Brian Delpozo's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicsverse Reviews: 87
8.2Avg. Review Rating

7.2
Back to the Future #1

Oct 23, 2015

Overall, I would recommend BACK TO THE FUTURE #1 to die hard fans of the franchise, who should be able to look past the deficiencies in the art and enjoy the canon-friendly stories it tells.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Back to the Future #2

Nov 10, 2015

All in all, I would once again recommend BACK TO THE FUTURE #2 mainly to die-hard fans of the series. However, I would go further this time and recommend the A-Story in the book to any fans of alternate history novels or post-apocalyptic settings.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Back to the Future #3

Dec 10, 2015

BACK TO THE FUTURE #3 is easily the strongest entry in IDW's BTTF series so far, and it's a definite must-read for fans of the film series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Back to the Future #4

Jan 14, 2016

BACK TO THE FUTURE #4 is easily the strongest issue of the series so far. If it continues to get better, making the series an on-going one will be a decision to celebrate long into the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Back to the Future #5

Feb 25, 2016

As IDW's BACK TO THE FUTURE continues its transition into an on-going series from its initial mini-series roots, the book has produced its best whole issue to date. The backstory revelations alone make it a must read for fans of the franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Back to the Future #8

May 25, 2016

On the whole, BACK TO THE FUTURE #8 is another solid BTTF comic from IDW. It continues the “Continuum Conundrum” storyline in a satisfying way, though I wouldn't recommend it to new readers looking for a jumping on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Back to the Future #9

Jun 27, 2016

BACK TO THE FUTURE #9 is a strange issue to get a handle on. On the one hand, it feels like absolute filler in the “Continuum Conundrum” story, but on the other, it's a really entertaining read on its own. I would recommend it to fans of the franchise and characters for the cafe scene alone"with the caution not to expect much story progress.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Back to the Future: Citizen Brown #1

May 11, 2016

BACK TO THE FUTURE CITIZEN BROWN #1 is unfortunately a strap down from the main series it's spun-off from. I would honestly only recommend it for fans of the Telltale game who want to see how the adaptation goes. Anyone else should wait for the arc the main series is launching later this month, which is similar in concept but in a different, unrestricted continuity according to Gales introduction to this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2011) #41

Jun 26, 2015

BATGIRL #41 is a slight a reset issue for the series, though it retains the snappy dialogue and fun feel of the previous six issues. Returning from a long break, it establishes a status quo of Batgirl and Frankie being a team, meanwhile dealing with the idea of her father being Batman. Babs Tarr continues to dazzle with her art, though her solo work isn't quite as refined as the previous work on the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Batgirl (2011) #42

Aug 5, 2015

BATGIRL #42 shifts the focus almost entirely to Barbara's super-heroic work as Batgirl, so if that's an element that you've been missing it's definitely an issue for you to check out. However there's still enough character progression and spectacular art to keep regular readers happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batgirl (2011) #43

Aug 31, 2015

By now, it's no surprise that BATGIRL is one of the best drawn and solidly written comics in DC's stable, but this month is even better than usual as the creators have seamlessly weaved Barbara Gordon's personal and bat-lives into a fascinating tapestry.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Batgirl (2011) #44

Oct 6, 2015

Overall, BATGIRL #44 is not a bad comic book. It features an entertaining story that moves along several key plots, though admittedly weaker characterization than normal and art that, while very good, doesn't quite live up to the (admittedly insanely high) standards.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batgirl (2011) #45

Oct 30, 2015

BATGIRL # 45 tells a logical, well-told emotional story that's only aided by the absolutely sensational artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Batgirl (2011) #46

Dec 17, 2015

BATGIRL #46 is not the Batgirl/Spoiler crossover that the cover suggests, and anyone who goes in expecting that will be disappointed. However, it is another strong, if a bit overpacked, issue of the series that fans of the Batgirl of Burnside characterization will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Batgirl (2011) #47

Jan 22, 2016

BATGIRL #47 is a definite disappointment by the lofty standards of the series, mainly due to a loose plot. However, it may still be worth a read for fans due to the solid characterization and surprisingly strong guest art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batgirl (2011) #48

Feb 4, 2016

BATGIRL #48 is a definite comeback after last month's spotty issue, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who's a fan of the Burnside take on the character, or is simply a fan of comic book art that's different from the Big Two norm.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batgirl (2011) #49

Mar 7, 2016

BATGIRL #49 is a different type of issue for this creative team, but a successful one nonetheless. It answers a great deal of questions, while setting up the book's final three issues before "Rebirth."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2011) #50

Apr 8, 2016

BATGIRL #50 gets a definite and enthusiastic recommendation from me. It ends the Burnside team's era with a strong plot that ties up numerous loose endsand great art that ends Babs Tarr's seminal run on a very high note.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Batgirl (2011) #51

Apr 28, 2016

BATGIRL #51 is a book I initially expected to only recommend to readers of the current series since I assumed it would simply be an epilogue to the book's current run. However,Fletcher's foreshadowing of Barbara's post-Rebirth direction means that potential new readers who are interested in that title should check it out even if they haven't enjoyed the book's recent direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Batgirl (2011) #52

May 27, 2016

BATGIRL #52 is a strong issue that I'd recommend for those who enjoyed the Burnside run as a whole. Those excited for the upcoming REBIRTH BATGIRL and BATGIRL & THE BIRDS OF PREY series will also want to check it out, as Fletcher lays the groundwork for both.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #1

Aug 22, 2016

BATGIRL AND THE BIRDS OF PREY #1 is a hit-or-miss issue in both its story and, at times, its art. The well-done character work leaves me with hope that the series will be able to steadily improve as the creative team gets more comfortable with the comic book format.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey: Rebirth #1

Jul 21, 2016

If one can get past THE KILLING JOKE being back in official DC continuity, BATGIRL AND THE BIRDS OF PREY REBIRTH #1 is a solid read. While the driving plot feels a bit familiar, the reunion works well and seems to be setting the stage for an entertaining series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Black Canary (2015) #1

Jun 18, 2015

Black Canary #1 is a very intriguing start to a new series. Its musical setting and lack of almost any super hero tropes immediately differentiate it from almost anything else at the mainstream comic companies.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Black Canary (2015) #2

Jul 21, 2015

BLACK CANARY #2 continues the punk rock reinvention of Dinah Lance that Brenden Fletcher and Annie Wu began in Issue One. While it's a bit light on plot development, the character pieces, musical aesthetic, and stunning art make it an absolute must-buy for anyone looking for something different from the normal DC fair.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Black Canary (2015) #3

Aug 31, 2015

BLACK CANARY #3 finally marries the series' spectacular art and punk rock vibe with real plot development that establishes exactly what's at stake for Dinah and the rest of the cast, upping the book even further onto the list of DC's top books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Canary (2015) #4

Sep 18, 2015

BLACK CANARY #4 seems like a skippable issue on paper. It's the backstory of a character who sounds minor, with a fill-in artist to boot. The issue completely defies those expectations, presenting a compelling origin that makes said formerly minor character seem incredibly important and lays the groundwork for numerous potential storylines going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Black Canary (2015) #5

Oct 27, 2015

BLACK CANARY #5 is a step down from the fourth issue, and is the weakest of the series so far. That doesn't make it bad mind you, simply not up to the standards of the previous three issues.If you have any thoughts on BLACK CANARY #5 or this review, feel free to let us know in the comments below or on Twitter@Comicsverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Drax (2015) #1

Nov 9, 2015

DRAX #1 is a well written beautifully illustrated story, albeit one that feels a bit predictable and light on content.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Flash (2011) #50

Apr 21, 2016

Of the DC Comics double-sized fiftieth issues released over this past month, THE FLASH #50 would probably fall somewhere in the middle of the pack. There's nothing egregiously bad about it, however, there's nothing all that memorable either outside of maybe the Wally backup story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Flash (2011) #51

May 5, 2016

THE FLASH #51 isn't a great comic, but it's an improvement over the previous issue. The Riddler's plan comes completely from left field, but the moral dilemma he places The Flash in makes the book a somewhat engrossing read and sets up a potentially explosive finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Future Quest #2

Jul 8, 2016

FUTURE QUEST #2 is a solid read that will most likely be enjoyed by anyone who liked the first issue or even those who simply have fond memories of Hanna-Barbera's 1960's action cartoons. However the slow pacing of the plot hurts the story somewhat, and is a problem that will become much more noticeable if something doesn't change before the nostalgia-goggles wear off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Future Quest #3

Jul 31, 2016

FUTURE QUEST #3 tells two unconnected anthology stories, both of which are good in a vacuum. However, the issue as a whole loses much of the momentum the series has built over its first two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Gotham Academy #8

Jul 9, 2015

GOTHAM ACADEMY #8 is another very strong installment in what's quickly becoming my favorite series to read each month. The story is a multi-layered character piece in its own right and lays the groundwork for numerous mysteries that should play out in the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Gotham Academy #9

Aug 19, 2015

GOTHAM ACADEMY continues to be my favorite all-around monthly comic right now, and #9 is another home run from the creative team of Cloonan, Fletcher, and Kerschl. As cliche as it is to say, if you're going to buy one comic book this month I recommend this should be it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Gotham Academy #10

Sep 11, 2015

Artistically, artist Karl Kerschl and colorist Serge Lapointe deliver another good looking issue. Of particular note are the pages where Olive, Pomeline, and Maps act as the Three Witches from Macbeth. The only slight criticism I would offer is to a particularly striking cut that occurs in the middle of the book and doesn't make much visual or narrative sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Gotham Academy #11

Oct 27, 2015

Once again, GOTHAM ACADEMY produces an issue that not only gets my highest recommendation, but is easily my pick for best book of October so far. The plot is integral to the series, the characters are fun to read about, and the art looks great. Honestly, what else can you ask for in a comic book?Do you have any thoughts on GOTHAM ACADEMY #11 or this review? Let us know in the comments below, or on Twitter@Comicsverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Gotham Academy #12

Dec 10, 2015

GOTHAM ACADEMY #12 is a solid climax to the story that's been told over the first year of the series, but one can't help feeling like its ending was a bit rushed to make room for the upcoming crossover issue, which is a shame as Kerschl's departure marks it as a real end of the book's first era. I'd still definitely recommend it fans of the series, but it's definitely a notch below the books usual standards.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy #13

Dec 10, 2015

GOTHAM ACADEMY #13 is still an interesting issue, but the “Robin War” crossover elements read as forced, bringing my overall opinion of the issue down a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Gotham Academy #14

Jan 14, 2016

GOTHAM ACADEMY #14 is a smashing return to form for the series after the shaky previous issue. It kicks off the anthology-like “Yearbook” arc in a very entertaining way, and definitely leaves me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy #15

Feb 12, 2016

GOTHAM ACADEMY #15 isn't bad, but it certainly feels skippable for all except die-hard fans of the series. The anthology format of the “Yearbook” arcloses a bit of its luster, and makes one wish the series' normal format would return sooner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Gotham Academy #16

Mar 11, 2016

GOTHAM ACADEMY #16 is a return to form for the series. It's still in the “Yearbook” format, but done much more effectively than the previous issue. It gets a definite recommendation from me, and goes a long way in reestablishing the series as one of the best in the industry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Gotham Academy #17

May 12, 2016

The final two issues of GOTHAM ACADEMY's first volume provide a fitting coda to the series, which has been my personal favorite book on the market in the last two years. While they're not perfect, they're still really good and even at timesgreat, and I recommend them wholeheartedly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Gotham Academy Annual #1

Sep 2, 2016

My issues with the GOTHAM ACADEMY ANNUAL underscore my overall fears about the SECOND SEMESTER branding. I'm a bit worried that the series may veer into being a hollow version of itself. Still fun, with well constructed characters and plots, but without the heart that made the first twelve issues so memorable. However, I'm not ready to throw in the towel just yet, as I still have faith creative team of Cloonan, Fletcher, and Kerschl (who's returning to the book as a co-writer), and will be first in line to celebrate if they prove my fears to be unfounded.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grayson #19

Apr 28, 2016

GRAYSON #19 is a definite must-read for hardcore fans of the series since it ties a knot on some long running story arcs before Dick returns to his Nightwing identity. Causal fans may have a harder time getting into the issue, and I would definitely recommend they brush up on past events before reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Green Arrow: Rebirth #1

Jun 5, 2016

Overall, I would give GREEN ARROW REBIRTH #1 a hearty recommendation to fans of the classic Green Arrow characterization and his relationship with Black Canary. I would simply advise that they read the issue as a character piece and prelude to the upcoming series as opposed to a fully developed story in its own right.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lumberjanes / Gotham Academy #1

Jun 9, 2016

LUMBERJANES/GOTHAM ACADEMY #1 is a really fun ride. Fans of either series will enjoy it a great deal as it stays true to both sets of characters while organically putting them on adventure together. That said, knowledge of those titles isn't required to read it, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys fun, character-driven stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Lumberjanes / Gotham Academy #2

Jul 15, 2016

LUMBERJANES/GOTHAM ACADEMY #2 is a winner of an issue that shows howwell these two properties mesh together. The creative team uses their vast knowledge of the characters to craft an engaging story that will remain pleasing to fans of both series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Medic #4

Jun 28, 2016

MEDIC #4 is well-paced comic that I would definitely recommend fans of Double Take or the zombie genre check out. While the characterization leaves a great deal to be desired, the engrossing plot and nice artwork overcomes that for the most part.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #0

Jan 14, 2016

MIGHTY MORPHIN POWER RANGERS #0 is a must-read for fans of the franchise. While the B-Stories may seem superfluous, the A-Story from Higgins and Praysetya does a great job of setting up their upcoming MMPR series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #1

Mar 7, 2016

MIGHTY MORPHIN POWER RANGERS #1 is a definite must-read for die hard fans of the franchise, or those simply looking for a nostalgia-fix from their childhood.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #2

Apr 8, 2016

MIGHTY MORPHIN POWER RANGERS continues to improve on its strong foundation this issue, providing well-done action sequences combined with great character moments. Not only would I recommend this to fans nostalgic forthe franchise, but I would go far enough to say that even those who've never seen POWER RANGERS, but like good comics will find something to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #3

May 11, 2016

MIGHTY MORPHIN POWER RANGERS #3 is another strong entry in a series that just keeps getting better. Kyle Higgins has rooted the story in franchise lore, while at the same time making the material more adult to appeal to non-fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #4

Jun 23, 2016

MIGHTY MORPHIN POWER RANGERS #4 is mainly a big Zord battle, but it feels earned due to the character-based storytelling that's defined the series up to this point. The series once again gets a high recommendation from me, as it continues to be one of the best books on the stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #5

Jul 21, 2016

MIGHTY MORPHIN POWER RANGERS #5 is a fantastic read. Kyle Higgins and Thony Silas craft a tale that will delight longtime POWER RANGERS buffs while still appealing to fans who've onlyread the previous four issues of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers: Pink #1

Jun 1, 2016

I can't recommend MIGHTY MORPHIN POWER RANGERS: PINK #1 enough. The story is welcoming to new readers hungry for a well-written female protagonist, while at the same time acknowledging long-running loose ends from the series in a way that die-hard fans will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers: Pink #2

Jul 31, 2016

Boom's POWER RANGERS franchise has been one of the best mainstream comic lines of 2016 so far, and the second issue of MIGHTY MORPHIN POWER RANGERS: PINK continues the streak. The strong, character-driven plot and beautiful art make it another home run from Fletcher, Thompson, Di Nicuolo and co.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2014) #16

Jun 22, 2015

MS. MARVEL #16 falls a bit short of the series' lofty standards, though that has much more to do with the forced "Last Days" motif than it does the series' creative team. That said, it's still a better read than the majority of mainstream books on the stands right now, and should definitely be read by anyone interested in Kamala's on-going character journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Ms. Marvel (2014) #19

Oct 19, 2015

I can't recommend MS. MARVEL #19 enough. As a good final issue should, it wraps up several on-going relationships in ways that will feel appropriate to long-time readers of the series while leaving things more than open-ended enough for a relaunch. Be sure to let me know what you thought of the issue in the comments below, or on Twitter @Comicsverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #2

Dec 17, 2015

MS. MARVEL has been a hot streak since the "Last Days" arc, and it only continues here as issue two is another spectacular book. The plot, characterization, and art are all superb, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Ms. Marvel (2015) #3

Jan 23, 2016

MS. MARVEL #3 is yet another entry in the series' strong run. With a well-structured plot, wonderful characterization, and inventive artwork, I can't recommend this book enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Ms. Marvel (2015) #4

Feb 12, 2016

MS. MARVEL #4 is not only another strong entry in the series, it just might be the best one yet. I would strongly recommend this issue to anyone who likes comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #5

Mar 10, 2016

MS. MARVEL #6 suffers a bit from its rushed pace, but it's still an enjoyable read, especially for longtime fans of the series. The “Army of One” arc does feel a bit like filler, but it's still entertaining, and thedevelopment of the two families coming together is something I look forward to seeing explored further.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #6

Apr 28, 2016

As usual, MS. MARVEL #6 comes with the highest recommendation that I can provide. It's a smart, sweet issue that doesn't take itself too seriously, but never feels like self-parody. Plus, it has some great pre-CIVIL WAR II interactions to boot. Honestly, I'm not sure what more a potential reader could want.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ms. Marvel (2015) #7

May 26, 2016

The seventh issue of MS. MARVEL is a really fun Silver Age throwback issue. I would definitely recommend it to fans of the series or the Miles Morles version of Spider-Man. However, readers who see the cover and expect a full-on CIVIL WAR II issue may be a tad disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #8

Jun 23, 2016

As is typical for the series, MS. MARVEL #8 gets a high recommendation from me. While the issue definitely should be read by those who are enjoying CIVIL WAR II, I think even those who aren't particularly fond of the event will like the way Wilson tackles the central moral dilemma.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Raven #1

Sep 25, 2016

RAVEN #1 is a highly enjoyable read for fans of the character. Writer Marv Wolfman still has a handle on his creation, while artist Alisson Borges brings a youthful energy to the title's visuals. Combined, this creative team reinvigorates the character after a few years of false starts.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Robin: Son of Batman #12

May 23, 2016

Overall, ROBIN: SON OF BATMAN #12 feels like a filler issue that's just counting down the proverbial ticks of the clock until Rebirth launches. I'd recommend it to anyone who's a big fan of the Damian Wayne/Talia Al Ghul relationship, but frankly no one else.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Slab #4

Jul 6, 2016

SLAB #4 is a must-read for anyone who finds themselves interested in the Double Take Universe. The way the story ties together several of the company's on-going plot threads is executed with aplomb, leading to an interesting and important read for those who've been reading since the start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #4

Jan 14, 2016

RADIOACTIVE SPIDER-GWEN #4 is a return to form for the series, easily the best issue since the post-SECRET WARS All-New, All-Different Marvel relaunch. I would definitely recommend it to lapsed fans of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #6

Mar 10, 2016

RADIOACTIVE SPIDER-GWEN #6 is a really strong issue. It gives the "Greater Power" a very satisfactory, yet unexpected conclusion. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone who dropped the title after it's slow All New, All Different Marvel beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Spider-Gwen (2015) #7

Apr 14, 2016

SPIDER-GWEN #7 gets a solid recommendation from me, especially for those who are following the “Spider-Women” event. It's well-written as usual, with fill-in artwork that holds up to the series' standards.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Spider-Gwen (2015) #8

May 5, 2016

SPIDER-GWEN #8 gets a half recommendation from me. Those who are reading the “Spider-Women” crossover absolutely have to read it. However, readers who are only interested in the title character may want to skip the issue and simply seek out a synopsis of the reveals made about Gwen's past.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Spider-Gwen (2015) #9

Jun 18, 2016

SPIDER-GWEN #9 is a home run issue from Latour and Rodriguez. It firmly plants the book back in Gwen's universeand tells an emotional tale that's sure to pull at the heartstrings of longtime fans. At the same time, the issue's ending definitely sets up for big things to comeand makes it a good jumping on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Spider-Gwen (2015) #10

Jul 29, 2016

SPIDER-GWEN #10 is a very solid second entry in the series' latest story-arc. The introduction of the somewhat over-the-top Earth-65 version of Kraven elevates the book a great deal and counterbalances the realistic father-daughter dynamic that the series excels at.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Spider-Gwen (2015) Annual #1

Jul 1, 2016

While not every story in the issue is a home run, SPIDER-GWEN ANNUAL #1 is definitely a fun read that fans of the series will enjoy. At its best, the annual is a perfect meld of the series' hallmark character-work combined with meta humor about the very concept of comics. Latour reworks a classic Spider-Man tale to fit his universe, comments upon the inherent strangeness of the concept of The Watcher, recasts Steve Rogers as a comic book artist, and even finds room for Spider-Ham all in the same issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Spring #4

Jun 3, 2016

SPRING #4 shows that there's a lot more to Double Take than zombies based on an old film. I would recommend it to anyone who likes space-age psychedelia or those who enjoy stories that don't provide easy answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Star-Lord #1

Nov 19, 2015

While some of the story-beats will seem familiar to certain comic and science fiction fans, I would still recommend STAR-LORD #1 as a book worth checking out, especially for fans of Sam Humphries' previous work with the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Star-Lord And Kitty Pryde #1

Jul 28, 2015

STAR-LORD AND KITTY PRYDE #1 is one of the best issues to come out of Marvel's “Secret Wars” storyline so far. While it's plot is a bit exposition heavy at the start, it eventually starts moving at a brisk pace, with very strong characters and fun art. If the darkness of most of Battleworld is bringing you down, I'd definitely recommend giving this issue a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Star-Lord And Kitty Pryde #2

Aug 14, 2015

STAR-LORD AND KITTY PRYDE #2 is a really entertaining read that continues the romantic/screwball comedy vibe of the first. While there are some plotting issues, the characterization and art more than makes up for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Star-Lord And Kitty Pryde #3

Sep 5, 2015

STAR-LORD AND KITTY PRYDE #3 is superb, and the series overall has been my by far favorite series to come out of Marvel's “Secret Wars” storyline. Sam Humphries has a pitch-perfect take on the characters, and used the interesting neo-40's setting to great advantage. The writing was perfectly complimented by Alti Firmansyah's art, which provided an animated look to the series. I can't recommend these three issues enough, and would gladly welcome a return of this team to whatever versions of Star-Lord and Kitty Pryde emerge from the “Secret Wars” event.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Starfire #2

Jul 13, 2015

STARFIRE #1 was one of my favorite single issues of any comic I've read this year and I had high expectations going into this second issue. While this second issue falls short of the first in terms of its characterization, it matches the first in plot and art-work, making STARFIRE #2 a definite must-read, and the tease of a future villain should keep readers coming back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Starfire #3

Aug 22, 2015

STARFIRE #3 is a slight change of pace for the book, embracing slightly darker and more super-heroic elements. However, the light-hearted nature that propelled the first two issues is still present. The set-up of not one, but two mysterious antagonists also ensure that you'll want to come back next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Starfire #4

Sep 12, 2015

STARFIRE #4 is a step down plot-wise from the previous three, but the characterization and artwork makes it more than worth a read. Hopefully the fifth issue returns to the series' previous lofty standards.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Titans (2016) #1

Jul 29, 2016

TITANS #1 has some good moments, but in the end it falls short of its preceding one-shot. The plot is a bit redundant, the art is hit-or-miss, and the final reveal seems to lower the series' stakes considerably.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans Hunt #1

Oct 26, 2015

Have any opinions on TITANS HUNT #1 or this review? Let us know in the comments below, or on Twitter@Comicsverse

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Titans: Rebirth #1

Jun 18, 2016

TITANS REBIRTH #1 is not a perfect book, but in a lot of ways, it is the book die hard fans have been asking for since 2011. It picks up where TITANS HUNT left offand reestablishes the original team as a major part of the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wacky Raceland #1

Jun 15, 2016

WACKY RACELAND #1 is a bit of a mess. The issue tries to meld WACKY RACERS with a post-apocalyptic war-world and both concepts suffer because of it. While the art is pretty to look at, it rings mostly hollow due to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More