Jeremy Thomas's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: 411Mania Reviews: 29
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8
Critical Role: Vox Machina: Origins #1

Sep 21, 2017

All in all, Vox Machina " Origins serves as an effective jumping-off point for people who want to learn what all the Critical Role fuss is about, but it also stands strong as its own thing too. There's enough here for readers to want to keep progressing, and this "Critter," as we Critical Role fans are known, has officially added it to his pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Excalibur (2019) #1

Oct 31, 2019

The biggest takeaway from Excalibur #1 is this: this is almostcertainly the most niche-audience book of the three Dawn of X titlesreleased so far. I'm not sure what the Venn diagram between X-Men fansand mystical Marvel fans are, but I imagine it's somewhat less than theidea of Kate Pryde leading mutant pirates and it's definitely less thanHickman's X-Men book. But that in itself makes it a truespiritual descendant of its titles' previous volumes. For those wholove the original Excalibur, this new volume gets off to a prettydecent start and leaves a lot of room to get even better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Excalibur (2019) #2

Nov 21, 2019

By the end of this issue, audiences will very much know whether Excalibur is a book for them. Howard has a hell of a final page to close this out, which will throw some fans off but make people who loved Claremont and Davis' Excalibur work smile in anticipation. There's plenty to like here in the coming battle against the forces of Otherworld, and as a big Excalibur fan I'm finding this a thematically familiar and exciting ride to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Excalibur (2019) #3

Dec 5, 2019

But in truth, that's a minor issue at best. There's plenty ofentertaining stuff here to keep readers enjoying the ride withoutneeding to know exactly where it's going to take them. Moreimportantly, the book is establishing its identity more and more, andthat means newcomers to Excalibur are getting on an even playingfield without having to feel lost. Even if we're not super-clear how allthese pieces are coming together, we can be confident buying into the road ahead, trusting Howard and To to lead the way. Thus far, they'veearned it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Extermination (2018) #1

Aug 16, 2018

There's still a lot of questions coming out of Extermination #1. The motives of the antagonists isn't clear yet, and the final page drops a bit of a bombshell that may frustrate some fans. But Brisson and Larraz are off to a great start here, much to my pleasant surprise.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Fallen Angels (2019) #1

Nov 14, 2019

There's a lot of good here in Fallen Angels, to be clear. Hillmakes some subtle insinuations between Overclock and things like thePhalanx, transhumanism and other things at play in Dawn of X'speriphery. I'm still interested in seeing how this plays out; I likethe characters and want to know who will join them in later issues. Butfor now, Fallen Angels #1 is perhaps the sole misstep in the Dawnof X launch so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Fallen Angels (2019) #2

Nov 28, 2019

Hill and Kudranski are taking things slow here, and the final panelpromises some excitement next week. I'm all for character studies, andthis is definitely a step up from the first issue's missteps. There's still a lot of work to go before this becomes a title worthy of itscharacters or its creators, but the small steps are appreciated.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
House of X #1

Jul 25, 2019

Make no mistake: this is big, ballsy and ambitious storytelling. But that's what we've come to expect from Hickman, and he hits every right note, at least in this first issue. How he follows up will be a key here, but issue #1 has left me more intrigued and excited for my favorite band of mutants than I have been in a long, long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House of X #2

Aug 8, 2019

House of X is pretty much the perfect continuation of what Hickman and Larraz are setting up with the X-Men here. Everything lands and there are some big, shocking moments, all boldly illustrated with some beautiful line work. The only thing to be concerned about at this point is whether these two can keep the narrative stakes going strong, something I have complete faith in at this point. I'm not one to give out perfect scores with ease; there are a mere very, very small percentage of comics that have earned that right. But from where I stand after a few rereads already, House of X #2 is one of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
House of X #3

Aug 29, 2019

House of X #3 ends on a cliffhanger, although not one I think a lot of people will be too nervous over. It's a big ending to an issue that is less splashy than its predecessors, but just as needed for the story. It's not always about delivering a shocking reveal on every page; it's about making each part of the story, like Wolverine, the best at what it does. And in terms of telling a necessary chapter that sets up more to come while delivering great character moments and good art, House of X #3 delivers on that level.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
House of X #4

Sep 5, 2019

The events of House of X #4 are likely to leave readers with a lot more questions. The events herein are straight-forward (and stronger for it), but as positioned within the series as a whole it raises a lot of questions. The synopsis makes it clear that "Xavier's dream turns deadly for some of his students," so it's not a spoiler to say that there's some amount of death here. The effectiveness of said death may vary in mileage for some, but the weight of the moments isn't dulled one bit thanks to Hickman's dialogue and pacing, as well as Larraz' art, the weight is still full potency. House of X #4 hits every right note for what it needs to be, setting up a potentially chilling escalation of the storyline with action, character shading, triumph and tragedy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House of X #5

Sep 19, 2019

It's the final touches on an issue that, for all my searching, I can't honestly find a single fault with. The future is exciting and a little foreboding for the X-Men at this point, and I wouldn't want it any other way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
House of X #6

Oct 3, 2019

House of X #6 sees Hickman and company look toward thefuture of the X-line in the Dawn of X books, and the future remains as exciting as it was after the first issue of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marauders #1

Oct 24, 2019

Make no mistake: this is an oddball team, and the lighter, more swashbuckling tone may seem a bit at odds with the more sterile and high-concept ideas that Hickman is playing with. But it works. Nothing about Marauders #1 feels like it wouldn't exist within the same world that the Summers family and their weird moon-based family from X-Men #1 live in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marauders #2

Nov 21, 2019

There is obviously still a lot of story to play out in the pages of this book. With the exception of the big news out of X-Force #1, the Marauders have been the most crossover-friendly aspects of Dawn of X thus far, which lends them a feel of dynamism and importance that suits the series well. Hopefully the coloring issues and a little more character development can be worked out, because even with a high bar to clear, Marauders is the best Dawn of X book so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Marauders #3

Dec 5, 2019

"The Bishop in Black" continues Marauders' status as the best ofthe Dawn of X books so far. Shaw's political moves are a great way toplay with the complicated personal conflict aspect that has always beena key of the X-books, and his final page reveal sets up a hell of apotential conflict within Hellfire. With Bandini and D'Amico's cleanartwork adding a lot in terms of character depth, Marauders #3 isanother hit from this team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Mutants (2019) #1

Nov 7, 2019

I had some lofty expectations for this book and first issue of the title is anything to go by, it's well on its way to delivering

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Mutants (2019) #2

Nov 28, 2019

New Mutants is making a play for being one of the mostlight-hearted of the Dawn of X titles, and it's easy to achieve thatwhen you have such a strong group of close friends at its core. Not every joke lands (the court sequence wants to be funnier than it is),but enough do that it's a breeze to read. The next couple of issues willbe returning back to Earth and Krakoa for a different group of youngmutants. While I'm looking forward to that it will be a day-countingcouple of months until issue #5 comes out, because this story has beenan incredibly fun ride thus far and I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Powers of X #1

Aug 1, 2019

The hope implied in House of X had a somewhat ominous edge to it, as if something wasn't quite right. Powers of X reinforces the idea that it won't last " not too surprising, really. It's the yin to the other book's yang, reflecting the constant duality of the X-Men franchise of tragedy and hope. While I suspect that House of X will be the more universally popular of the two books for this new arc thanks to the familiar characters and singular timeline thus far, I'm just as excited to see where into the future (and past) Powers of X takes us from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Powers of X #2

Aug 15, 2019

Powers of X #2 is the kind of issue that may frustrate some fans. It provides the necessary movement to progress its storyline, without the same level of system-shocking moments that the previous issues of this arc have had. But that doesn't mean it's lacking in any way. Hickman and Silva keep things engaging and dole out just enough information to keep things moving along nicely. It's not easy to split half of your story arc between four time periods, but Power of X is still making it look easy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Powers of X #3

Aug 22, 2019

As much as I find myself wanting to get back to X1 and see what's going on with Krakoa and its inhabitants, Powers of X #3 is a thrilling stop along the way that more than sells its need exist first well enough that I'm happy to wait until next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Powers of X #4

Sep 12, 2019

Ultimately, this is an issue that may not be everyone's favorite " andif it is your favorite, it's probably because you love JonathanHickman's take on Sinister. And that's perfectly acceptable, because I don't think it's meant to be many people's favorite. This is a pacingissue that lets the story take a quick breath before next week'sred-barred House of X #5. But even in a transitional issue like this, Hickman doesn't let a single panel go to waste. It remains anessential part of both this story and " very likely " X-Men stories tocome for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Powers of X #5

Sep 26, 2019

If there's any other problem with Powers of X, it's one thatisn't necessarily the issue's fault: this is an information dump issue.We need these kinds of things in a series this revolutionary, andHickman packs what character development that he can in with Emma,Xavier, Namor and the rest. "For the Children" fills in the cracks ofHouse of X to make the foundation stable, and there's still a lotto enjoy. It will simply rank, in the end, as the issue in the seriesto date that most feels like connective tissue than something momentousin and of itself. That's great for the series as a whole, and "merely"makes for a very good issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Powers of X #6

Oct 10, 2019

In truth, Powers of X #6 is less of a climax to the story than the denouement. Last week's House of X #6 was the true climax inthe final establishment of the mutant nation and the celebration thatfollowed. With this book, we learn what pitfalls and risks come next,and as we leap into the Dawn of X things are just as exciting for X-Menfans as they've been throughout these two conjoined books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Runaways (2017) #1

Sep 14, 2017

Runaways #1 is a small start for what will clearly be a much larger arc for the comics. It has plenty for old fans of the team to appreciate while providing enough backstory so newcomers won't feel lost. Rowell and Anka are off to a great start here and I for one am going to be following this closely to see where they're taking things from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
X-Force (2019) #1

Nov 7, 2019

There's a huge cliffhanger at the end of this book, and the dialogue andart sells the moment as legitimately shocking. But at the same time,given what we know of Krakoa as a nation, the real impact is ambiguousat best. There is a ton of potential in this book, and all theindividual parts work. We're just going to have to wait for at least the next issue to see if those parts can come together into a satisfyingwhole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Force (2019) #2

Nov 28, 2019

In a lot of ways, this issue feels like the true start of X-Forceas a book. The previous issue had to do a lot of heavy lifting in termsof set-up, and here we can see what Percy and Cassara want to do in thetitle. It's an exciting chapter with a few jaw-dropping moments, andone that has kickstarted my excitement for this series in a major way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men (2019) #1

Oct 17, 2019

For some, X-Men #1 is going to be a letdown, and that would beinevitable. House of X and Powers of X were just so goodthat it's hard not to see this as a slight step down. That said, it'snot really fair to this book, which has a very different goal.HoX and PoX created the new firmament for the X-books;X-Men #1 is the first step down the freshly paved road Hickmanand company laid out. In that, it succeeds with flying colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men (2019) #3

Dec 5, 2019

As it goes, "Hordeculture" isn't a particularly bad issue ofX-Men; mostly it suffers by virtue of it's following up thegenerally excellent first two issues. Hordeculture as a group isentertaining and intriguing enough that they're worth a second look,even if they don't quite shine like they should here. There are chinksin Hickman's Dawn of X armor present in this issue, but they're verysmall and likely easily forgotten as the series progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More