Robert Tacopina's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin, The Comic Addiction Reviews: 142
7.5Avg. Review Rating

7.0
27 #1

Dec 13, 2010

This series is a nice change of pace from my standard practice of superhero books. I enjoyed the plot and the scenario in which the main character is placed in. I am eager to see where the story goes from this opening issue as there are many questions that have been introduced that are just yearning to be answered.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
5 Ronin #1

Mar 4, 2011

What is the purpose of this issue? Does it serve to further the character in any significant fashion? Does it set up a storyline? The answer to both is "No." Instead, it seems just like a shameless attempt to milk readership of their money. Honestly, If not for the artwork, this issue would be a total waste. In the end, I find myself simply not caring to indulge in this limited series any further after this point, which is a shame considering it introduces some intriguing elements.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #17

Oct 8, 2013

All-New X-Men #17 is a prime example of the X-Men done right. The tight-knit family feeling infused with rich characterization solidify the fact that the mutants are in very capable hands under the pen of Brian Michael Bendis.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Amazing Spider-Man #612

Nov 19, 2009

Being a big time Black Cat fan I can say that I enjoyed this for the pure Black Cat element. She is an underused character at the moment but it won’t be long before she gets her chance to shine. I always enjoyed that tumultuous relationship the pair share as Felicia is only interested in Petey when he is Spider-Man. All things said this story was pointless when focusing on instances not pertaining to Spider-Man and the Black Cat but shined when the spotlight was on the pair.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man #614

Dec 12, 2009

The cliffhanger was excellent and brings this first act to a nice close while kicking the doors wide open for the next chapter. It will be interesting to see just what the baddies have planned and how they will go about attempting to achieve their goal. Even with the previous high and low points I really hope that these new players on the board raise not only the stakes but also the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #617

Jan 16, 2010

A fun issue with action and drama all rolled up into a oversized issue that features a Rhino back-up (with Javier Pulido on art and Matt Hollingsworth providing colors) which reiterates the story above by fleshing it out and going into further details of the Rhino specifically post Civil War. Writing and art on both tales was great and I really dig the work of artist Max Fiumara. His pencils are fun and compliment the story while adding to it. Just a great read front to back.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Amazing Spider-Man #624

Mar 11, 2010

Yet my biggest problem with this issue was the art. I really hate to trash creators but I would be negligent if I didn’t mention that I absolutely abhorred the art in this issue. It felt rushed and uninspired and lacking on all levels. Normally I have nothing but high regard for Paul Azaceta’s work but this was just disastrous. Peter Parker in particular was garish. The colors provided by Andres Mossa were bland and monotonous as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man #638

Jul 23, 2010

In the end this issue was just there. It didnt really deliver anything One More Day worthy at least not that has been revealed so far. I do think that the potential for the rest of the arc to open things up and infuse those moments are potentially there. The question is, can they be executed properly?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Amazing Spider-Man #640

Aug 27, 2010

Honestly, this was a waste of an issue outside of the Kingpin and Dr. Strange. The rest was a mere re-threading of what has come before. My concern now is how are Joe Q & company going to wrap this up into a cohesive tale with one issue left? I dont think that there is ample time to answer the questions that need to be answered. Perhaps the final issue will be a straight to the point affair but judging by the previous issues that doesnt seem plausible. Just get this over with, hope it is in someway salvageable, and get Dan Slott on ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Amazing Spider-Man #641

Sep 13, 2010

In closing this has been what feels like a waste of time. Thankfully this is all hopefully behind us for the time being and we can get on to the good Spider-Man stories that the readers have been clamoring for over the course of the past few months. Maybe if I am feeling really masochistic this weekend I will sit down with both "One More Day" and "One Moment In Time" and read them as a whole to try to make more sense out of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Amazing Spider-Man #642

Sep 13, 2010

I find it hard to give this issue a positive review because in my opinion outside of the rogues and Doc Ock there is nothing at all to be positive about. I hated the art with a passion and the story was so inconsistent in terms of characterization. This is one of Marvels flagship titles and they need to give it the love it so greatly deserves because this isnt cutting it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man #644

Oct 1, 2010

This arc has turned out to be pretty entertaining and I am definitely going to be following it to the conclusion. There have been some bumps along the way but Mark Waid has delivered a so far solid swan song for Spider-Mans Brand New Day.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Astonishing Spider-Man And Wolverine #1

May 10, 2010

This was a title that I picked up on a whim based on the creators attached to it. I didnt expect too much out of it but was pleasantly surprised to find that there was actually substance to be had within. Witty inner monologue and the promise of a dastardly plot against our heroes have me definitely coming back for more when issue two drops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2010) #7

Nov 19, 2010

Overall though this series has been a fantastic read and Bendis has certainly set the table for some intriguing possibilities.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Prime #1

Jun 6, 2010

Overall, this initial entry of the Avengers Prime limited series is very engaging. The scenario that is presented fits the story precisely--as do the characterizations of the three Avengers. The cliffhanger ending has my curiosity piqued for the next installment and for where the journey will take us from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers World #1

Jan 14, 2014

Avengers World #1 was a perfect debut issue. It introduced many plot points, both grandiose and innovative, that should have no difficulty playing out into some intriguing storylines in the near future. It also treated us to familiar faces with more promising threats to encumber the team with. It's an Avengers World baby, we're all just along for the ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Avengers: The Initiative #31

Dec 26, 2009

Other than that major snafu this was a solid albeit average issue. The story and art were decent enough outside of what I have already mentioned above. My main concern is that whether or not the market will be able to sustain this title after Siege ends. I can definitely see both sides to the argument but sincerely hope that whatever the outcome may be we will get to see more of these characters like Constrictor, Tigra, Taskmaster, etc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2009) #10

May 13, 2010

Final Thoughts: I would have never thought that I would be so enamored with Batgirl but here I am gushing over this title. There really isnt much to dislike either. Granted, this isnt literary high-brow type of comic that people gush over but it is a very good display of superhero comics. Definitely the most under-rated Bat book on the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman #693

Nov 14, 2009

All in all this issue has made me decide that I am going to be sticking around for the foreseeable future. I am very interested in seeing how these events play out. I definitely am eager to see if there is any fallout between Dick, Huntress, and Oracle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman #698

Apr 16, 2010

Final Thoughts: I like the direction that Batman is headed in. The inclusion of the mystery themes to the story brings back memories of some great Batman stories and this certainly captured that feel. If the writer and artist can work on the process of shifting scenes than this issue would have been much more fluid and enjoyable. It was still a good issue and definitely worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman #700

Jun 13, 2010

The real shame in all of this is that the inferior story undermines the great art that is to be had in this issue. An all-star cast of artists contributed some damn good visuals to a story that betrayed all of their hard work. I have to confess that I am quite puzzled as to why DC would not have gone a different route with such a numerically distinct issue. I hope that I can find access to that Maybe Machine and get a glimpse of what could have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman #702

Aug 26, 2010

Batman #702 was a fantastically fun read and I hope that this level of quality can be expected each and every month. If so I will definitely find myself investing more time in the Batman family of titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #26

Dec 17, 2013

Batman is a must read for any fan of superhero comics. Issue 26 just cements this book as one of the most amazing reads one can find every Wednesday at your local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #34

Aug 19, 2014

Gerry Duggan's star keeps on rising and he is firing on all cylinders regardless of what topic and character he is undertaking. If you enjoyed his take on Batman with this issue be sure to check out his upcoming Arkham Manor that is one of the few new titles in the Batman stable that has recently been announced by DC Comics. If this story is any indicator of what to expect in Arkham Manor than sign me up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman and Robin #10

Mar 11, 2010

Morrison really wowed me with this one. He didn’t have to resort to out-there shenanigans to tell this story. This is the style he needs to use with this title. Not only was the writing great but the art was equally fantastic. Andy Clarke teams with long time Bat-collaborators Scott Hanna & Alex Sinclair to churn out a beautiful looking issue. Their renditions of Batman, Robin and Alfred are spot on yet manage to incorporate their own little nuances to the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman and Robin #15

Oct 24, 2010

I said it in the opening and it bears repeating, Batman and Robin is the essential comic book to be reading for anyone with a bat fancy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Streets of Gotham #10

Mar 29, 2010

Batman: Streets of Gotham constantly impresses and this issue is no different. This book will be right up the alley for those in search of a Batman story that lends itself more to the street and mystery elements that make Batman and his little corner of the universe such a compelling venue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Dark Knight #1

Jan 2, 2011

If there was any flaw to be found in this stellar premiere issue, it was the confrontation between Batman and one of his two famous foes that are present in this first chapter of Golden Dawn. My nitpick is merely the fact that when Batman is in a stranglehold by his vastly stronger adversary, he relies on bringing a marquee down on top of his opponents head which serves to knock his foe down face first to the sidewalk--thus creating a huge pool of blood. Yet, a second later, Batman has contained his enemy and is interrogating him with no signs of the just-concluded struggle. It just seemed like convenient storytelling that a sign, which wasnt particularly huge, would be capable of taking down such a behemoth of a monster.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Batman: The Return of Bruce Wayne #6

Nov 14, 2010

The Return of Bruce Wayne #6 was the most disappointing comic that I have read in a long, long time. Hell, even the art was a letdown considering the promise of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Birds Of Prey (2010) #6

Nov 11, 2010

The only detriment to this issue is the artwork, which is not bad in and of itself. The problem is that the discrepancies between the Lee and Melo pages is a jarring one at times and becomes a nuisance. Both do an admirable job in their own right, though I prefer Adriana Melo. Otherwise, Birds of Prey is just a damn good book filled with action packed fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Blackest Night #5

Nov 27, 2009

I really want to like this and up to a few months ago I did. Now I just want it to end and have Green Lantern back to being Green Lantern. Granted there are three issues to go and I am hoping that things turn themselves around, but I have serious doubts. There are serious needs that must be addressed in order to make this storyline as relevant as it once was and there is no doubt in my mind that Geoff Johns has the talent to fix these issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Estate #5

Aug 9, 2011

It is really actually rather tedious to try and review Blue Estate, as it's a title that is so tough to pin down to one specific genre. The best suitable description I could think of is this: part crime drama, part action, part humor that's supported by a cast of characters that aren't afraid to laugh and act a fool. Yet, those descriptors are a major part of an overwhelming infusion of charm that permeates from every page of this title from Image Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Blue Estate #6

Oct 15, 2011

Lately I have found a new outlet for my comics reading and that has been Image Comics and the vast multitude of assorted titles that they've been placing on the market. After all, one can only read so many superhero books before it all starts becoming a blurred mess. Luckily, Image has great offerings that fall outside of the cape and tights genre to satisfy those occasions of the mundane. Viktor Kalvachev's Blue Estate just happens to be one of those gems out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Boneyard volume 7 #1

Jul 7, 2010

Simply put, Boneyard is a masterful piece of comic book storytelling that has to be seen to be appreciated!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Brightest Day #1

May 9, 2010

Overall, this issue was one hell of a book! While the art was definitely good, it was the amazing storytelling that really paved the way on a book that was so freaking good you felt cheated at the conclusion because you wanted more. Brightest Day #1 is a shining example of what good comics are and what creators and publishers should strive for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Brightest Day #3

Jun 3, 2010

The art is great despite practically a dozen artists contributing to the title. It never loses its pace and runs along at a breakneck pace. It was such a fast and fun read that I had thought my copy was missing a few pages. However I really dont know if that should be considered a positive or a negative. I do have to applaud the creative team for managing to produce such a high quality book. I love where this event is heading, even though the cover misleads us in that there are no real answers to why these characters are back (yet).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America (2004) #605

Apr 30, 2010

Final Thoughts: Excellent writing and art has been a consistent with this title and that continues with this current issue. Now that this story arc has wrapped I am eager to see what becomes of Captain America as Marvel enters its Heroic Age. Will there be room for both men to hold the title? Overall, this book has never been stronger than it has been in the past few years. Ed Brubaker continues to serve up a variety of offerings that push the boundaries for these characters unlike any that have come before. It is these little morsels that have made the whole meal that has been Brubakers Captain America that much more filling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America (2004) #613

Dec 31, 2010

I was beginning to think that this title may be in danger of losing its focus but that fear seems to have given way to a newfound sense of excitement as the creators have really put forth a strong effort in The Trial of Captain America. Great writing by Ed Brubaker and absolutely stunning artwork by Butch Guice have Captain America once again firing on all cylinders!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #21

Oct 8, 2011

Ah, the joy of Chew. The Layman/Guillory created title featuring the cibopathic Tony Chu is one of those unique little joys in life. When the most happiest of Wednesdays hits, Chew Day, I run home and curl into my favorite reading nook and just immerse myself in the world of Chew and its consummate underdog, Tony Chu.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Constructing Green Lantern: From Page to Screen #1

Jun 15, 2011

Constructing Green Lantern: From Page to Screen isn't the first type of this book to be produced. But it is perhaps the most cohesive and coherent offering of its sort. Inguanzo skillfully allows us a deep look into the power battery to absorb all the imaginative creations of the men and women behind the scenes of the major film debut of one of comics most beloved and enduring characters. This book is the perfect companion piece for Green Lantern fans--whether they be fans of the comics, the movie, or both.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Daken: Dark Wolverine #1

Sep 16, 2010

Overall Daken: Dark Wolverine is off to a good start. It may not resonate with everyone due to the fact that it is essentially for more or less a Wolverine title. Though I think Daken has carved a nice little path for himself and can certainly stand on his own. If you do decide to give this a shot there is a nice little history recap in the back of the book that gives the reader the basic story of Daken so far. I am going to give this book the standard one-arc trial to since as of right now I am on the fence.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Damian: Son of Batman #1

Nov 5, 2013

It would be hard to recommend this issue to anyone but the most hardcore of Batman fans, those who need to devour everything Bat-related.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (1998) #502

Nov 14, 2009

I sincerely have to applaud the entire staff of this book for just rocking the socks off of me month in and out. I have no clue as to how they keep things this fresh and engaging but I hope that this is something that they can keep up with. Daredevil is a constant must read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (1998) #503

Dec 19, 2009

The Kingpin gets his hurt on by tearing into some of the Owl and Osborn’s thugs. The scene with Fisk and the awesome Lady Bullseye was simply too short but nonetheless outstanding and delivers the message crystal clear; you don’t mess with the Kingpin! Focusing back on Daredevil we find that he is addressing the Hand and calls out an assassin who, in the opening battle scene, cuts of the hand of a cop. Daredevil chastises him and the assassin, full of shame, kills himself. The issue ends with White Tiger basically asking Matt, who is at a loss for words, “what did he think would happen when he joined a league of assassins?”

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (1998) #509

Aug 15, 2010

There are a few missteps in the issue, but nothing that left a sour taste in my mouth. While I felt the Bullseye one-shot was unnecessary almost to the point of being useless, the same cant be said for Shadowland and Daredevil proper. They have both provided equally consistent and action-packed romps of either ass-kicking or inner turmoil.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil (1998) #510

Sep 12, 2010

Daredevil has been a strong title month after month, and so you have to wonder where Marvel plans on doing with the character at the conclusion of Shadowland. I cant think of a single character who has had to deal with so much crap as Matt has, which is what makes him such a great character to invest in. It only makes me hesitant for the end of this story as it is rumored that it will spell the end of Daredevil as we know him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Reign: The List - Amazing Spider-Man #1

Nov 21, 2009

Not only was this story a great one but also included in it is issue #5 of Brian Michael Bendiss criminally underrated The Pulse series that ran in the mid 2000s. Definitely a welcome addition as it gives further insight into the beautiful yet toxic relationship between Spider-Man and the Green Goblin.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doomwar #1

Feb 19, 2010

I highly recommend giving this limited series a look. It definitely feels like the old school Marvel style when limited series where used as a tool to tell a story that covers a great deal of characters in a self contained book instead of spreading it out into ten or so other titles that would all be affected otherwise. If issue 1 is any indication Doomwar is going to be a lot of fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fantastic Four #580

Jun 25, 2010

While each scene was equally superb the real standout star of this title is Hickman, who seamlessly transitions from scene to scene and circumstance to circumstance smoothly and flawlessly. It is incredible to see how he incorporates all these ideas into his book and is able to make it ebb and flow so naturally. Credit Marvel for recognizing Hickmans tremendous talent and placing him on a book that would take advantage of his talents. The Fantastic Four has been a phenomenal book to read and it looks like it is only going to get better!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fantastic Four #584

Nov 1, 2010

In case you havent realized it yet, I loved this issue!! Honestly this was the best book I have read in months regardless of the title or the publisher. And that is coming from someone who has never been that big of an FF fan. It all goes back to attaching the right creators to a book and this is definitely with out a doubt the case here with Jonathan Hickman. Every single element that he touched on here was done with extreme love and it is abundantly evident. This issue and title are a must read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2010) #1

Apr 18, 2010

There is no doubt that Geoff Johns has a long-term plan for this book, and you can be equally sure that the ride to where this series ends up is going to be a breakneck, adrenaline-pounding thrill ride that has you by the seat of your pants!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2010) #7

Dec 12, 2010

I have found myself enjoying the series, and this issue was yet another great addition to the current run. The cliffhanger has me waiting desperately to see what happens next. Flash #7 was a very fun book even though the title character was really nowhere to be found.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Generation Hope #2

Dec 6, 2010

As far as a second issue goes this wasnt bad but regrettably average. Gillen is a writer who has all the tools to deliver truly amazing work much like we have seen in the past. He needs to recapture that magic here because as I stated earlier all the pieces are in place for this to be a really interesting title.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Generation Hope #5

Mar 18, 2011

Good stuff all around for the most part. I look forward to the next issue and the promise of yet another light being lit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2005) #30

Apr 30, 2008

Green Lantern is a fun monthly book with a writer in Geoff Johns who constantly amazes with his imaginative scenarios and spot on handling of the Green Lantern characters. He has a vast knowledge of the inhabitants of Green Lantern lore and uses them to elevate these characters to new levels of greatness. The science fiction aspects are always a joy as we are exposed to many strange imaginations of alien races, worlds and technology. I think Green Lantern is possibly the most under rated DC hero but it shouldn’t be too long before Johns and company have a say in rectifying that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #45

May 31, 2010

In the end this was a very well produced book that suffered from one deficiency. I dont want to harp on it more than I have already but realize that I feel that it diminishes the overall appeal of the book if you are reading both Brightest Day and Green Lantern (isnt that everyone?). I find myself wanting to see more of the spectrum entities and what they truly represent and encompass in the grand scheme of things.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2005) #55

Jul 1, 2010

As an added bonus there is a very cool origin of Dex-Starr included that manages to be very interesting and provide a few chuckles to boot. Geoff Johns has once again managed to surprise and impress with what he has accomplished with this latest issue. I hope to see more of these little backups in future issues as the Green Lantern mythos has expanded drastically since Johns has been at the helm. The art here was provided by Shane Davis and was nicely done much like is previous collaboration on the Rage of the Red Lanterns one-shot with Johns. I do have to point out that DC editorial mistakenly credits a Shawn Davis in the story info. Now if this was done by a certain other publisher I am sure they would be flamed and taken to task but since this is DC it most likely won't be touched on by the DC Nation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern Corps #23

Apr 9, 2008

Frequenters of Comic Addiction may know how Marvel-centric I am. However, I have been making a more conscious effort to travel outside of my comfort zone of familiarity to venture into the DC universe. It is books like Green Lantern Corps that make me realize how much I have been missing and how fortunate I am to be able to jump into the fold now, better late than never. This is a fun book based in science fiction with a great premise and varied cast of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lantern Corps #46

Mar 20, 2010

Peter Tomasi is in my opinion a better writer than this and his insistence on using this tired routine is showing in his work. I do like his dialogue particularly in the case of Guy Gardner as he allows Guy to come across as an authoritative presence while still maintaining his edge. Patrick Gleason is the one consistent throughout this all as his work is continuously worthy of recognition.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern Corps #49

Jun 24, 2010

Green Lantern Corps has been a wonderful companion piece to the Hal Jordan Green Lantern comic and a strong addition to the DC line of titles in general. Editor Adam Schlagman deserves a ton of credit for making the Green Lantern books the strongest this company has to offer. It isnt often that an editor gets called out in a positive way but I am doing so here. Kudos to all who had a hand in this books creation for providing an all out space opera romp of action and emotion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps #50

Jul 31, 2010

Tony Bedard delivers yet another solid issue of the Green Lantern Corps. I enjoy how he is able to make something as mundane as an origin, especially one already shown, engaging and involved. His portrayal of Hank elicits sadness for the character. You hope that he gets his wish to finally die especially when you see how that desire seems perpetually out of reach. The Adrian Syaf pencils are consistent to what we have been treated to in the previous issues. It is hard to imagine but this actually surpassed the main Green Lantern title in my opinion this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lantern Corps #52

Sep 23, 2010

My biggest concern now is that three Lantern books may prove to be too much. You know the main title is rock solid with Geoff Johns at the helm. The newly launched Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors by Peter J. Tomasi has been a nice addition to the stable in its own right. This leaves the Corps as the odd man out at the moment. Lets factor Emerald out of the equation for a moment, however, since it is still in its infancy. In doing so you see the blatantly apparent contrast in quality between Green Lantern and the Green Lantern Corps. Hopefully the creative team will rebound in the next arc because this was a just average experience and with all the titles out there that just doesnt cut it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #1

Aug 12, 2010

If you are unfamiliar with the Green Lantern titles, this issue may prove to be a very difficult book for you to just dive in and enjoy. There are too many little nuances that will detract from the overall experience, too many questions to be asked. However, if you have been following along this will be a nice companion piece to what has come before in the Green Lantern titles. A little tightening up and this book could really excel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #5

Dec 18, 2010

I have been thoroughly enjoying all things Green Lantern and this series is no exception. The Green Lantern books are and have been at the top of their game and are arguably the strongest titles that DC is creating at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #9

Dec 10, 2013

Despite the shortcomings of this particular issue I can't stress enough just how much fun this title is. Every month Guardians of the Galaxy continues to impress and with 2014 bringing their much anticipated big screen debut Marvel's misfit band of spacefaring oddities are bound to grab the world by the balls.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #17

Aug 5, 2014

Perhaps the issue would have received a more favorable score if Nick Bradshaw could have had the opportunity to complete the whole issue or if Bendis could have managed to finagle more heart out of the second act. Also, why is Venom out here with the Guardians? Gripes aside this was still an alright issue of Guardians. If you miss this issue of GotG you really aren't missing out on much.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Guardians Team-Up #1

Mar 10, 2015

There were also some great comedic moments to be enjoyed as well. Two in particular stood out to me with one being the defeated look of Hawkeye as he realizes the two ships passing by and the other involves Rocket Raccoon calling out Spider-Woman for having a costume that points to her hoo-ha! Classic!Guardians of the Galaxy Team-Up #1was a super fun comic. Great story, art and humor all came together perfectly here. The only thing that has me concerned is that the format will become stagnant after a few issues, but I will give this a shot for the first arc since the debut was so fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Herc #7

Sep 16, 2011

Trying to incorporate your title into an event is a very tricky proposition one must undertake. There are so many ways for a book to fail based on the decision to try and tie book A into Event 1. Such is the case with Pak & Van Lente's choice to bring the pages of Herc into the events of Spider-Island this summer's Spider-Man event. Are Herc fans following or even remotely intrigued by the elements of what is unfolding in the wall-crawler's life? So many variables involved in creating a book aiming to reach a large market. Yet, this latest issue of Herc just friggin' works.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hulk (2014) #5

Aug 19, 2014

This new creative team has genuinely piqued my interest in a title in which I would normally have no interest. Gerry Duggan has been a tremendous fit on every title that he has touched and this is no exception. Duggan and Bagley have hit the ground running on Hulk with this debut that was part science, sci-fi, madness and all awesome!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Incorruptible #1

Dec 15, 2009

A sign that a book is good is when it makes the reader want to pick up any previous installments and that is exactly what this opening issue of Incorruptible has done. Having never read Irredeemable I have since ordered it from my LCS and will be picking it up with my regular haul. Mark Waid and company have done a great job at catching my attention and piquing my interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Indestructible Hulk #17.INH

Dec 24, 2013

Mark Waid's take on the Hulk has been one of the dark horse sleeper hits of the Marvel NOW rebranding. It doesn't get all the wonderful press and accolades like other titles such as Hawkeye, but make no mistake this is a title that has a good amount of oomph to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Inhumanity: The Awakening #1

Dec 17, 2013

The rest of the story essentially is told through the tweets and insagram uploads of Fiona, the struggling new Inhuman and the other social media handles mentioned earlier. Again, it is all worthless with the exception of Fiona's entries which actually progress the story. The big reveal at the end is that her dick-head brother has also transformed and is in the process of blowing some shit up. Mediocre writing and art is the name here. Blah, blah, blah.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man #20

Nov 27, 2009

Since learning that an Avengers themed event called Siege will deal with the conclusion of Norman Osborn’s maniacal tenure of leadership; I now feel that Iron Man will be the one to put an end to it. All the cards are laid out on the table that should provide the means to bring Iron Man back into the good graces of the Avengers as well as the Marvel Universe proper. I just hope that this doesn’t affect the substance of his solo title though as it is strong as it has ever been.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man #21

Dec 12, 2009

I can’t praise this title enough and that is coming from someone who was never the biggest Iron Man to begin with. The writing is absolutely top notch and Matt Fraction just continues to steadily make his ascent to the top of the comics world. Of course, Sal Larocca is no slouch either and his pencils really add to the overall story serving to flesh it out and instill artistic emotion into it. A constant must read top of the stack book!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man #22

Jan 16, 2010

Invincible Iron Man is a continual awesome read and one of those rare books that you await with anxious anticipation. In the grand scheme of things this run may go down as one of the essential readings for Iron Man enthusiasts.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
JSA All Stars Vol. 2 #2

Jan 9, 2010

Liberty Belle and Hourman venture to Istanbul in the hopes of procuring an18th century journal. Coincidentally they run into Icicle and Tigress of the Injustice Society. Both squads were apparently offered the mysterious book but it has vanished before either could retrieve it. It was a neat little tale that will continue next month and actually has some meat behind it instead of some pointless filler.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2006) #40

Dec 19, 2009

Being somewhat of a casual Justice League follower I did at times find myself confused by what was presented on the page as far as continuity goes. Fortunate for me I have the power of Wiki to help fill in the holes and bring myself somewhat up to speed as to what was going on. I thought the dip into Steel’s origin definitely helped and was a welcome addition to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2006) #45

May 22, 2010

The Justice League has become an afterthought for me under Robinsons guidance. It wont help any that the JSA is going to be playing a role of significant importance for this storyline as I have already stated my disdain for that particular team. I am going on record here in stating that if the ship isnt righted by the end of this arc I will find another venue for my dollar.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mass Effect: Redemption #4

Apr 8, 2010

Final Thoughts: Overall the story wasnt bad and fans of the property will undoubtedly find some interest in the Mass Effect comic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Avengers #31

Nov 21, 2009

It appears that Slott & Gage have found their niche in the Avengers universe and while the two writers have worked together before on Avengers Initiative it feels that they are just now truly coming into their own. By utilizing the strengths of each others skills the duo have added some much needed punch to an affiliation that has been outshined by their “New" counterparts. If they can somehow hold onto the momentum they have attained there is no reason at all Mighty Avengers can’t become the premier Avengers title on the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Knight (2011) #6

Oct 7, 2011

It's about damn time that Marvel Comics has really upped the game in their treatment of Moon Knight! The character has so much potential to be a break out star for the publisher, yet Marvel seems to drop the ball with every opportunity to elevate Moony to the next plateau of heroes. Now under the creative guidance of writer Brian Michael Bendis and artist Alex Maleev it finally appears that Moon Knight is finally poised to achieve that level of fan boy fervor that deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Morning Glories #2

Sep 19, 2010

Morning Glories is a damn fine display of the art of story telling. It has all the right things going for it--interesting characters, a mysterious premise, and (most importantly) a creative team that is firing on all cylinders. This comic is easily the best new book on the stands and I urge everyone to give this title a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Mutants (2009) #12

Apr 13, 2010

Final Thoughts: Overall, this was a very compelling issue. While not as spectacular as the previous "Second Coming" chapter, it was still a worthwhile tale and served its purpose of propelling the story further. My only gripe is that I would have expected Cypher, Sunspot, Magma and Dani to play a larger part in this issue. Still, a definite must buy for anyone who is curious about the New Mutants and "Second Coming."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Outsiders (2007) #25

Dec 19, 2009

Peter Tomasi captured the essence of the Blackest Night theme and executed with precision leading the reader on an action packed emotionally twisting ride. I enjoyed both parts of the story and found them to be equally entertaining. I know that Dan Didio will be taking over this title in 2010 and I am a bit skeptical because Tomasi has been doing a good job with the Outsiders.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Outsiders (2007) #28

Apr 3, 2010

The saving grace of this issue is the art. Philip Tan’s pencils are not on top of his game but capably tell the story and convey emotion well enough. It just suffers for inconsistencies all the way through but luckily does not cause any distractions because that is the last thing this issue would have needed. It is all not negative though as I feel that Didio does an impressive job of pacing the story and adding a depth to the plot. If he could manage to get a grasp on just who these characters are and how they behave he may be able to churn out a seriously good title instead of this identity crisis that plagues the Outsiders.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Outsiders (2007) #28

Apr 2, 2010

In the end though this issue was a let-down for the most part due to the reasons mentioned above. It just became extremely hard to buy into the story when so many characters were fundamentally flawed in the authors design. It is possible that Didio can turn things around because there is some potential there in the foundation to build upon. However, it is of utmost importance that a better grasp of who these characters are is necessary to make that happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Pigs #2

Oct 20, 2011

Pigs is a wickedly insane title right in the wheelhouse of any self respecting espionage/conspiracy aficionado. Shit, what more could you ask for in a title that depicts a Cuban KGB sleeper cell activated in present day, with agents who are dead set on their goal of infiltrating American soil and overthrowing the U.S. government than the glorious scenario that the writers have dreamt up?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punisher (2011) #4

Oct 14, 2011

Okay, I'm gonna be upfront here: I've never been a big Punisher fan, nor have I understood the appeal of the character. To me, he always seemed sort of generic in comparison to the other characters that Marvel's stable consist of. He has no powers; he's a gun toting psychopath with a one-track mind dialed in on vengeance. I get the whole backstory with his family, yet it just seems far-fetched to me how this man can seriously hold his own in a superhero-centric realm.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Random Acts Of Violence #1

May 2, 2010

Honestly, I found nothing positive at all in Random Acts of Violence, which is a shame because the preview really interested me with its captivating monologue and artwork. Unfortunately that preview was the best that this book had to offer. Even the artwork of the preview was the best that was to be found in the issue. I cant recommend this story to anyone unless you are a fan of either the creators (Palmiotti, Gray, and Giancarlo Caracuzzo) or terribly executed stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Revolutionary War: Alpha #1

Jan 14, 2014

Revolutionary War has all the foundations in place for an engaging and compelling storyline. My biggest concern is that the series will be handed off from one creative team to the next and anything promising with its debut will be lost when the next creative team takes a whack at it. Hopefully that won't be the case.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scarlet #2

Sep 5, 2010

You feel the pain, joy, sadness, trepidation, and everything else the creators throw at you through the sheer power of the Maleev art. The feel is dark and gritty and fits this story perfectly. Scarlet is a fine example of the medium of comic book art done right, and it has become one of the best books out there in its very short time on the market.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Screamland #3

Aug 6, 2011

Screamland #3Posted: Saturday, August 6, 2011By: Robert Tacopina Harold Sipe, Christopher SebelaLee Leslie, Kyle Strahm, Aaron Gillespie, Buster Moody (c)Image What a fucking riot! Screamland is just a chock full of fun, easygoing comic storytelling. The creative team really has come up with such a novel approach to their story and it is quite refreshing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Avengers #1

May 28, 2010

There are so many different areas where Brubaker can go with his storytelling on Secret Avengers using this eclectic cast. Call me a Marvel Zombie if you must, but I loved this book and urge everyone with a few dollars to spare to consider checking this title out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Avengers #4

Aug 20, 2010

As I stated at the top, this is the Avengers book that you should be reading. It has everything going in its favor from a terrific cast of characters to an engaging storyline to a creative team that know how to rock your socks off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Shadowland Blood on the Streets #1

Aug 16, 2010

Perhaps it was simply just a matter of taste but this attempt was far more convincing than Bullseye was in proving that there may be substantial storytelling to be enjoyed outside of the Shadowland proper. Where Bullseye felt like it was almost forced upon you, Blood was a pure joy to let yourself get absorbed in. It also lent a hint of optimism as to what quality may be found in upcoming tie-in issues. For me, this issue made Shadowland that much more interesting in general by giving you a smaller piece to the larger puzzle.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Shadowland: Bullseye #1

Aug 6, 2010

Now I want to make clear that this certainly has nothing to so with the art team, led by Sean Chen, who churns out a nicely illustrated book. Even writer John Layman, to a fault, can earn a slight pass since the writing isnt outright bad. It just doesnt serve a purpose. But, if I am wrong and this does end up being a relevant matter than it was simply poorly executed by the writer and editorial. I am extremely wary for the further one-shots that are going to be flying the Shadowland banner because if this is any indication of the comics we can expect I will be sure to save a bunch of scratch and stick with the main title only.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Shadowland: Ghost Rider #1

Sep 20, 2010

As a one-shot goes this issue served its purpose by actually providing the reader with some additional information. Though one must take into consideration that the only truly relevant bit pertains to the hows and whys of Ghost Rider's participation with Fisk. Otherwise this is definitely a stand alone, take it or leave it tie in book that for all intents and purposes that will mainly be enjoyed by completists or extreme Ghost Rider fanatics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Siege #3

Mar 17, 2010

I thoroughly had a blast reading this issue and don’t have any complaints at all. Yeah someone will inevitably find something that irks them but in my opinion this was an excellent book and Bendis and company did an incredible job. I can not wait for the final issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Siege: Embedded #1

Jan 8, 2010

Now do I feel that this is required reading? Absolutely not. In fact the only ones who will really appreciate this are those who are so invested into Siege that they are compelled to devour every morsel pertaining to the event. Of course this is only issue 1 of 4 and things may turn around. But at this point in time I wouldn’t be able to sincerely recommend this as anything other than filler.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Skullkickers #1

Aug 17, 2010

In all sincerity I absolutely loved this debut issue! It is not the type of book I would have normally considered picking up but after reading this I will be waiting for this bad boy with eager anticipation. There is a plethora of stories that are ripe to be brought to fruition with this title just on the basis of this first issue and the range the diversity of its premise allows. Not only that but this feels like a property that could actually extend outward from the comics and find its way to your television, computer, or mobile device. Skullkickers was a ton of fun to read and I am looking forward to more...now! Now I dont know how much skull this book will kick but if Zubkavich, Huang, and colorist Misty Coats can maintain this high level of production value it will definitely be kicking a lot of ass!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Skullkickers #8

Jul 2, 2011

Skullkickers #8Posted: Saturday, July 2, 2011By: Robert Tacopina Jim ZubkavichEdwin Huang, Misty Coats (c), Marshall Dillon (l)Image Skullkickers continues to be an incredible comic book, and this newest issue is potentially the strongest offering in the series so far. There is simply so much happening that you can not help but by drawn in by the intricacies that this book has to offer. For those of you who have yet to witness the brilliance of Skullkickers allow me to digress for a moment and enlighten you its two blundering main characters. Baldy is a musclebound, pistol-packing badass, and his accomplice Shorty is a vulgar, axe-wielding dwarf. The two of them engage in farfetched tales of fantasy laced with violence and humor.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Man vs. Vampires #1

Oct 29, 2010

With Halloween a few days away and the vampire menace taking in the mutant menace in the Marvel Universe, this was perhaps the best time for this title to release. After all, it was a cool one and done story that allows for the reader to just kick back and not have to over think anything and just enjoy the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Woman #3

Nov 20, 2009

Now I will say that since I own the motion comic I already know where the story is going for this opening arc but it hasn’t ruined one moment for me yet. I still wait eagerly for each subsequent issue to come out as they continue to build momentum until we reach the eventual conclusion. If you are intrigued by the Spider-Woman character and are looking for some superhero espionage than you should be reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Woman (2014) #5

Mar 10, 2015

Yet the most obvious thing that will be taken away from the art is the new costume design for Spider-Woman. Gone is the classic body suit in favor of a much more street-level costume. I could actually see this new costume fitting wonderfully in the Marvel Cinematic Universe version of Spider-Woman. I enjoy the new look and the new direction of the book — then again I also happen to be somewhat in love with Spider-Woman so you may have to judge for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars (2014) #2

Feb 10, 2015

Visually, this was a truly stunning comic. Artist John Cassaday proves up to the task of making the Star Wars universe one of the prettiest comics to look at. His line work is sharp and clean, with a great amount of facial detail that perfectly captured the likeness of Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford and Carrie Fisher.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Purge #1

Apr 12, 2010

Final Thoughts: Purge is a fantastic one-shot that will no doubt appeal to Star Wars fans of all ages and, regardless of your investment to the universe that has captivated millions, will leave a smile on your face if even solely for the artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Spider-Man #24

Dec 24, 2013

If you haven't been following this title you are missing out on a superior (pun intended) comic experience. The nods to continuity on the part of Dan Slott has been as brilliant as his lack of fear in shuffling the deck and changing things up. You gotta read Superior Spider-Man!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man #25

Jan 21, 2014

There are so many pieces put into motion by Slott and co-writer Christos Gage all leading up to the promisingly dark War of the Goblins. Superior Spider-Man #25 is a fun action packed comic book. Excellent writing and just great plotting have given Otto's reign as the wall-crawler a memorable one. Hopefully, Marvel manages to somehow keep Otto involved in the storyline even after the real Peter Parker returns.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Killer: Modus Vivendi #3

Aug 9, 2010

I cant believe that I am about to type these words but The Killer: Modus Vivendi #3 has so far been the high point of my weekly stack! Interesting characters with equally interesting and unapologetic viewpoints makes for a damn fine comic that deserves some recognition. I highly recommend giving this a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Many Loves of the Amazing Spider-Man #1

May 14, 2010

In closing, I thought that this was a worthy issue for fans of Spider-Man. While the Reed tale was the weakest of the three they were all entertaining enough and had great art attached to all of them. One of the things that make Spider-Man so relatable is his issues with relationships so it was a wise decision to focus on this. However, this could have been done in Amazing and felt right at home there. Better yet, Marvel could have published this for Valentines Day and it would have fit perfectly with the holiday theme.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Spirit Vol. 2 #1

Apr 25, 2010

I found myself deeply intrigued with The Spirit under this new creative team. Having said that I am going to give this a good arc or two to prove that Schultz & Co. can continue this stellar quality of storytelling and continue to earn my cash. While I did greatly enjoy the relaunch of this title I have to admit that with such a saturated market it will have to continuously impress for me to warrant adding another title to my pull list. If they keep this up it will be a slam dunk.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Transformers #6

Apr 27, 2010

Overall this has been a fun read much and one that will give you a chance to unwind and just relax with the story and its characters, which is a nice change of pace given all the hysteria that comes with the cape crowd. If Costa and Figueroa can maintain the quality of story telling that they have achieved so far than the future looks pretty bright for Transformers fans. The real trick is going to come in the form of converting those who have only a slight or passing interest to the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Transformers #14

Dec 9, 2010

Transformers #14 is a real fun book and it has managed to pique my interest for the series. The premise that was at the heart of the story certainly had me extremely interested for what not only is to come but what has passed as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thor (2007) #611

Jul 2, 2010

This is definitely one of the best issues of Thor that I have read in a good long time. There was a perfect mix of all the elements you would expect to find in a book dedicated to Thor and the legendary tribe of gods and warriors that he is a part of. A modern masterpiece of Norse greatness!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thor (2007) #612

Aug 2, 2010

Overall this was a very fun book that has plenty to offer up. For the casual fan it may be a little hard to immerse yourself into this due to the fact that there has been a ton of subplots occurring within the pages of Thor since the Siege event. Still, this was one of the better issues of the current release of books that I have had the opportunity to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Thor: First Thunder #1

Sep 17, 2010

When you take all of this into consideration and weigh the pros and cons you come to the realization that this is below average book whose sole existence is merited exclusively by the fact that Marvel is merely trying to ramp up more attention to their upcoming big budget film. I can't condemn them in that regard because this is a business and you need to put your product out there. However they should have used their resources to allow them to create a better product that would have been better suited to the creators involved and would have given the readers more than just a bland retelling of an origin story. As it stands I don't know if there is enough substantial material to warrant sticking around for the remaining four issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thor: God of Thunder #17

Jan 21, 2014

When all is said and done though, despite the artistic complaints, this latest arc of Thor: God of Thunder has been an explosive display of how talented Jason Aaron is as his run on the title, while only 17 issues, has been a kick to the nuts to our Norse god of thunder from the start and has no signs of slowing down.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Titans #20

Dec 12, 2009

In closing this was an issue of Titans that just serves for the sake of being a place holder between arcs. As I mentioned above it was a fairly straight forward paint by number type of story. The most interesting part of it happened to be the insight into Donna Troy and her flirtation with Tom the bartender. If you aren’t a regular Titans reader this issue wouldn’t be one that you would want to introduce you to the series as there just wasn’t enough to overly satisfy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny X-Force #1

Oct 8, 2010

Overall, this issue went a great way to ease the initial trepidations that many readers may have had going into the new direction. It also established that both Deadpool and Fantomex can be intriguing and captivating when written as they were by Remender. The character interactions were phenomenal, and I love how they bounced off one another regardless of the mood or situation. It had a great flow and a steady consistency.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Force #12

Jul 29, 2011

Uncanny X-Force #12Posted: Friday, July 29, 2011By: Robert Tacopina Rick RemenderMark Brooks, Andrew Currie (i), Mark Brooks (i), Dean White (c), Richard Isanove (c), Cory Petit (l)Marvel Does Rick Remender kick copious amounts of ass or what? In his first year on Uncanny X-Force Remender has proven without a doubt to be a phenomenally gifted writer with the ability to get into the heads of his subjects and make them accessible to the reader. In this latest arc, "The Dark Angel Saga," we see our surreptitious squad of X-Men traveling to the Age of Apocalypse in order to save Warren Worthington (Angel/Archangel) who is succumbing to his inner demons which were conveniently placed within him by Apocalypse way back in the first volume of X-Factor.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Men #523

Apr 9, 2010

Final Thoughts: An excellent issue to what appears to be a fantastic X-Men event. If these first two issues are any indication and the rest of the writers follow the precedent set by Kyle, Yost, and Fraction then Second Coming will be one heck of a ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men #525

Jun 14, 2010

The art was a step up from the previous Dodson art on Uncanny. Still, there needs to be more fine tuning in the tightness of the lines to match the caliber of the other artists contributing to this event. There are times when the art just appears to stretched out for my liking. All in all, though, this was another fantastic issue handled expertly by Matt Fraction and the art team. A fitting display of the X-Men at their best, fighting for their collective lives while their backs are against the wall.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #14

Nov 26, 2013

This issue was a very welcome change of pace from all the hustle and bustle we have dealt with over the past few months. Surprisingly, there was a tremendous amount of character development for young Benjamin as writer Brian Michael Bendis really delves into the character and fleshes out an intriguing story. Overall, Uncanny X-Men #14 is an interesting read that will leave plenty to contemplate with the origin-esque story of Benjamin Deeds.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Vengeance of the Moon Knight #3

Nov 14, 2009

Artistically this book excels under the steady guidance of Jerome Opena who uses his pencils to give the world a gritty edge. Much like Texeira and Saltares before him Mr. Opena seems like a perfect fit for this particular hero. Paul Mounts does a fantastic job of coloring the pencil work in equal fashion. All the pieces finally seem to have fallen into place and I think if the team just stays the course while continuing to add new elements than maybe Moon Knight may finally be able to kick that darn ball.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Venom #5

Aug 4, 2011

Venom #5Posted: Thursday, August 4, 2011By: Robert Tacopina Rick RemenderTony Moore, Tom Fowler, Crimelab! Studios (i), John Rauch, Joe Caramagna (l)Marvel Venom #5 scales back the action to take a heart wrenching view into the life of Eugene "Flash" Thompson. The appropriately titled "Father's Day" is one remarkable piece of storytelling right there, folks! Rick Remender's Venom series has been a blast from the get-go, but this latest issue was the proverbial icing on the cake to this point. For the all-out action sort of people, this may issue may be a let down for you -- outside of an opening sequence that features Venom thwarting a kidnapping ring by the Human Fly, this issue was basically a 101 on character building.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Widowmaker #1

Dec 10, 2010

I loved this issue and hope that it turns out upon completion as well as it has started off. Hopefully, it will also raise enough eyebrows and garner enough attention to enable McCann and crew the opportunity to continue working with these characters in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wolverine (2010) #10

Jun 16, 2011

Setting out to review this issue has been a difficult situation to be placed in as for every cool moment to be had comes with a moment of disbelief that leaves you scratching your head in confusion. The main antagonist for our clawed Canadian X-Men comes in the form of an organization known as the Red Right Hand and a small statured elderly gentleman who has been chasing Wolverine for over half a century.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wolverine (2010) #13

Aug 5, 2011

Wolverine #13Posted: Friday, August 5, 2011By: Robert Tacopina Jason AaronRenato Guedes, Jose Wilson Magalhaes (i), Matthew Wilson (c), Cory Petit (l)Marvel This latest issue of Wolverine, the penultimate offering of "Wolverine's Revenge!" sets all the dominoes up for the knockdown next month. The problem is that it feels like this storyline has been going on forever. The Old Man and his Red Right Hand have been like a sidekick to Wolverine during their journey of vengeance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #37

Oct 29, 2013

The penultimate chapter in the "Battle of the Atom" saga, Wolverine & The X-Men #37, sets things up for next week's final chapter with a twist that leaves our merry mutants facing a twosided threat. It's intriguing to wonder just how the creative team is going to wrap everything up here. All in all this was once again a very good issue despite some problems with the artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-23 (2010) #1

Sep 17, 2010

I loved this first issue of the X-23 series and think that Liu has implemented numerous elements that show that the writer has a tremendous feel for the character, whom she has written before. It also proves that Ms. Liu is definitely in her element and is the go to gal for dealing with Wolveresque characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Force: Sex & Violence #1

Jul 16, 2010

Normally this would be a title that I would be extremely impressed with but since it is Kyle & Yost it is just more of the high quality you would expect. And while the general gist of this story isnt blazing any new trails it is done exquisitely and is worth the read. If you are already invested into the endeavors of mutants this is a slam dunk no-brainer!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Giant-Size #1

May 20, 2011

"First to Last" is off to an incredibly strong start filled with great character moments and a long box or two full of tension. Spot-on writing and great art complete the package on a must read for X-Men fans!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Legacy #235

Apr 20, 2010

Final Thoughts: Another week brings another worthy portion of "Second Coming." After a lackluster period, it is evident that Mike Carey has rediscovered what made his X-Men title so thoroughly compelling to begin with and has reapplied those elements as of late.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Legacy #238

Aug 2, 2010

A great X-Men issue that fires on all cylinders!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Legacy #240

Oct 4, 2010

Overall, this arc and this issue has been a very strong showing of the talent that Mike Carey and his collaborators are capable of. Legacy may not get the attention that Fractions Uncanny does, but it is definitely on equal standing in terms of quality. In fact ,all the core X-Men titles are pretty much great reads consistently. I do have to tip my cap to Mr. Carey for upping the ante though. His decision to bring back the Children of the Vault was a smart choice and the story has been a fun action packed romp with an appropriate dash of character drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Legacy #242

Nov 29, 2010

Overall though this was a nice departure in terms of storytelling style and it appears that Carey has chiseled out another interesting predicament for the X-Men to be placed in, at least judging by this opening chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Vol. 4 #5

Nov 22, 2010

X-Men is a fun title to immerse yourself in. I was skeptical initially, but Gischler and artist Paco Medina have been steadily easing any hesitations I may have had regarding the series and its direction regarding the inclusion of vampires.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Vol. 4 #12

Jun 9, 2011

X-Men #12 is a balls to the wall roller coaster ride full of twists and turns that leaves you craving more!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Battle of the Atom #2

Nov 5, 2013

X-Men: Battle of the Atom #2 was a damn fun read regardless of the fact that it was plagued with unfavorable art, at least in the main story. The couple of splash pages were arguably the very best images offered and one contained a brilliant homage to the cover of X-Men #1. The endgame is that BotA has set up the pieces remarkably for the next phase of X-Men comics and has left them in an awfully interesting state. Ice Master, the future Ganalf-esque Iceman summed up the X-Men, this event and comics in general perfectly when he said, "Even when you think you've seen it all....there will always be moments that amaze you".

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Curse of the Mutants: Blade #1

Aug 27, 2010

If you can get past the artwork on this book you will find a darn good little story. It gave me a glimmer of hope that this whole Curse of the Mutants may not end up being half bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Schism #2

Aug 5, 2011

However, what we do know is that Quire, under the influence of billionaire child Kade Kilgore, has been set free from his detainment and has wrecked havoc in the form of the proverbial mind-screw on society. To make matters more complicated humanity responds by dusting off the old Sentinels out of storage and plans to sic them on the mutant population.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Zatanna #3

Jul 22, 2010

As it is I just cant whole heartedly invest into the solo adventures of Zatanna despite the fact that I really do like the character herself. Dini is a good enough writer to be able to work out the few kinks I found in this offering. He needs to better utilize the magical aspect of the spells and the accompanying incantations primarily. Personally, I think someone along the lines of a Grant Morrison would have much better success with this type of book. However, I do think there needs to be an artistic change though to make this a premier book. I do know that the next couple of issues at least will have a different artist. I sincerely hope that they can find the appropriate tone. Right now I am sticking with this solely for the fact that I am fascinated with Zatanna Zatara. If things stay this stagnant much longer I will be jumping ship faster then you can say ominoreg!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More