Nathan Koffler's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 186
8.7Avg. Review Rating

7.0
30 Days of Night (2017) #1

Dec 20, 2017

Maybe bigger fans of the 30 Days of Night franchise will enjoy this issue and get them excited for what is to come. It's a short introduction into a new series that will be full of excitement later. This issue is worth reading for Niles' writing and Kowalski's artwork alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Adventure Time #71

Dec 7, 2017

Like all Adventure Time comics, the adventure is fun, the writing is silly, the problems are interesting but predictable, and the art is strange. Would anyone who isn't a fan of the show or a fan of crossover comics enjoy these? Maybe, but probably not. But for fans of the show and the characters, there is enough in this issue to satisfy your adventurous needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Adventure Time #72

Jan 3, 2018

The team of Cannon and McCormick together has proven to produce fantastic comics and you can experience that when you read this issue. The humor and story is great for both kids and adults and reading it is just purely entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventure Time #73

Feb 7, 2018

I highly recommend that if you even remotely enjoy the Adventure Time TV show to pick up the four issues of this arc and I am sure you will love them all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Adventure Time #74

Mar 8, 2018

The story is fresh, the dialogue is funny, the artwork is beautiful, and when there is color, the colors are amazing. This team took a fun idea and executed it really well. This comic is a enjoyable, easy read, and I'd recommend anyone to pick up a copy for a few minutes of adventure and some really neat artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Adventure Time Comics #19

Jan 17, 2018

Overall, the majority of this issue is given to an uninteresting story which unfortunately makes most of the issue unenjoyable. The last two very short stories aren't amazing enough to make the issue a great read. If you're a die-hard Adventure Time fan, the issue may be worth picking up for the artwork itself, especially in the last story. But if you are a casual reader who usually enjoys Adventure Time and anthology comic books, go ahead and pass this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amory Wars, The: Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star IV #1

Jan 31, 2018

It feels classic while still feeling fresh, which could not have been an easy job for this incredible team.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Archie and Friends Digital Digest #3

Apr 12, 2018

There isn't really anything in this little comic book that is worth going out your way to read. But, if you have devoured the other digests and need a tiny bit more, sure, this digital short digest is there for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blossoms 666 #1

Jan 23, 2019

Blossoms: 666 #1 is a sinister and captivating debut to what is sure to be another fantastic Archie Horror series. The issue's story, characters, dialogue, and artwork are all exceptional. There isn't a single weak thing about this first issue and that makes me very excited to get my hands on more of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blossoms 666 #2

Mar 6, 2019

Cullen Bunn has written an amazing issue that is full of tension, drama, and wickedness with characters that are sexy, intimidating, and menacing. Laura Braga illustrated that tension, drama, and wickedness beautifully and did an exceptional job at turning those sexy, intimidating, and menacing characters into visuals for us to fall in love with. This slow-burn horror series is exactly what the Blossoms needed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blossoms 666 #3

Apr 17, 2019

Blossoms: 666 #3 may not pack the punch that the first two issues did, but it prepares us for what is to come, and the future looks pretty intense. It's not a mind-blowing issue, but it's an enjoyable one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #1

Jan 23, 2019

Boom! Studios has hit a homerun by rebooting a Buffy the Vampire Slayer comic book series and executing it perfectly. This first issue is thrilling and humorous and is guaranteed to make some old Buffy fans happy while also collecting some new ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #2

Mar 6, 2019

Buffy the Vampire Slayer #2 keep the momentum going by presenting an issue that excels in both quality and quantity. The series has started strong and based on the impression that this second issue gives, the series is going to continue to be exciting, dramatic, and spooky. What more could you possibly want from a Buffy the Vampire Slayer comic book?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #7

Aug 7, 2019

Bellaire's excellent writing mixes with Milledge's wonderful guest artwork to create another great issue of a series that has remained entertaining from the start. The storytelling is definitely exciting, but Milledge is the hero of the week as her illustrations contributed to the day being saved.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bully Wars #1

Sep 5, 2018

Bully Wars have started very strong and I hope that it can continue with this momentum because I am in love with this series already. I didn’t realize how much I missed gross and obnoxious illustrated media until I opened up this first issue. It's simple and hilarious while also being remarkable and extraordinary and I cannot wait to get the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bully Wars #2

Oct 10, 2018

This second issue of Bully Wars is an extraordinarily good time from start to finish. The writing and artwork are each perfectly bizarre enough to make this a great all-ages comic book. It is full of humor and imagination which makes it one of the most entertaining current series from Image Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bully Wars #3

Nov 7, 2018

So for the third time, I am enamored with this hilarious and bizarre series. This third issue pushes the story forward slightly but is building my excitement for the Bully Wars. The writing and artwork are just as good as they were in the first issue and I imagine it will continue to be this fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bully Wars #4

Dec 5, 2018

Bully Wars #4 is another lively and hysterical issue that will surely be just what anyone who has been keeping up with the series would have wanted from the actual Bully Wars event. Everything that was loved about the previous issues shines in this fourth issue making it one of the best of the series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Burnouts #1

Sep 19, 2018

Overall, Burnouts #1 is pretty mediocre and doesn’t break any new ground. Though unoriginality doesn’t necessarily make or break an issue for me, the writing just isn’t amazing enough to make the story as interesting as it has potential to be. The issue as a whole had some great qualities but also fell flat in a lot of areas. These faults were enough to make the issue kind of bland and unexciting. A pretty unoriginal idea like this can absolutely work with the right writing, but as of now, I’m not sure that this team is going to be able to pull it off.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Cemetery Beach #1

Sep 12, 2018

Overall, there just isn’t a whole lot here in this first issue of Cemetery Beach and that is a pretty big disappointment. Warren Ellis’ story for the rest of this series may be amazing, but we got pretty much none of it in this issue. All we know so far is that a big buff hero is attempting to escape people with guns and flying droids and that pretty much sums the whole thing up. Jason Howard’s artwork is beautiful as expected, but his art can only carry a story so much. I will see if the rest of the series unfolds to reveal the great storytelling that I know and expect from Ellis, but at the moment, this issue is a dud for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Coffin Bound #1

Aug 7, 2019

Coffin Bound reminds me of many Image Comics titles from the last decade but not in a way that makes it feel classic. Instead, it seems incredibly derivative with a hodge-podge of worn-out tropes. It tries very hard to be dark, weird, and exciting, but falls short and just feels like a labored and failed attempt. It is entirely possible the rest of the series will be at least somewhat entertaining, but this first issue doesn't make me too hopeful.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cold Spots #1

Aug 22, 2018

There is a lot to love about this first issue of Cold Spots and it is obvious that this story is going to contain a lot of emotion. This issue is very bleak but in a very beautiful way. Mark Torres has used his art to create some sinister images and his colors to create a very dark atmosphere. Cullen Bunn’s storytelling is chilling and exciting and is perfectly complemented by Torres’ artwork. This is a great first issue of new horror series that I am now extremely excited about.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cold Spots #2

Sep 26, 2018

Cullen Bunn and Mark Torres have delivered another amazing horror comic book issue with a dark story that is full of depth. The story continues to become more interesting with every little bit that Bunn reveals and it hasn’t lacked momentum yet. This second issue is a very entertaining follow up to a fantastic debut issue and I am overly eager for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Come Into Me #3

Sep 5, 2018

This series should be getting much more recognition because it really is a solid and unique body horror comic book series that is both written and illustrated extremely well. This third issue impressed me so much and I am really interested to see if the next issue can achieve the same thing. I was enthralled through the entire issue and I really believe that other readers will be too. Horror fans will absolutely enjoy it and I will be recommending it for a very long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cosmo #1

Jan 3, 2018

It will be fun to see what Archie Comics goes on to do with these new characters and if the audience will be loyal as the series goes on. I don't know that any of the characters have potential to become an Archie Comics staple like many other beloved characters. Time will tell, but until then, Cosmo is a series to be aware of and to be read if you want some quick, delightful comic book reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cosmo #2

Feb 7, 2018

Overall, this issue a great follow up to the debut issue and definitely added a lot more excitement. This issue made it clear that this team knows what they are doing and what they want to achieve going forward. They are succeeding already in creating a hilarious and adventurous comic book that an audience of all ages will definitely enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cosmo #5

May 23, 2018

I honestly want to write more about this issue but I really just don’t think that there is enough here to do so. The story doesn’t move much at all and the rest of the issue feels forced in an attempt to get this scene of Cosmo in a video game done. I have not lost hope at all though because the series has been great so far and I’m sure there will be more of those amazing issues that I have come to expect from this very talented team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Criminal (2019) #2

Feb 13, 2019

Despite what you expected from this second issue of Criminal, you won't finish the issue disappointed because the entire team that worked on this comic book excel at delivering a compelling and beautifully bleak story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Criminal (2019) #3

Mar 23, 2019

This issue is fantastic from beginning to end. There is not a single thing that is lacking in the storytelling or the artwork. Criminal (2019) #3 serves as another perfect entry to a rebooted series that has so far also been flawless.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Criminal (2019) #4

Apr 24, 2019

The storytelling is set at the perfect pace and the artwork sets the perfect tone. This fourth issue is dark, depressing, and exciting, yet there is something extremely beautiful about all of it as well. This team knows how to execute this flawlessly and lucky for us, we get to experience this magic every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Days of Hate #1

Jan 17, 2018

This first issue has some things well-done, but doesn't give us a lot to be entertained by. I will read the next issue and see where they decide to go with the story, but I'm not anticipating it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Days of Hate #2

Feb 28, 2018

I am not afraid of the content or the ideas they are getting across in this issue and series, I just simply don't really like it. I know that this is right up the alley for a lot of people, but I don't see myself jumping at a chance to read the rest of the series or recommending it to anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadlife #1

Jul 18, 2018

To be frank, this issue has no character development or plot necessarily. This doesn’t bother me though because the entire book is action-packed enough that I just kept wanting to watch more zombies be killed. To add to that, the zombies are illustrated amazingly scary, mainly because of their large dark and empty eyes. The story may simply be a dad losing his family to zombies and then trying to navigate through the zombie apocalypse like every other zombie story, but the blood and the guts make it worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Death Orb #1

Oct 4, 2018

Death Orb has potential to continue to make this story it's very own and keeping us all wanting answers with every issue and I hope that that is what happens. So far, I am invested and curious enough about the details of this story that I am willing to put up with a pretty unoriginal dystopian world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Disney Comics & Stories #1

Sep 26, 2018

Disney Comics and Stories is one of the most charming and entertaining issues to be released this week. Both stories are well written and beautifully illustrated which makes this issue a fantastic comic book to easily sit back and read for some heartwarming stories featuring several beloved characters. There is a lot of quality content within this issue and it is easily worth the money and time that you will spend with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dissonance #1

Jan 24, 2018

Overall, the story is engaging, the dialogue is smooth, and the artwork is beautiful. There really isn't much more you could want in a comic book. Plus, the story and artwork really are a great and original fit in the sci-fi genre, which makes the issue even stronger. I'm definitely excited to see where this series goes and this first issue did the job or reeling me in and bringing me along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ducktales #4

Dec 13, 2017

The team of writers and artists should be very proud of another issue well done. They, once again, made such an enjoyable issue for these beloved Ducktales characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ducktales #5

Jan 24, 2018

I'm very glad that DuckTales is back and that they have started this series, which is bringing me a lot of entertainment every month. The series is a great way to bring people my age nostalgia and younger generations a new love for DuckTales. This issue is another fun comic book full of adventure and comedy that makes for a great comic book reading experience and is a great addition to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ducktales #6

Feb 28, 2018

Overall, the whole issue is amazing and is entertaining from start to finish. The story, the dialogue, and the artwork all come together to create a comic book that is enjoyable for all-ages. I recommend grabbing this issue to any comic book readers because I am sure that it will be loved by all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ducktales #7

Mar 16, 2018

The whole issue is an easy and comfortable read and perfect for comic book readers of all ages. The writing and artwork throughout the issue is great as usual. Anyone who enjoys anthology comic books with silly yet fun stories will absolutey enjoy this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ducktales #8

Apr 12, 2018

Finally, in eight issues, this series has released an issue that I didn't absolutely love. This issue wasn't fresh or funny enough to excite me like the previous issues did. I have really enjoyed every issue before this issue and will continue to read it as I know that this team can put together amazing and hilarious stories. This was a miss out of a lot of hits, which is disappointing, but I am confident it will be redeemed next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ducktales #11

Aug 24, 2018

Overall, this issue is good and is definitely worth a read for those who have been keeping up with the series. I was a little disappointed because I feel like both of the stories in the issue had potential to be funnier or more interesting as these issues usually are. But as a whole, I found the issue entertaining and it did satisfy my monthly need for some DuckTales comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ducktales #16

Jan 9, 2019

DuckTales #16 has everything current fans of DuckTales will want and has plenty for older DuckTales fans to enjoy as well. The issue is fun and hilarious and it's artwork is gorgeous and crisp as usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Empowered & Sistah Spooky #1

Dec 21, 2017

The first issue of this miniseries, High School Hell, has already got me excited for the next five issues that are to follow. Any fans of Empowered comics in the past should definitely pick this one up. Any fans who are completely new to Empowered comics should also definitely pick this issue up and then go back and check out some of the amazing comics that have come out of this universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Empowered & Sistah Spooky #2

Jan 24, 2018

Once again, Empowered fans will love this issue and new fans will love this issue along with the first as well. I think that this series will create a lot more Empowered fans and send a lot of people going back and picking up the original Empowered books.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Empowered & Sistah Spooky #3

Feb 21, 2018

This mini-series has been great and this issue pushes that greatness forward while also moving us forward in the story. Everything about this issue is fun, from the story and dialogue to the artwork. I highly recommend anyone picking this issue up, along with the first two, and giving it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Empowered & Sistah Spooky #4

Apr 19, 2018

Once again, Adam Warren has succeeded by making a very entertaining issue of a spin-off mini-series. That success is also extremely helped by Carla Speed McNeil's ability to perfectly illustrate the fun stories Warren comes up with. The whole issue is a wild enjoyable ride that I absolutely loved.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Empowered & Sistah Spooky #6

Oct 17, 2018

Adam Warren wraps up this mini-series with another fantastic entry to this peculiar and exciting story. This final issue has everything that made the previous ones so great: drama, violence, and plenty of emotional battles. Everything about this issue has a beautiful sense of finality to it that helps make this a perfect last issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Exorsisters #1

Oct 16, 2018

Exorsisters is a series that will have me looking forward to the next issue every month so that I can enjoy Cate and Kate's bizarre adventures and humor again. The writing and artwork are simply beautiful, hilarious, and strange even if it's formula isn't necessarily new. Everything else about the series is imaginative and entertaining and it's spooky subject matter make it especially fitting for it's October release.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Exorsisters #2

Nov 26, 2018

This second issue of Exorsisters adds a layer of drama that I wasn't expecting after reading and loving the first issue. Boothby had me interested with the more basic storyline that we got from the first issue, but now he has me absolutely enthralled with the story that is about to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Exorsisters #3

Dec 19, 2018

Exorsisters continues to give me what I don't expect from it while also giving me everything that I want. Exorsisters #3 is a great example of this by being a satisfying look into Cate's past and a perfect setup to something exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Exorsisters #4

Jan 23, 2019

Exorsisters #4 may not have the sleekness that I thought the previous three issues had, but it remains a great story with a lot of wittiness, imagination, and originality. Despite not being as enthralled as I was at the beginning of this series, this fourth issue establishes important plot points and does so with entertaining storytelling and marvelous artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Garfield: Vacation Time Blues #1

May 16, 2018

Old fans of Garfield and new ones will definitely enjoy this Vacation Time Blues special. Its is packed with humor that is appropriate for all ages that is sure to create some new fans of Garfield. This special is a great easy read that would be perfect to take with you on any vacations you have planned this summer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ghosted in L.A. #2

Aug 13, 2019

The appearance of these tropes in this second issue left me a little disappointed after such a strong first issue. However, the humor is still there, the entertaining drama is still there, the beautiful visuals are still there, and I’m still really enjoying it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Giants #1

Dec 18, 2017

This whole first issue didn't establish enough to make me that interested in continuing to read this series. It didn't make me fall in love with the two teenage characters, it didn't make me think either of the gangs were cool enough to read on to find out which is victorious, and I know nothing about the giants or the collapse of their city, but there was not enough to make me interested to find that information. But like I said in the beginning, it definitely has potential because Carlos and Miguel Valderrama's art is very well done. Hopefully, this series will pick up and find a better tempo.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Go West #1

Jan 17, 2018

Overall, this is good comic book that is exciting and violent while also being dramatic. This first issue is a fun read and may really draw some people into the series especially if you like violent comic book westerns.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goosebumps: Download & Die! #1

Mar 28, 2018

Overall, this first issue of Download or Die! is a really entertaining comic book that I imagine a lot of people will enjoy. The storytelling is amazing and it keeps you engaged the entire time. The artwork is pretty ordinary but it doesn't take anything away from the story. It may seem like it is guided more toward the younger audience, but don't let that fool you. This issue can be enjoyed by comic book readers of all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goosebumps: Download & Die! #2

Apr 11, 2018

This issue revealed to me that this isn't a generic media tie-in comic book series. This team came to amaze us and it has officially amazed me. It is full of drama, horror, and sadness which makes an incredible all-ages horror comic book. Everything in this issue is written and illustrated beautifully. I was entertained from the first page to the last and I think that you will be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goosebumps: Download & Die! #3

May 16, 2018

Even though I really want more of this story and these characters, I have to admit that this is a great final issue to this mini-series. One of the best things about this issue and this series as a whole is that it is really fresh and nothing feels forced. The whole story is enjoyable and it wraps up really nicely in this thrilling third issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House #1

May 1, 2019

Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House #1 is a wonderful introduction to what seems to be another great IDW Goosebumps comic book series. This first issue is very entertaining and very compelling and made complete by the talented team that put it together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Goosebumps: Monsters At Midnight #3

Feb 14, 2018

As I believe the early Goosebumps books and TV show were great introductions to horror for me as a young child, I believe that these comic books can easily do that for kids of the younger generation that may have not had an older sibling or something to lend them some hand-me-down Goosebump books. It has all of the elements you want in kid-friendly horror media: adventure, scary characters, situations that may seem hopeless, and main characters who are strong enough to escape any trouble they find themselves in. I enjoyed this third issue quite a bit and I think a lot of people old and young will enjoy it as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hashtag Danger #1

May 1, 2019

Hashtag: Danger #1 is great AHOY comics series that has everything that made the first few AHOY Comics so enjoyable. The content isn't just high in quantity, but it's all high quality content as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Hey Kids! Comics! #1

Aug 8, 2018

All in all, this first issue didn’t capture me in the slightest and I doubt that I will give its next issue a chance. I didn’t hate it but I definitely didn’t like and that made it feel like a chore to read. Between the harsh dialogue, uninviting artwork, and bland storytelling, I personally didn’t find anything in this issue that would inspire me to regard this as a great comic book and I definitely didn’t find a reason to continue reading the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House Amok #1

Aug 29, 2018

This first issue of House Amok is strong and full of content that is beautiful and captivating. The story and the artwork are both very original and they work together to produce a creepy and exciting debut issue. I am eager to see where this team takes this series because I believe that this solid first issue is a sign that it is going to stay this entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
House Amok #2

Oct 3, 2018

It feels like there is still so much depth to this story and these characters and I am very anxious to get to the bottom of it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House Amok #3

Nov 28, 2018

House Amok adds another entry into it's extraordinary story with a third issue that is full of action and horror. This issue does a fantastic job of accelerating the story to a speed that has made it even more exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House Amok #4

Jan 9, 2019

I am still heavily invested in this story and this fourth issue gives me enough to anxiously want more. This issue continues to tell an interesting story amazingly with exceptional writing and gorgeous artwork. House Amok #4 is a perfect lead up to a conclusion that is sure to be remarkable.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #1

Jan 17, 2018

I didn't know about this series until last week, and I decided to read it on a whim. I am convinced it was one of the best comic book decisions I have made. This issue is incredibly entertaining and is the perfect start to what is sure to be a fantastic series as it continues. I am dying for more already and I'm sure you will be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #2

Feb 21, 2018

I was very excited for the second issue after reading and loving the first, and this team has absolutely delivered. It captures the unnerving feeling of the first while also being different. This whole team is very talented and I'm once again very excited for the next issue because this issue was absolutely fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #3

Mar 21, 2018

Ice Cream Man should be a must-read series and I will sing its praises to any comic book fan that I know. This issue is the gloomy comic book you expect along with the ridiculousness that you don't. It's a highlight of my month to read these issues, and so far, I'm not even close to disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #4

Apr 25, 2018

Ice Cream Man #4 should be read immediately by anyone reading this. It is the most fun you’ll have reading a comic book that is also making you depressed and kind of scared. This team has taken so many terribly real things about life and artistically created a comic book of them so that we can see these nightmares outside of our minds. This fourth issue is another perfect comic book to add to the first three.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #5

Jul 18, 2018

This series never fails to impress me and this fifth issue did its job yet again. This team has created a fascinating and creepy comic book full of creativity that is destined to take you out of your own world for a little bit while you read it. It will suck you in and leave your brain confused and satisfied at the same time. Between Prince’s writing and Morazzo and O’Halloran’s visuals, this issue reveals how comic books are one of the most powerful forms of art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #6

Aug 15, 2018

Ice Cream Man #6 is another bizarre issue that is also strangely beautiful in every way. W. Maxwell Prince has created a unique comic book and Martin Morazzo and Chris O’Halloran have contributed majorly to its success. This sixth issue is somber and scary and yet is incredibly fun to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ice Cream Man #7

Sep 19, 2018

I hate that I was not impressed with this month’s issue of Ice Cream Man but I know that this isn’t the norm. This issue’s storytelling and dialogue definitely felt forced which caused the issue as a whole to suffer. The style is still there and it can still be enjoyed, especially if you have been reading the series up until this point. But this seventh issue won’t have the same effect on you which is quite disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #8

Oct 31, 2018

If you have enjoyed anything about this series up until this point, you'll love this issue and it's violent delivery of distressing content

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #9

Jan 30, 2019

Ice Cream Man #9 keeps the spirit of the series alive with an issue that continues its ability to make a comic book somehow both absolutely stunning and incredibly distressing. Its return is as entertaining and unusual as I expected and wanted it to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #10

Feb 27, 2019

Ice Cream Man #10 keeps the series moving along as one of the most unique current series. This series has a tendency to not really ever let you in on the secret of where it is going and that makes every issue enjoyable. Without relying on a set formula, this tenth issue is as fascinating and exciting as all of the previous ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ice Cream Man #11

Mar 27, 2019

While the slightly overdone commentary on modern reality TV was a little unsatisfying, the issue as a whole had a lot of imagination and horror. Regardless of how I felt about the issue's tired criticism of society, everything I've loved about previous issues of Ice Cream Man are here as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #12

May 8, 2019

Ice Cream Man #12 is everything I want from the series. Both the writing and the artwork come together to create a shocking and menacing issue that beautifully keeps the momentum of the series moving along quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Jeepers Creepers #1

Apr 25, 2018

Overall, there isn’t much to this first issue to love but there isn’t much to hate either. It is also hard to tell if this will get better or worse as time goes on. I enjoy the small amount of scenes with the Creeper in this issue but am a little bored with the rest of it. The team working on this series has the talent to make a great comic book, but I’m not sure if the subject matter is still interesting enough for a whole comic book series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jeepers Creepers #4

Aug 16, 2018

This fourth issue isn’t great but it isn’t terrible and is worth a read for horror comic book fans and fans of the Jeepers Creepers franchise. It isn’t going to blow anyone away but it will be a slightly fun little 22-page read and will set you up for what is going to happen next. I may not always be impressed with this series, but there is enough in each issue to make me not give up on it and this fourth issue gives me the little bit I need to stick with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jeepers Creepers #5

Sep 19, 2018

This issue is a pretty great way to end a series that has been kind of mediocre at times. I really wish that this action-packed climax was longer but I enjoyed the bleak ending and think that it is a solid finale. I doubt that we will be regarding this series as a classic in the future, but this fifth issue is gory and energetic enough to provide some fun horror entertainment for the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jem and the Holograms: Dimensions #1

Dec 7, 2017

Altogether, this issue will be loved by fans of Jem and Holograms because it offers so much: interesting artwork, great writing for all of the characters, and of course, fun outfits. Even if a reader hasn’t read Jem and Holograms comics before, this anthology issue is great to just pick up and read for some fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jem and the Holograms: Dimensions #2

Dec 28, 2017

Overall, this comic is a must read for Jem fans, fans of comic anthology series, or anyone even kind of interested in getting into the Jem universe. You can pick this issue up and be introduced to all of the characters and not feel lost, which will help you go back to the other amazing Jem series a little ahead of the game. The stories are great, packed with funny and sweet dialogue, gorgeous artwork, and great messages.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jem and the Holograms: Dimensions #3

Feb 7, 2018

Jem and the Holograms: Dimensions is close to a perfect series so far and I really can only see it getting even stronger. I'm literally excited every month to see who is going to a part of the team of the next issue and what they are going to bring to the table. This issue is another amazing issue by a group of talented people all around who worked together to deliver an amazing addition to the Jem comic book universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jem and the Holograms: Dimensions #4

Mar 7, 2018

I'm sad to see this series end but I am very glad that we got these four issues. As sad as it is when anything this good comes to a close, we can always look at the bright side. That bright side for me is now knowing all of these different writers and artists that were assigned stories in these four issues. I would not have known about most of them if it wasn't for their incredible work in one of these issues

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jim Henson's Fraggle Rock #1

May 9, 2018

This first issue of four is a delightful read for new fans and old. Jared Cullum's watercolor illustrations make this book a book of art as much as a comic book. Everything about the artwork is beautiful and it helps us to understand the encouraging message of the story. This issue is a homerun for the series and I am very excited to see what Cullum has in store in the next three issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jim Henson's Fraggle Rock #3

Jul 18, 2018

This issue is another great comic book for children with a fun and charming lesson accompanied by some bright and elegant artwork. It can definitely be enjoyed by all ages but is absolutely designed for children. I really believe that children will adore this issue and its characters which will introduce them to this amazing world that was most likely a major part of their parents’ childhood.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Fairies #1

Dec 21, 2017

The issue is enjoyable but it is not breaking any new ground. The art style fits the story well and the story is good for a quick read if you like Archaia's Jim Henson's Storytellers series. Also, if you were a fan of Jim Henson's Storyteller TV snow, this issue will definitely give you some nostalgia. Overall, I liked this issue, but I don't know that I'll be actively searching out the rest of the miniseries, but would definitely read them if I stumbled across them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Joe Golem: Occult Detective: Flesh and Blood #1

Dec 22, 2017

They even do a good job at welcoming any new fans of Joe Golem by not leaving us with too many unanswered questions. Sure, if you'd like to know a little more, you can go back and find the information in the previous Joe Golem books. But if you are picking up here, then you will enjoy the new ride you just entered, so buckle up, because it is probably going to get weird.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Joe Golem: Occult Detective: Flesh and Blood #2

Jan 31, 2018

I finished the first issue excited and curious about what was going to happen in this one and I'm very pleased to see that it delivered. If this series continues to provide issues that interestingly wrap up events from the previous issue while also establishing an exciting current issue and constructing anticipation for the next one, then this series will continue to be successful and I will continue to sing its praises.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jook Joint #1

Oct 3, 2018

This debut issue crams a whole lot of emotion, action, and blood in it's 27 pages and every bit of it is well written and beautiful illustrated and colored. If the entire series is as good as this first issue, we will be talking about it for a very long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jook Joint #2

Nov 14, 2018

Jook Joint's second issue is a gorgeous, haunting piece of artwork that displays some horrifying truth and some terrifying fiction. The storytelling and artwork beautifully create what may be the most thrilling and unique issue of the week. This second issue affirms that this series will most likely go on to become a classic that will be admired for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Judas #1

Dec 19, 2017

I am pretty sure that every issue going forward is going to be an interesting read. The story they are telling and the way they are telling it is unique and done well enough that this series has potential to be an absolute hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Judas #2

Jan 10, 2018

Boom! Studios made a wonderful decision when they greenlit this series because we are seeing some incredible writing and artwork from a team that has something to prove. This issue is such a great read and really, anyone and everyone should pick up these first two issues and give them a read. If this series does not blow up, I will be thoroughly surprised because there is so much hidden talent in these first two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Judas #3

Feb 14, 2018

I will go ahead and call this series and this issue perfect because I very much love and appreciate everything done in every single aspect. I truly believe that you are missing an important comic book reading experience by not checking it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Judas #4

Mar 14, 2018

The series has been a wild ride and it concludes with this issue, turning that wild ride into an emotional roller coaster. There isn't anything more I would have wanted out of this final issue. This is another perfect issue in a perfect series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead: The Hunger (2017) #2

Dec 13, 2017

This issue is a wonderful addition to what the one shot and the first issue established. It continued the story in an exciting way and added more drama and action to the story. Archie horror has done it once again and every comic fan should be reading this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead: The Hunger (2017) #3

Jan 24, 2018

This issue is an amazing follow up to the last issue and a perfect teaser for the next issue, which is sure to be full of action and violence. This series has taken our favorite beloved residents of Riverdale and is showing them in this dark and horrific story. For this to be done right, you need the right team of writers and artists, and that right team is Frank Tieri, Pat and Tim Kennedy, and Joe Eisma. Do yourself a favor and see what I mean by picking up this incredible third issue along with the first two and you will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead: The Hunger (2017) #4

Mar 7, 2018

To no surprise to me, this issue is another perfect comic book issue that exceeds all of my expectations. There isn't one single thing lacking in this issue. Instead, there is plenty of dazzling substance that makes every second of reading it a real pleasure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead: The Hunger (2017) #5

Apr 18, 2018

This issue is is amazing and there is nothing bad I could possibly say about it. I love the drama, I love the horror, I love the how beautiful the artwork is. Every little detail by every member of this team has wonderfully combined to make a great piece of artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead: The Hunger (2017) #7

Jul 18, 2018

It is safe to say that this seventh issue of Jughead: The Hunger is another amazing entry in this great Archie Horror series. Both the storytelling and the artwork are effective and powerful and really culminate into a perfect issue of a horror comic book. This issue is the climax of the first part of this captivating story and it fulfills every need that I had going into it while also stirring up excitement for more of what this series has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead: The Hunger (2017) #8

Aug 22, 2018

Overall, I love every bit of this eighth issue just like I did the previous seven. Everything I like about this series is here in this issue and this team is still finding creative ways to keep the story fresh. This issue has gore and drama and those are the two things that I believe that this series has embraced the most. Every aspect of this issue is just excellent from the chilling storytelling to the horrifying yet gorgeous artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead: The Hunger (2017) #9

Oct 10, 2018

Jughead: The Hunger remains one of the best horror series of the last couple of years and seems to have no plans on stopping.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead: The Hunger (2017) #10

Nov 21, 2018

Jughead: The Hunger #10 is another exciting issue with incredible storytelling and haunting artwork. This issue helps us see what monster stories are supposed to look like by adding plenty of suspense, drama, and violence.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead: The Hunger (2017) #11

Jan 2, 2019

Jughead: The Hunger #11 fulfills my own hunger for more of this story and Frank Tieri's take on these characters by delivering a visually beautiful issue that both excites and stirs emotions.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead: The Hunger (2017) #13

Mar 27, 2019

Jughead: The Hunger #13 keeps the series' momentum going while also speeding us up towards more exhilarating horror and action. The storytelling and artwork are as strong as ever in this issue which keeps Jughead: The Hunger's spot as one of the best current horror comic book series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jughead: The Hunger vs. Vampironica #1

Apr 24, 2019

Jughead: The Hunger vs. Vampironica #1 isn't the powerhouse that I desired, but there is promise for something great in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Koshchei the Deathless #1

Jan 3, 2018

Fans of Hellboy and those who aren't can very much enjoy this first issue within this miniseries. It establishes a great story, intriguing characters, and a dark tone that will leave you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mars Attacks (2018) #1

Oct 24, 2018

This first issue is absolutely entertaining and if this team can continue what they have done here, then this series will be a success. In a small amount of pages, this issue captures the strangeness and the humor that I expected from a Mars Attacks comic book series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Mary Shelley: Monster Hunter #1

Apr 17, 2019

Mary Shelley: Monster Hunter #1 is sadly a dull debut to what should have been an exciting start to a new horror series. The disappointment that this issue contains is enough to make me question if I'll continue with any other issues from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mickey and Donald: Christmas Parade #3

Dec 28, 2017

Everything about this one-shot is perfect amazing and full of nostalgia. Disney comics are one of my favorite books to read and this one-shot easily is one of the best I've read. The stories are full of heart and adventure and displays my favorite Disney characters in a fun and classic style.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Moth & Whisper #1

Sep 13, 2018

Like I said, the story isn’t the most original one and the writing isn’t groundbreaking but the main character is intriguing, the action is really fun, and the mystery is exciting. These things allow me to overlook the simple concept because now I just see this as a solid and entertaining first issue as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Murder Falcon #1

Oct 10, 2018

Murder Falcon will be a series I will look forward to enjoying every month from now on. The story will pull you into it's exciting and entertaining world and you'll enjoy every minute of it. This is the story that we need in the world right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Murder Falcon #2

Nov 14, 2018

Murder Falcon #2 is a wild ride that perfectly adds to the entertaining story that the first issue set up. The issue has everything that made the first issue great with an added depth that pulls us deeper into this tale of heavy metal and heroism.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Murder Falcon #5

Feb 13, 2019

Murder Falcon #5 is a wild ride and an unveiling of so much more that Daniel Warren Johnson seems to have up his sleeve. It's absolutely exciting to watch this story unfold and as long it continues to be this good, it will remain one of my favorite current series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Murder Falcon #7

Apr 10, 2019

There's no denying that Murder Falcon #7 keeps the series' momentum going by delivering an amazing heroic story full of creativity and beauty. This seventh issue is badass and charming and perfectly sets up the series' finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
PumpkinHead #1

Feb 27, 2018

Overall, my high expectations were not met, but I'm not completely deflated. I have hope that even starting in the next issue, that I will be much more engaged and entertained. Pumpkinhead has a lot of potential, so I would love to see this team take this legend and make the comic book tie-in that this franchise deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
PumpkinHead #3

May 14, 2018

Between the writing and the artwork, this issue comes together to be an exciting ride that leaves me wanting more as soon as possible. I always enjoy a comic book issue that is so good that I’m angry that I have to wait a month to get the next one, and this issue is one of those comic books. Horror comic books can be really hit and miss and I think that this is a hit especially because of this issue’s creativity.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punk Mambo #1

Apr 24, 2019

The excitement that I felt for this new series has been reinforced by an excellent debut issue by a very talented group of people. After a captivating first issue, I'm thrilled for more of what this new series has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rugrats: R is for Reptar 2018 Special #1

Apr 7, 2018

This issue's story is entertaining and the artwork is neat, so it definitely isn't a bad comic book at all. It still isn't my ideal portrayal of Rugrats in a comic book, but I still had fun reading it and would recommend it to other Rugrats fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rumble (2017) #1

Dec 19, 2017

I can definitely tell that the series is going to be good and I will be following as it continues. The story may feel packed in this issue but through that, it shows that they if you just get to the next issue, it will be worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rumble (2017) #2

Jan 17, 2018

I could tell that there is a lot of great in this series from the first issue and I am already convinced I have found that greatness. This issue is still not that clear for a new reader, and I don't know if that is what Arcudi even wants, but it is still great and I am wanting to join the group of people who know and love Rumble.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rumble (2017) #3

Feb 14, 2018

John Arcudi stays very true to the universe he created from the very beginning and has taken these characters through a lot and we've gotten to be a part of all of it. I enjoyed this issue even more than the first two because this one feels like it is now pushing the story forward in major ways, but definitely without rushing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Second Coming #2

Aug 19, 2019

With serious themes and a humorous storyline, Second Coming’s second issue is the whole package. Both the writing and artwork are top notch and has me convinced that we’ll be talking about this series for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadowman (2018) #1

Mar 27, 2018

This entire first issue of Shadowman (2018) is exploding with excitement without an ounce of dullness to hold it back. It is full of beauty which makes the darkness of the story both alluring and refreshing. There isn't much more that this team could have done to reintroduce this complicated character into the current comic book world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadowman (2018) #3

May 22, 2018

Of the first three issues of this new Shadowman series, this one impressed me the most. It is packed with so much action and story that it feels so much longer than 33 pages and yet I’m never bored with it and am still bummed when I reach the last page. There is nothing lacking from this third issue as the writing and artwork are all incredible and come together to make a really fun and exciting comic book. Do yourself a favor and get caught up with this series because it is obvious that this story is going to continue to be exhilarating.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Shadowman (2018) #5

Jul 17, 2018

Based on the cover for the next issue and its name, “The Beginning of Time,” I am assuming it will also take place even earlier in the Shadowman’s history. I really hope that I can become consumed by this story again with the next backstory issue, because overall, this entire story is amazing and I want to continue to be captivated by it. This issue, along with the one prior, just didn’t accomplish that for me personally despite the dialogue and artwork being so well done. As of now, I wouldn’t even consider abandoning this series because based on the first three issues specifically, I know that it can be a beautiful, sad, and exciting one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadowman (2018) #6

Aug 21, 2018

Shadowman has consistently been a strong series with a lot of interesting storytelling and beautiful art. This sixth issue tells a story with a smooth pace that perfectly fits in as an installment among the others around it. It seems that Andy Diggle made sure that this issue is a perfect part of the buildup for the conclusion that is soon to come and it’s done it’s job at making me anxious for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadowman (2018) #7

Sep 19, 2018

This is a very strong issue that contains some very climatic content that is both written and illustrated elegantly. It is solid as an issue on its own but it also pushes the story forward wonderfully. The storytelling is complex and lively which pulls you into it so much that you will be dying to know what happens next. This is some amazing comic book work by some incredibly talented people and I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadowman (2018) #8

Oct 24, 2018

As we are introduced to a new arc, we are given a lot to digest and with the help of Diggle's writing, it goes down easy. This issue has stirred up a lot of excitement in me for the battles that are coming within the next several issues which means that it did it's job.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadowman (2018) #11

Jan 15, 2019

This team have successfully rebooted a beloved and complex character and story and executed it better than I could have imagined. And as a special treat for those of us who have followed along, they present this wonderful final issue as a gift.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Could Fly: The Lost Pilot #1

Apr 9, 2019

If you enjoyed She Could Fly's first arc, you'll absolutely love She Could Fly: The Lost Pilot #1. It contains the perplexity that we've come to love and appreciate from this series while also introducing us to the fact that a lot of excitement is about to come our way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Could Fly #2

Aug 8, 2018

The first issue of She Could Fly blew me away and I worried that it may go down a little bit after that. But Christopher Cantwell and Martin Morazzo have shown us in the second issue that they have no plans on ceasing to amaze us with this series. There isn’t much you will want more of when you finish reading it because nothing feels lacking. The storytelling, the dialogue, and the artwork all feel completely comfortable working together to create this incredible comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Could Fly: The Lost Pilot #2

May 8, 2019

If you've enjoyed She Could Fly this far, you'll love this new issue as it features everything the series has become known and loved for. There is so much to digest in this second issue of She Could Fly: The Lost Pilot #2 and it provides a long exciting ride to give you time to do that consuming.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Could Fly #3

Sep 12, 2018

She Could Fly #3 is another fantastic entry to an already imaginative story that continues to amaze me. This issue is entertaining on every page and it keeps me wanting more. There is still so much unknown in this series and Christopher Cantwell is unwrapping a story that keeps getting better. Add to that Martin Morazzo’s unique artwork and we have an issue that is consistenly captivating.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Could Fly #4

Oct 10, 2018

She Could Fly finishes it's first arc with a thrillride that elevates this already amazing series to an even higher plane of originality. This issue is full of unpredictability and unconventionality which makes it the most exciting issue of the series and the most exciting issue of the week. This team is a powerhouse and I have no idea how I am going to make to next spring to find out what happens next in this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Snap Flash Hustle #1

Dec 5, 2018

Snap Flash Hustle's debut is powerful and bold as it dispenses drama, sexuality, and crime fiction all wrapped neatly inside a single beautiful issue. Shand's writing will keep you excitedly reading while Pearson's artwork will keep your eyes focused on every panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #1

Apr 4, 2018

This issue met my high expectations because Ian Flynn and company know how to perfect a Sonic the Hedgehog comic book. It is action-packed, heartwarming, and funny, which is everything that I wanted Sonic the Hedgehog to continue to be under IDW. This team have shown us that they will make these characters and stories enjoyable despite anything that may happen to the brand name.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #2

Apr 11, 2018

The reboot of Sonic the Hedgehog is a success as far as I am concerned. The story so far is exciting and it is obvious that it will unfold into an epic tale following our heroes. This issue establishes more interest in the characters and the war they have been fighting. It also contains artwork that is absolutely beautiful.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #3

Apr 18, 2018

Ian Flynn writes amazing Sonic the Hedgehog comic book stories and we are getting to see him do that with this rebooted series. This third issue shows no sign of any kind of lull in the near future for this series. It is full of excitement and comradery which is exactly what I read Sonic the Hedgehog comics for. With a different artist for all of these issues, the art is always fresh. In this issue, get to see Jennifer Hernandez’s Sonic the Hedgehog artwork which is always great and just adds a little extra to make this third issue another amazing one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #4

Apr 25, 2018

We wrap up an entire month of Sonic the Hedgehog with an issue full of action and humor. This rebooted series is doing a great job at establishing the story of Sonic and his world while also appealing to older fans by referencing the past. This issue does that well and I think all readers will enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #7

Jul 25, 2018

This series is a nice treat that I look forward to every month. Between Flynn’s storytelling and the carousel of talented artists, each issue contains some amazing and classic comic book action while remaining fresh. Sonic the Hedgehog #7 gives us an amazing battle scene, a nice twist, and a really fun reunion at the end. This issue makes me more excited for the next one more than any issue prior has done. Its drama and conflict with our favorite hedgehog easily create the comic book of the week for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #8

Aug 15, 2018

The new Sonic the Hedgehog series is still going strong and doesn’t seem to be slowing down any time soon. This eighth issue is packed with action, beautiful artwork, fun dialogue, and an intense cliffhanger. These are all things that I have come to expect from this Sonic the Hedgehog series and once again, Flynn and company hand deliver it to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Star Wars Adventures: Tales From Vader's Castle #1

Oct 3, 2018

This Star Wars series that was advertised to be an all-ages spooky comic book does not deliver on a single promise. The story is boring, the characters are uninteresting, and the art is dull. To add to the disappointment, there is not a single thing even remotely spooky about any of it, which has a little to do with the fact that nothing really happens in it at all. This issue feels like IDW lazily put this series together and threw Star Wars on the cover for a quick cash grab.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #9

Dec 12, 2017

Once I got to the last page, I felt like the issue was lacking so much needed story development. I'm sure once put together, I will enjoy it a lot more, but I don't know that I feel this amount of substance in this issue is the worth the $3.99. People who are much bigger Star Wars fans may feel differently and feel that the artwork is more than enough, but I personally think the collections offer a much better reading experience and is a much better value.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stranger Things #1

Sep 26, 2018

This first issue of the new Stranger Things series packs a lot of great artwork and some interesting storytelling but fails to really flow as well as the show does due to some unnatural narration. The issue is pretty good for a media tie-in thanks to an already established plot but I am unsure just how good this series can continue to be while trying to make the little information we have from the show stretch. The show is still in the process of explaining a lot of details to us so it will be interesting to see if this series turns out to simply become a retelling of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stranger Things #3

Nov 28, 2018

This third issue is packed with horror and emotion which is enhanced by fantastic writing and beautiful and haunting artwork. Fans of the show will enjoy this issue as it emerges you in the Upside Down more than the show usually did. If you were curious to explore how terrible Will's experience was, buy and read this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Stranger Things #4

Jan 2, 2019

Stranger Things #4 contains the sadness, the excitement, and the horror that make the conclusion to the mini-series work. It's wonderfully written but especially excels in it's gorgeous and haunting visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Tank Girl (2018) #1

Dec 19, 2018

Overall, the modern state of Tank Girl may appeal to younger comic book readers who want a unique female anti-hero, but for fans of the original Tank Girl and it's peculiarity and crassness, this will be a disappointment. Even if I was okay with this issue not reflecting the original Tank Girl, it is just a poorly told uninteresting story with a lot of jokes that feel like it's trying way too hard.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Tank Girl: All Stars #3

Aug 29, 2018

I definitely enjoyed this third issue, but not in the way that I expect to enjoy Tank Girl comics. The art is impressive and is absolutely the highlight of the issue for me. But Tank Girl: All Stars #3 falls short from the lack of eccentricity that made the original Tank Girl comics to fresh and interesting. I can only be entertained so much when I am also disappointed in the storytelling that original Tank Girl writer Alan Martin is delivering.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Empty Man (2018) #1

Nov 7, 2018

This debut issue proves to us that this is just the start of an amazing and shocking rebooted horror comic book series. The issue is a solid introduction to the terror that is being faced by these characters and, as unsettling as it may be, I'm completely on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Empty Man (2018) #4

Feb 6, 2019

Empty Man #4 speeds things up for the series and does it as wonderfully as its done everything so far. This week's issue is gory and thrilling with smooth writing and fantastically eerie artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Empty Man (2018) #6

Apr 9, 2019

This sixth issue is a pure and fantastic horror comic book full of everything that makes the horror genre proud. The Empty Man (2019) #6 is a constant disturbing thrill ride full of gore and drama. It very well may be the best issue that the rebooted series has released so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Empty Man (2018) #7

May 14, 2019

Empty Man (2019) #7 does its job well by shocking me and creating tension needed to conclude the story next month. The storytelling remains impressive and the artwork is somehow getting more and more amazing in each issue. I was hooked from the start of this series but issues like this seventh one excel at pulling me in further and showing me why I find the horror genre to be so much fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Forgotten Queen #2

Apr 3, 2019

This second issue is captivating because of its sadness that perfectly sits alongside its bloodshed which sits alongside its overall beauty. The Forgotten Queen #2 is very fresh while also tapping into an incredible classic comic book quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Further Adventures of Nick Wilson #1

Jan 17, 2018

If I didn't know the big names attached to this series, I wouldn't know that they were award-winning writers based on this issue. But like I said previously, it is not a bad issue at all. It will be fun to watch what is in store for Nick WIlson in the future issues, but I am not anxiously waiting for the second issue as of right now. I am open to my mind completely changing on this series as it progresses, so in time we will see.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Further Adventures of Nick Wilson #2

Feb 21, 2018

This second issue may have been a tad better to start, but the long bar scene with the girl definitely brought it back down for me personally. I think that this issue is enjoyable but I don't think that it is a masterpiece in any way. There are a lot of great current comic book series and a lot of them with issues that have come out today and I think there are better reads than this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
The Further Adventures of Nick Wilson #3

Mar 21, 2018

I have come to the conclusion, that this entire series is a really bad sitcom that couldn't get made so it was turned into a comic book series. Actually, it's like a bad sitcom that borders on being a soap opera because despite it being a comic book, I can somehow feel the bad acting through the pages. I mean, that in and of itself is pretty impressive, but not impressive enough for me to enjoy reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
The Further Adventures of Nick Wilson #4

Apr 21, 2018

It was sold as an amazing, new, fresh, hilarious comic book series written by an award-winning television writer. It was praised for being incredibly humorous by several really funny celebrities that I personally really like. Yet, it has failed in all of those ways by not being that fresh, not being funny at all, and by just being boring. This fourth issue is yet another installment in an overhyped comic book series that will go on to be forgettable in the near future. Issue number four is truly just as boring, unfunny, and cliche as the first three.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Further Adventures of Nick Wilson #5

May 23, 2018

The mini-series is wrapped up neatly with this kind of cheesy but entertaining final issue. I still wouldn't let all of those quotes from comedians on the back of the issue lead you on in any way because it is not that clever or funny of a series at all. But if you have stuck with Nick Wilson this far, I think that this issue will be very satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Girl In The Bay #1

Feb 6, 2019

Dark Horse's imprint Berger Books has become a home for unique comic books and The Girl in the Bay is it's newest family member. Its debut issue packs a heavy bundle of emotion and suspense that will surely captivate you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Girl In The Bay #3

Apr 3, 2019

The Girl in the Bay remains a wonderful mystery that has me completely invested in its story. This third issue exceeds expectations by creating more levels that all increase the story's creativity, beauty, and charm.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The White Trees #1

Aug 14, 2019

Basically, The White Trees #1 is a fantastic comic book in every way and I am very excited to see more of this story from this team. I already feel like I am on this journey with the characters and I can’t wait to head with them further into this battle.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Wrong Earth #1

Sep 12, 2018

It also helps that the content is extremely well done, especially the main story of The Wrong Earth. It did it’s job of introducing me to new characters, a new story, and a new style and I am absolutely on board already. The extra content in the comic book magazine is quality content and shows us the amazing stuff AHOY Comics is about to unleash on us with the rest of their titles. All in all, reading through this issue was such an enjoyable experience and I recommend others pick it and spend the time with it as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #41

Jan 30, 2019

For young readers who keep up with Disney comics, it'll surely be worth it as there aren't any other IDW Disney releases this week. And overall, the issue isn't bad, it is just a little too plain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncle Scrooge: My First Millions #1

Sep 26, 2018

This issue didn't amaze me like the other IDW Disney issue did from this week, but if you are a fan of Disney and especially if you are a fan of Disney comics, it is well worth the buy and well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncle Scrooge: My First Millions #3

Nov 28, 2018

As this mini-series continues, it still manages to be as enjoyable as it was when it started. It is lighthearted fun that will be entertaining to Disney fans of all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncle Scrooge: My First Millions #4

Jan 16, 2019

As entertaining as these Disney comics will always be, this finale to the My First Millions mini-series feels a bit forced. There isn't enough ridiculousness in this fourth issue to satisfy my need for it based on the previous three issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Under: Scourge of the Sewer #1

Dec 20, 2017

This first issue is a really nice long read that is very engaging. It really has everything it needs to be a great comic book. It has a cool, disgraced cop story, a corrupt mayor, a scientist asking the right questions, giant undiscovered creatures, and a ton of action.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Under: Scourge of the Sewer #2

Jan 17, 2018

The writer and artist use all 52 of their pages to create a comic book experience that is nothing but fun. The gore, the horror, the drama, and the action come together to form one of my favorite comic books in a while. I gave the first issue a 10/10 and I have no reservation giving this second issue a 10/10 as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Vampironica #1

Mar 14, 2018

Overall, I really like Vampironica #1, I just don't love it. There wasn't enough substance in this first issue to blow me away or to reel me in quickly. The artwork is great and the storyline is interesting, but for me to fall in love with this series, it's going to have to become much more unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Vampironica #3

Sep 5, 2018

It is a relief that I feel like we are finally getting the Vampironica that I wanted so badly before the series came out. It may have taken two issues of what was disappointing to me personally, but here we are, a great new addition to the Archie Horror comics line. This issue has both everything that I want from a vampire comic and an Archie comic: enjoyable characters, terrifying monsters, relatable situations, a dash of humor, and amazing tropey one-liners.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Vampironica #4

Oct 24, 2018

The tiny bit of Jughead isn't enough to save the issue from being a brief and uninspiring build up to the finale. There isn't much here in this fourth issue which makes the series continue to be the weakest of the Archie Horror series. This issue doesn't take a single risk with it's storytelling and the end product is a short and boring one.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Vampironica #5

Dec 18, 2018

So once again, Vampironica falls short of it's potential and delivers a mediocre horror comic book. It was so close to being a fantastic issue, but my faith in Vampironica evaporated when I realized that this series is simply just a weak horror series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Walt Disney's Comics and Stories #741

Jan 31, 2018

Overall, if you have been enjoying the Disney line of comics from IDW, you'll love this issue. It's got a lot in it and is definitely worth the read. It does it's job of giving me the warm and comforting Disney feeling that they have been achieving in their comic books lately. I really enjoy how all of these current writers and artist are able to write and illustrate what they normally would while making it still feel classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WWE #13

Jan 17, 2018

WWE did a great job at using this issue to highlight famous moments in Raw's history across the different eras in WWE. Each part of the issue includes awesome pro-wrestling action, legendary wrestlers, and has plenty of humor through the entire last story. Any fans of wrestling will have a lot of fun with the issue and is must-have, especially for those four amazing covers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
WWE #15

Mar 21, 2018

This issue isn't breaking new ground in comic books, but it is fun and easy to read. I enjoy seeing the way they write what the feuds look like backstage which makes my memories of the matches more interesting. This issue follows Bayley, one of the most fun superstars and that helps make it really enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WWE #16

Apr 19, 2018

This issue has been one of the best ones of this series so far because it had pages of action and more pages of an entertaining story of Bayley fighting for her place. Bayley continues to be a compelling character to follow and Hopeless is doing a superb job of writing her. To add a little extra awesome to this issue, we get a dramatic excerpt of Asuka’s story at the end that is two pages of beauty.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WWE #17

May 9, 2018

Once again, this team of writers and artists have added to the collection of amazing issues with another fascinating look at Bayley and Asuka’s stories. The way both stories wrap up is satisfying and entertaining with plenty of passion, drama, and emotion sprinkled throughout. This issue is a great comic book as it is extremely fun and an easy read. Any wrestling fans at any age will definitely enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WWE #20

Aug 19, 2018

This story is being told so well by Dennis Hopeless and this issue had me engaged through the entire issue. The behind the scenes conversations that Hopeless has written for these characters in this issue are dramatic and emotional and add to the story that we already know from watching it play out in the ring. All of that along with Serg Acuña’s artwork comes together to make a fantastic comic book about some amazing characters in riveting situations.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
WWE: Royal Rumble 2018 #1

Jan 10, 2018

I typically enjoy WWE comic books and I think they have put out several great series but I think that this one falls short. It doesn't come together and make a good solid comic book reading experience and it is slightly disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WWE: Attitude Era 2018 Special #1

Aug 1, 2018

All four moments in the Attitude Era's history are iconic moments and are especially important to me. I really enjoy seeing them told in a comic book by an amazing set of writers and artists who make each story a delight to read. Fans of the Attitude Era will definitely want to pick this up because you'll have a lot of fun reading it and it's a really neat thing to add to your wrestling memorabilia.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WWE: WrestleMania 2018 Special #1

Apr 4, 2018

The Wrestlemania 2018 Special is a great way to add more excitement about Wrestlemania 34 this coming Sunday. The issue is full of action and drama, all written and illustrated beautifully. It's a really fun, easy to read comic book that can be enjoyed by wrestling fans young and old. I suggest picking up a copy and reading it before this Sunday and maybe even go back and revisit the matches that were in the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WWE: NXT Takeover: The Blueprint #1

Sep 5, 2018

NXT Takeover: The Blueprint is an entertaining extra to have from WWE comics that contains a lot of heart. That essence is there because of how well Dennis Hopeless portrays Dusty Rhodes and the other hardworking young wrestlers. Everything about this issue is enjoyable and other wrestling fans will definitely appreciate it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wytches: Bad Egg Halloween Special #1

Oct 31, 2018

Wytches: Bad Egg Halloween Special is an excellent comic book to read this Halloween because it is sure to scare you, shock you, and will probably make the holiday a little somber for you. The Wytches team has filled an 80-page comic book with superb storytelling and gorgeous artwork that is absolutely worth your time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More