb 6, 2007

X-Factor continues to be my favourite X-title currently on the stands. If this creative team can stick together and navigate the muddy waters of Marvels upcoming big X-event of 2007, then their run on this book could turn out to be something quite special.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X-Men (2004) #193

Dec 5, 2006

Despite its flaws, this issue is not devoid of charm. This whole first arc has been a breath of fresh air for X-Men and for the X-Universe as a whole. Its introduced some interesting new enemies in the form of the Children of the Vault (Im looking forward to their inevitable return later on in the run) and set up an independent, more hardcore group of X-Men that Carey obviously likes and wants to write about. Sure, you can question why theyre keeping Sabretooth on the team, especially as they think theyve finished off the Children, but Im looking forward to seeing where Carey and Bachalo are going to take them, and us, with this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
X-Men (2004) #195

Feb 9, 2007

Though the rating at the top isnt very flattering, this is far from being a bad book, it just isnt a particularly good one either and not one to capture the interest of the non-X-fan out there. Theres still a lot of untapped potential in this book, and if Carey can make his characters personalities click, this could come together quite nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men (2004) #197

Apr 3, 2007

Mike Carey is currently producing some of the most solid X-Men work in recent years. Its not world-shattering and isnt without its flaws, but this X-Men team is doing things and going places that make this one of the better X-books on the stands right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men (2004) Annual #1

Feb 13, 2007

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable X-Men Annual with the return of some old faces and a return to a semblance of sanity for everyones favourite Canadian twins. The seeds are sown for this summers big X-event, and Carey proves once again that he can do good old fashioned mutant fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men: Emperor Vulcan #1

Sep 11, 2007

Some mini series, especially those with an X attached to them, tend to be slightly on the throwaway side. This one looks like it will not only involve some important changes for the Shiar and the "Lost In Space: X-Men but that it will also be an enjoyable series in its own right. Going solo, Yost proves to be a perfectly capable writer with a good grasp of the characters, and Diaz provides some nice visuals. Now, bring on the Imperial Guard, please.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
X-Men: Endangered Species #1

Jun 17, 2007

I was hoping this issue would set things up for this falls mutant extravaganza, but all it actually does is recap the current post-Decimation situation. Whilst Mike Carey has written some good stuff over in X-Men, this falls rather flat, though I suspect most of it is editorially driven. All in all, its not bad per se but is hardly what you need to get you excited about the upcoming event.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
X-Men: Phoenix - Warsong #5

Feb 13, 2007

I really cant be bothered to say any more about this issue and feel Ive already wasted enough of my life on it. There was an interesting concept in here somewhere, but it was vastly overwhelmed by poor art and poor storytelling. Avoid if you know whats good for you.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More