Mike Eakins's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 47
8.9Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Amazing Spider-Man (1963) #50

May 17, 2020

Regardless of your take on Spider-Man, this issue a key issue for more than the first appearance of Kingpin or that there is a Spider-Man no more. This issue is key to how we should not take ourselves for granted. Self-worth can only truly be judged by ourselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Ask for Mercy: The Key to Forever #1

May 7, 2020

This book is AWESOME. This has all the elements of what makes a comic great. Phenomenal storytelling, good pace, character depth, and gorgeous art to wrap it all up and put a bow on it. This is just another great example of why you should read digital comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman #497

May 10, 2020

Batman #497 will always be one of those issues that will have me think about what I was feeling after I read this book. It's timeless, even if you don't like Knightfall, or perhaps this is the only book in the series you read, it still stands as a modern classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Bog Bodies OGN

Jun 9, 2020

Bog Bodies is raw, spooky, and damn good. Declan Shalvey is one hell of a talent on both sides of the comic book, and Bog Bodies is absolute proof. Reading Bog Bodies has also introduced me to a couple of great talents in Gavin Fullerton and Rebecca Nalty. This book and its creative team are an absolute treasure!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #1

Oct 6, 2019

Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #1 does a brilliant job of telling a great story that embraces its time period and leaves the reader wanting more of this Dark Horse gem.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #2

Nov 29, 2019

The bottom line is David Dastmalchian continues to drive this book like a long-haul trucker on a rabid mission to deliver its goods and he does. This whole team does. I cannot stress enough that this book is one that you should be reading! I understand the Big 2 have big events going on, and they are awesome in their own right, however, what I am about to say next will most likely get some colorful comments from comic fans and Im ok with that. When these four issues are all said and done, Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter should be considered for an Eisner for Best Limited Series and Best Writer/Artist. This book is that good, and stands on its own with any horror story of any timeframe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #3

Jan 2, 2020

Count Crowley continues to be a worthwhile read, with a breath of fresh air from the people who put on tights, save the day, and make you feel great. It makes you feel great in a way that we can all speak to. Weve never known someone who can leap buildings in a single bound, but we do know someone who is trying to turn their life around at the same time investigating things that go bump in the night. READ COUNT CROWLEY!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #4

Jan 29, 2020

The creative team of David Dastmalchian, Lukas Ketner, and Lauren Affe gave us one hell of a story that was rich in plot and characters. Once in a while, you discover a story that not only grabs you and takes you in but sends you on an adventure. Thats what Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter is an adventure that is fun, exhilarating, and scary all at the same time. We can only hope this is not the last time that Dastmalchian, Ketner, and Affe will work together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Daphne Byrne #4

May 3, 2020

Daphne Byrne #4 is one hell of a spooky book! The layers that Laura Marks has put into this story are amazing and issue 4 is no different. I cannot wait for issue 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Eat, and Love Yourself OGN

May 30, 2020

When I read this book, I felt unwanted memories come racing back and I could do nothing else but share in Mindys tears. Sweeney Boo has an extraordinary knack for storytelling that is comforting. While there is a sadness and vulnerability that is felt throughout the book, it also gave me hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Ghost-Spider (2019) #2

Sep 29, 2019

Ever since Ghost-Spider came to Earth-616 she has fully immersed herself into its bravado, and Seanan McGuire captures it brilliantly. In this issue we continue to see Gwens growth in dealing with multiverse traveling, leaving her dad behind in Earth-65, and not mention kale chips! Adding to her new-found stress is Miles Warren. Now, this might be the Spider-Nerd in me coming out, but seeing The Jackal just makes this issue that much better, and the need for issue three to hurry up and get here that much greater. Overall, I thought this issue was pretty good and does a good job at laying a decent foundation for Gwens future in Earth-616.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ghost-Spider (2019) #3

Nov 4, 2019

Every so often in comics, you get a writer that really understands the character. Seanan McGuire understands Gwen. You get a great sense that Gwen is starting to not trust herself and her abilities. This couldnt come at a worse time, as the Jackal and his plan are getting ready to be in full swing. Overall this was a strong set-up issue for #4 and what Im betting is going to be a great vehicle to deliver the Jackals plan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Ghost-Spider (2019) #4

Dec 9, 2019

The creative team of McGuire and Miyazawa continue to do a good job withGhost-Spider and capturing Gwens morality and sense of humor. Now I understand that there are bigger titles on the shelves right now, however, Ghost-Spider does a great job in making its claim to be a book that should be read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ghost-Spider (2019) #6

Jan 18, 2020

I loathe the fact that I have to wait a whole month for issue 7, which Im sure will be FANTASTIC! Ok, no more puns, however, I am really excited to see how Latveria is going to play into it, the Storm siblings and their angle, can Gwen keep up with school, friends, her dad, and multi-verse travel? Too many questions to be answered!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ghost-Spider (2019) #7

Feb 29, 2020

Seanan McGuire continues to develop Gwen into a character that has the right blend of mystery, humor and attaches to readers with ease. The introduction of the Storms and The Maker has sent this book to another fantastic level of entertainment. In true McGuire fashion, there are so many questions filled with anticipation and intrigue going into the next issue, and I wouldnt have it another way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Ghost-Spider (2019) #8

Mar 28, 2020

These final thoughts always get me thinking about how to wrap up these reviews. With Ghost-Spider I find myself going back to boasting over McGuire and how see writes Gwen. This current arc is building the intrigue and making you crave more even after youve finished reading. Issue 8 really paints a broad picture of who Gwen is becoming. McGuire has set this so majestically that we will be talking about her time at the helm for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ghost-Spider (2019) #9

May 21, 2020

I am really enjoying this series and how Seanan McGuire continues to take Gwen into a direction all her own. With the addition of the Storms, I am hoping we will see a line of more villains for Gwen to take on. This issue has huge openings for more in-depth story arcs for Gwen and that is exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Killadelphia #3

Feb 20, 2020

This book is relentless in both message and visual presentation. Each issue gets better, scarier, and bolder. There may be a lot to dive into with this issue, however, this is definitely one of those titles that have great staying power. Each character in this issue had great depth to really sink your fangs into.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Kiss: Zombies #1

Nov 18, 2019

KISS Zombies is entertaining and gruesome, with just enough references to KISS to keep it interesting for fans of all ages. The good thing about this book is that you dont have to be a fan of the band to enjoy this book, I truly believe this has something for everyone as its a good foundation of a zombie story, even though at times, it seems like weve read this before. I love that Dynamite continues to publish KISS comics, as this seems to be a bit stronger than previous books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Kiss: Zombies #2

Dec 28, 2019

KISS: Zombies #2 delivers a fun and enjoyable version of the characters that have been kind of missing from past comics. Ethan Sacks and Rodney Buchemi continue to deliver a fun book, and keep the zombie story going. I absolutely love how they continue to incorporate songs into the panels forcing you to sing as you're reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Kiss: Zombies #4

Mar 17, 2020

I continue to love how this creative team and the fact they have kept a zombie story fresh with the appropriate amounts of horror, the occasional nod to the band, and maybe squeeze in a small chuckle, usually coming from the Catman or Space Ace. The way Ethan Sacks writes KISS: Zombies just makes you want toShout It Out Loud that this series is really cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Kiss: Zombies #5

Jun 16, 2020

I may be a bit biased in my final thoughts, and I know for some KISS is past its time and prime, and the comics are certainly not reaching out to a lot of people. I feel KISS: Zombies can smash those barriers and have a seat at the horror/zombie genre. Even if you dont Shout It Out Loud or dont know who Christine Sixteen is, you should still read KISS: Zombies!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #2

May 28, 2020

I love a good horror story.Mercy has elements of dark romance mixed with the perfect time really set the tone for a great story. Mirka Andolfos words and art have a plan, and that plan is to tell a top-notch horror story and put you into its binds and never let go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #3

Jun 28, 2020

The horror genre is overfilled like a community swimming pool, and at times makes for a daunting task trying to look for a good horror story that adds refreshment and brings something new or at least a new way of telling a familiar story. This is where Mirka Andolfo shines like a thousand suns. Her ability to surround Lady Hellaine with intrigue, mystery, and a splash of psychological horror makes Mercy a must-read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ninjak (1994) #1

May 24, 2020

A socialite that has a secret identity and fights bad guys. I know what you are probably saying and its true, this story has been told before, however, only a select few stick around for decades, and this is one that has. Ninjak has always been my favorite Valiant title, I remember being a teenager and seeing the chromium cover just glisten and mesmerize me. I still have that same copy that I read to this day, and it still reads with just as much magic as it did back then.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #99

Nov 13, 2019

As usual, everything from the art, ink, and words are nothing short of spectacular. Something that I think that Dave Wachter does really well in this book is he complements the storyline with great art that smoothly transitions itself from page to page, making sure the art and storyline stay in sync. That is just one of the many elements that make TMNT 99 a really great and fun read. With issue 100 right around the corner, I can only imagine what is in store for us. It is going to seem like forever until we get our shells on 100.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #100

Dec 20, 2019

I realize the turtles arent going anywhere, but seeing Shredder carry Master Splinter's lifeless body, gave me chills, my eyes watered, I closed the book and silently said thank you to Kevin Eastman, Peter Laird, Tom Waltz, and everyone that has ever drawn and wrote Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I truly cannot wait for the next 100 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #101

Jan 14, 2020

This issue was a lot to take in. With the catastrophic events of the last issue anything that follows was going to be put under a microscope by fans...and rightly so. Sophie Campbell came in and did something that I'm sure that the fandom was not expecting. She took over a beloved story and commanded over it like a battlefield general. We are in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #102

Feb 11, 2020

Final thoughts? I wrote this section multiple times in the hope I could catch what I felt while reading this book, and Im not sure what my final thoughts are. Are they with Raph, Jenn, and Sally or are they with Leo, Donny, and Mikey? What about the torture Old Hob is delivering to innocent people? I guess my final thoughts are this. This was a damn good book that made you sit back and think about humanity and how we deal with each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #103

Feb 25, 2020

Since issue 100, weve been on such a roller coaster of emotions. We (the readers) find ourselves looking within our own selves and asking how would we deal with this in our lives. What about Old Hob, is he right? Is he wrong? Instead of just moving-on from such a tragic event in the turtles lives, Sophie Campbell has decided we need to not just move-on but look into their souls and try to see a little bit of ourselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #104

Mar 18, 2020

Since Sophie Campbell took over for TMNT, we have been absolutely spoiled with her amazing writing with the depth and direction she has given a beloved universe. Issue 104 continues that tradition in such a way, that when you close the book, all you can say is Yep, that is Sophie Campbell and she is marvelous.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #105

Jul 1, 2020

Sophie Campbell and Ronda Pattison are simply awesome! What Sophie Campbell has done with her run on TMNT is pure genius, and Ronda's coloring is brilliance on a palette that shares in the excellence that is the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Jennika #1

Mar 1, 2020

With Jennika #1, we finally get to see who Jenny is. In keeping with the main TMNT storyline, Jennika keeps the same feeling and warrior spirit that we are used to seeing from her character. This was a good start at what Im sure will be a great mini-series that will have old fans shaking their head in approval and maybe wrangle some new fans in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Jennika #2

Apr 2, 2020

Brahm Revel and Ronda Pattison continue Jennikas story with a rock-solid foundation. The way these stories work together is magnificent, they completely complement each other, I know that we are only two books into the series but this is beginning to look like a cannot miss series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The End: Venom #1

Jan 25, 2020

This is one of those books that sits on the shelf and might get some looks from non Venom fans. Another Venom one-shot; oh yay, but this is not the case. This book has the right amount of Venom that will please fans, at the same time, adding about a cup of Deadpool shenanigans, making for a fun read that produces some good chuckles alongside blood splatter. Make sure this book gets on your read list for sure

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Tremor Dose #1

Apr 6, 2020

Tremor Dose is a brilliant read. Ive been reading comics for over 30 years and I cant remember a book that burrowed itself so deep in my mind that it almost takes over and you become overcame with cravings to read it over and over. Its a rarity that you find a book that makes you champion that book to your friends as a must-own. READ THIS BOOK!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Venom (2018) #18

Sep 17, 2019

Donny Cates continues to pilot Venom with twists and turns while sustaining his quest to re-write Venom in his own light all the while paying homage to early Venom such as "Sinner Takes All." All in all this issue was rife with revelation, excitement, and anticipation for whats to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Venom (2018) #19

Nov 11, 2019

Donny Cates continues to deliver in every aspect of Venom. Not only does he manage to successfully tie-in Absolute Carnage to Venom, but he excels at telling a story within a story that keeps you begging for more. With that being said I need to make sure that Iban Coellos and Rain Beredos work does not go on without recognition, as they are just as much as responsible for delivering a dynamic coloring to excellent words that keep us coming back

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Venom (2018) #20

Dec 4, 2019

We finished issue twenty with a huge bang that leaves more questions. I absolutely adore that Absolute Carnage is over and we can get down to business and really dig into the series again. Im not saying this series was stale prior to, however, with Absolute Carnage and its tie-ins, Cates can only do so much when the main story becomes the side story for a few months. I for one, cannot wait until issue 21 and hopefully shedding light on some dark questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Venom (2018) #23

Feb 12, 2020

Cates and Bagley continue to perfectly capture every single detail that makes every single panel believably real and tell a story that continues to be one of the best on the shelves. Just when you think you have an idea of what direction Cates is going in, you turn the page and find yourself in a state of shock and surprise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Venom (2018) #24

Mar 21, 2020

Ive been reading Venom comics since the early 90s. He has been a constant favorite of mine regardless of the host. Venom #24 has taken me back to my teenage years when I would read a Venom book and my mouth was ajar the whole time I was turning pages. Anticipation, fear, and excitement all in one book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Venom (2018) #25

May 28, 2020

Venom is back in full swing and it feels great! We have finally (maybe) seen how powerful Dylan is and can be. Reading this issue I thought the next logical step has to be seeing Dylan start to hone his powers and become his true self. After reading it a few more times, maybe the next step is to see how Eddie deals with life after Absolute Carnage and "Venom Island."

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wonder Woman: Agent of Peace (2020) #1

Apr 30, 2020

Wonder Woman + Harley Quinn + Amanda Connor + Jimmy Palmiotti = One hell of a fun read, and an all-around good time. Wonder Woman, along with this creative team was just super fun and I can't recommend this book enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Wonder Woman: Agent of Peace (2020) #2

May 20, 2020

There is a lot going on with Wonder Woman: Agent of Peace #2. We see a great pairing with Wonder Woman and Lois, great environment art, and the uneasiness of everyone is in danger with great fluid movement in the story. Seeing Lois handle herself with such grace in the face of danger was fantastic. This was a great story, plain and simple.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Wonder Woman: Agent of Peace (2020) #3

May 27, 2020

Wonder Woman: Agent of Peace is a fun series that keeps delivering stories that differ from one another without going too far off-grid. "Planned Extinction" is a lot of fun while delivering a great heartfelt message without being drawn-out with unneeded seriousness.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Year Zero #1

May 26, 2020

Year Zero is such a phenomenal book with a creative team that is top-notch. The simple fact that we get five characters dealing with life in their own way and carrying on and not the same old paint-by-numbers zombie horror book is fabulous. Ben Percy has such a great knack for storytelling and Year Zero is just another example of his talent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Year Zero #2

Jun 27, 2020

Year Zero is a super solid zombie book. With Percy's words along with Rosanas and Loughridge artistic take on his words, this book stands out on its own and demands to be noticed and taken seriously among all the other zombie stories. There are very few creative teams that feel as in sync as this team does. The only downside to Year Zero is that it's not an ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More