Dan Clark's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The GCRN Reviews: 151
6.9Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Action Comics (2016) #964

Oct 7, 2016

After a first arc that was heavy on the action and asked a lot of questions things needed to slow down. These last two issues have let us catch our breath without slowing the story progression. Many threads are being woven and so far the plotline has not gotten too convoluted. With some of the background mysteries now coming to the forefront I have some concern major confusion is on its way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #981

Jun 16, 2017

Action Comics has been hit or miss with its different arcs and so far Revenge is turning out to be a major hit. One full of big adventure with the type of world-ending stakes you want in an Action Comics story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Adventure Time Comics #1

Aug 26, 2016

When I saw this new relaunch was already going down theDoomsday well I was concerned we would have another gimmick story that leans heavily on nostalgia. Instead it used Doomsday as a vehicle to remind us what is great about Superman yet at the same time letting us know this will not simply be a retelling of what came before. There are tons of story breadcrumbs to follow from who is this human Clark Kent to how will Lex Luthor and Superman coincide to who is Mr. Oz and what does he actually want. Within the laying of those breadcrumbs we got an exciting fight that demonstrated Supermans tactical mind as much as his bulging muscles. This along with the Superman series have brought the character back from the dead in more ways than one. Simply put it feels awesome to be excited for a Superman comic once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Dead Orbit #2

Jun 9, 2017

If you have been left cold by the most recent output by the Alien franchise I do not blame you. However, I implore you not to give up on it entirely. Anyone who has been craving a new well made xenomorph story finally has one with Aliens: Dead Orbit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #2

May 26, 2016

If you are a fan of the Guardians I implore you to pick this up because this book is better than it's been in years.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Wolverine #12

Oct 1, 2016

The full repercussions of this knowledge remains to be seen. For now though the way Tom Taylor wrote Lauras dressing down of Logan was impressive. She was blunt in her critique of Logans behavior without coming off callous or ignorant. It is a moment like that will help grow that relationship further and strengthen this overall storyline going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Wolverine #13

Oct 18, 2016

Laura and Gabbys relationship continues to grow. It makes sense when you think of the history of Wolverine. Back when Logan was alive he would often be partnered with a daughterly figure to soften him as a character. Tom Taylor has taken that tried and true concept and made it work for Laura in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New Wolverine Annual #1

Sep 6, 2016

All-New Wolverine Annual #1 is the type of comic tale we do not get often enough. One that is willing to take an out of the box concept without having it over stay its welcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #2

Oct 7, 2016

Shifting to this All-Star title has given Snyders take on the character of Batman and his world a new life. If it was not for the name on the cover I could see even the most devoted fans not realizing this book was done by him. Well except for the way he treats Alfred. Thats a little bit of a dead giveaway. Still this book has been a chaotic enjoyable ride and the partnership between Snyder and Romita has worked better than expected.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #17

Sep 6, 2016

Slott is taking the time to put the pieces in place to make Dead No More into the impactful arc this series has been missing since its relaunch. That method gives us books like this issue that has its moments but is clearly more interested in whats coming next. Hopefully the follow through will be better than the buildup.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #18

Oct 1, 2016

There has been a lot of debate over Slott runs as a whole, but the buildup to Dead No More continues to be solid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #6

Sep 14, 2016

Due to some well-paced storytelling Aquaman #6 does exactly what the final issue of a story arc should. The action progressed to its apex giving us loads of fun while not forgetting to tell a story along the way. For nearly every problem that was resolved a new one has arose giving the series many different directions to travel down in future stories. Here is hoping this success continues as we move onto the next series arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #7

Oct 7, 2016

Aquaman has grown quite a great deal over these past few issues. His idyllic desire to seeabsolute peace with the surfaceworld and Atlantis has been challenged to the point he had to adapt. It shows he is capable enough to know his desires may not always fall inline with what is needed at the moment. Often with stories like this you would get the stubborn leader he doubles down in order to make some sort of political point. So whythis issue is more dense and not as fun as some of the past books it does do wonders for Aquaman on a character standpoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #24

Jun 16, 2017

The Crown of Atlantis did what good arcs should by furthering the story in an exciting new direction and leaving the door open for the next arc to be even better. One where loyalties are tested to their fullest and Aquaman is left picking up to pieces of the world he once knew. Dan Abnett has been quietly building quite the Aquman story since Rebirth and I look forward to where he takes this book next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie (2015) #21

Jun 30, 2017

Who knows if this will have the ramifications it promises. This is the world of comics after all. For now, it is simply a good story that has given this book new life. If you are someone who has thought about getting into this book this is not an ideal jumping on point as these events will mean a lot more if you have an understanding of these characters. Its odd but in the year 2017 one of the most consistent books on the shelves comes from one of its longing lasting characters. This feels like the story Waid has been building to since he first relaunched this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing Ant-Man #11

Sep 6, 2016

The rest of the issue was Scott following through with the promise he made to his daughter. Again meshing a great deal of comedy like Scott trying to convince his partners not to break him out, but with a touch of melancholy as Scotts life fall apart in front of him. This is the way to do a transition story. Plot wise not a great deal happens, however character wise it was full of great content.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Babyteeth #1

Jun 9, 2017

This is only the third series I read by Donny Cates and a pattern is already emerging. His first issues are all about building the premise while at the same time introducing major character relationships that will surround that premise. With God Country it was a son attempting to help his dad while still supporting his current family. I sense a similar situation with Babyteeth it seem he is having a premise that may about the ending of the world but in fact its really about how this family interacts and reacts to this situation. Either way we can chalk this up as another major success for comics newest It writer Donny Cates.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #2

Aug 26, 2016

Overall for those look for a refreshing comic that can lighten the load of the seriousness of other superhero books will find this anideal choice.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #3

Oct 7, 2016

With all the crazy monster madness going on with all the other Bat titles an issue like Batgirl #3 works as a refreshing pallet cleanser.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #2

Oct 7, 2016

Artwise the book was pretty standard except for the way Claire Roe drew Jim Gordon. He looks rather young and nearly the same age as his daughter. That along with the questionable dialog took a lot of the oomph out of their interaction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #6

Sep 14, 2016

At the end though what made this issue instantly memorable for me was when Batman goes to unexpected lengths to save the psyche of Gotham Girl. It was such a well written earnest moment full to the brim of emotional resonance. Six issues in and King as already put his unique stamp on the character of Batman. After the well regarded Scott Snyder run and Tom Kings early praise expectations were extremely high for this series. To Kings credit he has lived up to that hype so far. If King can keep this pace going those expectations are only going to grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #7

Oct 7, 2016

Curiosity really describes my overall thoughts about this first entry into this multipart crossover. I feel like a little kid looking at something I have never quite seen before no knowing if I should be excited, scared, or just plain indifferent. One issue in and they have my curiosity but time will tell if their will also capture my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #24

Jun 16, 2017

Batman is one of the few series at DC right now that is not getting by simply by being familiar. King is attempting to take one of the longest running characters ever on a journey, unlike anything he has ever been on before. It is a journey that is not necessarily dictated by whatever villain he is facing off with, but rather one where Batman does some serious self-reflection. Batman was told to live a normal life by his own father, a father that clearly knew the same pain that he did. What we are seeing is if Batman or Bruce Wayne even remembers what normal life is like anymore. I see his actions at the end of this issue not a proclamation of love rather a desperate attempt to find the normalcy that has evaded him since that faithful day his lost his parent. The only question is if he will ever be able to find it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman Beyond: Rebirth #1

Oct 4, 2016

Overall Batman Beyond Rebirth #1 biggest sin is its simply not that memorable. Surely fans of the series may get some joy from seeing this world back to the way they remember. Those lacking that nostalgia will probably loose interest relatively quickly.There have been other DC titleslike Supergirl that had disappointing Rebirth issues but bounced back when the series fully launched. My hope is Batman Beyond will do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #1

Oct 4, 2017

When it comes to characters like Batman some ask what more can be done with them? If a character has been around for seventy-five years are there any good stories left to tell? Well in the case of Batman we have been getting a lot of yes answers to that question recently. We have had Tom Kings stellar run on Batman, the launch of Metal, and now added to the mix Batman White Knight. A book that has already become a must-read for any Batman fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #2

May 26, 2017

Now I will be the first to say that a great writer can make any character work, but it does not happen overnight. Not helping is how many different types of Spider-Man characters have filled the pages of Marvel over the last few years including right now. We have Spider-Man, Amazing Spider-Man, Spider-Gwen, Silk, and the upcoming Spectacular Spider-Man just to name a few. This series is only in issue two and it is already collecting from a well the long lay barren.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bill & Ted Save the Universe #1

Jun 30, 2017

Brian Joines has the voices of the Bill and Ted universe down. Everyone from Bill and Ted to their parents to Death and of course the character with the most robust vocabulary Station. This could have easily been the next movie in the franchise. The biggest complaint is that it does borrow a lot from those movies. Many of its best bits are lifted directly from the biggest jokes in the films. It does not add a lot new until the very end, which in fairness is a surprise that could give this book a fresh way to look at these characters. By no means will this convert those who do not like the movies. If you care little about Bill and Ted there is not much of anything for you. Those that have enjoyed the franchise have plenty to be excited about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Science #30

May 31, 2017

Due to its dimensional hopping concept it is clear the only thing limiting this series is the imagination of Remender and Matteo and Scalera. They have built such a robust world(s) that live by their own rules. Over the last few issues they have been able to give both their take on the general superhero genre while giving us action typically reserved for disaster films. You have hard science fiction melded with the magic of fantasy and somehow it all works.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Blood Brothers (2017) #1

Jun 30, 2017

You have to give Fabian Rangel Jr. and Javier Caba credit for being original. I doubt you will find another book out there today quite like this one. Cabas art is a big standout. He uses the basic panel grid but his coloring and cartooning are especially strong. That may be the best reason to continue with this series. Outside of some of his opening issue jitters, the heart of this book is strong. Dynamite is quietly building a lot of original creator own books this past year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bloodshot U.S.A. #1

Oct 27, 2016

Overall Bloodshoot U.S.A. #1 is a successful at doing the leg worked needed to make this story work. The stakes have been set, the characters are in place, and now it appears the chaotic fun will begin. Bloodshoot U.S.A may not end up having the depth of Valiants best work, but after this first issue it nearly guarantees one hell of a great time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #1

Oct 7, 2016

Despite that highlight overall this series is lacking something that I cannot put my finger no quite yet. Part of the problem is failure by comparison. If this book came out as early as six month ago it would be one of DCs better titles. However, Rebirth has raised the bar for what we now expect for DC so when you have a title like this relatively mediocre it is challenging to stick with. Looking at all the current Rebirth books I can easily see this as being one of the first casualties if things do not improve.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Blue Beetle: Rebirth #1

Aug 26, 2016

Comparing this to the other rebirth books it is overall mediocre. It struggled to reintroduce this character to new readers as well as give a story that can get you excited for what is to come. Gigantic Blue Beetle fans may find something here to enjoy, but if that is not you its not really worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Britannia: We Who Are About to Die #3

Jun 30, 2017

This issue is not without its faults. Pacing wise this had a breakneck speed as we move from one story element to the next rather quickly. With that some of the major plot reveals may be lost as it is challenging to keep track of some of the finer details. Also one does wonder how a person like Antonius who openly challenges the emperor can do so with little repercussions. It is somewhat strange to see a man basically sentenced to death able to walk free only moments later. The glory of Rome at the time I guess.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cable (2017) #1

Jun 6, 2017

Comics are better when the world of the X-Men is healthy. Over the last few years that has not been the case. They might not be all the way back but with this series, Jean Grey, and X-Men: Blue there is a lot to enjoy in the world of the X-Men. Now all Marvel needs to do is keep it going and not just reboot again in a couple months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cage (2016) #1

Oct 6, 2016

By far what this book has going for it is its resolute dedication to having fun. You can feel the joy Tartakovsky had while crafting this comic. It is clear he had a desire to recreatea type of comic he used to love reading that no longer exists. Cage #1 may not convert new readers to become Luke Cage fans, but for those that have any fondness for the character and his history there is a lot to get excited about.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Captain America: Steve Rogers #4

Aug 28, 2016

Going back to what could work with this series is how one of comics oldest rivalrieshas an inspired angle.It is not just blue blooded American vs a Nazi psychopath. Red Skull will clearly be dealing with the classic mantra of beworried for what you wish for. I only hope my wishes comes true an Spencer can break through all the static and make this book interesting again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America: Steve Rogers #17

May 26, 2017

Spencer's script is strong here as the tension in the interview slowly builds to a boiling point. Sure this was basically an excuse to layout a bunch of exposition, but at least it was handled well. The issue comes from the aforementioned art. When your comic is built on conversation you need to have panels filled with quality acting. That was by no means the case. Whether it is the strict deadlines these artist have to meet or the sheer amount of content they have to keep up with, something is amiss when the biggest comic book company in the world is putting out substandard content.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2016) #8

Aug 28, 2016

Action is light in this issue and that is okay. As someone who enjoys the political angle of this story this gave me a ton to chew out. Outside of the emotional interaction with Hawkeye there was a great back and forth with Blank Panther. It was like Marvel West Wing seeing very smart and intelligent people debate vitally important issues. Nearly all the Civil War tie ins have been varying levels of pointless. Captain Marvel #8 not only has a point it also makes Civil War II a much more compelling story.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Carnage (2015) #11

Sep 6, 2016

The story has taken us to a mysterious island full of dangerous savages that have captured Carnage. Where the issue suffers the most is how forgettable nearly all the characters are that are not Carnage. As this story moves to its conclusion I find myself carrying less and less especially when we have an issue like this that is void of the titular character. I applaud Gerry Conway for attempting to take Carnage into a new direction. The issue is that new direction simply is not working like it should.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Carnage (2015) #12

Oct 1, 2016

The problem was any story element taking place during present day with either confusing, not compelling, or a combination of both.It starts with dialog eye rollingbad at times. At one point Eddie Brock literally states, Nobody knows me in one of the most hamfisted exchanges I have read in some time. Not making things better is how chaotic everything has become. At this point the major goals are lost in a sea of convolutedstorytelling. They really need to slim things down to focus at the task at hand. Perhaps all this will come together in one epic conclusion, but my faith in that occurring is extremely slim.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Champions #1

Oct 9, 2016

As much fun as it is to make fun of Marvel for their constant gimmicks and relaunches I have to hand it to them with Champions #1. If you are going to rebrand yourself yet again this is a good place to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Civil War II #5

Oct 1, 2016

Yes there is great action. Watching Dr. Strange take on The X-Men and Blue Marvel facing off against Luke Cage was surely fun, but that fun goes by so quick with andno repercussion you realize you are witnessingnothing more than a glorified training exercise. The biggest issue is this argument has become stale. Five issues in now and the debate has yet to evolve past its initial premise. Its like watching a political debate show with superheroes shouting the same things over and over.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Clue #1

Jun 30, 2017

Is this book a must read? By no means is that the case. There is nothing deep here happening. This is simply a prolonged gag stretched out for a full issue. Simply this is an example of a creative team doing the best that can be done with the material they were given. A pun-laden book about a board game could only last so long. Hopefully, its surprise success does not lead to an onslaught of board game related comics that no one needs. For now, lets just enjoy this for what it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Crosswind #1

Jun 25, 2017

Crosswind has promise with a lot of great avenues to travel down. Every mystery has no clear answer or hint of how it will eventually be solved. How well this premise will work is still unclear and much will be learned in the second issue. For now, Staggs and Simone give us a lot to be excited for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Curse Words #5

May 31, 2017

Overall as a first volume, Soule and Ryan Browne has something potentially special on their hands. I do worry we will end up with an episodic narrative where we just get this continuous array of different evil wizards for Wizord to do battle with. Even so, it seems the key to making this work is the idea of trying to find magic in a more realistic world. Although this series may not be in the top echelon of what Image is currently producing it does have a lot of potential to be something great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cyborg (2016) #1

Oct 7, 2016

As someone who has never been super interested in the character of Cyborg this concept is helping me slowly get over that barrier.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Cyborg: Rebirth #1

Sep 14, 2016

The one saving grace for this issue is the question it raised regarding the character of Cyborg. Is Victor Stone still alive as Cyborg, or is Cyborg a new entity that only believes he was once Victor Stone. That is the only aspect of this issue that has me at all intrigued to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 16, 2017

So what you are left with are a bunch of small pieces to a very large puzzle. This puzzle does not even have a picture on the box to refer. Isolated this issue is all about potential. If the sole purpose is to create excitement it works, however with the caveat that you have an understanding of past DC continuity that was supposedly wiped away. In addition, it is not the most satisfying way to read a comic when you are basically given what is a series of trailers to stories you cannot read for a couple of months. There is a fine line between creating excitement and creating frustration. This somehow ends up accomplishing both.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadly Class #28

May 31, 2017

With that said the opening of this issue should put a smile on your face. Willie and Marcus jamming no the beach is so out place for a book that rarely sees the sunlight. It was great seeing these pubescent assassins be actual teenagers in a more typical 80s fashion, and a side note I am on Willies side. I never understood the love for The Cure either.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deadpool (2015) #17

Aug 28, 2016

Really though what is best about this issue is the promise of what comes next. The events here push Deadpool to the very brink. From not being able to see his daughter to catching his wife cheating on him with a werewolf things simply are not going his way. It is a nice injection of some melancholy to a character that has otherwise been an over exaggerated joke. Hopefully as we move to the next arc the character of Deadpool evolveseven further.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool (2015) #31

Jun 6, 2017

If you are not at all a Deadpool fan this is actually a great issue to pick up. For one the Merc with a Mouth is as quiet as he has ever been. That tells you everything you need to know about the complexity of what Deadpool is going through. In one of the final panels of the issue there is specific poignant moment where he is contemplating his own actions and what he is doing. No words are spoken but the way Matteo Lolli displays his body language gives a lot of dimension to a character most see as nothing but a joke.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #1

Aug 26, 2016

Priest humor is a big part of what makes the book work, and much of that humor comes out in the character of Billy Wintergreen. The story in this issue is really his, and how that element plays out in the final climax was by far my favorite partof the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #939

Aug 26, 2016

No question this is the best issue of this arc so far. There is a solid mix of action and character building while setting up for a thrilling finale. Just to top things off we also getClayface as effective comic relief. What more can you ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #21

Jun 6, 2017

Chris Bachalo is hard artist to follow. Its abstract style fits perfectly for the insane world of Doctor Strange. When the change of team was announced my biggest concern was who would replace him. Niko Henrichon is not a name I was aware of prior to this issue but major credit for him for crafting a book that keeps the world of Doctor Strange consistent while putting his own stamp on it. Marvel has been hurting for quality artists recently so when get a positive surprise like Henrichon it is something to celebrate.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #1

Oct 7, 2016

What did I just read? That was the question that plagued my mind when I finished this issue. As a newb to the world of Doom Patrol this issue gave me a lot of questions but not much to enjoy. Much if it felt like random humor for random sake, and my confusion only grew as the pages were turned. The only redeeming factor for me was the character of Casey Brinke. In a book of absurdity she provided something to grasp onto and have emotion towards. Things may become clearer as you read on, or if I was inspired to go back and read past Doom Patrol stories. However, based on this book nothing was strong enough to inspire me to carry on past this issue. There are people out there that will surely love this book. I am simply not one of those people.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
East of West #33

May 31, 2017

Overall that is a small price to pay for such an in-depth epic that is East of West. Nick Dragotta continues his career work on this series. Here he provides a visual scope to the massive chaos occurring in the riots, while keying on some key acting moments like the final panel that is full packed with poignant emotion. It keys into a well-executed bookend that fully enunciates the power of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eclipse #1

Sep 23, 2016

Overall Eclipse #1 is solid debut for both a comic and a writer. There is a great chance we can look back years down the line as this marking the beginning of the next great creative team. Much more time is needed to make that claim, but after one issue I am excited to see that proclamation come into flirtation.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Empress #6

Oct 1, 2016

Still it is great to look at. This just in Stuart Immonen is a fantastic artist. Yes I know I am basically saying water is wet and the grass is green. I am just saying a person this good should not goo unnoticed because we expect it to happen. I loved what Immonen did on the Star Wars comic and it has been great seeing him tackle another Space Opera. The more creative freedom you give him the more he rewards you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Eternal Empire #2

Jun 9, 2017

Comics are a challenging medium as you have two different types of storytelling going on at the same time. On one hand you are trying to craft monthly chapters that feel complete on their while still feeling part of a larger whole. Eternal Empire right now is not striking that balance. Reading it in trade may be the way to go as two issues in the narrative so far is rather hallow.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Extraordinary X-Men #1

Oct 1, 2016

The artwork was somewhat suspect. Many of the faces looked morph especially Old Man Logan. Characterdesigns in general appeared to change panel to panel. It was not to the point it took away from the story, but it seemed below the normal standards for Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Extraordinary X-Men #13

Aug 28, 2016

We are now thirteen issues into this series and it has yet to form any sort of identity. With the future of the X-Men up in the air it pains me to think of a world without an X-Men book. Perhaps though it would be better than this world were we have these books that barely exist. Sure they are there. You can physically see and read them. However, there is almost no reason to read them beyond blind obligation at this point. Maybe a separation will do us all some good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extremity #4

Jun 9, 2017

Extremity has grown into quite the comic in these first few issues. At first it seemed like another Science Fiction/Fantasy mash up that would be full of joyous adventure and larger than life characters. With this issue it has developed beyond that and is actually trying to say something important. Looking at the best new series of this year this is certainly on the list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Faith #12

Jun 9, 2017

Overall Faithless has had its moments but was not up to the same level as the previous arcs for this series. Part of the problem is how incomplete Chris Chriswell feels as a character. Faith comments that he is her Lex Luther to her Superman but he has not earned that moniker as of yet. There is no doubt how well the Faith character has been developing since her first mini last year. For this series to take the next step better or more complete villains need to be created so she can have proper foils to face off against.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #5

Aug 26, 2016

Fast Track and Wally form a charming friendship. I somewhat assumed the New 52 Wally would be forgotten with the original returning. Williams is finding a purpose to keep him around and was excited to see that continue. FastTrack and Wally had quite the fun friendship which made the ending of this issue all the more surprising.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Generation X (2017) #2

Jun 6, 2017

Amilcar Pinna art is also not doing the book any favors. Character faces look distorted at times and widely inconsistent. Being only two issues in this series can still right the ship by figuring out exactly what it wants to be. It is fine to follow a formula as long as you execute it properly. So far this is not much more than a poorer version of a better comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation Zero #1

Aug 29, 2016

Generation Zero #1 may not unfold like a traditional first issue, and that is a big part of what it makes it work so well. The one question remaining is can Generation Zero live up to their reputation inside the book and out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation Zero #2

Oct 12, 2016

So far my only concern with this book is the character of Christopher who appears to be a leader of the team. From his look to his actions he seems like a generic team leader archetype that lacks a unique personality. The glimpse we get of him is brief so at this point it is only speculation. While thee two issues have been quite successful so far I found myself caring the most about the character of Keisha who may not be around in a few issues. That may make for a great story arc, but it may not make for a great comic book series. Right now it is way too soon to tell so I will simply enjoy what I have and hope for the best in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ghostbusters 101 #4

Jun 30, 2017

On the negative side is how a major problem is solved with a very simple solution. It is not uncommon for that to happen in comics. Reed Richards has a habit of creating a new crazy invention to solve whatever unsolvable problems the Fantastic Four are facing, but simply having a big gun to solve your major crisis is not very satisfying. Even if that gun was set up early on in the first few panels. When you have a group of major scientists there should be more to it than big explosions.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
God Country #6

Jun 30, 2017

Most of us have dealt with the horrors of seeing a loved one succumb to the product of old age. It is tragic to see anyone lose who they are and not be able to remember the people they once loved. In all its larger than life fantasy God Country never forgot what was at the heart of this story. Donny Cates and Geoff Shaw could have easily filled this issue with melodrama as they piled on the tragedy. Instead God Country has worked on all levels. This crazy tale has its fun and exciting moments along with all the dread. When victory occurs there are moments of glee and when the finale does come there is a bitter sweetness to it all. Simply it is art in its purest form. This is how you announce to the world you are a creative team that is out to impact the industry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grass Kings #3

Jun 9, 2017

Matt Kindt has had quite the year for himself with his work on this book as well as his work for Valiant. Grass Kings is not a title I hear enough people talking about and that is quite a shame. It may be a slower paced story but it is one that has a much bigger audience than it is currently getting. Those who read past Jeff Lemire titles like Essex County will find much to enjoy with this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grass Kings #4

Jun 30, 2017

Similar to Bigg Lands I could easily see this becoming a television series of some sort or returning with more mini-series. The cast here is wide and we are just getting to know who many of them are. With the conclusion coming I doubt much more development will occur. Perhaps it will asMatt Kindt has shown he favors telling a good story over filling a book with mindless action.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #6

Sep 14, 2016

What has impressed is the art work of Stephen Byrne. All three artists on this book so far have been putting in some stellar work. Byrnes color are also notable as they really empathize his clean line. Of all the Rebirth issue this series has consistently looked the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Arrow (2016) #7

Oct 7, 2016

While the stories inconsistencies have been problematic the artwork has remained pristine. Every time I get frustrated with the words on the page I take a step back to appreciate gorgeous pages. I am happy to see this story arc end. The downside to that is Bryne will not be on the next book. Otto Schmidt is going to have a lot to live up to after these past few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #6

Oct 7, 2016

One of the benefits of bringing in more diverse characters is a story like this one. We are able to become exposed to customs and cultures that are not normally featured in our media. At the same time we learn about who these superheroes are as people. Jessica and Simon may have had force partnership but their friendship is being earned bit by bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #2

Jun 30, 2017

Perhaps the problem is me as Im looking for too much in a stoner comedy about magic socks that have traveled throughout history. Looking at Jim Mahfoods brash art you can see a style that is creative and unquestionably its own. It will not take long to know if this book is for you or not, and I freely admit it is not in my wheelhouse. Still, that does not excuse some of the glaring story problems that stop this from being an enjoyable comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #5

Oct 7, 2016

Ethan Van Scivers artwork needs to be pointed out as well. He has a very distinct line that is best displayed within the variety of the Green Lanterns power. His panel work also does a great deal to keep the story moving at a steady pace. An issue like this that is mostly buildup could easily feel bogged down or stale. He gives it a lot of life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #22

Jun 16, 2017

It was a welcome to see these Lanterns facing off against more than themselves. The differing color Lanterns idea has become stale at this point so anytime the focus is on a different villain it is a breath a fresh air.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Hellblazer (2016) #1

Aug 26, 2016

This issue is not void of appeal. Swamp Things appearance does bring life to the series and his interaction with Constantine made for some great laughs. Including Swamp Thing ensuring that he did not need Constantines help to have sex once again. For a first issue there is not much setup to get excited about. Hopefully with Simon Oliver getting more time with the character he can better develop what this series is going to be about. If things dont improve soon I can see this being another forgotten installment for the character of Hellblazer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Howard The Duck (2015) #10

Sep 6, 2016

Zdarsky is sneaky with his zany humor.Somehow through all the crazy plot lines and out of this world characters he gets you to really care about the character of Howard the Duck. You forget the character you are reacted to is a talking Duck.That is hammered home in the final moments of this storyWith one issue remaining one wonders what will be Howard's fate. No matter what the ending I hope a bigger audience finds this book once it this trades.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Hulk (2016) #6

Jun 6, 2017

Anytime you are able to approach such a classic character in a new way I am all for it. Civil War II was quite the disappointment but in that some good did come. Hulks first arc may not have had the thrilling or satisfying conclusion it was capable of achieving, but it was no means a total loss. Much of the dramatic dilemmas that were forged in the beginning are still there and clearly have much better fruit to bear.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hyperion #6

Sep 6, 2016

Even with a problematic conclusion this series ends much stronger than it began. This wont spawn a new creation of Hyperion fans but does work as a solid read for an underutilized character.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
I Am Groot #1

May 26, 2017

I Am Groot #1 is like a side quest in a better video game. If you are bored of the main title and want something slightly different it offers elements to enjoy. If you completely ignore it you are not missing much either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infamous Iron Man #8

May 26, 2017

Alex Maleev's art continues to be criminally underappreciated. What he lacks in flash he makes up for in subtle character work and phenomenal acting.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
International Iron Man #6

Aug 28, 2016

International Iron Manwas the series that was supposed to determine that reason. Six issues in and we are still waiting. By itself this issue is a fine little story. If I did not know any better I could see it as a nice introduction into a small scale series surrounding a low level part time S.H.I.E.L.D. agent part time rock star. I was kind of getting excited to read that comic. When this is meant to be the introduction into who Tony Starks parents really are it is rather underwhelming. Everyone wants to hear the story about how their parents met until they do. Apparently that notion is also true for Tony Stark.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
International Iron Man #7

Oct 1, 2016

By the end I have to admit despite my gripes it did get me. Seeing Tony fully embrace his newly found mom was a touching moment. Perhaps it was due to the arduous journey Bendis had laid out to get to that moment. This series has the potential to be great if it come simply take time to earn more moments like that rather than to spring on random surprises for surprise sake.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Invincible Iron Man (2015) #13

Oct 1, 2016

Now that people have discovered Tony Stark is in fact alive it has left a lot of stockholders happy but Tonys girlfriend Amara rather peeved. Their exchange was disappointing on both an execution and character standpoint. It caused Amara to look small and petty. This is a man dealing with the death of his friend and someone she knew well beforehand was a superhero. As character she was crafted as someone who would better understand his actions and the reason he did what he did. Besides being clich at this point we are well beyond the jilted lover feeling angry due to being caught out of the loop. Both characters seem smart enough to understand the situation at hand and what had to be done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jean Grey #2

May 26, 2017

Marvel has had a lot of problems recently but you do have it hand it to them regarding the current state of the X-Men. With this series and X-Men: Blue and Gold what we loved about these characters is back in a big way. They may not be all the same people who have become fans of, but if this book is any indication it is that factor that is allowing them to approach familiar ground in a refreshing way.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Jimmy's Bastards #1

Jun 30, 2017

Although the idea of an old man stuck in a bygone style teaming up with a powerful modern woman is not new there is still a lot of fun and their interaction. Also seeing Enis and Russell Braun comes up with crazier and crazierBond-like villains was one of the early highlights. Despite its missteps, Jimmys Bastards has promise as a series. Once this concept comes together hopefully it will hit its stride.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League (2016) #4

Sep 14, 2016

It is safe to say there is a lot going on, which is a big part of what is not working with this book. Building mystery is an important part of storytelling. Not everything needs to be spelled out to minute detail. However, you do need to give us enough to comprehend major events. Witnessing Superman struggling with nonspecific forces in the core of the earth is not the most thrilling sequence to read. This story has become one long extended disaster sequence that goes on for far too long. At this point this series just needs to stop take a breath and gives us more of a reason to care.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League (2016) #5

Oct 7, 2016

It is official Justice League is the most disappointing series to come out of Rebirth. Thankfully 'The Extinction Machine' has come to its whimpering conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #1

Aug 12, 2016

By any means Kill or Be Killed is set up to be another solid series for Image and further proof that Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips make one phenomenal team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kill Or Be Killed #2

Sep 14, 2016

Kill or Be Killed #2 did not touch on the supernatural element this time around. I am still curious how that will play out with the story as whole. Overall issue two is an improvement on an already good first issue. Brubaker and Philllips are on another level with their ability to build story and craft a unique story. If you enjoyed any of their previous work this is already a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kill Or Be Killed #3

Oct 21, 2016

These questions permeate in the background throughout has Dylan is constantly checking for updates on the story. What makes this issue most intriguing is Dylans reaction as his memories become reaffirmed. We begin to see the evaporation of guilt, and in its place came the sense of satisfaction. It appears Dylan is beginning to go past the point of accepting his satanic burden and moving towards cherishing it, which makes the future of this comic all the more exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kill Or Be Killed #9

May 31, 2017

Kill or Be Killed has shown it is a series that can change on a dime. In issue nine we have more of the exciting action element of the book that we have not seen since the opening pages of the first issue. With next issue being the last of this current arc there is a lot to wrap up in one book. Based on everything so far I am sure this team has something special planned.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lake of Fire #1

Aug 31, 2016

For those looking to another potential great read your weekly stack just got bigger. Nathan Fairbairn was given the chance to show what he can deliver as a writer and so far he has done quite well with his opportunity. There are some pacing issues that need to be worked out, and he may need to trust in his artist more and his worlds a little less to tell this story. Overall though for what is essentially a debut issue this was an impressive comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Martian Manhunter/Marvin the Martian Special #1

Jun 16, 2017

For those who were hoping for a more classic Lonnie Toons take there is also an enjoyable backup story that is in the vein of all those classic Marvin the Martin cartoons. It was a smart move covering all the different bases as it showcased different ways they could continue this idea if so desired.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers Annual #1

Aug 31, 2016

Those are a just a few of the many stories this issue includes. Annuals give writers the chance to stretch their creative muscles, and with the variety this book offers you cannot deny that occurred. Why I highly doubt every story will work with every reader when it comes to an anthology book if you read more good than bad you should be able to walk away happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Moon Knight (2016) #14

Jun 6, 2017

It is sad to see this book come to an end. Moonknight will go down as one of those great series that I will only recommend to certain people. With a more abstract storytelling approach some may not be able to get invested. For myself I found this to be a deeply emotional tale full of tragedy and triumph. Using multiple personalities can easily become a gimmick and in a way Lemire doubled down on that gimmick to create something undeniable original. We may never see Marvel put out a book like this ever again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #10

Sep 6, 2016

Ms. Marvel #10 has nearly everything a good comic should. Character building, high stakes, creative action set pieces, and high caliber art by Takeshi Miyagawa. Easily one of the best Civil War II tie ins thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Muhammad Ali OGN #1

Oct 26, 2016

Muhammad Ali is written with elegance and drawn with grace to the point it elevates the medium as a whole. This is the type of book you can give to someone who views comics as a lesser medium to show them graphic novels are capable of telling stories on the same level as any other artistic form. If you are comic book fan, sports fan, fan of US history, or simply someone who enjoys experiencing master work this is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Superman #3

Oct 7, 2016

There has been a novelty aspect of this book that has made it work for these first few issues. As this story continues it is going to need to step up its game in a major way. It is already suffering from a case of diminishing returns as each issue becomes less memorable.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Night Owl Society #3

Jun 9, 2017

People often forget IDW does actually put out books that are not based on licensed prosperities. Perhaps that is why this got lost in the shuffle. Despite its disappointing final issue Night Owl Society is a series I would recommend as it has me excited for whatever James Venhaus and Pius Bak will do next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #4

Sep 14, 2016

Even as a fan of the Grayson series I am happy to see Nightwing once again return to the world of DC comics. This Better than Batman arc is not in fact been better than Batman, but has been an entertaining read throughout. Now that we got the proverbial Owls story out of the way Seeley can shift the focus elsewhere going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #5

Oct 7, 2016

Two issues into this story and Night of the Monster Men and so far it has been fine. Fine is a weak word to describe anything which is why it fits. Besides the odd looking characters not much has stood out in one way or another. It is way to soon to say Rebirth is running out of steam, but if this storyline does not pick up soon that complaint will only begin to grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #24

Jun 6, 2017

Who knows where this series will go with Lemire leaving, and with the proposed Marvel Legacy series coming out one wonders how much longer this character will be staying in this universe. Lemire left this series as a solid ending point so if Old Man Logan were to fade into the distance it would actually make sense. At this point I simply wonder what stories can still be told. I do not envy those who have to follow this act.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #8

Oct 1, 2016

Despite some heavier subject matter I am amazed how it never gets bogged down in becoming too serious. Enough levity is placed between the pages to keep the comedypresent and mood overall pretty light. Despite the forced in Civil War tie ins this series continues to be one of Marvels best.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #1

Sep 8, 2016

Overall Predator vs Judge Dredd vs Aliens #1 is like the undercard before the main event really gets started. Theres a lot of build-up and setting the stage for the major conflict we all paid to see. There are moments to enjoy, but really the focus is on what is coming next. Here is hoping the seriesis able to actually declare a winner in this all out brawl.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rapture #2

Jun 30, 2017

Looking at the dialog of Babel specificly I understand what Kindt is going for, but it is a choice that makes it more difficult to read your comic. When you have such an important character speaking important dialog it is an odd choice to put up comprehension barriers. It ends up undermining a lot of the good this book is doing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Raven #1

Oct 7, 2016

There are a lot of comics about teenagers trying to deal with the duality of being a superhero and being in high school. So seeing Raven placed in that same situation also raises some concerns. Those concerns are not completely quelled quite yet. Luckily we have not dealt with the common problem of trying to do homework while making time to fight crime, but that does not mean it wont happen eventually.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Reborn #1

Oct 13, 2016

Overall Reborn #1 does what a great first issue should. It gives us a character to care about and a world worth exploring. Mark Millar and Greg Capullo bring with them a lot of promise as a creative team and so far that promise has been fulfilled.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Reborn #6

Jun 9, 2017

Reborn may have been as amazing it could have been, but that does not mean it was a disappointment. Millar and Capullo got the opportunity to try something very different for them and they found a lot of success. Now that they have a familiarity with what they want this book to be my hope is future volumes will build on the positives of what they created.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #2

Oct 7, 2016

Despite the limited plot the dynamic of this book has already changed. Artemishas quickly made an impression as a character worth your time, and hopefully the rest of the Outlaws will be do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Royal City #4

Jun 30, 2017

Jeff Lemire may be the most versatile writer in comics today. Outside of the fact that he can both write and draw, speaking of which his watercolor like style in this series continues to be phenomenal. He can craft stories for multiple companies in a variety of genres. He can make grand space adventure or something much more down to earth like Royal City. Ultimately it is about telling a good story and for Lemire that comes naturally.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saga #43

Jun 9, 2017

Forty-three issues in and I get the sense Saga is just getting started. I know some have grown tired with the slow progression of some of the major story elements and feel the narrative should be further than it is currently. Why I think it works is because when major events do happen they always feel earned. Each character has been built to a point where you can have an issue like this one that touches on a number of social issues, some of which I have not mentioned, and does not feel overstuffed or too preachy. Saga is that gift that keeps on giving.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scarlet Witch #10

Oct 1, 2016

Part of what I love about this series is not knowing at all what is coming next. Everything form the plot line, location, and even time period can change. The biggest common thread so far is how consistently good each story has been. It is a great example of comic book story telling in the way it can get you to care about characters with only a few pages and well designed images. For those comic lovers looking for something to give friends to get them into comics this works as a great entrypoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Empire #3

Jun 6, 2017

Secret Empire so far has had its problems but not to the level the internet would lead you to believe. Spencer has taken the freedom of an else world story and added some actual stakes. More attention needs to be placed on moving this story forward and less on shocking revels, but overall Secret Empire is a big event worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Warriors (2017) #2

May 26, 2017

This issue does help build the world of Secret Empire as it gives us a ground level view of the way of the world. That along with Matthew Rosenberg's strong wit and Javier Garron's quality art make it worth reading, but I cannot help but feel worry this series will get bogged down by this tiresome Inhumans agenda.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Weapons #1

Jun 27, 2017

Secret Weapons #1 keeps it simple and never attempts to set the world on fire by doing too much too soon. Instead, Eric Heisserer and Raul Allen do what good comics should and tell a great story with tremendous potential. If you are going into this book thinking you will be reading the comic book version of Arrival you will be sorely disappointed. This shares very little in common with that film, nor should it as creators should not be limited to whats familiar. If you ever had an interest in Variant comics this works as the perfect jumping on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Silver Surfer (2016) #6

Sep 6, 2016

Silver Surfers tone is so specific that a run of the mill art style would not work. Luckly Mike Allreds art is the exact opposite of run of the mill. It has this unique look that somehow looks both classic and modern at the same time. This Silver Surfer series has an atmosphere unlike any other Marvel book right now and Allreds art is a huge reason why.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Skybourne #1

Sep 14, 2016

While this was fun for a first issue, more meat needs to be added to thestory bone for the series to work as a whole. That is especially true when you realize this is only a limited five part series. Personally I prefer a first issue that puts more focus on giving me characters I can care about. Here the character that intrigues me the most is a sword. Hopefully that will change moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sombra #1

Aug 24, 2016

So far while Sombra isnot be a book that elevates the brutal crime genre it is at leastprovides some new ideas to make itstandout above an increasing crowded market.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spider-Man (2016) #7

Sep 6, 2016

Nico Leon does his best to make up for Bendiss lacking script. His work here is some of the best of the series so far. For an issue that mainly involves Spider-Man moping in his costume he makes it work quite well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #22

Aug 28, 2016

Jason Aaron does have the voices of these characters down. It is the closest thing we have gotten to the movies themselves. The interaction between Han, Leia, and Luke is pitch perfect. My biggest issue with this series has been how it so often lacks stakes. When you know where everything is headed it can be challenging to get invested. This issue does not have that problem because I become transfixed the sheer guts of this story. It is so crazy it just might work and I am certainly sticking around to see if it does.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Han Solo #3

Sep 6, 2016

Han Solo #3is a mid-level summer blockbuster. As a piece of storytelling it leaves a lot to be desired, but as a piece of high energy entertainment it undoubtedly succeeds.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #6

Oct 1, 2016

Where this series has succeeded and many of the other Star Wars series have failed is the way it crafts an intriguing original villain. Here we see how cold blooded Telex can be when pushed as he directs his ship to shoot out escape pods just to trap and annoy The Black Squadron. In just a few issues this rivalry between Poe and Telex has quickly develop into something to behold.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Supergirl (2016) #1

Sep 14, 2016

This was a much improved way to approach the character. The story was simple but well plotted. Clearly the only time she feels comfortable is when she is playing the role of Supergirl. I am intrigued by the idea of a Spider-Man esc story with this character. If we get more issues like this and less like the Rebirth storythis series could be a success.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #6

Sep 14, 2016

The final few pages of this issue come off as Superman reclaiming thedignity that has been lost for some time. Imagery that writers, artists, and directors have shied away from is put on the forefront as Superman stands with his stoic pose as theAmerican flag standsstrong in the background. True, Justice, and the American way appears to be the mantra once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #7

Oct 7, 2016

A series could not survive on issues like this I am sure, but when they placed at the right moment you get master work. I have loved every issue of this series so far so it is saying something when I say this is by far my favorite.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Superman (2016) #24

Jun 16, 2017

The issue does not open well as we have a two-page spread full of unimportant characters and what feels like endless dialog balloons. This issue is very much a call back to Action Comics #775 where Superman previously faced off with Manchester Black. Where the problem lies is this is rehashing nearly the same conflict that was dealt with prior and not adding much. Yes with Jonathan there it does add a new wrinkle, but what is odd is how unconcerned Superman has been about Jonathan these last two issues. Tomasi got so wrapped up in his homage he forgets the personal element that made it such a fascinating. I have hope he can bring it back in the next issue based on the way he ends this installment. Once this arc is completed hopefully this book can get back to what made it so great when it first relaunched.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Flintstones #3

Sep 14, 2016

After the attempt to launch a chimp into space the action catches the attention of alien creatures that come down and visit. Seeing how primitive the world is they shortly leave, however shortly after their adolescent coedsshow up to have galactic spring break. They causemajor death and destruction leadingFred and Barney to rally their fellow Water Buffalos into battle. By the time all the events unfold and the last page was read I was left awestruck. It is challenging to even quantify the experience of this series so far. Part of you wants to laugh at its audacity, part is shocked DC and Hanna Barbera would let this be released, and part of me just wants a hug due to how darkly depressing things can get. I can not guarantee you that you will read this series and enjoy it, but I can guarantee you it will be like nothing else you read this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Flintstones #12

Jun 16, 2017

If you are still hesitant to read this series get over that as quickly as possible. Go back to issue one and get ready to experience twelve issues of genius. This final issue may not be the best one so far but it is a fitting end to a special book. I can safely say we will never see a book like this ever again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sheriff Of Babylon #10

Sep 14, 2016

When this book started it did feel like you were thrown in and forced to find your own understanding of what was taking place. You learn about theintricacies of the cultural politics as the story progresses causing things to make more sense issue by issue. Now that we are in issue ten everything is coming together bit by bit, like that puzzle that slowly revels the beautiful imagery it holds. This issue is full of those ah ha moments along with a heavy dose of nail biting tension. The only negative aspect of this book I could think of is having to wait anothermonth for the next issue.If you are a fan of comics or storytelling in general and you are not reading this series I implore you to rectify that as soon as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #11

Aug 28, 2016

For those of you who have stayed away from this book because it centers on Squirrel Girl I beg you to pick up this issue. It showcases everything that has been great about this series since it starteda creative narrative that incorporates classic characters in inventiveways, a massive amount of charming wit, and a touching message that makes you feel good about yourself without being overly sappy. Without question this one of the best and most consistent books Marvel is currently publishing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unsound #1

Jun 9, 2017

It all starts with the proper pacing of this issue. Bunn gives us the gradual build that makes you forget you are reading a horror book at first. Bit by bit it is evident something is not quite right. That gradual pace is quickly escalated with the last few panels as we come face to face with how truly insane this medical institution. Bunn is like the pitcher who is just on a role. Locating his pitches exactly where he wants them so he has us expecting a curveball but instead, we get a fastball straight down the middle that leaves us standing still.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #168

Jun 30, 2017

It appeared that Kirkman was laying the groundwork for the next big event inside of The Whisper War. This takes an immediate turn due to the actions of Negan, and that along with his development since 'All Out War' concluded is making Negan turn the corner as a character. I did not think we would be dealing with Negan this far into the series when he first debuted. Luckily we are as he is currently the best character in the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #2

Aug 26, 2016

Abnett answers a lot of questions with more questions keeping the intrigue going. Brett Booth draws some kinetic action sequences that are a joy to look at. Still many of his character designs leave a lot to be desired. Something this old curmudgeon will need to get over I guess.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trinity (2016) #1

Oct 7, 2016

Part of me wonders if I have enjoyed Rebirth so much because it is directed towards people of my age. Not only do these characters resemble ones I once knew they are dealing with the type of challenges I face at my age. Of course I know nothing about fighting crime, but I do know the challenges of raising a child so reading Bruce Wayne and Clark bond over being fathersputs a smile on my face ear to ear. So far that has been a major side effect while reading much of Rebirth these first few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom (2016) #150

May 26, 2017

First and foremost it is compelling story built on the dramatic weight of the character. With that we get the purest form of celebration, a reminder of what has made this character work all these years while so many others have been quickly forgotten.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #1

Jun 9, 2017

There are some bumps along the way. Some of the social messaging came off slightly hamfisted. In one specific sequence, The Monster is getting caught up with all the key events that he has missed chilling in his ice castle. Some of these events make sense like the atomic bomb and images from World War One. Images from a butcher house though did not seem on the same level. Social commentary is a key element in comics and based on LaValles ideas for this series it could make this into something special. My hope though is he is a little more tactful with his approach in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #2

Jun 30, 2017

We are also spending a great deal of time with characters that are ultimately meaningless. The special agents from last issue return as they are trying to locate Dr. Baker. Their back and forth is humorous and the nonchalant way they approach their job makes them endearing to be around. They simply have a lot of scenes drenched in meaningless dialog that halts the pace of this story. Based on the ending of this issue it does not seem like we will be dealing with them for much longer. Hopefully, Dr. Baker can bring some character and purpose to make this book more worth your time. There is a good story here if Victor LaValle and Dietrich Smith can find it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wacky Raceland #3

Aug 26, 2016

Overall Manco art is a style that is well drawn but lacks structure. I become lost in nearly action sequences as the panels are too overfilled with pure chaos. I appreciate this issues literally and figuratively putting on the breaks to focus more on character building. I just worry it is too little too late.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Warlords of Appalachia #1

Oct 15, 2016

The world of comics is quite filled with books along this nature so you need to do something to stand out. Whether it is the distinctive rural setting or purely good storytelling Warlord of Appalachia is not effected by a flooded market. This is a book worth getting excited about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #5

Aug 26, 2016

No question the star of this issue is Liam Sharps art. Man can that man draw a comic. There is a seriousness about his character designs that makes these feel more important. It just does not look like a superhero comic, which is not a bad thing at all. One of the best pages was of Wonder Woman just about to break out ajail cell. Some great use of negative space as we mainly see the faces of the beaten soliders with a charging Wonder Woman positioned in the corner ready to strike. This is accidentally greatly by the next page that comes to life in glorious color. It was like turning the lights on in darken room to reveal Wonder Woman in all her glory. The only downside is I have to wait two more issues to see this story continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
World of Tanks #1

Aug 19, 2016

Overall when it comes to World of Tanks: Roll Out I have my concerns but at the end of the dayI trust the talent evolved. In this debut issue Enis creates enough of a foundation to make an intriguing story, but do worry this will give us more of the same just with tanks. For some that may be enough to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
WWE #5

Jun 9, 2017

This issue is a series of random events, but by the end, it all does tie together quite nicely. Even if you have not read any of the previous issues you can pick them up and find a well told singular adventure. At times the dialog can get hooky and I do not see this appealing to anyone who is not watching or keeping up with the current product. For those that are it does pack in a lot of fun Easter Eggs to better the experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
WWE #6

Jun 30, 2017

In a way, this misstep is a positive because it demonstrates that Hopeless has built a WWE book worthy of decent expectations. If you know nothing about Dean Ambrose or Sasha Banks this is not going to lead you to get a subscription to the WWE Network. (I hear it is only $9.99 a month) Those that regularly watch Raw on Monday nights have a series that sweetness some of the past storylines even if this issue had its problems.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #4

May 26, 2017

This issue is your classic lead in issue to the next big arc. Nothing truly major occurs as the pieces are getting put in place for the next big conflict.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #3

May 23, 2017

If you are a fan of superhero comics but find the current slate of the big two stale this is an ideal place to jump into this world. Valiant consistency puts out quality content and this series so far is able to both satisfy long time readers while giving new readers a place to begin without feeling lost or confused. Simply put this relaunch has done everything right a relaunch should.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #4

Jun 30, 2017

Nothing against the art of Doug Braithwaite as what he does works for this story. However, it was sad to see Tomas Giorello go for this arc. Maybe it is a byproduct of being infatuated with the new kid on the block but Giorellos art was something special. He made this book feel like a major event worthy of the highest attention, which is a trait that Braithwaite along with most artist does not have.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Youngblood (2017) #1

May 31, 2017

If you are a long time Youngblood fan there may be some elements to enjoy. There are some rather major character developments that are surprising including an unexpected person taking up the role of the President of the United States. For anyone outside of that group, I do not see any reason to pick up this book. There are better superhero titles, and if you really want to see what Youngblood has to offer you are better off catching up with the original series. It is clear there is a lot of admiration poured into this book, but admiration for the past does not always equal quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Youngblood (2017) #2

Jun 9, 2017

In all honesty, if some major changes and improvements are not made I do not see this new addition to Youngblood lasting longer than the first arc. I am unsure if it a byproduct of improper crafting or simply the ingredients have long passed their expiration date so no one would be able to make this book work.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More