Frank Fuentes's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nerds On The Rocks Reviews: 78
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.6
Action Comics (2011) #23.3

Sep 19, 2013

Villains Month continues to surprise and delight with books like Action Comics #23.3. It's a shame this book didn't come out alongside Forever Evil #1 because it takes place before the events of that book. It would have made the story more enjoyable to not have to guess why Lex Luthor is suddenly out of prison and in a helicopter. Still, this was a great book that readers need to pick up especially if they are already enjoying Forever Evil.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
All-New Ultimates #1

Apr 10, 2014

In more ways than I described, All-New Ultimates completely missed the mark on delivering a good comic book. All the characters that appeared in this book didn't even appear to be affected by Cataclysm! This represents the best way I can sum up my review for this book: devoid of emotion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
All-New X-Factor #10

Jul 3, 2014

Discovering a Marvel book that I genuinely enjoy is always a big deal for me. Most of their books just fail to pull me in but I still keep an eye on what the publisher is doing. I love bright colors and right now they have a lot of that going on in their books. If All-New X-Factor continues being bright, speedy and fun then I'll keep buying it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-New X-Men #18

Nov 14, 2013

All New X-Men #18 is an excellent example of entertaining, balanced storytelling by Bendis. This book in particular is a great jumping on point for new readers. Aside from Ultimate Comics Spider-Man, readers can point to this series as Bendis at his best. I still wonder how long the young X-Men can continue to stay in the future, but given what happened here its probably going to be a while. Get comfortable because Bendis isnt done with All New X-Men.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.3
All-New X-Men #25

Apr 10, 2014

Story telling aside, the artwork in this book was impressive. The cover alone made this the first book I read. However it wasn't enough to make me enjoy this more than I did. Unless you care about the art I would suggest skipping this book. You're not missing much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
All-New X-Men #26

May 1, 2014

Twenty-six issues into the run and this series isn't showing signs of ending any time soon. Especially with Cyclops out in his own on-going title, there's still much more stories to tell with the young X-Men in the present day. Sure, there are plenty of mentions about their presence being a problem, but a resolution doesn't appear to be on the horizon. In the meantime, we can continue to enjoy watching Jean Grey's new powers develop and Cyclops spending time with his space pirate father. If the end of this book is any indication, Battle of the Atom round two may be about to arrive at the X-Men's doorstep. Nothing but exciting things coming down the pipe for All-New X-Men.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
All-New X-Men #27

May 15, 2014

Together with Justice League United, this week had two amazing, fun books hit the shelves. All-New one-ups the excitement by bringing back great characters introduced in the equally amazing Batte of the Atom. Everyone needs to be reading this! If you haven't started, read Battle of the Atom, All-New X-Men #26 and then this book to catch up. Spectacular things are on the horizon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Aquaman And The Others #1

Apr 3, 2014

Overall I'd say this was an entertaining and promising start for a new series. If you already enjoy the Aquaman book, you won't be disappointed with Aquaman and the Others. It's every bit as fun with a little more violence.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Batwoman #21

Jun 20, 2013

Taking a break from Batwoman's mission to unmask Batman lead to an enjoyable villain-focused book. Killer Croc is a character that has been depicted in this series as a mindless monster but as a sympathetic one in Red Hood and the Outlaws. The retreading in this book helps to reconcile the different depictions of the character. As this book was merely an interlude, readers should continue to pick up this series to find out what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.3
Batwoman #23

Aug 21, 2013

Despite my lack of interest in this book I am still optimistic for the remaining issues in this arc. Bette may have been training hard to infiltrate the D.E.O. to rescue Elizabeth, but I expect that to go wrong. There will be repercussions for Batwoman and that will be interesting to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Constantine #5

Jul 27, 2013

Readers who only pick up this book for the Trinity War tie-in won't be disappointed. Constantine believes Shazam is important and it's hinted towards the end that it may be because he thinks he'll be able to open Pandora's box. In Justice League #22, a premonition that Madame Xanadu had suggests that Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman are trapped somewhere and must escape to save “him”. Were they referring to Shazam? Will he be the only hero to escape what the Secret Society has in store for the Justice Leagues? Readers will need to check out The Phantom Stranger #11 and Justice League of America #7 to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cyclops (2014) #1

May 8, 2014

By now there should be no doubt about how much I enjoyed this book. It was everything I hoped it to be with a few surprises. I should point out that the amazing cover art and fact that this book was my first variant purchase may have influenced my enjoyment of this book. However I do stand by the points I made in this review that it's truly a wonderfully executed work of art. Rucka, Dauterman and Sotomayor hooked me. If the upcoming books remain this good, Cyclops could be on its way to being my favorite comic of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
DC Universe vs. The Masters of the Universe #1

Sep 5, 2013

DC and Giffen are clearly heading somewhere spectacular with their Masters of the Universe comics. Between the main title and this miniseries, DC is showing they are committed to reviving this property. DC Universe Vs Masters of the Universe #1 is another must read book. It's fun, exciting and brings to life childhood games of having your DC action figures fight your Masters of the Universe. This book will make you feel like a kid again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
DC Universe vs. The Masters of the Universe #4

Jan 17, 2014

The art is really what makes the fight scenes look so exciting and there are several pages in this book I wish I could buy original art of. Giffen, Tony Bedard and Pop Mhan all did a wonderful job and I'm glad it's not over. Every time I review one of these books I always say that DC needs to just buy the Masters of the Universe rights and fold it into the New 52. Clearly these characters look great together and both this event and the on-going series seem to be selling well for them. While I can't wait for the next book, I am anxiously awaiting the eventual trade or hard cover so I can buy two to decorate a wall or something with the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2011) #23.3

Sep 19, 2013

Just like The Flash #23.3, this book was an enjoyable set up for the upcoming Arkham War. Now that we've seen how Scarecrow fits into it all, I think it's going to be exciting. Blackgate and Arkham house different super powered inmates and naturally they'd end up fighting each other in the absence of the Justice League. It's mini events like this that make the larger event all the more enjoyable. Be sure to check out both this book and Arkham War #1!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Detective Comics (2011) #30

Apr 3, 2014

It may be too early to call Detective Comics a huge success for Manapul and Buccellato but that's inevitable if the rest of their run is as good as this first book. I'm certainly already digging this title and if you enjoyed The Flash as much as I did, then you're probably feeling the same way. If you haven't already picked up this book, you should! Detective Comics was not a book I read at all, but there's a lot of great potential that it'll be a must have for every DC fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Earth 2 #14

Jul 4, 2013

The “other war” with Steppenwolf in Earth 2 looks to be shaping up into a sturdy alternative to the Trinity War that will soon engulf the DC universe. Hopefully the trio of new wonders can work with the Sandmen to weaken Steppenwolf's army. With only two issues of Robinson's run remaining, it should be quite a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Earth 2 #15

Aug 7, 2013

Thanks to the magical teamwork of Robinson and Scott, Earth 2 is one of the best books at DC. A lot of care and planning has gone into maintaining this series' longevity. Naturally, the change in writers puts a lot of those plans into jeopardy. The series' fate won't be known until later this fall, but one thing is for sure: readers still have at least one phenomenal issue to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Earth 2 #15.2

Sep 12, 2013

Regardless, this was an enjoyable book. Solomon Grundy was an excellent choice for an Earth 2 villain book. As I said before, I am curious to see if this character returns to Earth 2 when Taylor takes over. I have to assume he is because he's back and Taylor can't just ignore him. Grundy can literally draw the life out of the planet. We'll be seeing him again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Earth 2 #17

Nov 6, 2013

Tom Taylor, you made me happy today. Not only did the transition between writers happen smoothly (and possibly unbeknownst to some readers), but I found myself actually impressed. DC hasnt had a great track record with creative shake ups; I dropped Swamp Thing, Animal Man and Batwoman months ago. Earth 2 #17 is a thrilling book that will pull you back into the world of wonders.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Earth 2 #19

Jan 9, 2014

I can't help give this book enough praise. Free from the creative ties of the Earth Prime books, Taylor is taking this story into some great territory. Batman's origin is coming up next in Earth 2 Annual #2 and Superman's plan will be revealed in Earth 2 #20. As thrilling and exciting as this story has been so far, I'm eagerly awaiting to see what Taylor has in store for us when he wraps his first major arc. If it's anything like Injustice, I'm sure he won't fail to deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Earth 2 #22

Apr 3, 2014

Events in Earth 2 may have slowed down considerably after the fast-paced destruction of Taylor's opening arc but there is still a lot of reason to continue reading this title. For one, Dark Seid has not given up his pursuit of the Earth and his new plan would have significant repercussions for the new wonders if he's successful. Taylor is clearly headed into a big story arc that sets a new Justice Society against Superman. That new team will likely include Aquawoman, Green Lantern, Batman, Hawk Girl, Red Arrow, Red Tornado, Doctor Fate and a new Superman. Keep reading this book because Taylor is about to blow us away.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Flash (2011) #21

Jun 27, 2013

The long awaited meeting between The Flash and Kid Flash is an exciting and gorgeous milestone for the New 52. The latter runs so fast that he learns what happens when you reach escape velocity. This was a great science moment and reminds readers that there is a limit to how fast speedster heroes can move. The book closes on a very menacing Reverse Flash who has just killed another friend of The Flash. Readers should catch next month's issue to find out what happens when Reverse Flash goes after the remaining two people touched by the speed force: Iris West and The Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2011) #22

Jul 27, 2013

The Flash is one of those books that does an exceptional job at building excitement for the next book, paying it off and then repeating the process. Readers that were excited about #20 were probably excited about #21 and equally so about #22. Manapul and Buccellato also do an excellent job keeping readers guessing. Even over midway through this arc it's difficult to predict the identity of the Reverse Flash and his motives. However, readers know they can trust the creators won't disappoint. The Flash #23 begins the long awaited battle with Reverse Flash!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2011) #23.2

Sep 12, 2013

Now that we know who Reverse Flash is and his origin story, it's time to see this gets wrapped up. Obviously, The Flash will get his speed force backor will he? Since the two are exiting the book after the conclusion of this story, I am wondering if they will shake things up. We saw a shakeup in Aquaman, Justice League of America and Justice League so I am going to brace myself for whatever Manapul and Buccellato have in store. So far, it's been quite a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2011) #23.3

Sep 19, 2013

This book wasn't drawn or colored by Manapul or Buccellato but it looked and felt like a Flash book. The artists did a phenomenal job recreating the look of that title while keeping it uniquely them. I do wish the colors were a bit more vibrant in some of the scenes, but that's a personal preference. It's still a stunning book and I hope the upcoming Rogues Rebellion looks equally good. Grab this book if you haven't already!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Flash (2011) #25

Nov 29, 2013

Despite the complaints, this was still an excellent book and a nice send off for the creators as they begin work on Detective Comics. Being a “Zero Year” tie-in you might be apprehensive to pick this one up in case it disappoints. Thankfully, this book doesnt. In fact, Batman doesnt even appear in its pages. This is good because the story stayed focused on Barry and showed readers hes a hero even without the speed force.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Flash (2011) #30

Apr 26, 2014

Getting myself to read this book was difficult. I was apprehensive about the direction Venditti was going as well as how opened minded I was going to let myself be. Comparing his work to his predecessors was something that was going to happen (at least for me) but I'm glad I didn't let it affect my enjoyment. This was a good book and I'm looking forward to seeing how the rest of this story unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Flash (2011) Annual #3

May 1, 2014

So far the most interesting aspects of this story have been the missing time The Flash encounters every time he uses the speed force and Future Flash. Venditti and Jensen are going big with their run and putting a lot of pieces in place for whatever they have planned. While the art hasnt been particularly memorable, theres enough to keep me invested. As long as the duo can deliver on their promises, this should be the start of big things to come for The Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Forever Evil #3

Nov 6, 2013

Geoff Johns is at the top of his game. While this event is missing a style to bind it the way mystery did for Trinity War, its still highly enjoyable to read. Where else can you see Superman (or an alternate universe version of him) fight without pulling his punches? Oh right, Earth 2. Well, make sure youre reading this because if the past two months are any indication, DC isnt done wreaking havoc across all of Earth prime.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Forever Evil #7

May 22, 2014

With the heroes returned to the world, the DC universe can move on to recovering from the reign of evil. On the horizon is the Future's End that has begun to play out in the new weekly series. It may not be entirely disconnected to what happened in Forever Evil. As the final page in this book teases, a threat much worse than Dark Seid is coming for Earth Prime. Future's End may play a part in setting that story into motion. In the mean time, we'll continue to enjoy the post-Evil world where Lex Luthor is a hero and a member of the Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #2

Nov 21, 2013

While this book had its issues, it was still good enough to keep me excited about the next. Somehow the team made it to Gotham. So maybe theyll have a part to play in the Arkham War? Thats something to look forward to as well as finding out whats going on with Mirror Masters powers!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #4

Jan 17, 2014

Even despite my continued disappointment with this title's art, I looked forward to each book. Wherever The Rogue's go in the future I think it would be in DC's best interest to capitalize on the strengths of this book. If not their own on-going series, there's definitely a lot of potential in the characters. Forever Evil has shown that while they may be villains, they're interesting enough to carry their own story. DC couldn't manage to make this work with a title like Deathstroke, but it might just work with The Rogues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
He-Man & The Masters of the Universe (2013) #5

Aug 21, 2013

This is one of those series that will probably fly under the radar for many comic readers and it's a shame. He-Man and She-Ra are amazing properties that feel right at home in DC's New 52. This book is even being followed by a special mini-series: DC Universe Vs. The Masters of the Universe! It kicks off next week and if you're enjoying this series as much as me, you'll likely be picking it up. If not, I would definitely recommend hopping on board because this looks like it'll be quite an exciting crossover!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
He-Man & The Masters of the Universe (2013) #8

Nov 21, 2013

The primary thing about this title that makes me happy is seeing the writers continue telling their stories at a leisurely pace. They arent rushed which means this is really an on-going series. Amidst all the superheroes and super villains at DC, we need more of Masters of the Universe and thats exactly what were getting. Im definitely looking forward to seeing where Abnett takes us inside Subternia and how he helps resolve the absence of one of the most important characters in Masters of the Universe next to He-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Injustice: Gods Among Us #33

Aug 28, 2013

Just like Justice League #23, this book did an excellent job leading into villains month. The twist at the end came naturally and readers are left wanting more while being satisfied with the way the story concluded. Manapul and Buccellato successfully brought Reverse Flash into the New 52 in a way that makes the character even more compelling than before. Be sure to pick up The Flash #23.2 next month for Reverse Flash's origin!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Injustice: Gods Among Us #33

Aug 28, 2013

I won't even try to predict what's going to happen next in this series. I assume it is heading to a point where it will meet up with where the game picks up, but I don't know for sure. All I know, and all readers need to know is that this is a wonderful series. If you're a fan of either the New 52 Universe or the video game, you need to be reading this. It's only $.99 which is quite a steal for such an amazing story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #21

Jun 27, 2013

Johns and Frank bring the Shazam backup to a spectacular and satisfying close in a story filled with excitement, surprises and plenty of lightning. Notably absent from the book are the other members of the Justice League team. Since Trinity War begins next month, this book was all about finishing Shazam's New 52 origin. No reader will want to miss the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #22

Oct 25, 2013

Johns, I. Reis, Prado and R. Reis delivered a beautiful, thrilling adventure that seamlessly bridges multiple plots and series. The amount of consistency between all the initial groundwork layed and what has appeared in the final story is astounding. Everything from Pandora's appearances in New 52 launch issues to Shazam's story have all played into this story. If there is one event comic book readers should be reading this summer, it's Trinity War. Next week, the story continues in Justice League of America. After the death of Doctor Light, it's all out war and readers must not miss what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #23

Aug 28, 2013

For myself and possibly other readers, this book marks the end of an event that may be fondly remembered as one of DC Comics' greatest stories ever told. It had action, mystery, drama and delivered on all its promises. It could also be considered a perfect event because it leads straight into the next, Forever Evil without leaving readers feeling cheated. You do want more, but it's more anticipation than a desire for story completion. While the Justice League was left barely standing at the end, that may not be the case when Forever Evil begins. We won't have long to wait to find out what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Justice League #23.1

Sep 5, 2013

Kicking villains month off with Dark Seid was an excellent choice. He was the primary villain of the title's relaunch so it bookends the two-year anniversary nicely. We also get the New 52 origin for the character. My only hope is that we'll be seeing more of Dark Seid in the future because the final page teases something sinister.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League #25

Dec 12, 2013

I dont know how much longer Forever Evil is going to go on but if each issue of Justice League focuses on telling the backstory of each Crime Syndicate member, Ill be happy. Johns clearly has direction and purpose with each page. These characters are well developed and stand on their own well. As twisted as they may be I would enjoy reading their individual stories prior to Earth 3s demise. Well, provided Johns wrote them. If the ending is any indication we might be getting Super Womans story in Justice League #26.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League #27

Jan 25, 2014

Unlike Justice League #26, this book was certainly more of a side story. This is not a bad thing. When you're telling a big story like Forever Evil, all the pieces for the finale need to be put in place. That's what this book was and it was wonderful. Cyborg and his army of Metal Men are likely going to be a big part of the final battle with the Syndicate and it's going to be amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League #28

Feb 20, 2014

Johns told a movie quality story in a 23 pages. If this is a small fragment of what a Metal Men movie has to offer, I say bring it!It'll be exciting to see how Cyborg will interact with them. He is after all a bridge between humanity and the robots. If Johns and DC are smart they'll jump on getting them all an ongoing of their own. Can you imagine how awesome it would be to read Cyborg and the Metal Men every month? We'll find out next month in Justice League #29.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League #29

Apr 18, 2014

Cyborg and the Metal Men are a team up that should have happened at the start of the New 52. The latter are looking for their place among the humans they protect and the former sees himself as the bridge between the two. If ever DC were to announce a Cyborg and the Metal Men title, now would be the time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #30

May 22, 2014

Justice League #30 is a book that can stand on its own as a jumping on point for new readers but to really enjoye and appreciate it, it should be read after reading *Forever Evil * #7. It's almost like a #0 book because it feels like the start of a new era for the team. For the first time, the team roster will be shook up. This isn't counting the pre-Trinity changes because those didn't stick. Lex, Shazam and Captain Cold look like they'll be staying for the foreseeable future. With such a shift in the status quo, Johns should have no trouble exciting readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #31

Jun 26, 2014

So much of this book was enjoyable that it's hard to pick out favorite moments. Everything from Captain Cold getting hired to continue being a superhero to Shazam finally using his magic to conjure a ping pong table made me smile. Definitely pick up this book if you haven't already because Johns is doing some wonderful stuff and you won't want to miss it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark #23

Aug 21, 2013

How do I even begin wrapping up this review? This book was amazing and easily my favorite of the week. I made a few predictions about what's going to happen at the conclusion of this event and so far so good on those. It doesn't look like Shazam will be the one opening the box, but I am still holding firm that all the superheroes of Prime-Earth will be trapped/transported by the box. Thankfully, the wait will be over in a week. I doubt I need to remind anyone to catch Trinity War's finale in Justice League #23.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League Dark #25

Nov 29, 2013

Justice League Dark continues to be amazing, even without Lemire. DeMatteis has been doing a phenomenal job on Trinity of Sin: The Phantom Stranger and that excellence is already transferring to this book. Be sure to pick it up if youre a fan of either. You wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League Dark #30

Apr 26, 2014

Unsure of what to expect from this book, I was ready to be disappointed by the shift in the creative team. That didn't happen and I couldn't be happier. DeMatteis and Guinaldo produced a book that reignited my excitement for the series. With Forever Evil in the past, I'm probably not the only one anxiously awaiting next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League of America (2013) #7

Aug 14, 2013

Geoff Johns and Jeff Lemire have a very specific story to tell and they have confined it to the main Justice League titles. The Phantom Stranger, Pandora and Constantine had a crossover issue last month, but they were all exceptionally good and felt organically linked to the event. Even at part 4 of 6, Johns and Lemire continue to excite and mystify. We know this ends in the "death" of the Justice League, but know nothing of what that actually means. The story continues in Justice League Dark #23, but I doubt we'll know anymore than we already do about what's really going on. All will likely be revealed in Justice League #23. I don't know about other readers, but I am completely ok with that. Johns and Lemire can mystify me all they want. This is one ride I never want to get off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League of America (2013) #7.2

Sep 12, 2013

Yet another excellent villains month book! Gates gets most of the credit for this book for writing Killer Frost as a highly intelligent, deadly, female villain. It's great to see more brilliantly written female characters in the DC universe. This book was so good that I can now point to it as the reason why I will buy anything if Killer Frost is on the cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League of America (2013) #9

Nov 14, 2013

Justice League of America #9 effectively accomplishes what it sets out to do: freeing Stargirl and Martian Manhunter from their imprisonment by the Crime Syndicate. Theres a catch to that freedom that will make for a very interesting dynamic between the duo. The main question I hope is answered in the coming months is: how will Stargirl and Martian Manhunter free the others? If the last two books are any indication, Kindts answer to this (and many other questions) should be entraining and satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League of America (2013) #10

Dec 12, 2013

DC has been doing a great job keeping the different Justice League titles differentiated. Justice League Dark is focused on fighting a manifestation of evil, Justice League is telling the backstories of the Crime Syndicate and Justice League of America is working towards finding and freeing the other team members. A lot is going on but thankfully the creators are doing an excellent job keeping focused. Justice League of America is certainly keeping me invested in seeing how Martian Manhunter and Stargirl free Superman, Wonder Woman and the Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League of America (2013) #11

Jan 17, 2014

Justice League of America #11 was an exciting book that reveals yet another strong female character in DC's lineup. She's certainly grown on me since her debut. Whatever the future hold's for the character, I look forward to reading every moment of it. Despair continues in the next book as Stargirl is the one struggling to survive against Despero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League United #0

Apr 26, 2014

Lemire immediately hits the right tone with Justice League United. It's like the DC version of All New X-Men. As such you can expect the coming books to be a fun, exciting escapade from the snowy landscapes of Canada into the depths of space. Colorful rings not required.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League United #1

May 15, 2014

It's thanks to McKone's art that this title looks like it'll be a typical DC book, but lighter and more entertaining. As I said before, it's like the DC equivalent of Marvel's All-New X-Men. If you're a fan of that you'll enjoy Justice League United. If not then this book is still a fun and cool story to dig into.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Manifest Destiny #6

Apr 10, 2014

Dingess hit a gold mine with this book. It's got a brilliant premise that uses the Lewis and Clark expedition to tell supernatural stories. The beautiful art and colors completely sell the idea that it takes place in the early 1800s. Once you pick it up you won't be able to stop reading until you're caught up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Nightwing (2011) #23

Aug 14, 2013

Will Conrad's art remained consistent with the last issue, if not better. Thankfully, Dick keeps his mask on so it's not difficult to recognize him. More importantly, it's going to be interesting to see how Nightwing reacts to not only Zucco's surprise appearance, but his offer to help stop Prankster. I'm actually excited about the next book! Hopefully I'm not the only one because this series has been getting amazing since Nightwing moved to Chicago.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phantom Stranger (2012) #10

Jul 4, 2013

DeMatteis doesn't rely on super-powered battles or extravagant traps to tell The Phantom Stranger's story. There isn't even an Earth-shattering finale that promises to "shake things up" or "change the status quo". The Phantom Stranger accepted his family's fate and must now deal with that loss. It's a situation that's entirely relatable to every reader. In the end, this is a character that is more human than many other characters in the New 52. Check out the next issue to find out how Batman, Deadman and Katana pull The Phantom Stranger into the upcoming Trinity War.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Phantom Stranger (2012) #15

Jan 9, 2014

I sure hope people are reading this book. It's certainly a high priority on my pulllist because I know DeMatteis won't fail to entertain. Characters, story and art were all very solid. Don't know what it is about the art but it looked exceptionally great in this book. It fit the overall tone of the book and had a pleasing simplistic aesthetic. Anyone following Forever Evil should definitely pick this up because there are a couple moments that hint at what can be expected in the final issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Red Hood And The Outlaws #21

Jun 20, 2013

With Roy going off with The Untitled and Jason taken by the League of Assassins, Tynion has put pieces in place for an exciting confrontation between the two. There's also the questions of how Jason will react now that he's returned to where he was reborn and whether he will become the new leader of the League. Readers should continue to hold onto this comic because it's only getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #13

Aug 14, 2013

This series has been on break so Vaughan took the opportunity to remind readers about who and what was going on. But, he did this effortlessly and then moved on. Someone Marko and Alana previously fought is telling the tabloids their story which may have interesting results. We already know how their relationship is viewed by some of the more extreme characters from both sides of the war, but what about everyone else? We'll have to wait for next month's issue to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #14

Aug 14, 2013

This series has been on break so Vaughan took the opportunity to remind readers about who and what was going on. But, he did this effortlessly and then moved on. Someone Marko and Alana previously fought is telling the tabloids their story which may have interesting results. We already know how their relationship is viewed by some of the more extreme characters from both sides of the war, but what about everyone else? We'll have to wait for next month's issue to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Superman (2011) #32

Jun 25, 2014

I had a wonderful time reading this book. While I read most of Superman's New 52 run so far, it's not a title I've been excited or anxious to read. For the most part, I kept checking in on it because it's Superman so "it's suppose to be good". He's one of DC's tentpole heroes but no one seemed to "get it right". Thus far, all the creators have been neglecting to show the character's humanity. Thankfully, Johns gets it. Looks like we're finally getting a version of Superman that we can actually care about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Multiversity #1

Aug 22, 2014

ick up this book if you haven't already. If the art and story don't amaze you then the DC version of the Avengers might amuse you. Heck, this book is filled of wonderful looking characters that should delight or amuse anyone. I'm so pumped to see what Morrison has in store for us in the coming months. This first issue alone set up the story in an epic way and it's almost criminal that DC is going to drag this out as long as they can.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Walking Dead #116

Nov 14, 2013

The Walking Dead #116 was a refreshing change of pace for the series that has been crawling about to set the stage for war. I honestly have no idea how this is going to end so I'll refrain from making predictions. As it stands, Rick and Negan have both made mistakes; underestimated each other. The cards do seem to be in Rick's favor, but Kirkman has been secretive about Negan and his capabilities. The only way to find out what happens is to keep reading. The biggest event since the prison continues next month in The Walking Dead #117.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Walking Dead #117

Nov 29, 2013

If youre reading this review, hopefully it means you are following the book. If not, you should be because something big is on the horizon. I predict that one of two things will happen: either Rick will be killed or he will defeat Negan but become him in the process. Kind of hope Im wrong about both, but those would certainly be two outcomes that would shake up the title. Given how this war kicked off in issue 100, Im sure Im not alone in continuing to expect big things from The Walking Dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Walking Dead #119

Jan 9, 2014

With an expedited release schedule for this event, we won't have to wait long for the next issue. The Walking Dead #121 will be out in two weeks. Hopefully Rick has a plan for dealing with his surprise visitor. Otherwise this could be the beginning of a string of awful, terrible things about to happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Walking Dead #120

Jan 25, 2014

Not much to dislike about this book. There was plenty action and suspense. So we're getting these two weeks apart because I don't think I could handle waiting a month to find out what's going to happen next and a whole year to see this war play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Trinity of Sin: Pandora #1

Jul 4, 2013

While it's not explained why Pandora is first seen wearing her long purple robe in prehistoric Macedonia when everyone else in her village is wearing much more primitive clothing, it doesn't distract from the overall enjoyment of the book. Readers who just finished reading Justice League #21 will enjoy seeing the origin of the Seven Sins. As this book is a direct prequel to the Trinity War, readers who have not already read it will want to before picking up Justice League #22 or Justice League of America #6. Next month, issue #2 of this series picks up in the middle of the war and #3 in the aftermath. There are plenty of reasons to grab the next issues and even more to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Trinity of Sin: Pandora #7

Jan 25, 2014

Regardless, this was still a very enjoyable book. The art by Staz Johnson and Francis Portela blended well because one illustrated the main book and the other a dream-like sequence. If DC is going to have more than one artist one these books, this is the only acceptable way to do it. The story returns to Justice League Dark next week, where we will hopefully see Pandora magically resurrected in her new costume.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man Vol. 2 #24

Jun 20, 2013

Like him or not, Bendis consistently delivers the same high quality with each issue of the series. Next month may see Miles finally coming to terms with his destiny as Spider-man. Readers who are not already reading this series might want to ask themselves, “why the swear word not?”

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #7

Jun 27, 2013

The best thing about this book is it makes the X-men understand how broken their powers are and decide to begin training to fix them. However, the art style while gorgeous make it difficult to understand what was happening. Thankfully, the X-men are returned to Earth. Cover art for the next issue shows Cyclops and Magneto fighting. Readers will have to pick up the issue to find out if the two will be parting ways or if it's simply the two caught in a training match.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #14

Nov 21, 2013

All the creators on this book did an excellent job. This book looks gorgeous and was enjoyable from start to finish. Thats a relief because the quality of this title has been hit and miss. Thankfully, this was a win. Looking forward to seeing Bendis and team keep up the great work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #20

Apr 18, 2014

Unlike its sibling books, Uncanny X-Men truly is the continuing story of the X-Men fighting for mutant equality. It has taken on a sharper tone since the conclusion of Avengers Vs. X-Men but it's a natural change given everything that has happened to mutants since House of M. There's a revolution coming and Cyclops is leading the charge.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Wonder Woman (2011) #30

Apr 18, 2014

Wonder Woman #30 brings Azzarello's run back to its beginning. He obviously knew he wanted to come back to Paradise Island at the end of his run. It's paying off because while the story is not over, there is a sense of closure. I'm willing to bet the battle will take place on Paradise Island. There's a twist at the end that will shock you. If you're like then you'll be anxiously waiting to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Battle of the Atom #1

Sep 5, 2013

This book somewhat flew under my radar because I haven't been too thrilled with the Uncanny X-men title. However, the first few pages do a great job at drawing you into the story. By time I reached the middle of the book, I was already hooked. There are plenty of surprises, but the biggest one is saved for All New X-Men #16. So pick up this book before you grab that one. There's no way you will be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

November

More