Cody Dolan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 90
6.5Avg. Review Rating

8
1602 #1

Aug 25, 2003

Overall, this issue marks a solid opening chapter to what should be a good series. Neil Gaiman knows how to write comics (lets not talk about his novels), and the proof is in these ages. Overlook the hype and youll enjoy this book; listen to all of it and youll be sorely disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
1602 #2

Sep 14, 2003

This issue felt a little too much like #1 for me to fully endorse it, but what little plot development there was I found myself enjoying. Given that Gaiman has been able to sustain a high level of quality in the past, I dont see this book falling off the way Origin did after a few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Action Comics #807

Sep 7, 2003

Im hoping Kelly can redeem himself next month, but Im not holding my breath. Its more than a little sad that the recent Superman miniseries (Red Son, Birthright, and even Metropolis) have been far and away better than the two flagship ongoing titles. Kelly is capable of better than this, and I hope he realizes it soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Action Comics #808

Oct 10, 2003

I cant say I fully enjoyed one moment of this ill-conceived storyline, and Im beyond glad that its over. Hopefully the next team will look at this comic and figure out what not to do, but until they take over Ill be keeping my expectations at an all-time low.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Alias #25

Aug 12, 2003

Since this is another in a long line of great Alias issues, Im rather disappointed that the series will end with issue #28. I cant really recommend this to new readers because of that, but those of you that have been there since the beginning will find that this may be the best issue to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #500

Oct 27, 2003

Given the rather definite ending to this arc I have no idea where this title is going, but I cant say that bothers me all that much. Ive learned to trust this creative team the same way the heroes of the Marvel Universe trust the title character, and that irony isnt lost on me. While I loathed the cheap way Marvel and JMS plugged the upcoming Dr. Strange miniseries, the few pages drawn by John Romita Sr. more than made up for that. It was a treat to see him draw that final scene, and thats part of the reason I rated this book so high despite its few flaws. Now if only the covers werent so consistently awful

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Arkham Asylum: Living Hell #3

Jul 9, 2003

You have to know a good deal about Batmans world, and DCs universe, for this book to make much sense. Sadly, this fact may keep inexperienced readers from enjoying one of the best miniseries Ive read in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Arkham Asylum: Living Hell #4

Aug 11, 2003

Simply put, this is the best miniseries DC has produced this year, and this issue further reinforces that. From the scary-as-hell cover art to the promise of seeing Etrigan in full demon-fighting mode, this issue has me anxiously awaiting the series conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Arkham Asylum: Living Hell #6

Oct 7, 2003

This issue earns a well deserved five bullets, if only for finishing strong and restoring my faith in the series. I was ready to be disappointed with the conclusion, but Slott and Sook provided their readers with a satisfying tale that worked on so many levels its a wonder DC doesnt give them an Arkham Asylum ongoing series. You had the fantastic/mystical, the confidence scam, the growth of new characters, and the burgeoning of a hero all while maintaining the feel that this was just another day at the asylum. Its amazing that they pulled it off, and the creators should be applauded for doing so.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Arrowsmith #1

Jul 22, 2003

To be honest, I expected more from Kurt Busiek. Ive never been a big fan of his work (his dialogue in Avengers sounded like it belonged in a 1980s Chris Claremont comic), but his recent Astro City mini series was quickly changing my mind. I went into this mini series not knowing a thing about the story; its the names Busiek and Pacheco that captured my attention and money. Im not sure their work this time out fully deserved either, but they do have me curious enough to stick around for the next chapter of their story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
B.P.R.D.: Dark Waters #1

Oct 7, 2003

Im not sure this issue would even appeal to Hellboy fans, and given that its a spin-off of that characters adventures this book seems to be a failure. When I understood what was happening I liked reading this issue, but it degenerated too quickly into an unreadable mess for me to recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Batman #617

Aug 3, 2003

When I saw Jason Todd, I almost threw up in my mouth. Much like the rest of this disappointing story arc, this reeks of Loeb and Lee trying too hard to make a splash, and creators this talented shouldn't have to resort to that. I'm praying to the comic gods that this will turn out to be a hoax, but unless that happens I won't be able to forgive Loeb for ruining a poignant part of the Bat-mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman #618

Sep 3, 2003

I would call this issue a satisfying disappointment; satisfying because Hush isnt Jason Todd, but disappointing because I dont buy too much of whats going on. Given that Batman is written like the smartest person on the planet in every other book hes in, he should have figured out that he was fighting Clayface much earlier than he did and he should have deduced Hushs identity by now. Loeb leaves too many threads loose going into the finale, and Im skeptical that hell be able to tie them altogether in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman #619

Sep 28, 2003

This issue marked the disappointing end to a disappointing story line. Im not sure if Ill be back for Loeb and Lees second run on the title, but I will say the odds arent too good. It seems like Loeb got in over his head with this arc and could never quite regain control of his creation. Heres hoping this is the exception to the rule when it comes to Loebs work.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Blade of the Immortal #81

Oct 2, 2003

There are a few places the translation is a bit weak, but its not so bad youd notice right away. Blade of the Immortal reads like a typical kung fu movie; the only thing missing is the poor dubbing. Like I said, I was disappointed in this book, but that may be due to my high expectations. I cant whole-heartedly recommend it, but I have the feeling that I will be able to soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Born (2003) #2

Aug 3, 2003

While I'm not sure Marvel's resident mass murderer needs this kind of in-depth analysis, that doesn't mean this I'm not enjoying the heck out of this series. Fans of either Ennis, Robertson, or Castle should be reading Born. I've been waiting for Ennis to shake out of his recent funk, and this book appears to signal his return.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Born (2003) #3

Sep 7, 2003

I will be genuinely sad when this miniseries ends, and I dont think Ive been able to say that about a limited series in a long time. I would say Im hoping the final issue doesnt let me down, but given this issues cliffhanger and Ennis talent for war stories I dont think theres a chance Ill be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Criminal Macabre #4

Oct 1, 2003

Niles and Templesmith have almost single-handedly revived the horror genre, and Criminal Macabre is a big part of that. This book could do for horror comics what Scream did for horror films, and thats no small accomplishment.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Daredevil (1998) #50

Aug 25, 2003

Im sure thats not exactly dead on, but given that this issue is a spectacular failure I dont think Im far off.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Daredevil (1998) #52

Sep 23, 2003

There has to be some movement in the next issue for me to keep reading this title while Brian Michael Bendis is on hiatus. The more I think about it, the angrier I get about Mack dressing up the same story three times and selling it to me. I have a feeling the next issue will be anti-climatic considering Echo cant really get to the Kingpin, so even if this story improves I may not last much longer with Daredevil.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Days #2

Aug 11, 2003

Fans of 30 Days of Night should be pleasantly surprised with this issue as it carries over plot elements from the previous mini while introducing the promise of big action scenes much earlier. If you missed that series, you really wont miss a beat as the creators keep this book new reader friendly. In any case, I cant wait for the continued adventures of Stella the Vampire Slayer and her own gang of violent Scoobies.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dark Days #4

Oct 10, 2003

Im sure the story will remain solid even though this issue was the weakest so far, but I dont think my opinion of Templesmiths work will improve any time soon. My problem may be that Ive seen too much of it (what with this series and his work for Dark Horse) that Ive noticed how muddled and unclear it always is, but I dont think that means my opinion isnt correct. If youre a fan of these two, this issue wont change your mind, but new readers will most likely not want to stick around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Empire #1

Aug 3, 2003

I knew nothing about this series when I picked up #0 last month, and now I'm completely hooked on the story of a bad guy winning. I have no idea where Waid and Kitson are going with this, and that unpredictability is making for a great story. So far, this book is truly unique, and that's rare in the comics industry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fables #15

Jul 14, 2003

Simply put, another in a long line of solid issues from Willingham and Co. To be honest, I dont think Ive read a bad issue yet. Its good to see the Vertigo line so strong these days, and Fables should be mentioned in the same breath as Y: The Last Man and Hellblazer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fables #17

Sep 14, 2003

As Ive said before, Fables is one of those books I look forward to every month and its because of strong stories like Storybook Love that I hope this book sticks around for a long time. Weve gotten to see Snow White evolve from desk jockey to woman-of-action (thats not something I ever thought Id write), the gruff Bigby Wolf soften a bit, and the devious Prince Charming sink lower than I thought possible. Hopefully Willingham will give that same attention to more of the rather large supporting cast in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Flash (1987) #200

Aug 3, 2003

Anyone that criticizes this book for being about a guy that can "run really fast" has no idea what that power could entail, and Zoom is a perfect example of that. "Blitz" is traditional superheroing at its finest with enough twists to keep the most jaded fan interested. As with every month, I'm anxiously awaiting the nest issue of Flash, but the book can't help but be worse off with the departure of Scott Kolins.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Flash (1987) #201

Sep 3, 2003

Its hard to put into words the effect Wallys new world has on the book as a whole. It feels like Johns has drained all of the light out of the world. Being the Flash was Wally Wests world and the removal of that has not only made his life a shambles, but effected Keystone City in such a way that I cant see why anyone would want to live there. Johns is playing with the importance of the existence of superheroes, and Im interested to see how far he takes that idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (1987) #202

Sep 28, 2003

As Ive said, writers hoping to break into the industry should pay attention to what Johns is doing in this arc. Whats old is new again, and in the static world of comics, thats no small feat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Global Frequency #9

Jul 23, 2003

Much like Grant Morrison, Warren Ellis has a much-deserved reputation for cooking up high concepts and combining them with sadistic plot devices. Like his work or hate it, you cant help but be fascinated by the ideas that simultaneously repulse and enthrall you. Global Frequency has become the perfect showcase for Elliss vivid imagination, and the world of comics is better off for it. Its too bad this issues shaky start held my enjoyment of it back.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Global Frequency #10

Aug 3, 2003

I'm not sure I buy that these combatants could withstand that much pain even with the idea of "biofeedback." If you can get past that, you'll enjoy the issue, but only those with strong stomachs need check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Arrow (2001) #28

Jul 15, 2003

This is the kind of solid issue that has the tendency to go unnoticed for how good it is, and thats too bad. Winick has pulled me into his story three issues into his run, and you cant ask a new writer for much more than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Arrow (2001) #29

Aug 25, 2003

I started buying this book because it was an event title even though I knew nothing about Green Arrow. I kept buying it because I became absorbed by the characters and their flaws. As long as that doesnt change this book will be on my pull list for a long time to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Arrow (2001) #31

Oct 21, 2003

In all I felt this was a satisfying end to Winicks solid opening arc that looks like itll set his run up nicely. The writer appears to have a firm grasp of these characters and their motivations, so Im looking forward to seeing what Winick can do with them. If the rest of his run is anything like this first arc, I think fans of Green Arrow are in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
JLA #83

Aug 3, 2003

I've been defending JLA over at the SBC message boards for the better part of the summer, but now even I must admit that the recent issues have not been very good. In fact, no words can describe how angry I was when I finished this issue. Joe Kelly can't seem to write about anything but politics these days, and if I wanted that I'd go to CNN and Fox News. Someone needs to remind him that these are superheroes with outrageous powers and shouldn't be bogged down in political situations all the time. The poor writing and inconsistent art have me close to dropping the book even though the upcoming trials of J'onn J'onnz should be interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
JLA #84

Aug 25, 2003

Im hoping that this good opening chapter leads to a great story, but given that cant remember a Joe Kelly story that ended as well as it began Im not willing to get my hopes up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
JLA #85

Aug 28, 2003

This issue is hard to judge because there are some intriguing ideas floating around that promise some good old-fashioned super heroics but the maddening pace of this arc and well as the book as a whole has tempered my enthusiasm. I want to like JLA because it should be the best book DC publishes; when you have all these icons together how can it not be good? Unfortunately, thats not the way it is at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
JLA #86

Sep 14, 2003

Im this close to begging DC to add a Previously page to JLA as the scope of this and every Joe Kelly story calls for one. This is the kind of arc that should be released in TPB format only, and that hurts my enjoyment of the title. I dont want to have to reread the previous issues to understand the current one, and thats what I feel I have to do. Everything feels disjointed because theres too much going on at once. Between the big fight, the flashback, Vandal Savages involvement, the appearance of the Guardians, the multi-layered scene in the Fortress, and the deepening relationship of Jonn and Scorch Im left feeling like I either missed something or the story is stretched to thin.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
JLA/Avengers #1

Sep 7, 2003

P.S.Busiek said in that same interview that no matter who wins the big fights (Batman v. Cap, Thor v. Superman) that people would be upset. You can consider me one of those people since Superman should whale on Thor something awful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
JLA/Avengers #2

Oct 27, 2003

I know there are flaws (the Thing sounds like a blathering idiot during his brief appearance and I couldnt wait for him to disappear), but I simply got a kick out of reading this story. Sure, no one really cares about the big cosmic beings that bookend this chapter, but thats not the point, is it? And sure, seeing as how the teams will most likely work together from here on out and Superman will undoubtedly realize hes been wrong all along and grow as a character when he apologizes, Ill most likely have the same reaction to the rest of the series. But that doesnt mean the journey to those moments wont be worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Mystique #4

Jul 27, 2003

Vaughans take on Mystique is a good one, and any fan of the X-genre should give this book a look. This is by far the weakest chapter of series so far, but it was still entertaining enough to make me want to pick up the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Mystique #6

Sep 28, 2003

The rest of the story (after the implausible escape) deals with Mystique trying to unwind and being interrupted by a mysterious stranger, but I cant say I cared. The big mystery surrounding him and his shadowy leader isnt all that enthralling, so I cant say Ill be back for more. Vaughan did some creative and unexpected things with Mystiques powers that I really liked, but in the end the characterization of her is too inconsistent.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Nightwing (1996) #83

Jul 22, 2003

If you want a good story featuring a non-super-powered vigilante, do yourself a favor and pick up any of the Chuck Dixon, Scott McDaniel Nightwing trades. The current iteration of the character is nothing like those early stories, and fans of Dick Graysons alter ego are worse for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Nightwing (1996) #86

Oct 20, 2003

Dramatic changes in the status quo plus subplots that move at a glacial pace does not equal success, so its no surprise I didnt like this issue all that much. Hell, even the main plot (Nightwings dealings with the new Tarantula) hasnt moved all that much and Id say thats more than a little frustrating. Im still waiting for Grayson to wow me, and shes been on the title for over a year. Any way you look at it, thats not good.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Outsiders #2

Jul 27, 2003

This turned out to be a disappointing follow up to a decent opening chapter, and Im up in the air as to whether or not Ill buy the next installment. Being a big Nightwing fan I looked forward to this book with great anticipation. Unfortunately, that led to one of the biggest let downs of 2003. Buyer beware.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Outsiders #4

Sep 23, 2003

There are times when I can see why people love this book, but on the whole Im just disappointed with it. I was really hoping to see Nightwing (one of my favorite DC characters) take charge of this team the way he did during the Obsidian Age in JLA, but that hasnt been the case. Instead, Winick has focused on new or unused characters from the DCU, and that pretty much takes away my reason for reading Outsiders.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Powers #33

Aug 25, 2003

In any case, Mr. Bendis, Mr. Oeming, I am truly sorry for having doubted. You two could create a comic in which stick figures curse at each other while fling their own feces, and Id buy it. I have learned my lesson, and promise to never doubt you again. Now, do you think you could get these issues out on some kind of regular schedule?

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Punisher (2001) #29

Jul 15, 2003

It saddens me to say this because Garth Ennis was one of my favorite writers for a long time, but it feels like hes been mailing it in on this book for a while now. Hes still capable of some great moments, but those have gotten fewer and farther between when it comes to Punisher. If youre looking for a good Frank Castle story, stick to the Darick Robertson illustrated Born.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punisher (2001) #32

Sep 28, 2003

The bottom here is that I enjoyed the heck out of this issue despite its flaws. Normally this book would receive four bullets, but I was so happy to see Dillon back that I feel justified in giving it a little bump. If you havent read this title in a long time this issue wont make any sense. This issue is strictly for long time fans, and serves as a kind of reward for sticking the series for almost four years now.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Punisher (2001) #33

Oct 21, 2003

Im actually curious to see where this goes, but that has nothing to do with Ennis writing. Theres potential for this story to be good, and Ill keep reading to see if its realized, but I dont have my hopes up. In fact, considering this issue has the single worst cliffhanger I have ever seen in all my years of reading comics and watching television, I would go so far as to say I have zero expectations going in to the rest of this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Punisher (2001) #34

Oct 27, 2003

Despite the rather lackluster review and rating I gave this issue, I have to admit Im anxiously awaiting the arcs finale. I cant wait to see how Ennis brings all of these plot threads together. After a year-long lull, Ennis seems to have found his stride again. Heres hoping he doesnt lose it again for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red #1

Aug 2, 2003

Ho hum, another great comic from Warren Ellis. By now you should know what to expect from the author, and if youve liked anything hes written in the past you should enjoy this book. If youre going to read one of the two helpings of violence Warren Ellis treats his readers to this month, Red should be your pick.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red #2

Sep 3, 2003

Im really hoping Ellis redeems Paul Moses in the next and final issue, but given his hit-or-miss record with miniseries lately Im not counting on it. At the very least, this book will fill your mindless violence quota for the month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sleeper #7

Jul 22, 2003

When Sleeper started, I figured Id give it a try on the basis of Brubakers gutsy money back guarantee. If a writer with a reputation like Brubakers is that confident hes captured lightning in a bottle, I decided to give him the benefit of the doubt. Turns out Brubaker is a pretty good judge of his own work, as Sleeper is a taut spy thriller performed by super powered players rather than tuxedoed Brits.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Empire #10

Oct 3, 2003

In all this was an accessible and more or less entertaining read. My biggest complaint is that this issue didnt engage me in the slightest. I knew Sewell would end up dead before I got past page two, so Im not sure why I should care about a character that was dead before I know anything about him. Sure his life was grim and I sympathized, but I couldnt really bring myself to care that much. The Short, Happy Life of Roons Sewell is a solid story, but thats it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Superman #195

Aug 28, 2003

To paraphrase a friend of mine, as long as Im reading comic books I will always read a Super-title. Sadly I dont think that Superman will be that title any longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Superman #196

Sep 7, 2003

To paraphrase a friend of mine, as long as Im reading comic books I will always read a Super-title. Sadly I dont think that Superman will be that title any longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Superman #198

Oct 27, 2003

I would go on and enumerate my concerns about that thing that appears on the last page that hasnt been built up near enough to make me care about it, but Ive written too much about this crappy book already. The Powers That Be cannot yank this creative soon enough to satisfy my indignation that we were ever subjected to them in the first place. Ive never been the kind of comic reader that avoids any one writer and simply cant stand anything they produce, but, thanks to Seagle, that may change soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Superman/Batman #1

Aug 12, 2003

The big question surrounding this title has to be Was it worth the wait? Loeb and McGuinness answer that with a resounding Yes as Superman/Batman is off to a fast start even though it contains its share of problems. Jeph Loeb pretty much owes his comics career to the two title characters, and its clear with this first issue that he hasnt lost his feel for DCs two biggest icons. Fans of either Superman or Batman should enjoy this title as the characters serve as the perfect foil for one another.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Superman/Batman #2

Sep 23, 2003

Hopefully my little stream of consciousness in the middle of an otherwise conventional review will mimic the effect the middle pages of this issue had on me. Terribly off-putting and poorly written, Superman/Batman is the disappointment of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Superman/Batman Secret Files 2003 #1

Oct 5, 2003

In all I feel like I misspent my $5 on a book thats as forgettable as it is expensive. You dont need this book to follow the plot of the ongoing series, so if you havent bought it yet dont bother.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Birthright #3

Sep 7, 2003

This book is a must read for both fans of Superman and a great book for newcomers to the Man of Steel. Sure it can be a bit too Smallville-ish at times, but Waids retelling of the Super-origin feels fresh, and thats hard to do given the 60-year history of the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Superman: Birthright #4

Oct 7, 2003

While I was disappointed with this issue, I can say I still enjoyed it. Sadly, this is probably the best Superman book being published and it would be foolish for any fans of the character to miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Superman: Metropolis #6

Jul 22, 2003

Unlike a lot of comic fans, I dont equate Chuck Austen with the devil, and this series is one of the reasons why. Much like Dan Slotts work with Arkham Asylum, Austen is exploring a part of the DC Universe that needed to be fleshed out. Its unfortunate that Metropolis cant compare with the Arkham when it comes to quality, but the writers new take on Jimmy Olsen will have me coming back for the remainder of the series. Any hardcore fan of Superman should at least give this series a try, but hunt down the first issue; dont start here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Metropolis #7

Aug 25, 2003

Theres a good amount of humor mixed in with all the serious issues Superman and Jimmy talk about, and thats a side of Austens writing I dont think Ive seen before. From having Jimmy curse for the first time to providing Superman with just the right amount of sarcasm, Austen infuses this issue with a lighter touch than those that have come before and that helps off set the tension-building subplot. There appear to be some darker days ahead for Jimmy, and thats what will keep me reading this series until its conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Syn #1

Sep 30, 2003

Like I said, theres good here, its just buried too deep amongst the confusion to do much good. Hopefully the next issue will be a little clearer, because I think this has the potential to be a good series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The Crew #3

Jul 22, 2003

Another mediocre issue in whats turning out to be a mediocre series. After hearing that The Crew was going to be greatly effected by the events of Truth I was anxious to see what Priest would do with a black Captain America. Sadly, that hasnt happened yet and Im not sure it ever will. The fact that theres no established character to latch onto along with the lack of affable characters does not bode well for the longevity of this book. Unless youre a big fan of Priest Id avoid The Crew.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Goon #2

Oct 3, 2003

As I said, this book was quite a welcome surprise. I did a little research before writing this and found that the previous issues have received a good amount of praise, so I have no doubts Powell will be able to maintain this level of quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Possessed #1

Jul 22, 2003

Geoff Johns is one of my favorite writers, so it pains me to say I didnt love this book. Instead of the home run Ive come to expect on The Flash, Johns manages a stand-up double. I liked it, sure, but Im conflicted over whether or not Ill pick up the next issue. If you like horror comics, this book will probably suit you better than most other books published today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thor: Vikings #3

Sep 28, 2003

Having said all that, I think this book is right in-between three and four bullets. So why give it four, you ask? One, I adamantly refuse to do the whole half-bullet thing, and two I know Garth Ennis hates super heroes. Hes admitted that in interviews, so I think he deserves some credit for tackling one of the bigger heroes and doing such a good job with him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tokyo Storm Warning #2

Jul 28, 2003

According to my local comic shop owner, Everything Warren Ellis writes turns to gold. This issue proves her assessment correct, and fans of the writer or the genre should take notice. Dont let the muddling art or apparently clichd premise stop you from picking up this very entertaining book and saying To hell with the Power Rangers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Tokyo Storm Warning #3

Oct 10, 2003

In the finale we get to see the source of all the strangeness in Tokyo, and its a bit of a let down. I appreciate that Ellis wants to share his opinion of the genre with us, but in the end it felt a little like he was talking down to the people that were buying this book and thats never a good thing. Given that I felt this way, I guess its a bit of a surprise I liked the series as much as I did, but then again I havent been let down by the writer yet. Fans of Ellis should track down back issues, but anyone hoping to see a big knockdown drag-out fight will be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tony Millionaires Sock Monkey #2

Sep 29, 2003

If youre looking for something new and different in your comics, this book fits that bill. Tony Millionaires Sock Monkey is a welcome departure from the traditional super hero books I normally read with a wicked sense of humor and fun that I havent found in most four color comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Truth: Red, White, & Black #7

Jul 22, 2003

I had high hopes for this series because of the interesting concept, but not a single one of them came close to being met. The story was all over the place and never found a groove, and the art was so bad that I cant in good conscience give the finished product more than one bullet even though the concluding chapter was one of the strongest. Combine that with an Ultimates-like shipping schedule, and you have a recipe for disaster. Hopefully, Marvel can salvage the idea in The Crew, but Im not getting my hopes up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate Six #1

Sep 23, 2003

Theres a lot of promise here even if thats all I can say. I have every faith in Bendis that hell be able to fulfill the potential of the book, and thats what will keep me coming back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate Six #2

Oct 5, 2003

The next issue promises to amp up the action and Im hoping that pledge is fulfilled. Even though Ive enjoyed the series so far, I need some action for it to keep my interest. Bendis obviously knows how to write these characters in the conference room, no I want to see how he does on the battlefield.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ultimate Six #3

Oct 10, 2003

One more thing, Id be remiss if I didnt mention Bendis use of the Previously page in this issue. Its a small thing, but I actually got a nice chuckle out of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ultimate Spider-Man #44

Aug 12, 2003

Even though this issue was a bit of a let down I still came away eagerly anticipating the next. The standard on this title has been set so high that its almost unfair to hold Bendis and Bagley to it every month, but since theyre the ones that set the bar, I dont feel too bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Spider-Man #45

Aug 25, 2003

Well, our time is up. Hopefully next week we can get past this bizarre fixation of yours and maybe talk about some people that dont just exist on paper.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate Spider-Man #46

Sep 14, 2003

This issue is all about setting up the Ultimate Six miniseries debuting next week, so Im a little peeved that the price was jacked up 74 cents for what amounts to a prologue for a set up issue. Theres nothing earth shattering in these pages, but when an issues this good there doesnt need to be. Weak premise and all, I have to say this was a fun read that I hope leads into a fun miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Spider-Man #48

Oct 20, 2003

Im running out of good things to say about this series, so forgive me if you notice Im repeating sentiments from earlier review. Even when I found myself a little confused by the story (why does Kingpin makes a call me gesture to Spider-Man with his thumb and pinky next to his face?) I was still able to figure out what was going on (hes taunting poor Petey). This book is simply one of the best examples of how good comics can be when companies and creators are on the same page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate X-Men #35

Jul 14, 2003

Forget bringing Mark Millar back to this book, and forget Grant Morrison on Ultimate Fantastic Four, Bendis has proven to me that he has a firm grasp on the Ultimate universe and every character therein. Based on Millars recent efforts on this title, Im hoping Bendiss run on Ultimate X-Men lasts for quite some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ultimate X-Men #36

Aug 25, 2003

Add all that to some sub par dialogue, including an annoyingly whiny villain, and you get a disappointing issue of a normally outstanding book. I still want to see all of the above questions answered and I want to see our heroes get out of this jam, especially since Daredevil is one of my favorite characters, but a fourth issue without another X-Man would serve to weaken my enthusiasm for this storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate X-Men #37

Sep 14, 2003

Even though the story is moving along slower than I would like, I have to say that Ive enjoyed every issue so far. I want to know more about the groups leader, particularly her claim that shes Logans wife (and I realize she was probably trying to mess with Wolverines mind, but Bendis or Millar said this summer they would reveal that Wolverine had been married before Weapon X got a hold of him). We should know a lot more than we do by the end of this issue given that its part 4 of the arc, but for the 15 minutes it took me to read this title I forgot all about those kinds of things and that speaks volumes about the quality of the storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate X-Men #38

Oct 10, 2003

If youre looking for a lot of action, then this book really isnt for you. Rather than another shoot out, Bendis lets the plot move forward at a brisker pace than normal, and that movement is appreciated. Im still waiting for the writer to strike a balance between the two, but until then Ill just enjoy what hes given us: well written stories that rarely disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Ultimates #11

Aug 2, 2003

An extremely disappointing issue made even more so because of a) the usual quality of the book, and b) the fact that itll be another 3 months before the creative team can redeem itself. Hopefully the finale to the books second arc (in what, 3 years?) will deliver on the potential of the books premise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultraman Tiga #1

Oct 29, 2003

I have to say Im looking forward to the rest of this miniseries. When you combine the outstanding art with a character from a lot of peoples childhoods, you have a recipe for success that should spell success for Ultraman Tiga.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
War Machine 2.0 #3

Jul 9, 2003

This series started out decently, but failed to capitalize on the good buzz generated by the previous series. There could be several reasons for that, including the lack of promotion the series received and the $2.99 cover price (double the price of War Machine 1.0), but gaping holes in the plot combined with a cast of cross-eyed whiners doesnt typically make for good storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Y: The Last Man #13

Jul 23, 2003

This is the best Vertigo book on the market today period, end of discussion. Say what you will about 100 Bullets (*cough* overrated *cough*), but I dont think that series comes close to the level of excellence put out every month by Vaughan and Guerra. If youre looking for a departure from men and women in tights thatll have you anxiously awaiting the next issue, look no further than Y. If were lucky, this team will stay together long enough to finish the story of Yorick Brown, much like Garth Ennis and Steve Dillon did on Vertigos previous standard-bearer, Preacher.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Y: The Last Man #14

Aug 25, 2003

The more I think about it, the more I like the idea of giving this book to my folks. Ill let you know how it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Y: The Last Man #15

Oct 5, 2003

As you can tell by the way I didnt discuss much of the issues goings on that theres not a lot of action after the astronauts touched down. Some would say that this fact points to padded comic book writing, but I would argue against that sentiment. Vaughan is telling his story at a somewhat deliberate pace, but each page in this issue has meaning and adds a good deal to the ongoing narrative. Vaughan is doing more than just wrapping up an arc here; hes expertly setting up the next two arcs and its a treat to be able to see such forward thinking. Ive said it once and Ill keep saying it until someone listens, if youre one of those people interested in spreading your love of comics on to others, Y is the perfect book to use.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

More