Mike Eakins's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 108
8.7Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Amazing Spider-Man (1963) #50

May 17, 2020

Regardless of your take on Spider-Man, this issue a key issue for more than the first appearance of Kingpin or that there is a Spider-Man no more. This issue is key to how we should not take ourselves for granted. Self-worth can only truly be judged by ourselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Ask for Mercy: The Key to Forever #1

May 7, 2020

This book is AWESOME. This has all the elements of what makes a comic great. Phenomenal storytelling, good pace, character depth, and gorgeous art to wrap it all up and put a bow on it. This is just another great example of why you should read digital comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman #497

May 10, 2020

Batman #497 will always be one of those issues that will have me think about what I was feeling after I read this book. It's timeless, even if you don't like Knightfall, or perhaps this is the only book in the series you read, it still stands as a modern classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bliss (2020) #1

Jul 27, 2020

Bliss #1 is such an emotional trip through your feelings and takes you to the deepest and darkest parts of your mind. At times I found myself getting emotional and putting myself in Benton's position. Sean Lewis and Caitlin Yarsky have created something very special with Bliss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Bliss (2020) #2

Aug 30, 2020

I teared up at the beginning of this book and my heart felt heavier with reading every word that Sean wrote and every picture that Caitlin drew on the pages. Seeing the homeless vet, the lonely lady on the subway, and the family at Thanksgiving all struck chords that sit close to home. The ending of this book is such a huge switch in a direction that if this is any clue of how the rest of the series is going to go, Im not sure if my emotions can take the ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bliss (2020) #4

Oct 27, 2020

Bliss continues to be one of the best series of the year, in my opinion. It succeeds on all fronts that I expect a story to have. Emotional characters that immediately grab hold of you for the duration of the adventure, exciting plot, and most importantly its re-readability. Sean Lewiss stellar storytelling combined with Caitlin Yarskys uncanny artistic ability continues to astonish and amaze with every issue of Bliss. This book is beautifully crafted, and a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Bliss (2020) #5

Feb 10, 2021

Final thoughtsAnother incredibly well-built issue for one of the best stories you will read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bliss (2020) #8

Jun 5, 2021

I hate the fact Im in the final thoughts portion of the review because I have so much to talk about when it comes to Bliss. I want to talk about Sean Lewis writing, I want to talk about Caitlin Yarskys art and how she brings pain and love to the panels in a way that you ultimately know her work. I cant forget about Ari Pluchinksy coming on later in the series, however, her dynamic talent added another level to the pain and love that is Bliss, a quick example would be the cover for #8 which is beautifully haunting. Ive said it before that this creative team is one of the best in comics and we can only hope their paths cross again. From issue 1 this has been a personal journey for me. The metaphors, the characters, the pain, and the love at times I saw me and I saw him. He passed years ago and in some small way, I hope hes found closure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Bog Bodies OGN

Jun 9, 2020

Bog Bodies is raw, spooky, and damn good. Declan Shalvey is one hell of a talent on both sides of the comic book, and Bog Bodies is absolute proof. Reading Bog Bodies has also introduced me to a couple of great talents in Gavin Fullerton and Rebecca Nalty. This book and its creative team are an absolute treasure!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow (2020) #2

Aug 19, 2020

I loved the feeling the book carried of wanting to find your special place where you can belong. I think at some point in our lives we all look for that, some find it, others never do. I fell in love with the panel where Aelara tells Willow she is safe, and she belongs here and then a few panels later go into such a great look on Willows face with one word on the panelsafe. Obviously this is only the 2nd issue there are ways to go but if only for a minute if a comic can help us dream of a place where each of us is safe, then this issue was worth it regardless of what happens in the series because this issue gave us what we so desperately cravehope.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #1

Oct 6, 2019

Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #1 does a brilliant job of telling a great story that embraces its time period and leaves the reader wanting more of this Dark Horse gem.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #2

Nov 29, 2019

The bottom line is David Dastmalchian continues to drive this book like a long-haul trucker on a rabid mission to deliver its goods and he does. This whole team does. I cannot stress enough that this book is one that you should be reading! I understand the Big 2 have big events going on, and they are awesome in their own right, however, what I am about to say next will most likely get some colorful comments from comic fans and Im ok with that. When these four issues are all said and done, Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter should be considered for an Eisner for Best Limited Series and Best Writer/Artist. This book is that good, and stands on its own with any horror story of any timeframe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #3

Jan 2, 2020

Count Crowley continues to be a worthwhile read, with a breath of fresh air from the people who put on tights, save the day, and make you feel great. It makes you feel great in a way that we can all speak to. Weve never known someone who can leap buildings in a single bound, but we do know someone who is trying to turn their life around at the same time investigating things that go bump in the night. READ COUNT CROWLEY!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #4

Jan 29, 2020

The creative team of David Dastmalchian, Lukas Ketner, and Lauren Affe gave us one hell of a story that was rich in plot and characters. Once in a while, you discover a story that not only grabs you and takes you in but sends you on an adventure. Thats what Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter is an adventure that is fun, exhilarating, and scary all at the same time. We can only hope this is not the last time that Dastmalchian, Ketner, and Affe will work together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Damned, Cursed Children #1

Jan 30, 2021

The comic world needs more quality horror stories like this one. The genre is crowded and at times can produce eye rolls, however, its the passion, grit, and delivery that make this book stand out as not just another horror comic. Damned, Cursed Children #1 should be in your hands!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Daphne Byrne #4

May 3, 2020

Daphne Byrne #4 is one hell of a spooky book! The layers that Laura Marks has put into this story are amazing and issue 4 is no different. I cannot wait for issue 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Dead Body Road: Bad Blood #1

Jul 11, 2020

Justin Jordan and Benjamin Tiesmas Dead Body Road: Bad Blood #1 is a brilliant small-town tale of crime, punishment, and homemade justice that is easily going to burn up the shelves as the next big series of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Dead Body Road: Bad Blood #2

Aug 17, 2020

This book is fun and is the kind of book that is the perfect form of escapism from the current state of the world. Justin Jordan creates a cool world with awesome characters. If you like your comics with fire, bullets, and awesome characters than Dead Body Road: Bad Blood is just the book you should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dead End Kids: The Suburban Job #1

Jan 26, 2021

I cant stop reading this book! The complexity of this story is absolutely beautiful, and at times I found myself holding back emotions. That to me is a true test of a story. Do you feel for the characters, can you connect to the characters, does the story move you? When you are talking about Dead End Kids: The Suburban Job, the answer is a resounding yes. I cant stop talking about this book and I dont want to stop talking about this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Deep Beyond #1

Feb 9, 2021

Deep Beyond #1at timeshas a Ridley Scott meets David Lynch vibe. The superb storytelling of Scott and the unknown surrealism of Lynch (I feel) is present on every page of this book. Even if youre not a fan of science fiction, there is still one hell of a thriller-mystery story to be told and not tobe missed. This book was super fun and I cant wait to see what is in store for these characters. Especially Eve!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Eat, And Love Yourself OGN

May 30, 2020

When I read this book, I felt unwanted memories come racing back and I could do nothing else but share in Mindys tears. Sweeney Boo has an extraordinary knack for storytelling that is comforting. While there is a sadness and vulnerability that is felt throughout the book, it also gave me hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Extreme Carnage (2021): Scream #1

Jul 16, 2021

When a creative team puts their soul into the panels it creates more than a comic book, it creates an adventure the makes a connection with its readers. Extreme Carnage: Scream #1 has a great feel to it and delivers what the fans want. A great story with great art and just enough speculation that will keep folks coming back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Extreme Carnage (2021): Alpha #1

Jul 7, 2021

A healthy dose of symbiote gore awaits the horde of fans that will undoubtedly consume this series. The bar has been set high for the rest of the books in the series as well as any tie-ins we may get. Do not miss out on Extreme Carnage.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Future State (2021): Superman of Metropolis #1

Jan 5, 2021

I was never a huge Superman fan. Ive always felt that he was someone better suited for the villain's life and seemed to be underwhelming at times. Over that past year or so, Ive been diving into more Superman books and having more conversations on Superman and I can feel my opinion of Kryptons favorite son changing a bit. Sean Lewis does a great job in aiding that opinion change. His take on Superman was superb and we can only hope he has more Kryptonian tales to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Future State (2021): Superman of Metropolis #2

Feb 2, 2021

Final thoughtsyou hate to see the show end. I have zero issues with being selfish and wanting these creative teams to stick around and continue their work. The formula for these three stories are well crafted and will no doubt will be talked about for some time. If this is an example of the future for DC, the future is bright and spectacular.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Ghost-Spider (2019) #2

Sep 29, 2019

Ever since Ghost-Spider came to Earth-616 she has fully immersed herself into its bravado, and Seanan McGuire captures it brilliantly. In this issue we continue to see Gwens growth in dealing with multiverse traveling, leaving her dad behind in Earth-65, and not mention kale chips! Adding to her new-found stress is Miles Warren. Now, this might be the Spider-Nerd in me coming out, but seeing The Jackal just makes this issue that much better, and the need for issue three to hurry up and get here that much greater. Overall, I thought this issue was pretty good and does a good job at laying a decent foundation for Gwens future in Earth-616.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ghost-Spider (2019) #3

Nov 4, 2019

Every so often in comics, you get a writer that really understands the character. Seanan McGuire understands Gwen. You get a great sense that Gwen is starting to not trust herself and her abilities. This couldnt come at a worse time, as the Jackal and his plan are getting ready to be in full swing. Overall this was a strong set-up issue for #4 and what Im betting is going to be a great vehicle to deliver the Jackals plan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Ghost-Spider (2019) #4

Dec 9, 2019

The creative team of McGuire and Miyazawa continue to do a good job withGhost-Spider and capturing Gwens morality and sense of humor. Now I understand that there are bigger titles on the shelves right now, however, Ghost-Spider does a great job in making its claim to be a book that should be read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ghost-Spider (2019) #6

Jan 18, 2020

I loathe the fact that I have to wait a whole month for issue 7, which Im sure will be FANTASTIC! Ok, no more puns, however, I am really excited to see how Latveria is going to play into it, the Storm siblings and their angle, can Gwen keep up with school, friends, her dad, and multi-verse travel? Too many questions to be answered!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ghost-Spider (2019) #7

Feb 29, 2020

Seanan McGuire continues to develop Gwen into a character that has the right blend of mystery, humor and attaches to readers with ease. The introduction of the Storms and The Maker has sent this book to another fantastic level of entertainment. In true McGuire fashion, there are so many questions filled with anticipation and intrigue going into the next issue, and I wouldnt have it another way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Ghost-Spider (2019) #8

Mar 28, 2020

These final thoughts always get me thinking about how to wrap up these reviews. With Ghost-Spider I find myself going back to boasting over McGuire and how see writes Gwen. This current arc is building the intrigue and making you crave more even after youve finished reading. Issue 8 really paints a broad picture of who Gwen is becoming. McGuire has set this so majestically that we will be talking about her time at the helm for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ghost-Spider (2019) #9

May 21, 2020

I am really enjoying this series and how Seanan McGuire continues to take Gwen into a direction all her own. With the addition of the Storms, I am hoping we will see a line of more villains for Gwen to take on. This issue has huge openings for more in-depth story arcs for Gwen and that is exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Killadelphia #3

Feb 20, 2020

This book is relentless in both message and visual presentation. Each issue gets better, scarier, and bolder. There may be a lot to dive into with this issue, however, this is definitely one of those titles that have great staying power. Each character in this issue had great depth to really sink your fangs into.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
King In Black #1

Dec 2, 2020

Make no mistake about it, King in Black will be Marvels highlight series of 2020 and beyond. For about the past year we have seen a stellar campaign announcing this event and if the first issue is any indication of how the rest of the series will play out... buckle up because this is going to be huge and talked about for a long time to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
King In Black #3

Jan 20, 2021

What can we say about this issue without spoilers? Well, we do know that King in Black is masterfully crafted and continues to carve out a spot at the table of Marvel masterpieces, that much we do know for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
King In Black #4

Feb 18, 2021

Questions upon questions upon questions. Im still not too sure what to think about the ending of this issue. I get why the character was brought in and I think there is brilliance for the deep pick and it makes all the sense in the world. If anything, this is further proof that Donny Cates is an evil genius at not showing his hand, and if there is anything that we have learned about Cates is that you never call his bluff. Personally, I think Im more concerned with Eddies new way of life than I am about Knull and whether or not he succeeds in his plans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
King In Black: Gwenom vs. Carnage #1

Jan 13, 2021

You can always tell when a creative team gels and fits perfectly together, this is one of those teams! An uncontested championship team of solid writing, art, and lettering. Even after Knull is defeated and things return to normal, Marvel should keep this team together on everything Ghost-Spider.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
King In Black: Planet Of The Symbiotes #1

Jan 11, 2021

Tie-ins can get a bit boring and at times have a feeling that makes them stick out like a sore thumb with the current story. Planet of the Symbiotes does not have the feel at all. This was such a great addition to the King in Black story and is executed beautifully. Dont miss this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
King In Black: Thunderbolts #1

Jan 11, 2021

At times Rosenbergs offering feels like a modern-day Goonies story with super heroes and it works! What he manages to pull off towards the end and at the end with the reveal with a huge tease just cements what I said earlier about this book and its creative team. Dont miss out on King in Black: Thunderbolts #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
King Spawn #1

Aug 25, 2021

As a long devoted Spawn fan, it was hard not to drool all over this review. There are some of my favorite creators telling a story that I never tire of. Whether it is the depth and passion that Sean Lewis writes with or the magnificent art of Brett Booth or Javi Fernandez, or Philip Tan, King Spawn #1 was the perfect offering, post Spawns Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
King Spawn #2

Sep 25, 2021

Overall, King Spawn #2 is another satisfying bloody offering that will send chills up your spine. As a long-time Spawn reader, I wasn't sure how these new titles were going to be. I was picking them up regardless as they belong with the other 300 plus issues in the long boxes. I wanted King Spawn to be good, and it turned out great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Kiss: Zombies #1

Nov 18, 2019

KISS Zombies is entertaining and gruesome, with just enough references to KISS to keep it interesting for fans of all ages. The good thing about this book is that you dont have to be a fan of the band to enjoy this book, I truly believe this has something for everyone as its a good foundation of a zombie story, even though at times, it seems like weve read this before. I love that Dynamite continues to publish KISS comics, as this seems to be a bit stronger than previous books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Kiss: Zombies #2

Dec 28, 2019

KISS: Zombies #2 delivers a fun and enjoyable version of the characters that have been kind of missing from past comics. Ethan Sacks and Rodney Buchemi continue to deliver a fun book, and keep the zombie story going. I absolutely love how they continue to incorporate songs into the panels forcing you to sing as you're reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Kiss: Zombies #4

Mar 17, 2020

I continue to love how this creative team and the fact they have kept a zombie story fresh with the appropriate amounts of horror, the occasional nod to the band, and maybe squeeze in a small chuckle, usually coming from the Catman or Space Ace. The way Ethan Sacks writes KISS: Zombies just makes you want toShout It Out Loud that this series is really cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Kiss: Zombies #5

Jun 16, 2020

I may be a bit biased in my final thoughts, and I know for some KISS is past its time and prime, and the comics are certainly not reaching out to a lot of people. I feel KISS: Zombies can smash those barriers and have a seat at the horror/zombie genre. Even if you dont Shout It Out Loud or dont know who Christine Sixteen is, you should still read KISS: Zombies!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel Zombies: Resurrection (2020) #1

Sep 2, 2020

Marvel Zombies: Resurrection was a fun read. Did it Marvel Zombies need to come back to the shelves? At first, I wasnt sure, however, I do know that Marvel Zombies: Resurrection does need to be on the shelves. Its a solid story that doesnt feel like a cheap reboot trying to recapture glory already told. Plain and simple it is worth reading that deserves space in your long box.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #2

May 28, 2020

I love a good horror story.Mercy has elements of dark romance mixed with the perfect time really set the tone for a great story. Mirka Andolfos words and art have a plan, and that plan is to tell a top-notch horror story and put you into its binds and never let go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #3

Jun 28, 2020

The horror genre is overfilled like a community swimming pool, and at times makes for a daunting task trying to look for a good horror story that adds refreshment and brings something new or at least a new way of telling a familiar story. This is where Mirka Andolfo shines like a thousand suns. Her ability to surround Lady Hellaine with intrigue, mystery, and a splash of psychological horror makes Mercy a must-read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #4

Aug 4, 2020

Mercy #4 is by far the goriest and brutal issue yet, and what an issue it is! Horror is a delicate subject to take on. The good creators know how to make a good horror story with the right amount of blood and body flying around. Mirka Andolfo has tapped into that vein and managed to find a great recipe for a good horror story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Night Wolf #4

Jul 17, 2020

I always enjoy finding hidden gems in music, comics, and movies. Night Wolf has been one of those hidden gems. The art, the story, the colors are just awesome. It is definitely one of those books that you come across that you keep telling everyone you know about it and wont leave them alone until theyve read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Night Wolf #5

Jul 10, 2021

This was such an enjoyable read, this type of story is right in my wheelhouse and I love it when folks find new ways to tell familiar tales. It keeps readers entertained, it invites new readers, more importantly, it keeps the genre thriving. Night Wolf is worth every minute of your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ninjak (1994) #1

May 24, 2020

A socialite that has a secret identity and fights bad guys. I know what you are probably saying and its true, this story has been told before, however, only a select few stick around for decades, and this is one that has. Ninjak has always been my favorite Valiant title, I remember being a teenager and seeing the chromium cover just glisten and mesmerize me. I still have that same copy that I read to this day, and it still reads with just as much magic as it did back then.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Power Rangers Unlimited: Edge of Darkness #1

Jul 1, 2021

This was a really fun book. I love the fact the BOOM used folks that have worked on Power Ranger books before. They went out and got a huge MMPR fan in Frank Gogol to round out the team and this formula works. There is not a bad panel in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Room #1

May 22, 2021

Final thoughts on Red Room #1. Brilliant. Taboo subjects are always going to be a touchy subject and some folks are simply turned off by that and thats perfectly fine. Red Room #1 is bold, gory, unsettling, but none the less a fun torturous ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Room #3

Aug 7, 2021

I want more Red Room! I dont think Ive read a comic that Ive wanted to see in a movie form so badly since Y the Last Man. Red Room is top-notch horror storytelling that will not only age beautifully but will be heralded in the genre as an example of what good horror is supposed to be. Read Red Room!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Resilient #1

May 15, 2021

Indie comics are fun. The always seems to put the creative teams hand all-in and bet big on and unsure thing. As dangerous as that is at times, sometimes its necessary to go all-in. In Resilient #1, the creative team does just that. They bet the house and win.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Snake Eyes: Deadgame (2020) #1

Jul 28, 2020

There is so much to enjoy with this book and serves as a solid introduction to G.I. Joe. I was excited when this project was announced and was not let down. Rob Liefeld has another hit on his hands for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #99

Nov 13, 2019

As usual, everything from the art, ink, and words are nothing short of spectacular. Something that I think that Dave Wachter does really well in this book is he complements the storyline with great art that smoothly transitions itself from page to page, making sure the art and storyline stay in sync. That is just one of the many elements that make TMNT 99 a really great and fun read. With issue 100 right around the corner, I can only imagine what is in store for us. It is going to seem like forever until we get our shells on 100.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #100

Dec 20, 2019

I realize the turtles arent going anywhere, but seeing Shredder carry Master Splinter's lifeless body, gave me chills, my eyes watered, I closed the book and silently said thank you to Kevin Eastman, Peter Laird, Tom Waltz, and everyone that has ever drawn and wrote Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I truly cannot wait for the next 100 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #101

Jan 14, 2020

This issue was a lot to take in. With the catastrophic events of the last issue anything that follows was going to be put under a microscope by fans...and rightly so. Sophie Campbell came in and did something that I'm sure that the fandom was not expecting. She took over a beloved story and commanded over it like a battlefield general. We are in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #102

Feb 11, 2020

Final thoughts? I wrote this section multiple times in the hope I could catch what I felt while reading this book, and Im not sure what my final thoughts are. Are they with Raph, Jenn, and Sally or are they with Leo, Donny, and Mikey? What about the torture Old Hob is delivering to innocent people? I guess my final thoughts are this. This was a damn good book that made you sit back and think about humanity and how we deal with each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #103

Feb 25, 2020

Since issue 100, weve been on such a roller coaster of emotions. We (the readers) find ourselves looking within our own selves and asking how would we deal with this in our lives. What about Old Hob, is he right? Is he wrong? Instead of just moving-on from such a tragic event in the turtles lives, Sophie Campbell has decided we need to not just move-on but look into their souls and try to see a little bit of ourselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #104

Mar 18, 2020

Since Sophie Campbell took over for TMNT, we have been absolutely spoiled with her amazing writing with the depth and direction she has given a beloved universe. Issue 104 continues that tradition in such a way, that when you close the book, all you can say is Yep, that is Sophie Campbell and she is marvelous.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #105

Jul 1, 2020

Sophie Campbell and Ronda Pattison are simply awesome! What Sophie Campbell has done with her run on TMNT is pure genius, and Ronda's coloring is brilliance on a palette that shares in the excellence that is the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #106

Aug 2, 2020

This issue had me smiling from ear to ear with seeing the mousers, seeing Baxter Stockman start to show his true colors and take up a familiar helm. The family is starting to get back to normal, not to mention the new dojo looks great! We continue to be spoiled by Campbell, Pattison, Lee, and everyone else that touches this book. It is such a great time to be a turtles fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #107

Aug 7, 2020

We are in a great era of the turtles story. I try not to sound like a broken record when talking about this creative team, but I just cannot help myself when it comes to the fabulous team of Campbell, Pattison, Lee, & Daniel and the phenomenal job they are doing. There has never been a better time to jump into the Turtle Van and go for a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #108

Aug 27, 2020

Campbell and Pattison continue to move this book along with such style, grace, and rabid passion that puts them on their own level against any other creator and title on the shelves today. Adding Nelson Daniel only compliments the team with his familiar style that is perfect for the turtles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #110

Oct 20, 2020

With this review being spoiler-free, I wanted to touch on the fact that this team continues to produce one of the best books on the shelves. As I have said on numerous occasions in my reviews Sophie Campbell, Ronda Pattison, Jodi Nishijima, Shawn Lee, Tom Waltz, and Kevin Eastman have something so magical and beautiful that I can honestly say we are in the midst of excellence and in time this run will be looked at as not only a must for TMNT fans but a must for any discussions of creative teams that left their mark on the industry and their brand.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #111

Nov 12, 2020

There is a lot to unpack in this issue. From Mona, Sally, and then the spectacular ending, even after reading it a couple of times Im still grinning from ear to ear. With every issue, I am still amazed at how this team continues to take the turtles to new avenues and keep it fresh and exciting issue after issue. Do yourself and favor and read this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #113

Jan 21, 2021

I dont think this issue is as big as 100, however, I would definitely keep your shells peeled (pun intended) on upcoming issues. There are panels that have so much speculation in them that the excitement is at an all-time high. Its a great time to be reading TMNT!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #114

Feb 13, 2021

This issue has some heavy elements to unpack. I feel with this issue dealing with Jenny and her situation I cant help to think back to my times when I felt some turbulence in life and really didnt know where to turn for answers. Jenny has a lot to think about as do the rest of the family moving forward with Lita. What does the future hold for the family? Only Sophie and Company know and Im confident that we are getting ready to enter one hell of an arc and possibly one that will force the reader to pick sides. As I say with almost every reviewits a great time to be a TMNT fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #115

Mar 20, 2021

Another great installation in the IDW series. This book was super fun, and the passion of the creative team continues to rain down on the pages of each issue. All in all, this issue is really well built with the right amount of cheesy humor, good fight scenes, and classic TMNT speculation at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #116

Apr 26, 2021

Another great installment and sets up #117 beautifully. I think we're due for another shocking event that will shake things up a bit and I believe we are seeing the building blocks for that very event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #117

Jun 9, 2021

I emphatically believe that Campbell, Pattison, and Lee are one of the best teams on the shelves of any ongoing series. This issue is just another layer of proof. This book is beautiful on many levels, with big reveals, bigger speculation, and...love. I hope you enjoyed this issue as much as I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Annual: 2020

Aug 10, 2020

Here we are with the TMNT Annual 2020 and it was so much fun to read, it felt like catching up with old friends. Now if my choice of friends is the Rat King and Krang I may need to reevaluate my qualifications for friendship. In all seriousness, I dont know what else to say about The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and this great creative team that has and continues to bring so much joy to their fans. This creative team cares so much about what they put out and it shows. So, in my final thoughts, I just want to say thank you to Kevin Eastman, Tom Waltz, Sophie Campbell, Ronda Pattison, Nathan Daniel, Shawn Lee, Mateus Santolouco, and everyone else that has worked on this series. Thank you for the memories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Jennika #1

Mar 1, 2020

With Jennika #1, we finally get to see who Jenny is. In keeping with the main TMNT storyline, Jennika keeps the same feeling and warrior spirit that we are used to seeing from her character. This was a good start at what Im sure will be a great mini-series that will have old fans shaking their head in approval and maybe wrangle some new fans in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Jennika: II #1

Nov 12, 2020

TMNT: Jennika II starts off just as magnificently as it ended. The amount of passion that is on display from Brahm Revel is beautiful reassurance that Jennika will join the likes of other strong comic book female characters in due time. This book is nothing short of fabulous!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Jennika #2

Apr 2, 2020

Brahm Revel and Ronda Pattison continue Jennikas story with a rock-solid foundation. The way these stories work together is magnificent, they completely complement each other, I know that we are only two books into the series but this is beginning to look like a cannot miss series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin #1

Oct 27, 2020

To be a true warrior one must know when to crouch, when to leap, and when to stand firm The Last Ronin. These teachings stick with The Last Ronin just as much as the guilt he carries. Regardless of who The Last Ronin is, we cant ignore the path our hero has traveled and the pain theyve felt in their journey. For TMNT fans this has been a long time coming to see Laird and Eastman back together again. They have surrounded themselves with an all-star team that shares their passion for TMNT storytelling and the end product is nothing short of amazing. Frank Miller has The Dark Knight Returns and now Laird, Eastman, and Waltz have The Last Ronin. This is going to be one hell of a story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin #2

Feb 17, 2021

Another issue with so much to unpack. Now that we know who The Last Ronin is, and we start to get a glimpse of his past, his emotions become our emotions. His pain is our pain. His battles are out battles. The Last Ronin #2 is another well-built story that hits all the wickets on what readers want and have come to expect from a TMNT story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin #4

Sep 22, 2021

The great thing about spoiler-free reviews is that it forces to look inward on how the book makes you feel. Its fun to go panel by panel, but theres something magical about digging deep into your feelings and making that the tone of the review. The Last Ronin does just that. It makes you settle in and take notice of what is on the page. The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles are who we are. Now, by extension, we are The Last Ronin.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The End: Venom #1

Jan 25, 2020

This is one of those books that sits on the shelf and might get some looks from non Venom fans. Another Venom one-shot; oh yay, but this is not the case. This book has the right amount of Venom that will please fans, at the same time, adding about a cup of Deadpool shenanigans, making for a fun read that produces some good chuckles alongside blood splatter. Make sure this book gets on your read list for sure

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Tremor Dose #1

Apr 6, 2020

Tremor Dose is a brilliant read. Ive been reading comics for over 30 years and I cant remember a book that burrowed itself so deep in my mind that it almost takes over and you become overcame with cravings to read it over and over. Its a rarity that you find a book that makes you champion that book to your friends as a must-own. READ THIS BOOK!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Venom (2018) #18

Sep 17, 2019

Donny Cates continues to pilot Venom with twists and turns while sustaining his quest to re-write Venom in his own light all the while paying homage to early Venom such as "Sinner Takes All." All in all this issue was rife with revelation, excitement, and anticipation for whats to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Venom (2018) #19

Nov 11, 2019

Donny Cates continues to deliver in every aspect of Venom. Not only does he manage to successfully tie-in Absolute Carnage to Venom, but he excels at telling a story within a story that keeps you begging for more. With that being said I need to make sure that Iban Coellos and Rain Beredos work does not go on without recognition, as they are just as much as responsible for delivering a dynamic coloring to excellent words that keep us coming back

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Venom (2018) #20

Dec 4, 2019

We finished issue twenty with a huge bang that leaves more questions. I absolutely adore that Absolute Carnage is over and we can get down to business and really dig into the series again. Im not saying this series was stale prior to, however, with Absolute Carnage and its tie-ins, Cates can only do so much when the main story becomes the side story for a few months. I for one, cannot wait until issue 21 and hopefully shedding light on some dark questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Venom (2018) #23

Feb 12, 2020

Cates and Bagley continue to perfectly capture every single detail that makes every single panel believably real and tell a story that continues to be one of the best on the shelves. Just when you think you have an idea of what direction Cates is going in, you turn the page and find yourself in a state of shock and surprise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Venom (2018) #24

Mar 21, 2020

Ive been reading Venom comics since the early 90s. He has been a constant favorite of mine regardless of the host. Venom #24 has taken me back to my teenage years when I would read a Venom book and my mouth was ajar the whole time I was turning pages. Anticipation, fear, and excitement all in one book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Venom (2018) #25

May 28, 2020

Venom is back in full swing and it feels great! We have finally (maybe) seen how powerful Dylan is and can be. Reading this issue I thought the next logical step has to be seeing Dylan start to hone his powers and become his true self. After reading it a few more times, maybe the next step is to see how Eddie deals with life after Absolute Carnage and "Venom Island."

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2018) #26

Jul 16, 2020

Donny Cates is symbiote royalty. What he continues to with Venom and Eddie is truly remarkable and makes one of the more solid books from the Big 2. Venom #26 is far from a bad book, it just has a weird feel to it and thats okay. In Cates We Trust.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Venom (2018) #27

Aug 13, 2020

Here we are, another Venom issue down and another appearance of Knull and a visit to the Ultimate Universe. Im not too sure what to think about being in 1610 and if I like Eddie and Dylan in 1610, however, this is Donny Cates. He knows Venom and he knows how to tell a great Venom story and that is what this is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Venom (2018) #28

Sep 23, 2020

Final thoughts on Venom #28: well Venomaniacs, I'm still taking this issue in and contemplating what this does for the book going forward. This is probably the biggest issue that Cates has written since taking over the book and is yet another example of why he belongs on the Mt. Rushmore of Venom writers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Venom (2018) #30

Nov 18, 2020

Donny Cates continues to spoil the Venomaniacs with hit after hit. Venom #30 is a great example of how to end an arc by mixing the right amount of action, emotion, and intrigue. This is such a great time to be a Venom fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Venom (2018) #31

Dec 16, 2020

There are quite a few hypothetical questions that have shown up in this issue, now they could be just that and nothing more but this is Donny Cates we're talking about. Much like Eddie and Dylan, we are all waiting to see what Cates will do next. It's almost inhumane to make us wait a full month for #32!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Venom (2018) #32

Jan 6, 2021

Cates, Coello, Aburtov, and Cowles have become the Super Friends when it comes to Venom. Ive talked about my undying love for this team on numerous occasions and it never gets old. How can it! Issue after issue it is one badass plot after another. Their efforts have become a thrill ride into Venom lore and will be continually talked about in comic circles for decades to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Venom (2018) #35

Jun 16, 2021

Theres nothing left to say except... thank you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Voyage to the Stars #1

Aug 23, 2020

Voyage to the Stars #1 is a great first issue, mixing science fiction and comedy. If you are a fan of the podcast chances are you will be a fan of the comic. If you have never heard of the podcast but like zany and over the top (but tasteful) comedy than you will like this book. It is a fun read and it is going to a fun ride with this bunch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Warhammer 40,000: Marneus Calgar (2020) #1

Oct 14, 2020

Im ecstatic that Warhammer has come to Marvel. Warhammer has fantastic lore that is loved by millions the world over. This first issue in this mini-series is a fabulous start to what I hope is the start of many more series to come. Space Marines, Chaos Daemons, Nekrons, Orcs, there is so much more to get into that I really hope Marvel dives into the vast pool that is Warhammer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Warhammer 40,000: Sisters of Battle (2021) #1

Aug 19, 2021

Warhammer, whether Fantasy or 40K, can be overwhelming in choosing where to start. Marvel can milk the Warhammer for years and keep readers happy. What has been refreshing in Marvels approach is that they have assembled teams that work extremely well with each other, producing two outstanding stories that ease new readers in. When I heard of the Sisters of Battle series coming out, I was so stoked because I love Warhammer, and I loved this book. Even if you are not familiar with the Sisters of Battle, I urge you to go and check this book out. Its great sci-fi, and every page is filled with phenomenal writing and art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Web Of Venom: Wraith #1

Sep 10, 2020

The cool thing about Web of Venom: Wraith #1 is there is so much to grab on to. Sci-fi, horror, a loner looking for revenge, intriguing mystery. When you package all of these up you get a pretty rad story that is worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Wolverine (2020) #6

Oct 7, 2020

I am enjoying Benjamin Percy on Wolverine, I guess it helps that I quite enjoy both, but I digress. Issue #6 really does a great job of capturing Logan in his best form. We see him stand up to Krakoa, get a trip through his mind, see his determination on display. Now there were times that the book felt cramped on the pages but as I said previously, that probably lies more with me. Introducing a new character, especially a villain is always exciting and Solem definitely has a creepiness to him that I cannot wait to see how he plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wonder Woman (2016) #770

Mar 9, 2021

In keeping this review spoiler-free I can only say so much. The more I read this book the more I come to the realization that even if this wasnt a spoiler-free review I would still not include spoilers just because this book deserves better treatment than that. It deserves the readers full attention and it deserves to bask in its glory when the reader falls in love with the contents.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Wonder Woman (2016) #774

Jun 24, 2021

I love Greek mythology and I love Wonder Woman so Im in resting easy in the Elysian Fields with this current run on Wonder Woman. Who knows when she will get this whole afterlife thing settled and Im ok with that because we are getting some of the best Wonder Woman weve seen in a very long time. Writing, art, ink, lettering, the whole package is absolutely well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wonder Woman: Agent of Peace (2020) #1

Apr 30, 2020

Wonder Woman + Harley Quinn + Amanda Connor + Jimmy Palmiotti = One hell of a fun read, and an all-around good time. Wonder Woman, along with this creative team was just super fun and I can't recommend this book enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Wonder Woman: Agent of Peace (2020) #2

May 20, 2020

There is a lot going on with Wonder Woman: Agent of Peace #2. We see a great pairing with Wonder Woman and Lois, great environment art, and the uneasiness of everyone is in danger with great fluid movement in the story. Seeing Lois handle herself with such grace in the face of danger was fantastic. This was a great story, plain and simple.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Wonder Woman: Agent of Peace (2020) #3

May 27, 2020

Wonder Woman: Agent of Peace is a fun series that keeps delivering stories that differ from one another without going too far off-grid. "Planned Extinction" is a lot of fun while delivering a great heartfelt message without being drawn-out with unneeded seriousness.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Year Zero #1

May 26, 2020

Year Zero is such a phenomenal book with a creative team that is top-notch. The simple fact that we get five characters dealing with life in their own way and carrying on and not the same old paint-by-numbers zombie horror book is fabulous. Ben Percy has such a great knack for storytelling and Year Zero is just another example of his talent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Year Zero #2

Jun 27, 2020

Year Zero is a super solid zombie book. With Percy's words along with Rosanas and Loughridge artistic take on his words, this book stands out on its own and demands to be noticed and taken seriously among all the other zombie stories. There are very few creative teams that feel as in sync as this team does. The only downside to Year Zero is that it's not an ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

More