Christopher Rodriguez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 66
7.9Avg. Review Rating

7.0
American Gods: Shadows #2

Apr 11, 2017

This comic book is doing justice to the story. The plot is intriguing and the artwork is great to look at, but unlike the upcoming television series, I don't know if this was totally necessary. It doesn't have as a unique reading experience to it as I had hoped it would. I just feel like I'm retreading old ground, but I do admit, I love retreading this ground. It's a great story, and I can't imagine anyone picking up this issue being too disappointed with their purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Bane: Conquest #1

May 5, 2017

This wasn't horrible by any means, but it did not live up to this creative teams past work. The retro art style was fantastic, the Bane action scenes were fun, and he makes for an interesting main character. There just wasn't much in this issue to excite me. As a reader, I wasn't given any reason to care about any of this. There was no drama. With that said, I have no doubt this creative team will deliver in future issues, they're too good not to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bane: Conquest #2

Jun 7, 2017

I can't recall hating a first issue and then loving a second issue, quite like I did with Bane: Conquest. I hate to admit it because you shouldn't shove him into every story, but the inclusion of Batman made a world of difference here. Bane and Bruce Wayne bouncing off each other was done perfectly. A few hiccups aside, this series has a classic Batman feel to it, that I didn't know I needed till this second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batgirl (2016) #11

May 24, 2017

By now, if you're still reading this series then you know exactly what to expect: Fun little stories that explore Barbara's relationships. Though it's not my favorite series, I feel like the Batgirl creative team always accomplishes what it sets out to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batgirl (2016) #12

Jun 28, 2017

A light-toned Batgirl ghost story could have worked very well. Unfortunately, this issue felt like an afterthought. Despite a rushed plot, the artwork was phenomenal and the overall story was fun if nothing else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #33

Oct 17, 2017

A storyline moving along is always a good thing. Filled with some solid art and a few funny moments any Batfan will enjoy, this issue was a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 26, 2017

Because of the transition from New 52 to Rebirth, Dan Jurgens' job of taking Terry McGinnis on a new journey is a little tougher than one might expect. Still, I can't pretend that the current storyline is amazing. This issue wasn't awful by any means, but there's not much to be excited about in the world of Batman Beyond right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jun 28, 2017

Tropes aside, Batman Beyond #9 was a fun issue that saw the return of one of my favorite Robins. Great action scenes and beautiful art were the highlight, but by the end of the issue I was totally immersed into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #10

Jul 26, 2017

Great action, fantastic art, and a family drama between three Batmen made this a fun read. The only complaint is having to see one of your favorite characters become evil incarnate. Still, the build up of Terry McGinnis and Damian Wayne in these past few issues has been a joy to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jun 28, 2017

This is the best issue of all the DC Comics/Looney Toons crossover specials. The creative team as a whole does a perfect job of blending these two worlds together, and leaves you wanting more. Batman/Elmer Fudd turned out to jot only be a good crossover, but a great Batman issue period.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: The Red Death #1

Sep 19, 2017

This story features a twisted origin story and some great art. Batman The Red Death succeeds in feeling more like a elseworld graphic novel than a ordinary and unnecessary tie-in, which is what most feel like unfortunately. You can keep up with the main series without it, but it's good enough that you'll regret not reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight #1

Oct 3, 2017

This Batman Elseworlds story has all the makings of an instant classic. So far, the story and the art are excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Cloud #1

Apr 5, 2017

On one you hand, you have a cryptic backstory for the main character and plot that both have a ton of potential. It also has an art team that is perfect for what this series is. But on the other hand, this first issue didn't get me to care enough about either the story or Barrett.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Booster Gold / The Flinstones Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

Even at its best all we could have expected from these crossovers were some lighthearted fun. For the most part that is what we got, but the use of death was hard to ignore. A lot of morbid situations were just laughed off by the characters and it felt weird because of it. This comic asked to be taken more seriously than it should have.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #956

May 10, 2017

This whole storyline was fun and it really let barely used, Cassandra Cain, shine. I think this put a lot of character back on track, and added some great lore to the world of Batman. My only problem is with how weak the League of Shadows turned out to be. This story become more about highlighting Cass and her relationship with Lady Shiva, but it killed some of the momentum the league had. Still, this issue had great art and a very good story. A must read for all Batman fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #957

May 24, 2017

I have mixed feelings about this issue. On one hand, I like where this storyline might be headed, and on the other hand, I don't like how Stephanie Brown is being handled. Even so, seeing Spoiler take on a villain on her own, was fun to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #958

Jun 14, 2017

zrael is the next team member to be highlighted, and his story arc kicks off with an exciting reveal. After the last issue I was a little worried about what was coming up in the series, but my worries have been put to rest.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Detective Comics (2016) #960

Jul 12, 2017

I think it's safe to say that James Tynion's Tec run has been a bit inconsistent. There have been a mixture of amazing action packed stories, and ones that feel like their just plodding along to nowhere. This issue feels like the latter, but there are enough Zatanna scenes to keep you entertained.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #961

Jul 26, 2017

All around great issue that was action-packed and featured great scenes between Batman and Zatanna. The art team that shines as well with this issue, shifting from a dark bloody battle into the bright heavenly mind of Azreal.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #962

Aug 8, 2017

An exciting end to action packed story arc. Though the ending feels somewhat abrupt, emotionally it was very satisfying. The Detective Comics creative team has really turned out an excellent story arc worthy of Azrael.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #964

Sep 12, 2017

Stephanie Brown and Clayface were put into focus this issue and really shined through. It was a very entertaining story with some solid art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dread Gods #1

Jul 12, 2017

Typically, you would want a first issue to give readers a bit more to chew on than Dread Gods #1 does. Still, knowing the premise going into it helps and this was an action packed start to a series that has quite a bit of potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dread Gods #2

Sep 12, 2017

A throwback to a time when comics were more about sending characters on exciting adventures and less about pushing the next big company mandated event. Cool characters, interesting story, and artwork that fits the tone perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eugenic #1

Oct 4, 2017

There's a lot to digest in Eugenic #1, perhaps too much at times, but this is a bold first issue with a a great hook at the end. This first issue has built up a world that will touch upon interesting concepts of social commentary. In the wrong hands, this could be a controversial comic, but James Tynion seems to have an idea on how to tackle these sensitive issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generation Gone #1

Jul 18, 2017

Perhaps I lucked out in not knowing what to expect from Generation Gone, because I had no expectations going into this and wound up liking it a lot. This turned out to be a very intriguing story about three people that just so happen to get powers. As long as you don't go into this expecting Power Rangers, you'll end up being very satisfied.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Generation Gone #2

Aug 22, 2017

This series has done a fantastic job of feeding readers a ton of information about each character without rushing the plot. It's a fresh original take on a genre of comic book that has been done a hundred times over. Each issue has left me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generation Gone #3

Sep 19, 2017

Not a ton of action in this series but plenty of confrontation. These characters are interesting and the story is thought-provoking. These issues go by so fast though, while certain aspects of the story feel underdeveloped. But this issue of a great series, that has plenty to say.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generation Gone #4

Oct 17, 2017

Intense issue that is packed with a lot of drama and a surprising amount of gore. Some characters still need to be fleshed out and others just need flesh, but this sci-fi melodrama is highly entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mech Cadet Yu #1

Aug 1, 2017

A really fun retro style take on mech robots that has a ton of potential. Mech Cadet Yu tackles up a genre within comic books that has been begging to be explored.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mech Cadet Yu #2

Sep 13, 2017

This is a comic book to look out for. The character development is top notch and the world-building is exciting. Beautiful art, wonderful characters, and giant robots, there's not much more you can ask for in a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mech Cadet Yu #3

Oct 10, 2017

With each issue that passes, I get more and more impressed by this creative team. This has been a great series and one I can't recommend enough. I wouldn't describe it as a manga, it definitely has its own style going on. And it's just great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Gods Special #1

Aug 2, 2017

Each story is fun while it lasts, unfortunately they don't last very long. Still, great artwork and a great read overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Night Owl Society #1

Apr 26, 2017

A fun comic book that has a lot of potential. A weak main protagonist does drag down the first issue, but the art and supporting cast more than makes up for him. Wasn't mind-blowing but was good enough to get me intrigued about the next two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 5, 2017

The "Batman and Robin" series is the reason I fell in love with reading comics monthly, and this Nightwing storyline is the first true continuation of Grant Morrison's epic run. Tim Seeley has been the only writer to remember how strong a bond Dick and Damian had when they were Batman and Robin. I loved everything about this issue and could not be happier with Nightwing right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #19

Apr 19, 2017

This seems like more a setup of what's to come, but it was still very entertaining. Doctor Hurt, Professor Pyg, and Deathwing all seem hellbent in making Nightwing's life a living hell. Considering the fact that DC Comics could only kill a single character off so many times before it sticks, the next issue should be very interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #20

May 3, 2017

This is one of my favorite Nightwing arcs that I had the pleasure of reading, and I have no problem admitting that I love it because Nightwing Must Die continues my favorite Batman story ever. Unfortunately, it didn't tie up many loose ends that it started in the previous issues. Though it lacks closure, it does show the strength of Nightwing, and leaves you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #21

May 17, 2017

If you're a fan of Dick and Wally then you may very well enjoy the hell out of this issue. It's nothing special, but the writer at least has fun with everyone's favorite two best friends in the DC universe. There is no real drama or sense of urgency outside of the opening sequence, but you'll be entertained.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nightwing (2016) #25

Jul 19, 2017

This Nightwing story finale felt more like a prologue than an ending. The things being setup look great, but it lacked closure so it felt anti-climactic. They are building an interesting world around Dick Grayson in Bludhaven, but I'm left wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #26

Aug 2, 2017

This was an issue that does a great job of letting Dick Grayson's character shine through. With how beloved the Grayson series was, a Huntress and Nightwing team-up may just be what readers need right now. The ending hints at a superhero/spy thriller mashup that would be incredibly different and exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nightwing (2016) #28

Sep 5, 2017

The lack of butt-talk was disconcerting, but this issue pulled through and gave a satisfying ending to a great story arc. Having Grayson meet his Spyral allies and go full on superhero/spy was a great decision. I'm ready to see what the future holds for Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #29

Sep 20, 2017

Nightwing storylines culminate into this single Dark Nights tie-in issue. It feels more like a must-read then any other side story I've ever read. Some big things are on the horizon for Batman's former protg. Plenty of action and exciting mysteries unfold, readers will get their fill.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #30

Oct 3, 2017

Only the start of the story, but it did a great job of setting up all the pieces for this arc. This looks like it's leading up to a pretty entertaining finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightwing (2016) #31

Oct 17, 2017

The finale is still being built up, so it wasn't the most exciting issue. But it accomplished in truly defining Raptor's motivations, and setting the stage for each character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing: The New Order #2

Sep 26, 2017

This issue really breaks down Dick Grayson's motivations and super-powered conundrum. It gets to the point much faster than expected, which I suppose is better then never having one to begin with. But this creative team does an excellent job of world-building, it makes you want to spend time in it a little longer. Two issues in and this series is so good that it'll make you sad that there's only four more to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Predator: Hunters #1

May 2, 2017

This comic book is pretty much what you would expect and that's not a complaint. A solid set-up to what looks to be a fun series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #10

May 10, 2017

This was mostly setup for the big faceoff between the army of Qurac and the Amazons of Bana-Mighdall, but with how good this creative team is right now, it's hard not to get excited. Artemis is going to be put in a tough position, but luckily the Outlaws will be there to help. Also, I really love how they've built up the destructive force of the Bow of Ra, it's very powerful. Solid issue all around, with some interesting things to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #11

Jun 14, 2017

Despite this issue being a little anticlimactic, it didn't ruin what has been a fantastic run for the current creative team. Scott Lobdell and Dexter Soy have done an amazing job since Rebirth. This issue is a solid read, and has an ending that probably plays better in a trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #15

Oct 10, 2017

This series is action-packed and a ton of fun. This creative team just keeps on rolling, and show no signs of stopping. This issue may be setting up a tragic end for genius Bizarro, but I hope this continues a little more. A surprising but great semi-crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redlands #1

Aug 8, 2017

More action than expected for this horror comic book and there is enough mystery and intrigue that will hook you back in for a second issue. There is no denying that this beautifully drawn comic series has a ton of potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Redlands #2

Sep 12, 2017

It's hard to rate something so early in its run because so many things are purposely left undefined. But every box was checked for me and I'm completely sold on seeing what happens next. Redlands is creepy, beautiful, intriguing, and all kinds of messed up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redlands #3

Oct 10, 2017

A lot is left in the air after this issue, but the art is still fantastic and the plot is still interesting. The story keeps you guessing, and there is some very clever world-building going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Empire #0

Apr 19, 2017

Outside of a few scenes that felt very soap opera-y(Cap and Sharon), this was a really fun issue. Probably the most interesting start to a Marvel event that I've read in a long while. The anger toward Captain America being a Hydra agent all along is understandable, but I actually look forward to seeing how this creative team makes it right. Marvel has my attention again, here's hoping they don't lose me halfway through like so many events have done in the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Empire #1

May 4, 2017

I see a lot of low scores for this issue, but the complaints seem less to do with the quality of the comic book and more to do with the controversies in the story. I don't like what's going on in the story, but that's what makes it so entertaining. I can't imagine Marvel would be ok with tainting one of their most beloved and important heroes. True this issues was very dialogue heavy, but everything going on is fascinating. This is a hard read, but I think that's what it's meant to be. So far, I think this story has been pretty good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Empire #3

May 31, 2017

This issue does an amazing job of getting the reader invested in each storyline. Though lacking any big battles, Secret Empire #3 pushes every character in a direction that will no doubt converge as one. Seeing heroes become villains still isn't easy, but beautiful artwork and a compelling story make this a very interesting read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Empire #4

Jun 14, 2017

This was the most compelling issue of the mini-series so far. It touches on every storyline and keeps you interested with every page. The Ultron/Pym dinner party was intense and creepy. There's a lot of dialogue, but something about this issue is totally in my wheelhouse.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Empire #5

Jun 28, 2017

A bit confusing at times but packed with plenty of revelations. It doesn't feel as cohesive a story as the last issue, but it successfully moves the plot forward. Which is probably what readers want most.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Empire #6

Jul 19, 2017

There are pacing issues and they were exacerbated by the fact that this story was incredibly bleak. Because of that, the middle is tough to read. I will probably like Secret Empire #6 more than most though. It's a slog of an issue to get through, but I felt the payoff was very rewarding. Beautiful art and an exciting finish that you have to work to get to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars Adventures #1

Sep 5, 2017

A solid first issue for a fun all-ages Star Wars anthology series that will help flesh out our favorite characters from the universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #30

Sep 12, 2017

The art and plot were shaky, but this issue has a strong payoff. It gets who Wonder Woman is so right that you'll be willing to forgive some of its problems

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #31

Sep 26, 2017

Not the most exciting issue, but an interesting setup for some big things to come for Wonder Woman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #32

Oct 10, 2017

Perhaps the best issue since Rucka's run ended. Wonderful art, lots of action, and Diana finally having family to reach out to. Who knows what will become of Wknder Woman's brother, but the journey to get to him has been interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

I don't expect much from these annual anthologies, but this one was really fun. Each story was different from the last, and I thought two of the four were excellent. A nice introduction to Wonder Woman for any new readers that want to pick something up after watching her upcoming movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wonder Woman/Conan #1

Sep 20, 2017

Fantastic first issue that seamlessly drops Diana into the world of Conan the Barbarian. A lot seems to happen, but it still felt like a quick read. Great art, and a great story worthy of these two iconic characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman/Conan #2

Oct 17, 2017

Coming from someone who isn't a big Conan reader, this crossover has been something special. Gail Simone is showing us why she's considered one of the best in this industry.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman: Steve Trevor Special #1

Jun 7, 2017

It wasn't the best Steve Trevor story ever made, but this issue will be an effective bridge for potential new readers who have seen the Wonder Woman movie. With that said, I think this was entertaining enough for old readers to enjoy as well. This issue accomplishes what it set out to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
WWE: Wrestlemania 2017 #1

Mar 28, 2017

This would be a very fun read for any wrestling fan. This comic is at its best when it layers new interesting details on top of classic stories, or goes completely absurd like with New Day. It did have a few hiccups and retreaded old ground, but overall it was enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More