Mike Eakins's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 19
8.8Avg. Review Rating

9
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #1

Oct 6, 2019

Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #1 does a brilliant job of telling a great story that embraces its time period and leaves the reader wanting more of this Dark Horse gem.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #2

Nov 29, 2019

The bottom line is David Dastmalchian continues to drive this book like a long-haul trucker on a rabid mission to deliver its goods and he does. This whole team does. I cannot stress enough that this book is one that you should be reading! I understand the Big 2 have big events going on, and they are awesome in their own right, however, what I am about to say next will most likely get some colorful comments from comic fans and Im ok with that. When these four issues are all said and done, Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter should be considered for an Eisner for Best Limited Series and Best Writer/Artist. This book is that good, and stands on its own with any horror story of any timeframe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #3

Jan 2, 2020

Count Crowley continues to be a worthwhile read, with a breath of fresh air from the people who put on tights, save the day, and make you feel great. It makes you feel great in a way that we can all speak to. Weve never known someone who can leap buildings in a single bound, but we do know someone who is trying to turn their life around at the same time investigating things that go bump in the night. READ COUNT CROWLEY!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #4

Jan 29, 2020

The creative team of David Dastmalchian, Lukas Ketner, and Lauren Affe gave us one hell of a story that was rich in plot and characters. Once in a while, you discover a story that not only grabs you and takes you in but sends you on an adventure. Thats what Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter is an adventure that is fun, exhilarating, and scary all at the same time. We can only hope this is not the last time that Dastmalchian, Ketner, and Affe will work together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Ghost-Spider (2019) #2

Sep 29, 2019

Ever since Ghost-Spider came to Earth-616 she has fully immersed herself into its bravado, and Seanan McGuire captures it brilliantly. In this issue we continue to see Gwens growth in dealing with multiverse traveling, leaving her dad behind in Earth-65, and not mention kale chips! Adding to her new-found stress is Miles Warren. Now, this might be the Spider-Nerd in me coming out, but seeing The Jackal just makes this issue that much better, and the need for issue three to hurry up and get here that much greater. Overall, I thought this issue was pretty good and does a good job at laying a decent foundation for Gwens future in Earth-616.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ghost-Spider (2019) #3

Nov 4, 2019

Every so often in comics, you get a writer that really understands the character. Seanan McGuire understands Gwen. You get a great sense that Gwen is starting to not trust herself and her abilities. This couldnt come at a worse time, as the Jackal and his plan are getting ready to be in full swing. Overall this was a strong set-up issue for #4 and what Im betting is going to be a great vehicle to deliver the Jackals plan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Ghost-Spider (2019) #4

Dec 9, 2019

The creative team of McGuire and Miyazawa continue to do a good job withGhost-Spider and capturing Gwens morality and sense of humor. Now I understand that there are bigger titles on the shelves right now, however, Ghost-Spider does a great job in making its claim to be a book that should be read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ghost-Spider (2019) #6

Jan 18, 2020

I loathe the fact that I have to wait a whole month for issue 7, which Im sure will be FANTASTIC! Ok, no more puns, however, I am really excited to see how Latveria is going to play into it, the Storm siblings and their angle, can Gwen keep up with school, friends, her dad, and multi-verse travel? Too many questions to be answered!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Kiss: Zombies #1

Nov 18, 2019

KISS Zombies is entertaining and gruesome, with just enough references to KISS to keep it interesting for fans of all ages. The good thing about this book is that you dont have to be a fan of the band to enjoy this book, I truly believe this has something for everyone as its a good foundation of a zombie story, even though at times, it seems like weve read this before. I love that Dynamite continues to publish KISS comics, as this seems to be a bit stronger than previous books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Kiss: Zombies #2

Dec 28, 2019

KISS: Zombies #2 delivers a fun and enjoyable version of the characters that have been kind of missing from past comics. Ethan Sacks and Rodney Buchemi continue to deliver a fun book, and keep the zombie story going. I absolutely love how they continue to incorporate songs into the panels forcing you to sing as you're reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #99

Nov 13, 2019

As usual, everything from the art, ink, and words are nothing short of spectacular. Something that I think that Dave Wachter does really well in this book is he complements the storyline with great art that smoothly transitions itself from page to page, making sure the art and storyline stay in sync. That is just one of the many elements that make TMNT 99 a really great and fun read. With issue 100 right around the corner, I can only imagine what is in store for us. It is going to seem like forever until we get our shells on 100.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #100

Dec 20, 2019

I realize the turtles arent going anywhere, but seeing Shredder carry Master Splinter's lifeless body, gave me chills, my eyes watered, I closed the book and silently said thank you to Kevin Eastman, Peter Laird, Tom Waltz, and everyone that has ever drawn and wrote Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I truly cannot wait for the next 100 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #101

Jan 14, 2020

This issue was a lot to take in. With the catastrophic events of the last issue anything that follows was going to be put under a microscope by fans...and rightly so. Sophie Campbell came in and did something that I'm sure that the fandom was not expecting. She took over a beloved story and commanded over it like a battlefield general. We are in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #102

Feb 11, 2020

Final thoughts? I wrote this section multiple times in the hope I could catch what I felt while reading this book, and Im not sure what my final thoughts are. Are they with Raph, Jenn, and Sally or are they with Leo, Donny, and Mikey? What about the torture Old Hob is delivering to innocent people? I guess my final thoughts are this. This was a damn good book that made you sit back and think about humanity and how we deal with each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The End: Venom #1

Jan 25, 2020

This is one of those books that sits on the shelf and might get some looks from non Venom fans. Another Venom one-shot; oh yay, but this is not the case. This book has the right amount of Venom that will please fans, at the same time, adding about a cup of Deadpool shenanigans, making for a fun read that produces some good chuckles alongside blood splatter. Make sure this book gets on your read list for sure

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Venom (2018) #18

Sep 17, 2019

Donny Cates continues to pilot Venom with twists and turns while sustaining his quest to re-write Venom in his own light all the while paying homage to early Venom such as "Sinner Takes All." All in all this issue was rife with revelation, excitement, and anticipation for whats to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Venom (2018) #19

Nov 11, 2019

Donny Cates continues to deliver in every aspect of Venom. Not only does he manage to successfully tie-in Absolute Carnage to Venom, but he excels at telling a story within a story that keeps you begging for more. With that being said I need to make sure that Iban Coellos and Rain Beredos work does not go on without recognition, as they are just as much as responsible for delivering a dynamic coloring to excellent words that keep us coming back

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Venom (2018) #20

Dec 4, 2019

We finished issue twenty with a huge bang that leaves more questions. I absolutely adore that Absolute Carnage is over and we can get down to business and really dig into the series again. Im not saying this series was stale prior to, however, with Absolute Carnage and its tie-ins, Cates can only do so much when the main story becomes the side story for a few months. I for one, cannot wait until issue 21 and hopefully shedding light on some dark questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Venom (2018) #23

Feb 12, 2020

Cates and Bagley continue to perfectly capture every single detail that makes every single panel believably real and tell a story that continues to be one of the best on the shelves. Just when you think you have an idea of what direction Cates is going in, you turn the page and find yourself in a state of shock and surprise.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More