Chris Cooper's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Flickering Myth Reviews: 51
6.8Avg. Review Rating

7.0
All-Star Batman #6

Jan 12, 2017

I'm not sure how this issue will tie into what follows it, if at all, but so far Snyder is making great use of his own title. I love that I don't particularly need to be aware of events in Rebirth and I love that it's giving us a chance to see more of Snyder, especially as he flexes his writing muscles in new and interesting ways. To get great artists like Jock too? Well that's just the icing on the cake.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
All-Star Batman #7

Feb 15, 2017

I figured we'd begin to see how the arc will tie together and there are hints of it, but overall this issue falters. It's not overly interesting bar getting a ‘Rebirth' look at Ivy, and doesn't do much that can be considered new. It would be unfair to expect every issue in this series to be a masterpiece so I don't. But Snyder and co have set a very high bar and this month they can't match it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #1

Oct 11, 2017

I never thought I'd be that interested in Batman finally getting his comeuppance but Murphy has me hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 18, 2017

As an opening to what I assume will be a very busy and hopefully very entertaining crossover Justice League/Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #1 is a solid comic. There's humour, action, good artwork, and a not unreasonable McGuffin. Issue #2 should get us into the meat of things if this series is to keep up the momentum.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Saban's Power Rangers: Aftershock (OGN) #1

Mar 29, 2017

For a group of brightly coloured teenagers fighting aliens, Power Rangers: Aftershock was criminally uninteresting. It barely registered a tremor.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #57

May 1, 2016

I guess my biggest problem this month is that I'm impatient and want to know what's going on! That's pretty high praise for a murder mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #58

May 12, 2016

On the plus side it's still awesome to see the turtles together and unified. They seem to have better understanding of each other now so hopefully they've become a stronger team overall. It's look as though they'll need to be, as the last few pages start the ball rolling on the next big story arc. We get some awesome Mikey expressions too which is always a good thing. I'm not willing to count his oxygen mask as new head wear, so I'm looking forward to Santolouco giving him a new hat soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #59

Jun 18, 2016

I do hate having to wait each month for new TMNT. What I hate more is cliffhangers meaning nothing. So despite me being scared of what I might see in July I do hope IDW stick to their guns.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #60

Jul 29, 2016

The more I write the more I've confused myself. I finished the issue and thought it was great. But as I think about what occurred in it and the story decisions made by the creative team I'm left wondering if it's all been a bit fudged. We've seen worse from IDW, and overall the title is still going strong. This just might not be their finest hour.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #63

Oct 12, 2016

With a strong sister series to accompany it, TMNT is back on its feet. What a great time to read turtles comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #64

Nov 23, 2016

We might even get Mikey in a new hat next month. Merry Christmas indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #65

Dec 14, 2016

Then there's the ending. It could easily have become melancholy but instead makes fantastic use of the current situation to highlight what Christmas means.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #66

Jan 25, 2017

I've made it sound like the writing is of less importance this month. It really isn't.It's always really cool to see these characters punching flipping their way out of trouble. But it can be even cooler to see them display real emotion. Moments when art and dialogue comes together to make truly understand how they feel is special and #66 manages it in spades.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #67

Feb 16, 2017

We're past the standalone issues that saw us out of 2016 and into 2017. They were of such high quality that I was reticent to get back into story arcs. TMNT #67 puts me at ease. Let's do it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #68

Mar 23, 2017

We're left in several very interesting spots at the end of this issue. It's exciting! I'm a big fan of where things are going at the moment. I just hope Leo can step up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #69

May 6, 2017

We're right in the midst of a big story now, and I'm really enjoying it. With Hob making a decision that could well make Leonardo squirm and Raph cheer, next month will be very interesting. Month after month I'm left looking forward to what comes next. Well played IDW.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #70

Jun 15, 2017

Also depending on your own preferences, there might be some pretty cheesy dialogue in the through this issue. It didn't overly bother me but it did stand out. Then again, the TMNT are teenagers, so maybe they should be given a pass? So much is done well this month that I on reflection I think I can let it slide.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #71

Jul 1, 2017

TMNT #71 isn't some blockbuster issue filled with action. It's an intriguing character piece with some amusing frogs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #72

Jul 30, 2017

Overall I enjoy Wachter's art, but one thing is bugging me this month"Leonardo's swords. They're too damn skinny! It's not a big deal in the end but it rubs me the wrong way when swords look more like toothpicks. Otherwise I stand by what I said last month; Wachter is a spot-on choice for the Pantheon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #73

Aug 2, 2017

For the geek references alone I'd rank this issue highly, but it's also a well put together issue that proves that whilst IDW TMNT may now have been running longer than any other series, but it's still got plenty of fuel in the tank.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #74

Sep 29, 2017

I've discovered that next month's issue is going to 40 page long! Lots of space to craft a compelling finale to this story I hope. With Hakk-R, Triceratons, Krang, Nutrinos, Honeycutt all involved, it's a a pretty crazy time for the TMNT. Getting to #75 is quite the milestone, and one that IDW fully deserves to reach.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Casey & April #1

Jun 17, 2015

OK, so it's a not bad issue. But to be more than 'meh' to me I hope this story doesn't just become teenage melodrama. Signs say it won't, and I still trust IDW. But the jury is out.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Casey & April #2

Jul 22, 2015

As I've said many times, IDW have maintained an extremely high standard with their TMNT work, and this just doesn't meet it. I feel that I can already say it's the weakest story arc we've had. Still, I'm an optimistic chap so here's hoping next month's issue makes a bit more progress.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Casey & April #3

Aug 27, 2015

It's all very clich, with story beats we've seen a hundred times before. That would be OK if they were executed with some panache. But it's utterly lacking. Considering issue #47 of the main series contained a fair bit of Casey, which I really enjoyed, it's amazing that this does absolutely nothing for me. April can be an interesting character too, but the pair are not being treated well here.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Casey & April #4

Sep 29, 2015

Really the only positive I can take is that this story is now over and we can fully concentrate on TMNT #50, which promises to be an altogether more exciting affair.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Deviations (One Shot) #1

May 9, 2016

I just wanted more time with this alternate tale. Then it could have really shined.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #1

Sep 1, 2016

Back to the main story. Overall I think I was looking at this wrong. Universe isn't a secondary title; it might end up being an equal. Some people won't want to follow two titles which could become a problem but if you like the main series I see no reason why you wouldn't like this one either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #2

Oct 5, 2016

Universe #2 continues the strong start this title has made and is a very welcome addition by IDW.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #3

Oct 26, 2016

Universe is ticking along so nicely at the moment that learning more about the main adversary is the only thing I think can be improved upon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #4

Dec 2, 2016

One arc down and TMNT Universe has proven it's a fantastic addition to the IDW library, and a brilliant sister title to TMNT. Art, pacing, dialogue, a rubbish Eastman story, emotion and interesting things to come. It has it all!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #5

Dec 21, 2016

This is far from a bad comic. It's written well and I like the art; especially how it depicts Leatherhead and his physicality. If it hadn't come out in the same month as a great TMNT one-shot and just followed a fantastic first arc I may have been happier with it. Effectively TMNT Universe is a victim of its own success.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #6

Jan 19, 2017

After the really rather dreadful Leo backup in the first few issues we now have a different tale, this time drawn and written by Brahm Revel. Perhaps it will make more sense in the future, but I'm guessing its focus is on former Foot Assassin Jennika. It's mysterious and interestingly written as the current crosses with the past. Maybe I'm just dense but it is well put together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #7

Feb 22, 2017

I'm really happy with IDW TMNT at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #8

Mar 8, 2017

Before we finish for this month"Is 'What is Ninja?' the best backup in any TMNT story? It might be you know. I feel like I picked up what was going on a lot better this week. It's really poignant too. A well crafted piece that is coming together nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #9

Apr 28, 2017

TMNT Universe #9 is a promising start to a new arc. Despite my initial lack of interest in another Pantheon based story, Universe #9 has turned things around and left me interested to see where this is going. Angel and Alopex deserve more time in the spotlight and this is a great way to show them off. The artwork is great and Campbell's dialogue that sounds natural. I can just imagine their voices and this dialogue being appropriate.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #10

May 24, 2017

The story itself is relatively straight-forward. That's not a criticism; in fact it's nice to see. Things don't need to be made more than they need to be, especially when they can lead to big things in upcoming issues. This is still the best Pantheon related story I've read in TMNT.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #11

Jun 23, 2017

TMNT Universe #11 has its problems but still comes out the other side as a solid one-shot that introduces a character that I can't help but think will get on amazingly with Mondo Gecko. Hopefully we get to see that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #12

Jul 22, 2017

Despite some of the characters involved this seems to be setting up as a more grounded tale of intrigue and action. Karai has always been interesting; so young yet so determined. Seeing her loyal mutants find themselves again should be interesting too. Campbell and Burnham have planted enough seeds here to sustain an arc that I hope lives up to its early promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #13

Aug 18, 2017

This arc has the mutants supporting the human characters. It makes a nice change. TMNT Universe #13 doesn't blow me away with huge revelations but it's far from perfunctory.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #14

Sep 20, 2017

Like the issues leading up to it, TMNT Universe #14 is yet another solid month's worth of story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #15

Oct 18, 2017

The artwork is damn powerful and I had to dive into it, but it serves a story that has grown as it has progressed. TMNT Universe #14 closes off the Karai arc with one of the best issues of Universe so far, as the ex-leader of The Foot and her growing team not only complete their task but set themselves on a trajectory that will be sure to make huge waves further down the line. Maybe it would have been better as a whole and not in pieces, but it's been another strong arc that more than justifies the existence of a second TMNT title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Tekken #1

May 2, 2017

I'll be honest with you guys, I wasn't expecting much from this. But I'm pleasantly surprised. If issue two can keep up the energy and introduce some more story then we're onto a winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Destroy Everything #1

Jun 4, 2016

The script itself does an OK job of getting across a lot of information. It doesn't go as far as setting up B&R as heroes of the story but it does give us a good look at them. The setup leads me to believe we'll get to see more of the beyond destruction too. Their reaction to things feels right and they are really quite funny at times too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Destroy Everything #2

Jun 8, 2016

The time travel itself is explained pretty well, with the turtles confusion gradually getting cleared up. It's handled nicely and ties into the generally strong dialogue throughout. It really feels as though this is getting into its stride now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Destroy Everything #3

Jun 15, 2016

Overall I'm really pleased with how the story is progressing but there is one aspect that isn't sitting well with me at all. Donatello breaking the fourth wall. He's done it once before already and does so again. I don't recall it happening before in IDW TMNT and it feels very out of place. Mikey is the conduit for things being explained; I don't think we need to bed spoon fed as much as we are. Time travel is a complicated thing for sure but when it's coming across well enough in the story itself there's no need for more explanation. That's a nitpick though. The series is still going strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Destroy Everything #4

Jun 24, 2016

Issue 4 isn't going to do enough to put me off this series. It's taken an odd turn, with one time travel destination in particular an odd choice considering its seriousness. It might not be Secret History of the Foot Clan or Turtles in Time but it has been good fun so far. For all its shenanigans I don't think it's going to change the main title at all. All it will do ultimately (I think) is give us a better understanding of the relationship these two meatheads have with one another.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Destroy Everything #5

Jun 30, 2016

Has it been a resounding success? No. It's had some bumpy moments, though they might be cleared up when reading it as a trade paperback. Has it been entertaining? Yes. Multiple pairings of both mutated and unmutated idiots charging around time whilst the turtles (and Pepperoni!) try to help Renet fix it couldn't be boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
TMNT: Dimension X #1

Aug 3, 2017

This is a really fun issue. Next Mutation prejudices aside I'm a big fan of the writing and art. Can the other witnesses live up to this?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
TMNT: Dimension X #2

Aug 11, 2017

I do like the ideas being presented but I'm not as taken as I was last week. #2 looks great, but it doesn't quite hit the mark.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
TMNT: Dimension X #3

Aug 19, 2017

All three issues have been entertaining. I'd put this one second from what I've seen so far. It's a cool setting and I didn't spend it being reminded of Groot. Sure, there are some story points that I could get really bent out of shape about but this series is good fun. That's worth something.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
TMNT: Dimension X #4

Aug 25, 2017

With one more issue to go I'm curious how things are going to be tied up. Please don't kill off Hakk-R.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More