D.M. Grant's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 24
7.3Avg. Review Rating

3
Batgirl (2016) #50

Oct 28, 2020

Cecil Castellucci's run on this title is not one I'd recommend to people looking to read Batgirl, but it's also indicative of the core problem with the “Babsgirl” topic to begin with. The main story was full-speed ahead in either having Barbara retire from the role or reveal herself to Jim and Jason, yet she does neither. James Jr. is forgotten about after the first scene, and nothing is fundamentally different, aside from his death. The illusion of change, like the use of real-world social issues, is a time-honored tradition in comic books, but the transparency of that illusion is demeaning to everyone involved. Like with Simone and Maigrhead Scott before her, one wonders how much editorial influenced this run to its detriment. Nevertheless, it is symbolic of how aggressively this final issue tries to punctuate the need for Barbara and Batgirl, and it results in the complete failure in relaying that need.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #9

Jan 9, 2020

Final Thoughts: We know that Ra's isn't going to, permanently or otherwise, turn Jefferson. Shiva isn't going to turn Jefferson or Cassandra. We're nine issues into the series, there just isn't any believability in threatening the loyalty of the team yet, unless it's new 52 Birds of Prey and one of them is a bad guy. So, like a recent arc of Teen Titans, this story seems deadlocked in a behavioral standstill. Either it follows protocol and keeps its heroes pure and unwavering, or they turn for shock value and the readers lose a fan favorite. There are more avenues outside of that binary, but the story isn't being written as flexible to imply that there are.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #10

Feb 13, 2020

This book is written as an action book, first – last – and always, but it has the potential to be much more. More scenes establishing the dynamics of Bruce and Jefferson, Jefferson and Duke, Duke and Tatsu, Cassandra and Jefferson – all of that would be appreciated. It's very single-minded on its main hero/villain plot, and that only goes so far in terms of interest. It's right on the cusp of being truly good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #11

Mar 12, 2020

I want to like this book so much then I am, and I feel iconoclastic writing about it. Everything that happens – on paper – is awesome. The fact of the Outsiders rolling over Ra's' men is cool, but there's no excitement in the scripting. If the plots stayed the same, but there was a different approach to the dialogue and outlining of the events and sequencing, this would be an easy series to recommend. But every month each scene reads as rote, uninspired, and obligatory. I know it can be better. There's too much potential in the characters to really spark off the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #12

May 7, 2020

This arc heads towards a mostly satisfying conclusion, though Hill's problematic characterization from previous issues still remains a problem.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #13

Jun 18, 2020

This issue feels like more of the same as the previous one, but the change in artists made this more fun to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #15

Aug 13, 2020

This issue accomplished what it set out to do in getting us to the final battle, but it wasn't very dynamic in arriving there. Still, the book is always moderately enjoyable, and we are at the precipice of a big finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #16

Sep 9, 2020

I'm disappointed because the series has felt bereft of ideas beyond the basic premise, unable to elaborate or even search for anything else to talk about, resulting in a one-dimensional good guy/bad guy fight that has very little personality right up to its end. Of course, I'll be interested to read the final issue, but aside from the redemption of Shiva, this book has ended up feeling terribly inconsequential. It's an annoying shame.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #17

Oct 14, 2020

Hill ended this series with possibly the best issue of the run. The title overall could be repetitive and slow going, but his attention to character growth was never underappreciated from me. It was a great series that collected several characters of color together and put them in a spotlight that showed real consideration and care. It was never perfect, but it was always a series that I enjoyed having just as a fact of DC Comics' history. For that reason, Bryan Edward Hill has a lot to be proud of, even more so with this final story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #78

Mar 17, 2021

Nightwing #78 is not perfect, but this first issue brings a ton of goodwill into the run. Here's to what I hope will be a promising future for Dick Grayson. It's great to see him back in action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #79

Apr 20, 2021

Nightwing #79 is just as good as the last issue, possibly more. The character of Nightwing continues to be a solid and faithful representation of one of DC's best, and it's my most anticipated book from here on out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nightwing (2016) #80

May 19, 2021

This isn't much of an issue to get into plot-wise. It's very straightforward, with its plot bare bones and the character interaction doing the heavy work. From Dick's Black Canary t-shirt to his Adam West Batman mug to the return of Chuck Dixon era villains Brutale and Electrocutioner, this is pure comic book fun from top to bottom. No surprises, but a lot of enjoyment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #81

Jun 16, 2021

It's a solid issue. Nothing much wrong with it once again. But the reveal has me antsy. Tom Taylor knows Dick Grayson in and out, but does this new character have a place in his history? Is there more to be revealed? Can he pull it off? I hope so.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #82

Jul 21, 2021

The story is well told, as is the art. The plot, however, comes across as convoluted and hits readers with too much, too fast, which comes across as off-putting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #84

Sep 22, 2021

This is a fine issue. Nothing stupendous, but it's certainly not a bad read. Decent all around, with the faults only due to the fact that it's a requisite tie-in issue, to a story that's been good anyway. I eagerly await the return of Taylor's story, but I would still recommend this for the month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #86

Nov 17, 2021

Nightwing #86 is a simple, straightforward Fear State tie-in. All of the character interactions are fun, and it's simply lovely to see some of my very favorite characters in DC fighting side by side.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #88

Jan 19, 2022

It's another solid entry in the Taylor and Redondo Nightwing run, with solid writing and solid artwork. My criticisms are closer to observations than anything that prevented me from digging the issue. Happy to see the consistency and looking forward to next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nightwing (2016) #89

Feb 16, 2022

This is a near-perfect issue, only lacking the little bit of extra to put it over but still worth every penny all the same. And that's how this book has been for a long time. Cut the check.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #90

Mar 16, 2022

Every few issues there's something that Taylor writes that showcases a slight weakness in his scripting. This isn't a bad issue, but it's indicative of the run's failures as a whole, and I'm hoping it actually leads to a place that's more thoughtful conceptually. It can't all be ice cream and sprinkles for Nightwing; he's got to struggle a lot more than he has been.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #91

Apr 20, 2022

Like the last issue, this was a solid read that had some eye-raising moments which I couldn't not think of when writing this review. But it's all still good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #92

May 18, 2022

Taylor's a very good writer, and Redondo and Lucas' artwork kills it every time, but the Blockbuster part is the weak link in this run. It's simply ineffective as a challenge to Nightwing insofar as its not threatening to - at the very least - this reader. I'm still loving the book, but its weaknesses are as consistent as its strengths.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #93

Jun 22, 2022

Nightwing #93 picks up the pace from the previous issue, setting up some antagonistic forces in Dick Grayson's life that are compelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadow of the Batgirl #1

Feb 4, 2020

Editors Note: DC Comics provided TBU with a review copy of this title. You can purchase your own copy by heading over to Amazon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Son of Kal-El (2021) #9

Mar 10, 2022

Another solid Taylor and Redondo issue, even if it's odd to be reading this as a Superman comic, and not Nightwing, despite almost everything to the contrary.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

More