ReadComicBooks's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Read Comic Books Reviews: 120
8.4Avg. Review Rating

5.0
Action Comics (2011) #12

Aug 1, 2012

Make no mistake, the last two pages both make and save this issue. After twelve months, Morrison is finally heading to a place Superman fans have been waiting for. He's going to use some of Superman's crazy past to tell a story worthy of the man of steel. The series has been slow to start, hinting all too infrequently at the larger story ahead. Morrison would tease us, but with only the briefest of lines. In two pages he gave us more info than the last eleven issues. If you aren't looking forward to the next issue now, you might as well drop Action. Morrison will be off the title soon and he's setup his final story. I think it's going to send his run off with a bang.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Adventure Time #7

Aug 21, 2012

If you're looking for an all-ages, escapist book to read, than this "mathematical" book is for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aesop's Ark #1

Aug 7, 2012

Aesop's Ark is a wonderful all-ages book. The issues the animals struggle with are the same everyone has dealt with at some point. Its' story resonates so well because of the readers ability to sympathize with the characters. It gives us pause and we think what we would do in these situations. Would we be the owl or the humming bird? There aren't many comics out there that allow you to reflect on what you just read and see how it relates to your own life. Aesop's Ark is a short read that has more substance than most comics twice its size. Torres and Meyer are crafting beautiful stories that fans of any age can dive right in and enjoy. You should definitely get a seat on this boat. I'm sure the animals can make room.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man #691

Aug 15, 2012

I'm really happy with the conclusion to "No Turning Back" it is definitely a very good Spider-Man story with a particular focus on the Lizard. The Amazing Spider-Man is back with an oversized 50th anniversary issue next week!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man #692

Aug 22, 2012

If Marvel had saved the first story for Amazing Spider-Man #693 and plugged in a story starring some of the aforementioned villains I would have argued that this issue is a must-have for every superhero comic fan out there. I can't say that though and for that reason I say only the diehard Spider-Man fans and followers of the current series need buy this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amelia Cole #2

Aug 21, 2012

Amelia Cole #2 is a fun take on the magic in the modern day scenario. The added twist of travel between worlds/dimensions can make for countless story possibilities in the future. This being only the second issue, there is still much more to learn about the main character. She seems to take many of the jarring, life changing events that have happened over the last two issues in great stride. Is this a testament to the character, or just a reflection of the more light-hearted tone the series has had so far? Knave, Kirkbride, and Brokenshire are just getting started building a brand new fictional world. A healthy mix of magic and modern day, Im sure they have many more surprises in store for the title character. Issue 2 raised a lot of questions about the new realm Amelia Cole finds herself trapped in. How well she will adapt, and what forces are working against her, will be interesting to see.Story: 3Art: 4Overall: 3

View Issue       View Full Review
10
America's Got Powers #3

Aug 22, 2012

After reading issue three I can be sure of one thing: No one knows where Americas Got Powers is headed but Ross and Hitch. The last two issues have ended with jaw dropping last pages that make me impatiently await the next one. AGPs mix of smart, sharp dialog; gripping, unpredictable story, and eye meltingly gorgeous art make it a must read for fans of the comic medium. If you are one of those only Marvel or DC readers, this is the book you need to branch out and try. You will be glad you did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Animal Man #12

Aug 1, 2012

Jeff Lemire and Scott Snyder have big plans for their books. They spent eleven issues each crafting an epic tale of three forces of nature battle for balance on earth. Animal Man #12 is the first taste of what is coming. Being part one of a two part story creates certain necessary hurdles that slow the issue down slightly. It takes eight pages to get to where we knew Buddy was going in Swamp Thing #11 and then the two page recap really hurts the momentum of the book. Once we get into fresh territory, the story really starts running. If you've enjoyed the horror that Jeff Lemire and company have brought to Animal Man already, then issue #11 will only make you want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2011) #11

Jul 25, 2012

When we finally do get to an important piece of information, it's the last page, yep, I spent $3 to find out what weapon Black Manta would like to use to get revenge on Aquaman (should I spoil it so you don't waste you $3? Nope I'm not that guy"). I'm very disappointed with this issue however the story arc is not definitely beyond saving. In fact, up until this issue I thought it was damn good and entertaining. Next month when Johns concludes this arc we will be able to judge it as a whole instead of one bad issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Archer & Armstrong #1

Aug 8, 2012

I can't say that I enjoyed Archer & Armstrong more than X-O Manowar or Bloodshot (the other Valiant titles I read) but I can tell you that it is a hell of a lot better than the New Avengers crap that Marvel shovelled out this week. If you're going to spend $4 and you want a great story with interesting characters and appeal that is going to last for quite some time, I'd recommend Archer & Armstrong #1 this week. Well done Valiant, I eagerly await the next new series you're going to throw my way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2010) #28

Jul 25, 2012

If you are following the Avengers vs. X-Men story as religiously as I am this is one of the most important tie-ins for you to pick up. I enjoyed the scripting for this issue but I will be very disappointed if this issue is left as is and isn't continued or 'finished' later on.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Avengers (2010) #29

Aug 16, 2012

There really isn't anything else I can say about this comic. If you were waiting to purchase this issue to see if it delivers a significant tie-in to AvX, you may sleep soundly knowing that it doesn't. I wouldn't recommend anyone pick up this issue. After a couple of terrible New Avengers tie-ins, I'm really concerned about Round 11 by Bendis. I'm also contemplating giving up on Avengers tie-ins completely.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Avengers Vs. X-Men #9

Aug 1, 2012

There is very little else that I can say about this issue without revealing anything so I will leave you with a few closing thoughts. Characters are breaking down while others stand up. Questions are answered but in their wake they leave even more questions. This is the best written Round of AvX yet. The art is excellent and the pacing the creative team uses is perfect. The best praise I can give is that I am now extremely anxious to read Round 10 in two weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #10

Aug 16, 2012

All in all there is not enough advancement of the plot in this issue for me. If the current trend continues the next issue will be fantastic but then the final issue will suck. And if that's true that would"well, suck. I'm not giving up on AvX, way too much invested at this point, but I did not like this issue. I think that we've been let down, yet again, by a poorly planned out instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
AVX: Consequences #1

Oct 17, 2012

This book has reinvigorated my interest in the whole AvX summer blockbuster event because this title seems to make sure these characters in the Marvel universe take an honest look at themselves. Not everyone was good or right on The Avengers and this title looks to explore that. If you were jaded by AvX, but still read it because you didn't want to miss out, AvX: Consequences will give you the vindication you need!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
AVX: Consequences #2

Oct 17, 2012

This book has reinvigorated my interest in the whole AvX summer blockbuster event because this title seems to make sure these characters in the Marvel universe take an honest look at themselves. Not everyone was good or right on The Avengers and this title looks to explore that. If you were jaded by AvX, but still read it because you didn't want to miss out, AvX: Consequences will give you the vindication you need!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: 1948 #1

Oct 17, 2012

According to the teaser at the end of this issue, B.P.R.D will reach it's land mark 100th issue in two weeks. If you haven't been reading this series then I urge you to catch up because it's 100% worth it. I would also suggest that you look into the Plague of Frogs omnibus editions. 1-3 are out now and the 4th will be released later this year. If you've never read B.P.R.D this might not be the best place to start, but it's a start nonetheless. Go out and grab this book because this is, without a shadow of a doubt, shaping up to be an excellent mini-series from an extremely talented creative team that is firing on all cylinders!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: 1948 #2

Nov 20, 2012

There is really nothing wrong with this series. Even if you consider me to be bias towards Mignola's work, this issue is just too damn good to turn away from. I say this all the time, and I've probably said it more than I can count, if you're not reading this series, you. Are. Missing. OUT! Period. So go and buy it. Right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
B.P.R.D.: 1948 #3

Dec 19, 2012

All in all, this B.P.R.D mini-series just keeps getting better. If you like monsters, even if you haven't read B.P.R.D or Hellboy before, I suggest you check this series out. There's something for everybody to enjoy. Out of the three series set in the late 1940′s, this one is shaping up to be the best one yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #100

Oct 31, 2012

Simply put, this is one not only one of Dark Horse Comics' best series, but one of the best series on the market from any publisher!Oh, did I mention there are some wicked monsters in this bad boy? Yeah, that's right. More monsters. Man, I love monsters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #102

Dec 21, 2012

Hey. Listen up. Go down to your local shop, find anything with “B.P.R.D” on it and buy it. Buy it and then go home and read it. You will not be disappointed. Better do it quick, because this was issue #102 and you have a hell of a lot of catching up to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #103

Jan 10, 2013

Monsters, time travel–or at least some sort of consciousness travel for lack of a better term–mysterious swords and nothing less than stellar art and writing from the well-oiled machine that Mignola has carefully crafted make this another great chapter in the vast history of B.P.R.D and the Mignolaverse. If you are not reading this, read it. Whatever excuse you've given yourself to not pick this up is wrong. You are wrong for not reading it. Harsh? Maybe. But you'll thank me when it's over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #104

Feb 12, 2013

This was a hell of an issue, highlighted magnificently by some of the best art from James Harren that readers have ever seen. His work in Conan The Barbarian was stellar, but he has really upped his game for this chapter of B.P.R.D. There is a lot more to come from this series, like the first mini-series where Mike Mignola turns his complete attention onto Vampires for the first time, so by waiting to jump into this story you're only adding to your inevitable stack of trades and collections. This is the kind of stuff you've always wanted in a comic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #105

Mar 22, 2013

his issue gives us a lot of little bits, and takes a few more step forward as far as the overall story is concerned, but for the most part you really can't help but wonder about Abe Sapien. What does he think about waking up in a world that has literally gone to hell and is completely overrun with monsters and crazy beasts of all shapes and sizes? I guess we'll have to wait to find that out. Let's just hope he doesn't go locking himself in a tank to avoid these monsters that have all but taken over the world. What a dumbass move that would be...

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
B.P.R.D.: Vampire #1

Mar 27, 2013

This is a really good beginning, or maybe continuation is a better word, to Mignola's view of Vampires in the world that he has spent twenty years building and crafting. It's been a long time coming and having artists and collaborators like Gabriel Ba, Fabio Moon and Dave Stewart by his side seem like the perfect choice to tell this five-part tale. Make sure you strap in and hold on to your butts for this one. We're in for a crazy, Vampire filled ride with Mignola and company behind the wheel.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) #12

Aug 8, 2012

Overall, the story was average; nothing really new or exciting, but it was still a good story and I enjoyed it. Becky Cloonan's art stole the show, hands down, and if DC doesn't get her working on some monthly books after she's done with Dark Horse"or even if Dark Horse allows her to work with DC again, however that really works"it would be a huge mistake. Overall, buy this issue for the art if nothing else.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman and Robin (2011) #12

Aug 8, 2012

When all is said and done, we've got a classic superhero story where the bad guys lose and Batman wins. There are surprises that the former Robin's come to the rescue to help handle the thugs while Batman bulks up to handle Terminus. But let's face it, we want action and this book has it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Incorporated #3

Aug 22, 2012

If youve been reading Grant Morrisons run on Batman since the beginning, you know how big this story is. Each issue offers clues to Leviathans endgame. Im most interested in seeing how Bruce plans on combating such a large, highly organized group with his small team of allies. Building up Bruces foes has been something Morrison has done before. Think how long Doctor Hurt was around and how deep his schemes went. I can only imagine what Talia has planned for the man who stole her son from her. Batman Incorporated is a massive, well built story that has been in the works for years. This latest issue serves to keep teasing, though Im sure with the position Matches was left in will make sure that we learn some big things next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #11

Jul 25, 2012

The Dark Knight is no longer a book that Batman fans should be passing by. I am here to vouch that this is a quality series that is well-written and is more than entertaining enough to justify the $3 price tag. I'm excited to see what Hurwitz and Finch do with the groundwork they have laid in these last two issues as this has potential to be a fantastic arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #12

Aug 22, 2012

I am sticking to my guns and encouraging Batman fans to pick up Hurwitz and Finch's The Dark Knight starting with issue #10. For some it might be lost in the see of Bat books but I believe it has risen to a level of importance that has surprised even the most hopeful of us. The sheer awesomeness of the art is worth the $3 price of admission- the entertaining and psychotic story is a wonderful bonus. I'm interested to see where this arc is going even though it isn't clear, I'll definitely be back again for the next installment of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Before Watchmen: Rorschach #1

Aug 15, 2012

If there was one reason to get this book, it's to support the beautiful work done by Lee Bermejo. There is nothing else really groundbreaking here for a seasoned, comic book reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot #2

Aug 15, 2012

From the father and son scene in the opening, which has a certain lightness to it, to showing a brief look in to the mind of Bloodshot and how he perceives one section of his life, this art team, of Manuel Garcia and Arturo Lozzi ,with inks from Matt Ryan and colours by Ian Hannin, have shown their talents on every single panel of this book. To the brutal and bloody fight scenes of broken bones and bullets tearing skin, which shows a completely different aspect to the sort of life the main character, actually leads. It's brilliantly brutal, yet gives you the personal aspect you want when you're following a lead character of this calibre.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot #3

Sep 3, 2012

It's going to be interesting to see where Swierczynski takes this series in the issues to come, especially now that he's unleashed a Project Rising Spirit “plan B” to kill Bloodshot. Remember that girl at the end of issue 2? Yeah, she's apparently being held against her will–if you didn't gather that from her restraints–and she is definitely not somebody you want to f#$% with and there's no love loss between her and her captures that's for damn sure. Go read this issue, out this Wednesday, before I give too much away. It's a good build-up issue that foreshadows a lot of possibilities and answers for the future of Bloodshot so don't miss it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #9

Jan 17, 2013

After reading this issue, there might be some words eaten. Possibly about how there was only a small chance that this would be something to keep up with. Maybe it's all a little hazy. Things were said, but that's the past. Captain Marvel issue #9 was just plain fun. It was fun and expertly executed by a great creative team. Bravo, Marvel. Oh, and there's a super serious twist that the end that totally caught me off guard. If that doesn't make you want to come back for more, nothing will.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #10

Feb 20, 2013

If you like Hawkguy, this is a series that deserves at least a chance to be part of your regular pull list. Its a fun, interesting Marvel title that, all in all, is written and drawn really well. Kelly Sue DeConnick really shines at the helm of Ms. Danvers, and its definitely a title that needs to stick around. There are far worse things you can spend $2.99 on each month. Give this series a chance. Forget all the bad Ms. Marvel stuff that might be turning you off this series. Trust me when I say you need to give this a try. You wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #11

Mar 22, 2013

Don't let this series pass you by. There are a lot of great comics out there, especially from Marvel right now, but this is one that really should be on your monthly pull list. The entire creative team is doing a hell of a job with this comic and it deserves your support. Go out there and check it out. Hell, start at issue #9. That's only three comics to get you into this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Complex #1

Aug 1, 2012

Both story and art start off a little slow or almost sloppy, but I confess by the end I was intrigued as to where this book was going, and really pulled in to the world of Complex. It's easy to see why Alterna decided to publish this and get this story out to the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Conan the Barbarian #8

Sep 10, 2012

Bottom line this series has been great. The writing through all eight issues has been great. This, in eight issues, is now the third artist for this series. In ten issues they'll have four different artists. I don't know if this is planned or they just can't keep an artist on this project, for one reason or another, but it's got to stop. There needs to be some sort of normalcy with the art in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Conan the Barbarian #12

Jan 16, 2013

With the recent release of Conan Volume 13: the Queen of the Black Coast, there is no better time than now to get caught up and jump into this series. Single issues can be found in the Dark Horse Digital store to bridge the gap between the first collection and issue twelve. Brian Wood has something really great here, and were seeing sides to Conan that really havent been done before. Wood has taken an original Robert E. Howardthe creator of Conan in the 30s, for those that arent awarestory and expanded upon it and put his own signature spin on it. Hes not only doing it justice, but all of his side stories that venture outside of Howards original story are the kinds of stories that not only add to the rich history of Conan, but they would undoubtedly make the creator proud. Check this series out and dive into one of the best Conan stories that have ever been told.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cyber Force #1

Oct 17, 2012

I'm absolutely intrigued by the endless possibilities ofCyberforce. I want to see where this series goes. I want to know who Carin Taylor, who co-narrates, is talking to “off camera”. I want to see more of these SHOC soldiers and I want to see how the human race screws up the planet and whether or not it results in human extinction. All of these cool characters and all these cool designs have got to be leading somewhere big. Also, theres's almost 118,000 reasons to not let the fans of this series down–25 of which are my own and I definitely do not regret it. This creative team brought in this issue, plain and simple, and I expect them to continue bringing it for the fans and for the love of this series. Did I mention it's available digitally, for free?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dancer #4

Aug 8, 2012

Overall, you get a great amount of suspense and action for $3.50 and I definitely recommend this book to people seeking something outside of the superhero genre. The stage is set for the final act in this 5 issue miniseries!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #15

Jul 18, 2012

From start to cliff hanger ending, this issue does everything right and works very, very well for me. It makes me want to go back and read the first two hard cover volumes, displayed proudly on my shelf, just to soak in this amazing, award winning series. I'm telling you right now, folks, that if you are not reading this series for any reason"whether it's because you don't read Marvel or the big two or didn't like Daredevil before, or whatever you tell yourself"you really and truly need to get this series in your hands. Waid and Samnee are running on all cylinders right now, and I can't wait to see what happens to The Man Without Fear next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Daredevil (2011) #17

Aug 15, 2012

Over the next few issues you can expect Waid to start unravelling who is behind the plot against Matt Murdock/Daredevil. Someone is turning his friends against him, bringing up old wounds and, literally, digging up bones. I'm extremely excited for the next issue two weeks from now. I can guarantee that it will be very close to the top of the pile!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadhorse #4

Aug 21, 2012

If you're looking for a great indie comic that is a unique take on what a mystery can be, this comic is for you. I believe you will find that this series is strange and funny and very, very clever. I am a big fan and advocate for this comic so read it!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe #1

Aug 1, 2012

For someone who is killing the entire Marvel Universe, Deadpool needs to rack up his kill count per book or he's barely going to have taken care of New York City by the end of the series. I hope that Bunn has a little bit more up his sleeve than what we're seeing in this issue. If that's the case then I would consider recommending this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
0.8
Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe #2

Aug 9, 2012

The story itself doesn't add any depth, emotion, or reason for me to give a shite about what happens next. For that reason I'm out; the final two issues are going to pass me by. There was nothing creative about this book which is too bad because it could have been something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deadworld: War of the Dead #4

Aug 21, 2012

I wouldn't classify Deadworld: War of the Dead #4 as a must read, but if you're a fan of zombies or perhaps you're looking to feast your eyes upon some a truly unusual style of art, then it may be worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Edison Rex #4

Nov 2, 2012

At the end of the day Monkey Brain Comics produces 10+ pages of great story and art in a series that has been incredibly entertaining. At the same time, I understand it's a smaller, indie publisher, but I can't help but want a few more pages in each issue. These read extremely fast and at the end I just end up wanting more. I think I've said it before with Monkey Brain, but these smaller comics and issues tend to be “all killer, no filler” and it's definitely a welcomed change of pace. Either way, I will definitely be back for the foreseeable future on this great series. Don't let the digital only scare you off. Each issue is .99 cents and it's more than worth it. Buy this. Now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Extermination #3

Aug 14, 2012

If you want to read Extermination I would suggest you do it from the first issue though (you can get the previous two issues on Comixology for .99 and $1.99 respectively). I doubt you'll regret the investment you made or the time you take to read the comic book. This has definitely turned me onto what else Boom! Studios has to offer, if they have more creative and well put together books like Extermination you can bet I'll be reading those too!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Fables #120

Aug 22, 2012

Cubs in Toyland has been and emotional story. What started off as seemingly another adventure for some members of the Wolf family has grown into a dark, gut-wrenching tale of human nature's determination in the face of certain defeat. Dare has made his choice, and now we must wait another month to see if he made the right on and can save his sister from the phony throne the citizens of Discardia have forced her into. The last two issues have contained some very emotional, hard to read scenes. I can't wait to see how this story arc ends and what Willingham's story has been driving towards. Fables is one of the few books that makes me truly feel bad for the characters when things go wrong. I hope Willingham gives them a happy moment or two when it's all over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fairest #6

Aug 8, 2012

Fairest #6 delivers a very satisfying ending to its' first story arc. Everyone gets their own story resolved in some manner and just desserts are severed to those whom deserve them. Bill Willingham does a spectacular job sending the story out on a lighter note, showcasing his brand of humor longtime readers of Fable's have come to know and love. Make no mistake; the humor doesn't cheapen the story or the ending in anyway. It's just nice to see our characters get what we feel is owed to them; especially that dastardly rouge Ali Baba.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Fatale #7

Aug 15, 2012

Overall, fans of pulp magazines will get a slightly denser interpretation and fans of film noir will get a slightly skewed interpretation of their respective genres. Fans of both, will get a welcome introduction to both.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fatima - The Blood Spinners #3

Aug 22, 2012

Gilbert Hernandez's art and story-telling are beautiful. If you missed out on Love and Rockets in the 80"s and the newly released trades seem like too much for you to handle, then get this book and the other two before this 4-part limited series ends!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Flash (2011) #11

Jul 25, 2012

This is team that DC cannot break up anytime soon. This series has blown me away since issue one and rest assured that I will be getting the hardcover when it comes out in November. If this book isn't in your pull box each month you are depriving yourself from not only a great series, but one of the best superheroes there is. And yes, that was totally bias (and true).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E. #12

Aug 9, 2012

I couldn't be happier with the conclusion of Kindt's first arc and I eagerly await the crossover tie-in of The Rot. Let the showdown between Dr. Frankenstein and his monster commence"may the best demon win!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fury MAX #5

Aug 1, 2012

The art is superb and never flails. From the widescreen panels of Fury diving out of a plane, to the crumbling city streets of Cuba, to the tension of having Fidel Castro in your crosshairs, artist Goran Parlov is able to keep pace with Ennis's quick wordplay and fast pace scenarios.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Gambit #1

Aug 8, 2012

I suppose the best praise that I can give for this comic is that I have added it to my pull list. I will definitely be reading the next few issues as I think this has great potential to be a lasting and quality offering from Marvel. It will be one of those books that excels by being in the shadows and far removed from the spotlight of The Avengers or X-Men.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Godzilla: Half-Century War #1

Aug 11, 2012

It is certainly difficult to try and decide what is better, Stokoe's art or his script. I am very anxious and excited for the next instalment in the series. The ending to this issue left me begging to see what Stokoe has in store for Murakami and Kentaro as they tread into uncharted territory. I can't tell you how happy I am that I took a chance on this book the other day. It was such an amazing read that I felt compelled to write this review even though I met my quota for the week. I want to spread the good word about Godzilla: The Half Century War in hopes that others can find the joy that can only be found with a two hundred foot tall irradiated, fire breathing lizard.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Green Lantern (2011) #11

Jul 25, 2012

Green Lantern has been on a slow build for awhile, maybe too slow for too long. As Johns' next big story "The Third Army" approaches things are starting to get a feeling of progressing again. Green Lantern is done treading water and is back on its' way to something big. The Guardians plan slowly comes together, while Hal and Sinestro have the much more imminent threat of Black Hand to deal with. For the first time in nearly a year, I can't wait for the next issue of Green Lantern.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern (2011) #12

Aug 15, 2012

Green Lantern is a book that I feel has been on shaky ground since the New 52 relaunch. Longtime readers aren't sure exactly where John's previous GL work falls in the grand scheme of the reshaped DCU. Geoff John's ability to tease events to have them pay off later was once one of the strong points of the series. Back then, there was compelling stories going on during the time between major happenings. Now it seems that all the hints and clues are surrounded by fluff story arcs that go on longer than they need to. Green Lantern can't seem to build the kind of insane momentum it was known for two years ago. I hope the next story arc really gets this series going in the right direction. Green Lantern has gone from the first book I would read to one that's hanging onto my pull list by a thread.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harvest #1

Aug 2, 2012

Not for the faint of heart, kids and those easily offended by the depiction of murder and mayhem, Harvest #1 is a tour-de-force in the comic medium. It deserves to stand shoulder to shoulder with the best Image is currently putting out (which makes it one of the best in the entire industry!). This series needs to find its way onto your pull list, you aren't going to be disappointed when all of the ties thread together at the end and we're left breathless.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #1

Aug 2, 2012

I have been won over by this book. I would argue that it is a must read for all comic fans. It's going to have a little bit for everyone and at the end of the day Clint Barton is more like us than he is the heroes his world seems to be so filled with. He's just a guy with a bow and an arrow who will get a bruise when punched hard enough and has down-to-earth heroism in his blood. This comic is definitely on my list for the long haul, very pleased with the work displayed so far and can't wait to see where we go next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy in Hell #2

Dec 31, 2012

There is a lot of history in Hellboy's life, so it's hard to say that Hellboy in Hell is a “jump on point” for new readers looking to get into the Mignolaverse, but if you've never read any Hellboy this is at least a chance to see Mignola doing what he does best and that's writing and drawing the character he has poured his blood, sweat and tears into for years. This issue might come on too strong and some people might find themselves a little bit lost if you've never read anything with the “Hellboy” name on it, there's no time like the present to get started.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy in Hell #3

Feb 6, 2013

Hellboy is fighting against his destiny and if we know anything about Hellboy there's a whole lot more fight left in this big red ape demon. This first arc is ramping up, now that we're past the first few introductory issues, and it's some of the best work from Mike Mignola and Dave Stewart that we have ever seen. Mignola's vision is crystal clear and we're no doubt in for tons more crazy encounters and battles before we're through.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy in Hell #4

Mar 4, 2013

These four issues, hopefully with the addition of a whack of sketch book goodies, are going to make an excellent trade from Dark Horse. If you still haven't read Hellboy in Hell, you will have another chance to come out when the trade comes out. Until then, you have a ton of stuff from the Mignolaverse to catch up on. Get to it!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Higher Earth #4

Aug 29, 2012

Higher Earth definitely has a lot of potential. The concept of one Earth ruling all others in a multiverse is exciting and unique. There are some daring things that Humphries can do with this book and certainly some surprising twists and turns that he can throw in. At this stage Higher Earth is still falling a little shy of its full potential. This book is still a good one and a very fun read. If youre a fan of sci-fi then I encourage you to check out this book if you havent already. There is a lot of untapped potential here that could make this book an amazing one if Humphries handles the next few issues properly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Hit-Girl #2

Jul 25, 2012

John Romita Jr. is the JRR we all know and love. His usual semi-blocky figures show incredible motion. Romita also excels at the hyper-violence that lives in the Hit-Girl/Kick Ass universe. We never got to see heads explode during his Spider-Man run, and I think that's a reason why the gore stands out so much. Hit-Girl takes place in our world. No magic rings or aliens, just two kids trying to right wrongs in a corrupt city full of gangsters and dirty cops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hulk (2008) #56

Aug 15, 2012

I'm not sure how much more I can say about this comic. I enjoyed it even though it didn't totally blow me away. Mostly I'm looking for the big payoff that I can guarantee you is coming next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Indestructible Hulk #1

Nov 21, 2012

So far, Marvel NOW has had some books that didnt quite stack up (see Iron Man #1) and has had some books that really stood out (see Thor: God of Thunder #1.) Thankfully, but not so surprisingly, one of the most anticipated books of the entire REvolution, or whatever theyre calling it, is also one of the bestif not the best of Marvel NOW! Character focused Mark Waid and a very talented Leinil Yu make this a must read book for any fan of the Hulk and it definitely deserves a read for people that might not have liked a Hulk series up to this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Indestructible Hulk #2

Dec 19, 2012

Indestructible Hulk holds on to the top spot in the NOW “re-launch” with this issue. With something as expertly crafted as this, there's no need to rush out four issues in 5 or 6 weeks just to make sure the audience doesn't get bored or lose interest–like many of the other titles have done. The fact that we have to wait like any other book makes the anticipation for this book, and subsequently the reward, that much sweeter. There is, to my surprise, a lot of really good Marvel NOW titles that have come out and, hopefully, have yet to come out but this one is something special. If you're not reading this title, for whatever reason, your pull list has a hole in it that only a large, green man in purple pants can fill. Better get to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible #100

Jan 30, 2013

Theres a change coming for the Invincible that we know and love, and with the way Kirkmans twisted mind works theres no doubt that its going to be for the better. The cliff-hanger that Kirkman leaves us with opens up so many questions and so many possibilities for the future. This is a superhero series that needs to be read, especially if youre only reading big two stuff, and you have some catching up to do. Bottom line; the work that we get on a monthly basis from the entire Invincible team continues to be absolutely stellar and its hard to argue with the caption above INVINCIBLE. This just might be the Best Superhero Comic Book in the Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Judge Dredd #1

Nov 20, 2012

All in all, this was a good first issue for the relaunch of Judge Dredd on this side of the work. I like the feel of having two shorter stories, which plays on the original serial issues from 2000 AD, and I think that Duane Swierczynski is on to something good. If you're a fan of Dredd, or even somebody who's curious about him this is a good place to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark #12

Aug 22, 2012

Justice League Dark has consistently been one of DCs best books. I highly recommend picking up issue #12 and, if you havent been reading JLD, then I urge you to hunt down some back issues and jump on this incredible series at issue #9! You wont be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mars Attacks #3

Aug 21, 2012

This is a fun book to read. There is much mayhem and destruction to be found within the pages. This isn't an amazing read but if the title has piqued your interest then you'll likely enjoy it. As previously mentioned, my greatest complaint about the series is the lack of direction, I need a little bit more than "the destruction of humankind" to get me totally invested in this series. If an overarching concept does emerge in the next issue I would certainly consider increasing my rating of this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Masks and Mobsters #1

Jul 25, 2012

Joshua Williamson is the writer of the first chapter of this crime anthology and it's very apparent that Josh has a real talent for writing this style of book. Although it's only 17 pages the writing feels like you want to read on more and more. The whole story really has a familiar kind of feel because you can see the influences of the crime style, with a superhero twist that really appeals. This combined with the black and white art style make for a really cool start to a great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Masks and Mobsters #3

Oct 22, 2012

Over all, this comic sped by. At only 10 short pages, the team of Williamson and Henderson definitely swung for the fences and packed everything that was needed into these panels. There are no filler pages and everything is in this issue for a reason. This is .99 cents on Comixology and, frankly, there is no excuse to not pick this series up. It's a quick, fun read and another great take on “masks” in an industry that is full of them. I definitely look forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Masks and Mobsters #5

Dec 19, 2012

I say this all the time, but for something like this .99 cents is more than worth it. It's a quick, fun read that's perfect to break up some of the more serious comics that you might be reading. Sit down, because you don't have to go out for this, and buy this off of the fantastic ComiXology app and enjoy. It's that simple.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mind MGMT #3

Aug 1, 2012

What I love about this book is the amount of story you get in them. Matt Kindt has taken the time to use almost everything piece of page in this printing to provide you with the most bang for your comic dollar. The front and back inside covers have a side story that enriches the history of the Mind MGMT. There is a Mind MGMT case file story at the end of the book, which profiles another significant character in the Mind MGMT history. Also, in the margins of the comic panels are Field Guide tips which outline suggestions for Mind MGMT field operatives. All of these little details really enrich the story, and if you take a longer look at the cover of this issue (I almost missed it the first time), you'll notice even more!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mind MGMT #4

Aug 22, 2012

The additional stories and MIND MGMT Field Guide tips once again further enrich Kindt's eerie world of psychic espionage. Given the dolphin on the cover and the subject of the two side stories, there seemed to be a deliberate focus on animals this issue. While the focus didn't pan out directly into the main story, it gave us an insight and just what sort of abilities our MIND MGMT agents are capable of in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2011) #12

Aug 15, 2012

Regardless, if you can ignore the predictable bout with that Nightwing has with Paragon and focus on the character work that Higgins builds between Dick, Tony Zucco's daughter and their attempt to revitalize Haley's Circus, then you clearly see that Higgins's is slowly building towards something much larger and has been for quite some time. Personally, I'm excited to see where this is going, but would rather skip filler issues like these to get to the inevitable destination.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Planet of the Apes Cataclysm #1

Sep 5, 2012

All in all this book is definitely a fun, interesting book that looks at, and re-examines, a classic story. There really is no limit to what they can do in this world and I, for one, will definitely be sticking with this book as well as getting the trades of the last two arcs under the Planet of the Apes banner–I believe they both come in out trade paperback form sometime in November and/or December. If you're looking for something fun and a little bit different to read, pick this book up. Plus, there's an awesome Alex Ross cover. How can you go wrong with that?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Planet of the Apes Cataclysm #2

Oct 3, 2012

All in all, I'm definitely going to stick with this series. It's done really well, from all angles, thus far and I'm curious as to where some of these loose ends and side stories are headed. I don't know if things can get much worse for the people"crap, I mean Apes again"of Ape City, but I definitely want to find out. Wait did I just jinx it by saying things can't get worse?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Planet of the Apes Cataclysm #3

Nov 6, 2012

Overall, this has been a very good series from BOOM! Studios and there's a lot of crazy possibilities for Corinna Bechko and Gabriel Hardman to take and I can't wait to see how this limited series ends. Death, destruction, mayhem, Apes shooting Apes, crazy Humans and possible Ape clones. Who can't go wrong with a story like that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Planet of the Apes Cataclysm #5

Jan 3, 2013

I've said it before"and I've also said that, "I've said it before" before"but you really should try this series out. If you don't quite want to jump into the middle of it then start with a trade like Betrayal of the Planet of the Apes which, I believe, is two arcs before this one. It gives you some background and some insight to the story being told now. After that, check out Exile as I mentioned earlier. You'll have no choice after that but to check this Cataclysm series out. It's worth it. This isn't some big franchise story that just being pumped out for quick and easy cash three times a month. This is a story that is well crafted and really matters. So do yourself a favor and pick this up. You're not only treating yourself, but you help make it possible to continue getting awesome stories like these.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Punk Rock Jesus #2

Aug 8, 2012

Sean Murphy is proving to be one hell of a storyteller. His cast of characters is so well developed and defined in only two issues it feels like a whole seasons worth. Punk Rock Jesus is layered with subplots and questions about the motives of the cast. Murphy's tale is beyond compelling in the way he presents story points and then leaves them dangle for later. He's creating a self contained world of media hype and corporate misdeeds. At 32 pages of story with no ads, PRJ is a steal at $2.99. It's only six issues and I bet if you checked out the first two, you'll be in until the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Revival #2

Aug 15, 2012

The follow up issue to a breakthrough series is a touchy one. Sometimes #1 is mind blowing and #2 brings nothing else to the table. It can be hard to one-up something when you pull all the punches off the bat. It's obvious all the punches that were pulled in the first issue were nowhere near "all the punches". I have a theory about series like this: the first issue needs to invest the reader automatically, and leave them in suspense at the end. The second issue needs to follow up on the suspense without spilling all the beans in the first few pages, and needs to leave you with more questions in the end than answers at the beginning. So much is unsure, and so much is complete attention grabbing story writing. I am in this series for the long haul, you should be, too. If you haven't already, go and read Revival #1, and pick up #2 in your next trip to you local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #6

Aug 15, 2012

If I've said it before, I've said it a million times. If you are not reading Saga in all of its twisted, freaky, topless spider-lady goodness you are most certainly missing out. Okay, maybe the topless spider lady thing should be in the freaky category, but still. Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples are pulling no punches and they are truly pouring themselves and all of their talents into this story. There is an absolute endless amount of things that can, and I'm sure will, be done with this book and I find myself already counting down to the next issue and even the issue after that. The amount of books that I read on a monthly basis is" well, let's just say a lot. Saga is without question top three each and every month. So go, my lovely readers, and pick this book up. When the trade comes out, get that too. Soak it up and all of its twisted goodness.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Secret Avengers #29

Jul 26, 2012

I know that a lot of you are probably tired of Avengers titles but if you aren't turned off too much because of Avengers and New Avengers then I really do suggest you pick up this issue of Secret Avengers to follow along with the new story arc, it's a great jumping on point for the series. If only the other Avengers books were this good"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Avengers #30

Aug 22, 2012

Im really looking forward to the next issue of one of my favourite books. This is the level on which every other Avengers title should strive to reach. Superhero comic book fans this is a must-read series. And dont sleep on Remender either, dude can tell one hell of a good story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadowman #1

Nov 6, 2012

With one issue, i think the team of Justin Jordan and Patrick Zircher have actually taken over second place as my favourite Valiant series, just behind X-O Manowar. Ghosts, meat-monsters are only going to be the tip of the ice berg for these two. First issues can be misleading sometimess–either too good or too bad–but I think I can safely say that this has opened a whole new door for the Valiant re-launch that you are not going to want to miss. Go out and buy this issues on Wednesday. You will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sledgehammer '44 #1

Mar 13, 2013

Sledgehammer '44 #1 is a really cool new beginning to a new character from the mind of Mike Mignola. The writing duo of Mignola and Arcudi has yet to disappoint and although the art doesn't do it 100% for me, it's definitely nothing that should stop people from picking up this book. There's a lot yet to learn about Sledgehammer, and hopefully we end up getting more than just these initial two issues out of this awesome creative team. If you like anything else in the Mignolaverse, or any kind of World War II/Sci-Fi story, than this is definitely something you should be picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Space Punisher #2

Aug 8, 2012

If you haven't already picked up the first issue of this series I'd recommend that you do it. As I mentioned in my review of that issue I believe this Limited Series is going to be enjoyable for more than just Punisher fans. There is a lot here to like. Trust me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spaceman #8

Jul 25, 2012

The most impressive thing about Spaceman is that in 8 issues Azzarello and Risso have created a fully realized alternate future reality. One that, given the reality TV obsessed, fame driven culture of today, may be a little too close for comfort. Spaceman will take you to another place and show you every dark, twisted corner that resides there. Its an unflinching look at what our society values, shown to us through the view of a man whos been to Mars and back. I brain Orson wishes he would have stayed there. Say?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars #1

Jan 7, 2013

So, what do you say about something like this? Did it meet expectations? Yes. As a matter of fact, it exceeded expectations and has really set a tone for the rest of the series. Having something this promising coming out this close to Star Wars heading back to Marvel is scary. Thankfully the silver lining is that Brian Wood already works for Marvel. Whether or not this series carries on or ends sometime down the line won't matter after you read this issue. It's a seamless re-entry in to an amazing series from a top-talent writer and a hell of an art team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars #2

Feb 12, 2013

If you're a fan of Star Wars, especially the original trilogy, than this series is something that needs to be on your pull list. So far, these issues have not been the most action packed, but it feels like Brian Wood is really going to spend some time with this familiar group of characters and give us a much better understanding and appreciation for them. We're in for a treat with this series, no question. Now, if only we can add in some classic sound affects

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2011) #20

May 8, 2013

At the end of the day, this new creative team put up a great “first issue” and plant some seeds for an exciting arc to come. Considering some of the mediocre stuff coming from DC these days, it's nice to see something like this stand out from the pack. Oh, and did anybody else read all of Harley's lines in the same voice as Batman: The Animated Series? Yeah, of course. You all did. It just can't be helped.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Swamp Thing (2011) #12

Aug 1, 2012

Unfortunately next month brings the Zero issues of both books, so we will be left in suspense until October. I wouldn't skip those #0 issues though. They promise answers to questions about the origins of Swamp Thing and Animal Man. Questions, I'm sure, readers have had since the New 52 re-launch will be answered. Snyder and Lemire are telling a sprawling epic and I wouldn't want to miss one second of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Creep #1

Sep 12, 2012

The art of Jonathan Case is good, I enjoyed it. Its almost noir style plays well with the character that Arcudi has brought to the table. There was a sort of stoned-dream sequence where the art takes a bit of a shift that I really enjoyed, actually. I want to see more from him, and see what he has in store for the rest of The Creep. Bottom line here, I did like the story. Its being built up, and Arcudi is crafting a world for us to enjoy and want to come back to. This is only the beginning of this series, but I will definitely be back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The First X-Men #1

Aug 1, 2012

On the bright side, Magneto's last page reveal is by far the most entertaining thing that The First X-Men #1 has going for it. This bodes well for a limited series with a mediocre debut issue. Hopefully, injecting Magneto into the rest of this series will make it much more entertaining and worth the book's $3.99 price tag.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Manhattan Projects #5

Jul 25, 2012

The Manhattan Projects #5 hits the ground running and never stops. It's wonderfully paced between action and tension. Though not full of quiet moments, the one we do get raises large questions for the tones and themes of the series as a whole. If you've been reading MP from the start, you'll be happy to see overall story picking up speed. Hickman has all his pieces in play and now the real game is about to begin.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Massive #3

Aug 8, 2012

Brian Wood has created a massive world for The Massive and gives us small tidbits of side story information in the back pages, which never goes unappreciated for readers like me, only edifies how complete Wood's story is shaping up to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Rocketeer: Cargo of Doom #1

Aug 21, 2012

Between the writing Mark brings, and the combination of Chris and Jordie on the art, this comic is a great place to pick up for new readers, and great for fans of this character. It is a brilliant comic to pick up and is a very fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Savage Hawkman #11

Jul 26, 2012

In my opinion this is a must-have from DC's current offerings. The story is compelling and interesting, the fight scenes are many and brutal and the artistry is outstanding. If you're looking for a good jumping on point I would suggest you go back to issue #9, it is the first issue by Liefeld, and you will be able to work your way up to this outstanding issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Savage Hawkman #12

Aug 22, 2012

The Savage Hawkman is one of my favourite DC titles. It is bitter sweet to see Liefeld go but I am hopeful that the next writer will be able to follow in the footsteps of this controversial comics legend and give us a great run on this amazing character. I will be heartbroken if this book is cancelled after this fiasco. Choose wisely DC

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Underwater Welder #1

Aug 9, 2012

Greatness has been achieved by Jeff Lemire. He is a role model and inspiration to me and I will read Underwater Welder many times over again. Not because I need to remember what happens, but because it is a legitimate piece of literature and a study of the two things every human in the world shares: life and death.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Walking Dead #101

Aug 15, 2012

When all is said and done, the book is great. The cliffhanger at the end, has me anxiously awaiting the conclusion of the story arc in the next issue. There's also a preview for Sina Grace's (Lil' Depressed Boy) new book Not My Bag. Check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #103

Oct 17, 2012

The solicit recommends that this is a great jumping on point for new readers and I might have to disagree. There is so much that has happened that has edified these characters that I feel it's doing them a disservice by not reading the previous issues, but I also wouldn't want to dissuade any one from picking up this issue and jumping on. My recommendation is to check this title out, and start reading the back issues whichever way you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thief of Thieves #7

Aug 1, 2012

I'll admit that the previous issues seemed a little dragged out and stretched, but if you've been keeping up with the series, this is where you get your pay off. Spencer hands the baton off to the next writer, James Asmus, with a lot of palpable characters that I can't wait to find out more about.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Think Tank #1

Aug 8, 2012

To sum up this book is brilliantly written, and the art keeps up with the intelligent writing style and works very well together, I'm very glad I picked it up, and I will definitely be carrying on with this book; a brilliant first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Thoughts on a Winter Morning #1

Aug 14, 2012

Thoughts on a Winter Morning is open, honest, and heartwarming. It's about the memories we cherish, and creating new memories to look back on. If you are still in high school, Thoughts on a Winter Morning might not be the best read for you. If you are like me and have a few children and have been out of school for more than a decade, I think you'll find Thoughts on a Winter Morning to be a wonderful tale of remembering the past, while keeping an eye on the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Thun'da #1

Aug 13, 2012

The art by Cliff is good, it really helps add to the kind of silent dialogue. You really want the art to help show the world we have been transported to. It really is a great collaboration between the team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny Avengers #1

Oct 10, 2012

As with any of the new Marvel NOW books, there is no way they will let what happened in AvX go without mentioning it in damn near every series, guaranteed, so you will be brought up to speed in one story or another. Some series are going to be better than others, its just a law of averages, and I still feelas expressed in the first RCB Central Podcastthat this whole Marvel NOW bit is just a way of mimicking the success of DCs New 52 but there are going to be some books that you cant help but pick up and enjoyagain, the law of averages. This will be one of them. Rick Remender, which I really cant say enough, is a hell of a talent and hes really firing on all cylinders right now. Look for his other series, with John Romita Jr, Captain America, volume 7, as well. Its sure to be tied in, or get tied in, with Uncanny Avengers at some point so why not start early?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny X-Force (2013) #1

Jan 23, 2013

Aside from the ending feeling rushed, the comic really is a good start to this new chapter of Uncanny X-Force. If you enjoyed Remender's run, it's definitely worth giving this new Sam Humphries run a chance. He's a very talented writer, and you really can't judge a new series with only a #1 issue. It's appears to be a good team that Humphries is building and, not to mention, Bishop is back! Who didn't love this guy from the 90s X-Men cartoon? Oh, and that last panel with Fantomex is just just gross. And creepy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Venom #21

Jul 26, 2012

I wish more fans of superhero books would support comics like Venom over say, New Avengers. New Avengers is the team that sells out every game but only shows up every once and awhile. Venom is the team that brings it every night but doesn't get the recognition because it isn't as 'flashy'. This is a damn good book. Read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Venom #22

Aug 9, 2012

Now that we have come to the end of Remender's amazing run on Venom, we are left to ponder one thing. Will Cullen Bunn be able to make the staying power, violence, emotion, cleverness, originality and quality that Remender brought to the book. Without those qualities, I'm afraid we might lose this great hero to find only small doses of him in Secret Avengers. I certainly have my reservations about Bunn- I am not his biggest fan. I didn't like his work on Wolverine. I was sent into a small berserker rage after reading the first two issues of Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe. I dropped the Captain America &" book halfway through his first arc due to boredom. He has a lot to prove in my eyes and he has big shoes to fill. I am hopeful that he will hit his stride with my beloved Venom.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom #23

Aug 22, 2012

I must say that I came into this book skeptical simply based on the fact that Rick Remender is one of my favourite writers of all time and he left very big shoes to fill and also the, frankly, poor writing for Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe. Maybe poor writing is too harsh, but it just wasn't good. It was boring, predictable and actually seemed rushed to me. Regardless of the 4 issues in 4 weeks schedule, it seemed rushed and like his full attention wasn't on the Deadpool limited series. After reading Venom I think I can move past the Deadpool series and welcome Cullen Bunn with open arms into his new role as writer for Venom. I just hope that he doesn't stretch himself too thin with the rest of his writing duties and let Venom turn into the kind of work that Deadpool Kills was.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wonder Woman (2011) #12

Aug 15, 2012

Wonder Woman #12 is a key point in Azzarello and Chiang's take on the character. Story points that have been building since issue one come to fruition. That said, issue 12 is as much a beginning as it is an ending. It sets up the book's next story and teases events that, no matter how far down the road they occur, promise to make for some very interesting and compelling stories. Azzarello has already played with Wonder Woman's origins for her New 52 incarnation. After seeing what happens during her fight with Artemis, coupled with that amazing tease on the last page, I don't think Azzarello is done tweaking the character. I never read Wonder Woman regularly before this series so I'm not attached to any particular version of the character. I feel the way Diana is represented here is one of the more compelling characters in the DC universe. Brian Azzarello and Cliff Chiang have not only made me really enjoy Wonder Woman, but now I'm impatiently waiting for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Legacy #272

Aug 22, 2012

I'm in suspense over what will happen to Rogue, and how all of this craziness will tie in to Marvel NOW! A good, refreshing read that pulls away from the pack.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar #4

Aug 24, 2012

I can't wait to see more from Robert and Cary and I especially can't wait to see this Ninjak guy in action"if the previews are any indication it's going to be epic. Valiant Comics is swinging for the fences with each issue and they're really, and truly, putting out some quality work. For being the only other publisher, aside from Marvel and DC, to have a complete universe for all it's characters"I think I read somewhere 1500 characters or so? That could be wrong"I'm sure they could have pumped out 10 books all at once and had them be "okay", with maybe a shining jewel here and there, but they've chosen instead to focus on a small number of books and make them great. I applaud Valiant Comics and I look forward to the rest of the Year of Valiant. Viva Valiant!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
X-Treme X-Men Vol. 2 #1

Jul 30, 2012

I'm not sure if Greg picked Stephen for the art on this book, but together they work very well together. It may be a little confusing if you aren't up to date with all the different X-men series, but they're really not required to read this book.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More